Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 38 View Image Gallery
  • 3 Painters Field - Cotswolds - 1022892 - photo 1

3 Painters Field

(Ref. 1022892)

Quenington, Near Cirencester, Gloucestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (8)
  • cottage (8)
  • stay (5)
  • our (5)
  • good (5)
  • lovely (5)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "The cottage was lovely, and definitely excellent value for money."

    We especially appreciated the cupboards full of toys in the living room - our toddler loved exploring them on rainy afternoons! The kitchen was well-equipped, but there were one or two cleanliness issues when we arrived (an unwashed mug on the shelf, and the kitchen table needed wiping). The location is ideal for young families - so many farms and soft play centres within easy reach. The folder at the cottage mentions a stairgate, which seems to have been removed. For us, that would have been a helpful addition. Thank you for a lovely stay

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for making us aware of these issues, they have been passed on to Housekeeping. We are sorry to hear that there was no stairgate. If you had contacted us we could have provided one for you. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Naomi4.7Jul 2023

  • "We had a very enjoyable nine days, and thank you for granting us the two day extension."

    It helped with our weekend plans enormously. Although on the whole the house was left clean and tidy, I think it is important that the owner is aware of the following:- On arrival we found an empty bottle of water on the floor under a side table in the living room. There were several strands of long black hair on the floor of the bathroom which meant that the floor had not been cleaned [they have been left so that you can see what we are referring to], and after the second time of using the shower in the en-suite shower room, we realised the waste pipe needed cleaning out as the water only drained away very slowly [more slowly than it rose], and we were concerned that it was going to go over the lip and onto the shower room floor and potentially seep onto the bedroom floor and of course that could have caused a lot of problems. So that is something that needs looking at urgently. For the rest of the week we used the shower in the bath. No doubt it is difficult to obtain good cleaners, but a bit more attention to detail and better supervision of the cleaning that takes place, would go along way.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this comprehensive feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry to hear that the cleanliness was not up to our usual high standard. This has been looked into with our housekeeping team and we hope this didn't impact your stay. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patrick4.1Jun 2023

  • "The property was comfortable and the location good , we enjoyed our stay but some small improvements regarding equipment would have increased the overall facility."

    Kettle , dishwasher and en suite shower all need attention.

    Thank you for providing this feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope the issues you raised didn't impact your stay and will of course give these matters attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony3.8Aug 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely, but we did feel a bit isolated - it would have been a long walk to the pub with the kids!"

    We also had to drive everywhere as there wasn’t a local shop for little things. The cottage was really big, but there wasn’t much storage, especially in the kitchen as there were so many utensils! We loved visiting the lakes, local attractions and villages. We spent a lot of time in Cirencester as there was plenty of choice for eating out with the children, however, it was also lovely to eat out in the garden at the cottage and enjoy the visits from the local squirrel!

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and we're glad you loved the cottage. It is fortunate to have a community-run village shop within walking distance in Coln and 2 pubs within easy walking distance too. Fairford and Bibury are just a couple of miles away too. We hope this didn't impact on your stay and that you enjoyed the peacefulness of the local villages. We hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Daniel4.1Aug 2022

  • "Good information and instructions."

    Nice to stay. Thanks.

    We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shiping5.0May 2022

  • "Great place in a great location, a real home from home, and suitable facilities for our young children, will be looking to come back to the cottage soon."

    We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday whilst staying at 3 Painters Field. Thank you for your feedback, we hope you return soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ben5.0Dec 2021

  • "Apart from being very disappointed at not receiving a complimentary welcome pack Painters Field is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need including loads of books and games."

    It's in a perfect location for visiting many of the wonderful sites around including Blenheim Palace, Cotswold Wildlife Park, cycling at the Forest of Dean, a walk by the Thames at Lechlade, Bourbon on the Water.......

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that you did not recieve a welcome pack during your stay. Please know that this is not normal and we can only apologize. We hope that you were still able to have a lovely stay and would love to welcome you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine4.4Oct 2021

  • "Brilliant cottage, we had a lovely stay."

    Village is quiet, the two pubs are within walking distance with good food. Great location for exploring.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're so happy that you had a great time away and were able to use the property as a great base for exploring the local area. You're always welcome to return! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Aug 2021

  • "Very happy with the cottage, its location and its facilities."

    We felt the kitchen in particular needed a deep clean. The crockery, utensils etc all felt grimy and like they had not been washed in a while. Otherwise very happy.

    Many thanks for your feedback and apologies the kitchen was not up to our usual standards, we will of course speak to the housekeeping team and ensure these matters are addressed. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by William3.4Jun 2021

  • "Bonus of friendly neighbours everyone who passed by the gate, during our stay, responded positively to us, felt just like being at home."

    We had a laundry issue, nothing to do with hygiene at the property, which was immediately resolved for us. Parking, loading and unloading was easy.

    Thank you for leaving your feedback on 3 Painters Field and it felt like home from home. We are pleased to hear the issue was resolved immediately. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Apr 2021

  • "The cottage is in a pretty village and is attractive, comfortable and cosy."

    Although it has 2 bedrooms, I would suggest the 2nd room ( in the eaves) is probably only suitable for children. There are lovely walks from the cottage, and it is a good base for visiting many other attractions. Making the booking was easy but trying to contact your office in order to reply to an e mail you sent us about another booking, has so far proved difficult.

    Reviewed by Humphrey5.0Apr 2021

  • "Although the property has a feeling of being set up well for a young family it suited us well as a couple."

    It is very well appointed and well situated for visiting the Cotswolds. My only reservation about using this property again is that it isn't possible to shut the light out through the roof window in the main bedroom which might be an issue during the summer when the sun gets up well before I do!

    Many thanks for your feedback, The main bedroom roof window can be covered by a pull down blind, and as a result of this helpful feedback we've put a pole with a hook on the end next to the window to make it easier to reach. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Sep 2020

  • "A delightful cottage in a very quiet location."

    Well equipped in all areas. Beds incredibly comfortable and underfloor heating so welcome. Would return.

    We would love for you to return to the cottage in the future. Many Thanks Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Corrie4.7Aug 2020

  • "Great cottage lovely location home from home."

    Reviewed by Nikki5.0Aug 2020

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Two bedrooms: First floor 1 x king size bed, second floor 1 x twin
  • First floor family bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC, First floor en-suite shower room
  • Ground floor wc with washing machine
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Living room / dining room
  • Enclosed private garden to the rear of the cottage. One car can be parked in front of the property
  • There is also an allocated parking space to the rear - turn right back onto Coneygar Road then turn immediately right
  • Your car can be parked by the back double gate - the middle of 3 spaces along the back
  • There should be space left for a vehicle on either side.
  • Oil fired central heating, underfloor heating
  • Electric hob, electric oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, washing machine.Flatscreen TV with freeview, WIFI
  • Fuel and power inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Please note this property doesn't provide a stair gate
  • Garden with patio area and furniture
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 mile and pub 0.2miles
  • Note: Please note that the owner requires a £150 good housekeeping bond in advance of arrival. One car can be parked in front of the property
  • There is also an allocated parking space to the rear - turn right back onto Coneygar Road then turn immediately right
  • Your car can be parked by the back double gate - the middle of 3 spaces along the back
  • There should be space left for a vehicle on either side.

The property

3 Painter's Field is a lovely, recently built cottage (part of a small development of about 10 houses) located in the idyllic village of Quenington, mid way between Burford and Cirencester.

One of 3 adjoining villages (the others being Hatherop and Coln St Aldwyn), you really could be stepping back hundreds of years as you meander along the leafy lanes connecting the villages. The cottage possesses many classic and attractive features making it a delightful choice for a Cotswold holiday.

Comprising of 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, the property offers all mod cons that today's discerning traveler demands.

The cottage has a lovely, private garden, just perfect for outdoor dining. As well as the adjoining villages, you also have many of the The Cotswolds 'hot spots' in close proximity; the beautiful village of Bibury lies just a couple of miles away, with the famous Arlington Row.

Cirencester, the 'capital' of the Cotswolds lies just 8 miles to the west, and the gorgeous town of Burford just 10 miles to the north.

This is a nice standard holiday cottage in a very attractive village, in a beautiful and relatively unknown corner of The Cotswolds.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

Quenington, near Cirencester

Fairford 2 miles, Cirencester 8 miles, Burford 10 miles.

The place-name 'Quenington' is first attested in the Domesday Book of 1086, where it appears as Qvenintone. This is from the Old English 'Cwenenatun' meaning 'the women's town or settlement' (the word 'queen' has the same derivation).
It had previously been suggested that the name Quenington could have meant "settlement on the Coln", the river which flows through the village, though the name 'Coln' is of unknown origin.Quenington is mentioned in the Domesday Book in relation to two mills at either end of the village, a water mill and a fulling mill, both now private residences.
The village offers a thriving 'local' pub, located just off the village green - intent on maintaining its status as a proper pub, rather than a fine dining establishment, which are so prevail ant in the area.

Please Note: a Good House Keeping Bond of £150.00 is required at this property.
Please note: This property doesn't provide a stair gate.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas