Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 3 minutes ago

1 of 57 View Image Gallery
  • Out of the Wind - Cornwall - 1080618 - photo 1


1st FloorGround Floor

Ground Floor



Out of the Wind

(Ref. 1080618)

Rock, Cornwall Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 9 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (9)
  • no (9)
  • property (9)
  • stay (8)
  • bed (8)
  • our (7)

13 Customer Reviews

  • "Really special and wonderful stay , my Nan had a wonderful surprise visiting this holiday home 30 years later ."

    lovely property and location , kids room full with books and toys so nephews were very happy . Was great that every room had a bathroom . Kitchen well equipped just make sure to bring your own extra loo rolls , kitchen roll soap and toiletries . Thank you for our stay !

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the property and its surroundings. We are so pleased that it suited your needs and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Oct 2023

  • "Lovely house in a great position and we very much enjoyed our stay."

    Tucked away, a nice garden and all the comforts you need. Overall, it was great and I would highly recommend. A couple of very minor bits of constructive (I hope) feedback: 1. Some sort of welcome booklet/instructions pack would be helpful. There was nothing in the house on arrival. 2. The blinds on the side windows in the bedrooms flap against the window if the window is open and there is any wind (as was the case when we were there). If you have the windows open they are a bit noisy. If you have the window shut then it can get quite warm. Maybe worth looking at alternatives or some way of stopping them from flapping.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the constructive comments about the blinds and are sorry there was no information folder. We are in the process of replacing these in each property. We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Cornwall in the future. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma4.7Aug 2023

  • "A beautiful property in a good location."

    We have stayed here on many previous occasions and like the layout of the property with three en suites. We did find a few maintenance issues: the shower in the downstairs en suite needs a new valve as when using the hand held attachment the rain shower leaks. Also not all the lights work in this room and this was the same last year. The lights in the extractor fan in the kitchen also do not work. Indeed all the lights in the property need to be checked. The pull out cupboard for the waste bin in the kitchen needs resecuring and realigning as this will eventually break. The garden is lovely and peaceful but the patio needs a good jet wash. The barbecue was unusable as it was left dirty from previous users. The internal fire in the lounge had also been left full of ash and debris. Obviously these are just a few minor details that can be easily fixed. We still enjoyed our stay, the property smelt lovely and clean, the bedding and towels perfect. We hope to return again next year if our dates are available and we have priority booking arrangements.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry for the inconvenience caused by these issues. Your comments have been passed on to the team here at John Bray Cornish Holidays so thank you for raising them. We are glad that you still managed to enjoy your visit despite these issues and would love to welcome you back to North Cornwall in the future! - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Phil4.1Jun 2023

  • "We were expecting a house welcome book explaining how things like the cooker work and things expected to do when we were vacating the property but there was nothing."

    The bins outside were full and needed to be emptied as the bottle bin was over flowing from the last renters!!

    Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of updating the information booklet for the property. Apologies for the bins. We hope this did not impair on your enjoyment and we can welcome you back very soon. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Penelope4.1Jun 2023

  • "Lovely holiday house down a quiet (apart from all the rooks)!"

    lane. Walking distance to beach, restaurant and excellent bakery. House has a lovely wrap around, secluded garden. Safe for children to play in. Interior is very, light, open plan and comfortable A real home from home. 4 comfortable large bedrooms with 3 en suite and an extra bathroom with shower downstairs. Plenty of room to socialise, play games and relax. Good stock of books, games and Dvds for rainy days. We would definitely stay there again. The only faults we could find if being picky, we're the cobwebs and dirty areas around front entrance, outside lights in garden not working that we could see and black marks on the walls in the hall and diner. Not sure if someone had taken a dog in, as vacuum and front room smelt of dog, so a couple of us had itchy eyes as pet allergies. But these things did not spoil our stay, I would definitely recommend the house. Thank you owners for letting your lovely home out.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so glad you loved the property, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. John Brays on Behalf of the owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.4Mar 2023

  • "Out of the wind is a fantastic property, the addition of the showers in the 2 upstairs en-suites this year was a great idea and makes for a much better set up."

    Unfortunately, like last year, the cleaning is still an issue. Despite the check in times being changed to give more time to clean the property, there are still numerous cobwebs in the porch area, the kitchen and the living room. There was also an issue with the door to the twin room upstairs, the latch is broken and you can not close it. The door to the bunk bed bedroom downstairs is also faulty so you need to almost slam it to get the latch to catch.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback Out Of The Wind. It's great to hear you had a lovely stay. We have passed your comments about the cleanliness to the housekeeping team who will be looking into this. With regards to the maintenance issues if John Brays had been made aware of these, we could have sorted them during your stay. John Bray on behalf of the owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adam3.1Oct 2022

  • "Again, a joy to stay at Out of the Wind."

    Couple of housekeeping items for you... Floor under l-shape sofa was disgustingly dirty. The sofa is getting old now and very lumpy to sit of for any time. The bi-fold windows really need a good clean inside and out. Finally, there were no dishwasher tablets left for this visit, in previous visits there were always 3 left out. Apart from that, lovely. One minor... very squeaky door hinges noted and the door to master bedroom rattles in frame all time. We will return next May for next stay. David S Kane

    Thank you for your comments on Out Of The Wind. We will look into the couple of items that you have raised. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.1Sep 2022

  • "Having stayed at this property in May we were looking forward to returning."

    Weather not great but the lovely garden and patio meant we could catch the sun when it came out! We don’t find the sofas and chairs very comfortable but everything else is lovely. We did have an issue with the zip and link beds not being made up as requested and we contacted Sykes. The issue was speedily resolved and Judith telephoned to check we were satisfied. We would also like to praise Sykes for keeping us informed when the bridge along our route was closed and giving alternative route instructions in May. Although we had problems booking this property as we were used to John Bray giving priority to previous customers we have been impressed with the service we have received from Sykes. Perhaps Sykes could restore the original booking process for loyal customers.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you had such a lovely stay at Out Of The Wind and we would love to have you back in the future! Our apologies for the mishap regarding the beds but thank you for your patience whilst we sorted them for you. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Phil4.7Jun 2022

  • "Really loved this property."

    Fantastic layout and nice modern clean layout throughout . Had a.great feel and really liked the decor. Great location, near to shops and right by Deli but still in a nice leafy lane and walkable to Rock’s Sea front (15 minute albeit a slight hill back to property). Very well appointed and nice enough to Just relax at the property and enjoy the large, well maintained garden.

    Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words. We are so glad that you loved your stay and would love to welcome you back to North Cornwall in the future. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jun 2022

  • "We first stayed at this property about 30 years ago and returned last year."

    The changes were amazing. Returned last week and again in June. Love the garden and position of the property. Could do without the rooks, ha, ha! The rooms are beautiful and really liked the new en suites upstairs that have new showers. The property and bedding were lovely and clean and we left it as we found it. We would like to thank the owners for letting us stay at their property and we are looking forward to returning again at the end of June and hopefully next year!

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back anytime in the future. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Phil4.7May 2022

  • "Lovely to see that the upstairs en suites have been refurbed since our last stay!"

    This is our favourite accommodation in Rock and we hope to return in 2023.

    Thank you so much for your kind words. It's great to hear that you had such a fabulous stay at Out Of The Wind and had the perfect base to explore the local area from. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William5.0Apr 2022

  • "Spacious, well equipped and comfortable accommodation in a great location."

    We were very disappointed with the level of cleanliness however, particularly as the property should be "deep cleaned" between guests. On initial inspection the property appeared clean, however, on closer inspection that was certainly not the case. In all bathrooms, the extractor fans were absolutely filthy and have not been cleaned in years, the toilet seat hinges were particularly grim, as were the toilet brushes (don't provide them), there were dried-on spills in two of the kitchen cupboards that had just been left even though they were quite obvious, the cords on the downstairs blinds were disgusting and have never seen a cleaning cloth. Further disappointment is that there were no cleaning products left at the house for you to clean yourself. We had to go out to buy antibac spray, bleach and bathroom cleaner, don our Marigolds and give the loos a thorough clean before we were comfortable using them. You would expect much much better, particularly given the Covid pandemic.

    Reviewed by Mark and Leigh2.8Nov 2021

  • "Overall a lovely property, and well equipped."

    We’ve stayed twice and wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again. However, it’s a shame that most of the properties marketed by John Bray in Rock have increased in price by circa 25% over the last two years, which seems incredible.

    Reviewed by Melanie4.1Oct 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the John Bray Cornish Holidays collection.
John Bray Cornish Holidays offers some of the best located self catering cottages and holiday homes in North Cornwall’s loveliest locations including Rock and Daymer Bay, on the Camel Estuary, and Polzeath and Port Isaac on the Atlantic coast.


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor super king-size with en-suite bath, basin and WC, 1 x king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin with en-suite bathroom, bath, basin and WC (zip/link can be super king-size on request), 1 x ground-floor bunks
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Utility
  • Summer house/office
  • Under floor heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, Amercian-style fridge/freezer, wine fridge, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • TV with Freeview, DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample private parking
  • Garden with lawn, patio, furniture, barbecue and outside shower
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Restaurant 0.1 mile
  • Shop 0.3 mile
  • Fuel station 0.3 mile
  • Bakery 0.4 mile
  • Beach 0.9 mile
  • Golf Course 0.8 mile.

The property

Out of the Wind is a beautifully-appointed holiday home in Rock, Cornwall.

With tasteful décor throughout, that leads into a lovely, enclosed garden with a handy summer house/office space set among the greenery, this self-catering holiday home can cater up to nine guests in four simple yet stylish bedrooms, three of which include an en-suite bathroom.

The property is positioned on a private lane within a short stroll to Porthilly and Rock beaches, and only moments from a local newsagent and deli.

The waterfront and village amenities including an excellent bakery, butchers, fishmongers, and well-stocked grocery store in Rock are just another leisurely walk away.

Flooded with light, the open-plan kitchen, dining and living spaces greet you with a flow of wooden floors and fresh white walls providing that bright, contemporary look.

The kitchen area is well-equipped with everything you need for holiday cooking from home baking to preparing a three-course meal.

A feature double-sided fireplace is the centre point of the social space which you can admire from any part of the room.

The living area is equipped with corner sofa, TV and bi-fold doors that lead out onto the patio area and rear, enclosed south-facing garden with furniture and a summer house.

Hedges and wooden fence create a private space for soaking up the sunshine and enjoy a family barbecue of a summers evening on the rear terrace; the garden is also home to the summer house and office space, for those who may need to work during their break, or even if you just want to escape from the rest of your group to catch up on some emails.

The four bedrooms are split over the ground and first floor; the master bedroom not only benefits from an en-suite bathroom and dressing area, but you can open the patio doors out onto the rear terrace, perfect to enjoy an early morning coffee.

The bunk room also shares the ground floor, whilst the double with en-suite bedroom, and twin bedroom with an en-suite and optional extra single bed are found on the first floor.

The spectacular North Cornish coast boasts some of the best beaches in Britain and Polzeath.

When the tide and weather are against the surfing, the River Camel which runs between Padstow to the west and Rock to the east, produces a wonderful playground for watersport enthusiasts with a choice of activities including sailing, water-skiing, paddle-boarding, fishing trips and many more.

Stroll over from Rock to the calm waters of Daymer Bay for a relaxing swim or you can entertain the children with some rock-pool rambling to see what sea life they can find.

Hop across on the ferry to Padstow and take a wonder around the galleries and shops finishing with a delicious meal at Paul Ainsworth's No.

6 or try some locally caught fish and chips on the harbour.

Out of the water activities, Rock and Polzeath host the renowned St Enodoc and The Point at Polzeath golf courses, to 280 miles of the South West Coast Path for those keen hikers looking for a challenge.

Choose between a plethora of excellent restaurant and pubs including the St Enodoc Hotel, Restaurant Nathan Outlaw in Port Isaac, and The Mariners Pub to name a few.

All of this is on offer with a stay at Out of the Wind.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


  • Padstow 1.5 miles via ferry
  • Polzeath 2.8 miles
  • Wadebridge 6.2 miles

Rock is a desirable and much sought after coastal village located on the north eastern bank of the River Camel opposite the famous harbour town of Padstow which is easily reached by a regular ferry service. The summer home of royalty and celebrities offering top class restaurants and quality shops, the real draw is the array of watersports including sailing, water skiing, windsurfing and angling. Continuing on a sporting theme, the golf course at nearby St Enodoc is considered to be one of the best in the country. With an abundance of world class beaches all within a short radius it is easy to see why Rock holds its popularity.

View more holiday cottages in Rock

Please note bedroom 4 is made up as single Zip & Link beds as standard. If you require these to be a superking size bed, please contact us to advise. There is also an extra single bed which can be made up on request.