Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 62 View Image Gallery
  • Hearthstone East Cottage - Devon - 955156 - photo 1

Hearthstone East Cottage

(Ref. 955156)

Brixham, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (34)
  • lovely (18)
  • garden (14)
  • stay (13)
  • our (12)
  • all (11)

41 Customer Reviews

  • "We completely fell in love with this cottage."

    It is steeped in history and there is something interesting everywhere you look. The garden is beautiful, right up my street. The owners have clearly spent a lot of time and effort making this great for holidaymakers too with everything you would need. The beds were super comfy, I haven’t slept so well in years. 3 different generations of family stayed during this trip and we all loved it. Will definitely be returning. It’s also in a great spot just a short walk to the harbour and has a great park for kids just across the road.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Jul 2024

  • "Overall, we had a lovely stay, and the property is very charming (the comments below are nit picking but could be easily fixed!"

    ) the area is lovely and a perfect base to explore south Devon! The house is on a relatively busy road, with cars and motorbikes driving through quickly (and noisily!) This isn’t the fault of the owners but the listing could make it clearer. The general cleanliness of the property needed improvement. Much of the cutlery needed re washing as it was dirty, there were areas of the house which clearly hadn’t been vacuumed/dusted in some time. The shower in the main bathroom was covered in lime scale and water marks so clearly hadn’t been cleaned in some time (also couldn’t use the shower as it didn’t drain - to be fair, we didn’t report this as only discovered towards the end of our stay, and there were other showers to use). The twin room on the top floor is unusable (in our opinion) by small children/people with mobility issues as it’s at the top of a very steep and windy stairway - again not the fault of the owners and is part of the charm of the cottage but could have been made clearer. The bed on the ground floor (off the living room) was very comfortable however the double bed on the first floor is in desperate need of replacement. Despite staying at the end of June, the garden furniture had not been cleaned. There was also an issue with parking as one of the two advertised spaces was occupied by the owner of the neighbouring property. There appears to be some confusion between the two property owners over who is entitled to use these spaces - luckily the issue was very quickly resolved during our stay but can see that it would be a possible issue, particularly if the neighbouring property is occupied (currently not lived in but is being renovated).

    Reviewed by Bethan2.8Jun 2024

  • "Fantastic property, full of character, loads of room not cramped like some cottages and fully equipped with everything we needed for our holiday, large garden with plenty of different areas to sit, even the dogs didn't want to come home."

    Looking forward to returning in the near future.

    Thank you for your feedback it is really appreciated, we are always aware you have a choice where you spend your holiday time and it means a lot that you choose our cottage and had an amazing time thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Jun 2024

  • "A very lovely spacious oldie worldie cottage with a very large open Hearth Fire, Beds are extremely comfortable, rear garden would be ideal to sit out in during the summer months with plenty of seating and tables at the various levels of the garden."

    The beams in the property are low and anyone over 6ft would need to stoop to avoid bumps...10+ for me and my son. The decor and furniture are in style with the cottage. Parking for 2 vehicles was not a problem up the hill to the rear of the property, would suggest off loading luggage etc at the front of the house. We are looking forward to visiting again.

    Thank you for taking the time to give us some great feedback we truly appreciate it & look forward to welcoming you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by George5.0Oct 2023

  • "We enjoyed our few days in the cottage."

    It was comfortable and full of character and as described in the listing. Our four legged friend loved the secure garden and the cottage was fully equipped for larger parties. Ideally located for Brixham and the surrounding attractions of south Devon.

    Reviewed by Mark4.1Sep 2023

  • "The cottage cleaning,does not appear to be high on their list."

    When emptying the bins on Thursday for collection the 2 bins outside were packed full and even the garden bin is full with general waste. We only stayed a week and had to put out all the bins, despite only using 1 bag. Brixam is a beautiful area and the cottage is in a good location. The cottage is a lovely quirky place to stay with nice areas to sit outside

    Reviewed by Jane4.1Sep 2023

  • "We had lovely time and it was exactly what we imagined."

    We also appreciated the coolness of the cottage.

    Reviewed by Mary4.4Jun 2023

  • "As a party of 8 (3 generations) plus a pet dog we had a very enjoyable stay at Hearthstone East Cottage."

    It was very quirky but very comfortable. Good position for visiting other local resorts and attractions.

    Reviewed by Derek4.4Apr 2023

  • "A lovely quirky cottage within walking distance of a Spar and further on Brixham Harbour."

    The owners were very helpful and our stay over Xmas was enjoyable with the cottage decorated for our arrival, and cosy in the rainy weather we experienced. Unloading the cars was difficult due to the cottage being on a corner and the rear garden rising to the parking space, but it would not put us off from staying again. Overall - excellent.

    Reviewed by David5.0Dec 2022

  • "A most enjoyable stay in this quirky cottage, the hosts were very helpful in ensuring a minor issue was dealt with really quickly ensuring a lovely holiday."

    We are really pleased you had a great week and that we were able to get someone out to you the same day when the cooker broke , fortunately we had another one (the aga) which meant you weren’t without cooking facilities but i know our fabulous maintenance chap was able to purchase and fit a new cooker the same day. Thank you for your understanding whilst this was sorted. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pamela4.7Sep 2022

  • "We had a wonderful week at Hearthstone East Cottage, it had everything we required in terms of comfort and facilities, with a pretty garden and lovely outdoor eating space."

    It was great to be in such an ancient building too and interesting to read about its history. Would definitely stay there again.

    It is great to hear that you had a wonderful week and that our cottage was perfect for you thank you for choosing us, we appreciate it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah4.1Sep 2022

  • "Stayed at this cottage before ."

    Ideally situated for visiting other seaside resorts. Quirky but ideal for our holiday. Visitors must be aware of low ceilings otherwise you may have a few brised heads.

    We loved having you return to our cottage thank you so much Jim & Jo Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Jul 2022

  • "Cottage in general was very comfortable for 4 adults and two toddlers."

    We found the Cottage would be so much better if it were toddler proofed a little more stair gates inside and out. And the kitchen was not easy to get around and could have appreciated more frying pans as well as a French press. Owner was very communicative and appreciated them posting back some items that we had left. Superb location for getting to many secluded beaches.

    We truly thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts, we do have a Dulce gusto pod coffee machine and a filter coffee machine I have also now put a cafetière in the kitchen which should I hope cover all tastes in coffee. I understand your concerns with stair gates, we love & welcome children in the cottage but are very transparent with the quirkiness and different levels of the cottage due to the age of the cottage standard stair gates do not fit. Thank you for your kindness towards us, we love the cottage and genuinely want our guests to love it to which is why we are happy to help when we can. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Noel3.4Jul 2022

  • "Super clean cottage, really helpful and kind owners!"

    This was a multi generation visit with a baby through to grandparents and it was lovely. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jun 2022

  • "A quaint cottage albeit rather quirky!"

    A good base for exploring south Devon with Brixham harbour just a 20 minute walk away. The cottage catered for all our needs and has a lovely garden for enjoying the sunshine.

    Reviewed by Sue3.8May 2022

  • "Fabulous property and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    Being there at Xmas was especially good for a family get together.

    Reviewed by Alexandra5.0Dec 2021

  • "Lovely stay, charming cottage, everyone loved it, thank you so much!"

    Only constructive point is that a few said the sheets didn’t smell fresh/ clean.

    Reviewed by Suzie4.7Oct 2021

  • "The property is lovely however needs a little tlc especially in bathrooms and general cleanliness."

    Reviewed by Maria3.1Sep 2021

  • "Very expensive"

    Reviewed by Tim5.0Jul 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    For the most part, the house is well equipped for a family staying for the week. Our children loved all the different staircases. They also loved the magical fairies in the garden - a very nice touch! A bit nit picky, but with children in mind, it would be great to have a non-slip mat for the bath and as there is no shaving point, perhaps the provision of a two pin plug for those (like us) who need to charge electric toothbrushes.

    Reviewed by S3.8Jul 2021

  • "Fabulous holiday."

    Cottage was amazing, full of history and character. very pretty garden. We felt at home straight away - just wish I had booked 2 weeks!

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Jul 2021

  • "We had a fabulous week in the cottage."

    A fascinating building full of history. Good location to explore the area and the cottage had everything you needed.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Jun 2021

  • "The cottage was everything we wanted peaceful, relaxing and very well equipped."

    We will definitely be back hopefully next year. Shirley, Mark, Claire,David and Rose.

    Reviewed by Shirley5.0Oct 2020

  • "The cottage itself was lovely, however it wasn't clean, felt grubby and with 2 young children one of them crawling we couldn't let him crawl on the kitchen floor as it would stain his clothes."

    Our socks were black after a short while of walking around in the cottage. It was spiderweb everywhere in the ceilings.

    Thank you we genuinely appreciate your feedback. We were shocked to hear that you felt the cottage was not clean, and immediately raised your issues with our cleaning company, who up to now had consistently achieved 100%. The kitchen floor is stone tiles and has been polished with a red tile polish which shouldn't stain, but I will look into this, the large Persian rug in the lounge dining area is absolutely brand new (2 weeks old). I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention & to be given the opportunity to ensure it never happens again. We believe the absolute minimum you should expect is cleanliness and we are sorry that you felt this was not the case, rest assured we will strive to do better. The cleaning company have a Covid risk assessment in place with stringent rules in place to ensure it is not only clean but sanitiser too to reassure all of our guests we are offering an immaculately clean and safe environment for all to enjoy, and I have his reassurance that they will put appropriate measures in place. We were however really pleased that everything else in the cottage was good. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca3.1Sep 2020

  • "The cottage was lovely, full of character and very comfortable."

    It was very well equipped including a library of books. It provided an excellent base for the surrounding area which had something for everyone.

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Sep 2020

  • "A beautiful cottage, a great park 3 minutes away with 4x community tennis courts which was fantastic."

    Fantastically equipped kitchen. We all had a wonderful time.

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Aug 2020

  • "Hearthstone is a beautiful, spacious and fascinating cottage in a great location for the South Devon coast and all it offers."

    As a party of 8 adults and a baby, we had a plenty of space in both house and garden. An ideal house for a fantastic holiday.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Jul 2020

  • "Dear Jo and Jim We had a very enjoyable stay at your beautiful cottage!"

    It is a little gem in a very beautiful corner of this world. The children were thrilled to hear about the historic details that you collected, it added special significance to the place. Also, thank you very much for so quickly sorting out the little problem with the locks and for the offer of an extra day. Yours, Enrico

    Reviewed by Enrico4.4Oct 2019

  • "We loved our stay at Hearthstone East Cottage."

    It had such a homely atmosphere and was perfect for our family holiday. It is such a characterful property with lots of history and felt like we were stepping back in time, but still had all the modern facilities and worked for 8 of us. The parking was excellent, particularly as we had travelled down in multiple cars, and it's in a great location with easy access to pretty much everywhere. The owner was so friendly and helpful when we called to get the key code, she was incredibly enthusiastic about the cottage and we can see why. We all loved it and we would love to stay here again.

    Reviewed by Miles5.0Jul 2019

  • "Fantastic accommodation - cosy country living."

    Just as you would expect from a historic property but with mod cons thrown in! Thoroughly recommend this property!

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Feb 2019

  • "Love the cottage so much I’d like to up sticks and live there, and Joanna and Jim are lovely, helpful people."

    The cottage isn’t far from the beach if you don’t mind some Devon hills, and I love the fact it’s dog friendly. The cottage has a very warm, positive vibe and in terms of ‘character’ you simply can’t do better. It’s the quintessential old-Woldy cottage.

    Reviewed by Camilla5.0Feb 2019

  • "Very beautiful cottage, decorated with taste."

    Like the Tardis, it's bigger in the inside than it looks on the outside :). I would recommend this renting anytime

    Reviewed by Stephane5.0Sep 2018

  • "Well positioned cottage 20 minute walk from the harbour."

    Full of quirky features. Easily accommodated 6 of us and 2 dogs. Brixham itself is a good centre for sightseeing. Lots to do in close proximity.

    Reviewed by Sandra4.7Jul 2018

  • "A lovely cottage with lots of character."

    A comfortable and enjoyable stay with a great location for surrounding areas to visit. Fantastic weather which made our week so much more enjoyable.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2018

  • "The cottage was wonderful - on a road though which was not mentioned but very comfortable and homely :)"

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Jun 2018

  • "Hearthstone cottage is a very comfy quirky cottage."

    Which is very well equipped. It has everything you can possibly need. It has a lovely garden for the dog and loads of seating for us to kick back and relax on. It’s in a great location for exploring the surrounding areas. As it’s central to all the main towns. The welcome pack left by the owners was very much appreciated

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Jun 2018

  • "The cottage generally was let down by its "scruffy" appearance, whereby upon arrival to the property our first-impressions were of almost abandonment from outside."

    The wrought iron front gate was in a state of disrepair and little more than barely usable (not helpful with a family of 5 with a 2yr old toddler and a dog), the front garden was generally overgrown and unkempt which was very disappointing. The same comments can be made of the rear garden, this was woefully overgrown and the patio area at the top of the garden should be condemned due numerous paving slabs being loose and susceptible to trips and falls which could have considerable consequences! The lower part of the garden immediately as you exited the back door required over two hours worth of manual labour, sweeping and cleaning patio furniture to make it usable.......not exactly what you want to be doing on the first day of your holiday! Inside the cottage was better and generally as expected and we felt comfortable spending our evenings either around the kitchen table or in the living room, the beds and bathroom linen were fresh and comfortable but the general level of cleanliness in the cottage could have been better, lots of cobwebs and dust on and around all the ornaments and nick-nacks and not enough cleaning equipment to deal with available or a "contact this number XXXXXX" to allow us to either resolve ourselves or get someone in. There may also be some room for improvement on the description of the local amenities, in particular the the public house that was mentioned being just down the road. The Bell Inn is NOT for families neither should it be suggested as a place to go, it was probably one of the roughest, tattiest and worst public houses I have ever had the misfortune to patronise. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- *******Owner Response******* Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to give me feedback, as owners we genuinely take onboard what our guests impressions are and where appropriate improve our facilities to ensure comfort of future guests. Now if I can comment on the main points of your feedback. 1) "scruffy appearance, overgrown & unkempt gardens" - We were shocked by these comments however once we had spoken to our gardener we understood fully what had occurred. Our gardener had broken his arm and had not been around to the cottage in a few weeks, so quite rightly it was overgrown, we sorted this out immediately and going forward put procedures in place for the new gardener to send us pictures of completed works. We have also bought a stylish brand new 8 seat rattan table and chairs for the patio area. 2) Front gate not shutting - This has been repaired, so too has the side gate which was a bit stiff so a new handle has been put on it. 3)The 3 wobbly paving slabs in the garden have been re cemented in. 4) Our cottage is historic and so full of character, however we take on board the "nick nack" comment and removed many of the "dust collectors". 5) We also had too much crockery which may have looked a bit mis-matched so the excess has been removed so it looks less like a 2nd hand car boot sale stuff and more appealing. The Bell pub, which does have very friendly publicans and locals, is undergoing renovation & is now tatty and scruffy this has been removed from recommended places. 6) One of the toilets is off of the kitchen however as a grade 2 listed 16th century property we have to work with the rooms we have. The W/C door is on the left and one step down of the kitchen. I'm sorry that you could not find my number from the welcome pack as we always advise our customers to contact us day or night if you have any questions or issues. As I would much rather arrange for housekeeping or gardener to come and sort out any issue immediately rather than be unhappy at the end of stay. I have now pasted my Phone number on the top of the welcome pack. We do love the cottage and really want everyone else to enjoy it too.

    Reviewed by Mike2.5May 2018

  • "Owners were very friendly and helpful when I telephoned."

    Its a great quirky house which is what we were looking for. Anyone used to en suites or two bathrooms beware ... one bathroom (although one bedroom had a shower and there was one in the utility room), but only toilets were in the bathroom and off the kitchen ... no one in my family wanted to use a toilet off the kitchen when kitchen was full of people eating, so breakfast time was a bit of a legs crossed waiting for the loo.

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Apr 2018

  • "Very cosy and interesting cottage."

    The owner although in Brighton was attentive and responsive.

    Reviewed by Tim3.8Feb 2018

  • "This is a beautiful cottage."

    Very comfortable and good location. We all had a brilliant time.

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0Jan 2018

  • "Really lovely cottage within easy reach of the harbour and all other sites and facilities."

    Cottage was excellent and just what we needed for a new year hideaway, thank you also to the owners who were easily accessible via mobile telephone and were extremely helpful and wanted to tell us lots about the area and the house.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.8Dec 2017

Show more Hide all


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x double bedroom with en-suite shower only, 1 x ground double floor bedroom, 2 x twin
  • 2 Bathrooms one with bath and shower also one with a large shower, 2 further separate showers in the twin room and utility room on ground level, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast table
  • Utility with shower
  • Sitting room with dining area and open fire.
  • Central heating with open fire
  • AGA cooker and electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, Nescafe Dolce Gusto coffee machine, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, Blu-ray DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Two travel cots and highchair
  • Off road parking for 2 cars approx 50 yards from property
  • Garden with patio leading up to lawned area with furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 mins walk
  • Harbour 1.2 miles
  • Note: Due to the age and style of the property, there are many internal steps between rooms, may not be suitable for guests with limited mobility
  • Note: Access from the parking to the cottage is through the rear garden along a paved pathway and down 14 cobbled steps to the back door, with access to the front door from the roadside with 6 steps
  • Access without any steps can be made to the back kitchen door from a side gate. Note: Due to the property having a thatched roof, BBQ's are not permitted

The property

A real gem of a chocolate box cottage, Hearthstone East Cottage has every traditional feature that you could think of.

As you approach this beautiful thatched cottage in the quaint Devon harbour town of Brixham, you will know that you have chosen wisely.

Once a Devon longhouse, the cottage dates back to the 16th century and is a superb holiday home for anyone wishing to discover this historic part of Devon.

On the ground floor are a well-equipped kitchen and a comfortable sitting room with traditional beams and a stone inglenook fireplace with a roaring open fire.

Head up the stairs where you will find four bedrooms set on slightly different levels along with a family bathroom.

The beautiful rear garden has a patio area and steps leading up to a lawned garden where you can sit in peace after a day spent exploring the Devon coast.

The historic harbour town of Brixham is just a mile away where you can see the fishing boats unloading their catch.

Close by is Breakwater Beach, one of the cleanest Blue Flag beaches on the English Riviera, which has been recommended by the Good Beach Guide.

Take the ferry to Dartmouth or Torquay, which both have a good reputation for fashionable restaurants and interesting boutiques, or you can take a boat trip and cruise up the River Dart to Greenway, Agatha Christie’s former holiday home.

Hearthstone East Cottage was once home to American authoress Honore Morrow, who was resident in the town at the same time as Agatha Christie, and whose books can be found in the cottage.

A truly wonderful holiday home that will leave you yearning to return as soon as possible.

View on map

About the location


Dartmouth 5 miles; Paignton 6 miles; Torquay 8 miles.

Brixham is a working fishing harbour located on the southern side of Torbay, the area known as The English Riviera, famed for its sunny mild climate all year round. The focal point of the harbour is a life size replica of The Golden Hind, Sir Francis Drake’s ship. The prettiest part of Brixham has small cottages in hilly narrow winding lanes leading to the harbour where all the activity is centred. Home to Britain’s largest fishing fleet which regularly lands their catch in the harbour, Brixham fish market sells to major restaurants in the UK. Brixham is the ideal destination for a traditional holiday with many family attractions around Torbay including two Blue Flag beaches, Paignton Zoo and many regattas and maritime events throughout the year. There are a host of safe cycle trails in the area, the South West Coastal Path and some of the best golf courses in the region. A good mix of relaxation or action, to suit all ages, where you are never far from the sea.

View more holiday cottages in Brixham

Due to the property having a thatched roof, BBQ's are not permitted for insurance reasons

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute