Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

10 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Heatherbank - Dorset - 1106143 - photo 1







(Ref. 1106143)

Uplyme, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • garden (11)
  • no (8)
  • shower (8)
  • really (6)
  • our (6)
  • clean (6)

12 Customer Reviews

  • "Heatherbank was really just what we wanted."

    A comfortable and cosy place for our family (and dogs) to celebrate Christmas with elderly relatives who live in the area, and can no longer travel to us in Scotland or host Christmas themselves. The house was clean and the beds were comfortable, as were the sofas in the living room. The garden was great for the dogs, (and I'm sure in the summer would be equally great for humans!) There are walks nearby, and Lyme and the beach are also in walking distance. The house is not overly fancy which means you can properly relax. We had a problem one day with a tap washer, and the very friendly owner came very quickly to fix it. We would definitely recommend Heatherbank.

    Reviewed by Andy5.0Dec 2023

  • "The bungalow was clean, well presented and had lots of items provided!"

    ! The garden was amazing and our dogs loved it. It was so peaceful and quiet, we really enjoyed the calm... we had no problems with any of the provided "services" ( i.e the shower or cooker), however we did have to move to the back bedroom after the second night as the king mattress was hurting our backs... apart from that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the bungalow and the area to others

    Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. The king size mattress is a little firm for some. We are changing it for a softer one with memory foam which should suit most people. Glad your dogs enjoyed the garden. Thanks Martin Williamson. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Glenn3.8Nov 2023

  • "We were really disappointed with our stay at Heather Bank."

    There was a damp smell as soon as you walk in the property. There is mould around doors and windows. The shower is horrendous and needs updating. Woodlice crawling everywhere. The garden is overgrown and very untidy. And to top it off, in the listing I t says Sea view, well there is no sea view what so ever so the accuracy of the listing is as far from true as you can get. Taking all this into account there is no way we would have booked this property for a stay. I’d booked to take my Parents away with their Grand Children and it was embarrassing!! I’d like someone to contact me as after staying with Lyme bay before, this was extremely disappointing!

    Dear Guests I'm sorry you were disappointed, there are no sea views at Heather bank. After investigation into this we have found that there was a listing error on the websites, which has since been corrected by the Lyme Bay Office. We found no smell of damp, nor woodlice? I'm afraid the garden which is very often complimented does not look it's best in the Autumn and the grass is often too wet to mow and is not mown anyway over the Winter months. The internal decoration can look a little worn by the end of the season, we do not get an opportunity to redecorate until the Winter. This Winter we are repainting and changing the shower. Martin Williamson. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katrina1.9Oct 2023

  • "The location is wonderful, with great views."

    However for the price we were disappointed with the quality of the accommodation and facilities. The shower / bathroom is in desperate need of refurbishment, the shower is problematic, in function and age. The bedding provided did not feel like it had been serviced by a professional laundry. The mattresses need to be replaced.The pillows were rather smelly. The positive aspects were size of bedrooms, the lounge was nice, and on-site Wi-Fi was great. Good parking for two cars, and a lovely back garden.

    We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with aspects of the accommodation and will pass on your comments to the property owner for consideration. The Lyme Bay Team Sorry to here of your dislikes. The shower has a curtain which is not to everybody's taste, we plan to change to a screen over the winter. the linen is very thoroughly cleaned by us and has never previously been criticised. The mattresses also have been complimented for their comfort in the past, the king size mattress will be replaced this winter. I think the ratings given of 38 out of 100 are extremely unfair given some of your positive comments. All our other ratings are between 80 and 100. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham1.9Aug 2023

  • "Fantastic accommodation, for 6 people huge rooms."

    The garden was absolutely gorgeous and the extra lighting on the steps for when it got dark. Although we only stayed 3 nights we could have easily stayed 2 weeks+ Both us and dogs were very sad to leave. Although very clean think the cooker could possibly do with updating, can't speak for usage has I don't believe in cooking while away. Also think shower could be improved would be easier to keep clean if not a curtain. But really couldn't fault anything. We had a great time.

    Reviewed by Melvin4.7Jun 2023

  • "We really enjoyed staying the house was very clean we just felt the garden could do with a good tidy up and pruning we found a pile of pruned shrubs at the back."

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Mar 2023

  • "Heatherbank was every thing we needed for a 4 day break."

    The bungalow is quite dated and the bath room could do with refurbishment. (shower screen instead of curtains). The children and dog loved the garden because it was natural and secure. We would be very happy to stay in Heatherbank again. Lovely easy walk along the river Lim to Lyme Regis.

    Reviewed by Mary4.7Dec 2022

  • "Absolutely beautiful property !"

    Our dogs thoroughly enjoyed the garden , we didn’t really get out and about as we came away for a Christmas break but such a beautiful place to relax and some lovely walks , we’ll definitely be back 10/10 from us xx

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Dec 2022

  • "Heatherbank was very comfortable Very clean and tidy and beautiful location."

    Our only issue was there were no grip rails by the shower and my elderly Mum did struggle a bit We will be booking with you again and recommend to our friends thank you

    Reviewed by Mary4.7Sep 2022

  • "This is a lovely property clean and roomy with a large enclosed garden and plenty of off road parking."

    The curtains of the shower in need of replacing with a softer material. The bungalow is accessed via a steep narrow lane so a car is needed when staying here. Overall this is an enjoyable holiday home.

    Reviewed by Paul4.4Sep 2022

  • "Mattress in main double room not very comfortable."

    Three wheeled trike a great success with 5 and 7 year olds plus garden was wonderful. kitchen rather small. Overall a very good holiday so big thank you

    Reviewed by Janey4.4Aug 2022

  • "This house is in a lovely quiet location in Uplyme, it’s about a 5 minutes drive and a 30 minute walk (downhill) to the beach, however it’s in need of some TLC."

    The owners have replaced the exterior windows and doors but have neglected the garden and other rooms. A new patio and something like a hot tub would probably boost annual occupancy by double. Inside the house has three bedrooms which aren’t huge but are suitable for short breaks, the bathroom and toilet are separate, and the shower has a curtain on two sides rather than a cubicle. Within our stay the older style gas oven wasn’t working, the ignition failed and we had to therefore destroy the food we wanted to cook. Sykes were contacted but no one came to carry out repairs during our stay, it definitely needs a new modern oven. We also found that many of the appliances hadn’t been retested and were out of date by 6 months. Overall though it’s an ideal base for the beach and for some peace and quiet at night, however don’t expect the property to be anything special or luxurious.

    Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. The owner was sorry to hear of the issues with the gas oven, which he has checked and said is working fine. He does however leave a lighter in the kitchen for anyone who experiences any difficulties with it igniting. We are sorry you were not able to reach us during your stay as our maintenance team are on hand to help with any issues reported to us. The portable appliances are regularly tested with the last test carried out in June and all were found to be working fine. The owner was sorry that you didn’t feel that garden was looking its best as he feels that the garden is the highlight of the property. They spend a great deal of time making it as perfect as possible and generally they only receive favourable comments and are frequently complimented for the beautiful garden. Lyme Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew3.8May 2022

Show more

This property is part of the Lyme Bay Holidays collection.
Lyme Bay Holidays are a large, friendly, local agency established for over 40 years. Specialising in the area surrounding Lyme Regis on the Dorset and Devon border, they cover much of the World Heritage Coast as well as some stunning countryside and attractive market towns and villages.


  • Single-storey
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x double, 1 x twin with zip-link (can be set up as king-size on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower cubicle, basin and WC
  • WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining/sitting area
  • Gas heating with electric fire
  • Gas oven, gas stove, microwave, fridge with ice box, washing machine
  • TV, DVD player, CD player, iPod dock, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed wildlife garden with lawn, wildflowers, furniture and storage for boats and bikes
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.5 miles, pub 0.4 miles
  • Note: Maximum of two dogs allowed
  • Note: The bed in bedroom 3 is a twin zip/link, if you require this to a super king size, please contact us to advise

The property

Settled into the picturesque countryside town of Uplyme, close to the bustling seaside resort of Lyme Regis, Dorset, this wonderful single-storey house offers stunning views of the local scenery.

With its own large garden and easy access to the Jurassic coast, Heatherbank is ideal for a family or group of adults.

After parking in the ample spot provided and marvelling at the fantastic surrounding garden, just bursting with trees and wildflower areas, make your way into this single-storey property.

Discover a homely sitting/dining room where you can recline in the sofa and warm your feet beside the electric stove, and there is a great dining table where all guests can enjoy a heart-warming meal together.

When mealtimes call, utilise the kitchen and its selection of amenities to cook up a storm made from local produce.

Relax with a soak in the bathroom after a long day walking along the coast.

Three bedrooms present you with a delightful space to get cosy for the night, beginning with a king-size with green walls and storage, a blue double room and a twin bedroom that can be set up as a king-size on request.

Possibly the most wonderful part of this property is the fantastic garden surrounding it, where you will find splashes of colour from the shrubs growing within the area, as well as mature trees, a seating area for al fresco dining, an extensive lawn and views of the surrounding scenery.

Uplyme, with its own local pub, is a wonderful location for countryside walks, with a variety at your doorstep including those that follow the River Lym to its Mouth.

Within close range of the property, you will find fantastic historic sites such as Cannington Viaduct and the Jurassic coast, with walks along the rocky shores of Monmouth Beach and Lyme Regis Fossil Beach only a short walk away.

Uplyme provides easy access to the seaside resort of Lyme Regis, a fantastic spot to enjoy a variety of craft and art shops selling local produce, hand made goods and fossils, as well as a fantastic range of delicious eateries for you to choose from.

Fall in love with the beauty of Dorset with a stay at Heatherbank.

View on map

About the location


Lyme Regis 1 mile

The beautiful countryside surrounding the village of Uplyme, on the borders of Devon and Dorset, is a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, criss-crossed by bridleways and footpaths including the East Devon Way, and providing perfect country walks and superb views. The area was chosen by TV chef Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall for his River Cottage HQ at Park Farm, where you can treat yourself to a great meal. Just a short drive takes you to the stunning Jurassic Coast at Lyme Regis. This delightful historic seaside town boasts a maze of narrow streets, with an interesting array of shops and cafes, whilst the sandy beach lends itself to great bathing and watersports, and the bustling little harbour offers regular fishing trips, or try your hand at fossil hunting. Within an easy drive is the quaint town of Axminster, or how about a ride on the Seaton Tramway? A glorious location for a varied and interesting holiday.

Note: The bed in bedroom 3 is a twin zip/link, if you require this to a super king size, please contact us to advise

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas