Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 6 minutes ago

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Larger Image
  • Kennford - Devon - 995542 - photo 1


Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995542)


(11 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Seaside
  • Open fire
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

15 Customer Reviews

  • "The huge bedside table lamps in the master bedroom need replacing with a much smaller matching pair and the fridge door needs re-hanging so that it opens right to left, it’s such a pain when you’re by the worktop doing something and then you have to go to the opposite side of the fridge to open the door, five minutes with a screwdriver is all that it would take to swap the hinges to the opposite side."

    Reviewed by ChristopherMay 2022

  • "We were only provided with one key for the property which was quite a challenge - a key safe would be a good option."

    Also the bbq had not been emptied so we had to do this before we used it. However the property is excellent and had everything that we required.

    Reviewed by CarolApr 2022

  • "Would have been good to know that property works were going on on both sides of us during our stay, trades starting from 8am most days, this also made using the garden unrealistic at certain points."

    Also, you need to update photo on your website of the car parking space. The overhang which car can part park under is now boarded up, we only just managed to squeeze a Vw golf into the space (to the satisfaction of the parking warden) and had to park our other larger car elsewhere. Also, for a property of this size, could definitely do with a larger outdoor bin (this was also full on our arrival). Overall, a great property and perfect location, a few niggles which are easy to fix though.

    Car parking space is larger again now and larger black wheelie bin retrieved from neighbours. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JonathanApr 2022

  • "A very nice place to stay, convenient for the centre of Salcombe, but tucked away from the main run through the High street."

    Well appointed and very comfortable. Parking not a problem if you have a small car. If you have a larger car it does tend to hang out across the pavement, as the parking bay is a little small. We'd definitely return.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Salcombe. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidOct 2021

  • "Lovely stay very clean beautifully presented."

    Only thing was refuse containers for recycling very poor. No info on how to put heating on if needed.

    Reviewed by PatriciaSep 2021

  • "The house was good, it had everything we needed and location excellent."

    The previous comments about the duvet and cover had obviously been rectified as found no issue, although only used the master bedroom. The only issue we found was on cooler evenings we were unable to switch the heating on. I understand some may take advantage but given the cost of one week I think it should be readily available to use.

    Many thanks for leaving us your comments. We were pleased to read that the property was comfortable for your stay. We were only sorry you had some difficulty with the heating. Please be assured that should you have contacted our office during your stay, we would have sent a member of our team down to rectify this. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by JenniferSep 2021

  • "For what is a relatively expensive property we were particularly disappointed with the quality of the mattresses/ duvets/ pillows and linen."

    There were mattress toppers for sale in the Factory Shop opposite Co-Op for £30...this is all it would take for the owners to upgrade and allow a good night's sleep. The duvets were absolutely shocking and more like army or prison bedding !! Again ..how little does it cost to buy new hollowfill duvets?! We feel these owners are resting on their laurels of having a home with such a beautiful garden located so centrally. They have no problem renting our their home so why try harder? Well please try harder. We are a party of 6 who come regularly to Salcombe as my daughter lives there. I am sad to say that we have now sought to book places other than Kennford until these simple but fundamental issues are addressed.

    Thank you for your feedback. We can only apologise that unhappy with the bedding when you arrived. Please know that if you had let us know these issues whilst you were at the property, we would have done our best to rectify the situation as soon as possible. We have passed your comments on to the owner who is now ordering new duvets for the property. We hope there you had enjoyable stay in spite of these issues and look forward to welcoming you back to the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SusanJun 2021

  • "We had a terrific week in Salcombe staying at Kennford."

    The property was perfect for the two families, both in terms of location and facilities. We have stayed in numerous different rentals in the area and this is our favourite yet - well appointed, reasonably priced and a short walk into town. The team at Coast & Country couldn’t have been more helpful and their offices are just around the corner. Thanks for such a memorable stay!

    Reviewed by BenjaminDec 2019

  • "We have been to Salcombe many times and rented various properties."

    It was easier when we dealt with the local office of Coast and Country Cottages. I had some queries regarding the location of the house but kept being referred to Google maps! At no point was I offered the option to speak to the local office which would have been helpful. Kennford is a nice house in a very convenient and quiet location. It's well equipped and comfortable. It has a big garden and off street parking which is useful in Salcombe. However it is advertised as having 2 bathrooms when it does not. The 2nd bathroom is just an ensuite toilet and basin in the main bedroom. The listing does say this but but is misleading in my opinion as i did not think that would be all - surely a bathroom has a shower and/or bath. We managed as there were only 5 of us but even then sharing one shower for two weeks was not great. Also the mattress in the main bedroom is very very soft which did not suit everyones tastes.

    Reviewed by RhonaSep 2019

  • "Recycling was hard to do."

    No facilities at house. Local recycling just glass paper and drink cartons. I felt everything had to go through inblack bin Otherwise lovely house. Ideally additional car parking. Like use of a permit but we found a place to leave second car. Kate

    Reviewed by CatherineApr 2019

  • "The property was in good location and was very clean all very good."

    Mr Andrew JonesSep 2017

  • "Wonderful situation well stocked"

    JSep 2016

  • "We decided that after fifteen years of one week self catered holidays we wanted and very much needed a two week stay in Salcombe."

    The investment was fantastic for all our family and we really relaxed and had time for each other. that Time for each other that is hard to capture in "normal life". The property was brilliant and we had a superb experience from Coast and Country Cottages in Salcombe.

    Will LowbridgeAug 2016

  • "Stunning property with everything you could possibly need for a fantastic weekend."

    I am sure we will be back!

    Jun 2015

  • "The garden behind the property was perfect for our daughters 21st birthday celebration- we hung lanterns from the pergola and it was magical!"

    Great location and lovely house.

    Reviewed by AnnaAug 2011

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x king-size bed with en-suite bathroom with basin and WC, 1 x twin, 1 x second floor twin, 1 x second floor bunk room with children's bunks
  • Bathroom with bath, hand-held shower with separate shower cubicle, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Please be aware this property is suitable for a MAXIMUM of 6 adults
  • Bunk beds are only suitable for children
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Gas hob, electric oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, smart TV, DVD, WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Off road parking for one car
  • Enclosed multi-tiered garden at rear with furniture and BBQ
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • No smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 mins walk

The property

This Edwardian-style cottage is tucked away on Coronation Road in the seaside town of Salcombe, perfect for exploring all that South Devon has to offer.

Arranged over three floors, this spacious accommodation is furnished to a high standard of quality throughout, with bright and airy rooms welcoming you inside.

The lounge invites you to share stories over a cups of tea, sinking into the pastel blue sofas as you chat away the afternoon among friends.

Enjoy views of the Shadycombe Creek and hills beyond from the front bay window, and read your favourite book as the woodburner warms the whole room.

You also have the benefit of a dining area set adjacent, opening the space up for home-cooked feasts surrounded by your loved ones.

The kitchen is at the rear of the property, composed in a u-shape, with modern fittings and timber worktops.

Upstairs are four bedrooms over two floors; the master bedroom offers a king-size bed, en-suite bathroom with W.C.

and basin only and more of those countryside vistas out of the front bay window.

There is a twin room followed by the family bathroom and the top floor plays host to another twin next to a cosy, children's bunk room.

Outside, you will find a charming garden that is laid over five levels, with lawned areas and gravelled areas, enjoying a pergola concealed by grapevines.

This is the perfect little spot for soaking up the Devon sunshine and eating alfresco-style.

This quiet, residential area of Salcombe, is just a few minutes' walk to the waterfront, with shops and pubs in abundance.

You have access to the pretty beaches of North Sands and South Sands, as well as the National Trust's Overbeck's.

For those feeling energetic, there are many water sports to try and wonderful opportunities for walking along the South West Coast Path, with superb views each way you turn.

This period cottage makes the most of a coastal setting, an opportunity not to be missed!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

Property sleeps a maximum of 6 adults.
Please note the bunk bed are suitable for children only.

Please be aware, due to the nature of the town, several of our properties are situated up hills. Please contact our reservations team if you would like more information about the location of this property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas