Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 14 View Image Gallery
  • 9 Farnham House - Dorset - 1106554 - photo 1






9 Farnham House

(Ref. 1106554)

Lyme Regis, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (15)
  • no (13)
  • bed (12)
  • our (10)
  • location (10)
  • holiday (9)

22 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely time at 9 Farnham House."

    The welcome pack was a lovely surprise . The property was clean and comfortable and had a very rustic feel.The views were stunning and so many lovely walks. We would definitely recommend this holiday home. Man y thanks.

    Reviewed by Rita3.8Jun 2024

  • "What a lovely holiday cottage we would highly recommend."

    We loved the location and the view - it was stunning- a short walk into town and down to the harbour. We loved the beds and the pillows (the duvets could have been bigger for the beds) but we all slept well. We have two teenagers and one slept on the bed ledge and was comfortable. The facilities were lovely and we loved the comfy sofas for resting after lots of walks. (We could have done with a few more drinking glasses.) The location is lovely we walked, with our very excited dog, to Monmouth Beach and walked along the ammonite pavement at low tide - which was amazing. We also took a short drive to Charmouth beach and collected sea glass.

    Thank you so much for your positive review We do our best to make our guests comfortable and it’s lovely to get Good feedback The duvets should have been king size on the king size bed and doubles on the double beds I will check with housekeeping to make sure Thank you for bringing that to our attention We look forward to you staying again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephanie5.0May 2024

  • "The property is in a lovely location and you provide everything that is needed."

    I appreciated the welcome pack and that i had a request to the owner who kindly met my needs. My only criticism is the Lyme bay cleaners are what I call surface cleaners they don’t clean behind things or move furinture. The bedding was spotless and the bathrooms . The garden needs attention the lawn wasn’t cut. However I loved my stay and would love to stay again and was hoping to in September but alas no availability’

    Reviewed by Vivienne3.8May 2024

  • "What a very pretty property and the views are just absolutely stunning."

    Arriving at sunset definitely had its perks. We arrived to a welcome pack which was totally unexpected. Included were local sweets and treats. The property is well maintained and very clean. Fully functioning kitchen with everything you need to cook yourself. The beach and town are a short walk away which makes it easy to come and go as you wish. Lots of restaurants and pubs with friendly staff and a Tesco express to get all your essentials. Have already recommended to friends and family and will definitely be booking again. 10/10

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Mar 2024

  • "Lovely property - 10/10 location with a clean, comfortable homely feel."

    Was nice to watch the sunset from the lounge and hear the waves when you’re in bed. The private parking space was very handy for unloading your luggage. And we loved the welcome pack! (cookies, fudge and Dorset coffee, tea, fresh apple juice) The location was quiet a peaceful but only a 2 min walk to the beach and a 2 min walk down the road to the center of town! The log burner in the corner was so fun! Especially as we don’t have one at home. Everything you needed was ready to go so was easy to use. When we cooked at home the kitchen had everything you could possibly need! Though there are so many restaurants to choose from and they are all fantastic. Nice that dogs are allowed too - so hard to find a good property that caters for smaller members of the family! We loved it so much we’re booking again in August. I had some reservations due to a comment saying the property felt damp - whatever was causing that has clearly been sorted, it felt, fresh , well maintained and cared for. We can’t wait to go back.

    Reviewed by Natasha5.0Mar 2024

  • "We didn't have the best of starts as a trades van was parked in our parking space but we found him and he moved out."

    It was a cold sleeting day when we arrived and the bungalow felt very cold inside but there was a log burner in the main room with everything to light it up and logs (we did replace everything we used) and we soon had a lovely fire which warmed the place up, and once we found out how all the radiators worked the place kept lovely and warm all week. The bungalow was really nice with a seaside theme and had everything we needed, the sofas were comfortable as were the beds, blackout blinds kept it nice and dark and was very peaceful at night. A lovely welcome pack was left which had some good things in it plus some milk in the fridge. The best thing about this bungalow was how close it was to the main town and the beach with a beautiful view over the bay and we woke up to some amazing sun rises. There is a nice garden which our dogs loved and also their walks on the beach. New this year dogs are allowed off the leads on the main beach until April, it was the reason we decided to come to Lyme Regis this spring. I don't think I should fail to mention the building work being done opposite and also the week we were there next door was also having ground work done so there was lots of banging drilling and music playing from a radio, most of the week they were doing the roof as the weather was fair and we did feel the need to keep the blinds closed that side of the bungalow to stop them looking in on us. On 2 occasions we had to wait to get out as there were lorries blocking the lane while loading building materials and a dumper truck. I completely understand that this is nothing to do with the owners and we still enjoyed our holiday. It didn't bother us too much in the day as we went out. Also both bins were full when we arrived, there is a little sign which said 'Bin day Tuesday' but no instructions as to where to leave them, although with the flats next door I couldn't think where!! On Monday as we were going out we saw a binman walk up and persuaded him to take the green recycle bin (as that was all he was collecting) but mentioned he doesn't normally take commercial waste. On Tuesday we did see a bin van drive up but they never took the black bin and we weren't quick enough to run out, So the bin is now completely full. We would definitely stay here again and look forward to returning at some time.

    Reviewed by Wendy3.8Mar 2024

  • "The property was very small, particularly the bedrooms and bathrooms ."

    Two windows were leaking so it felt damp. The TV was not working properly, it would take a few attempts to get it working. It had been declared that there was building work 'nearby' but it should not cause disruption. It was in fact next door and there was a lot of noise from hammering, drilling etc. from early morning, so there was a lot of disruption. I have stayed in many Lyme Bay properties but I would not stay here again.

    Dear Anne, I'm very sorry our holiday home didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. We have looked into the issues you have raised and they have been rectified. As an owner I take on board guest's comments and feedbacks and do my best to make improvements. Kind Regards Denise Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne2.2Sep 2023

  • "We really love the peaceful position of this property and we were very happy to be back for a second year."

    It was great to see that many of the suggestions made by visitors had been added and when we had a problem with the sliding door, it was fixed very promptly. The kitchen is well equipped and the living space is spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately the weather was not kind to us this year and we had a lot of rain which made the property feel quite damp. We struggled to dry wet clothing and towels as there is very little hanging space in the house - I went and bought an airer in the end as the one that was there last year had disappeared. We are looking forward to seeing the renovations that are planned for this property and hope to be able to book again for next year.

    Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for your lovely comments , we always love to hear when people have enjoyed our holiday home. Thank you so much for purchasing the airer. I saw it last week, its a great dryer, much better than the one that went missing. I would like to offer you a discount on your booking next year as a thank you. The washing machine is actually a dryer as well, I wasn't sure if you were aware of this. Details of how to use it are in the guest book. Kind Regards Denise Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.8Jul 2023

  • "We love this setting, and love Lyme Regis, but we have commented before that the attention to detail was lacking for the price charged for this accommodation."

    From previous feedback we thought that improvements had been made to this accommodation. We appreciated the mirrors and chair pads - and although we didn't have the weather to use the outside chairs, these were also a good addition to the accommodation. However, our biggest concern was that the sliding door to the ensuite room was completely off its rails (the rails are no longer there!) and was almost impossible to move. Sliding a heavy wooden door across a floor is not easy or appropriate. Why hasn't it been fixed? It took two of us every evening and morning to try and move it along safely. This years experience felt on a par with camping and making do! The creation of the food cupboard has resulted in useful kitchen bowls and utensils disappearing - which is frustrating as we choose self catering because although we do like to eat out, we also like to be able to cook a lot of our meals in our accommodation. We couldn't really understand why is there a whole wall cupboard devoted to glassware? This would have made a more accessible food cupboard. I suggest this because we are both under 5 2 so we couldn't access the top shelf of the food cupboard. There was no bread bin. The large frying pan was unusable as a large part of its nonstick surface had been scrapped very badly and other parts of the surface were fragmenting. We bought a new one in Fordhams. Even the sieve was broken and couldn't be used without ingenuity and creative solutions. The kick boards under the kitchen units have all collapsed creating an uncared for impression of the kitchen area. There is nowhere to hang outdoor coats or to dry wet clothes. It rained almost every day during our stay - where and how are we meant to dry our wet clothes? Finally, although the cabin was generally clean, we had to misfortune to drop a scrabble counter when sitting on the sofa, it fell under the sofa. The sofa clearly hasn't been moved for cleaning for many months - there are even some chips underneath it! The overall experience was definitely not worth the £1865 that I paid for my holiday. This is a lot of money by anybody's standards! The standard of this accommodation does not merit this price.

    I do not believe that your star rating is a fair representation of our property And although you have managed to bring down the overall star rating of our property, I hope future guests can see through this one off bad rating Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tina2.5Jul 2023

  • "Absolutely brilliant!"

    Wonderful property and loved the way it was furnished and decorated, and the location was perfect. We had a fantastic holiday - thank you!

    Dear Susan, Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Denise Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jul 2023

  • "Love staying at your place - great location and ideal having a dog."

    Hope to continue visiting and hope you remain available as your availability ends at the end of September. Thank you

    We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The views are fabulous and it's in close proximity to the seafront and town. The owner is in the process of applying for planning permission to make changes, so has currently closed availability from October. Further dates may be released so please do keep an eye on it when considering rebooking. The Lyme Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane5.0May 2023

  • "We loved our stay here."

    Beautiful home in a perfect location. A very relaxing and comfortable base for exploring the coast, very close to the delightful town but with sea views and 5 minutes to the beach.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0May 2023

  • "The property was in a excellent location with beautiful views over the bay."

    It was only a short walk into town or down to the coast. Parking was an absolute bonus as well. The house has the wow factor, open plan, bright and spacious. Everything was extremely clean and fresh. The kitchen was fully equipped so it made cooking very easy. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, it is one of the best places we have rented and we have rented quite a few. In all we had a fabulous holiday and will be looking to return in the very near future.

    Reviewed by Fred5.0Apr 2023

  • "We stayed at this property in the autumn and had a lovely time."

    We are trying to book for Autumn 2023 but there are no prices showing. Lyme Bay "online chat" told me that the prices haven't been released, but would be released in November - they weren't. The next online chat person I spoke to said that it was because it is being fully renovated. Which is it please? I want to know whether to book another property but am getting different answers from the agency. Thank you.

    We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback. The property was closed from October 2023 pending planning to knock down and rebuild the property, however October is now open if you wish to rebook. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sallie-anne3.8Oct 2022

  • "We had to ask someone to empty our wheelie bins as they were both full to the brim with unbagged, stinking rubbish."

    This was done within half an hour. Light outside the back door and over the cooker hood not working. Could really do with a mug tree wth extra mugs. New heater was good, thank you. Would definitely stay again although very worried,about the decline of the town. All our favourite shops closing

    Reviewed by Christina3.4Oct 2022

  • "Last week was our 4th or 5 th visit over the years to 9 Farham."

    We have liked the property because of it's location. We have noticed nothing really has changed. We still have nowhere to hang clothes in the second bedroom still no full length mirror anyway unless you use the cooker splash back. No cupboard for food storage in kitchen (only one draw). No bin diary on wall for collection of rubbish, because we have been to 9 Farham on a number of occasions we have seen a general decline in property maintenance and cleanliness. Given that we paid £1800 for a week I'm sad to say we probably won't return to 9 Farham. Ray Viner

    Dear Ray, Thank you for the feedback and bringing to our attention these improvements. We have a full length mirror which has been purchased and is being installed next week with extra hanging space. We have reorganised the kitchen storage to allow 2 full cupboards for food. The bin instructions have been moved to the guest information book. Due to the drought, the gardener had not been round to cut the grass but he has since visited and all hedges have been trimmed giving us back our spectacular sea view. We have 2 lovely new Axminster rugs in the lounge and conservatory areas with matching throws and new velvet cushions. We also now provide towels for our guests. There are new cushions for the outdoor seating and some new sun loungers. Any cleanliness issues please do contact Lyme Bay Holidays and they will send someone to resolve asap. I do hope you return to enjoy our lovely cottage in 2023. Kind Regards Denise Property Owner

    Reviewed by Raymond2.5Aug 2022

  • "Having read the most recent reviews, I was concerned about the bungalow before arriving but I had no need to worry - this is a lovely property with a fantastic view, lovely private, shady garden and such close proximity to everything."

    Yes, there are a few points for improvement as covered by the other reviews but in our opinion they do not outweigh the many positives of this special property. We had a great week and were sad to leave.

    Hi David, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am so pleased you enjoyed it as much as we do. kind regards Denise Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.1Aug 2022

  • "This property was perfect for our dog - big living space, enclosed garden, lots of sofas and a cool, shady retreat from the heatwave."

    It is a lovely position - close to the shops, a road-free walk to the beach (although very steep on the way back) and really quiet. From a human point of view, the bedrooms and bathrooms are cramped and are smaller than they appear in the photos. It is listed for 5 but this is unrealistic. If we hadn’t had the dog we’d have been a little disappointed as this property is very expensive to rent. That said, we had everything we needed, the beds were comfy and as mentioned, the position and living space was great.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.4Aug 2022

  • "Hi, as a long standing customer of Lyme Bay Holidays I have never had cause to give poor feedback for a property."

    This property is highly rated and it is justified in the finishes and location but we had four serious issues during our stay. 1. The sliding door to the main bedroom was a constant issue. It is a very bad installation using a normal swing door hung on a unsuitable runner. There is even a laminated sign on it saying to be careful. We called out your engineer to fix it but he agreed it was an issue as it kept jamming and falling off the runner which meant we could not make our room dark or private. 2. The outside windows and frames of the conservatory had not been cleaned for some time and had a thick covering of cobwebs and leaves. I used a broom and cleaned the area myself. 3. The garden was negected meaning the lovely view from the patio was blocked and bushes covered the deck seating area. I cut this back to enable us to use the area. 4. We had rats running around the garden which stopped us eating outside and was very unpleasant. We called out the pest control but they were present all whole week. Probably linked to the lack of gardening and the two large compost heaps next door. Finally, no one followed up with the issues we raised to your office which was disappointing and all these issues have been raised in the property feedback previously and apparently resolved. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Reviewed by Alan2.8Jul 2022

  • "Lyme Bay holidays were excellent."

    We had issues on 2 occasions (laundry left behind, sliding door not sliding and a key breaking in the door) , both of which were dealt with very professionally and quickly. Thank you. The house is great and in a good position and the main living room with extra seating in conservatory are spacious and comfortable. The bedrooms are quite small but accurately displayed as so and this not an issue. We had a great holiday here and the garden area for the dog and a parking space were much appreciated. I do have this feedback to improve the property and I think it does need improvement as it is very expensive: 1. Not enough glasses or crockery. Only 3 glasses that aren’t wine glasses! Please provide more glasses and plates 2. The sliding door to the back bedroom should be replaced by something lighter. Get a door without the glass so it’s easier to slide . It kept falling to the floor and was heavy to close at night and open again. 3. The cupboards in the bedrooms and next to the front door are so badly made it was a struggle to open and close the drawers. 4. The garden furniture is spectacularly uncomfortable. There are no comfortable chairs for outside to sit and relax on.

    Dear Zoe Thank you for your feedback We do normally have a full set of glasses unfortunately they do occasionally get broken and the housekeeping team must have missed this, at anytime please feel free to contact lyme bay holidays as they carry stock and I am sure they will be more than happy to run some out to you. We have looked at the sliding door and have now put a door stop so that it cant run off the runners. The drawers that you mentioned are actually very good quality, made from real wood. Sometimes it does require a jiggle to open a couple of the drawers but now that you have mentioned it we have arranged for a carpenter to go in and check them all and adjust them if necessary. The wrought iron furniture in the garden always looks so elegant but I appreciate it is uncomfortable to sit on without cushions. These are located in the conservatory. I am having a basket made up for them with labels so that they are easier to find. We did have fold up sunbeds in the garden but they keep going missing so I am purchasing some heavier sun loungers which will be perfect for relaxing in the garden and taking on the spectacular sea views Hope to see you next year kind regards Denise Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zoe4.4Jul 2022

  • "We love this location and the peace and quiet that if offers us."

    We live in a busy and noisy city. This year there were were some deckchairs in the shed, but we couldn't get into the shed. The door unlocked, but it was stuck, and we were very uncertain as to whether pushing it open, would break the door completely as the shed door is in a poor state of repair. So it was disappointing to spend another holiday there without any comfortable outside seats. While on the subject of seats - seat pads would be nice for the dining table chairs and/or the outside chairs - as both sets of chairs have such hard surfaces and become uncomfortable very quickly. Our last piece of feedback is about the poorly fitting bedroom windows and door blinds in Farnham house - Both bedrooms have glass doors, and it is impossible to darken them - the front bedroom door in particular lets in so much early morning light - why doesn't lyme bay ask all owners to install blackout blinds?? - then those of us who like our bedrooms to be dark can close them - those that don't like darkened bedrooms can keep them open - then everyone is happy. It would be such an obvious solution. Why isn't there a mirror - other than the one over the cooker - that can be used within reach of a plugged in hair dryer? Two years ago the plastic chopping boards looked past their sale by date - they are still there! (We took our own for hygiene purposes) These type of things could easily be replaced regularly - and should be - the rental isn't cheap.

    Dear Dr Thank you for your feedback, very useful. Im glad you enjoy the peace and quiet of this special location We have booked ourselves in for September so I will be purchasing cushions and black out blinds and some more comfortable garden furniture as well as a full length mirror. The chopping board will be going in the bin! Hope you come back soon to relax and enjoy Kind regards Denise Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tina3.8Jul 2022

  • "The bedrooms and showerroom are small and the latch on the showerroom needs fixing as it does not stay in latch."

    Heater not working in master bedroom. Furniture is very low to sit on leading to my wife spending first 4 days in bed with back spasm. No bags for laundry to be placed at end of week. Property not worth the weekly rental charge we paid for this holiday.

    I am only sorry that you did not let us know about the issues when you were with us, as we would have been pleased to attend to the maintenance straight away. I am sorry that these issued have marred what should have been a pleasurable stay for you. Whilst the majority of guests will have an enjoyable holiday in the properties we let, this isn’t always the case, so we welcome and appreciate your feedback as it enables us to improve the service we offer guests and the standard of properties we let. Best wishes, Lyme Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ivan2.5May 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lyme Bay Holidays collection.
Lyme Bay Holidays are a large, friendly, local agency established for over 40 years. Specialising in the area surrounding Lyme Regis on the Dorset and Devon border, they cover much of the World Heritage Coast as well as some stunning countryside and attractive market towns and villages.


  • Single-storey
  • Two bedrooms (3 Sleeping areas): 1 x King Size bedroom (with luxury Vispring Mattress) with en-suite bathroom with bath, basin and WC, 1 x double bedroom, with additional mezzanine sleeping area with double mattress
  • Shower-room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Snug
  • Electric heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, hairdryer
  • TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Enclosed garden with raised decking, furniture
  • Sea views
  • Pet-friendly, sorry no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: This property has 2 bedrooms for 4 people
  • Note the mezzanine area is only suitable for either 1 adult or 1 teenager, due to the limited headroom
  • Note: A maximum of two dogs are accepted
  • Note: No cot space in the bedrooms

The property

Settled into a private road above Langmoor and Lister Gardens, this stunning property boasts a spectacular view of the bay and the breath-taking Jurassic coastline.

With a brilliant living area and outside decked seating area to make the most of the location, 9 Farnham House is perfect for families and groups of adults alike.

Upon entering this single-storey bungalow you will find a delightful open-plan living area where vintage and contemporary styling mix to create a space you will be eager to return to, with high ceilings, wooden flooring, a traditional woodburning stove to warm your feet and leather sofas to recline in, this space has a seaside cottage feel.

Wood accents the walls and large and numerous windows draw in natural light, and artwork creates a homely feel, so why not head over to the spacious kitchen area where you will be able to sample local produce, serving it on the wooden dining table provided by this amazing social room?

For an alternative space to relax, find a snug with wooden flooring, a conservatory roof and sliding doors offering a fantastic view of the garden and bay beyond.

There is the choice of two bedrooms, as well as the addition of a sleeping platform for one extra guest, beginning with a king-size room and a handy ensuite bathroom, and a second double with storage, and there is a shower-room for you to shake the ocean chill from your skin before settling down for the night.

Outside the seating area is amazing, offering stunning views of the sea, it is a spot perfect for al fresco dining or relaxing at the end of the day with a hot chocolate.

A delightful walk through the Langmoor and Lister Gardens takes you to the beaches and famous Cobb Harbour.

Located only a 5 minute walk away from the town centre, the town boasts an excellent selection of independent shops selling artisan goods and local artwork and a fantastic choice of eateries, pubs and restaurants.

The town boasts two museums, an aquarium and family friendly beaches including a sandy beach, Monmouth Beach and Lyme Regis Fossil Beach where you can enjoy watersports or search amongst the rocky shores for Jurassic treasures.

For avid walkers, the South West Coastal Footpath offers magnificent scenery and takes in sights such as Golden Cap as well as the popular coastal villages of Charmouth & Seatown.

Make the perfect Jurassic Coast holiday with a stay at the beautiful 9 Farnham House.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Charmouth 3 miles; Axminster 6 miles; Bridport 10 miles; Sidmouth 16 miles.

The delightful seaside town of Lyme Regis has much to offer its visitors, boasting a maze of narrow streets filled with craft and antique shops, galleries and cafes. Take a stroll along the world-famous Cobb causeway overlooking the ancient harbour, where fishing trips can be enjoyed, or try your hand at fossil hunting in the area. The scenic coastal path offers excellent walking opportunities and spectacular views of the stunning Jurassic coast, whilst the gently shelving sands and sparkling waters of Lyme Bay provide the perfect place in which to relax and unwind. A holiday destination to savour!

View more holiday cottages in Lyme Regis

Note: This property has 2 bedrooms for 4 people. The sleeping platform/deck has a double mattress with very limited headroom and is not suitable for young children or for more than one adult. Note: No cot space in the bedrooms. Note: Sleeping platform can fit one adult. Note: a nearby property is being built which should not cause any disruption but delivery vehicles may need to reverse up the communal drive from time to time.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas