Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 49 View Image Gallery
  • Church View (Lower Slaughter) - Cotswolds - 1091414 - photo 1
close

Floorplans

Floorplan

Floorplan

Photos

Floorplan

Church View (Lower Slaughter)

(Ref. 1091414)

Lower Slaughter, Gloucestershire Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (8)
  • no (8)
  • all (7)
  • beautiful (7)
  • house (5)
  • garden (5)

12 Customer Reviews

  • "A family holiday - consisting of three generations."

    A wonderful holiday cottage full of character and charm. We ordered an online Sainsbury’s shop, delivered to the property upon arrival ( make sure you write in comments to deliver to the rear or the property- this helped them not take the wrong turn to the front !). Wonderful clean property, beds really comfy enough space for all the family to enjoy and not to feel on-top of each other. Games for children and great channels on the tv for all to enjoy. We had an issue with heating on the first evening, wifi nest dropping out .. but Sykes out of hours came to the rescue and sent some one out to help .. they turned up with extra wood for the log burner as a back up .. was soon back on so all good. Note to anyone with mobility issues.. stairs can be a bit steep in places and low beams on upper floor .. my 6ft 5in son managed to duck to gain access to upper floor but those less agile and tall may find this a bit of a challenge. Beautiful house, grounds & village, we made lovely memories as a family just wish we could’ve stayed longer to explore.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your say at Church View Lower Slaughter. It's lovely to hear you had a fabulous family gathering at the house and that the heating was sorted out quickly. Sometimes these Hive/Nests systems can be a little temperamental, modern technology!. We hope you made the most of the wonder area and things that you can do local to the house. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alexia4.4Oct 2023

  • "We had a great stay and are sorry we didn't get round to writing in the visitors book."

    Unfortunately I broke my elbow during our stay (not at the cottage) so there was a bit of to-ing and fro-ing to hospital! Happy for the following to be published: The location of the cottage is absolutely fantastic - pretty and quiet village, no traffic concerns (unlike nearby Stow-on-the-Wold), great pub next door, gorgeous church view, and great to have parking for 4 cars. Cottage was very well appointed - there was nothing we needed that we didn't find. The stairs are definitely a bit of a challenge for older people and young children but this is made clear in the listing. The garden was wonderful. It would have been nice to maybe have some cushions or more comfortable garden chairs. Also a shame the only direct access to the garden from the house was blocked off by the conservatory which we didn't have access to. It would have been great to have a few garden games to use - boules, croquet maybe... My only criticism would be that the directions could have been better. I think it mentioned that the access road was just on or after the bend after the church but don't think it said which side of the road and since the sign at the entrance to the driveway says 'Steeple View' we all assumed this was a private drive to that house only. Just mentioning this house sign in the directions would be very helpful. Communication with Character Cottages was good. The inflexible cancellation policy would not make this company my first choice in future.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that you broke your elbow during your time away. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay regardless. We appreciate your suggestions for improvement and directions have been amended to help future guests . We hope that we can welcome you again in the future, and that you can enjoy your stay even more next time. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Jul 2023

  • "Generally I thought the cottage was very well set up although, as an induction hob user, I found the gas hob frustratingly slow when cooking for 8-10 people."

    We were 2 grandparents and my son and daughter in law from Australia with 4 children aged between 5 and 9 who are energetic and intelligent but not badly behaved. I would not holiday in Lower Slaughter again. I found the locals pretty standoffish especially in the presence of the children. (We spend a lot of time in Cumbria where the locals are actually friendly!). Also it’s a bit too chocolate boxish for me. On the other hand, lots of things for families to do in the area and the children had a good time.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Church View. We can only apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay and hope that these did leave too much of a lasting impact on your retreat away. We are glad that the children had a good time away and wish you all the best! Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by James4.7Oct 2022

  • "The cottage was very clean and well equipped, we had a lovely relaxing time with old friends of over 30 years."

    Would definitely recommend although the stairs are not suitable for anyone with mobility issues.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review it is very much appreciated. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. With best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Sep 2022

  • "Great stay in a beautiful location, the cottage has all the facilities you require with a lovely garden."

    The cottage is spacious and clean. I would certainly visit again.

    What a wonderful review of Church View, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. With best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Aug 2022

  • "The location of the property was lovely."

    However, we were very upset and disappointed at the uncleanliness and shabbiness of Church View. The garden furniture certainly needs replacing with broken chair and unclean. The downstairs shower no one wanted to use as it was so disgusting. I would certainly not recommend this property and most definitely would not return. It’s such a shame as it could be a beautiful cottage, all it needs is a little TLC. Email and photos to follow.

    We are so sorry to hear you were not happy during your recent stay at Church View, our family holiday home. We take great pride in our home & listen closely to all feedback. We wish you had contacted us during your stay so we could have tried to address any issues there & then. I have addressed the cleanliness issues with housekeeping, we sincerely apologise for this. The broken garden chairs have been removed and two new benches have been installed and the existing garden bench and table have also been re-varnished. If we were informed whilst you were in Church View we would have replaced them during your stay. Thank you for alerting us about the downstairs bathroom, we were not aware of the leak that caused the damaged. This has now be fixed and repainted. Once again thank you for your feedback. we would like to reassure you that we have acted upon all issues raised. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine1.6Jun 2022

  • "We all enjoyed our stay at your beautiful cottage the which is well equipped we couldn't fault it, everything was clean and fresh and how lovely to arrive and have the dining table fully laid."

    The garden was a big hit with our three granddaghters celebrating Easter with an Easter Egg Hunt and our annual Easter races ie : skipping, egg and spoon, bean bag, wheelbarrow and three laps around the garden and prizes for all after each race what fun we all had. We are sure we will be back - thank you so much.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback for Church View. The owners take pride in their large, lovely garden and so pleased your granddaughters had a great easter egg hunt. We would love for you to return in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Apr 2022

  • "You are very easy to work with."

    Thank you. Cottage delightful - as described. Could not have been better. Thank you.

    We are glad to hear your stay could not have been better at Church View. Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Mar 2022

  • "Hat a wonderful place for a relaxing holiday!"

    Would love to know more about the history of this place. We enjoyed a meal at The Slaughters Country Inn, the Co-op in Bourton is just great and fish and chips from The Chip Shed were yummy. Thank you for making this house so relaxing. And the garden too!

    The BrunetsJun 2021

  • "Hank you for having us in your beautiful house"

    The Hermers FamilyJun 2021

  • "Hat a beautiful house and very well appointed."

    We booked last minute and the only downside was none of the eating establishments in the village could fit us in. All in all though a very enjoyable break - thanks

    The Howell FamilyJun 2021

  • "Antastic stay!"

    Beautiful area and a wonderful location to finally see some family after all this lockdown.

    The Walter FamilyApr 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Four bedrooms: 2 x king-size (one first floor, one second floor), 2 x twin (one first floor, one second floor)
  • Ground floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC, first floor bathroom with roll-top bath, shower over, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar and two stools
  • Utility
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room
  • Drawing room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge/freezer, washer, dishwasher, 2 x cafetières, hairdryer
  • 3 x Freeview TVs, DVD player, radio with CD player and iPod dock, telephone, WiFi, selection of DVDs, games and books
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair available
  • Off-road parking for 4 cars
  • Lawn garden with furniture (April to October), covered well, and herb garden
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 1.6 miles, pub 0.1 miles

The property

Church View is a charming Cotswold stone property which dates back to the 17th century and holds a wealth of character, hosting up to eight guests in four spacious bedroom this property is the perfect getaway for a small family or group looking for a relaxing stay in the Cotswolds.

Located in the idyllic Lower Slaughter and overlooking the village church, the stunning location of this property is unparalleled.

The courtyard at the rear of the property has sought-after parking spaces for up to four cars so you can unload your luggage right on the property grounds and enter into the fresh lobby as you kick off your boots and walk into the character filled drawing room which boasts exposed beams, stone mullion windows overlooking the glorious front garden and inglenook fireplace housing a warming woodburning stove; enjoy a fun games evening with your loved ones making use of the games provided.

A small passageway leads you past a rare and eccentric wig cupboard and into the light, dual-aspect sitting room which has lovely wood flooring and country styling, with five occasional chairs, this room is a delightful relaxing space for you to chill out with your group and catch up on your favourite TV show or watch a DVD.

The tastefully decorated kitchen with eye-catching ornamental AGA, is well-equipped and ideal for home cooking, along with a breakfast bar and two stools, before moving into the stylish dining room which is home to a large dining table and has a beautiful ornamental fireplace.

There is a shower room on the ground floor, along with a useful utility room with washer/dryer, which can be used for additional storage.

When sleeps calls, head up the steep staircase with handrail up to the first floor where you will find two beautifully styled bedrooms; the master contains a king-size wooden sleigh bed and has lovely dual aspect quality and exposed beams, you can catch up on your favourite TV shows from the comfort of your bed; the second bedroom has picturesque rural views through the stone mullion, dual aspect windows and contains twin beds; completing this floor and benefitting from underfloor heating is the bathroom, complete with roll-top bath for you to relax in.

A choice of two impressive bedrooms are accessed up a second flight of steep stairs, the first hosts a king-size bed and has striking exposed wooden beams and a TV; the second bedroom on this floor is a twin room, with beautiful views overlooking the church.

Once you have rested your eyes for the evening, head down to for some fresh air into the well-maintained, wonderful wrap-around walled garden which has colourful flowers and a magnificent pear tree which climbs the property.

Accessed via a side gate in the courtyard, the enclosed garden is mostly lawn, and is bordered by tall hedges and mature shrubs, with a fragrant herb garden resting just beneath the kitchen window which guests are welcome to utilise.

Stunning views towards the churchyard can be enjoyed at the wooden bench and from April to October the owners provide a large table with parasol to enjoy your meals alfresco.

Lower Slaughter is widely regarded as one of England's most beautiful villages with picturesque cottages lining the banks of the River Eye which flows from Upper Slaughter through Lower Slaughter.

Planning your itinerary can be a difficult task when there are so many wonderful things to do around Lower Slaughter, here are just a few things you can do during your trip: Bourton-on-the-Water is dubbed the ‘Venice of the Cotswolds’ due to the sparkling River Windrush, which runs through the heart of town, spanned by multiple picturesque bridges, where you can enjoy high tea at a riverside café, find your way out of the Dragonfly Maze, shop in a boutique store, or visit the Cotswold Motoring Museum & Toy Collection.

Stow-on-the-Wold is the highest of the Cotswold villages, which is a small market town with an array of boutique shops, tea rooms, pubs and restaurants, as well as the Farmers’ Market which every second Thursday of each month, featuring inviting local produce; you can visit the Fosse Gallery to admire an array of contemporary British art, indulge in a bite to eat and drinks at The Stag at Stow, or revel in the scrumptious tea and cakes at The Old Bakery Tea Room.

Burford, known as Southern “gateway to the Cotswolds” is perched upon a hill and the high street is lined with charming antique shops, boutique stores, and cafés, here you can visit Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens where you will find over 250 species of animals and be inspired by the beautiful landscaping and seasonal displays throughout the park.

Whatever the time of year, whatever the weather, Church View is a fantastic choice for you and your loved ones to enjoy a wonderful escape to the Cotswolds.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location

Lower Slaughter

Lower Slaughter is a village in the Cotswold district of Gloucestershire, England, 4 miles south west of Stow-on-the-Wold.The village is built on both banks of the River Eye, a slow-moving stream crossed by two footbridges, which also flows through Upper Slaughter. At the west end of the village there is a 19th-century water mill with an undershot waterwheel and a chimney for additional steam power. There is a ford where the river widens in the village and several small stone footbridges join the two sides of the community. A mill is recorded in the Doomsday Book of 1086 on the site of The Old Mill. In the 14th Century it had begun to be known as Slaughter Mill and is open to the public to view today. Lower Slaughter is home to the pretty church of St Mary. The church and its impressive spire were re-built in 1867 but some arches between the nave and the south aisle date back to the thirteenth century while the church of St Peter's, in Upper Slaughter, is a historic Norman church with parts dating from the 12th century .

Note: There is a covered well in the courtyard, however young children should still be supervised when outside.

Note: The garden is maintained by a professional gardening service every Thursday, this work will be completed as quickly as possible and with as little disturbance as possible to guests.

Note: This is an old property with many character features including narrow and steep stairs, low beams and some uneven flooring, all of which could pose difficulty to guests with limited mobility.

Note: This property does not accept commercial or corporate bookings.

Note: This property does not accept stag, hen or similar parties.

Note: The AGA is not operational.

NOTE: REQUEST THAT NO FIREWORKS ARE LET OFF AT THIS PROPERTY DUE TO PROXIMITY OF LIVESTOCK.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas