Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 31 minutes ago

1 of 28 View Image Gallery
  • Dory Cottage - Devon - 995060 - photo 1

Dory Cottage

(Ref. 995060)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (21)
  • location (19)
  • no (17)
  • great (15)
  • lovely (13)
  • dory (11)

29 Customer Reviews

  • "We enjoyed our stay."

    We new the access problems with the steps by staying in Salcombe over thirty years. The cottage worked and the garage was great as we had a car and a small trailer. The weather was good so we made good use of the bbq though getting it from the garage to the top and back was a struggle. All in all we were happy and may return. Other properties are available and are slightly better value.

    Reviewed by David3.4Oct 2023

  • "Great location of the property and very well appointed with all the amenities a family needs."

    Great addition of the downstairs bathroom, and lovely open kitchen/ living room. We had a few issues that we reported at the start of the week, such as the main light in the small bedroom not working and the sink in the main bedroom draining and did not hold water. The general cleanliness of the house was not great - it was quite dusty upstairs and had lots of marks on the walls and was generally in need of TLC. The master bedroom bed was so hard we could not sleep on it. It's an orthopedic mattress and incredibly hard. Our main issue however was the cleanliness of the house; it could do with a good clean and thorough dust throughout. Everything above eye level was rather dusty and had lots of cobwebs. The oven and extractor were sticky with grease. The upstairs drawers were dirty and had rubbish inside them from previous occupants. Quite a shame as if fixed and cleaned this would be a nice house in a good location.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, We can only apologise that you came across a few issues during your stay. We were surprised to read that you found the bed uncomfortable as we have not have a comment of this nature in the past, however we do understand this is down to personal taste. We are truly sorry for cleanliness issues, we did offer to send someone to rectify things but I understand you were happy to continue on with your holiday without interruption. We have passed your comments onto the cleaner who assures us these matters will not happen again. We do hope you had a wonderful holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Abbie2.2Aug 2023

  • "Dory Cottage was comfortable but when entering the property I was disappointed that there was no welcome pack and it didn’t smell as if it had recently been cleaned."

    The sofa’s covers were not fitting properly, it looked as if the covers had been ripped. The room in the attic smelt of turps which was extremely unpleasant, and the velux window was closed with rope. The outdoor furniture cushions were dirty which was unpleasant. The garage door did not shut properly. On a positive note the beds were comfortable and it was in a brilliant location.

    Many thanks for your feedback. We are disappointed to read that you were not happy with some aspects of the property. Please know if you had made us aware of any issues during your stay we would have come and rectified them immediately. We thank you for your feedback and have investigated your comments. We secured the window with rope as the part we were waiting for did not arrive in time for your stay, for that we are truly sorry. We do hope you still had a lovely holiday and enjoyed all Salcombe has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Juliet3.4Aug 2023

  • "Dory Cottage is the perfect location for being in the heart of Salcombe."

    The garage is a huge bonus feature especially when we brought with us our 14.5" kayak. The cottage is perfect, everything we needed was provided, a total home from home and it was hard to leave as we were perfectly settled for life !!!!

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2023

  • "A beautiful house in a great location"

    Reviewed by Lindsay4.4Sep 2022

  • "Property not clean reported bq in very drirty condition partly cleaned told it ..."

    Property not clean reported bq in very drirty condition partly cleaned told it would be completed on the Monday never happened so unusable cobwebs in rooms thick dust on surfaces not been cleaned in a long time

    Many thanks for leaving your feedback. We are sorry that the BBQ was not clean for your arrival, we rely on guests to leave as it is found but unfortunately this is not always the case. We came to clean the BBQ as soon as you made us aware of the situation and we were under the impression it was ready to go and you were going to contact us on the Monday if more gas was needed. As we did not hear from you we assumed all was well, we can only apologise if this was not the case. We do hope you enjoyed your holiday and all Salcombe has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ashby3.4Jun 2022

  • "We had a fabulous stay at the lovely Dory Cottage over Easter, great location, very comfortable - had everything we needed."

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Apr 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, perfect location."

    There was no bin bags provided which was a bit disappointing as it stated one would be supplied, but apart from that all was perfect.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Mar 2022

  • "A perfect winter break helped by great weather"

    Reviewed by Phil4.7Jan 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Dory cottage."

    It was spotlessly clean when we arrived and we felt immediately at home. Firstly the location is extremely convenient as it is close to all shops and restaurants. Secondly we loved having the use of the garage, which is a significant plus in Salcombe. The cottage is also very well equipped, the kitchen has everything you could possibly need to cook dinner if you wish to. The lounge is lovely to relax in after long walks! Upstairs in the main bedroom the mattress and pillows are very comfortable, which I was relieved about as I am quite fussy! We didn’t use the attic TV room as there were only two of us, but I imagine kids would absolutely love it. Overall, I recommend Dory cottage without any hesitation and we hope to be back there in the foreseeable future.

    Reviewed by Beatrice5.0Dec 2021

  • "The cottage was spotlessly clean upon arrival."

    The instructions for everything were very good and helpful. The main bedroom and twin bedroom were excellent. The small double was extremely small and didn’t make for a very comfortable sleep, in all honesty. I nearly rolled out of bed, and there’s hardly any room at the sides to get in, and I’m quite a small woman, so anyone larger might find it tricky. The owners have clearly made the best use of the space, however, so this is merely to warn any party of multiple adults that they may also feel squished in that room. The bathroom at the top appeared to have some mould, which is no surprise as ventilating it might be tricky, particularly as the bathroom is at the front looking onto the street which makes opening the windows more difficult. There is a fan which we used. I’m only commenting on this so the owners are aware and can nip it in the bud before it creates any damage to their lovely property. Our boys loved the top room, which has fab views of the boats beyond. The cottage is in a fabulous location as it’s quiet and within very easy walking distance to the Co Op and all the myriad of shops and restaurants in Salcombe. I would recommend painting one of the bottom steps outside in white (the steps closest to the house) because although we had the outside light on, we still couldn’t see that the step was angled differently and we stumbled on it. I would most definitely stay again in the cottage if we were a smaller party size. The open plan lounge and kitchen work really well and give a lovely feeling of space and comfort. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

    Reviewed by Caroline4.7Oct 2021

  • "Having visited Salcombe for the last 15 years, Dory Cottage is in one of the better locations we have stayed in."

    It is perfect for exploring the area, and nice to return home after a day of walking and not climb a huge hill. Parking was a great plus. The cottage itself needs some attention. It is a little tired, sofa in the lounge is scruffy, as is the rug. Drawers and bed in bed one were chipped. Blind in bed 3 kept falling down, we reported it and was temporally fixed while new part ordered. My son had to put a towel up over the window to sleep at night. The house in general wasn’t as clean as you would expect given the current pandemic. Lots of crockery for home cooking but the utensils were limited. Cottage would not be suitable for young children given the steps leading up to the property. The outside of the property is very open, if you like privacy this may not be for you. During our stay the neighbours property was being refurbished so very noisy, this can’t be helped but a heads up on this would have been helpful.

    Reviewed by Rachel2.5Jun 2021

  • "We love Dory cottage and have stayed many times now."

    The cottage is beautiful and we enjoy spending time in the house, including cooking. With eating out more of a challenge in these times, we cooked a lot at the house. With the increased rental cost of the house, feel that the cooking utensils need to be updated. The shower was also not as clean as it could have been Thank you and looking forward to our next holiday

    Reviewed by Rebekka4.4Jun 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, great location, could do with a bit of attention for the money it costs e."

    G. sofa scruffy and rug. Generally lovely though. Not cleaned as thoroughly as other properties we’ve stayed in but generally nice.

    Reviewed by Kirstie3.4May 2021

  • "A couple of minor issues which were really quickly resolved by C&C."

    1) Bedroom One blind, 2) Bathroom towel rail. Overall fantastic service by C&C. The one niggle was the heating system. We found the house continually cold and this dampened the week. Literally. I would like to note that we did not fiddle with the heating controls as instructed and concluded that the system was not very good. Otherwise. A lovely holiday home that was perfectly located and had great facilities. We loved renting it for the week.

    Thank you for your review. We were very happy to hear that you were pleased with our response to maintenance issues you reported to us. It is however disappointing to hear that you had some trouble with the heating system. We haven't had any other reports of heating problems, and the system was checked after your review and no faults found. We do have 24 hour assistance for any maintenance issues of this nature. It was fantastic to hear that you had a great week, and we hope that we can welcome you to area again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Damien4.1Oct 2020

  • "The cottage is in an excellent position for any person wanting to explore Salcombe and the surrounding countryside."

    The private parking is an absolute treat in the town centre. The outdoor shower is very good for dogs and wetsuits. The dog gate in the utility is a simple, yet effective way to retain wet animals. All kitchen appliances are present, along with plenty of cutlery and crockery. It’s not suitable for a family with toddlers due to access via steps and lack of private garden. All in all and good choice... thank you.

    Reviewed by Blanche4.7Sep 2020

  • "House was not clean."

    Kitchen equipment all needed cleaning before use due to general layer of dirt / grease. bathrooms needed cleaning. general layers of dust everywhere. food down sides of cushions on sofas and seats. empty bottles and cans under seating inside and outside. dishwasher doesn't fit properly, hence can't open door to use. fridge doesn't fit in the space so door doesn't naturally shut. fans in bathrooms don't work, so damp. Velux windows in bathroom and utility both leak resulting in damp feeling throughout the living space. nice enough house and position, but needs a lot more care and attention. given the costs charged, I expect a great deal more.

    Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We're so sorry to hear that you found issues with the cleanliness upon arrival, we work very hard with our owners and individual cleaners/caretakers to ensure all properties are clean, tidy and well presented before the arrival of holiday guests and we are sorry that these checks did not highlight the issues you have raised. It is disappointing that you did not contact us with these cleanliness and maintenance issues during your stay as we have most certainly been able to rectify most of this for you. We hope you enjoyed your time in Salcombe and hope to welcome you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karl3.1Aug 2020

  • "A lovely cottage that was clean and very welcoming on arrival made even better with a twinkling Christmas tree."

    We were slightly concerned because some reviews said the property wasn't clean or was tired in places but we didn't find this and we are particular! The cottage is warm and cosy and has everything you need for a lovely holiday and is a particularly nice property for Christmas. It is in a really excellent location and is set up well above street level. The additional bonus of a large garage that comes with the property is a rare find in Salcombe. The bed in the master bedroom is firm and perhaps not to everyone's taste, the same with the pillows. The settee is quite soft but these are very minor points and a very personal view. None of this would stop us from booking again. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Dec 2019

  • "Great property - Our 5th time in Salcombe and Dory cottage stood out as one of the best places we’ve stayed - Nothing showbiz, yet stands privately with an elevated aspect, is well appointed and hugely practical."

    The owners have added many things to just make the place work for them (e.g. outdoor shower and drip/hanging areas) and their guests (dog gate/guard in utility, washing/drying facilities, etc.) The garage beneath provides extremely convenient and safe location even for larger cars. Kids loved having their own ‘den’ area in the attic room, which is accessed from the landing and not the garage as the listing suggests! Overall a very comfortable and enjoyable stay in October. In Summer there might be more noise from Island Street, yet the terraces would surely be excellent for BBQ/entertaining.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Oct 2019

  • "Both Bathrooms were not cleaned to the standard we are used to."

    We are sorry to hear that the bathrooms at Dory Cottage were not presented satisfactorily on your arrival. Should you have made us aware we would have arranged for the housekeeping team to attend straight away. We are sorry for any inconvenience this caused, and hope that despite this issue, you were able to enjoy your time at the property and in Salcombe. UPDATED NOV 2019 - The Owners now have got a new cleaning team in place. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin3.1Sep 2019

  • "This was our second visit to Dory cottage having visited at the same week in 2018 and whilst the cottage is comfortable and ideally situated it is very evident that the cottage would benefit from a thorough deep clean, in particular doors and all the glossed paintwork are badly marked and covered with a large build up of dust, and the inside of the oven is not something I would wish to cook food in as there is a large build up of grease."

    That said it’s lovely and we have booked for next year but hope that the finer details mentioned are acted upon.

    Many thanks for your feedback, although we were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained. Your feedback has been passed on to the cleaner concerned and we will request that the particular cleanliness issues you have mention are focused upon. For your future holiday please feel free to report any issues to ourselves upon arrival and we will address them as soon as we can to reduce any impact in you holiday. We are glad that you had an enjoyable holiday in spite of the issues raised and look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.4Jul 2019

  • "A lovely cozy, comfortable house, in a quiet location, yet very close to town."

    I would definitely book this property again.

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Jun 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage and brilliant location close to everything but still in a peaceful setting."

    Massive bonus was having the garage for parking.

    Reviewed by Amie5.0May 2019

  • "We had a brilliant stay at Dory Cottage."

    Location is perfect, the cottage exceeded our expectations. It was so lovely, everything had been thought of. The attic den room was a hit with my boys. Even Dolly our Pug had a great time. Thanks for having us.

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Mar 2019

  • "Friendly helpful staff goood local knowledge."

    Cottage was in prime location for exploring South Devon.

    Reviewed by Gill5.0Jan 2019

  • "Dory Cottage is a beautiful place to stay in Salcombe."

    Fully equipped with everything you need and the interior style is just gorgeous.Kids loved the den! Great location too. We’ll definitely be back!

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Oct 2018

  • "Lovely cottage, stunningly furnished."

    Great location.

    Ms Gill WilsonJul 2017

  • "Great cottage."

    Location in the centre of Salcombe might be a bit noisy in high season but excellent when I was there.

    Ms J ElliottMar 2017

  • "Dory cottage was a really lovely, well equipped house in a great location"

    Aug 2016

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x 5’ king-size bed with flat screen smart TV, bed, 2 x 2'6" beds (which can be made up as a 5' king size bed, 1 x 4’6” double bed
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, separate thermostatic shower and screen over, basin and WC
  • First-floor shower room with thermostatic shower in a large quadrant enclosure, basin, chrome heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Utility room
  • Attic den with smart TV.
  • Gas-fired central heating, instant hot water. Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, smart TV, DVD player, Sonos speaker & CD player with iPod dock, and library of books, DVDs & games
  • Wi-Fi throughout the house
  • Bed linen, bath towels and tea towels provided, guests to bring own beachtowels
  • Parking for one car in secure garage located under the front terrace. Two spacious areas of terracing with outdoor sofa, armchairs, dining tables, benches & Outback gas barbecue
  • Rear yard with outdoor hot water shower. Two well behaved dogs welcome. Shop and pub 0.1 mile
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

Situated on Island Street in Salcombe, just yards from the shops, restaurants and quayside, sits Dory Cottage, a three-bedroom property with two fabulous outside terraces.

Wonderful for those with older children, or for a group of friends looking for a central Salcombe base, Dory Cottage benefits from parking for one car in a garage, as well as an excellent outdoor hot water shower and storage area for wetsuits – perfect for those returning from a beach day! Walk up the two flights of steps to access the property, where you enter into the open plan living accommodation; the room comprises a spacious lounge with comfortable sofa and smart TV, plus a dining area with traditional oak furniture seating six, and a beautiful duck-egg blue kitchen, beyond which is a handy utility room and family bathroom. Upstairs are three double bedrooms; one with 5’ king size bed and smart TV, one with two 2'6" beds (which can be made up as a 5' king size bed), and one double room with a 4'6" bed.

For those seeking a quiet spot, a steep narrow ladder staircase leads up to the second-floor attic den with a large floor sofa and a TV, plus splendid views towards to creek and Salcombe estuary.

Head outside and relax on one of two sun terraces, one with a BBQ and al fresco dining equipment, and one with an outdoor sofa!

If you are looking to enjoy sun, sea and surfing… not to mention amazing food and drink, look no further than Salcombe.

Other nearby attractions include the historic town of Dartmouth, around 30 minutes’ drive away, and Pennywell Farm, around 45 minutes’ drive away. Whatever you choose to spend your holiday doing, Dory Cottage is a wonderful spot for enjoying everything Salcombe and the surrounding area has to offer.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

This property accepts a maximum of 6 people including infants.

Dory Cottage is most suited to families with school age children or active adults looking for a cosy cottage conveniently based in the heart of the town. It is not suitable for children under the age of five or anyone with a mobility impairment because it has two flights of steps from the garage to the front door, a steep narrow ladder staircase to an attic den and there is insufficient space for cots in the bedrooms.

Children will require appropriate adult supervision due to road access, ladder staircase and elevated terraces.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute