Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 0 minutes ago

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • Sandcastles 15A Fore Street - Devon - 1001096 - photo 1
close

Sandcastles 15A Fore Street

(Ref. 1001096)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map

4.1

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (6)
  • our (4)
  • property (4)
  • than (3)
  • particularly (3)
  • no (3)

8 Customer Reviews

  • "The cottage is suffering from damp."

    The lower entrance smells musty and the walls are wet making the paint rub off and stain clothing and luggage. There is plaster and paint flaking off the ceiling in the living room, falling on to the sofas. The bathroom toilets are not sturdy. The toilette brush in the lower bathroom was disgusting with faecis sitting in the holder it is a health hazard. The overall cleanliness is the worst we have ever had in a property in Salcombe (visiting for 15 years). It’s so grubby, dust and filth everywhere (under the double bed was particularly disgusting). The washing machine took 16 hours to drain and did not spin the clothes we tried to wash, we had to manually reset the machine to retrieve our clothes. We are very unhappy with the property.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We can only apologise for the points you have mentioned. Please know that if you had made us aware of any issue during your stay, we would have done our best to rectify that immediately. We can assure you that all the cleanliness issue have been remedied and the damp issues has been resolved and freshly painted. The owners have also informed us that they have now replaced the washing machine. We do hope you still had a lovely holiday and enjoyed all that Salcombe has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Will1.6Aug 2023

  • "Great accommodation, clean, cosy, quirky, and an ideal location for shops, pub and the waters edge."

    Absolutely loved our stay. We are a family with teenage girls, so for them it was great to walk off to the bakery or down to the water front without us. We loved it equality for the central location and the fact we didn’t need to use the car all week. We will be booking again.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Mar 2023

  • "Nice property, entrance way needs tidying but think it’s mainly next doors rubbish."

    We had a baby with us so no where to put the push chair so had to be carried up stairs every night which was a pain. Other than nice apartment.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jul 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage in an excellent location."

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jun 2022

  • "We absolutely loved our stay at Sandcastles!"

    The property was much bigger than we had expected particularly being right in the centre of town. The location could not have been better - it was above one of the shops and so close to everything, yet nice and quiet. It was really well equipped and had everything you could possibly need during your stay. I would highly recommend Sandcastles and will certainly be returning.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, it is much appreciated. We love Sandcastles too and please come again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lily4.4Feb 2022

  • "We were blessed with fabulous weather."

    The flat stayed cool and was more spacious than we were expecting. The location was very central meaning that we could just walk or take the little ferries to our activities rather needing to drive. Everthing was spotless and we had everything we needed to cook a meal if we wished.

    Reviewed by Lesley4.7Jul 2021

  • "Condition of the property was poor - had there had been bad weather the fact that we would had to have spent more time in the property would have been worse."

    Although the location was great the facilities within the property were cheap and poorly maintained (kitchen bathroom) and twice we had birds in the living room which had come down the chimney - shouldn’t be dealing with that and the mess during a holiday. Although I don’t blame the owners particularly as clearly they have been getting away with letting the property in its present condition for quite some time but without doubt it’s time to reinvest a little into the property to bring it up to date and justify the rental charge.

    Many thanks for your feedback, although we were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is very disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeper/cleaner concerned. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We are also grateful for the comment in respect of the overall appearance of the property and will pass on your feedback to the owners. We do hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in spite of the issues raised and look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil2.8May 2021

  • "An excellent holiday and an enjoyable and well maintained apartment in an unbelievably good location."

    Perhaps one to avoid for very small children due to the stairs up to bedrooms and possible slips.

    We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sandcastles in Salcombe. We do agree with your comments regarding young children, and only recommend the property for children over the age of 5. We hope we will see you in the area again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew4.7May 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x second floor king-size with basin and 1 x second floor family room with king-size and en suite bathroom
  • First floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • First floor kitchen/diner
  • First floor dining room
  • First floor sitting room.
  • Electric oven and induction hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, dishwasher and a TV. Wifi available
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Strictly No smoking
  • 1 well behaved dog by arrangement at £25 per week
  • Shop 0.5 miles and pub 0.01 miles
  • Parking pass for one car is provided - for the long stay car park in Salcombe (subject to restrictions)
  • Note: Due to the stairs, this property is unsuitable for children under the age of 5.

The property

Sandcastles 15A Fore Street is a superb cottage located in the heart of Salcombe, South Devon.

Stepping through the front door, follow the steps up to the first floor, where you will find a spacious dining room, a wonderful social space for families to enjoy a lovely home-cooked meal or plan the day's events, with seating for five people.

The open-plan kitchen and dining area sit towards the rear, with a well-presented kitchen housing all the appliances you could need to cook up a storm for the whole family, with an extra dining area, ideal for enjoying a quick breakfast before starting your day.

There is a family shower room with modern fixtures and fittings.

The second floor houses the two bedrooms, one king-size and one family room with a king-size bed (can be made up as 2 singles on request) and a single, ideal for families or a group of friends looking for a coastal retreat, boasting stunning countryside views from the bedrooms.

You are ideally situated for exploring the South West Coast Path, which is the longest long-distance footpath and a National Trail, stretching 630 miles from Minehead in Somerset to Poole Harbour in Dorset.

There are so many opportunities for walkers and cyclists, with plenty of chances to get involved with surfing, golf and fishing too.

Sandcastles 15A Folly Lane off Fore Street is the perfect place to stay in order to access many of Salcombe's finest sights.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Note: Due to the stairs, this property is unsuitable for children under the age of 5

Please note that the fireplace is ornamental and not in use.

From late April, Sandcastles will accommodate 4 people and a new en-suite bathroom added to the main bedroom.


Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute