Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 60 View Image Gallery
  • Phoenix House - Cotswolds - 1017231 - photo 1

Phoenix House

(Ref. 1017231)

Castlemorton, Worcestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 9 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (32)
  • property (26)
  • family (22)
  • our (22)
  • great (22)
  • lovely (21)

43 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely property in a beautiful."

    Location. High quality finish all.over the house and outside. We'll.equipped with everything you need and plenty of comfy areas to relax in. Would stay again. Thanks to Johnny (owner) for.making us feel welcome.

    Thank you Martin and family, You are lovely people. Well come you back. Have a wonderful 2024. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Dec 2023

  • "Lovely property with great views."

    Spacious and modern. Hot tub was a great addition. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly.

    Hello Beth, Sorry for the delay. Thank you so much for coming and for you kind comments. Have a wonderful year. Warm regards Frank, Jonny and Pam x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Beth5.0Sep 2023

  • "From the moment we arrived it was Holiday time and I have to say Jonny and Pam made us feel at home straight away showing us a beautiful property with a very high spec and even though they owners lived on sight you were left alone unless you needed them but I loved our conversations with Pam in the mornings on our way out and Jonny is a true legend!"

    . The hot-tub was very nice and we will be back!! this holiday was a proper Chillax'athon and thank you Pam for the plant it is has been watered and I will let my Gardener pot this so I know it has been done properly :) I hope to see the Alpaca's next time after their haircut and the 2 new Rhea's and my favourite time was sitting outside at midnight feeling totally chilled and relaxed you couldn't hear a pin drop #bliss Graham & Michaela x

    Dear Graham and Michaela, You both were just lovely. Thank you. The house was left so perfect. Wish you both all the very best and hopefully see you soon. xxxx Frank, Pam and Jonny. xxxx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Sep 2023

  • "We stayed at Phoenix house, at the end of August, to celebrate my mums 70th."

    The house itself is simply beautiful, with plenty of gorgeous light and green views all around. This meant that when the weather was wet we could still appreciate the outdoors. Its set back away from the other building so plenty of privacy and space, but nice to know there is a family nearby a minute or two walk from the property. The owners are a super friendly family, at hand for anything needed and quick to respond. On the morning of my mums birthday the owners left a small potted plant, that my mum had commented that she liked, as a gift, with a very thoughtful message in a card. It was such a kind touch and really made my mum feel special. A couple of minor improvements I'd suggest would be to have a couple of extra tea towels, and to provide a couple of basics in the kitchen such as foil for the oven, washing liquid/scourer etc, although I know many properties don't provide either so not specific to this experience at all! Wish we had booked a longer stay as 4 nights just wasn't enough. One of the nicest hosts I've come across. Thank you for an amazing experience. Would love to come back again!

    Hi Kavita, Your feedback was appreciated, Thank you so much. There were 4 kitchen towels in the cupboard. x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kavita4.7Aug 2023

  • "We have just come back from a lovely week staying at this property, perfect for our family of 8, beautiful garden for the children to play in and wonderful house to relax and catch up in."

    The owners were respectful, attentive, helpful and friendly.

    Christina , thank you for your kind words. much appreciated. you were all lovely too. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christina5.0Aug 2023

  • "Just home from a wonderful week at Phoenix House with our children and grandchildren."

    The house is simply outstanding and Pam, Jonny and families are very friendly and helpful but completely unobtrusive. We couldn’t have chosen a more beautiful place to stay - the little ones loved the huge safe outside space to play, run and scoot and the vast open plan downstairs is perfect for extended families who like to eat together but also want their own space too. An additional freezer in the utility was a very welcome extra (we had Sainsbury’s deliveries twice during our stay) and with two little ones it was great to have a washing machine and dryer too. The hot tub was a great hit with everyone and Pam or Jonny came every day to check levels and make sure it was in perfect working order for us. The house is in a beautiful and very peaceful setting and the area has lots of great places to visit and see. If you are reading this review and thinking of booking please don’t hesitate just book and you will not be disappointed. Phoenix House is definitely 5 star. Thank you Pam and Jonny we will definitely be visiting again. Alison, Mark and family PS thank you for my plant Pam

    Hello Alison, Mark and family, Thank you so very much for that lovely review. We were very happy you stayed with us and look forward to seeing you all again. A BIG hug to Jack, his wife and beautiful daughters. I just love them. xx Frank, Jonny, Charlotte and Pam. xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Aug 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at Phoenix house which was a great spot for a family get together and vacation."

    The house and garden was perfect for our needs and spotlessly clean. Great facilities and such friendly and helpful hosts.

    Thank you so very much. We appreciate your kind words. please keep us in your prayers xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jo5.0Jul 2023

  • "We stayed at the end of July (5 adults and 3 children) and had a wonderful time."

    I have stayed in many cottages and houses for breaks around the UK, and Phoenix House is one of the best properties we have experienced. It started with a very warm welcome from Pam who showed us around the house. She greeted every single one of us and interacted with our children. We loved the open planned living, and the cleanliness was very important to us. In fact this is the first property where I felt I could walk around barefooted on the clean floors downstairs and the lush carpet upstairs (I would always wear socks or slippers in other properties). The house is modern as shown in the photos, accompanied by art and decor with Asian influence to give the interiors warmth and character. I particularly like that there are many different sofas in the right places to relax on - near the kitchen, in the downstairs bedroom, in the sun room, and of course the main living area. All of them were of decent quality, and we all commented that the grey sofas in the sun room were incredibly comfortable! Another thing that cannot be overlooked is the powerful water pressure, and if like me, you like a good rainfall shower over your head, this is spa-level greatness. It's so powerful that you may have to be slightly careful if you are using the hand shower. I see that the last review said that there is no privacy. We had no problems at all during our stay, and felt we had the privacy we wanted. There were no intrusions, and owners' houses were far enough. It was never an issue that they were "on site", and it was reassuring that they were close by in case we needed help with anything. You do have to open and shut the gate as mentioned as you drive in/out, and this was a light banter in our family as to who's turn it was to do it. The beds were comfortable, and the linens were all fine. There were a few bits and bobs that can be improved, mainly saucepans that needed replacing, and Pam was very receptive to hear about them so I made a snag list for her. No need to go into detail. Most are relatively minor things, but would make the whole experience even better such as improvements to kitchen cutlery, having regular glass tumblers, and I actually forgot to mention that the can opener doesn't work. Pam said she had ordered some new furniture and a new barbeque after our stay so I'm sure future guests are going to benefit as a result! In summary this is an amazing property, and we had a brilliant family time away. Finally, I left my laptop at the house, as it had slipped down the side of the bed. Pam was kind enough to call me on the same day of our departure to let me know. She then kept it save for me at her house and I went back to pick it up. I'm very grateful for this, so thanks very much again Pam!

    Dr Alvin and family, Thank you so much for your feed back. We do appreciate everything you said. we do our best to make everyone comfortable and happy. We have taken what you said on board and got it all in now. the new out door furniture arrived yesterday. last week new Barbecue, saucepans etc etc. Thank you again Dr Alvin. Stay well and happy. xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alvin5.0Jul 2023

  • "We arrived at Phoenix House and I have to be honest my heart dropped, what was not explained in the details was you have to open and shut a gate to drive through and past the owner and their sons houses, so you are not left to be private, and feel like you are being watched from the get go!"

    The house itself was lovely as were the facilities, but all the beds were uncomfortable and need upgrading and the linen desperately needs upgrading! We were called as they had noticed a number of cars arriving, my guests, and were querying numbers, I supplied the number and within 2 hours the daughter in-law was at the door asking the same question!! I offered for her to take a look at the number of people, but she declined! Upon vacating the son of the owners snapped at my son as he was explaining that we were about to leave (he was standing there just before 10am, disconcerting to say the least) to which he replied "I am not the cleaner"!!!!???? That day I was then told I had damaged the property via Sykes and that they would be in contact with more information. I asked the son myself what we had done and he showed me pictures of scuffing on a wall and a splintered side of a bed, which my son had slept in and at no time had he damaged the bed to his knowledge, he's 22 years old!! I explained this and asked where the splintered wood was to which to date I have had no reply!!! Yet a charge of £200 is pending to be taken out of my bank account! I also said we had at no point had the chairs up against the wall, but that in MY holiday rental, slight scuffing on the wall would be dealt with by me and taken as wear and tear, not a charge, to which the son replied "I'm sorry we don't have the same wear and tear as your rental but we try to give everyone a 5 star experience" - and I don't!!!!! Very disappointing. The owners were lovely but I have to say the son was disappointingly rude. He even asked me where the black bin was which I had never seen, maybe I'm being charged for that too!!!! If you want privacy, and to enjoy that, this is not the place for you!!

    Dear Nikkie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. There are three properties behind a gate and Phoenix house is separated by a 13 foot hedge. When we rent our facility we rent it for a certain amount of people and we did not expect to see multiple vehicles including taxis dropping off and picking up different people throughout your stay. I told you kindly on the phone while you were here that this is not how our facility or any of Sykes work and that my insurance only covers 9 people. You were the only adult with a group of teenagers coming in and out so yes it was a worry for us. My wife came to see you as after my all to you and other 5 teenagers arrived in another car. I suppose if you were not doing this then privacy would not have been an issue at all. We pride ourselves in our holiday home and do the very best we can. We understand that this can not be to everyone’s taste however our reviews speak for themselves. The bed was not broken upon your arrival and the walls were not damaged or chipped by the chairs (I have already sent you the images). Upon your departure they were so I have had to claim for this as, for us, this is not wear and tear and we would not want someone arriving at our property to see the house like that. As for being rude I am sorry that you feel that way but I suppose we will have to agree to disagree and accept that as you are angry you feel the need to exaggerate. As for me talking to your son on your departure, I was at work in Worcestershire and not at home and my father and mother in law said goodbye so I’m not entirely sure what you are talking about. I wish you all the best. Kindest regards, Jonny Balchandani Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicki4.1Jun 2023

  • "We had a fabulous week in this lovely house, 9 of us from two families all adults felt at home straight away."

    The house was spotless with everything you needed. The outside space was great as we like to play outdoor games and the hot tub an added bonus. The Alpacas just outside were a joy to see everyday alongside the sheep and chickens and the charming Jonny and all his family were always on hand for anything you needed. We would absolutely come back to stay in this wonderful property and catch up with this lovely family.

    Hello Tina and all 9 of you, Just could not believe when I walked into the house. It was spotless. Thank you all so much. The lovely young lady, smiling and took the rubbish to the gate. You were perfect holiday makers and we hope we will see you again. xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tina5.0Jun 2023

  • "This is our 2nd time at Phoenix House, first time was in July 2022, but we forgot to leave a review."

    But needless to say we returned as we had such a great time the first time. We came here at the end of May 23 for the kids half term for a week. Lovely spacious property we came as a family of 8 and the modern property catered for all our needs. Lovely outside space for the kids to play football and rounders, and boules. My daughter also bought her scooter and had hours of fun, Scooting round the outside of the house on the decking. Great wifi for those with teenagers. Hot tub was great and we made good use of this daily. We did a Tesco order to be delivered on the night we arrived to save us bringing the food with us, which was very handy. We had days out In Ledbury, Upton on Severn and also visited Malvern on the way home. Johnny, Pam and family were great hosts as they were before, and nothing is too much trouble for them, if you need anything. We will definitely return again as this has everything we needed for a relaxing family holiday.

    Reviewed by James5.0May 2023

  • "Great location, fab house, owners are right next door if you need anything."

    Would recommend and definitely return. If you want a taxi though, book in advance! Its in the middle of nowhere and not many taxis!

    Hey Lisa! Thank you so much for leaving a review you legend! You guys were amazing and are always welcome! Also my I add the only people that I know who have ever managed to get dropped off in a double decker bus Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Apr 2023

  • "Beautiful and peaceful setting This house worked very well for our three households with plenty of room for the children both inside and outside and plenty of room so that the adults were not on top of each other."

    The setting is lovely with views of the Malverns and with sheep and alpacas in the fields around. The accommodation was clean and well equipped and the owners were really pleasant. We hope to return as there are several things to do in the area that we didn't get around to.

    Reviewed by Christina5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely stay at the Phoenix House."

    The owners were more than helpful. The most beautiful setting with so many lovely local places to visit. The property is kept very clean and with a brilliant range of kitchen equipment. Miss being there already and will most definitely be returning.

    Hi Emma, Thank you so very much. You new very kind and we would love to see you again. Happy Easter to you all xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Mar 2023

  • "Our 2nd stay at this property."

    Wonderful host, location and house. All you need for a break and a base to explore the area. House is well equipped and has plenty of space for a larger family group. Great WiFi connective which is a bonus for the younger generation.

    Hi Jonathan Thank you for your lovely feed back. You always keep the place so tidy when you leave. Much appreciated. Come back soon. Jonny, Frank and Pam xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Dec 2022

  • "Lovely property in a beautiful setting, complete with Alpaca’s and chickens."

    The owners were very accessible and helpful during our stay, definitely a property to return to again in the future.

    Reviewed by Lynn4.4Nov 2022

  • "Great location to explore the area."

    The property exceeded our expectations. We loved the open plan layout. The property is finished to a very high standard and has all you need for a relaxing break. The animals are an added bonus and the grand kids loved them. Hosts welcomed us with refreshing enthusiasm.

    Hi Jonathan Thank you so much. Appreciate your comments. YOU are always welcome at anytime. Kind regards Frank, Pam and Jonny Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Oct 2022

  • "Amazing House, what a place to wake up to, fantastic gardens in a beautiful part of the countryside."

    Owners couldn't do enough for us. great fully equipped kitchen. Can't wait to return.

    Hi Mr Nigel Thank you so very much. What lovely 4 boys. They were a pleasure to have. You are always welcome anytime. Have a good week. Frank, Pam and Jonny. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Sep 2022

  • "This beautiful property was spotlessly clean, very well appointed and consistently warm and comfortable."

    The layout was ideal for a family celebration with ages ranging from 10 months to 86. Lots of different seating areas providing quiet space and lots of well kept outdoor space. Our host Pam couldn't have been more welcoming. I would thoroughly recommend Phoenix house .

    Mary-ann, Richard and Mary Thank you for your kind response. Very much appreciated. Would love to see you again. Frank, Pam and Jonny. x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary-anne5.0Sep 2022

  • "We all had a wonderful week in Phoenix House."

    It is ideal for multi generations and there are plenty of varied activities and attractions within 45 minutes as well as local walks. The house works brilliantly with lots of space inside and out, we took small scooters and bikes and the safe driveway and veranda were a hit for these. The owners live close by and were really helpful and lovely. All in all this property is a real gem and we can’t wait to return. Thank you

    Thank you ever so much. Welcome always Frank, Jonny and Pam xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandy5.0Aug 2022

  • "We have just returned from a great week at Phoenix House."

    Our party consisted of four generations - aged 89 to 4 years. The house was very comfortable, spacious and clean. Plenty of room outside for the children to run around and burn off energy. The decking was a great space to sit although the benches weren’t that comfortable to sit for a long while. We took camping chairs for days out and ended up using them to sit on the decking. Our phone signals were poor ( Vodafone and EE) but the house has excellent WI-FI. Johnny and family were great hosts very welcoming and friendly making sure everything was just right for a perfect family holiday. They were around if needed as live close by but didn’t intrude on our privacy.

    Reviewed by Karol5.0Aug 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Phoenix House- the property is amazingly comfortable and must be very cosy in winter!"

    The lovely folding doors gave us some much needed air during the heatwave. Our three boys enjoyed the space that the property offers and the hot tub, of course! A previous review said that the property was suitable for wheelchair users but I found it very difficult to transfer to the toilet and well nigh impossible to use the shower. Some comfortable outdoor seating might be a nice addition but we had a most enjoyable stay. Our host was extremely welcoming and kindly left us a bottle of wine, offering help at any time with any problems or questions we might have. We would definitely recommend Phoenix House

    Thank you so much. xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Aug 2022

  • "This was a beautiful property, perfect for a holiday with a big family with lots of reception space and outdoor space to enjoy."

    The owners were extremely welcoming and just next door, on hand if required. Would highly recommend this property for a holiday.

    Thank you so very much Hannah. Much appreciated . xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hannah5.0Jul 2022

  • "This was a late booking but as a group we would highly recommend Phoenix House."

    Phoenix House is truly fantastic as are the grounds of the property. The family were fantastic hosts. Can't wait to re book so we can go back soon.

    Thank you Serena and your group. you have been more than lovely and kind. xxx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Serena5.0Jul 2022

  • "Fabulous property, especially for wheelchair users."

    We were 3 generations staying in the house and it suited us all. The eldest was 73, the youngest was 15. Beautiful location and the owner was approachable, friendly, on hand if we needed anything but also respected privacy. Would definitely book again.

    Thank you Dear Sharon and family. Much appreciated. x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0May 2022

  • "A truly delightful house, owned by a lovely lady."

    I had all four daughters in the same place for the 1st time in years, even though the older three live and work in London, Ipswich and Carlisle. We were together for a family Christening nearby and Phoenix House was perfect for us. Extremely comfortable, excellent facilities, spotlessly clean. We had a great time.

    Thank you David, much appreciated xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Apr 2022

  • "Phoenix House is tranquillity personified!"

    It's in a beautiful spot with the backdrop of the Malvern Hills&surrounding peaceful Worcestershire countryside. Ample space inside&out being perfect for large families. Our family of 3 generation's enjoyed a wonderful holiday in this fabulously converted tractor barn. Johnny &Pam were friendly,helpful ,unobtrusive owners. Truly gorgeous holiday accommodation with lots of nearby places to visit if desired.

    Thank you so very much. xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gill5.0Apr 2022

  • "A former hay barn, renovated to provide a contemporary space with comfortable bedrooms and lots of sofas to lounge around on, with a great hot tub under cover in case of rain."

    This was the cleanest holiday house we had ever stayed in (out of lots). Wonderful walks right from the door, and such peaceful surroundings. Our only complaint was that the vast open plan living area with lots of hard surfaces meant noise reverberated. A really great house with lovely and helpful hosts.

    Thank you x. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha4.4Apr 2022

  • "Very Friendly and Welcoming Host, Pamela was very helpful!"

    Great place to stay located close to the scenic town of Malvern! Would definitely stay again.

    Thank you very much Vishal. We look forward to seeing you when ever you want to come back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vishal5.0Mar 2022

  • "Spent Xmas at Pheonix house and what a wonderful stay we had!"

    The owners were outstanding with their response and picked up so quickly on our messages even through the Xmas period! The house is beautiful and modern and would recommend to anyone!! We had an issue with the hot tub to which the water was drained and refilled within a day of contacting the owners - great service thank you! Some of the previous reviews were a little disconcerting but we were at ease on arrival as we had no issues to the previous ones raised through the reviews!

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback Leighanne. We always do our utmost to respond to our guests in a timely manner so we are glad you were pleased with the service. We would love to welcome yourself and your family back any time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leighanne4.7Dec 2021

  • "We are a group of 9 adults and had a wonderful weekend stay at Pheonix house."

    We were very impressed with the property, very spacious and modern and extremely clean. Beautiful views, lovely outdoor area and surrounding countryside for walks. The hot tub especially was brilliant! Owners were very polite, attentive and very available - even bringing us some cooking oil and more chopping boards late in the evening! Just be mindful when packing that some basics aren’t included - things like salt/pepper/oil and hairdryer. Overall we loved our stay and would 100% return!

    Thank you so very much , you wonderful people xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emily5.0Nov 2021

  • "Perfect location and really well converted barn."

    Owners were lovely and responded quickly to requests. 3 generations of the same family stayed at the same time and all were asked for their input. Cleanliness : Kitchen items were filthy. Several glasses had been put back in the cupboard with lipstick and saliva on them - appalling in the current environment. Frying pan had the remains of an omelette in it, cutlery was filthy, nachos still in the crisp bowls - all put back in the cupboards. We put the entire kitchen through the dishwasher. Crumbs from previous occupants all over the worktops and table. Being generous, this may have been the previous occupants putting things back, however the owner and/or cleaner MUST check this as to not to leaves the building filthy, not to mention the health hazard component. Comfort : Beds hard (completely personal view), bedding cheap. Central heating worked well, however no ability to change this as ALL of the central heating controllers had run out of their batteries. We were out most of the time, so didn't really affect us that much. Kitchen utensils, crockery and cutlery was a mismatch of items and lacked many things to enable someone to prepare a meal (scales, sieve, measuring jug, full set of saucepans). Insufficient glasses, cups and plates for a house that can sleep 9, and again a hodge podge of makes/shapes and not a set. Internet was patchy at best - not a wifi signal issue - this is an external line issue. OK for email, but not good enough to work or carry out a zoom call as many need to, even on leave. The grounds were great and more than enough room to play football/frizbee. Hot tub looked fantastic, though didn't use it - too busy seeing local sights. Enough parking for 3 cars, again great use of the outside space. Very useful laundry and coat room with washer AND dryer. We live overseas and frequently stay in holiday homes in the UK and further afield, so do speak from some experience. - I would restock the kitchen with a full set from Argos/Ikea/Tesco/etc - matching items with enough for 9. - ensure there are the basics for cooking. - put bedside lights in all the bedrooms - there were none. - a bluetooth sound system of some sort would be lovely and is pretty much ubiquitous in these types of property. - ENSURE THE PROPERTY IS CLEAN Summary : a great location, wonderful conversion, helpful and responsive owners, but poorly executed. Just going the extra 10% would make this a perfect 5* property.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sad that you had to write such a lengthy review for the website. You had our number and if you had called us we would have come over to rectify the issues straightaway. We take on board your comments and will look at re stocking the kitchen. Whilst we facilitated an early arrival for you the housekeepers may have rushed a little too much and we will address this with them.We wish you all the best and thank you again for staying with us at Phoenix House. Best regards the owners, Phoenix House Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony3.1Oct 2021

  • "This was a stunning house for our family group of seven adults and one toddler."

    The open plan living, dining and kitchen area worked very well. All the fixtures and fittings were to a very high standard. Add in the garden, the hot tub, freedom to stroll around the 10 acres of sheep and the superb location all added to an excellent venue for family holidays. johnny and Pam were very friendly and helpful hosts. Altogether, Phoenix House deserves the highest praise and recommendation.

    Reviewed by Ralph5.0Oct 2021

  • "We had the most wonderful family weekend in this beautiful property celebrating my husband’s “special” birthday."

    What lovely memories we’ll have! From contact with the owner from the start (who couldn’t have been any more accommodating) to the wonderful facilities and the added bonus of a hot tub, which got plenty of use! All this and set in a most tranquil, private setting. A real gem of a find for a relaxing break. Most highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Sep 2021

  • "Phoenix House is a wonderful large space for the family to share, very rural and peaceful."

    The accommodation is very comfortable and well equipped and the showers were great. Pam and Jon were very welcoming and we really enjoyed our week. The outside area is perfect and safe for kids to run around and the larger 'kids' enjoyed the hot tub! Lots of room to park. We also loved the location as there are so many different things to do. We went to Shelsley Walsh Hill Race, Jungle Golf, West Midlands Safari Park, The Maize Maze and Eastnor Castle. The Swan in nearby Upton upon Severn had great food and friendly staff. We would definitely recommend for a large or extended family group.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Aug 2021

  • "Absolutely amazing time with brilliant hosts."

    Everything was perfect before we even arrived with a lot of help given to us by the owners. The property was lovely and we couldn’t fault a thing. Would absolutely recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Aug 2021

  • "Phoenix House is a great holiday home."

    Open layout and great facilities combined with excellent hosting. The location is great for both The Malverns and The Cotswolds.

    Reviewed by Sean5.0Jul 2021

  • "We’ve had a great week’s holiday in Phoenix house and the hosts couldn’t have been more welcoming!"

    The house is practically new and has top quality furnishings an fittings. The hosts are nearby and on hand if you have any questions or problems. The area is very rural and pretty, and the towns of Malvern and Upton upon Severn are close and very pleasant to wander round. It was the hottest week of the year which did curtail us a little as we had young children with us, but we enjoyed the cinema at Gloucester Quays and ten pin bowling in Worcester and a boat trip on the River Wye. We thoroughly enjoyed our family holiday to Phoenix house and hope you will too!

    Reviewed by Teresa5.0Jul 2021

  • "The property was incredibly clean and the hosts were incredibly welcoming."

    The owners were very accommodating at every request we had and were lovely to talk to. Set in a quiet location surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens and picturesque sunsets. This is ideal for large families or groups with three great bathrooms. The utility area is very useful, especially (if like us) for young families needing to wash and dry clothes regularly. The outside space is teriffic and the kids loved running around barefoot on the lush manicured lawn. We will definately book again.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Jul 2021

  • "The property is in a beautiful rural location but , with a car, it is easy to get to Worcester, Gloucester, Tewkesbury and Rhos on Wye."

    The local town of Upton upon Severn has some nice places to eat especially the tapas bar by the river and the Indian takeaway. The Plough and Harrow beyond Hanley Swan is also good. The owners of the property are nearby and are very nice, helpful and welcoming. We appreciated the bottle of wine that was left for us when we arrived. The property is very comfortable and spacious and finished to a high standard with lots of places to chill. The hot tub is in a private setting so there is no chance of being overlooked. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Jun 2021

  • "Johnny and his family were lovely, with a great balance of being helpful, welcoming and friendly while still providing a sense of privacy."

    The large garden allowed for boules and endless football and cricket (soft ball) matches, ensuring the 4 children made the most of a traditional family holiday and only resorted to technology (or the lovely hot tub) when they had tired themselves out. The whole accommodation was clean and tastefully decorated, with a good layout and comfortable beds and sofas. We always stay in lovely cottages/barns but we wanted an extra treat after lockdown and to celebrate my dad's 75th. This did not disappoint! He enjoyed having his own quiet time in the sun lounge area and said 'this holiday was the best birthday gift that we could have given'. We enjoyed bbq's and lovely walks (including the 12 acres of Johnny's land with sheep, alpacas etc). There were also plenty of great day outs in the surrounding area (e.g. Go Ape, Aqua Park etc). We really couldn't have asked for any more and wish Johnny and his family lots of success in this new venture.

    Reviewed by Gill5.0May 2021

  • "Phoenix house was amazing, Jonny and his family were lovely."

    We felt welcomed from the minute we arrived, the place was spotless and the views from the cottage were amazing. Although they were our neighbours we didn’t feel disturbed at all. Whatever we needed Jonny was just a call away. All of us enjoyed staying here and will definitely be returning soon To summarise, amazing stay, great hosts and beautiful cottage.

    Reviewed by Kulwant5.0May 2021

  • "Thank you so much to Johnny and the family at Phoenix House for such a welcoming and pleasant experience at their stunning barn conversion."

    The barn itself is beautiful and spacious and the gardens and surrounding areas on the farm were so well kept. Overall this property is 10/10 for all aspects. The Malvern Hills and Upton upon Severn town were a short distance away with great local pubs and shops. I would highly recommend this to everyone especially perfect for large families.

    Reviewed by Desmond5.0Apr 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Over two floors
  • Five bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor super-king-size (zip/link, can be made into a twin) with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x king-size double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Cloakroom
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and seating area
  • Utility
  • Sun room
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • Smart TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent.1x Travel cot (bed linen not provided) and 1x highchair available
  • Off-road parking for 4 cars
  • Large lawn garden with hot tub and wrap-around decking
  • Sorry, no pets, no smoking
  • Shop 1.6 miles, pub 1.9 miles
  • Note: No stag/hen or similar
  • Note: Hot Tub is not available until 21st May 2021. Please bring your own towels for the hot tub.

The property

Nestled in the picturesque Worcestershire countryside, on the grounds of the owner's working farm, surrounded by fields of grazing sheep and alpacas and offering far-reaching views of the Malvern Hills, is Phoenix House.

This stunning and contemporary barn conversion boasts idyllic and luxurious accommodation for a family or group gathering for those wanting to explore idyllic villages and the superb walking and cycling opportunities of the Malvern Hills and beyond.

Accessed via a private and gated driveway, which comfortably holds four cars, this remarkable retreat boasts endless rural scenery, which can be enjoyed throughout the property, as well as from the decking area, which wraps around the entire perimeter of the property.

Enter the property into a large open-plan living room, with a high spec, fully-fitted kitchen hosting all the appliances you'll need to cook up delicious group meals, which can be enjoyed at the breakfast bar or for a more formal setting, at the large dining table, which overlooks the fields.

Evenings can be spent unwinding in the sitting room with a film night on the large Smart TV, or indulge in a great book in the spacious sunroom, which boasts more wonderful rural views.

Spend time sitting out on the decking admiring your peaceful setting, watching the alpacas and sheep grazing in the fields.

When the day draws to a close, find comfort in one of five bedrooms; a ground-floor super-king-size double with zip/link feature offers a flexible sleeping arrangement and an en-suite, while upstairs a king-size double with en-suite, a double, a twin and single all offer fitted wardrobes and dual aspect windows, showcasing the best of the views.

The bedrooms that don't possess an en-suite do share use of the fantastic partially-tiled bathroom, with a bath and walk-in shower to choose to start each day with.

Venture out to explore your surroundings, with Castlemorton village boasting a lovely 12th century church, as well as being within easy reach of a selection of historic towns and wonderful walking opportunities.

The nearest shop and pub are within two miles, ideal for grabbing any essentials or enjoying a pub lunch, while the town of Upton-upon-Severn is just four miles away, along the banks of the river Severn.

Here you will discover ample restaurants, cafés and dessert shops like The Pudding Shop to tantalise your taste buds, as well as picnic opportunities along the river, stunning 17th century architecture to admire, a striking Medieval church and a museum.

The town has its own marina and vineyard, and hosts festivals all-year-round, including jazz, folk and blues festivals, as well as the Sunshine Music Festival.

Explore the outstanding countryside of the Malvern Hills AONB on foot, bicycle or horseback, with over 100 miles of footpaths and bridleways to choose from, while the town of Malvern showcases regular farmers' markets, craft and antique fairs and its theatre regularly houses productions from the West End and the Royal Shakespeare Company.

The attractive towns of Ledbury, Tewkesbury, and Cheltenham are all within easy reach, with attractions like Eastnor Castle, with its assault course and treetop walkway, and Hellens manor, one of England's oldest dwellings, where you can enjoy guide tours and round off the experience with afternoon tea in the tearoom.

The city of Worcester is within a short drive, where you can enjoy excellent shopping in a plethora of independent shops, as well as paying a visit to its incredible cathedral.

With a wealth of opportunity to explore the magnificent Worcestershire countryside from your doorstep, make Phoenix House the base for a special getaway with loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £600.

View on map

About the location


Malvern 6 miles; Ledbury 8 miles; Worcester 14.5 miles; Gloucester 16 miles

The delightful village of Castlemorton is situated at the southern end of the famous Malvern Hills, which lie on the boundary between Herefordshire and Worcestershire and are a paradise for walkers and wildlife enthusiasts. Boasting a lovely 12th Century Church, the village stands nearly equal distance from the historic towns of Malvern (voted into AOL Travel's 2009 'hottest destinations' list), Ledbury and Tewkesbury, which are home to a wealth of black and white houses, olde worlde inns, restaurants, quality shops and are surrounded by beautiful countryside. There are country houses, gardens, castles, museums, railways and wildlife centres situated within easy reach of the village, while the lovely riverside town of Upton-on-Severn is also nearby, with its lovely inns, marina and river boat cruises. Castlemorton Common provides many lovely walk and cycle rides, part of which is a designated SSSI due to its vast array of wildlife, flora and fauna. The beautiful Worcestershire town of Malvern dates back to the Bronze Age and is situated on the eastern side of the dramatic Malvern Hills. An Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the hills form a nine mile range of ancient rock, which offers 100 miles of footpaths and bridleways with natural springs and long distance views in all directions. The town holds antiques fairs, WI country markets, farmers’ markets and many auctions throughout the year, as well as the Great Malvern Food Festival in June. The Malvern Theatre welcomes productions from the West End and the Royal Shakespeare Company. Fishing and river cruises are available nearby and there are National Trust properties and gardens to visit in the area. Malvern has many individual shops, cafes, art galleries and restaurants, a luxurious spa, and is also home to the Three Counties Showground. Malvern is the home of the Morgan car, which makes this area popular with enthusiasts. The pretty town of Upton upon Severn lies on the banks of the River Severn and boasts a variety of delightful 17th century buildings and attractive shops, including The Pudding Shop, traditional inns and cafes and its very own museum. It also plays host to many annual festivals, including Jazz, Folk and Blues Festivals, as well as the Sunshine Music Festival. This small, thriving town has its own marina, a vineyard and a well-stocked farm shop at the local fruit farm, plus the town’s medieval church, which is now a Heritage Centre, is topped by a striking 18th century cupola, known locally as The Pepperpot. The picturesque Forest of Dean, with its range of attractions, is only 30 miles away, and the cathedral city of Worcester and waterfront city of Gloucester are also close by.

Note: No stag/hen or similar.
Note: There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £600 for this property - Sykes managed
Please bring your own towels for the hot tub.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas