Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 21 View Larger Image
  • 4 Ringrone - Devon - 995078 - photo 1
close

12 people have recently viewed this property

4 Ringrone

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995078)

4.4

(27 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

41 Customer Reviews

  • "A great place to stay if you do not want to use the car much (the approach roads are narrow and steep with occasional passing places) - with good private and off-road parking facilties provided."

    Lovely views of Salcombe estuary and the coast beyond from the terrace and main rooms. The apartment is very spacious and has excellent facilites. The only thing missing that we might have found useful was a hairdryer. Otherwise great attention has been paid to providing everything that might be needed. There was a rather damp/musty smell from the area where the washing machine is housed - but it could be excluded by closing the relevant door! The local scenery is gorgeous. An added bonus for us as NT members was the nearby Overbecks garden (about 5 minutes walk) which was beautiful with superb views of Salcombe estuary and the coast eastward. There are several really enjoyable coastal walks direct from the apartment. There is not much available locally for eating out. To be sure of a table we would recommend booking for the good but quite pricey South Sands Hotel. All in all a very enjoyable stay that we hope to repeat in the future!

    Reviewed by RobinMay 2022

  • "It is a bit musty at the back and side of the property but didn’t affect us too much but puts you off eating in the kitchen."

    Also no hairdryer which is very silly on this day and age. Views magnificent but we think all owners ought to put together and put a bigger sign at the end of the lane, a bit hard to find.

    Reviewed by JeanMay 2022

  • "An excellent location with fantastic views but renters should be forewarned about the limited amenities in the area, including the limited shopping for food and only one decent restaurant nearby which we found to be excessively expensive; but enjoyable."

    Visitors should also be warned about the hilly location which would make it difficult for visitors with cardiovascular problems. The building itself could do with a major refurbishment as it is reminiscent of an elderly home with a musty smell.

    Reviewed by AnthonyApr 2022

  • "4 Ringrone is a superb apartment."

    Not only are the proportions of the apartment excellent but the views are absolutely breathtaking. The furnishings throughout are comfortable and well organised and the kitchen is functional and stylish. The beds are very comfortable and the soft furnishings of a very high quality, especially the curtains. To say that we loved it is an understatement and we were exceptionally blessed with the weather. We felt privileged to be staying there. Thank you.

    Reviewed by StevieMar 2022

  • "The property was very comfortable and well described."

    Beautiful views, and perfect for our needs, lovely access to stunning walks with Salcombe witching walking distance.

    Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you found the property comfortable. The views this property offers are just stunning. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnnemarieOct 2021

  • "Apartment very spacious, well equipped and warm and comfortable."

    Unfortunately we found the negotiation of all the very narrow roads to access property to go out and back each day, very stressful and certainly tested driving skills! Maybe the position of this holiday home should have further information regards it's situation and for many people not so easy, so much so we decided to cut our holiday short by a couple of days!! Our stay was overshadowed by this problem although we could not fault the actual property in any way!

    Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We were pleased you enjoyed the apartment. We were only sorry to read that you had some difficulty accessing the property via the narrow lanes. We have requested for the red notes to be updated highlighting this. We do hope you were still able to enjoy Salcombe and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by VivienOct 2021

  • "Although the apartment was spacious and extremely well appoiinted, the bad musty smell greeted us when we arrived and it was also there when we left."

    There were damp patches on the walls in the kitchen which didn't help the smell. The bathroom with the shower smelt particularly unpleasant. Lots of plus points - views breathtaking, signage not particular helpful initially to find the apartment.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were sorry to read that the apartment was not presented satisfactorily upon your arrival. We have passed this on to the both the housekeeping team and the owners. We can only apologise and hope that this did not detract from what is a beautiful week in Salcombe. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by TonySep 2021

  • "Just a lovely place to stay."

    A real home from home. We've stayed there before and we will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by JaneMay 2021

  • "The apartment was very nice, comfortable and well furnished."

    I wishI had known more about the location beforehand. It is a very steep drive to get to the house which means that anyone with walking problems is unable to get anywhere unless they use their car.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Thank you for your comments concerning the apartments accessibility. We have requested that the red notes be updated on the website so that all future bookings are aware. Despite this, we do hope you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by CatherineMay 2021

  • "4 Ringtone had fabulous estuary and sea views, was very quiet and peaceful and the apartment was very large (for 4 people) and comfortable, a perfect holiday retreat."

    The owner has ensured there are plenty of books and games available to keep you occupied (great if the weather is awful!) and there is a patio area to the front and side of the property for sunny days and relaxation. However, there was a strange unidentifiable smell in the main bedroom (very strong) and the lounge ?damp ?mould, leaving the windows open did help. Overbecks National Trust is just a short walk from the property and well worth a visit. Salcombe is a lovely small town which you can either walk(approx 40 minutes), drive or catch the Tractor Ferry to. The drive to Ringtones was a single lane track from North Sands but this is not unusual in small coastal towns and there are areas to either pull or reverse into. We had a great week and would definately stay again.

    Reviewed by FionaApr 2021

  • "Arriving in the dark was challenging, even though we knew our way to the building and I am reasonably confident driving on narrow and not very familiar roads; I think that a 5."

    00pm availability time in winter is too late. We found the key safe easily and set it to the right code but it did not pull down so we looked for another one. When we could not find another, I examined the key safe carefully with the torch on my mobile and spotted the areas on either side which need to be pressed in and got it open; I suggest that the instructions are amended to say that once the number is set you need to squeeze the two sides to open it. There is a smell of dam/mustiness somewhere around the bathroom/corridor outside it. We could not identify the problem, but wonder if there is a minor leak somewhere underneath.

    Reviewed by JamesOct 2020

  • "We stayed for a week in this charming apartment in September and had a wonderful holiday."

    We found the furnishings comfortable and the kitchen very well equipped. The main bathroom and shower were fine and the apartment was generally clean although the shower sceen in the small shower room was dirty and so we didn't use it. The jewel of the apartment, though, has to be the glorious views and we were lucky to be able to sit out in the evenings in the lovely grounds. There are some glorious walks from the doorstep and National Trust properties Overbecks and Greenway are well worth a visit. The drive to the property is not suitable for nervous drivers but well worth it. We would love to return again soon.

    Reviewed by SusanSep 2020

  • "A really enjoyable weeks holiday, in great accomodation,made even more enjoyable by seven days of sunshine."

    Only one very minor blemish regarding "cleanliness" and that was some black "milldew" around the edge of the bath, in the main bathroom, spoiling the overall effect We easily removed this black "milldew" by wiping it off with some Bleach.

    Reviewed by RSep 2020

  • "The apartment is very spacious, comfortable and clean, and is the most well equipped holiday home I have ever stayed in."

    There is ample parking for two cars and lots of outdoor space to relax and enjoy the scenery. The location and views are stunning but the downside to this is that access is difficult especially in holiday season when there is a lot of traffic around. The surrounding roads are very narrow and steep with numerous hairpin bends and blind corners. Quite obviously this is just a fact of life for cliffside properties, however we did feel that the directions could have been more explicit. "Turn right into Sandside Road, go past the Sands Hotel and you will find the property on the right just after the Overbeck's sign" did not prepare us for two miles of narrow zigzagging roads down past north sands and up past south sands before we even reached the hotel, let alone the property. Eventually we had to stop and phone for clearer directions. Having said all that, once we did actually find Ringrone we were very happy. It is incredibly beautiful and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Just improve the directions!

    Reviewed by FelicitySep 2020

  • "This is a delightful property."

    We appreciated the welcome pack of tea and biscuits, plus the addition of cleaning products. We have holidayed at this property before and would recommend it especially if you love walking .

    Reviewed by SheilaFeb 2020

  • "Situation was fantastic, place just needed a bit of updating and a good deep clean, fusty smell , a lot of mould in the shower."

    Cutlery and crockery, glasses and the cupboards they were in were not clean. Took the shine off what could have been the best place we have been in this country. Although there were quite a few negative comments in the visitors comments book none of them have been put right . Shame but it won't put us off booking with you again.

    Reviewed by StephenSep 2019

  • "Fantastic location by the coastal path, superb views from windows and sitting out areas."

    Reviewed by DianeJun 2019

  • "Ringrone is a beautiful and clearly well loved family holiday home."

    There were elements of it that we loved and met our expectations and in some ways exceeded them. The sitting room is beautiful with fantastic views and lots of light. The kitchen is really well equipped and the whole property is larger than expected. However, I do feel that the bathrooms and the bedrooms need some updating and that the cleaning between lets could be better. When we arrived after a long and tiring journey we had to put away a travel cot that had been left up and deal with rubbish including dirty nappies that had been left on the patio and was blowing around. The seagull proof bag wasn’t seagull proof. I reported this to the office and the rubbish was removed but the damaged bag left. It is unclear where to leave the rubbish and perhaps this led to it being left behind but I would have hoped this would have been sorted out by housekeeping? Despite the above we did enjoy our holiday.

    Reviewed by StewartJun 2019

  • "The pictures do not do this property justice, the ceilings were high with large bay windows in the living room, so you can see the most beautiful view."

    Theres a nice little courtyard area with seating, nice in the evening with a glass of wine. The road to the property is very narrow and steep. Lovely property, with beautiful views. We had a wonderful stay.

    Reviewed by MarieJun 2019

  • "The accommodation is even more spacious than expected and the views were exceptional, we always look for accommodation with great views and we think this is the best we have ever had."

    Reviewed by MartinApr 2019

  • "4 ringrone is really a home from home in a beautiful setting, and perfect for us with our 2 young children."

    We will be returning at some point in the not too distant future.

    Reviewed by JaneApr 2019

  • "The apartment is large, very well equipped, extremely comfortable and with stunning views and walks on your doorstep."

    The road to it is a little hairy and is 30-40 mins hilly walk in to Salcombe but having said that, we would stay again. `````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````i

    Reviewed by SharonApr 2019

  • "Absolutely fabulous!"

    What a beautiful location - a joy to wake each morning to that view and the sunshine streaming in! Very comfortable and attractive accommodation and equipped for every requirement!

    Reviewed by JuneMar 2019

  • "Spacious comfortable accommodation and lovely views from most of the windows."

    Relaxing atmosphere. Our first experience of Sykes Holiday cottages following recommendation from friend. Only disappointments were lack of welcome - many cottages we stay in leave a tray set up for a cuppa and cake or biscuit or even a cream tea so to arrive to not even a pint of milk in the fridge after a long tiring journey and no loo roll in the main bathroom was very off-putting. The twisty narrow roads to the nearest shop make this a double blow.

    Reviewed by AnthonyMar 2019

  • "Super cottage amazing wiev great walks around ."

    Very comfortable well equipped quiet and very peaceful . Ideal for winding down from a busy life and to connect what really matters.. The best cottage we have stayed. Already recommended to family and friends . Thank you.

    Reviewed by SolmazMar 2019

  • "Fabulous views."

    Well appointed house. It was a welcoming home. Would definitely come back again.

    Reviewed by SheilaFeb 2019

  • "We were originally going as a party of 4 with my wife's parents."

    Unfortunately they were unable to come due to ill-health of father in law. What a treat they missed the accommodation was massive and we could not have chosen a better location as we were blessed with a good weeks weather and the views were exceptional. Due to the time of year we saw no other residents and ours was the only car. It was really peaceful ! Parking was no problem with ample room for several vehicles (always a premium down in Devon !). There is a single track road to the property which has to be negotiated with care and a sharp turn into the property but you soon get accustomed to it. At the time of our visit the dish-washer was out of action but was professionally dealt with by the letting agents based in Salcombe itself. It was really nice to wake up in the morning to the sound of the waves and the occasional fishing boat on it's way out to sea. The gardens/grounds are quite extensive and would provide another pleasant distraction in the coming summer months as garden chairs/tables are available for use to while away the hours. My tip for successfully navigating the approach road from my experience is to leave/arrive the property outside of the opening times of the NT property next door, i.e. before 10-00am and after closing around 06-00pm when the staff have generally also gone, it avoids the heart-stopping moment when meeting other vehicles on blind-bends. Another useful tip we were given by a local was to turn left once you pass the Winking Prawn café by the beach turning immediately by the public toilets (also on the left-hand side), and follow this road up to the main road for any trips out away from the property. It is a bit of a switch-back ride up the cliffs but a far better road width-wise than negotiating the coast road into Salcombe itself. Much easier on the old nerves!

    Reviewed by PaulFeb 2019

  • "Feedback has already been given via telephone"

    Jul 2018

  • "Good"

    Mr Stefan GilsonMay 2018

  • "Terrific flat in excellent location"

    Mr T PileAug 2017

  • "Ringrone is perfectly located for a walk into Salcombe or along the south west coast path."

    The views of the estuary are fantastic from the property. The accommodation is spacious and generously equipped. The only down side was that the kitchen was quite cool because there is only one night storage heater in a large space.

    Dec 2016

  • "Excellent location clean & spacious apartment with a fabulous large terrace to see the most amazing views from fabulous ."

    Mrs L StoresOct 2016

  • "The most gorgeous cottage we've ever stayed, in the most beautiful surroundings - garden terraces in exotic vegetation & beautiful views."

    2 minutes to the gorgeous southsands beach. Loved it so much we have re- booked

    LOUISEJul 2016

  • "Apertment first class."

    Stunning location. Apartment was lovely. Extremely welcoming with large light and airy rooms all beautifully furnished. The apartment provided everything you needed for your holiday from the fully equipped kitchen to the garden furniture. The apartment was also spotlessly clean. A very very high standard of cleaning from the bathrooms to the kitchen. Comfortable from the moment you entered the property. Could not fault the property in any way. We always self cater and this apartment was definitely one of the best properties we have stayed at.

    Jul 2016

  • "One of the best equipped properties we have rented from you."

    Excellent views. Only negative - bottom sheet and mattress cover did not fit bed in main bedroom.

    Apr 2016

  • "Apartment faultless!"

    Extremely well-equipped and very comfortable. Every requirement had been catered for. Think the only problems we had were regarding the Wi-fi password which turned out not to be as per the information pages but we managed to sort out ourselves however maybe should be amended? Secondly we were told that the apartment was allocated not only the carport for parking but also the "space to the right of the patio." However the resident in the apartment above told us this was not the case so again perhaps that should be clarified? We consider these as v minor and overall a wonderful experience!

    CAROLINEMar 2016

  • "Very well appointed apartment and much more spacious than the pictures suggest."

    Everything we could have wished for was there! Beautiful views over the mouth of the estuary and its situation was perfect: right at the start of the Bolt Head walk- a stunning piece of coast path. Convenient for a brisk walk into Salcombe but remote enough to escape the hustle and bustle. Would we return? Definitely! Thank you very much!

    Nov 2015

  • "Amazing property!"

    The view is even better than the photographs! Extremely comfortable and homely. Kitchen is very, very well equipped.

    Mrs JEMMA DaviesOct 2015

  • "Great apartment Good Views"

    Jul 2015

  • "Beautiful property , so we'll equipped and a jaw dropping view !"

    !

    May 2015

  • "Excellent"

    Apr 2015

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x King-size (zip and link) and 1 x twin room with two single beds
  • Large terrace with outdoor furniture
  • Open plan kitchen / dining room.
  • Neff induction hob and oven/grill, larder fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher and CD/radio
  • TV and DVD/Blu-ray player
  • Wifi
  • Telephone available for local calls
  • Baby friendly equipment including a travel cot and high chair are available, as well as plastic beakers, plates etc., toys and games
  • Barbecue available
  • Allocated parking for two cars
  • Electric heating and hot water via immersion
  • All duvets, pillows, bed linen and bath/hand towels are supplied
  • You will need to bring tea towels and beach towels.

The property

Ringrone is a historic property set in mature grounds in an elevated position above the mouth of the Salcombe estuary.

Popular South Sands beach, well known for water sports, and the famous passenger ferry that runs to Salcombe town through the main season is just a 5-7 minute downhill walk away, whilst the beautiful Overbeck’s National Trust gardens are on its doorstep.

4 Ringrone has a spacious sitting room which...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

Z-bed is available for one additional child. Must be requested at the time of booking.

Telephone available for local and incoming calls.

Please note: External painting and pressure washing will be done in the last 2 weeks of March 2022. For further information please contact the office.