Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Hope Cottage - Devon - 976094 - photo 1
close

Floorplans

1st FloorGround Floor

Kitchen Dining Hall Lounge Bathroom Utility

Photos

Floorplans

Hope Cottage

(Ref. 976094)

Riddlecombe, near Winkleigh, Devon Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (48)
  • lovely (25)
  • garden (25)
  • beautiful (23)
  • hope (21)
  • all (19)

53 Customer Reviews

  • "A super place to stay."

    Cottage is lovely, as is the garden. A couple of the windows could do with some work though, we were scared to leave them open if it was too windy. I got used to the parking by the end of the week ! Would definately recommend & would like to return one day, as the area is super, with very many interesting places to go & see.

    Reviewed by Kevin4.7Jun 2024

  • "Fabulous property !"

    So well equipped you want for nothing. Beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Everything about the property is gorgeous, we also loved the garden with all the different seating areas which have been really thought about so you can follow the sun as it moves. The general area is beautiful and we have never experienced such peace before, not around other than birds and animals pure luxury for people from a city.

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0May 2024

  • "The cottage looked as the photo, amazing."

    We were a little disappointed that there were some little issues that may have altered our decision. With mobility issues the stairs were a bit difficult when reaching the top or the bottom, the 2 steps in the downstairs bathroom were a problem initially but once aware able to prepare. There were a few little steps or uneven floor which caused a few issues. Sight issues were an issues as it wasn't easy to get a bright light, but I understand that it is usual not to want bright lights everywhere. Maybe the rules could be on a link before decision made, the note regarding possible that the thatch could become a fire risk , made our decision not to light it. We managed to park 2 cars I the driveway, pot holes were awful but understand that the weather over the last few years hasn't helped.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.4Apr 2024

  • "What a beautiful cottage - we loved it!"

    Full of charm and character. The kitchen has everything you need. We struggled to explore the surrounding area because we didn't want to leave the wonderful peace and quiet of the cottage and garden! We enjoyed a walk in the woods directly from the cottage. And enjoyed a cuppa and our books in the beautiful garden.

    Reviewed by Rob4.7Mar 2024

  • "We had a fabulous week in Hope cottage."

    Everything was great and the cottage was very comfortable and we passed a relaxing holiday. Our son and his girlfriend stayed for the first few days and then it was just the two of us and our two dogs. Peace and tranquility. The garden was great but it isn't completely dog proof. Not a criticism or a problem for us, just something to bear in mind. The parking was tight but we had it down to one manoeuvre after the second day. I will return and would recommend to my friends without a second thought.

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Mar 2024

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in Hope Cottage, thank you so much to Bertie and family."

    Despite some rain for our week, we had a very enjoyable holiday. The cottage is beautiful and in a very tranquil spot - the sound of birdsong in the morning greeted us without fail, the setting is serene and the views are breathtaking. We were very impressed by the green credentials of the house, and felt extremely comfortable. The house has lots of character and is welcoming, spacious and well equipped. Bathroom and shower were highly appreciated too - good water pressure and design. The children had a lovely time - they enjoyed their room and bookcase! Parking was fine in the lay by - we did come up to the house once, but as our car was large we decided against it a second time! We hope to come again and enjoy everything the West Country has to offer, and maybe explore the garden when the weather is better. We love the Great Torrington area as a base for a holiday, it's such a tonic for the soul. The wine provided on arrival was delicious and a lovely touch, the card also. Highly recommended. Thank you very much to the owners.

    Reviewed by Lucy5.0Feb 2024

  • "Hope cottage is a beautiful, cosy, well equipped cottage and we were made to feel very welcome by the owner."

    A lovely place to relax and enjoy the surrounding area.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Jan 2024

  • "Overall we were all agreed the cottage was very nice."

    It seemed to have everything you would require, and we're used to staying at Landmark Trust properties for the last 10 years. Parking at the cottage was a bit tight. I have a large estate and thought I'd reverse park. Bit of a mistake as I damaged the front of my vehicle on the hidden rocks under the hedge at side of lane. Driving straight in and reversing out is ok. We enjoyed our stay though, although slightly remote. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Alistair3.8Oct 2023

  • "Generally we had a good stay at Hope Cottage."

    It’s a lovely large property with a gorgeous tiered garden (not suitable for children or those less able to climb). Lovely walk from the cottage through woodland and many beautiful beaches within about an hours drive. Local road is the width of a car so be prepared to reverse if you meet oncoming traffic! We did

    Reviewed by Eve3.8Sep 2023

  • "We have stayed in Hope Cottage many times."

    It is well equipped with everything you need. As an insomniac for me the comfy bed is bliss,I love to lie in bed and listen to the owls calling outside. On chilly evenings the woodstove makes it so cosy to sit with a glass of wine and enjoy the peace. Warm evenings can be spent in the pretty cottage garden. Lots of local walking too with no need to get the car out every time our dogs love it there.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Sep 2023

  • "This is not a holiday cottage for a couple of 80year olds- the stairs are too steep and there is no banister rail halfway up so the suitcase had to stay downstairs."

    The path to the utility door is so over grown we had difficulty reaching the key box, the steps leading up to the garden are so overgrown with moss etc it is quite dangerous and my 88year old husband only made it once with help. It is quite dark inside the cottage even with lights on and so he did not find it easy to get around with all the internal steps. How can you accept a dog and ask not to let it urinate on the grass, and ask us to take dustbins to the top of the lane..

    If you are unsteady on your feet, the cottage and garden might be challenging. The description on the website is clear: there are steps up and down to rooms, "steep stairs" "low lintel", the lawns are "sloping", the pictures of the garden show its levels and the cobbled surface. We are also right in the middle of the countryside with uneven roads and bridlepath and tracks. In the garden we regularly use Jays Fluid on the stone and have put a non-slip deck in place. Yes, there is moss on the stones and the garden walls. There are lots of lights in the cottage but it is an old house with small windows. We do ask guests to take the bins to the top of the lane so they can be collected. This is what happens in Cottwood. The housekeeper is available to help if necessary. We love having dogs in the house; we do ask guests, if they can, to get them to pee on the bridlepath because they scorch the grass. We also understand that sometimes this is not possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret2.5Sep 2023

  • "The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable with lots of very nice touches."

    It would score straight 5's were it not for ta couple of issues. 1) I don't think that the parking is adequately described, I do have a large estate car but it was a near impossibility to extricate it from its nose in position parked next to the cottage, reversing in was not a possibility due to the hedge along the lane. This would all be fine were you to arrive in a smaller car, even what would class as medium but my Skoda estate simply didn't fit, ended up parked at the end of the lane all week which wasn't idea. 2) The approach roads to the cottage are microscopically narrow, within half a mile of the house should you meet another car then one of you is going to have to reverse the full distance, bends and all! 3) There is an extremely prevalent population of European hornets somewhere very close to the cottage, they are gigantic and scared the heck out of my wife, if it's dark and you open a door or a window for even a very short time they are inside, we left at 4.15 am to avoid traffic and they made it very difficult as doing so without a light source would not have been possible. 4) Whilst the cottage has loads going for it the garden, which could be wonderful, is overgrown and unkempt, long grass made the lawns look scruffy and last years dead leaves are everywhere, the wooden deck area couldn't even be reached. Since arriving home I've read previous feedback in which similar comments made by a guest drew a response from the owner that it was not meant to be RHS Rosemore but surely if you are on holiday you should be able to expect a certain level of tidiness from the property gardens. I certainly did. All in all a bit of a shame, a days effort around the garden and a more accurate description of the parking would go a long way.

    Thanks for your comments about how well equipped and comfortable the cottage is. Yes, the drive is narrow. This is clearly stated in the description of the cottage "From the narrow driveway, gate to enclosed garden, cobbled terrace" and there is nothing we can do to make it wider. Our builders, however, manage to get two transit vans in it (and out again). One of the joys of arriving at Hope Cottage (and a strong memory from my first visit) is the way the roads get narrow and then more narrow and then steep and there is grass growing in the middle and then a 90 degree turn and you hope no cars will come making you reverse before finding the bridlepath which is narrow too; this is Devon, with its deep lanes and high banked hedges. In the countryside round the cottage there are lots of animals: hornets, wasps, moths, bats, toads (young ones sometimes come into the house) and newts, buzzards and songbirds and animal smells and silence. I'm not sure where last year's leaves came from; we were there for three weeks in the summer and there were no leaves. The gardener spends many autumn and winter hours clearing the beech leaves. But there is wind and there are leaves in the country. We have noticed that since deciding to leave the grass longer there have been complaints about the garden. We may have to mow more frequently. Nevertheless, the photos on the website do reflect the state of the garden as it is - apart from the luxurious Gunnera which is now drought-smitten and small. Hopefully it will recover. I've put one in the pond to see if it is happier. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Russ3.4Sep 2023

  • "A fantastic rustic cottage full of character and and in a very peaceful remote location."

    We as a family stayed a week in August 2023 with our dogs and loved it. Also loved that essentials were all provided such as dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid along with lovely flowers. The caretaker was very helpful and the cottage lovely and clean. We really enjoyed relaxing after a long day sitting in the living room all snug watching the logs burn away in the stove. Loved the place and will definitely return again.

    Reviewed by Josh5.0Aug 2023

  • "Hope cottage was a nice equipped cottage but unfortunately has more cons than pro,s."

    The garden was nice but really needs alot of tlc an she steps were quite slippery which made them quite dangerous so on the days we did have sun we couldn't enjoy the garden.The nearest shop was about 20-30min drive and was dangerous to walk your dogs along the road as it only could just fit 1 car.I relieved an email off the owner hoping I would enjoy the cottage and also asking me to be mindful of the lights as they run off green electricity and roughly costs around £600 a month something that I did not need to know.The bed felt quite damp so we decided to sleep downstairs,and I also had a letter through the mail off the owner asking me to water her plant that she had just planted unacceptable.The day we arrived I received an email saying that there were European hornets in cottwood and that they were endangered and to keep windows closed at night but there was fly spray there if I needed.I am sorry but this information should have been given to me before we left as I could have chosen then not to go as I could of been allergic.So all in all I'm sorry this was not the holiday that I had wanted or what I was told and for what we paid was not worth it

    We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in the cottage; it is our favourite place in the world. We spent three weeks there just before you. We didn't find the bed damp. We understand that you didn't like our communications with you: we send a personalised card to every guest and a greeting email with hints and tips. Hopefully you did at least enjoy the bottle of sparkling wine we gave you. We are really proud that we have a cottage running on green energy - it has saved tens of thousand of tonnes of CO2. We are very glad that the hornets didn't bother you even if you felt our message was mis-timed. The garden has lots of TLC: we employ a gardener but we leave the lawn a little long for the wildlife. We had just planted the hydrangea and the summer can be too dry until they are established; some guests enjoy watering the plants and actively take steps to sustain wilting plants. We are sorry you did not. We have invested a lot in the garden recently - including new non-slip decking and a new set of table and chairs. Most guests love the garden but it is a cottage garden not a municipal park or RHS Rosemoor ( a few miles down the road). The cottage is in the depths of the countryside which is why we love it. The nearest shop is 3 miles away and takes about ten minutes to drive to. The lanes are narrow but there is no need to walk on them because we are on a bridle path that leads to many long off-road walks through surrounding woods and fields. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debra2.2Aug 2023

  • "Hope Cottage is a great place to relax into."

    I always leave wanting more.

    Reviewed by Antony5.0Jul 2023

  • "Beautiful location and comfortable accommodation affording everything to make our stay relaxing."

    The garden is secure and that was so important to enable our Labradors the freedom to roam. The supply of logs was plentiful and we enjoyed cosy evenings in front of the television. Lots of walks from the cottage and some not far away by car. Sian, the housekeeper, messaged several times to check that everything was okay. Super place to stay!

    Reviewed by Judy5.0Jun 2023

  • "This is a beautiful, spacious, well equipped Cottage in much need of TLC On arrival, everything looked lovely, but when our dog went under the couch to retrieve his teddy and both he + teddy came out covered in dirt, dust and dog hairs, and when a dirty tissue was found lodged between the bed and wall, we realised it was not as clean as we first thought."

    Sian had allowed us in early, as she said she was always finished by 3pm, on reflection, I wished we had waited to give her enough time to clean property to save me doing it. NEGATIVES Both loo brushes and holders were disgustingly dirty The toaster doesn’t work properly Rusty carving knives in cutlery drawer Iron base is very burnt, flex is damaged Parking space is VERY narrow and difficult to get in and out of Cutlery is not nice to eat with ( we purchased alternatives) I contacted Sian to advise her that we had tripped the outlet sockets twice in half an hour, she said it was probably the toaster, when I said we didn’t have it on, she said she would contact the owner, luckily it didn’t happen again as we didn’t hear from either of them again. POSITIVES All white goods worked well The beds were comfortable and clean Nice soft towels Once the grass was cut, we were able to enjoy the lovely garden, even with its steep steps and sloping ground All in all, not quite the holiday we were looking forward to

    Very sorry about the dirty tissue. Yuk. Sian is there to make sure everything is ok. You clearly spoke to Sian but didn't mention about your concerns. She would have come round and sorted it out for you. We are sorry you felt unable to ask her. We replace the toilet brushes annually. There are at least two Sabatier chopping knives. Sorry you didn't like the old steel one - they keep their edge better than the stainless steel ones. The cutlery is Victorian but we have added some newer cutlery so people can choose what to eat with. So glad you enjoyed the beds and towels and the garden. Yes, the drive is narrow (as mentioned in the website description) but builders and thatchers have parked transit vans there. There is also a space to park 20 yards up the bridle-path on the road. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Veronica Diane1.9Jun 2023

  • "Hope Cottage was beautiful."

    Very well equiped and spotless. Beds were super comfortable and the we enjoyed the garden very much. Lovely walks around the area and very secluded. Just what we needed. Thank you so much.!

    Reviewed by John5.0Apr 2023

  • "Excellent getaway place."

    Weather was ordinary but cottage warm, particularly with the burner on. We'll equipped. All furniture comfortable. Main bedroom a delight. Good walking from the door. 30mins to the coast. Burner in the kitchen a bonus. Garden beautiful. Young wren family nest building in the utility room wall was entertaining and a constant musical background. This place is a cracker

    Reviewed by Matt5.0Apr 2023

  • "A welcoming and restful cottage set in a tranquil location."

    This was my second visit and again I felt like I was a trusted guest in a family home. Hope Cottage has a lovely ambience. It's a priviledge to be able to stay there a while.

    Reviewed by Antony5.0Mar 2023

  • "We really had a very peaceful and rejuvenating stay at Hope cottage."

    It was so rural that I can imagine the lack of access to amenities could put some people off (decent local shops don't seem to be a thing and the pub just too much of a dangerous walk down the roads there) but for us, we wanted to be away from everything and the cottage served this well. I can imagine it's a lovely place to go in the summer as well so it's a shame it's so booked up. It's easy to go for some lovely walks through the woods and fields which we enjoyed every day. It's nice that nothing is particularly cheaply bought there as in beds and bedding and comfy seating in the lounge. The log fires are very efficient though it would have been nice to have a few more logs as it was very cold during the week and we had to drive off to buy some on more than one occasion. The electric heating there is simply not strong enough to warm the house on a cold evening so we had both fires going most of the time. The kitchen is well enough equipped though the lack of knives for eating was a shame. There seem to be a handful of butter knives but nothing that could effectively cut through tougher foods I'll list a bunch of negatives for some honest feedback and then finish with some positives. 1. Butter knives 2. The food processor just didn't work which was a shame though we made do 3. The microwave is tiny 4. The hot water system, if used normally for three people would be cold come the evening. I personally had a bath during a cold day and the water was cold before the bath was full. The water did not heat up again until the next day 5. Despite a good selection of pans, the lack of a decent frying pan was a shame. I would say that would be an essential purchase for the cottage as we struggled to cook a traditional breakfast there. The smallest frying pan only worked on one of the induction hobs. 6. £35 for an extra dog which I don't think can ever be justified. 7. Nothing that represented a chef's knife. Just small fruit style cutting knife and a slightly larger one as the main knife. Good points. 1. Beautiful and peaceful cottage on the edge of woodland. Everything is so quiet there and super dark at night for star gazers. 2. A really charming and usable cottage with decent sized bedrooms for the style of property. There is one that is clearly the main bedroom but we would have been happy (as a couple) in the mid sized room and maybe even the single bed that folds out as a double. 3. Very friendly and informative house keeper and a lovely card was delivered through the letterbox from the owner which was a very thoughtful touch. 4. Very comfy bed (in the master suite as it's the one we had) with plenty of space for your clothes and tons of room to get dressed etc. 5. Lovely views out of the windows. Especially over the fields towards the woodland. 6. Lovely garden with lots of little places to discover 7. You can bring a dog or two 8. Welcome bottle of Prosecco was much appreciated. More often than not, when we have rented a cottage in the Uk we tend not to go back to them in the future due to always wanting something new to experience though I would love to go back Hope cottage at some point. Especially during the summer months as I can imagine spending a lot more time in the beautiful garden and throwing the windows open on warm summer evenings. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage to anyone so many thanks for letting us stay there

    We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Hope Cottage. To reassure future guests, or indeed yourselves if you wish to return another time, there is a boost function for additional hot water which will provide extra hot water if required at any time, no need for cold baths at Hope Cottage! Having said that, the bath is huge and will use a whole tank of water if you're not careful. The food mixer is an excellent Magimix and has a safety feature which will stop it working if the lid is not on properly. A larger frying pan will be provided asap, large and small Sabatier kitchen knives are available as well as normal Victorian kitchen knives, sorry if you missed these. Additional wood was kindly provided by the owners this year and once used it is guests responsibility to source extra. The fires will eat wood if they are not turned down to their efficient mode. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hope Cottage one day in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7Feb 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage with very comfy beds and bedding."

    Everything included we could have needed. Utility room was brilliant. Great walks from front door. Never used car at all! I think it could do with a deep clean due to being an older property as furniture not moved for a while. We hope to return one summer to make the most of the garden and surrounding area.

    Reviewed by Rachel4.7Dec 2022

  • "This is the second time we have stayed here, which speaks volumes about this place."

    Cannot fault it. No doubt we shall try and return here in the near future. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Firas5.0Oct 2022

  • "This cottage is fantastic in all ways."

    Comfortable. We'll furnished. Lovely garden. We'll equipped. Great dog walks from the door. Good communication from owner and cleaner. Beautiful!

    Reviewed by Matt5.0Aug 2022

  • "A delightful week in a lovely part of Devon."

    We found Hope Cottage pretty easily and quickly got the hang of parking so we could get out ok. The weather was very hot to start with so just lounging in the shade on the deck was great. Everything about Hope Cottage was as described, charming place in a delightful area. One comment - setting the water heater to come on in the middle of the night makes sense unless you're sleeping in that room and are a light sleeper! Also an excellent base for exploring a part of Devon that was fairly unknown to us.

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Aug 2022

  • "Hope Cottage is a real gem."

    The ambience of the cottage, gardens and location together made our stay very special. There is a lovely warmth to the house and a sense that we were guests in your home. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Antony5.0Jul 2022

  • "Lovely traditional cottage in a very peaceful setting."

    . Nice garden, due to nice weather was able to use nearly every day to chill..a garden umbrella would top it when sitting around the outside table.. goods walks all on the doorstep and shopping amenities short drives away...very comfortable beds slept very well..an ironing board and iron would of been very useful to iron my shirts when smarting up for evenings out..otherwise facilities were in abundance..felt like we've all had a very needed relaxing break...would highly recommend Hope cottage for a quiet relaxing break..K&V

    Reviewed by Kenneth3.8Jun 2022

  • "A wonderful cottage holiday, no complaints at all apart from one."

    The garden could not be enjoyed as the grass was a foot long. I appreciate it was ‘No Mow May’, however, a visit by the gardener would have made the holiday more special.

    We stayed the previous week and enjoyed the garden very much. The grass was six inches long at most. It was no mow May and we are very proud that the cottage is environmentally friendly: indeed, we run entirely on zero carbon electricity. Our gardener does a wonderful job making the garden a beautiful space in which to relax and unwind. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Terry4.7May 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage."

    Fantastic wood burners. Very quiet. Lovely views. Walks from the cottage. Perfect rest

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0May 2022

  • "Most wonderful relaxing stay ."

    Cottage and gardens absolutely stunning and beautiful, plus location to all of North Devon just perfect. Cottage more than perfect, clean and so comfortable and we shall definitely be back

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Apr 2022

  • "Just love this cottage!"

    It was our second stay here, and won’t be our last.

    Reviewed by Sophie5.0Apr 2022

  • "Clean, comfortable, spacious cottage with a magical garden all situated in a peaceful, beautiful area."

    We had such a lovely time - thank you.

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Mar 2022

  • "Hope Cottage is in such a beautiful setting."

    The forests and streams are steps away from the front door! It’s cosy but also spacious, the wood burners are huge and excellent, the beds are super comfy… we’ll have to return in summer to utilise the glorious garden!

    Reviewed by Benjamin5.0Dec 2021

  • "Absolutely beautiful property."

    We had a wonderfully relaxing and homely stay and will definitely be rebooking for next year.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Nov 2021

  • "We had a great stay at this cottage."

    It was clean, comfortable and spacious. It was well kitted out and had plenty of life for the fire. We also received a card in the post welcoming us which was a lovely touch. For the gadget geeks out there, the WiFi was good and had no issues speed.

    Reviewed by Firas5.0Oct 2021

  • "Cottage was superb Hosts were fantastic Wonderful holiday"

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2021

  • "We loved our stay at Hope Cottage even though the weather was unkind to us."

    The cottage was well equipped with plenty of books, games and the TV to keep us occupied on rainy days. The bottle of wine and fresh wild flowers were a nice touch on our arrival. This cottage has a remote 'get away from it all' kind of feeling and we felt really relaxed after our stay here.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0May 2021

  • "We have stayed in Hope cottage on many occasions and it is always welcoming and cosy."

    Very peaceful and tucked away in a quiet setting. This time we were unlucky with the weather (I think it was the monsoon season☔️) but we were able to enjoy both local walks and also further afield at Crow Point Braunton.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0May 2021

  • "It’s the second time we have been to this cottage and it always fulfils our expectations."

    Thank you

    Reviewed by Norman5.0Apr 2021

  • "What an amazing cottage, situated in such a peaceful part of Devon with beautiful views and some lovely walks."

    The cottage had everything you could possibly need. Will definitely be staying again.

    Reviewed by Nathan4.4Oct 2020

  • "Cottage is beautiful and cosy."

    Perfect weekend break in beautiful settings and nice walks. Would love to go back one day. Could possibly do with few more logs for log burner though. Although woods very near to restock as long as it's dry.

    Reviewed by Claire4.1Oct 2020

  • "Initial supply of logs was limited - only lasted 1 day and we were led to believe we would have a week's supply."

    Wine glasses were chipped and cracked and so we needed to buy our own. These small issues apart, we had a lovely stay in a very cosy cottage.

    Reviewed by Alan4.1Oct 2020

  • "Absolutely lovely cottage in a peaceful and rural setting, a holiday to get away from it all."

    Facilities homely and welcoming. A card from the owners and bottle of wine a lovely gesture. Walks from the doorstep and wildlife in abundance, thorougly enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline4.4Sep 2020

  • "The cottage itself was amazing and totally exceeded our expectations."

    It was warm, cosy and well equipped, it was a pleasure to stay there and we would love to visit again another time. It would have been good to have a photo of the front of the cottage online that is the first view of the cottage when you arrive. We were not sure if it was the correct cottage as all the photos are of the view of the back, until we saw the 'Hope Cottage' sign! The parking space is tight to get in and out of especially if you have a long vehicle like ours but it is manageable. The wood burners are amazing and the caretaker made sure that there was enough wood for the week, although if we had run out, we could have got some from near by. If you want peace and tranquillity with some beautiful walks, this is the place to go. It would have been good to have a pub within walking distance (nearest 3 miles away) but you can't have everything. The cottage and surroundings made up for it.

    Reviewed by Samantha4.7Oct 2019

  • "This was our fourth visit to Hope Cottage."

    It feels like a home, not a rented cottage, because all the furnishings and artwork, lighting and kitchen equipment are chosen with such taste and care. The owners obviously go the extra mile to make visitors feel at home. It is a perfect spot to relax and unwind with a stunning view from the main bedroom.. The garden is lovely. We had a wonderful time doing local walks, visiting Saunton Sands and Rosemoor Garden. Our dog enjoyed everything too! We will certainly come again.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2019

  • "We have stayed at Hope Cottage on quite a number of occasions and have always found it to be well cared for and very comfortable."

    It is in an ideal position for dog walks from the house too.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Sep 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely but you advertise it as two double rooms and a twin."

    The twin room was one bed with a tressel bed underneath which would have left very little space in the room had we put it up. I wanted this twin room for my parents who prefer to sleep separately. This room is only suitable for children and I think inadequate for two adults. There was no wardrobe storage only a chest of drawers and a few hooks on the wall. The smaller of the two doubles also didn't have any wardrobe space. The room with a king size bed was a beautiful large room with plenty of storage although I really didn't like the gold chair with, I hope, the imitation animal skin on it! Personal choice I guess. The owners kindly left a card and bottle of wine for us. I think you need to make it clear in your description of this property that the twin room is only suitable for a children or children and wardrobe storage is in only one of the three bedrooms.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cottage. The twin room does get rearranged on request: it is clearly advertised as a 2'6" truckle that opens to make a 5'2" double. It is a child's room but can be used by adults too. The listing does explain that there is limited hanging space in the two smaller rooms. The photos accurately depict the rooms too - with hangers visible. The chair you mention is indeed fake fur and is a much loved piece of furniture! Again it can be seen in the photos on the listing. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrea3.8Aug 2019

  • "I have a wish list Comfy bed - Yes it is very important for me Well equipped- certainly is nothing lacking Good walks for our pooch - lovely walks direct from the house and within easy reach of both moors and beaches Garden- very pretty and interesting on different levels with different seating areas Cosy - Yes the wood burner made the place so warm and cosy in the evening WiFi - Yes I cannot seem to function without my iPad and super fast too."

    All of the above added up to a great holiday.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0May 2019

  • "Hope Cottage has a beautiful setting with lovely garden and amazing views."

    We immediately felt at home. Everything one could need was provided , plus those little touches which made it feel like home. Hope cottage is well placed for visiting both coasts, Dartmoor and Exmoor.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Apr 2019

  • "The cottage was delightful, although rather spoilt by a plague of hornets."

    Even when all doors and windows were closed, they still came in, and they were buzzing round the garden all the time.. But I can't blame Sykes Holidays or the owners of the cottage for that! The cottage would benefit from a proper chest of drawers in the main bedroom, and somewhere to plug in a hairdryer near a mirror. The lighting was poor. The kitchen, bathroom and drawing room were really nice and the garden could be lovely if the trees were cut back a bit. At the moment (September) it got very little sunshine. *** Owners response - We have purchased a chest of drawers for the main bedroom. The neighbour has removed the hornet nest from their property. Different parts of the garden get beautiful sunshine at different parts of the day There are ambient lights and reading lights in every room. The main bedroom is triple aspect and the sitting room double aspect so lots of natural light for an old cottage.

    Property Owner

    Reviewed by Frances3.4Sep 2018

  • "Fantastic cottage in a very peaceful surroundings"

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Jul 2018

  • "Lovely peaceful cottage, well equipped and very comfortable."

    We have returned a number of times and never been disappointed.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0May 2018

  • "Great location."

    Wonderful owners, very considerate. Parking a little difficult, but easy to overcome. Will likely book again in the future.

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Apr 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double (one king size), 1 x twin (2'6" beds can link to king size double)
  • Shower room with shower, WC, basin
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, hand shower, WC, basin
  • Kitchen with wood burning stove and dining area
  • Hall
  • Sitting room with wood burning stove
  • Utility room.
  • Night storage heating with wood burning stove
  • Microwave, fridge, freezer, tumble dryer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with DVD, WiFi, Phone, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request, Off road parking for two cars
  • Enclosed garden
  • Two well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • This property has been let with Helpful Holidays since 2013, additional customer reviews are available on request
  • Note: There is extremely limited mobile phone coverage in the vicinity of the property.

The property

This pretty thatched detached cottage is located beside a bridlepath in the Cottwood valley on the edge of Riddlecombe.

With lovely countryside views, this is an excellent retreat for peace and relaxation.

From the big hall head through to the spacious kitchen with extensive equipment, wood burning stove and a dining area.

Kick back and chill out beside the wood burning stove in the huge fireplace in the country style sitting room.

When the sun sinks, head upstairs to your three bedrooms, all comfortable and welcoming.

For sitting outside, take the gate through to your enclosed garden on a slope, with its cobbled terrace and pretty secluded area with pond, decking and lawn.

This is a tranquil area with great walks through woods and beside the river with wildlife to spot, or perhaps go fishing or tee off at one of the two nearby golf courses.

The Tarka Trail is fabulous for walkers or cyclists of all ages.

Dolton village is small but offers no less than three cosy pubs, or Torrington is an ancient town with more on offer.

RHS Rosemoor is stunning for gardeners or anyone who loves a flower display.

Hope Cottage is a bolthole for all things lovely.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

Riddlecombe

Winkleigh is a small rural village in the heart of Devon's rolling countryside and offers a shop, post office, butcher and a cafe, plus two pubs which offer food and the chance to sample traditional ciders and scrumpy from the Winkleigh Cider Company.

This property has been let with Helpful Holidays since 2013, additional customer reviews are available on request.

Note: There is extremely limited mobile phone coverage in the vicinity of the property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute