Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 16 View Larger Image
  • Springfield Cottage - Devon - 1037168 - photo 1
close

Springfield Cottage

Bideford, Devon (Ref. 1037168)

3.2

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

10 Customer Reviews

  • "The property could do with a bit of a update , sofas uncomfortable ,tv very small , double bed you only had to sit on it and it squeaked."

    Loads of wood lice and spiders in the kitchen but mostly down the bottom floor . Dirty behind the bathroom door, and the extractor fan could do with a clean too, vacuum smells and we had to change the bag . Cat poo in garden but I suppose that can not be helped . Property a little hard to find so maybe do a little map . Park your car just past the top of the steps to the property in front of the big concrete posts leading to private properties and land. Good points the property is a prime location to pubs, shops,,buses , bike hire, beautiful instow and Saunton Beach which are dog friendly ( bonus) it’s well equipped in the kitchen department, games, dvd and games for the children or those rainy days .

    Reviewed by KarenJun 2022

  • "The description of the property is miselading and inaccurate, the plumbing is not working and the outside space is not secure for any pet to stay in."

    There are a lot of things that are wrong/different from what stated in the description of this property: 1) The cottage is off a very narrow and steep road (grange road) and it's at its very top, off a sharp bend. The description provided states that parking is available on grange road, though this is not the case. The road is very narrow and neighbours' cars are parked outside their properties. There are then 4 garages and a clear 'no parking' sign. The only option would be to park the car directly opposite the steps that lead to the cottage, though there are actually a public path, which can not be blocked, rather than part of the property. Unless you ahve a very small car, parking is a serious issue at the property. 2) There is no secure outside space. The picture included in the property listing shows in gact a public access gate. The actual outside space of the property is occupied by bins, and not fenced off. It is completely adjacent to a public footpath, very much in use. Similarly, the 2 neighbouring gardens are not fenced off, so aside from having no privacy nor peace, pets are in no way safe to potter outside. We had to keep our dogs indoor at all times when at the cottage. 3) The smell reported by others is accurate, not a pleasent experience. 4) The downstairs (basement) twin room is very cold. This may be because one of the twin beds is squashed against the only radiator in the room. This was not so much of an issue for us because we had no hot water nor heating throughout our 5 days stays, 5) The bathroom is extrimely dump, and its floor is very rubbery and squashy, a plastic type solution, which is not pleasent at all. There is no opening window either which makes it even more humid. 6) It is completely overlooked, and in a very noisy spot right in the middle of a public footpath. Unlike what stated, although amentities are close by, they are over the bridge the other side of Bideford. 7) The staircases inside are very steep, only one has a bannister, which is not ideal, given that the bedrooms and kitchen are on the ground and basement floors, so there is constant need to go up and down. What about our stay: completely unacceptable is what comes to mind. On arrival (check in after 5 PM) there were no keys. After 5h drive on the eve of the Easter Bank Holiday, with 3 dogs we had to spend nearly 2h trying to get hold of the keys and ended up having to spend a night elsewhere which set us back just shy of £200 (this was because the letting agent closes at 7PM, and they would not have been around over the long weekend, so we could not risk not having somewhere to stay). The 2 hours were spent on the phone to both the letting agent and the owner who provided different accounts of the issue and how to resolve it (the housekeeper is on her way with the key, the plumber forgot to leave the key, the locksmith is coming to let you in, you are at the wrong property etc). When we finally got into the cottage, we realised there were serious plumbing issues, with loud banging noise from the boiler and the water pipes as if somebody was trying to kick the door and walls down, or being in an MRI scanner. We reported the issue to the owner and the letting agent, after a sleepless night (we politely did not want to wake her up during the night), and it transpired this was a pre-existing issue. A 'quick fix' she suggested did not work, hence another sleepless night. Her only help was on Easter day to suggest we turn off the boiler so out of 5 nights we spent 1 in a hotel, 2 without sleeping, and 2 without hot water or heating. Outside it was 6 degrees, but the owner told us she gathered it was unseasonably warm so no need for heating or hot water. She also suggested that we could turn the boiler on during the day, but she failed to appreciate that loud banging noise that is constant does not really appeal to paying guests when on holiday whether during the day or at night. The final suggestion - and refusal of sending an emergency plumber - was to look in the green folder left at the cottage which had instructions on how to use the heating. We did point out it did not explain how to fix a broken boiler but it fell on deaf ears. The toilet stopped flushing on day 4, and the only night we cooked we realised out of the 4 hobs, only 1 works (the others are jammed). I have already mentioned the inaccuracy in the description of the cottage. Did we get a refund, an apology, or a goodwill gesture of any sort? No. Will we go back to Devon? Yes. Will we ever consider going back to this cottage? No. We reported serious issues in good faith, during our first holiday since 2019, and it was disappointing to be treated with contempt, and disregard when we only asked for basic utilities. Given previous reviews we knew this was a period property that came with issues, and was not to everybody's taste, but we did not expect there to be no adequate plumbing for the basic use of toilet, washing facilities and heating.

    We strive to provide an enjoyable stay for our guests. We are sorry on this occasion the guests did not enjoy their stay. We endeavour to resolve issues reported by guests as soon as practically possible. Below we respond to the points they make:. Guest comment: The description of the property is miselading and inaccurate, the plumbing is not working and the outside space is not secure for any pet to stay in. There are a lot of things that are wrong/different from what stated in the description of this property: 1) The cottage is off a very narrow and steep road (grange road) and it's at its very top, off a sharp bend. The description provided states that parking is available on grange road, though this is not the case. The road is very narrow and neighbours' cars are parked outside their properties. There are then 4 garages and a clear 'no parking' sign. The only option would be to park the car directly opposite the steps that lead to the cottage, though there are actually a public path, which can not be blocked, rather than part of the property. Unless you ahve a very small car, parking is a serious issue at the property. Owner response: We are sorry you felt the description is inaccurate. We have endeavoured to be clear and other guests have not expressed the same views. The description states clearly the cottage is accessed by steps. We make it clear it is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Parking is available on Grange Road which is at the top of the steps. We have not been told before of guests not being able to park. Guest comment 2) There is no secure outside space. The picture included in the property listing shows in fact a public access gate. The actual outside space of the property is occupied by bins, and not fenced off. It is completely adjacent to a public footpath, very much in use. Similarly, the 2 neighbouring gardens are not fenced off, so aside from having no privacy nor peace, pets are in no way safe to potter outside. We had to keep our dogs indoor at all times when at the cottage. Owner response: The gate does not allow public access. The cottage description says there is a right of way only for residents of springfield terrace. The residents have alternative routes to their houses, but very occasionally they may pass through the area adjacent to springfield cottage. We want to ensure guests are aware of this and hence it is in the description. Guest comment 3) The smell reported by others is accurate, not a pleasent experience. Owner response: We have responded to this feedback. We have received expert advice from a damp specialist and in May 2022 we completely refurbished the bathroom Guest comment 4) The downstairs (basement) twin room is very cold. This may be because one of the twin beds is squashed against the only radiator in the room. This was not so much of an issue for us because we had no hot water nor heating throughout our 5 days stays, Owner response : If guests turn off the boiler (as they decided to during this stay) then the bedroom would feel cool. We understand the guests were sleeping in the double room not the twin room. Guest comment 5) The bathroom is extremely damp, and its floor is very rubbery and squashy, a plastic type solution, which is not pleasent at all. There is no opening window either which makes it even more humid. Owner response : We have since established the cause of the damp and had the bathroom completely refurbished. The window does open but it may have been locked. There are keys to unlock all windows in the property along with guidance in the cottage folder. There should have been a key on the hook adjacent to the bathroom window. We apologise if this had been moved. Guest comment 6) It is completely overlooked, and in a very noisy spot right in the middle of a public footpath. Unlike what stated, although amentities are close by, they are over the bridge the other side of Bideford. Owner response: we are not sure what the guests means by being over-looked. As the description says there is a public footpath to the centre of Bideford over the ancient bridge. Guest comment: 7) The staircases inside are very steep, only one has a bannister, which is not ideal, given that the bedrooms and kitchen are on the ground and basement floors, so there is constant need to go up and down. Owner response: As mentioned above this cottage is not suitable for those with mobility issues. We make that clear in the description. We are sorry if you found you had booked a cottage which was unsuitable for your level of mobility. Guest comment : What about our stay: completely unacceptable is what comes to mind. On arrival (check in after 5 PM) there were no keys. After 5h drive on the eve of the Easter Bank Holiday, with 3 dogs we had to spend nearly 2h trying to get hold of the keys and ended up having to spend a night elsewhere which set us back just shy of £200 (this was because the letting agent closes at 7PM, and they would not have been around over the long weekend, so we could not risk not having somewhere to stay). The 2 hours were spent on the phone to both the letting agent and the owner who provided different accounts of the issue and how to resolve it (the housekeeper is on her way with the key, the plumber forgot to leave the key, the locksmith is coming to let you in, you are at the wrong property etc). Owner response : There was much confusion when the guests arrived. The guests unfortunately had looked in the wrong place for the keys. Rather than the key safe next to the front door (as per Sykes instructions), they looked in the unlocked letter box attached to the cottage wall. Since we have never had this experience before, the owner had presumed an error and to remedy the situation quickly called out a locksmith. It soon emerged that the guest had unfortunately made the error and the keys were in the Keysafe all along. Guest comment: When we finally got into the cottage, we realised there were serious plumbing issues, with loud banging noise from the boiler and the water pipes as if somebody was trying to kick the door and walls down, or being in an MRI scanner. We reported the issue to the owner and the letting agent, after a sleepless night (we politely did not want to wake her up during the night), and it transpired this was a pre-existing issue. A 'quick fix' she suggested did not work, hence another sleepless night. Her only help was on Easter day to suggest we turn off the boiler so out of 5 nights we spent 1 in a hotel, 2 without sleeping, and 2 without hot water or heating. Outside it was 6 degrees, but the owner told us she gathered it was unseasonably warm so no need for heating or hot water. She also suggested that we could turn the boiler on during the day, but she failed to appreciate that loud banging noise that is constant does not really appeal to paying guests when on holiday whether during the day or at night. The final suggestion - and refusal of sending an emergency plumber - was to look in the green folder left at the cottage which had instructions on how to use the heating. We did point out it did not explain how to fix a broken boiler but it fell on deaf ears. The toilet stopped flushing on day 4, and the only night we cooked we realised out of the 4 hobs, only 1 works (the others are jammed). I have already mentioned the inaccuracy in the description of the cottage. Did we get a refund, an apology, or a goodwill gesture of any sort? No. Will we go back to Devon? Yes. Will we ever consider going back to this cottage? No. We reported serious issues in good faith, during our first holiday since 2019, and it was disappointing to be treated with contempt, and disregard when we only asked for basic utilities. Given previous reviews we knew this was a period property that came with issues, and was not to everybody's taste, but we did not expect there to be no adequate plumbing for the basic use of toilet, washing facilities and heating. Owner response: We apologised for the noise from the heating system which has since been rectified. We provided compensation for the disturbance it caused. We have addressed the problem by replacing a radiator thermostat. We relayed a fix but unfortunately it didn’t work well enough to quiet the noise for sleeping with the heating on through the night. The hot water acts without the heating on because there is a combi boiler so there was no need to turn off the boiler and be without hot water. We apologise for the less than satisfactory stay this guest experienced, we endeavour to sort issues reported by guests promptly. We do not like to fall short of the standard, we and our guests would expect. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ValeriaApr 2022

  • "We are less than satisfied with our experience, the check in/check out times are bizarre and almost unworkable for families, checking out at 9am on the last day is unrealistic, check in at 5pm is also unrealistic for anyone like us who had a few hours travel."

    Why dont you use the same check in/check out times as most hotels/holiday properties of check out at 12 and check in at 2pm? The property itself has a lot of issues, there is a dank damp smell throughout the property. The heating system bangs and bumps and sounds like a motor bike when it's working, thats usually very early in the morning. Off street parking is very difficult due to the steepness and how narrow the road is. if the above issued were resolved this would be a good property, the location is very good, just a few steps away from the Tarka trail.

    in response to guest feedback, we have completely gutted and refurbished the bathroom Property Owner

    Reviewed by JamesFeb 2022

  • "The front door and porch including steps into the porch look like they haven't been cleaned in years (first impressions)."

    As you enter the front door you are hit by an overwhelming stench of damp and must,which does not go away,hence clothes bedding etc always feel damp and unpleasant. The humidifier (supplied) was in constant use but couldn't cope it had to be emptied frequently,hence the windows were damp and not very clean, I must agree with Mrs.Clarkes comments,(back in May)the water pressure to the shower and sinks is unbelievably high,hence everywhere gets wet and it's not adjustable,but this I think is only part of the problem,during heavy rain on the Wednesday the guttering could not cope. I will also clarify that the public walk through from the top road to the bottom road is in constant use,hence lack of privacy,all windows are on the Public side,so either close the curtains or put up with people gazing.Also used early morning by workers cutting through to get to town. The outside area is not a pleasant place to enjoy breakfast with two dustbins,several crates for recycling,the grass is mainly weeds and after being cut distributed around the so called garden,plus the outlook is a wooden fence alongside the public steps. Inside the house is well stocked with cutlery,glasses,crockery etc,there are the normal appliances,but the general appearance is that it could all do with a general upgrade,this is my honest opinion and I have to say there was no joy returning to the property at night.overall a very disappointing seven days.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Springfield Cottage. We are sorry you had some concerns during your stay, contact numbers are provided in the cottage for guests to call if they have any problems. Because you didn't contact us we were unfortunately unable to resolve any issues during your holiday. Due to the age and position of the cottage, we recognize at certain times there are issues with humidity in the property. We're in the process of making improvements to resolve this issue. Springfield Cottage is conveniently situated in the lovely busy town of Bideford and depending on the time of year there can be lots of visitors and associated hustle and bustle. Your comments regarding the outside area have been passed to our Caretaker. We have taken this onboard, and this could have been rectified swiftly if we had been made aware during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EarlSep 2021

  • "Directions to the cottage could be a bit clearer, perhaps state it is the far end of Grange Road!"

    Also, make it clear you go down the steps from where you park &benter the cottage into the kitchen. Stairs to the left lead down to bathroom & twin room, through kitchen to double room & stairs off kitchen lead up to dining/living area! Also, door off dining area leads to steps down to garden area. Garden could have been a bit tidier & we moved the bin to make sitting out there more pleasant. Great location for exploring Devon/Cornwall - Bideford is a lovely little town. Retail outlet worth a visit as was the Brewers Fayre near there

    Thank you Louise for your feedback. We’ve taken on board your comments about directions and description of layout, We’ve asked our care taker to check the outside area between guests. Pleased you like Bideford, we love it too! Property Owner

    Reviewed by LouiseJul 2021

  • "Needs some new furniture and a parking"

    Thank you John for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you arrived to waste from previous guests. That shouldn’t happen. following your feedback I asked our caretaker to check waste is dealt with between guests. We have replaced pillows since your stay. As you say the cottage isn’t suitable For anyone with mobility issues. We aim to make that clear in the description . And we’re keen our guests are able to easily move between floors to enjoy the views. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnJun 2021

  • "First some positive points: Bideford is well situated for local walks and for exploring Devon as a base and people were very friendly and full of suggestions for days out without us ever having to use the car."

    The very top floor of the cottage is lovely for sitting, relaxing and dining and offers a sideway view of the river (though slightly obscured by trees)and the cottage is well equipped with all appliances functioning. The heating works well and there is plenty of hot water. However: the ground floor (kitchen) and lower ground floor areas (twin room,bathroom) smelled terribly musty and no amount of airing/heating, air fresheners/diffuser or dehumidifiers could combat that smell. The smell hits you as soon as you come into the front door, it lingers and is very unpleasant. The lower ground floor twin room is damp and during our stay we certainly had to empty the dehumidifier tray 3 x a day. We think the problem area may be the bathroom, where a very powerful shower and its spray has saturated the floors over months and months of stays, but also because part of the cottage is below street level.(damp course?) We also do not feel that the outside area can be described as "a lovely spot to begin each day with a hearty breakfast whilst you canine companions play". It is a fenced narrow grass space with a small table near the bins and recycling area and the path for the neighbour - no views. The cottage is situated 1/2 way alongside a very long steep stone/concrete stairway. This is a public foot path/right of way leading from the higher situated areas of houses "East-the River" directly past the cottage then further down to the Tarka Trail and the old bridge across to Bideford. Therefore there are a lot of people using this path throughout the day (on their way to/from school, the shops, or even nights out) and they potentially all can look into the bedrooms and the living space of the cottage, although most are too occupied watching their footing on the steep steps. As mentioned you can park your car in Grange Road just at the top of the steep steps for access to the cottage, but be aware that this road is very narrow and steep and in order to access this road from/to the town one has to negotiate a very sharp blind bend.

    Reviewed by ManonMay 2021

  • "We put out all rubbish left by previous occupants but, presumably as it wasn't in black plastic bags, they left it there whereupon the gulls proceeded to start emptying it all around the area!"

    It needs to be clear to visitors that the binmen don't take any rubbish not in the correct bags. We found we needed to be organised taking things up and down between floors!

    Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear of your negative experience. Had we been notified of this issue during your stay, we would have been able to resolve it for you much sooner. Our caretaker has assured us that all waste is handled appropriately, so it is very unfortunate you encountered such an issue during your stay. Please be assured that your review will be taken into consideration, as we very much value all our guest feedback. We thank you again for your review and hope to accommodate you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidApr 2021

  • "Great location."

    Is worth bringing a tourch as the street lights only came on one evening, making it very difficult to see and walk on the slippery steps.

    Reviewed by SallyOct 2020

  • "Cottage aligned with its star rating and was practical for our two dogs, particularly on the damp rainy week that we visited."

    Couple of points worth being aware of: the foot path that runs along the side of the cottage is used much more frequently than noted in the listing and the bathroom ventilation is quite poor leading to a damp smell throughout the property. Big plus is the cottages location in terms of access to the Tarka trail and South West coast- we literally rolled out of the door each day turned left and with 10 metres or so you hit the trail and could turn right or left for pleasant walks, each with a very different vista.

    Reviewed by JulieOct 2020

Show more

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Two bedrooms; 1 x ground-floor king-size and 1 x lower-ground-floor twin
  • Lower-ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • First floor living/dining area with double sofa bed and electric woodburning effect fire.
  • Gas central heating and electric woodburning effect fire
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, washer/dryer, TV, DVD player, iPod dock, DAB radio, WiFi and a selection of books and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Please note: Linen not provided for the sofa bed
  • Roadside parking
  • Gravelled outside space with furniture
  • Three well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub within 0.1 miles
  • Note: There is steep step access to the property which may not be suitable for those less able
  • Note: Outside space has a right of way to neighbours which they very occasionally pass through
  • Note: Outside space can be accessed via the first floor
  • Note: This property may not be suitable for people that are infirm or with mobility issues.

The property

This delightful cottage which is arranged over three floors has far reaching views over the River Torridge.

The property is ideally positioned being close to the Tarka Trail, the ancient bridge and all the amenities of the harbour town of Bideford.

It provides a fabulous base to explore the area.

The golden sandy beaches of Instow and Westward Ho are a short drive away as are numerous other attractions.

This property is well suited to a family of four or a couple seeking an action-packed retreat to Devon. Take the steep steps down to the beautiful cottage and enter the galley-style kitchen, well-equipped with a wonderful range of appliances for when you want to prepare a tasty home-made meal. Discover your sleeping spots and settle down your belongings; on the ground floor sits the master king-size room, offering river views. The second bedroom is on the lower-ground-floor, a lovely twin room sitting next to the bathroom.

With an endless supply of hot water from the combi boiler, it’s perfect for indulging in a relaxing soak in the bath before spending a relaxing evening. The top floor hosts the living/dining space with scenic river views.

Here you can sit around the dining table together, or unwind on the snug sofas.

Gas central heating and an electric woodburning effect stove provide a cosy and homely aura as you settle down and make the most of the amenities including a TV, DVD player, iPod dock and DAB radio! The outside space makes a lovely spot for a hearty breakfast as your canine companions play, before pulling on your walking boots and joining the beauty of the South West coast path or Tarka Trail.

The trail inspired by Henry Williamson's novel 'Tarka the Otter', the 163-mile route follows the journeys of Tarka, leading you through a designated UNESCO Biosphere Reserve, you can expect to find an abundance of breath-taking sights and a plethora of nature along the way. The Tarka Trail is a fabulous route for family traffic-free cycling, with bike hire nearby. There are a number of enjoyable boat trips available from the town’s harbour, including a fantastic two-hour trip which takes visitors out to the isolated island of Lundy, with its resident seal colony and puffins. Situated at the heart of Bideford, the town boasts a range of wonderful attractions; take a stroll along the River Torridge to find riverside restaurants of all kinds, as well as attractions such as the Pannier Market, Bideford Railway Heritage Centre, The Burton Art Gallery and Museum and plenty of shops to while away the hours in. The Affinity Devon Outlet Shopping Centre is well-worth a visit if you're seeking a relaxing day and a wonderful shopping experience.

Or head to Westward Ho! with its great surf and wide, dog-friendly beach and abundance of family-friendly attractions. Three miles north of Bideford is the pretty fishing village of Appledore, where visitors can enjoy a relaxing day trip strolling along the quay, and perhaps catch the ferry across to the neighbouring village of Instow, with its beach, pubs and yacht club. With access to the Exmoor National Park too, Springfield Cottage is a true delight of a base for exploring Devon.

View on map

About the location

BIDEFORD

Barnstaple 10 miles.

Straddling the Torridge estuary, the quaint bustling town of Bideford boasts a medieval bridge, town quay, quaint pannier market and vibrant shopping area - all well worth a visit. For the more active, several major surfing beaches, golf courses, theme parks and other attractions are nearby and the South West coast path passes close by on its way into Cornwall. The beautiful cliff-top fishing village of Clovelly is half an hour by road, and the delights of Exmoor and Dartmoor can be reached in under an hour. Surf the waves, stroll through pretty villages, wander along the Tarka Trail, visit a famous garden or have some fun at one of the local theme or farm parks – it’s all on the doorstep.

Region Information

There are several steps leading to the entrance of the property

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas