Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

21 people have recently viewed this property

Rosebank Cottage

Mortehoe, Devon (Ref. 1018763)


(23 ratings)

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 12

  • Bedrooms 6

  • Bathrooms 4

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

23 Customer Reviews

  • "Could not speak highly enough of this cottage."

    We had a fantastic weekend as a group of 11. The cottage was clean, tidy, spacious and really maintained. We all had a brilliant time, and would 100% recommend to anyone

    Reviewed by MathewJun 2022

  • "We’ve just come back from a lovely stay at Rosebank."

    The property was ideal for our large family, 6 adults, 6 children and 2 dogs!! It was very well equipped. I was disappointed, however, with the cheap plastic pillow and mattress protectors. I didn’t expect that in a ‘luxury’ property. Also, the mattresses were very hard, which didn’t really suit us. I did arrange to have the hot tub cleaned midweek and no one turned up to do it and I rang, left a voicemail and also a text message to the housekeeper number with no response. These were only minor complaints but I’m glad we didn’t have any major issues as I would have been doubtful of getting a reply.

    Reviewed by JulieApr 2022

  • "Lovely property, good size for large party."

    Stunning location. General cleanliness not good, especially during these covid times, toothpaste splashes around basins, dust and dirt on skirting and behind toilets and toilet seat lids, bits on carpets, and a few bits of debris under beds and sofas from previous occupants and generally dusty. Worst of all to my horrror when stripping sheets off on leaving as requested found the mattress cover on my bed in master bedroom was heavily stained with bodily fluids from previous occupants and also on one of the beds on the second floor. No liners in bathroom bins and only one bathroom had a toilet roll provided. Outside bins contained a large amount of rubbish and recycling from previous occupants thereby leaving little space for our accumulated Christmas rubbish and recycling. Recycling instructions were rather vague. Some of the non stick saucepans were badly scratched which caused specks of non stick material to infiltrate food whilst cooking and finally we found the provision of cookware and dishes rather inadequate when cooking for a large party.

    We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rosebank Cottage and found it to be a stunning location. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and can confirm that the cleaners have addressed all of the issues in question and are very thorough in all aspects of cleaning, especially during these Covid times. The mattress covers have since been replaced. The welcome pack contains clear instructions in regards to recycling however, due to local staff shortages there had been a slight delay in rubbish and recycling collection which has now been resolved. We are in the process of doing a complete inventory at the property to check all cookware and crockery in a view to update and replace any missing items. We were happy to accommodate your large party and hope to see you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MelanieDec 2021

  • "I booked Rosebank Cottage after looking at many properties on the website."

    Stunning location and property which 100% had the wow factor when we walked in. Tracy had kindly left two cakes and plenty of coffee which was welcomed after a long journey. The house took 11 of us easily ranging from aged 1 to 71. The cot and highchair were available as requested and the hot tub was spotlessly clean. The bedrooms are beautiful and the underfloor heating a real treat for the cold weather. A perfect stay to celebrate my 40th with all my family. Thank you!!

    Reviewed by CatherineDec 2021

  • "We were a party of 10 ranging from 4yrs up to 78, every one of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rosebank cottage (Mortehoe)."

    The cottage was absolutely beautiful, the decor throughout was lovely, the beds were comfortable and the cottage was nice and spacious - which was welcome with 10 of us. The cottage was fully equipped with all the necessary pots and pans, crockery, cutlery, utensils - all in all the facilities were great . Just a 5 minute drive from Woolacombe, their are stunning sea views, we went to a lovely family run pub/restaurant called ‘The Jube’, which we would highly recommend. We were really impressed with our stay at Rosebank cottage and would definitely recommend it

    Reviewed by SteveOct 2021

  • "Rose bank cottage is a fabulous cottage with great facilities ."

    The only problem we had was the WiFi was too weak for 10 people , with one trying to work on a laptop .

    Reviewed by Debbie JOct 2021

  • "I stayed with a group of friends and we had a lovely week at the cottage."

    It is only moments from the village and a short walk to the beach. As others have pointed out the parking is a bit tight but you soon get used to it.

    Reviewed by PatrickSep 2021

  • "Rosebank Cottage was a wonderful base for our family to get-together."

    The cottage is beautifully appointed and decorated and the bathrooms are particularly splendid. The kitchen and dining area were well equipped and meant that we could dine in style. The hot tub was a lovely addition. However the cottage is badly let down by the terrible beds and bedding! Broken slats, rustling sweaty hot plastic mattress covers, lumpy pillows - none of us slept well! I appreciate that by the end of the season some wear and tear will have occurred but I see that other reviewers pointed these faults out earlier and they could have been rectified.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback which have discussed in detail with the owner. We are pleased to let you know and future guests know that new beds, bedding and pillows are being ordered and will be replaced mid November. We are really pleased despite the bed comfort you enjoyed Rosebank Cottage and the facilities is has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HelenSep 2021

  • "The accommodation is ideal for a family holiday."

    There were 6 adults from 3 separate households and a baby in our party and the cottage lay out enabled us to have a lovely time ...... space to be private and to spend family time together. I have marked down for cleanliness and comfort because the previous occupants must have had a dog and we had to clean and Hoover the floors on arrival (baby is crawling) all other areas were spotless clean and our bed top floor right side bedroom had a squeaky uncomfortable bed

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear the cleanliness of the floors was not 100%, we have discussed this with the owners who will ensure their housekeepers are on top of this in future. The bed you mention is to be replaced within the next few weeks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DeborahSep 2021

  • "Lovely house, great location."

    Cot was an issue as not stated was a travel cot plus no mattress (base is not a mattress) No laundry bags to place dirty laundry in as we are asked to strip the beds etc, slats in bed on top floor broken, not all jets working in hot tub and finally there were items from previous guests left in draws in main bed room as well as lacking in general cleanliness.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry some aspects of your stay did not meet expectations. Travel cots do not have a conventional mattress, and this is mainly for reasons of safety and hygiene. The bed on the top floor has been repaired, and had you contacted the owner during your stay, they would happily have done this for you at the time. The problem with the hot tub is being addressed and the necessary part is on order. The owner is so glad you liked the house and location and would love to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlisonAug 2021

  • "The location was brilliant (rather hilly in the area just to be mindful of)."

    The house was beautiful and I think the hot tub topped it off. A lovely holiday and we was blessed with good weather. Highly recommend

    Reviewed by HannahAug 2021

  • "Had a fabulous week."

    Arrived to tea, coffee, sugar, milk and cake which was a lovely touch. There are always things which can be criticised but at the end of the day this is a holiday home and for a week you can always make do! (A few more wine glasses and fizz glasses would have been good

    Thank you for pointing out the lack of glasses, the owner will top up on all glasses to ensure there is plenty available for fizz! Property Owner

    Reviewed by MaryAug 2021

  • "We had a wonderful holiday."

    ...all 6 adults and 6 children. Overall the downstairs living accommodation was clean and tidy. Some of the bedrooms and bathrooms were dusty and unfortunately one waste bin had personal waste from a previous occupant. Standard of all towels was poor...thin and very small.

    Thank you for your feedback which we have passed to the owner. There are no plans to replace towels at this stage but the owner will look at this at the end of the season. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GrahamJul 2021

  • "On arrival downstairs floor was not clean, the mop provided was filthy an we had to buy one and clean it ourselves, the grill in cooler did not work, the microwave plate was missing, airer was broken, dishwasher didn’t work as the filter was blocked, the mattresses in all but the main bedroom were uncomfortable/worn and one of the mattress protectors was stained, yard area and outside sink were untidy and not cleaned, new towels provided we to small and main bedroom bath and shower weren’t clean."

    Thank you for sending in your feedback. The cleanliness issues have been addressed with the housekeeper. The grill on the oven will be checked. The missing microwave plate was broken by previous guests, and this has now been replaced, along with a new clothes airer. The dishwasher has been checked and is now working perfectly. The mattresses are only a year old, as we all know beds/mattresses are a matter of preference and may not be the same as you might be used to at home. The mattress protectors are laundered weekly. A hand towel plus a bath towel is provided for each person. The contact details for the housekeeper are provided prior to your stay and within the property, if she had been made aware of any issues during your stay, she would have been more than happy to try and rectify things for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NeilJul 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely, great location and really nicely finished."

    We did have a couple of minor niggles which could easily be sorted out. These were: (1) The pillows were really uncomfortable - they were lumpy!! A few decent pillows would have made all the difference (2) There were no trivets or mats to place hot items from the oven on - the work surfaces in the kitchen were lovely and you wouldn’t want them to be ruined - we resorted to using several tea towels to put hot things on. (3) As the house can accommodate up to 12 and with the current lockdown restrictions there really was not sufficient kitchen equipment to cook for multiple people - there needs to be larger pans and more baking trays as an absolute minimum. Having read a similar review I took a couple of my own large pans. (4) the small garden area was lovely but the garden table and chairs only sits 6 - again not practical for a larger group to be able to eat / socialise outside. A BBQ would also have been really nice. (5) The parking is extremely tight - it would be easier to park if a part of the wall was taken down so that it was easier to get in and out of the parking . We were also very lucky that the other parking spots were not occupied - if everyone was there you just would not be able to park. All in all though a lovely place to stay and I would recommend it.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback which has been discussed with the owner, additional place mats and saucepans will be provided. The outside table will accommodate between 6/8 people plus there is also a small outdoor sofa which provides seating for three people. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back again to Rosebank Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NicolaJun 2021

  • "From the minute you walk in, this cottage oozes charm and is very welcoming."

    There is everything you need (and more) for a perfect holiday. Our group of adults ranged from 20 through to 80 and the accommodation suited all. Travelling with two dogs, means the list of boxes we need to tick is quite long and this cottage fulfilled all our requirements. The tiled floors, doggie extras and the totally enclosed garden made it the best dog friendly cottage we’ve ever stayed in. The location is idyllic - so peaceful with stunning views out to sea from the 1st/2nd floor bedrooms even though you are on the main strip for camp sites etc. The garden is lovely to sit in and soak up the tranquility that surrounds you along with the hot tub which made a lovely evening watching the sun go down....bliss! This is the place to stay if you want total rest and relaxation it is relatively close to beaches, just a bit of a trek down/up hill not for the oldies but plenty of places to park at the beach too, places of interest and amenities, making it an ideal property for everyone. Would return with no hesitation. We all had a fabulous stay - the weather helped with top temperatures of 25 degrees. You forget how nice it is to stay in the UK for a vacation and how beautiful it all is. Must remember that once we all go back to some kind of normal in the future.

    Reviewed by MarieJun 2021

  • "The house was ideal for our large family holiday with age ranges from 10 to 69!"

    The bedrooms were super, especially with so many ensuites it meant everyone could shower and bath at the same time. Beds were comfortable and rooms were beautifully decorated, even giving us a view of the setting sun over the sea every night. In the kitchen, there was ample pots and pans if we cooked, which was not very often and fully stocked with glasses, crockery and cutlery. The snug room was great for the playstation boys, leaving us to watch the huge TV in the big lounge if we wanted to. The hot tub was a real treat for us ladies most nights while the chaps had a few beers on the patio. We enjoyed drinks and food at the Chichester and The Ship, can also recommend take-aways from Rockleigh Bakery, but go easy on the puds as they are really delicious. Parking was snug but we managed, and most days we walked to the beach so no need to take the car. All in all, this cottage delivered everything as promised, and we felt very lucky to be able to enjoy a family holiday in lovely sunshine after the year we have had

    Reviewed by JuliaMay 2021

  • "Really lovely house."

    Only bit of feedback was that the mattress in the master bedroom was awful. Given how great everything else in the house is seems like something you might want to address. Don't want to sound like I'm complaining though - really loved the house and as I say - everything else was great.

    Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We have discussed your comment regarding the mattress in the master bedroom with the owner. The mattress has been checked and perhaps softer than the one you have at home, but it is absolutely fine. As we know mattresses do tend to be a matter of preference. We are glad that you had an enjoyable holiday and loved the property and hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BenApr 2021

  • "Overall a very lovely holiday but there were a few issues I’d like to share with you: Firstly, the parking is very tight and the lane the house is on makes it even harder to park in your spaces."

    You can get 3 cars in, but it’s very snug. However it was nice to go out and know you had a parking space to return to so it relieved a lot of stress. The double bedroom on the middle floor that shares the main bathroom did not have a wardrobe? It had drawers but no hanging space which is a little strange for a double bedroom. The amenities were good; a little disappointing there’s nothing in the information book on how the cooker (induction top) works as it’s all digital and there were no hoover attachments so cleaning wasn’t the easiest task! There was ample cutlery, glasses, crockery but there were 2 Pyrex dishes and 2 baking trays provided - this is definitely not enough when cooking for 12 people. Luckily I brought my own stuff, large oven dishes, baking trays, roasting dishes, saucepans (must be induction this) and frying pans and we’d have been in trouble without them! And the island in the kitchen makes the working space very limited so only 2-3 People can be in the kitchen at one time. There is a large pantry/larder which you can store all your dry goods in, which was ideal but the fridge is very small for a house that sleeps 12 people. Seating is also abit of an issue as 12 cannot fit around the dining table easily, 10 is a squeeze. There isn’t enough seats in the lounge if you all want to sit together, nor outside. We tried to contact the number provided on the email confirmation as instructed for preferences (zip linked beds) on a number of occasions and simply got no response so that didn’t give us a lot of confidence for emergencies? The bathrooms were very modern and plenty of hot water which was brilliant as after the beach or a coastal walk everyone could have a shower without any worries! The location of the house was good and was only a short walk to the camp site shop, pubs and local shops which were ideal. The Chichester arms did lovely food, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal there. The house is positioned well for coastal walks, but the steps to rockham beach have been eroded by the sea so it’s not reachable, but woolacombe is a 30-40 min stroll away (abit tougher on the way back!!) so not too bad! There are beaches closer but we had dogs with us so had to choose the dog friendly ones. As I said, overall a lovely stay with brilliant company and the house was ideal for what we wanted and for the price we paid for it in September. Personally I don’t think it meets expectations for the mid-summer months prices being asked for it, but that’s my opinion.

    Reviewed by FrankieSep 2020

  • "So well equipped, the kitchen was a dream, full of cutlery and glassware etc."

    The house was beautiful, great sociable space for our extended family. The children enjoyed the safe garden. What a picturesque village also. Great location. We would love to return and will recommend to friends.

    Reviewed by CharlotteAug 2020

  • "We had an amazing time only a couple of small issues but nothing to write home about"

    Reviewed by KellyAug 2020

  • "The cottage was good for our multi-generational family holiday (with ages from 9 to 77) in terms of location and facilities and we all had a wonderful time."

    There were, however, a few teething problems probably associated with it being a newly-rented property. We were unprepared for the difficulties of parking our three cars, and there were some significant omissions from the information folder. For example we only worked out how to use the induction hob by trial and error! When the power went off we had difficulty locating the RCD device, and a reference to its position would have been useful. The wifi hub reference name in the folder was incorrect, but we found it by searching available sources and applying the given password to a different one. The instructions which we received to gain entry were incomplete, and we had to 'phone the cleaning company to get these clarified. We were quite surprised to find two empty wine bottles in one of the bathroom cabinets!

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are pleased to hear that Rosebank Cottage was a suitable fit for your family holiday. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention: the information folder will be updated accordingly. Though the parking is snug for three cars at the property - there is space in the village pay-and-display car park, if required. The cleaners have been made aware of your feedback and will be more vigilant in checking all cupboards in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GeoffAug 2020

  • "The cottage was nicer inside than the photos suggested ."

    We had a lovely surprise of bottle of champagne from the owners as we were their first guests . The 6 adults in the party did not sleep well as we found the mattress’s to be soft & not supportive .. the master suite bed felt very small as was the en-suite . The kitchen as lovely as it was is not designed for 12 people - the fridge did not accommodate all our fresh food .. outside seating / dinning would not accommodate 12 people . Location was lovely although we booked it as it mentioned walking down to the beach near by & we couldn’t access it as the steps were broken & apparently had been for 12 months .

    Reviewed by AmandaJul 2020

Show more

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday


  • Over three floors; six bedrooms
  • First floor: 1 x double bedroom with freestanding bath and en-suite shower room, 1 x king size room, 1 x twin (can be zip/link on request)
  • Family bathroom with bath, shower, WC and basin
  • Second floor; 1 x kingsize room with ensuite bathroom, 1 x kingsize with ensuite shower room, 1 x twin (2'6 beds)
  • Ground floor: Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with fireplace
  • Games room
  • Utility room
  • Gas heating central heating
  • Electric range style cooker, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave Smart TV, WiFi, PS4, Bluetooth speakers, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Two well behaved pets accepted, sorry no smoking
  • Enclosed patio with garden furniture and seating
  • Hot Tub large enough for six people
  • A mid-week clean of the hot tub can be arranged directly with the housekeeper for a charge of £60
  • Payment will need to be made to the housekeeper or hot tub engineer on the day
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Shop and pub 5 minute walk, Beach 10 minute

The property

This beautifully presented, newly finished three-storey property can be found a short walk from the beach, in the picture perfect village of Mortehoe, on the North Devon coast.

With six bedrooms and sea views, Rosebank is ideal for groups of family or friends wanting to enjoy a coastal retreat to Devon. The chic living space is open plan, with wooden flooring and full height windows making this a bright and sunny room.

Generous sofas gathered around the fireplace,...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location


Woolacombe 1 mile; Ilfracombe 5.8 miles; Barnstaple 14 miles

Situated on the North Devon Coast, Mortehoe is a sleepy little village offering its visitors a peaceful and serene atmosphere. Mortehoe is a collection of charming cottages, village pubs, restaurants and a few shops, as well as a fascinating museum and a thirteenth century Church boasting a rare barrel-roof. The village boasts panoramic views of the coast thanks to its cliff-top location and is surrounded by beautiful scenery, much of which is part of the Voluntary Marine Conservation Area, an area full of colourful wildlife. Grunta Beach is a secluded bay comprising of rocky and sandy areas, with many thriving rock pools to explore. The beach is also dog-friendly all year round, so perfect for visiting with your four-legged friend. The bustling seaside village of Woolacombe is less than a mile away, with a slightly busier environment to Mortehoe. It is home to a wonderful 3 mile long golden beach which has been awarded Blue Flag status and has safe family swimming. Woolacombe has won many awards for both its fantastic beach and for being an excellent family resort. The village itself offers a wide range of shops, bars and restaurants.

Region Information

Note: This property has a £300 good housekeeping bond

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it