Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 72 View Image Gallery
  • The Sands - Devon - 995770 - photo 1

The Sands

(Ref. 995770)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 6 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (29)
  • property (20)
  • views (19)
  • sands (16)
  • stay (15)
  • great (14)

45 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely property and beautiful location."

    We had a wonderful stay and all the family had plenty of room and loved it. Thank you for the use of the bbq, which we used once and was a bonus, and was mainly used to cook fish in foil, so keeping it clean. The office/playroom at the top of the house is a lovely space and our granddaughter loved the toys. We enjoyed walking into Salcombe and to the beaches. A great way to walk off the many treats!

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jun 2024

  • "We absolutely loved the property and the location - the views were simply stunning and the property itself was wonderful - particularly the master bedroom suite which was both spacious and luxurious - we really enjoyed our time there."

    The only negative would be the ovens and cooking facilities - an instruction manual would have been very much appreciated - as with the TV in the lounge. The TV in the bathroom of the Master bedroom didn't seem to work but this wasn't a problem for us but could be for some people.

    Reviewed by Elena5.0Apr 2024

  • "Great house and location."

    Our 7th visit. Still hugely disappointing to have to buy dishwasher tablets, bin liners, loo rolls, have no milk on arrival and have to strip beds on departure, when staying in such a high end property.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled you loved the property. We can only apologise you were not left the bits you mention, we have spoken with housekeeping who will insure that these will be left in the future. We do hope you had a wonderful holiday and look forward to your 8th visit in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim3.1Mar 2024

  • "Lovely house."

    Wonderful views and well equipped but could do with another medium sized saucepan and a pair of kitchen scissors.Also there were no black bags for dirty linen.Fortunately I had brought some. Generally it was fabulous and I will miss the main bedroom! However if it was my house I would take all the doors off of the wardrobes in the dressing area and have an electric power point in the dressing room.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so please you had a fabulous trip. We have now replaced the kitchen scissors and let housekeep know there were no bags left. We are glad you loved the house and do hope we can welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane4.7Mar 2024

  • "Tv in the bathroom did not work."

    Master bedroom balcony glass loose One black sack Two dishwasher tablets No salt and pepper

    Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Sands over New Year. It is a shame that you did not make us aware of any of your issues during your stay as we would have been able to provide more black sacks, dishwasher tablets and arranged for someone to look at the TV. We have since looked at the balcony glass as one of the clips had broken during the storm over New Year. We hope that you managed to enjoy your stay and hope to welcome you back to the area again soon. Coast & Country Cottages, On behalf of Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4Dec 2023

  • "The Sands is a wonderful property, spacious and very clean with outstanding views."

    The kitchen was amazing and enough kitchen utensils. Loved all the electrical appliances. Appreciated the little touches of the lovely welcome hamper. It was a welcome break over the Christmas period from city life. I will definitely be going back.

    Reviewed by Julia5.0Dec 2023

  • "We loved our stay at The Sands with all the family, the house is very spacious with comfortable furniture and beds."

    Unloading the car was a challenge with all the steps and we did help the supermarket delivery man! The showers were not as powerful has we would have liked and the master suite shower cubicle needed a good clean. TV did not work in the master en suite but we didn't need this. We would definitely recommend this property for a large group.

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Oct 2023

  • "A really wonderful property, we would recommend this house to anyone wanting a family or friends holiday."

    the facilities were first class and the views were excellent as well.

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Sep 2023

  • "Overall, our stay at the Sands was brilliant."

    It was a great family holiday and we all had immense fun. The house itself, the views and the setting is 100% and couldn’t be any better. However, I feel that the house is in need of a bit of TLC as when you turn up to the house, it is in need of a refresh, painting of the outside and the grass is patchy and needs attention. Inside, although initially it felt clean upon further investigation, there were quite a few cobwebs around, especially behind the curtains and especially on the windowsill in the top window overlooking the bay. I appreciate this area isn’t the easiest to clean but nonetheless a pair of stepladders would have done the job. The kitchen floor has quite a lot of broken tiles which one in particular between the kitchen and the utility is quite dangerous and one could catch their feet when walking on it. The dishwasher we found useless, to be quite honest and it’s probably in need of a very deep clean and flush out. Likewise, the two ovens probably could do with a deep clean as well, along with the windows being washed inside and out? I am quite aware of the issues faced when your property is booked up back to back, as we were fortunate to have a in a house in Spain and we found ourselves under the same pressure. But I can honestly say it felt like there wasn’t enough time between the previous guests leaving and us turning up. It also would’ve been handy to have a few more oven dishes to use as the weather wasn’t very nice at times and we struggled to cook for 10 using the crockery that was there. I just felt that overall for the money we spent the house would have been in tiptop condition and it wasn’t. There are basic issues that could be resolved that let the house down which if I am honest until these are resolved, I wouldn’t be keen to book the same house again. You do not have to publish this, but I would appreciate it if you could send these comments to the owner as I feel that they may not know about them all and ultimately at the end of the day it is them that will lose out on rental income. Despite all of the above, we did have a fantastic week in Salcombe and we hope we left it as clean and tidy as one would expect. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Samantha4.1Aug 2023

  • "BBQ only works on 1 burner (centre and left burners need lighting with a match) but even when lit there's not enough gas coming through (canister was full)."

    Not having the BBQ is a big miss. Kitchen tap is dripping quite badly. This is our 5th visit to The Sands. It is a wonderful house and we had a great time as we always do. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Tim3.4Jul 2023

  • "The Sands is fabulous, very spacious and fitted out to the highest standard with everything you could possibly want."

    The views are spectacular. Our only disappointment was the gas BBQ was not repaired/replaced during our stay. We would certainly like to book again. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Jul 2023

  • "Absolutely fabulous property."

    Once installed, you really do not need to leave for the week, the views are fantastic, the patio and the patio furniture are situated to catch the sun all day, and if necessary, there is a lovely little beach within walking distance. There are great restaurants and pubs in Salcombe also within walking distance (providing you don't mind the odd hill !), and three car parking at the property should you need to drive into town. We are lucky, and can holiday outside the school holidays, but I know Salcome gets busy in July and August, ( having been last year), so walking is the best solution. The interior of the house is certainly 5 star, superb kitchen, and all of the main rooms including the two main bedroom suites have large floor to ceiling opening patio doors, and glass fronted balconies to take advantage of the superb setting. The only thing to make you aware of, are the steps from the road to the front door might not suit, if you struggle with stairs, but the Sykes site makes this quite clear when booking. Overall, brilliant, imagine Monte Carlo, but much better value for money !

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jun 2023

  • "A massive thank you to the property owner for letting us experience the most beautiful views across the bay."

    It’s a gorgeous home ready for large groups being together. The walking to the surrounding areas can be tough & exhausting but well worth it. A little maintenance may be required in a couple of areas but nothing that detracts from this splendid home x

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Apr 2023

  • "Hello.We had a lovely week at The Sands,Salcombe."

    10 of us.Ages 3 to 75.The weather was lovely until the gales and rain hit us the day before we left so having the house was a bonus to stay indoors. Children and dogs unable to use lawned areas as too steep and not enclosed.More emphasis should put on your descriptions in this regard.Also,the plastic dining chairs in the dining room,several were unstable with nuts and bolts missing in places or loose!Dangerous. The toilet brush in the master bedroom ensuite was extremely in need of replacement.Disgusting and unusable, putting it politely. The wine/beer cooler was more of a warmer.Needs checking out. But we all enjoyed our week at Salcombe.

    Reviewed by Jennifer3.8Apr 2023

  • "Beautiful house Great position for views very comfortable and everything you ..."

    Beautiful house Great position for views very comfortable and everything you would possibly need Would definitely like to visit again

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Feb 2023

  • "This is a lovely property, with very high spec furniture fixtures and fittings."

    It was a pleasure to stay here. Lovely Views and within walking distance of the town all be it down a steep hill. We spent a lovely weekend enjoying what this house had to offer and the town of Salcombe. I would recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Nicola Jayne & Jonathan Wa5.0Oct 2022

  • "The property is lovely with every convenience and well situated."

    I only have 1 "complaint" - the state of the ovens - they really needed a good clean. However that did not affect our enjoyment of our stay and we would certainly revisit this property

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7Oct 2022

  • "Sands is a beautiful spacious house, luxuriously furnished, with a view over North and South Sands that’s breathtaking."

    We enjoyed our stay immensely, if there is a down side, there is no stairlift to take luggage/infirm guests up to and down from the house.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Sep 2022

  • "Fabulous property with stunning views"

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Sep 2022

  • "There was no mention of CCTV camera on the description."

    It would have been best to mention this upfront. Also a deep clean on certain areas, like the back of the sofa / outside seats and table.

    Reviewed by Kester4.4Jul 2022

  • "This was the best property we have stopped in."

    The quality of the finish and appliances, the location and the view was sensational The cot that was supplied was a travel cot and one of the clips was damaged but was still ok. Would it not be possible to have an actual cot? A mirror in the ground floor bedroom would be useful.

    Reviewed by Mick5.0May 2022

  • "Property needed a bit more of a deep clean, was quite dusty."

    Other than that, it was great. Internet speed could have been better but overall was a very pleasant stay!

    Thank you kindly for leaving us your feedback. We were terribly sorry to read that the cleanliness of the property was unsatisfactory upon your arrival. Please be assured that should you have contacted our Salcombe office, we would have arranged for the property to be recleaned. We would like to reiterate that this is not the standard we work hard as a company to maintain and can only apologise that you arrived to this. We hope that aside from this you had a lovely stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Oliver4.4Feb 2022

  • "Stunning property with stunning views absolutely loved the house, met all of our ..."

    Stunning property with stunning views absolutely loved the house, met all of our needs as a family getting together, was great value but wouldn’t have paid more as it would have been past my budget Hot tub would have complimented the stay and a gate to secure garden for little pooch would have been great These are just little things to consider But over all it’s a 10/10 from all of us Absolutely No complaints, we all loved the house and the owners had provided everything we could have needed from a thoughtful perspective Great luxury stay, thank you for making our stay amazing

    Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that the property was presented beautifully upon your arrival and exceeded every one of your expectations. Thank you for your suggestions, we will be sure to pass these onto the owner. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nichola5.0Dec 2021

  • "We visit Salcombe every year and have always stayed in the hotel there but as we had family joining us we thought we would try as house this time."

    The Sands was a fantastic house to stay in and offered so much space and comfort for all and the views were breath taking and so lovely to wake up to every morning. There were a few minor things that need fixing but nothing that effected our holiday. We hope to be back again next year as we had a wonderful time and the weather was incredible for October.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you had a lovely stay and the property exceeded every one of your expectations. We were sorry you experienced a couple of minor issues. Please be assured that should you have contacted us during your stay, we would have arranged for these to be resolved. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon to Salcombe soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura4.4Oct 2021

  • "Sykes did not respond to a single complaint in the week we stayed there."

    The house is superb but is sadly let down by Sykes as managing agents.

    Reviewed by Amanda3.4Sep 2021

  • "The standard of cleanliness was poor."

    Cob webs, kitchen extractor dripping with oil, hair in shower enclosures, carpet in lounge with multiple stains. The response from the property management company was poor. I have made a complaint which I assume is being dealt with regarding cleanliness, a broken vacuum cleaner and utensils with badly scored non- stick surfaces. Sands is an excellent property being spacious and well appointed and in a good location but sadly let down by the service provided by its property management company.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Please accept our apologies, we were terribly sorry to read that the cleanliness was unsatisfactory and the property was presented this way upon your arrival. We can only apologise that the level of service you received was poor. We work hard as a company to meet our guests’ expectations and so we were disappointed to read that you felt this way. We hope that despite this you had a lovely and we very much hope to welcome you back to the area soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Russell3.4Jul 2021

  • "A first class property with quality furnishings in an excellent location."

    Reviewed by Geoff5.0May 2021

  • "The Sands is a stunning place for a family holiday in Salcombe."

    The house is spotless and in an ideal location. We would love to return!!!

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Apr 2021

  • "The Sands was a gorgeous holiday home, well placed to explore Salcombe and the surrounding area."

    the house itself was extremely well equipped and comfortable with everything you could possibly need. it was also very warm and toasty, so would be good for a winter break as well. The hill into Salcombe was a challenge as it seemed to get longer each time we walked it, but it helped work off all the lovely meals that we had out!

    Reviewed by Gill4.7Oct 2020

  • "An amazing family holiday , spent in such a beautiful house , the attention to detail , the views , everything you could ask for , we shall certainly return ."

    Reviewed by Therese5.0Aug 2020

  • "Just returned from an amazing stay at The Sands."

    Top quality throughout and could not fault anything as advertised. Easy access to Salcombe and the nearby beaches.

    Reviewed by Andy5.0Aug 2020

  • "Amazing house."

    Great location and views. House spacious and very comfortable for 2 large families sharing and had everything needed for a well needed break.

    Reviewed by Paula5.0Jul 2020

  • "Fantastic break ."

    ..I cannot fault the experience in any way . Thank you.

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Feb 2020

  • "The house was lovely."

    Very comfortable and clean. It was great that everyone had their own en suite. Plenty of room for 10 adults - and the dog. The outside shower tap was very useful for washing off the dog. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Jan 2020

  • "Fantastic holiday, very nice place, the beach is few minutes walk from the house, luxury property."

    My family really enjoyed it. Definitely will book again next holiday.

    Reviewed by Khaled5.0Jan 2020

  • "Beautiful house for party of 9 adults and 1 baby."

    Excellent views, very well equipped and perfectly located for stroll into Salcombe and visiting surrounding areas. Only minor issue was the shower in the Master Bedroom was out of action. Would definitely book this property again

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2019

  • "Another wonderful week at The Sands."

    An exceptional house in a wonderful location.

    Reviewed by Tim4.7Aug 2019

  • "The Sands proved to be the perfect holiday accommodation for nine people and our four grandchildren loved having a whole floor to themselves."

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Aug 2019

  • "We had a fantastic 7 night stay at The Sands."

    The perfect house for our family celebration week. The house is stunning and provided everything you could need for a luxury self catering holiday. The position of the house was also great for strolling into town and also down to North Sands. Beautiful views to the estuary from the terrace too. We didn’t want to leave!

    Reviewed by E5.0Jul 2019

  • "Lovely house great views close to shops and beach loved it will be back soon."


    Reviewed by Duncan4.7May 2019

  • "Amazing house with amazing views!"

    Would thoroughly recommend!

    Reviewed by Nikki5.0Mar 2019

  • "We had an absolutely amazing stay at The Sands!"

    The house was stunning and the view was absolutely incredible. Sadly half the group didn’t make the first night because of the snow but we still had the perfect weekend away catching up with old friends and making new memories. Little hiccup with the bins but a friendly and swift response by the Sykes cottages team with advice. Would definitely love to come back!

    Reviewed by Pippa5.0Feb 2019

  • "It was every thing we hoped for ,and all the little extras put in by the owners was great"

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Jan 2019

  • "The accommodation is not suitable for somebody who has difficulty in walking or health problems as there are 46 steps to get into the property."

    Plus the position of the house is on the hill and therefore once you have walked into Salcombe it is uphill all the way back. However we enjoyed both the area and the property.

    Reviewed by Frances4.7Jan 2019

  • "Great house, in brilliant location and superbly equipped."

    Mr Tim FletcherJul 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Five bedrooms : 2 x Super king bedroom and ensuite with shower, basin and w.c (one on ground floor)
  • 1 x Master bedroom with Super king bed and ensuite with bath, separate shower enclosure, basin and w.c
  • 2 x Twin bedrooms and ensuites with shower, basin and w.c
  • All rooms can be set up either as a superkings or twins but will be in this configuration unless otherwise requested
  • Cloakroom
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, w.c and heated towel rail
  • Entrance/dining room
  • Kitchen/breakfast room
  • Sitting room
  • Attic/snug room
  • Underfloor heating
  • Fridge/freezer, oven, hob, washing machine, tumble dryer, microwave, dishwasher, wine cooler, Kupps coffee machine, toaster, kettle TV, DVD/Blue-Ray, Sky Q
  • Wifi available
  • Paved parking area for up to four cars
  • Outside - lawn and sun terrace, with garden sofa, table and chairs and BBQ
  • Bed linen and towels supplied
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

A luxurious and contemporary property, situated in an elevated location, with uninterrupted views over the Salcombe Estuary and beyond.

The property is just a short walk from the sandy beach of North Sands, and a short ferry ride from yet more beautiful beaches.

With quick access to Salcombe town, and also the South West Coast Path, it’s the perfect coastal retreat.

Access from the driveway leads you to the front door, surrounded by double height windows.

The entrance enjoys a striking glass and oak staircase, a large dining area, a cloakroom, and access to the rear terrace.

The kitchen is well equipped, with a breakfast bar and breakfast table, in front of sliding doors, leading to the front sun terrace.

The separate utility room is accessed via the kitchen, with a door to the garden, and hand held shower, ideal for cleaning sandy children!

The sitting room is triple aspect, with sliding doors leading onto the front sun terrace.

Additionally, full length windows/door lead onto the side sun terrace, with views of the estuary and Bolt Head.

The property enjoys five bedrooms, all of which are en suite, and have super-King size beds.

The zip and link beds are set up in a variety of configurations (three doubles and two twins), and can be changed upon request.

Two bedrooms enjoy private balconies with sweeping sea views.

There is an additional shower room on the first floor.

The attic room boasts a snug sitting area, with TV/DVD/Playstation unit.

Outside, steps rise through a front garden with a sloping lawn to a luxuriously furnished wraparound sun terrace, providing plenty of space for relaxing.

The rear terrace is sheltered by fencing and woodland.

Parking is available for up to four cars.

Wireless broadband is available.

One small dog is permitted.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

46 steps from parking area to front door.

All rooms can be set up either as a double or a twin must be requested at time of booking if different from the usual set up.

One small well behaved dog permitted - restricted to ground floor level.

Please be aware, due to the nature of the town, several of our properties are situated up hills. Please contact our reservations team if you would like more information about the location of this property.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas