Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 23 minutes ago

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • Elm View - Cotswolds - 988703 - photo 1
close
  • Elm View - (Ref. 988703)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Elm View

(Ref. 988703)

Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire Show on map

4.2

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (34)
  • lovely (29)
  • clean (17)
  • location (16)
  • all (16)
  • bed (16)

59 Customer Reviews

  • "Unfortunately, very mixed feelings."

    After a long journey we just wanted to get in and get our evening meal on. Went to put the oven on and get out a roasting dish. Both dishes we found were not just dirty, they looked like they had been left after the last meal had been served from them. We had to start our holiday by washing up someone else’s roast / grilled leftovers. The first couple of plates and mugs we took out to use were dirty. There were several chipped plates and bowls and a glass. In the utility area there was an overflowing pile of recycling. To be fair we guess the previous guests hadn’t put it out for collection as the recycling schedule was out of date, it was last year's. It said collection day was Tuesday, we were going to put it out on Tuesday hoping it would go but we were disturbed by the van arriving on Monday morning, so missed it. We contacted the letting agent to complain. They said they would send housekeeping round to sort the dirty items and a maintenance person to take the rubbish away. (Neither arrived). Very poor customer service. No follow up. We had also asked where we had to put our dog poo bags as that wasn’t mentioned anywhere. They said in the bin. So if the out of date schedule is right about the frequency of the collections some are only fortnightly which means the next guests will have our dog’s poo bags still in the bin. As a business shouldn’t the waste be collected differently to the domestic council system, at the end of each booking? We ended up taking some of our recycling with us on a day out to get rid of some of it! We had to leave the food waste bin dirty as there were no liners as mentioned in the guest information folder. The folder needs reviewing. We left some dirty items we found, the out of date recycling schedule and the food bin on the table so hopefully housekeeping will deal with them before the next guests arrive. Such a shame as the owners have a nice cottage in a good location, it will be even better when the village pub reopens. Good off road parking. Nice to find the wine, orange juice, milk and biscuits after finding the dirty items. We were aware of the honest description about steep stairs and low beams and were happy to work round that. Several of the photos do not represent the cottage as we found it. We do agree with some of the other reviews. It should be advertised for 4. Technically it does sleep 6, bedrooms are a good size, but we found it very uncomfortable to sit 5 adults around the dining table so not sure how 6 would manage. The sitting room only has 5 seats, unless the pouffe is supposed to be a seat. Unfortunately the way the feedback questions are worded we will have to give low scores. Overall cleanliness was ok but dirty kitchen items and rubbish is not ok. The photos don’t represent the layout of the kitchen and seating in the sitting room. Photos need updating. Sorry to sound so disappointed but happy to send you photos of our concerns if that would be helpful to the owners. We’re sorry to bring down your ratings but feel it’s important to give you honest feedback.

    Thank you for your feedback, we take all feedback seriously, we are extremely sorry that the housekeeping and customer service was not up to our usual high standards. This has been investigated and there was an obvious breakdown of communication on this occasion. We have taken onboard all of the points raised and are actively working to resolve all of the issues raised.Manor Cottages OWNER RESPONSE: Thank you for your feedback. We were very concerned when we read your comments. It’s a lovely cottage which I have known since birth and we take pleasure and pride in sharing it with guests. We have had discussions with the team at Manor Cottages, and it seems that on this occasion, the housekeeping staff let us down. There are no excuses for kitchen items being dirty, and recycling still being there. We have been assured that those responsible will not be in charge of cleaning and maintaining Elm View in future, and that this will not happen again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emily1.3Nov 2023

  • "The property was clean and well presented with local walks very close."

    On our arrival the owners left milk and tears ready for our arrival. The shower was very poor and could do with an upgrade. The listing states that the local village is just around the corner when it’s actually 3 miles away. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by Stuart3.4Sep 2023

  • "The cottage was fantastic and well placed to explore the Cotswolds."

    It is a home from home and very cosy. It's not high end or clinical, but exactly what a cottage should be, warm and welcoming and well loved. We did not use the top bedroom (it looked lovely and comfortable), but as others mention if you are tall or have any mobility issues you'd struggle to access it. However the other 2 bedrooms, on the 1st floor, are easily accessed and very comfortable. The enclosed garden was secure and great for the dog to roam in.

    Reviewed by Tara4.4Sep 2023

  • "Very comfortable cottage, had a lovely relaxing few days."

    Could do with a mirror in the top bedroom. Annoying yapping dogs next door. Otherwise an idyllic country break.

    thank you for your feedback. We will pass your suggestion onto the owner. Sorry to hear you were disturbed by the neighbour's dogs. We hope you enjoyed exploring the beautiful area. Best wishes Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alistair5.0May 2023

  • "Elm View was a lovely property, clean and welcoming."

    Thank you for your feedback, we're so pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Best wishes, Manor Cotatges Property Owner

    Reviewed by Irene5.0May 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay at the cottage, the property is like a home from home."

    It is set in a beautiful location, with fabulous walks on the doorstep. The cottage itself has all the necessary utensils etc for preparing meals, wood for the fire, and even board games for entertainment. Would highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting the area. Thankyou for a great stay!

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted you had such a wonderful stay at Elm View and managed to enjoy the surrounding countryside. We would love to welcome you again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0Apr 2023

  • "Great cottage we all enjoyed (even the dogs) good walks close by , shame the local pub was closed for refurbishments."

    We're so pleased you and your dogs had a wonderful stay at Elm View. The local pub has sadly had a fire recently, however there are lots of dining options in nearby Chipping Campden. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew3.4Feb 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage lots of books, puzzles & games."

    We had a couple of small issues with the front door not locking and the fridge was warm to start with. Called up and they were sending someone out the next morning. We waited until 11.30 but they didn’t come. My husband managed to lock the door in the end so was all good. A few places were closed which was a shame the pub 45 secs away gutted!

    Thank you for this lovely feedback and we're glad you enjoyed staying at Elm View. We hope the issue with the front door lock and the fridge did not impact on your stay and that you will come back to stay again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bev5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Elm View Cottage."

    The beds were extremely comfy and kitchen supplies more than adequate. The garden was enclosed so great for our dog to play in without fear of escape! Lots of lovely walks in very close proximity. The location was brilliant for exploring the pretty Cotswold area. The listing by Sykes was accurate for this property. We would recommend a stay at Elm View!

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, it's fabulous to see how much you enjoyed your time at the house and the setting is wonderful to. We would love to welcome you back again very soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Aug 2022

  • "Comfortable cottage with ample parking off-road."

    But should a "sleeps 6" cottage have only one toilet? Maybe this is really a "sleep 4" cottage - especially as the top bedroom was difficult to get into and even more difficult to get out of! (I went down backwards on all fours for safety!) Maybe close off the upper bedroom and advertise the cottage as a "sleeps 4"? Your broadband instructions were out of date in your property folder. Your back door lock needs the attention of a locksmith as it was VERY difficult to use. The fridge needs defrosting. When we arrived we had to empty the dishwasher. The garden was lovely for sitting out in, and the lounge was comfortable, All cutlery, crockery and glasses as needed were there, although we never did find the oven instructions!. Plenty of hot water! Towels and bedding were lovely.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Elm View. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at the house and thank you for the feedback, we will pass this onto the Housekeeper to make sure all the manuals are up to date and accessible for all guests and she will also address any other issues you have mentioned, like getting Maintenance to have a look at the lock. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.1Jul 2022

  • "The house was very clean and cosy, with a well equipped kitchen."

    I loved the number of books in the house and the comfort of the garden furniture. The house was excellently placed to visit loads of places of interest, but was secluded and relaxing.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, everything you could need."

    Great location everything within 30 mins to an hour, lovely and warm and quiet village! Thank you x

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Manor cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Jun 2022

  • "Elm View was clean, very comfortable, and well equipped."

    There was a wealth of books, DVDs, games, maps and local information. The cottage is well located and there are a number of walks close to the cottage for dogs. We did have a problem with the key safe, both entering and leaving the cottage. Sykes recommend we “ smack it with the palm of your hand”. It worked! We also had difficulty with the door, locking and unlocking, some guidance would have been appreciated.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and apologies about the key safe, A new one will be installed and maintenance will have a look at the door. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Manor cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandy5.0Jun 2022

  • "Very nice property."

    Kitchen needs updating but the rest of the property was nice and it was all very clean. Instructions re. bins/recycling could have been clearer as we are not used to as many bins at home!

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a constructive feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and will take your recommendations in consideration. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew4.7Apr 2022

  • "Very nice cottage, very cosy and perfect for a weekend break."

    Lovely location. Unfortunately though, the entry time of 6pm on the first day and exit time of 10am on the day of departure were really unsuitable and made things more difficult. We understand the need for cleaning, but would urge you to look again at this.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Elm View. We are glad you enjoyed the stay and after your feedback the check-in time has now changed to 4pm. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dave4.4Jan 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage, it was a really quite location, the cottage was stocked with absolutely everything you would need, I would definitely book again !"

    We are delighted that you had a lovely stay at Elm View. Thank you for your feedback, we hope you will return again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dylan5.0Dec 2021

  • "Thank you for the lovely stay in beautiful Elm View ."

    What an absolutely gorgeous cottage. We very much appreciated the welcome bottle of wine and your flexibility with check out.

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Belinda5.0Dec 2021

  • "My family and I had a lovely stay at this cottage, the welcome pack was so generous and a lovely touch."

    Cleanliness was impeccable and it was like home from home. You do have to be very careful with the low beamed ceilings going upto the top bedroom as I experienced a beauty bump to my head (the protective piece of foam had fallen off and I didn’t notice until it was too late). Also when drying/straightening my hair, I could not reach the mirror in our bedroom to see as the lead would not stretch enough. Other than that it was a lovely stay and I would definitely go back again.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the issues that you encountered during your stay and hope that these did not leave a lasting impact. We hope to welcome you back to Elm View any time in the future and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Nov 2021

  • "A fantastic property in a beautiful location."

    Very comfortable with lovely beds, a fascinating collection of airforce paraphernalia and amazing books. The stairs to the top bedroom were an adventure in their own right - best to come down them backwards! Wish our stay had been longer.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Nov 2021

  • "This was a fabulous place to stay and we enjoyed every moment of it, thank you."

    The only disappointing element was the check in and out times. These are not the standard times of check ins/out and cuts the holiday short. Aside from this we had a wonderful time and your home is beautiful. We loved the little personal touches you provided with the biscuits and drinks and it was spotlessly clean. Such a perfect place for a Cotswold family getaway! Thank you so much!

    Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. Please know that the reason for our current check in and out times is due to the cleaning needed for each property, in order to ensure that it is COVID safe for our guests. We do hope to change back to the earlier times in the new year. We hope to welcome you back to Elm View any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Georgina5.0Nov 2021

  • "Perfect location for visiting the Cotswolds."

    The cottage catered for all our needs, well equipped and comfortable.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate4.7Oct 2021

  • "Just got back from a week stay at elm cottage and it was perfect."

    Great, quiet location. Clean house with everything we needed for a good stay. Owner was lovely too and allowed us to bring a dog and our budgie, which was really appreciated as we had no one to look after the bird. Reading some of the other reviews and concerns - we had nothing. Only point I will make is the cot provided is quite old, it says suitable for 1-3 year olds but I’d say not suitable for any baby past 2. It’s quite a high cot too and doesn’t lower so if your baby is standing there is a worry he’ll flip out and we did read in the book there’s a risk of baby’s head getting caught in between the bars. Our 16 month old settled well in it though and we had good nights. Was a great stay and I’ve already recommended this cottage to friends.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We're happy to hear you had a perfect week away at Elm View with your furry and feathered friends! We appreciate you bringing the cot to our attention as we can now investigate. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Sep 2021

  • "Elm View was a lovely surprise after reading some of the previous poor reviews."

    Beds, pillows, kitchen ware and lounge were all perfect. Clearly the owner has listened as there was nothing wrong with the bed or pillows and I’m most certainly a critical individual if sleeping facilities are poor! A couple of slight issues were the road outside the property does have a fair amount of traffic passing by at ALL hours of the day and the issue with next doors pooches is definitely an bug bare but my dogs definitely gave them a run for their money which seemed to shut them up as the owner clearly didn’t care how much they barked! Finally the only issue was the lack of sunshine after 3pm in the back garden due to the large trees. As a family we spend most of our time outdoors it would have been much more pleasant had the sun not been hidden. All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend to others. Finally I would like to say that we have always left properties in a clean and tidy state on departure (often better than we found them). Elm view was no exception but to be honest the list of requirements re, How to leave the property was exceptionally long and demanding and regardless of Covid there was definitely not 8 hours work to prepare the accommodation for next guests. Therefore I believe the 6pm arrival time is totally unnecessary and looses everyone that stays here a full day of their holiday Which I might add for over £1500 isn’t very good.

    Reviewed by Cathy3.8Aug 2021

  • "We had such a lovely stay at Elm View."

    Such a beauty cottage with everything you need for an extremely comfortable stay. I would highly recommend Elm View for your holiday break it close to stunning towns like chipping Campden with lovely restaurants and pubs. There is also so a pub just down the road were the food and drink is exceptional. Thank you so much for a wonderful break. .

    You're so welcome! We're so pleased to hear you had a lovely stay at Elm View. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martha5.0Aug 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely and we had a great stay - the only thing I would say is we thought we were renting the whole house in the picture but the cottage is a semi detached one - nit a big deal and it was lovely but could be clearer in the marketing information ."

    Thank you for your feedback. We're so pleased you had a great stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark4.4Jul 2021

  • "Its a lovely cottage in a delightful village - however it is not suitable for those with disabilities - it is not just the steep stairs, but the step up into the small shower, the small low double bed in the main bedroom and limited comfortable chairs which mean it is not somewhere we will return to."

    This should all be clear in the details. I was shocked that there was almost no cleaning materials - despite indications otherwise info booklet - given Covid crisis. Furthermore the guidance booklet indicated a gardener would call in on Thursday. On Tuesday I was emailed to ask if it was ok for them to come Wednesday - I don't look at emails during the day on holiday - but responded Tuesday evening to say ok between 10 and 2 - I was woken on Wednesday morning at 9 by lawn being mowed. This along with poor welcome items - milk biscuits 3 tea bags no bread or butter even though we were not allowed into cottage till 6, - overall it is not really hitting the mark for the price it charges - where with a little attention to detail it could do so. So a bit disapointing but needn't be. Not sure I will sue Sykes again.

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay at Elm View was. I'm pleased to hear that the cottage met your expectations and you found the village to be just as charming as we do! I'm sorry for the difficulty you faced mobilising around the property and would like to reassure you that the description will be adjusted with guests like yourself in mind. We do apologise for the gardener visiting early. Unfortunately, there was a delay on the email arriving in our inbox so we did not receive it until after the fact. This is a self-catering cottage and the welcome pack is intended only to be a complimentary gift to guests. Milk for a nice cup of tea on arrival and biscuits for a little sweet treat. We do not provide the basics such as eggs, bread and butter. We are maintaining a 6pm check-in time to ensure that all properties are cleaned to a Covid-safe standard. We hope to welcome you back to a cottage that's right for you in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret3.1Jul 2021

  • "House was lovely, had everything we needed for a quiet holiday in this beautiful location."

    Milk and Jaffa cakes were most appreciated welcome too. Would definitely recommend.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and recommending Elm View Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Donna3.8Oct 2020

  • "We stayed here in October 2020, getting in a week's holiday while we could in the current climate."

    October is usually wet, so we wanted somewhere cosy so we could curl up with a log fire if the weather turned cold... Elm View is in a small village, with a pub, a church, and not much else - perfect! It is also ideally situated for driving to the lovely local towns of Chipping Campden, Broadway, Stow-on-the-Wold etc., all within a short drive through beautiful countryside. The gravel driveway allows for spacious and safe off-road parking, with a decent sized garden at the rear. Be aware that the main photo shows one big house - it's actually a semi-detached house! Downstairs is a good-sized living room, with open fire, DVD player and CD/hi-fi unit, good sized Freeview TV and the BT router. The Onkyo CD/hifi player and the TV are both connected to the Q Acoustics speakers, which makes a huge difference. You can connect an iPod to the Onkyo too. The sofas are new-ish - the three seater is very comfortable, the two seater isn't. On the other side of the small lobby is the kitchen, and a separate larder with dishwasher, proper 50/50 fridge/freezer and washing machine (note: no tumble dryer). The kitchen has everything you need - oven, electric hob, microwave, table and sink. Up the fairly steep stairs to the first floor, where you'll find the main bedroom - large with a double bed, bedside tables, wardrobe and cot - and the second bedroom, smaller but with built-in wardrobe and chest of drawers, double bed and lovely views. There is also the bathroom, with separate shower enclosure, bath and sink. The second floor is accessed by steep stairs and a very low doorway, and comprises just the third bedroom. It's a bit awkward to get to, and I wouldn't fancy a nighttime trip down those stairs for a wee, but once in the room it is a large, comfortable room with a double bed. So, pluses and minuses time. Pluses: Very clean Good bed linen, towels etc. Lovely cosy log fire Comfortable sofa Excellent broadband / wifi - with a standard BT router if you need to connect an ethernet cable Great CD player/hifi, with quality Onkyo stereo and Q Acoustics 2020i speakers Good sized TV and a DVD player Minuses: The pillows - take your own, as they feel like they are filled with ball bearings The mugs - a truly horrible mix and match of novelty mugs, they need binning and replacing with a new set from Ikea! The water is foul - we ended up buying a couple of large still water bottles for drinking water. The tap water makes tea and coffee disgusting, with sludge and scum. Really would check it with Thames Water as it is awful. Double bed in the main bedroom - it is both uncomfortable and too small - the room is huge, so why not have a king? On arrival we also noticed no hot water, the shower trap was blocked, and the shower head knackered. Called Manor Cottages (on a Sunday morning!) and within an hour and a half the maintenance man was there to fix all three problems, which was exceptional. After that, lovely hot water, new shower head, clear draining shower - I really don't understand why the previous reviewer didn't simply make a call to have the issues resolved. To be fair, I would have expected the cleaners to have noticed the tepid water, and certainly the blocked shower trap, but fair play to Manor for sorting it out so quickly and efficiently. With just a few adjustments (and not terribly expensive ones) this would be a 5 star review - as it is, I would definitely return (just remembering to take my own pillows, a Brita filter and mugs!). Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fair and comprehensive review. We're so glad you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the facilities at Elm View. Thank you for alerting us to a few issues- for which we apologise. We have just today received new pillows for all of the bedrooms (and hope you enjoy them if you make a return visit!) However, I'm concerned you found the bed in the master bedroom uncomfortable, as we place great importance on sleeping comfort, and invested in a quality bed. It is a regular-sized double which we have alway found big enough. We are staying there ourselves next week, so will be able to check for comfort. I'm sorry about the mis-matched mugs. These are actually not for guests- you seem to have stumbled across my personal collection which should have been in the owner's cupboard- apologies! There should have been half a dozen plain white mugs there for guests- again, I will check this when we go up next week; it may be there have been some breakages- we shall buy some more. I am so sorry about the lack of hot water and shower head problem on arrival. We will speak to housekeeping to ensure that the hot water is switched on prior to any guests arriving and that the shower trap is clear. I'm pleased to hear that maintenance came out promptly to fix it. I'm sorry you didn't like the taste of the tap water. We've not found a problem before, but I will definitely make a note to check it when we're up next week. Thank you for your comments re the audio equipment in the living room- we took great care when setting up the system, so it's lovely that you enjoyed it. Thank you again for your feedback, and I'm really pleased to hear you would recommend Elm View to a friend. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane4.1Oct 2020

  • "The garden needs work, last year a review wrote about the furniture being covered in bird poo, still is, if they cut the trees back In the garden It would get some sun and perhaps not so many birds."

    We looked for a BBQ but it was sadly unusable, and we couldn’t sit out much because the dogs next were incessantly barking, they’re let out early (6.30-7am) in the morning, a chorus of yapping was our alarm clock . . . That review also mentioned lack of hot water, still the same, I had to boil kettles the first time I tried a bath! And the shower head is loose. . . On arrival it smelt musty and unlived in, I’m sure you had previous customers there but after a thorough clean it should have smelt better. All through it just looks tired and in need of some of TLC, the furniture is worn and the kitchen table and chairs wobble and the groves are full of crumbs etc. £800 was just too much, a real shame

    I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked. Elm View is a family home as well as a rental property and we take pride and pleasure in sharing it with others. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us feedback. The garden is maintained weekly to ensure the lawn is mown and greenery cut back. The tree in the corner of the garden belongs to the next-door property, but we are planning to cut back the branches that overhang Elm View garden in the winter, which is the time for pollarding. The garden furniture was scrubbed recently. I'm sorry if there was bird mess on it, we have alerted housekeeping. We wanted to buy a new table and chairs this Spring but it was impossible to find despite an exhaustive search — I think a combination of increased demand due to lockdown and shortage of supply due to the virus. We expect to replace it for next season's nice weather. The barbecue is an additional offering to guests and we ask that it is left in clean condition. It seems that this didn't happen, and as this is beyond our control we are considering locking it away and suggesting that guests use a disposable one. I'm sorry to hear you were bothered by next door's dogs. Wherever you stay there will be a possibility that neighbours own pets. When we stay we are more aware of the sheep in the field opposite. I am very sorry indeed that you had to boil a kettle for a bath. The problems with the boiler that occurred before have been entirely resolved and the hot water and central heating are fully operational. You say "the first time", so I am guessing that the hot water was switched off when you arrived? Or perhaps the tank hadn't fully heated? I do apologise — we have alerted housekeeping to this, and hopefully it won't happen again. I will ask maintenance to have a look at the shower head. I'm sorry you thought it smelt musty on arrival. No-one has mentioned this before, and it is a puzzle, as the house has been constantly occupied since July and, of course, is cleaned after every stay. Since the pandemic the housekeeping team have been cleaning particularly thoroughly and taking extra measures such as changing all the mattress and pillow protectors. I'm sorry you thought it looked tired and in need of TLC as we take much care in maintaining the cottage and do indeed tenderly love it. We plan to re-paint the interior at the end of the season. The furniture in the living room is less than 12 months old. The dining table and chairs are antique and we think that they are in keeping with a traditional Cotswold property of this age, but we will consider replacing them with something more modern - this may be a matter of taste. I have notified housekeeping about the crumbs on the table for which I apologise. I am only disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay more and we will address all the matters that you raise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian1.9Sep 2020

  • "It was like home from home."

    All the facilities and equipment that we required were there. The only thing to improve would be the garden furniture as it is quite old and fragile.

    Many thanks for your feedback. We will pass on your suggested improvements to the owner. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Aug 2020

  • "The cottage was clean and tidy inside but outside the grass needed cutting and there were two large dog poos."

    The kitchen was well-equipped although more mugs would have been useful. Neither the dining chairs or the sofas were very comfortable, but the beds were fine. Steep stairs as described and no surprise in an old cottage, but some low beams as well which could have been flagged. Inconvenient to have the dishwasher not in the kitchen with two steps and a low doorway between them. Not much to do within walking distance, although the pub is good and we had a picnic on the village green. But it is a great location for short drives to lots of other places. A couple of fields nearby ideal for dog walks.

    Hi there, glad that you found the cottage clean and tidy and enjoyed local walks.As you say, the cottage is well located, between Chipping Camden and Moreton-in-Marsh and there are many beautiful houses and gardens nearby. The village itself is quiet, which is the way of country villages; as you say the local pub is good and does excellent food. The garden is maintained weekly - but grass grows quickly in July and looks long at the end of the week. Sorry that you had the horrid surprise of dog poo on the lawn. We trust our guests to clean up after their animals and clearly the last person failed to do so. Glad that you found the kitchen to be well equipped; there is probably an over-supply of mugs - half a dozen out on a shelf and another dozen or so in a wall cupboard along with half a dozen Wedgwood cups and saucers, so I can only think that you didn’t find them? Glad you found the beds comfortable but puzzled that you found the sofas less so — they are newly purchased and well upholstered. Scatter cushions have been removed as a precaution during the pandemic - perhaps this is the reason? We will see if they can be re-instated. We like the antique dining table and chairs but are actively considering changing them as guests may prefer something modern. And yes, dishwasher and washing machine are located in the utility room but it connects directly to the kitchen — it is a little quirky but we have never found it a major inconvenience. I am suspecting that you may be quite tall - old houses do have some low doorways and beams. A warning about the beam on the top flight of stairs has been incorporated into the house description. Thank you for your feedback, which will be acted on wherever possible Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.1Jul 2020

  • "We had a lovely family weekend at Elm View with our children."

    The cottage was lovely and perfect for snuggling in with home cooked meals and a roaring fire.

    Reviewed by Stephanie5.0Dec 2019

  • "Lovely area, quality things in the kitchen"

    Reviewed by Philip4.4Oct 2019

  • "The accommodation is well situated for exploring the Cotswold area and there's good local walks."

    Facilities are very good in the cottage with everything you're likely to need. The major drawback is if you will need to use the loft bedroom, you will need to be fairly agile as access is very restricted with steep stairs and low headroom. Its a lovely space though once in there. A couple of minor issues we had were that the shower drain was partially blocked meaning you had to be in and out quickly before it overflowed and there was a broken lamp base that had obviously been left to make it look ok. A way of reporting these minor issues is missing from within the cottage and so these will just carry over to the next booking. Maybe a fault reporting book should be put inside the cottage somewhere? All in all, would definitely return.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay at Elm View, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! However, we are sorry to learn that you had an issue with the shower drain not working properly and a broken lamp base. In the cottage, there is a welcome folder with contact details (24/7) for any issues you might encounter during your stay and we always encourage our guests to make use of this and thereby let us know of anything which requires rectifying. We are sorry, that the broken lamp had not been reported by the Housekeeper. However, this has now been replaced and the drain has been cleared. With regards to the lack of headroom, this is highlighted on our website as we always aim to give a true reflection of the property at all times. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karl4.4Oct 2019

  • "We had an excellent week-end at this attractive and well-appointed property,"

    Reviewed by Gwynedd5.0Sep 2019

  • "Very spacious property, could do with a separate toilet and better shower."

    Reviewed by Darren4.1Jun 2019

  • "'Home from home' is the perfect phrase here."

    Lots of owners own things around which make it very comfortable and cosy. A very good size and well equipped cottage. The cottage is well placed and easily accessible . Paxford is not too far off the beaten track with very easy access to Chipping Camden and Moreton In the Marsh. Cottage has a good sized bathroom with electric shower which was good as we didnt have any hot water until the day we left. Not sure how it is heated perhaps a little more detail required on that aspect. Great WiFi and Iplayer on Tv made for comfortable evenings. It should be noted that the loft bedroom shouldn't be accessed by anyone over 6 feet! Having said that 2 out of the 3 couples in the cottage said they were happy to sleep there it is a lovely room as are all the bedrooms very spacious and comfortable. Our only other feedback would be to please jet wash the garden furniture as despite our scrubbing we couldn't get it clean enough to sit on in the sunshine. Accept its early in the aeason and that this can be resolved. Would i recommend/revisit? Absolutely!

    Reviewed by Jill4.4May 2019

  • "Address of Elm View cottage was given as 1 Upper Folly when actually itvis 3."

    It would be a good idea to correct this important detail in your published material. Cottage was vomfortable snd perfect for oyr break. We did not need to use the room under the roof as there were only 2 couples and one small child.

    Reviewed by Margaret3.8May 2019

  • "Could do with a door on the kitchen to stop the dogs going upstairs"

    Reviewed by Syd3.8Apr 2019

  • "The listing does mention the stairs to the upper bedroom are steep but it should be emphasised that the ceiling on the staircase and on entering the bedroom is very low."

    The bottom staircase is also steep. The cottage is not luxury but adequately equipped, plenty of room but would definitely benefit from a second WC for a full household. With the garden, the kitchen utility room layout and footpaths almost from the door it is ideal for several dogs so it seems a shame the property has reduced to only one dog for future lets. I think if restricting to one dog one would expect a higher standard in the property. The property has very efficient heating and hot water.

    Reviewed by Alfred3.1Dec 2018

  • "Very comfortable,clean and welcoming house."

    The kitchen was spacious and great for family meals. Beds comfy with lovely fresh bedding. We loved all the history of this family home. Nice to come back to after trips to Blenheim, Compton Verney and local walks.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Nov 2018

  • "Although this cottage was warm and cosy we didn't feel it was suitable for 6 people."

    There was not enough comfortable seating in the lounge for all of us. Also, the kitchen definitely needs an upgrade it was very tired with a peculiar mix match of equipment, some of which was very much boot sale finds. Not what we expect to find but, perhaps some people quite like that sort of style

    Thank you for your comments. Since your stay, we have replaced both sofas in the living room. This, plus the armchair, means there is now plenty of comfy seating which will easily allow 6 people to relax by the log fire. The kitchen has been upgraded (see below). Although I can assure you none of the equipment was from a boot sale(!), not everything matched, and we understand that is important for guests. We have replaced the cutlery service, utensils and cooking pans, so that the kitchen experience will be a convenient and enjoyable one! Many thanks again for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue2.5Oct 2018

  • "We enjoyed our stay."

    The cottage was clean and tidy. Furnishings were a bit dated, living room in particular, and not very comfortable. Location good. Lovely village and lots to see and do.

    Thank you for your comments. We have been back to the cottage and reviewed the living room furniture and we agree that it was time for a re-vamp. In response- we have replaced both sofas in the living room with brand-new comfy ones! There is plenty of comfortable seating in there now. Thank you again for your helpful comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia3.8Oct 2018

  • "The majority of the cottage was well decorated."

    There far too many personnel items and stacks of old book around the cottage it needs to have clean, fresh look without clutter..... Kitchen was poorly equipped and the majority of items looked like they were from someone's else home and no longer required - bit of a dumping ground for discarded crockery etc, Kitchen table very dirty and is in need of an up cycle. Whilst personnel touches are nice in a holiday home, a holiday home should not become the dumping ground for the owners unwanted items.

    Thank you for your comments. Since your stay, the cottage has been re-painted. We took on board your comments about the kitchen equipment and have bought a smart new cutlery service, kitchen utensils and saucepan set which means that cooking and eating at Elm View should now be a pleasure! The antique kitchen table has now been renovated to its original glory. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like the personal touches. As this is a home which has been in the family for generations, when we renovated the property for holiday letting we made sure we kept and displayed some of the family history- notably in the rail and air industry- which many guests have found interesting. There are indeed many books at the cottage- including some lovely children’s books which are over 70yrs old- which guests have enjoyed looking at. We have looked at all the books and made sure they are very tidily arranged on the shelves. I do hope that should you make a return visit, you will be pleased with the improvements and enjoy your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen2.8Sep 2018

  • "Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage!"

    Perfect for cosy nights in, had everything we needed! Would recommend to groups, families and couples. Thanks for the cake!

    Robo, Kim, Dom, Tony, Abbie And Bailey

  • "Beautiful property in an ideal setting."

    Great welcome with Cake and Sparkling wine on arrival.

    Froydenlund

  • "Good location and price!"

    Parker

  • "Lovely house and surroundings, fantastic facilities!"

    !

    Bear

  • "Thank you so much for the loan of your beautiful cottage."

    It set the scene for a wonderful surprise weekend for my birthday arranged by my husband and sons. Feeling so fortunate.

    Parker

  • "Absolutely lovely, cosy place to stay!"

    Nice and clean, well equipped. We have enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

    Schiefer

  • "Well located cottage for dog walks and local dog friendly pubs."

    Lots for the humans to do as well in nearby beautiful Chipping campden, Moreton in the marsh, Broadway etc.

    Mrs Whitehouse

  • "Cottage was v cosy, bedrooms a good size."

    Full of character !

    Mrs Webber

  • "What a cosy house for all our family!"

    We loved wandering around, exploring the Cotswolds. Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Poling

  • "Excellent weekend get together with old friends, lovely place and would definitely recommend."

    Angie, Jenny, Sian And Sandy

  • "Comfortable and good location for Cotswolds attractions"

    Marles

  • "Thank you for a lovely stay in your cottage, we are inbetween houses and this has been the perfect place to enjoy the countryside."

    The Brincats

  • "Fantastic house with lovely local walks!"

    Plenty of room for 3 couples, 3 babies and a dog. Thank you for the welcome cake!

    Hinchcliffe

  • "Very clean, well-equipped cottage in a beautiful and convenient location."

    \ Clare, August 2016

    Clare

  • "Beautiful property-plentiful space for 6 adults."

    Well equipped, excellent location with some gorgeous country touches: fire, utility room, agar. We had a lovely break away from the city-excellent place to escape to! Thank you for having us! ” \ Robyn, Nov 2016

    Robyn

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x first floor double bedroom, 1 x double on 2nd floor
  • First floor bathroom with bath, separate walk in shower, WC and washbasin
  • Kitchen
  • Living room
  • Utility.
  • Central heating with open fireplace
  • Kitchen with electric hob, oven, grill, microwave and seating area
  • Utility with washing machine, fridge/freezer and dishwasher
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Rear garden with table and chairs
  • Off road parking
  • Pets welcome - please inquire if more than one!
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Shop 2.5 miles
  • 4pm arrival and 10am departure
  • Note: The second floor is access via a steep staircase and there are some low beams
  • Note: There may be associated noise from the neighbouring fields, including farmers and dogs

The property

Elm View is a delightful cottage situated in quiet and peaceful surroundings yet super-convenient for the ever popular locations of Chipping Campden, Broadway and Stow on the Wold.

The house has a wonderfully cosy and homely feeling to it, with a welcoming open fire in the living room and attractive views all round, it has that classic Cotswolds feel of home, charm and quirkiness all rolled in together.

In fact there's no wonder it's homely, the property has been in the same family for generations and whilst there have been improvements, it retains the character and charm that have been there since the year dot!

It is situated on the lane that passes through the heart of village and spot on for a break where visiting the surrounding places is part of the plan, or simply a few walks in the countryside are all you have in mind.

There is a good sized enclosed garden to the rear/side, plus ample parking and open views to the front - in fact there is a country path about 20 yards from your front door.

Very much a 'quintessential Cotswolds 'holiday home', we are quite certain you will love this choice and enjoy everything it has to offer, ideal for parties of 4 to 6 people.

Due to the age and character of the cottage, we regret that this property is unsuitable for those who are infirm or have mobility issues, as there are steep staircases and a low beam up to the top bedroom.

Very, very comfortable!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

CHIPPING CAMPDEN

Moreton-in-Marsh 8 miles; Stratford-upon-Avon 12 miles

This market town defines the saying "good things come in small packages" as it proves itself to be a wonderful place for tourists to stay. Chipping Campden sits in the northern part of the Cotswolds and boasts many historical buildings from St. James' church where the Chipping Camden Music Festival is held every year, to the early 17th century market hall upon which the town prides itself. Not only does the town have a rich history but much more, the high street is laced with charming Cotswold stone buildings with a range of shops and pubs. Nearby there are several beautiful, formal gardens for you to wander through. Chipping Campden has held its own 'Olimpick Games' since the early 1600s including peculiar sports such as 'shin-kicking', most certainly worth lining your holiday up with to experience something so unique. For a dose of famous history, head to the birthplace of William Shakespeare in Stratford-upon-Avon just 12 short miles away, it offers some charming little buildings, bookshops, theatres and museums.

View more holiday cottages in Chipping Campden

Note: Second double bedroom has bed only accessible from one side. Please note on the second floor the stairs are quite steep and has very restricted headroom leading up to the top bedroom
£25 Pet Charge per pet per week
Please note there is a Good House Keeping Bond of £100 for this property, this will be shadowed at the time of booking.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas