Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 10 minutes ago

1 of 34 View Larger Image
  • 2 Channel View - Devon - 994915 - photo 1
close

8 people have recently viewed this property

2 Channel View

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 994915)

4.5

(12 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Seaside
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Highchair available

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

19 Customer Reviews

  • "Wonderful property with spectacular views."

    Easy walk to town center. The property is furnished to a high standard and the kitchen is well equipped.

    Reviewed by HalApr 2022

  • "This is the second time we have stayed in this excellent property, which has wonderful views from many rooms, is very comfortable, warm and is well-placed for enjoying all that is best in Salcombe."

    We had a wonderful stay. The steps up are steep, but that gives the excellent views and the parking is a big bonus. All small queries were very helpfully and quickly resolved by the owners, but our only contact with Sykes Cottages was when we arrived and found that the keys had not been left for us as promised. This was resolved in about an hour and we were glad it wasn't raining! We guess that the lack of replacement towels and sheets at the end of the first week, which we had expected, was due to COVID. Full marks to the owners but very little praise for Sykes Cottages, except that Channel View was clean when we arrived.

    Reviewed by AdrianFeb 2022

  • "Beautiful view and very comfortable home so I have given it 5 stars but could easily have rated it 1 star."

    This was because we were significantly impacted by the building work happening next door. Coast and Country noted it on the listing but it was right at the end of the information about the property so very easily missed. We were woken at 8am every morning with heavy drilling noise which was not pleasant and impacted on our enjoyment of our holiday. Nothing the owner could have done as all perfectly legal I just wish it was made more obvious on the website as we had lots of booking options and would have picked somewhere else had we realised at the time of the booking.

    Many thanks for taking the time We are pleased you enjoyed the amazing views and lovely house. We are sorry you were disturbed by the building work, as you say there is a red warning that flashes up when booking the property. Unfortunately, during recent times, ground work at the neighbouring building site involves piling and drilling. Fortunately, a recent update from the builders explain that all groundworks and evacuation will be completed in Spring 2022 and all infrastructure late 2023. We hope you enjoyed your stay in spite of the works and look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by LizOct 2021

  • "Caring owners, new carpets, facilities just what you need to get away from it all especially with the wonderful views and setting."

    The building works next door were noticeable, but did not spoil the experience.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at 2 Channel View and that the facilities it has to offer were able to meet your requirements. It is unfortunate that building works were going on during your stay but we’re pleased you were still able to enjoy the stunning views on offer. We have received update that the groundwork is due to finish spring 2022 and infrastructure completed late 2023. We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Salcombe in the near future. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by SimonOct 2021

  • "Amazing location with wonderful views, enjoyed a coffee in bed every morning while watching the river activity’s and general coastal views."

    Spent the majority of the hols enjoying the views from the lounge and patio too..

    Many thanks for leaving your feedback. We are so pleased to read that your enjoyed your stay here in Salcombe and were able to enjoy the stunning views we have on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by RachelAug 2021

  • "Beautiful views and location and the perfect size place for us as a family of five."

    Reviewed by DanielJul 2021

  • "Lovely home in an amazing location."

    Friendly communications and local information from the owners

    Reviewed by SueJun 2021

  • "The weather was dire with rain every day and two named storms, so we had plenty of time in 2, Channel View."

    The views are brilliant, the comfort, decor was perfect and all three bedrooms as well as the other main rooms all had great views. Any tiny issues were quickly resolved by Jane, who couldn't have been more helpful. By choosing February, we expected some rough weather, so brought PC and laptop and the internet enabled us to do lots of writing and work as well as reading and coastal walks when the sun shone occasionally. 2, Channel View is very well situated for the shops, restaurants and pubs and the excellent bookshop and other shops. Having car parking was very useful and the steps gave us some much-needed exercise from time to time. They were no problem for a couple of (reasonably fit) 75 year olds!

    What a lovely review - thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back to 2 Channel View again soon (when the weather is more favourable!) Property Owner

    Reviewed by AdrianFeb 2020

  • "Although the property is in an amazing position with glorious views, the house itself was so very disappointing."

    It seemed that the only effort made to ready the house for the next inhabitants had been changing the bedlinen, putting out towels and emptying the bins. The house was so very dirty - smeared grime everywhere, dirty kitchen utensils and drawers, dirty clothes left in a couple of the bedroom drawers, large patch of mould in the main bathroom, crumbs all in the table mats, etc. It was really upsetting to be aware of the state of the house - having to wash the pots and pans before using them, wiping down the surfaces - not what one would expect having paid a very high price for the high season. There were no house instructions showing where to find the fuse box for example. Coast and Country did send some cleaners round the next day after our arrival to clean through - but for the price we paid, not good enough. All very disappointing.

    RESPONSE POSTED IN 2020 - Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay. We were disappointed that the cleanliness was not up to standard for your holiday. Following a review, a new housekeeping team has been appointed for the 2020 season. Along with several upgrades to the property (new carpets, decoration) we are confident that all these issues have been addressed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AntheaAug 2019

  • "The standard of cleaning was only just adequate."

    It seems the changeover only involves changing sheets and towels and emptying the bins. The oven was not clean, the kitchen floor was sticky and covered in crumbs and overall, the property needed a good clean including the windows.

    Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay at 2 Channel View. We would like to apologise that the property was not presented at the level we strive to maintain, if this had been reported on arrival we would have got the cleaners back there as soon as possible to rectify the issues you mentioned. We have fed this back to the cleaner and property checker and will ensure we are reaching and maintaining our usual high standards of cleanliness. We hope that you still managed to enjoy your stay and come back to Devon in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JaneJun 2019

  • "Fabulous location."

    Comfortable house with amazing views. Loved it. Need to bear in mind 42 steps leading up to front door, so not for infirm/unfit but we were aware of this when we booked and this is why there are such lovely views being so high up.

    Reviewed by JoanApr 2019

  • "Views are amazing and the house very comfortable"

    Reviewed by VanessaApr 2019

  • "Great views - love watching the south sands ferry"

    Sep 2017

  • "The view from this property was outstanding"

    Jun 2017

  • "Lovely location with beautiful views and everything a family could wish for."

    If you do not mind climbing steps.

    Ms Carol SmethamApr 2017

  • "Good overall standard but dissapointed with grubby condition of loose covers on sofas"

    Mr J CurtisNov 2016

  • "2 Channel View has one major problem!"

    It's so nice you won't want to go home! The view is stunning! Only downside is the 50 steps you have to carry your stuff up but the house and view made it well worth it!

    Helen HorrocksAug 2016

  • "Excellent"

    Jul 2016

  • "Great position with views over the inlet."

    More should be made of the 54 steps to the front door on Coast&Country website as this could be an issue for people with mobility problems. Loose guttering on top floor dormer window needs repairing.( Can be heard banging when windy which is annoying at night)

    Oct 2015

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King-size, 2 x twin (one with en suite)
  • Family bathroom (bath, shower over, wash-hand basin, w.c, shaver point and heated towel rail)
  • Cloakroom with w.c and wash-hand basin
  • Open plan kitchen/breakfast room
  • Open plan lounge/dining room
  • Sunroom
  • Furnished stone terrace.
  • Electric cooker (with double oven), washing machine, dishwasher, microwave and fridge/freezer and breakfast bar
  • Flat screen TV and DVD player
  • Wifi
  • Telephone available
  • Parking for two cars on private drive
  • Gas-fired central heating and hot water throughout
  • All duvets, pillows, bed linen and towels are provided - tenants require towels and tea-towels.

The property

2 Channel View is a comfortable and spacious three-storey home, offering superb uninterrupted views of the Salcombe estuary and sandy beaches of Mill Bay and Sunny Cove.

The property, also enjoys the benefits of off-road parking for two cars, is presented to a good standard throughout, and situated only a short walk from Salcombe town centre. The property is accessed up a steep flight of steps (42) from the driveway to the front door.

Off the hallway is a cloakroom with w.c and wash...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

Please note there are 42 steep steps up to the property from the parking area.
We will shortly be updating the page with new photographs as many improvements have been made.

Please note there is a major development happening at the property next door to 2 Channel View – this will be ongoing into Spring 2023. The works taking place are likely to be disruptive throughout the working week as the development includes the full construction of new apartments with underground parking. Please contact the Salcombe office for more information.