Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 4 minutes ago

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Peek A Boo - Devon - 1001836 - photo 1

Peek A Boo

(Ref. 1001836)

Hatherleigh, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Swimming pool
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (14)
  • stay (9)
  • been (9)
  • out (8)
  • good (8)
  • bed (8)

25 Customer Reviews

  • "Property could do with some tlc updating"

    Reviewed by Steven4.4Aug 2023

  • "We didn’t enjoy the holiday at all."

    When we first got there a dog bed had been put in the wardrobe it stunk we put it in a cupboard. The tv we were unable to watch there was so much interference and cutting out having no signal. I reported it to Sally who said she spoke with an engineer and had sorted it.she left us a phone number for the engineer we thought it wasn’t down to us to sort the owner should have. Unfortunately that wasnt the case. We couldn’t listen to music instead as the music centres power lead didn’t even reach the power point I had to use my phone instead. There was no washing machine in the cottage just a dishwasher I’d rather have had a washing machine I didn’t use it. There was a washing machine on site which I didn’t want to use. I would have had to stay with it until it had finished washing to then put it on an airer I wouldn’t have put it on the shared line. We actually went home a day earlier then we should have we had had enough. I certainly wouldn’t stay there again. Devon’s council should be ashamed of themselves all the road and I do mean all had craters not just pot holes they were huge and deep how we didn’t burst a tyre I’ll never know, such a shame in a beautiful county

    Reviewed by Christine3.1Jul 2023

  • "Lovely peaceful stay, loved sitting in the garden listening to the birds in the evening, comfortable bed, perfect sized cottage."

    Thank-you for your kind comments in your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and hope that you will consider coming back to stay at Peek a boo at some point in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Liz5.0Jun 2023

  • "Our stay was warm, cozy and very comfortable."

    Very well equipped and spotless - everything provided. ( a grab rail and rubber bath mat would have been useful though for us oldies using the very good shower) We liked the enclosed area at the cottage which was safe for our dog and we loved the peaceful surrounding countryside walks. We forgot swimwear so did not use the pool. A cream tea for our arrival was much appreciated. Thanks for a lovely stay.

    Thank-you for your kind feedback, it is very much appreciated. I will take on board your comments regarding a bath mat and grab rail and get this sorted. We hope you will consider coming back to stay at Peek a boo in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Apr 2023

  • "Sally was wonderful, cottage was so comfortable,every thing we could need, ..."

    Sally was wonderful, cottage was so comfortable,every thing we could need, fishing lake was well stocked, had a very relaxing stay

    Thank you so much for a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shane5.0Feb 2023

  • "A compact bungalow suitable for the two of us and our dog."

    Found everything as described and clean and tidy. Having holidayed at the site before we knew more or less what to expect. Loved the swimming pool which was just the right temperature. Enjoyed a cream tea on arrival, also greeted by the site caretaker who is a friendly chap. Hope to return in the not-too-distant future.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Oct 2022

  • "This is an idealic place to stay."

    It was peaceful. The people were friendly, not that we saw them often. We were well situated for visiting: Bude - Widemouth beach- Boscastle - Tintagel - Bideford and the beaches above. The swimming pool was in good condition and the lake looked beautiful. There was a park in good condition. Ideal for anybody without problems walking up and down a hill.

    Thank-you for your kind comments, very much appreciated. Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Sep 2022

  • "What a wonderful place to stay."

    On arrival we were greeted by Paul who took care of the site. He talked us through everything both inside the cottage and within the grounds. The cottage was lovely and clean and the bottle of milk was very much appreciated. Great onsite fishing and beautiful walks. The enclosed private outdoor seating was ideal for our dog to wander in and out. Can't wait to return.

    Thank-you for your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Peek a boo and would like to return, means a lot to us. Look forward to welcoming you back, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Aug 2022

  • "Most uncomfortable bed ever, dated mattress needs a proper mattress, inadequate bedding and quilt and poor pillows."

    Fridge on full but contents would not keep cold. Beautiful lake within site surrounded by large amounts of dog poo. Derelict cottage in front of the one we had (peakaboo) pine cones everywhere which made parking and getting out of the car quite dangerous underfoot. A nice touch on arrival fresh scones,jam and clotted cream plus milk in the fridge very welcome after a six hour drive.

    In regards to the beds, all mattresses and beds are quite new, so we are sorry you had an uncomfortable sleep, but beds are personal preference which it is difficult to cater to everyone's personal preference to how firm the mattress needs to be.. The dog poo around the lake is not part of my property so therefore is not my responsibility to pick up as are the pine cones. We do not own the cottage in front, so this is also not our responsibility. We have spoken to the cleaner about the fridge and they found it to be working as normal and the freezer compartment had ice cubes in it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roy2.5Jun 2022

  • "Lots of good points, nice accessory touches, good location, good use of space, but on arrival grill pan unwashed, cupboards smeared as if wiped over with a dirty cloth, floor tacky underfoot, and bathroom in need of deep cleanse to remove mildew from ceiling and mould from grouting."

    Should have been great, but needs to feel cleaner to feel comfortable.

    Reviewed by Tina3.1Oct 2021

  • "It provided everything you needed."

    Very pleased overall

    Reviewed by Natasha4.1Oct 2021

  • "Good place to stay for 2 people and a dog."

    Perfect for a base to do day trips.

    Reviewed by Lewis4.7Sep 2021

  • "The location was ideal for us, the cottage although compact was perfect would definitely return one day."

    We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted if you were to choose our property again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoff5.0Sep 2021

  • "We stayed at peekaboo cottage."

    The cottage was clean and well maintained. Our only problem was the view from out decking area. We overlooked a derelict cottage which was in urgent need of repair or at least a good clean. If we came back we would insist on a cottage With at least some view of the beautiful countryside. Definitely not this one.

    Thank-you for your kind comments regarding Peek-a boo. We are sorry about the derelict cottage. It has caused us a lot of bad feedback.Unfortunately it's appearance and state of repair is down to the owner of the property and therefore beyond our control. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bridget3.8Sep 2021

  • "On arriving at Peek-a-boo we were approached by a man drinking a can of cider bluntly telling us to “not park there!"

    ” even though it was the designated parking spot for the cottage. No “hello” or introduction but after moving our car, he then proceeded to tell us he was in fact the caretaker. Once we had settled in he did take us round the park which was helpful. The cottage itself was ok but is need of updating. It smelt quite musty and although it was clean, there were a lot of cobwebs! Luckily there was a hoover so I went around the whole cottage hoovering up cobwebs and spiders! You cannot open the window in the bathroom so after having a shower, everything is soaking wet and the extractor fan doesn’t do much. The toilet seat was also broken. The decking area is nice but again, needs cleaning and unfortunately the derelict house directly in front of the cottage is not a good look. We only used the cottage as a base to sleep/shower etc and we were out every day and it is a good base as it’s not too far from lots of National Trust parks which we love and places like Boscastle, Tintagel, Bude etc. All in all a good stay but definitely needs deep cleaning and updating.

    Thank you for your feedback. We do take this feedback very seriously and your comments are completely out of character for our property. We have spoke with the Caretaker and he was only advising you not to park in the designated spot as he could see there were a lot of cars that particular day and was trying to prevent your vehicle being hit or damaged whilst cars were reversing out. We will address the issues mentioned with the bathroom and thank you for bringing this to our attention. The decking area is being refurbished and re stained at the end of season. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire2.2Aug 2021

  • "Sat nav location not correct."

    Information regarding shower operation inadequate fortunately they did have bath site maintenance man Paul helpful but he didn’t find solution to operate showers.. five bedroom house was not in the best of condition so didn’t sit out on decking very often.l do think we should have been told about it before we booked.also the roof cleaning should have been done out of season

    Thank you for your feedback we cannot comment on your sat. nav. but written directions are sent with the key collection details.It is disappointing you had to mention the roof cleaning as Paul did ask if this would be ok to carry out and you agreed .Thank you also for bringing the shower information to our attention this will be addressed.Apologies for the neighbouring property this is out of our hands and is being brought to the attention of the site management. I appreciate it is frustrating for guests and it is also frustrating for ourselves as owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Madeline3.1Jul 2021

  • "The small patio, decked area needed sweeping and attention."

    The large grasses growing beside the gate had to be negotiated when going through

    Thanks for your feedback. The cleaner is asked to sweep the area and this will be monitored moving forward. Plants have now been attended to, thank you for bringing it to our attention and the bamboo grass is under the site management and is maintained by them at regular intervals and was scheduled to be done recently. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shirley4.7Jul 2021

  • "We arrived at Peek A Boo which is overlooked by a dilapidated cottage (two meters away)."

    Being asked to leave the property as we found it is not possible for anyone who has self respect regarding cleanliness. We stepped in and saw shoe marks on the wooden floor. Dishwasher was full of unwashed dishes, no dishwasher tablets under sink cupboard. The relatively new Hoover looks like it has never been emptied, this is a clue to the lack of attention to detail in this property. The plastic tablecloth was dirty. Wash hand basin plug black with mildew. Mirror above the wash hand basin rusty and broken. Toilet seat is not suitable sized (too small does not cover the pan). The wall clock in bathroom only right twice a day. Clock in bedroom has a display fault. Hot water control hidden behind microwave. Small decking area very tired and unloved, needs a privacy panel between next door. Parking is limited and awkward. Finally on the plus side, a very well equipped cottage.

    Thank you for your feedback. The clocks and mirror will be checked and replaced if required Thank you for letting us know if the fitted toilet seat is incorrectly sized, we will have it checked. Parking is limited to one vehicle and apologies if the parking area was overcrowded on occasion. The neigbouring property is out of our control, but there is a 6 foot fence between the properties. The decking area was re-stained this year and will be checked if needs treating again, and there is a high fence between our property and the neigbouring property, the other fence at the other side is lower so as not to impact on views over the hills It is likely that the floors had been cleaned and on leaving the property a footmark had been left on an area not quite dried at the time, but will ask the cleaner to double check this in future and will also make sure that the tablecloth and wash hand basin are rectified immediately, thank you for letting us know and we will make sure that the welcome info includes advice on where to find the hot water control. All guests have access to the Sykes Cottages dedicated helpline for any issue during their stay, if they had been called and made aware of any problem or been sent pictures of any issues, they would have let me know straightaway and I would have addressed any of your concerns immediately. I am sorry that Sykes Cottages and myself were not given opportunity to help you at the time but we are glad you found that the property had all the equipment needed for your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dave1.9Jun 2021

  • "WiFi as a standard connection in this day and age should really be a given."

    Possibly a small shop, or ability to buy the basics without having to drive to the nearest town, though the complementary milk and cheese was welcomed. Both TVs had been adjusted to prevent catch up TV which was disappointing. However, on the whole, our stay was very relaxing.

    WIFI has now been installed at this property. As the property now has WIFI, this will allow the TV to watch catch up services. We would also agree that having a small shop on site would be beneficially however as the site is managed by another company, this is out of my control. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the welcome pack during stay and would like to thank you for you feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.1May 2021

  • "The cottage itself was beautifully laid out decorated and clean."

    However, there was no view other than the walls of the other cottages and a flower bed outside the bedroom window that was empty due to the time of year. There was no usable WI-FI signal that meant I could not work in the evening as planned. In the summer to use the place as a base, it would have been good but this time of year not that good, without even a view to look at. I made a mistake in booking this cottage as I thought I was booking one of a group of 3 cottages with a swimming pool to share but this was one of a group of 14 fairly close together cottages. This would have been ok in the summer with good weather when the decking area could have been used. All this was not helped by us having to go home on Monday due to my partner becoming ill.

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Oct 2020

  • "MOMENT clear information about the swimming pool availability would be much appreciated"

    Reviewed by Anita5.0Oct 2020

  • "The cottage itself was nice and clean but there were a couple of small issues."

    The Dyson cleaner didn’t seem to want to pick up any dirt and the can opener was broken so we had to resort to using a knife! Also there were no cleaning cloths so we had to busy some. The guest book didn’t mention anything about the swimming pool and we had to find this information from our neighbours. Also there was no mention about the access to the Ruby Way walk which we also had to find out from the local pub landlord!! The main issues were outside the cottage......on first arrival we had to cut back the overgrown bush alongside the parking area before we could unload the car. Then we were not pleased by the look of the decking area. For a start it needed a good clean and was in need of a fresh coat of treatment. It was really uncared for and the plants around the decking were really overgrown and untidy. On reading the comments in the visitors book it seems other guests had mentioned the untidiness too but nothing seems to have been done about it. The next issue was the unsightly properties close to us. The larger house the other side of our fence was taking all our light and looks like it has been left unattended for quite some time. As with the smaller property adjacent to us which also looks like it hasn’t had anyone visit it for some time. It’s patio area was a real mess and this is the view we had when we sat out in our patio area. We did spend most of our days out but if we were unable to do this then we would not have been entirely happy spending time around the cottage. So I would not recommend staying at Peek a Boo but maybe look at other properties on the site

    We’re glad you found the cottage clean The cleaner has advised a J Cloth was left at the property for guest use but we will provide a new vaccuum cleaner and also a new can opener We have provided information on our advert and also extra information at the property regarding the swimming pool during the covid situation, apologies if you didn’t see this. We will also obtain information regarding the Ruby Walk and include this Site management are responsible for greenery, apologies if this had not been done The decking area will be stained/treated and plants will be attended to as soon as the season ends We will also go through the guest book and address any outstanding areas The other property regrettably is outside our control Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise3.4Aug 2020

  • "Lovely little place which was ideal for 2 plus a dog, walks for dogs were excellent."

    Accommodation was very clean and every effort had been made to make it covid clean which was reassuring in these times, the place had everything covered from towels to washing up liquid. Wifi booster would have been a bonus as signal in the place was not brilliant but that didn't up set a lovely break.

    Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you had a lovely stay, we do try to be transparent regarding wifi limitations as mentioned in the advert but we are glad that you found the other amenities at the property so welcoming. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ross5.0Aug 2020

  • "Cottage and location was as described."

    . Disappointing factors were heap of used towels in bathroom and no clean ones. Luckily we had taken our own. The fridge wasnt working properly, had to keep mopping up inside. Leg on dining table gave way,. Bonus was the swimming pool., lake and access to walking, peacefulness of surroundings. Expectations were met as far as Sykes goes, but not so happy with towels, fridge and table.

    If we or Sykes had known of any issues at the time, we would of course addressed any concerns immediately On speaking to our cleaner he was not aware of any used towels left at the property as they are always exchanged when clean towels are put in on changeover. The fridge has been inspected and was found to be on its highest setting so this has been changed and will be monitored The table leg has been checked and also found to be in working order We are glad that you found the amenities and surroundings enjoyable Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hazel3.8Aug 2020

  • "It was a lovely break and very nice cottage, a bit Musky but I guess it has not had many visitors of late."

    The only problem we had was at 3am on the day we were to depart, a ridiculous man knock on the door saying he had a booking on the day. I explained to him in a very polite way to go away.

    Reviewed by Nik4.1Jul 2020

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • 1 x double with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven, ceramic hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher
  • TV with freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Hand Towels and Bath Towels provided
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Enclosed veranda with decking and garden furniture
  • Shared Swimming Pool facility with guests on site, Max
  • 15 people at any one time
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2 miles, pub 0.5 miles
  • Washing machine and tumble dryer is available on site
  • Note: Due to the covid19 pandemic the children's play area and the laundry room is unavailable until further notice
  • Please Note: The pool is available for the peak season only and will be closed from 30th September through to 1st April
  • Please note: Unfortunately the pool is currently unavailable for use, please enquire ahead of booking.

The property

Hatherleigh 4.5 mile.

This attractive lodge is located at Lakeview Rise, a small resort in three and a half acres of quiet countryside, near Highampton in Mid Devon.

It offers spacious accommodation for a couple looking to find a peaceful escape, away from a busy schedule.

Step through the gated entrance to the veranda and through the front door to a light and bright open-plan living area, the perfect for spot of relaxation after a day exploring Dartmoor.

Take some time to unwind on the sofa in front of the TV before rustling up a romantic meal for your other half in the well-appointed kitchen.

Play your favourite tunes from the CD player as you do the cleaning up, and later enjoy a swim in the on-site indoor heated pool.

Catch your rest in the double bedroom and wake up each morning to a refreshing shower in the en-suite or instead choose to indulge with along soak in the bath tub.

During the warmer months you can enjoy a hearty breakfast for two on the decking outside, with the soothing sounds of the birds in the trees for company.

It also makes a lovely spot in the evenings, when the sun is setting and you have a glass of your favourite tipple in hand.

For fishing lovers there is a fishing lake on site to enjoy and for children in the party there is a outdoor play area.

The nearest pub is about half a mile away, whilst your closest shop is in Sheepwash around two miles from the village.

Hatherleigh is a charming market town full of amenities to cater for all, including craft shops, country inn and lovely cafés.

Why not try wine tasting at Eastcott Vineayard and learn about the different varieties of grape or explore the RHS Rosemoor Gardens at Torrington?

You have the glorious beaches of Bude within easy reach as well as the beautiful Tarka Trail for walking opportunities.

Further afield is the Tamar Valley and the lovely town of Barnstaple.

Peek A Boo promises a delightful holiday for two, in a superb region of England.

View on map

About the location


Okehampton 7 miles.

Hatherleigh is an ancient market town consisting of cob and thatch cottages situated in the heart of rural Devon. Hatherleigh lies in the Torridge Valley just seven miles from the edge of the Dartmoor National Park, and is a wonderful central location for the coast to coast long distance trail, which includes the popular Tarka Trail. The town itself offers a varied selection of interesting craft shops, country inns and cafes. Within driving distance are Okehampton Castle, the beautiful RHS Rosemoor Gardens at Torrington, and even to the dramatic surfing beaches around Bude. Hatherleigh’s central position makes it an ideal location from which to explore this area of Devon.

Please Note: The pool is available for the peak season only and will be closed from 30th September through to 1st April.
Please note: Unfortunately the pool is currently unavailable for use, please enquire ahead of booking.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas