Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 20 minutes ago

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • Owl Cottage - Cotswolds - 923700 - photo 1
close

Owl Cottage

(Ref. 923700)

Napton-on-the-Hill near Southam, Warwickshire Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (83)
  • hot (41)
  • tub (40)
  • hot tub (40)
  • lovely (40)
  • our (33)

100 Customer Reviews

  • "Stayed at owl cottage for 2 night and wished we had booked longer."

    It was a lovely little cottage and so peaceful. We will 100% be back!

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Feb 2024

  • "My daughter bought my partner and I the weekend away at Owl Cottage as a christmas present."

    It was so idyllic with wonderful views across the countryside and felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. The hot tub was amazing and the temperature of the water was perfect. There was an abundance of cooking utensils and absolutely everything you could possibly need in the kitchen, even a big teapot. We had a wonderful relaxing time and would highly recommend it to our friends and family. It was just what we needed and we would love to go again. Tracey & Jason

    Reviewed by Ellie4.7Jan 2024

  • "Owl Cottage was comfortable and cosy, and we really enjoyed our stay."

    We only wish the weather was slightly better so we could use the hot tub more! Great visit to the local pub and Daventry country park too, the dog enjoyed his stay as much as we did! Thanks for a lovely weekend.

    Reviewed by Jenna5.0Dec 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay and would absolutely recommend Owl Cottage."

    It was great location and very secure which was great for our dog. The pub was 9 min walking distance on a main road but it wasn’t busy at night. The pub was really nice, great food and staff. I would advise to book. The only downside was the shower was terrible, it came out slightly warm then just went cold which wasn’t ideal as it was cold when we stayed and we desperately wanted a nice warm shower, especially after getting out the hot tub. There was also no outdoor lighting out the back which made it difficult to watch our dog at night. Other than that it was great and the owners were super responsive and helpful.

    Reviewed by Tasha4.4Nov 2023

  • "Cosy and clean and relaxing place to stay ."

    Even though it was beginning of November when we stayed, still plenty to do, Lovely walks nearby. Dog friendly pubs along the way, with just as friendly staff. Highly recommend

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0Nov 2023

  • "We did not stay for 5 nights only 2 nights were managed as the bad facilities forced us to return home."

    The shower dribbled water and was cold, The bath was in a location too hard to access. The oven kept tripping out the power The deep water land drain off was not fenced off and is not safe for children or animals. Owl cottage needs a good spring clean and major maintenance overhaul.

    We do apologies that you had a bad experience in Owl cottage. We do try our hardest to keep it up to standard. We appreciate that you had problems with the oven and shower and had you made us wear of the problems before you left they would have being sorted out. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David1.9Oct 2023

  • "Both of the televisions would only receive a signal when it was raining."

    The bed/ pillows are not fit for purpose I have thicker towels than the pillows. There is an infestation of flies in the upstairs bathroom every night we had to remove 20 to 30 dead flies. The cottage itself and the grounds are absolutely lovely

    We are really pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and the grounds. Since your stage we have changed the pillows and we are looking into options with the bed. We are monitoring the situation with the flies. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barrie2.5Oct 2023

  • "Property had everything you need for a getaway and was great value for money."

    The cottage was secluded and you felt like the only people around. The perfect place to switch off for a couple of days and spend some quality time together. Also a nice walk away from the local pub and village of Napton. Couldn’t recommend more

    Reviewed by Joseph5.0Sep 2023

  • "Owl cottage is a bit of a contradiction, it has some great features, brickwork, beams, lighting, a dog secure garden, all the equipment you need, good location, electric car charging and hot tub (although we didn't use the last two."

    ) But some small points and one big one let it down. The big issue is the bedroom which is too small for the bed. If you are relatively fit and agile this isn't a problem but anyone with mobility issues would have trouble. Little things like the towels and plastic wine glasses can be easily dealt with. Overall it is very good value for money, so I would recommend it, especially if you want easy access to the canals, which is why we went.

    Reviewed by Jean3.8Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely week and the Cottage was nice especially the outdoor space and the Hot Tub which we used every day."

    The Village Pubs were very good, and there was lots of nice walks nearby that Hector the dog really enjoyed (although avoid Ufton fields thousands of Mosquitos). The only downsides were we were left only 2 small bath towels which meant having to buy hand towels and extra towels for the hot tub. The Box of chocs was a nice touch and the pint of milk although it would have been better for us if it was semi skimmed instead of skimmed.

    We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and all of the local surroundings. We apologise that you didn't have enough towels. We have since spoken to out cleaners about this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian3.8Jun 2023

  • "A nice comfortable cottage situated outside the village of Napton on the hill,surrouned by farmland and off the main road a lovely comfortable cottage that we would not hesitate to reccomend."

    Reviewed by Rodney5.0Jun 2023

  • "It was a good location and the garden was secure for our two dogs."

    I went with a weak back, but after one night of sleeping in the most uncomfortable bed ever, by the time of sleeping on it for a few days, my neck went and my back was really bad, to.the point we came home a day early, now my husband has a bad neck. I did complain to the owner who left a board outside our door, but it was the mattress as mattress was already on wooden slats, so it was no good and the owner, even if it was the answer didn't offer any help and my husband would never have been able to lift the mattress especially in the tiniest bedroom.ever! really wish I had looked at the other reviews before we booked as we wouldn't have gone if I had known just how soft the mattress was! I think Ownwrs should be made to say what the mattress is like when listing the accommodation. Also the shower kept going hot and cold all the time! There were a lot of cobwebs everywhere and hanging down near the stairs what you can see upstairs and looking down!

    We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and the garden. We are very sorry that you found the bed so uncomfortable and that it has caused you so many problems. The bed that you slept on had actually recently being replaced and we find it hard to get one that is right for everyone however we will replace it again if necessary as we completely appreciate the importance of a comfortable nights sleep. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony3.1Apr 2023

  • "Wonderful location, excellent cottage, well equipped, quiet, nice garden, great if you have dogs."

    Nice hot tub, one thing that I would add would be some screening to offer some added privacy & protection from the wind coming across the fields. Other than that there is nothing I would change

    Reviewed by Brendan5.0Apr 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay."

    Great recommendation of The Folly by Adrian

    Reviewed by David5.0Jan 2023

  • "Lovely location."

    Very reasonably priced. Could have been more effort to make it festive as we went over the Christmas period. The few Christmas lights around the cottage didn’t work because batteries were dead.

    Reviewed by Gillian4.1Dec 2022

  • "Had a great stay at the owl cottage."

    Couldn't fault anything at all and would love to stay again, exactly as described!

    Reviewed by Tyler5.0Dec 2022

  • "This property was everything we wanted, easy to find, quality everywhere we looked, comfy bed, quiet, just the right size, ideal location."

    Easy access to village great price... Please note I have entered a very detailed review with feedback and photos on Google Maps. I think you will be very happy with the feedback we have given. The booking process easy, great description on Dog friendly site sold it to us.

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Nov 2022

  • "Well equipped."

    Peaceful and lovely setting. Location and local amenities good. Only negatives would benefit from better towels and mirrors a tad high for shorties. Otherwise no issues and highly recommend. Will be returning

    Reviewed by Glenn4.7Oct 2022

  • "Lovely well equipped cottage , beautiful rural setting."

    Perfect dog friendly holiday.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely cottage,super peaceful location."

    Disappointed with the lack of towelsand the quality, very crunchy . Downstairs chairs really not comfortable . Re directions Aquavista could be used as a location to pinpoint the property as it is on the opposite side . We drove past as the Owl cottage sign is not really visible the way we approached on the A425. I know the property is listed as one bedroom , but the fact it has a sofa bed linen would be useful and blinds upstairs. I booked to go with a friend so she took her own bedding luckily. King's Head great food, as well as potting shed. Local post office shop well stocked. We avoided the walk on the 425 to drive to Daventry Country Park to walk Martha my border terrier, great walks and lovely coffee shop.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working with out cleaners to sort out the towels. Since you stay we have replaced the down stairs chairs with a nice 2 seater sofa. We appreciate that the property can be hard to pinpoint the exact location and we are constantly trying to improve the directions. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the local facilities. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacquie3.4Sep 2022

  • "My husband and I love Owl Cottage."

    We have been there a few times, it is situated not far from where we used to live, we can see our family and our friends, our beautiful very intelligent rough collie also loves it too, but this will probably be the last time we go as I am disabled and my husband is also ill, and we are not far off 90. The cottage is well furnished very comfortable, fresh and clean and has everything visitors would need. Congratulations, Adrian, and best wishes for the future.

    Reviewed by Dorothea5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at the owl cottage,peace and tranquility just what we wanted , the cottage was in a remote place, hot tub was lovely ,the only thing I would say is the seating was not very comfortable apart from that i would highly recommend the owl cottage."

    some lovely places to go to walk your dog .

    Thank you for your nice review we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Since your stay we have improved the downstairs seating by replacing the tub chairs with a nice 2 seater sofa. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.1Aug 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage in perfect surroundings Hot tub was great, bed extremely ..."

    Beautiful cottage in perfect surroundings Hot tub was great, bed extremely comfortable but unfortunately the seating let it down as very uncomfortable, I’d definitely replace with comfy sofa

    Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are currently looking into buying a sofa to replace the downstairs seating. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan3.1Jul 2022

  • "This sweet little cottage, was located close by the canals, which were perfect for exploring."

    We spent many days walking with our dog, along these canals, stopping for lunch at a pub then wandering back. Conveniently located for day trips to Leamington Spa and other hidden delights.

    Reviewed by Jamie5.0Jul 2022

  • "We felt the garden wasn’t fully pet secure where the big hedge finishes by the brick wall above the hot tub."

    We had to put the clothes dryer there to ensure our dog didn’t escape. Apart from that a lovely stay

    We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will shortly be erecting a fence to make the garden fully pet proof. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lauren5.0Jul 2022

  • "Absolutely beautiful we both enjoyed our stay all safe and we loved the views ..."

    Absolutely beautiful we both enjoyed our stay all safe and we loved the views and thanks again for the chocolate and milk etc very much appreciated and we will book again xx thanks Dave &joan and Maggie x

    Reviewed by David4.7Jun 2022

  • "Thankyou for the chocolates, tea, coffee and milk on our arrival."

    We had a fantastic week at Owl Cottage, it is very comfortable, well equiped and well located. The Napton village store has friendly staff and a good range of goods. The Napton cidery is worth a visit, and we enjoyed our walk around the village. We particularly enjoyed walks along the Oxford and Grand Canal tow paths.

    Reviewed by Monica5.0Jun 2022

  • "Had to leave early due to Covid."

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7May 2022

  • "Bed broken, mattress very uncomfortable, sofa bed badly stained, cooker knobs dirty."

    Hot tub very worn. Cobwebs and dog hair on all carpets. We visited owl cottage fours years ago and loved it so returned this year. Very disappointed, for reasons above. Although the owner visited and secured the bed, still unusable for two my partner had to sleep on the floor on a mattress topper we brought with us. No plans to return.

    We do apologise that this is your experience. We have checked the bed again since your stay and can assure you that it is fully fixed and we are talking to our customers about how they find the mattress with a view to replacing it if necessary. Since your stay we have replaced the sofa bed as we were unaware that it was stained. We have since gone around and done a deep clean on the property to make sure it is unto standard. We had already ordered a new cover for the hot tub but there is a very long wait time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan2.5May 2022

  • "The cottage was very clean, comfortable and well equipped although strangely no toilet paper supplied."

    The reason for only 3 stars is the very busy road with a narrow grass verge that had to be negotiated every time you wanted to walk from the cottage,not mentioned by Sykes in their listing .Plus the car work units near the cottage (listed by Sykes as a small holding) the noise from both could be clearly heard from the cottage.

    Reviewed by John4.1May 2022

  • "We totally loved Owl Cottage!"

    A perfect introduction for us to life in the English countryside. It was so amazing watch spring come to life around us: daffodils blooming, trees biding and the birds chirping all day. So relaxing and grounding. The cottage had everything we needed including a very week fitted out kitchen. And the views from upstairs were sensational - especially the lights in the canal marina at night. The secure yard also gave our city dogs their first rural experience sniffing out everything and chasing bunnies on the driveway. Easy walk to the pub and bit further to village, ciders and windmill. Adrian dropped by a few times while he was working on the property or I his yard next door - so friendly and helpful. Now we live just down the road we’ll be sending all our visitors here to stay!

    Reviewed by Bianca5.0Apr 2022

  • "Excellent place."

    Had a lovely time. Well kept and has great facilities. Lovely walks in the area With a local pub/restaurant less than 10 minutes walk away. A cider brewery in the village as village shop with local produce and the folly pub just down the canal. Met the lovely couple who maintain the property who showed us around. Thanks.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Apr 2022

  • "Perfect cottage and great location for dog walks on the canal."

    Only negative is having to walk along the verge on a busy road to get into Napton. The nearby Kings Head is great for food.

    Reviewed by Olly5.0Mar 2022

  • "Perfect weekend getaway."

    The cottage is well equipped, everything you need for a break. It's cosy and secluded, we especially enjoyed the hot tub. The chocolates on arrival were a lovely touch and milk was even provided, proves the owners go the extra mile for their guests! We wouldn't hesitate to book again.

    Reviewed by Rebecca4.7Mar 2022

  • "A number of things we didnt like."

    had requested a step for the hot tub and was emailed by sykes saying one would be provided- it wasnt. the bedroom is ridiculously tiny - the upstairs room should be the bedroom- that was the smallest and most difficult room to get round I've ever been in. plus the bed dips in the middle, so we were rolling inwards all night. the fridge had no freezer section ??? the hot tub is very outdated and needs replacing - understood that there was direct access from the bedroom to this, but wasnt we were looking forward to having the fire on, but the door is black to the point where you could not see the fire burning at all

    We do apologise that you found a number of things weren't as you had expected. Unfortunately we forgot to put the step out for you however there will now be one available all of the time. We accept that the bedroom if a bit small but that is one of the limitations of the property there is a sofa bed upstairs if you would prefer that. We will look into the problem with the bed dipping in the middle. Due to prioritising fridge space we also have another full height fridge freezer which is located in the shed we accept that isn't ideal but we feel that this allows you to have as much freezer space as needed not just a very confined space. We are currently looking into updating the hot tub. Thank you for letting us know that the wood burner glass is black and we will get it cleaned. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah2.8Mar 2022

  • "1/bed uncomfortable and no space around it."

    2/Hot tub badly positioned and no step. 3/ lack of clothes storage area . 4/ Net flix only available in uncomfortable kitchen area.Would be better upstairs in amazing lounge. 5/ communications with owner about a problem ignored. 6/Well equipped cottage,that with a few tweaks would be far more enjoyable.

    Thank you for your comments. We have recently changed the mattress to increase comfort, unfortunately we do struggle with space around the bed and that is one down side to the property. We have recently ordered a step for the hot tub to help improve accessibility for everyone. We do apologise that we never responded to you on a problem there must have been a communication breakdown and we never received anything from you we would usually respond to problems as a matter of urgency. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris4.1Feb 2022

  • "The cottage was everything we could ask for and met our every need and our dog was safe and secure in the enclosed garden."

    Reviewed by David5.0Feb 2022

  • "The cottage was everything and more we were looking for!"

    The first time taking our little sausage dog away on a weekend break and she loved it. Cannot fault anything. Would definitely go back in the summer!

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Feb 2022

  • "Perfect little cottage has everything you need."

    I will be booking again for a couple more days, my dog really enjoyed our stay she was very relaxed on her 15th birthday and I enjoyed the chocolates thank you. I didn’t get to use the hot tub as I was only staying one night but I definitely will next time thanks again.

    Reviewed by Vicky4.7Jan 2022

  • "We loved this cottage."

    It is sympathetically designed, incorporating elements from an earlier building and tastefully furnished. The hot-tub is a big plus - we enjoyed relaxing in it under the stars and moon but it would be equally lovely on a summer's day with the benefit of the secluded, private garden and views over open countryside. There have been comments about the bed - we found it firm but comfortable and we would definitely be very happy to go back sometime.

    Thank you for your feedback it is great that you enjoyed your stay. We would love for you to come back again. We have recently changed the mattress so we hope that this increases the level of comfort. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike4.1Jan 2022

  • "Lovely small cottage tucked away in Warwickshire."

    Although close to some small workshops our stay was not disturbed in any way. The house itself is well appointed with plenty of tools for the kitchen, and was nice and warm. The hot tub was nice and warm ( we didn't use it though), I couldn't get the fold away bed to open and the house could use a comfy seat/sofa downstairs.

    Reviewed by David4.1Jan 2022

  • "I really liked Owl Cottage."

    It was handy by for my family at Christmas. There was a warm welcome and even decorated little bit for Christmas. I loved the mezzanine lounge and the tiled floor downstairs was useful for the dogs. The garden was dog-secure which took a huge weight off my mind. The electric heaters were fantastic. In the bedroom it would have been nice to have a chest of drawers or some shelves as well as the hanging rail. The plastic drawers were a bit underwhelming. Generally, the kitchen was very well equipped indeed. There was a problem with the oven door which kept pinging open during cooking. Could not solve that one so gave up in the end. Other than that, the mad motorists and the litter in the hedgerows (which obviously are not your fault) the dogs and I were very happy. We would recommend and would definitely come again.

    It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we struggle a bit for space in the bedroom but we are looking into upgrades we could make. We will look into the problem with the oven door. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean4.4Dec 2021

  • "We had a lovley stay at the cottage!"

    Had everything we needed and more besides! The area was beautiful and we loved all the local produce available! We were concerned about some recent reviews also but we definitely didn't need to be! Planting has taken place to hide in the future but we had no noise issues and loved the hot tub!!!! Oreo loved it there in front of the fire and the chocolates and note were a great welcome! The only thing we struggled with was the bed, it was not comfortable and very hard to sleep. This was our only issue! Everything else made for our idyllic pre Christmas getaway and we truly loved it!!! Thanks for a truly fantastic stay to unwind xx

    Thank you so much and we are pleased that Oreo had a great time. We are looking at making the bed comfier very shortly and can confirm that any building work has ceased for the foreseeable future.I'm so thrilled you had a great stay and enjoyed the hot tub and thank you for the top cleanliness scores also for the property, as I do take great pride in the cleanliness of the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Dec 2021

  • "Property was very clean, comfortable and well equipped."

    The bed and pillows were quite hard and uncomfortable. For that reason we didn’t sleep particularly well. We were a bit concerned at first after reading some reviews about the working units nearby, however they were not very visible nor were they noisy when we stayed. We would love to return, however our biggest concern is that more working units appear to be being built much closer to the property which would detract from its charm and peacefulness. All in all though, we did enjoy our stay and the welcome note and chocolates were a nice touch. Hot tub worked very well, owners answered their phones in case we needed them and we were comfortable and cosy in the cottage with the fire on! A lovely little find to spend some time away before Christmas! :)

    So pleased you had a great stay and found the property clean and comfy. We are thrilled you had a good Christmas and that you enjoyed the hot tub. We will looking at making the bed more comfortable to enhance our guests' experience. Thank you for the top cleanliness scores and I can also confirm that building of any units in the local area has ceased for the foreseeable future and we look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patrick4.7Dec 2021

  • "This is a gorgeous little cottage in a stunning location, we had everything we needed for our weekend away."

    We wouldn’t hesitate to book another stay at Owl Cottage hopefully with better weather so we can try out the hot tub next time

    Reviewed by Kirsty5.0Nov 2021

  • "Following feedback on this property since we had booked our break we had some reservations about our stay."

    I was thrilled to find that the cottage was absolutely lovely! I agree that the armchairs in the kitchen are unusable but there is a TV in the upstairs area with a sofa and armchair and the space felt snug and warm so we sat up there instead. The bed is also very firm and a little uncomfortable but overall the rest of the cottage made up for this. There is a storage facility and vehicle storage yard to the front of the property which isn't reflected in the listing photos but this can only be seen from the front door so this didn't bother us and we didn't hear any noise. The view from the garden is out over countryside, private and perfect for enjoying the hot tub. Lots of little touches made this a real home from home and we hope to visit again soon.

    Thank you for your kind comments. Since your stay we have replaced the arm chair in the kitchen. `We are currently looking at different mattress to increase the comfort of the bed. The store facility nearest the front of the cottage has being emptied of all of the vehicles, they were only there as a temporary measure. We are currently in the process of taking some photos to reflect the view out the front of the cottage to add to the listing. It would be great have you stay again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adele4.1Nov 2021

  • "We have just had week at Owl cottage,and to our dismay it has drastically changed from last year."

    It is no longer private and secluded,as we drove up the lane we were greeted with more lock up storage units,that were still being built,then there is like a compound with cars,boats,caravans,vans and lorry’s in,after that it goes into what maybe another area of units,all of this being very close to the cottage.On Sunday morning a man was on top of his lorry doing something,but could see us clearly and visa versa.Monday at approximately 7:45 in the morning,we were treated to an angle grinder going while they finished a unit.This was not the peace and quiet we experienced last year.While some effort to plant small trees around the perimeter had been done,it will take a few years for them to grow big enough to be able to hide the sight.We couldn’t sit downstairs as both the chairs are now really uncomfortable and the bed seems to have deteriorated a lot in a year,my husband discovered that it’s held up by blocks.The rest of the cottage is lovely.We we’re so disappointed when we arrived to be greeted with the sight of these units etc and so close to the cottage.I’m afraid we will not be booking Owl cottage again,we are back on the hunt for peace,quiet and seclusion.Had we been made aware of these changes,we would of looked for somewhere else,I feel our only holiday of the year has been spoilt.

    We apologise that this is your experience and that you feel this way. We have made some changes and are continuing to make changes in light of the feedback that we receive. Since your holiday all of the vehicles have been moved from the front of the cottage. The storage units have being finished and there are no plans for any more developments close to the cottage. We have also replaced the chairs downstairs and we are looking into getting a different mattress and improving the bed. We are currently in the process of taking more photos out the front of the cottage to reflect the changes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marie2.5Nov 2021

  • "The cottage itself is a lovely design and well equipped."

    However, we were unable to use the hot tub as the water had a greenish tinge to it and a fusty smell, debris in the bottom from when it's been used previously and dirt has teansfered from their feet (we have our own hot tub so know what it should look and smell like) . The chairs downstairs were very lumpy and need replacing. The bed was very firm and uncomfortable. The views are not what they appear in the photos, it's up a drive off an extremely busy main road. To the front of the cottage you're looking over a storage compound and industrial units, there is a vehicle compund full of vans and performance cars next to the cottage (you can imagine the noise created by vehicles with staight through exhausts next to the cottage particularly when they're being moved at night) . It was very noisy during our visit as the owner was adding further indusrial units to the site and as such there was the constant noise of power tools being used (we were not informed of any disruption prior to our stay).

    Many thanks for your feedback. I'm pleased you found the property well designed and equipped. I will ensure the hot tub is monitored/checked by the cleaners on changeovers when the water is changed to ensure that this issue does not happen again, thank you for letting me know and I will look at potential upgrades where possible. I have replaced the armchairs and am also looking at improving the comfort of the bed.There will be no more units being built for the foreseeable future and all vehicles have been removed, I apologise that this impinged on your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael2.8Oct 2021

  • "Nice little cottage, very clean with good equipment."

    Space out back is safe for your dog. Secluded if you like that thing & good for an all over tan if you like that thing !

    Reviewed by David4.4Jul 2021

  • "Cottage is beautiful and location is stunning the only downside was the chairs ..."

    Cottage is beautiful and location is stunning the only downside was the chairs in the lounge are a bit worn and lumpy in places when you sit in them but we had a fantastic week and will definitely be back

    Reviewed by Kevin4.7Jul 2021

  • "What a lovely quirky cottage."

    I loved the place

    Reviewed by Linda4.1May 2021

  • "Beautiful cottage with all the facilities you need in a holiday cottage."

    Hot tub is lovely. The cottage is not overlooked by anyone, so very peaceful. We had a problem with the wood burner but contacted the owner and got an immediate response. The only thing I would say is parts of the cottage are a bit tired. The bucket chairs have lost all their spring and are no longer comfortable and grouting needs freshening up.. These small points did not affect our enjoyment and I am sure a partly due to the cottage not being used because of Covid.

    Reviewed by Caryn3.8May 2021

  • "Loved every moment of it, in such a cute cottage."

    Had every appliance, furnishing and kitchenware you could need to have a real home from home experience. The hot tub completed it for us and we will definitely look to book again in future.

    Reviewed by Calvin5.0Apr 2021

  • "Very impressed with the cleanliness of the cottage when we arrived, given that we are in the middle of the Corona Virus Pandemic."

    All the appliances worked well, and it was really great to have a dishwasher, and a hot-tub. Location of cottage is superb, especially as we love walking canal tow-paths.

    Reviewed by Anthony4.4Sep 2020

  • "Fantastic location, close to amenities, very quiet and very relaxing"

    Reviewed by John4.7Aug 2020

  • "Perfect little cottage in a lovely part of the country."

    Secluded but not too far away from everything we needed. We had a great few days.

    Reviewed by Craig5.0Jul 2020

  • "We had a wonderful time in Owl Cottage."

    The cottage itself was delightful, comfortable and well equipped and the owners welcoming and helpful. There was lots to see and do locally and everywhere we visited we found people helpful and hospitable. We hope to visit again.

    Reviewed by Hilary5.0Mar 2020

  • "Wonderful stay, it's a little jem, hot tub makes it."

    Will be going back.

    Reviewed by Nadene3.8Feb 2020

  • "Lovely cottage."

    2nd visit and already booked the next one

    Reviewed by Nick5.0Feb 2020

  • "Perfect if you want secluded, quiet, warm, clean, excellent walks + views , garden is perfect if you have a dog."

    equipped with everything and more that you will need for your stay. we have all ready tried to re-book for feb 20 but dates booked "very sad". my only comment is make sure you book with "sykes" NOT home &away like we did or you will pay TWICE for the booking/admin fee. perfect stay many thanks rob & marg.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Dec 2019

  • "Excellent base for visiting Stratford and Leamington Spa."

    Perfect romantic get away for two. Hot tub lovely. Would be fantastic in the summer months too. Hoping to stay again

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Dec 2019

  • "A lovely little cottage with everything you need provided."

    The Hot Tub is an excellent added extra. The secure enclosed garden was a major hit for our 7 month old Labrador. Only used the cottage as a base to visit family , but is handily located for visiting the many towns and villages around. There are plenty of dog walking opportunities on your doorstep. All in all this is a lovely secluded and relaxing place to enjoy. One little negative , I found the security gate hard to unlock/lock , maybe it was just me

    Reviewed by Dave4.4Dec 2019

  • "Very relaxing and cosy."

    The cottage is quaint, but small. The field at the side is safe and useful for a quick walk.. We enjoyed our week very much.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Nov 2019

  • "A beautiful cottage, well presented and has everything you need."

    A few nice welcoming touches and hot tub a bonus after a long days walking.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2019

  • "Owl Cottage was an absolute delight."

    It way exceeded our expectations and more. So peaceful with tons of wildlife to watch. Comfortable bed and hot tub. Bliss. Thank you for having such a beautiful place to stay to get away from everything.

    Reviewed by Nick5.0Oct 2019

  • "This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Owl Cottage and it was just as nice as last time, the dog absolutely loved it and the garden and surrounding area are just lovely."

    The facilities and attention to detail in the cottage are great and it feels very homely and inviting. The Marina across the road was so nice and picturesque. We had a great time walking around there and the wild meadow which has been been made dog walker friendly. We also visited Daventry Country Park which was a lovely walk. Will definitely be returning again !

    Reviewed by Leigh5.0Jul 2019

  • "This is our second visit to owl cottage which we thoroughly enjoyed ."

    We did meet the owner this time as he had to sort out one small problem which he did very quickly . Adrian was very friendly and was pleased to help. We hope to return to the cottage again in the future as it so peaceful and a relaxing location. Don't change a thing.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jul 2019

  • "1st class property in a peaceful location."

    Brilliant for exploring the local canals and great dog walking country. The cottage was of a very high standard and well equipped.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jun 2019

  • "This is the second time we have stayed at this particular cottage and I have recommended it to a friend of mine."

    Total relaxation. Dogs can have a sniff around with no fear of wandering away due to the fenced off area, (although we did keep an eye on them) Peace and quiet only interrupted by the sheep in adjacent fields. Nice pub down the road within walking distance, although there is no footpath from the gate to the pub, so care has to be taken. Fully recommend.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0May 2019

  • "Loved the cottage, but unfortunately we had bad weather while there & couldn't use hot tub as much as we would of liked too , it would of been nice if it was covered over , just a suggestion for the future !"

    Reviewed by Joy5.0May 2019

  • "Owl cottage is absolutely fantastic had everything we needed and more."

    Will definitely go again. Loved the welcome chocolate and tea and milk when we got there. The hot tub was a lovely extra and made the stay even better. Great cottage wanted to book straight away for another holiday but struggling for dates. Let's hope I find a few nights soon that are free at owl cottage. But might have to wait until next year ☹️☹️☹️

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Apr 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage beautiful location."

    Had the best time. Will definitely be going back in the future

    Reviewed by Leanne5.0Apr 2019

  • "This is the second time we have stayed at the cottage and I'm sure we will stay again."

    The only downside we had was that on the first day the hottub was no where near temperature so we weren't able to go in the first night. Was lovely the rest of the time and great walks to have with the dog.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Mar 2019

  • "Such a charming cottage in a stunning location."

    The cottage is well equipped and decorated beautiful.

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Mar 2019

  • "It would have been really nice to have had a Christmas tree in the cottage."

    Also recommends good walks to the local pub and the Marina , but there were no foot paths so walking on grass verges at this time of the year was not an option too muddy . However, this did not spoil our break , the Cottage was very cosy ,very well equipped and lovely we both felt so relaxed. We would recommend this to others and woul stay again .

    Reviewed by Carol4.1Dec 2018

  • "What an absolute little gem."

    Loved everything about this beautiful cottage. Everything we needed was supplied, the owners left milk in the fridge and even a welcome box of chocolates. We really didn't want to leave and will definitely try to stay there again. Thank you

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Dec 2018

  • "The cottage is stunning secure and so well equipped for everything you need."

    the little details just made it more perfect.... we loved every second of our stay xx

    Reviewed by Katrina5.0Nov 2018

  • "Did find the large industrial gate at entrance to the drive was hard to open and close."

    Overall for a small cottage we had everything we needed! It would have been helpful if the sign for Owl Cottage was more prominent, especially in the dark and on the bend in the busy road.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7Nov 2018

  • "It was everything we hoped for."

    The cottage was quiet and well equipped the owners made sure we had everything we needed and left us a very useful visitors folder with lots of information and advice on things to do. The cottage itself was lovely and the hot tub was an added bonus. Our dogs loved the big open spaces and I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet getaway. Skyes Cottages kept us well informed on the lead up to the holiday and we would use both them and owl cottage again.

    Reviewed by Nicole5.0Oct 2018

  • "A truly lovely little cottage, clean, compact and vey comfy."

    All the facilities you could ask for to make your holiday complete. Probably the nicest cottage we have stayed. Already booked it again.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Sep 2018

  • "Excellent quiet comfortable setting"

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Sep 2018

  • "Lovely cottage & hot tub Location bit hard to find (Wasn't expecting Industrial ..."

    Lovely cottage & hot tub Location bit hard to find (Wasn't expecting Industrial gates at entrance) Well equipped kitchen Mezzanine was lovely to just sit and relax Hot Tub was a lovely touch but could supply more towels as there was only 2 medium ones and loads of hand towels 10 min walk to the kings Head lovely beer garden 10 mins drive to the Folly pub right beside canal Banbury 12 miles away Cleaners need to learn about cobwebs and hoover properly dog hairs still on carpets

    Reviewed by David4.4Aug 2018

  • "Such a great holiday, we have booked again for a weekend away next year as well."

    Fantastic place for the dog as well. Nice big secure garden, although don't let your dog leave toys out there overnight as a fox managed to nab one and we found it a few days later in the field next to the house! Hot tub was such a great addition, there was nothing better than getting in after a long day of walking. Pub quite easy walking distance and is dog friendly.

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Aug 2018

  • "Owl cottage was lovely, everything was of good quality, and everything you needed was there."

    The bedroom could have been bigger, the bed was very comfortable.

    Reviewed by Dorothea5.0Jul 2018

  • "This was our 27th."

    wedding anniversary and we had a great time at Owl Cottage. Everything you needed for a week away was provided for. The owners left milk and chocolates for us. The local pub was 10 minutes away and local shop was twenty minutes away. The views from the cottage were stunning and the hot tub was amazing. We were not far from Warwick castle which was a good day out. This is the best time that my wife and I have had on holiday.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2018

  • "The cottage was clean very compact everything was there but as i am disabled i ..."

    The cottage was clean very compact everything was there but as i am disabled i found a bedroom with just 18 inch either side of the bed i found it very difficult, to get onto the bed the bedroom far to small for me Bathroom also to small for me shower with a seat good for me The cottage for a more able person would be better manageable we made a tour around the area and had a resonable holiday The pub with in walking distance the shop a good 20 minute car journey and being the only shop for miles very dear Not the best holiday we have had with you but attention should be made not disabled friendly We will be booking our next holiday with you but not owl cottage

    Reviewed by Samuel3.8Jun 2018

  • "A lovely cottage with every thing you need and set in beautiful countryside, Lovely garden and most welcoming hot tub, all in all would recommend a stay at Owl Cottage."

    Reviewed by Claire4.1Jun 2018

  • "Beautiful little cottage that was a perfect location for some sightseeing in the area."

    The hot tub was a lovely bonus that we used everyday to help unwind. The owners left us a couple of treats to find upon arrival that were a lovely touch.

    Reviewed by Jason4.7May 2018

  • "A really lovely cottage that is well presented and cared for."

    It is a perfect spot for a relaxing break and lovely views to rear across open countryside.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Apr 2018

  • "Owl cottage is perfectly situated for a peaceful relaxing break."

    Everything you need is available with the addition of a hot tub to wind down in. Our only concern would be the hard mattress.

    Reviewed by Bernie4.7Apr 2018

  • "A great cottage, very well equipped, and perfect for a peaceful break or exploring lots of nearby towns and attractions."

    Reviewed by Catherine4.6Dec 2017

  • "Loved the hot tub, location was excellent."

    Cottage was clean and warm. A few cushions for kitchen chairs would add to the comfort, overall a lovely place.

    Reviewed by Charles4.8Apr 2017

  • "We loved the secluded setting with beautiful views where we could enjoy the local wildlife."

    The quaint little cottage was wonderful to return to each day after exploring the local area.

    Reviewed by Carol4.8Apr 2017

  • "We had such a lovely time."

    It's so nice to get away for a few days and be able to take your dogs with you! They had great fun playing in the secure garden while we relaxed in the hot tub! The cottage is absolutely beautiful and it's so peaceful :)

    Reviewed by Lisa4.8Mar 2017

  • "The cottage is in a fantastic location and easy to find, it has been well thought out layout wise and provides a good base for nearby towns."

    We chose this from previous recommendations and having a dog the fact that being a pet friendly location was essential. The addition of a hot tub is a real luxury and added to the relaxing atmosphere. There are many good walks away from the road to take the dog and I would strongly recommend Napton Village Post Office as a place to get good food and advice on the local area. The Kings Head pub in the village again is very dog friendly and the food fantastic, although we never went to the Folly I understand it is also dog friendly. Recommend walking dogs around Napton reservoir and onto the Grand Union and Oxford canals, we also visited Leamington Spa, my overall impression was that people are more laid back and friendly a nice change from the London commute!!

    Reviewed by David4.6Nov 2016

  • "Fabulous location for getting away from it all!"

    !!!

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Nov 2016

  • "My second time at Owl Cottage."

    I love the seclusion. The cottage is warm and comfortable and so very pretty. An excellent retreat to take with good company xxxx

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Oct 2016

  • "We love Owl Cottage and it's situation on the edge of the village - and yet within walking distance to the King's Head, where they serve delicious meals and welcome Rosie, our labrador!"

    We love Warwickshire and the wealth of history in the area - and also that are so many other interesting places to visit, just a bit farther afield. This was our second visit to Owl Cottage - and we still love it so much that I have just booked again for next year!

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Sep 2016

  • "Very clean and tidy a beautiful cottage and peaceful quite location great area will defo come back"

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0Sep 2016

  • "Very central location for towns very peaceful lovely location and cottage well ..."

    Very central location for towns very peaceful lovely location and cottage well equipped loved the hot tub and loved the mezzanine level in the cottage

    Reviewed by Dorothy5.0Aug 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Mostly ground floor
  • One double bedroom
  • First floor bathroom with bath and basin
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Mezzanine sitting area with sofa bed
  • External utility.
  • Electric central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine in utility, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, CD/radio, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Bike storage
  • Lawned gardens to side and rear with patio, furniture and hot tub
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 mile, pubs 10 mins walk
  • Note: There's restricted head height into the first floor bathroom
  • Note: Raised, brick-built fish tank in the rear garden, children must be supervised at all times
  • Note: There is a £30 charge to use the EV charger at the property per week.

The property

Napton-on-the-Hill 1.2 miles.

A charming detached cottage located on a working smallholding, close to the pretty village of Napton-on-the-Hill surrounded by unspoilt Warwickshire countryside.

Very well-furnished throughout, this cottage provides an ideal base for a romantic break with an abundance of activities close by.

Set predominantly over the ground floor with a vaulted beamed ceiling, this charming cottage has an open plan living area comprising of a kitchen, dining area and sitting area with a warming woodburning stove, ideal for those chilly evenings.

There is access to the rear garden from the living area, and completing the ground floor is a lovely double bedroom which has a wet room next door.

On the first floor there is a small mezzanine area overlooking the living area, complete with sofa bed and a restricted height doorway to a bathroom.

Doors from the living area lead out onto the side and rear gardens with a patio area, furniture and BBQ and a small lawn with a luxurious hot tub, ideal for relaxing at the end of a day exploring the area.

The thriving village of Napton-on-the-Hill has a selection of good pubs, an excellent store selling local produce, a Post Office and a marina with narrow boat hire.

Explore the small market town of Southam with all its amenities and transport links which connect the town with Leamington Spa, Stratford-upon-Avon and nearby villages.

A welcoming cottage for a romantic break at any time of the year.

View on map

About the location

NAPTON-ON-THE-HILL

Southam 4 miles; Stratford-upon-Avon 25 miles.

A thriving village, mentioned in the Domesday Book, offering a 12th century church, a number of good pubs, excellent shop, Post Office, tea room and marina with narrow boat hire. Close by, the historic town of Southam offers more amenities, including a supermarket, regular farmers' market and leisure centre. Many walks can be enjoyed in the area with the Millennium Way, Oxford Canal Walk and Grand Union Canal Walk all running close by. Also within reach is Draycote Water, which offers 650 acres of water for sailors and windsurfers, as well as offering lovely walks, cycle trails, birdwatching and fishing. Just a short drive away is Stratford-upon-Avon, which dates back to the medieval times and boasts many historic buildings including Shakespeare's birthplace and Anne Hathaway's cottage, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, many traditional pubs, excellent restaurants and individual shops, as well as boat hire and cruises along the River Avon. Warwick's medieval castle and the impressive remains of Kenilworth Castle are nearby, as well as the elegant Royal Leamington Spa, with its Georgian and Victorian buildings. Explore the charming towns and villages of the Cotswolds where it's possible to visit places that have remained unchanged for centuries. Chipping Norton, Stow on the Wold, Broadway and Bourton-on-the-Water, to name only a few, are all within easy reach.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas