Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

Ingleside

Adsett, Royal Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire (Ref. 4310)

4.7

Excellent

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 14

  • Bedrooms 6

  • Bathrooms 4

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

53 Customer Reviews

  • "Great property for our extended family and even better than the listing as it was all freshly decorated with a new kitchen!"

    No hot water on the first night so grandchildren could not have a bath (not that they minded!). There are electric showers in the other bathrooms, so no problem for the rest of us. Swiftly rectified next day by the owner who lives in the neigbouring property. Loads of places to visit 30 minutes away, Forest of Dean (several different sites), Gloucester and Gloucester Quays, NT Westbury Court Gardens, Slimbridge and many more. Recommend the Lyon Arms in the village where we had a lovely family Sunday roast. All in all a fabulous holiday!

    Reviewed by MichaelApr 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Ingleside in Adsett, 7 friends sharing."

    The property has been recently redecorated. Loved the various sitting rooms so we could all be together and / or have quiet time on your own. So much space, fresh and airy, and plenty of bathrooms. Comfy beds and a perfect relaxing weekend. Thanks to Mr Tonks and the team, for our last minute queries and responding so quickly. Recommend this cottage to everyone.

    Reviewed by CeciliaApr 2022

  • "It was a lovely house but two of the twin rooms were really too small for two beds for adults to stay for a week."

    They should be single rooms. Also I had to pay £500 deposit which has not yet been returned after over two weeks.

    Regrettably the Housekeeping Bond could not be returned until you provided your bank details and was returned within 36 hours of you providing them - I appreciate you acknowledging to Sykes that the pre arrival email did advise that there could be up to a 2 week timescale for return of the bond and thank you for confirming to me by message that it was received by you on the Friday, 14 days after checkout. The bedroom sizes are as shown on the advert pictures and all rooms can accommodate the bed layouts as described on the advert. Thank you for also advising Sykes Cottages on their phone call to you that you thought the property was beautifully done, that you could tell it had been newly decorated and that the kitchen was lovely. I can confirm that the kitchen and the property has been recently redecorated, with most of the house also being newly furnished. I'm glad you enjoyed the new kitchen, decor and quality furnishings. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ValApr 2022

  • "We arrived to only 1 of the 2 travel cots being complete."

    I messaged Steve to let him know, he went straight out and bought a new replacement cot. We couldn’t have asked for more. The house was perfect for our family celebrations. A great time was had by all. Steve also booked us in at The Lyon pub for Sunday lunch. The food was excellent & we were given a room to ourselves. Which was great for 8 adults, 4 children & 2 infants.

    Reviewed by PaulineMar 2022

  • "We had a lovely break and the house was outstanding."

    Reviewed by TonyMar 2022

  • "A lovely house that easily accommodated our 12 guests."

    situated close to everything we wanted to do. very comfy with no long shower waits. we would have liked the pool table shown in the pictures but had fun regardless. Thank you very much!

    Reviewed by JonathanFeb 2022

  • "Our group of 14 had a fabulous stay at Ingleside."

    The house was incredibly clean and perfect for a larger group. Key pick up was made very easy and there was room for 5/6 cars on the driveway. We loved the outdoor covered area with table tennis and hot tub, the pool table wasn't there but this didn't really affect us. The multiple bathrooms, large living room seating area and huge dining table meant we all had a very comfortable stay with all the amenities we could need, and room to get together and eat meals. Would definitely recommend and would happily return!

    Reviewed by JoanneFeb 2022

  • "We truly enjoyed our stay at Ingleside for a special birthday celebration with children and grandchildren."

    The house had been recently redecorated and refreshed in many areas but still had a lot of charm. It was very much like staying at a home, in a family house. The grandchildren especially enjoyed exploring all the many rooms. There were lots of options for bedrooms, bathrooms facilities and reception areas. Unfortunately it rained a lot so we couldn't make use of the huge lawned area for ball games, as hoped for. A small thing is that a set of basic instructions kept in the house, for using the hot tub would be helpful, as we had to keep going out in the rain to check the temperature.

    Reviewed by MarkFeb 2022

  • "As a group of 6 couples getting away to celebrate a birthday the property itself did not disappoint!"

    The facilities are great and well stocked, it is beautifully clean with lots of space inside and outside the house. The owner lives on an adjoining property and was quick to come over and introduce himself and laying down some ground rules around music and noise. The area where the Lazyspa is situated has no lights so it can’t be used of an evening, again this seemed to be to prevent noise. Overall we had a great time away but this property would probably be suited to large families or those wanting a subdued break.

    Reviewed by DanielJan 2022

  • "We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ingleside."

    It is extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and welcoming with stunning countryside views. Thank you to the very helpful owner!

    Reviewed by ElviraJan 2022

  • "My family and I had a wonderful stay at Ingleside over New Year."

    We had 4 generations altogether and the house provided the perfect retreat with enough space for us all to spend time together, as well as time spent apart in the separate living rooms. The house had all the equipment / essentials we needed and was spotlessly clean. The garden is amazing, just a shame we couldn’t enjoy it due to the weather. I had read some previous reviews about the heating but we had nothing to worry about, the house was lovely and warm. The owner even went above and beyond when my son left his Xbox behind, he quickly packaged it up and safely returned it to us. I would highly recommend Ingleside as a lovely retreat for a trip to the Forest of Dean.

    Reviewed by AlanaDec 2021

  • "Cosy and warm place."

    Kind and generous owner. Many thanks for making it great holiday.

    Reviewed by AlimaDec 2021

  • "Absolutely wonderful stay at this beautiful cottage in the Gloucestershire countryside."

    Myself and 10 family members stayed here for 3 nights and has the best time. There was so much space for us all to hang out both together and in smaller groups. The property was spotless and lovely and warm when we arrived. The bottle of fizz was a lovely touch. Comms from the owner was great too. We would love to come back maybe in summertime when there is more daylight and we can enjoy the amazing outdoor space more. Saying that, spending some time outside when it was dark was lovely too as there was no light pollution and all you could see were stars! Wonderful stay, thanks so much.

    Reviewed by DanielleDec 2021

  • "Really enjoyable weekend."

    The accomodation was great for our large family group. Spotlessly clean with good facilities. The only downside was the heating which was on auto and could not be accessed. The house grew cold by mid day and heating was off until 5. Bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable. Kitchen was reasonably well equipped but would benefit from some sharper knives and larger cutting boards, otherwise fine. Overall we were pleased with the venue and it contributed well to my 70th birthday celebrations.

    Reviewed by CharlesNov 2021

  • "Mr Tonks speedily sorted out minor problems and queries."

    He explained how to use the kitchen equipment but we still had difficulties when different people were working in the kitchen. This could easily be solved by simple notices beside dish washer, oven and microwave. The varied sitting areas downstairs were much appreciated. For our small groups of 7 we were able to use the table in the kitchen, and this opened up the dining room for jigsaw puzzle and games. We would have appreciated a more flexible central heating system.otherwise all our needs were met - including amazing continuous hot water. Thank you - we hope very much to be able to return soon.

    Reviewed by JenniferOct 2021

  • "Beautiful house, fantastic gardens, we had everything we needed."

    The children loved the open space to run around. It was a great holiday.

    Reviewed by JaniceSep 2021

  • "We had a fantastic time!"

    We booked again before we left; what a great place to stay. We had a full family, 5 households and the property catered for everyone’s needs. Big thank you to Steve and Bridget for making us feel so welcome!

    Reviewed by SusanAug 2021

  • "An excellent house catering for 3 generations."

    Great lawn area for children to play and badminton, table tennis, hot tub for adults. Well-stocked kitchen and good hot water supply. Dishwasher & washing machine, fridges and freezers excellent. Lovely outdoor eating area which was used every day, BBQ included. Very helpful host and would have no hesitation in recommending Ingleside for a family holiday. McKay family

    Reviewed by IanJul 2021

  • "Ingleside is a fantastic house."

    Very spacious, comfy beds and lovely sitting and dining rooms. The kitchen is very well equipped and the sunroom and outdoor areas are wonderful additions to a very special property. The house was spotlessly clean and the owner extremely friendly and helpful. Our children loved the field at the back of the house and, of course, the hot tub, table tennis and pool table. The house is situated in an area full of tourist attractions and beautiful woods to explore. Local pub did delicious takeaway meals. We had a wonderful holiday at Ingleside.

    Reviewed by CarolyneOct 2020

  • "Attended this cottage with 6 friends, very nice place with great facilities!"

    Hot tub and outdoor tv and lovely grounds. Host was exceptional, in the lead up to our trip as well as whilst we were there. Would stay here again and recommend to friends. Lovely weekend overall.

    Reviewed by GeorgiaSep 2020

  • "We had a wonderful stay in Ingleside ."

    . The house is very comfortable spacious and well equipped for large group cooking .. we enjoyed many meals outdoors in the garden as the weather was fantastic !! Sadly the village pub was closed but we enjoyed drinks at the local caravan site and the White Hart pub on the Severn estuary !! Local beer delicious!! We also loved the walks around Westbury-on-Severn and had coffee and cakes at the local church as well as a very interesting tour of the incredible church spire ! We cycled in the Forest of Dene and canoed and had a river cruise at Symons Yat .. We walked around Gloucester Painswick and Ross on Wye taking in the local places of interest !! All in all a fun filled week ..The Snowden’s and friends..

    Reviewed by CatherineSep 2020

  • "We were so pleased with our stay."

    Everything was perfect on our arrival. The access arrangements were simple and everything advertised and more was in place. The owner Steven called to make sure we were satisfied with everything which we thought was a really nice, personal touch. Cannot recommend this enough.

    Reviewed by CarolSep 2020

  • "Cottage was perfect for our needs."

    Steve was on hand if we needed anything. Beautiful place in a fab location. Would highly recommend. Fantastic place for family get together.

    Reviewed by CatherineAug 2020

  • "Ingleside was the perfect holiday home for our family group (ages 2-87)."

    There was plenty of space for us all to find a quiet corner when needed, we also enjoyed family meals together at the large dining table as well as evenings watching our favourite television shows in the large comfortable lounge. The kitchen was well equipped and provided everything we needed, the utility room gave us extra fridge and freezer space which came in handy. The outdoor space was lovely for sitting quietly or for ball games and Frisbee, we enjoyed watching the new outside television while having a BBQ, the covered seating area was good for this and meant we could still eat outside even when it was raining. We also enjoyed playing pool and table tennis in the covered games area. All the bedrooms had wardrobes which was good to find, we have stayed in some houses where there were only hooks on the wall! Having four bathroom/shower rooms and an extra toilet was a real bonus, no queues in the morning. The owner is friendly and very helpful, he was on hand to replace the rotary washing line when it was blown over by strong winds, this was replaced within 2 days, safely and very efficiently. The house is in a quiet location but also only a few minutes from main routes for easy access to Gloucester and Ross-on-Wye. There was plenty of space for our cars and we felt they were secure when the gates were closed.

    Reviewed by AnnetteJul 2020

  • "Great location and was easy to get to, Great accommodation which suited all ages and was really safe for the young children we had with us."

    We loved every minute that we stayed here. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you could possibly need for dining and the host left soap and cleaning products for us to use which has often been missed when we have stayed in other large houses.The WiFi was brilliant, even out in the garden. We will definitely not hesitate to come back, it was a great stay!

    Reviewed by StaceyJul 2020

  • "Family 80th birthday celebration with 14 of us sharing the cottage."

    Plenty of space. Lovely large kitchen fully equipped. Dining room table large enough to seat all. Great choice of bedrooms to keep everyone happy. Well decorated and nicely presented. Two good pubs close by. Can walk to Lyon pub but down narrow lane and have to cross busy road. White Hart 5 minute drive. Contacted both pubs prior to visit and were able to accommodate us all. Not able to organise taxi nor take away, you have to collect yourself (only downside).

    Reviewed by JulieMar 2020

  • "Enjoyed everything but there is one small thing that can be improved."

    The games area outside could do with an outside light for the evening as people often want to have something to do after the evening meal.

    Reviewed by AnneFeb 2020

  • "Really enjoyed our stay."

    The house was beautiful and perfect for our large group. Very clean and comfortable, did not want to leave! Would definitely stay there again!

    Reviewed by EmmaSep 2019

  • "A Lovely house in a great location"

    Reviewed by AnnaSep 2019

  • "Fabulous holiday home for any size of family or extended family."

    Everything that might be needed is there and in variable weather conditions the 3 generation family visit found plenty to do. The beds were very comfortable, and the multiple bathrooms and toilets made upstairs easy to cope with. The various lounges gave people the opportunity to have space to themselves or in various size groupings so that you didn't feel on top of each other. The grandchildren enjoyed the outdoor games area, and also running around the large paddock playing boules, kicking a ball and playing with a frisbee. Plenty of birds to watch too - including a family of green woodpeckers. Although hit with a power outage on the first evening (which was across the whole area) and thunderstorms rumbling around at times, we really enjoyed the break. The WiFi had been seriously affected by the storms but the friendly and helpful owner was always on hand and offered alternative solutions. Like a lot of rural locations the phone signal on all mobile networks is variable, but this could be blessing if you want everyone off their phones/social media! Great location, with loads of interesting things to do and places to visit within a 30-40 minute drive. Excellent Co-op store in a local town, Cinderford, and Gloucester is within striking distance and has multiple supermarkets and retail outlets.

    Reviewed by ChristopherAug 2019

  • "We had a wonderful time at Ingleside for Dad's 80th birthday."

    The house comfortably slept the 10 of us and never felt crowded. We walked to a nice fish restaurant on the Friday night and the superb Lyon Inn on the Saturday. Also enjoyed the White Hart, which overlooks the Severn and does a very generous Sunday lunch. The house has a lovely garden and the pool table, table tennis and hot tub kept even the teenagers entertained. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing break.

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2019

  • "Excellent facilities and plenty of room."

    The covered games area outside was ideal. Great car parking for a large group.

    Reviewed by AnthonyJul 2019

  • "We were a party of 8 adults and 3 children and found we were perfectly catered for in this cottage."

    There was plenty of space for socialising, and lots of things to keep us all entertained (the games area particularly saw a lot of use). The cottage is in a good location, within a short drive of many attractions and walks. It was well kept and had everything we needed (and more)! The owner was keen for feedback and suggestions for future improvements. I would certainly consider booking this property again in the future.

    Reviewed by DonnaJun 2019

  • "The house was lovely and perfect for what we needed."

    Everywhere was spotlessly clean and felt very homely. The kitchen is well equipped and it was great to have the option of eating inside or outside with enough space for us all to sit together. The garden is wonderful and well kept and the paddock behind was great for the children to run around in.

    Reviewed by EmmaJun 2019

  • "The cottage was well laid out and had everything we needed for great family holiday."

    Reviewed by ValerieMay 2019

  • "We stayed at Ingleside over a weekend in late March."

    Mr Tonks was extremely helpful and accommodating, both in advance and throughout our stay. The house and gardens are immaculate, and perfect for a large group to enjoy some time away in a beautiful environment. The facilities within the house are excellent, and ample, and the drive is large enough to fit around 6 or 7 vehicles. I would highly recommend the house and host to anyone wishing a relaxing countryside trip away.

    Reviewed by JamesMar 2019

  • "The single beds were were not suitable for adult use."

    I will not book anything with Sykes again unless the size of beds is specified. I am sure that people travelling with children would have been OK. Everything else was very good but comfort of sleeping is paramount. We were also disappointed that the Sky box had been removed although this is still advertised. ------------------ Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we are very disappointed that one of our properties has seemingly let us down and not provided you with the experienced that we had hoped for. We will be contacting the owner of this property shortly regarding the points you have raised.

    Reviewed by DorothyFeb 2019

  • "We were a family of twelve celebrating an 80th birthday and the house fully met our expectations."

    There were sufficient rooms to accommodate us and the lounge and dining rooms were just the right size. The mini sitting rooms were also ideal for small groups to gather. The table tennis was a welcome additional attraction despite the cold weather but we were unable to get the temperature of the hot tub sufficiently high to tempt us to enter the water. Overall we had a great three days at the cottage and were very pleased to have attended a two hour lesson at the relatively close Harts Barn Cookery School where we prepared our Saturday evening celebratory meal which we then transported back to the cottage. We would also recommend the Red Hart for Sunday lunch after an invigorating walk in the nearby woods. Two suggestions for minor improvements: A scouring brush in the kitchen to assist in the cleaning of pots and pans ans the labelling of the outside bins for recycling purposes

    Reviewed by DFeb 2019

  • "Absolutely lovely lodge with all the facilities you could want."

    It's a shame we didn't stay longer!

    Reviewed by ClareJan 2019

  • "Lovely stay over the new years period for my family and I."

    The property was pleasantly decorated with Christmas decor which was a nice touch. We very much enjoyed the stay and the kitchen/facilities provided were more than ample for a family our size. A couple of things to note, we did struggle to get the fire lit even with the aid of kindling wood and firelighters along with the logs provided. And in the evenings it did get quite chilly however we were unable to locate the thermostat/control for the central heating which was a shame. If I were to visit again I would like to see slightly brighter lighting and perhaps more mirrors for the ladies to get ready. Otherwise would certainly recommend.

    Reviewed by ChiragDec 2018

  • "Beautiful location and nearby restaurants."

    Added bonus two adjustamatic beds and large paddock for the children to play in. Very highly recommended.

    Reviewed by DavidAug 2018

  • "We enjoyed our family holiday at inleside cottage, would go back again, lovely outside grounds for our two kids to have a run around and play while we relaxed with a drink or two."

    Reviewed by SarahJul 2018

  • "The house was very comfortable and there was plenty of room and facilities for 14."

    We had a very enjoyable few days. There were a couple of relatively minor niggles. The two fridges and two freezers were absolutely necessary for 14 people, but one dishwasher was very inadequate, especially as the soap dispenser was broken and the owner did not seem concerned. Also the lighting in many rooms, especially the bathrooms was very poor. But overall it was an excellent property.

    Reviewed by PhilipJul 2018

  • "Ingleside is an extremely comfortable, spacious house with a glorious, well tended garden and lots of outdoor seating areas."

    It has a very good vibe - one toddler who does not settle in unfamiliar surroundings was perfectly happy straight away! The house is excellently appointed with plenty of crockery and utensils to cater for a house full. The landlord was helpful and pleasant as well. All in all we enjoyed a brilliant weekend and would certainly recommend the property to others visiting the area.

    Reviewed by JessicaJun 2018

  • "A great house for a large group."

    Very clean, good bedroom/bathroom ratio, good showers, convenient downstairs bedroom & shower. Lovely gardens with plenty of outside seating, with and without shade, including table tennis & pool table, although no lighting in this area. We were visiting mid June so were able to play well into the evening. The 'hot tub' was not as we expected, it is an inflatable 'lazy spa' without seating, however we didn't get to use this. Plenty of indoor seating/relaxing space in the lounge, dining room and snug/conservatory to enjoy some quiet time. Plenty of parking, quiet and rural but close enough to Gloucester/Ross/Symonds Yat for visits. Would highly recommend the deli at Severn & Wye Smokery nearby.

    Reviewed by ElaineJun 2018

  • "Had a fabulous three days at Ingleside."

    Made to feel very welcome. The house was very clean, comfortable and spacious. We are a family of 15 with 8 adults and 7 grandchildren. The children’s ages are ranging from 9 years old to 11 months. The house was certainly adequate to accommodate all of us, and still find a place for a little quiet time! The facilities were excellent. The garden was very well maintained. There is a paddock at the back where the children (and adults) could play ball games. The hot tub was great and used quite a lot. Certainly worth another visit to Ingleside.

    Reviewed by VivienneMay 2018

  • "It was rented for a special occasion and we were all disappointed."

    Some of amenities listed as available were not correct (eg no DVD player, no dvd’s, no games, no tip on pool que), all listed on you website. Barbecue had not been cleaned and lawns not cut!!! Overall the house we felt needed a thorough clean and is very tired, in need of new mattress’s! ****Owner response**** We were disappointed with this feedback as we work hard to ensure every customer has a great experience. We do have a DVD player & DVD's and was surprised to read this feedback, however we will ensure that this is put in a more prominent position. The lawn's were cut the day prior to arrival, however as the weather has been warmer recently this could have meant that the grass has grown fairly quickly, they were also cut during the customer's stay.

    Reviewed by AndrewApr 2018

  • "We had a great time in the holiday home ‘would love to go back if the opportunity arose ."

    We celebrated our golden wedding anniversary with all our children and grandchildren.there was ample space and we weren’t on top of each other.the hot tub was used even though the weather was rather cold but it was February.it would be great in the summer. The area was really nice and we visited the Forest of Dean.couldnt have been better.

    Reviewed by GeoffFeb 2018

  • "Very spacious property, good seating areas for a large group."

    We had 11 people booked in for a weekend (Fri - Sun) in February. Never felt cramped, even managed a BBQ outside, where there was a covered seating area to sit in. Out of the way place, on single track road, but close enough to local amenities, so was not inconvenient. Would highly recommend, will be staying again in the future hopefully!

    Reviewed by SergeFeb 2018

  • "The owner of the cottage who lived nearby came to explain how the hot tub worked and also when we telephoned him with a query."

    Reviewed by HarryJun 2017

  • "Hot Tub was great."

    Overall standard of property was very high. The only advice we would offer in terms of improvement is that a manual to explain the facilities, amenities and surrounding area would help to quickly settle in.

    Reviewed by GrahamMar 2017

  • "While it is not listed and so was not expected the property would be perfect if it had internet."

    Also sky tv was advertised but we were told it did not work or the signal was patchy.

    Oct 2016

  • "A lovely house suitable for a group of 11 to relax with the stunning views, relaxing well maintained gardens and the hot tub."

    The house was clean and well equipped for a large group and the owner was very accommodating. This is the second year we have booked ingleside and we are now considering a suitable date to book again for next year.

    Reviewed by LouiseSep 2016

Show more

Summary

  • Six bedrooms: 1 x ground floor twin, 1 x family room with 1 double & 2 singles & en-suite bath, hand-held shower, basin & WC, 1 x king-size double with en-suite shower, basin & WC, 2 x twin, 1 x double. Bathroom with bath, shower cubicle , basin & WC
  • Ground floor basin & WC
  • Dining room table seating 14 leading to snug
  • Sun room
  • Utilty room with shower cubicle
  • Sitting room with woodburner
  • Outdoor games area.
  • Oil central heating with woodburner
  • Electric double oven & hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, smart TV, WIFI, Fuel, power & starter pack for woodburner inc. in rent
  • Bed linen & towels inc. in rent
  • Travel Cot & highchair on request
  • Large enclosed mature garden with patio, furniture & BBQ, Games area with table tennis
  • Covered bike storage
  • Ample off road parking
  • Lazy spa hot tub
  • Sorry, no pets & no smoking
  • Shop 1 mile, pub 0.5 miles
  • Please Note - Due to the new Government legislation the price of this property has been reduced to accommodate smaller groups in line with the Rule of 6 regulations, as such, only the beds required will be available to guests.

The property

An outstanding detached house in a peaceful location in the scattered hamlet of Adsett, close to the Royal Forest of Dean.

This spacious, welcoming Gloucestershire cottage boasts a well-equipped kitchen and a separate dining room big enough for everyone to gather round, and the perfect place for a celebration dinner or Sunday lunch with family and friends.

Ideal for smaller groups also with the added flexibility of sleeping arrangements, this Gloucestershire cottage also has an elegant sitting room with a cosy woodburner and doors onto the lovely mature garden - a great place to relax after a long day exploring this beautiful area.

This Gloucestershire cottage has the added benefit of two further sitting areas, a ground floor bedroom and ground floor shower room.

A further five bedrooms, three bathrooms, games area, lazy spa hot tub and access to outstanding walks and cycle routes in every direction make this delightful retreat the perfect Gloucestershire cottage for a get together, at any time of year.

Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location

ADSETT

Forest of Dean 2 miles; Gloucester 9 miles; Ross-on-Wye 13 miles.

The little hamlet of Adsett is very well situated, just one mile from the village of Westbury-on-Severn offering a Post Office, a traditional pub serving real ale and good food and the National Trust property of Westbury Court Garden, a 17th century Dutch Water Garden. Also close by is the magnificent Royal Forest of Dean, England's largest oak forest and an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, offering numerous trails that can be explored on foot, bicycle or horseback. Caving, abseiling and a high wire rope course are on offer for the more adventurous, whilst fishing, golf, kayaking and canoeing are other popular activities in this unspoilt area. Just a short drive away, in the historic waterfront city of Gloucester, you will find Roman foundations, Victorian Docklands and a spectacular Norman Cathedral (whose cloisters were used as a location in the Harry Potter films). A little further afield, visit the historic market town of Ross-on-Wye, with timbered Tudor houses and excellent shops, pubs and restaurants, in the heart of rural Herefordshire. The Severn Estuary, famous for its tidal bore, is a delight for bird watchers, wildlife enthusiasts and bore surfers alike. This unspoilt area has something to offer at any time of the year.

Region Information

Note: This owner requires a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £500. Your bond will be refunded to you within 2 weeks of your departure providing the property is left in an acceptable condition. Details of how to pay this will be provided 6 weeks prior to your stay.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it