Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 3 minutes ago

  • Cullaford Cottage - (Ref. 975826)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 21 View Larger Image
  • Cullaford Cottage - Devon - 975826 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Cullaford Cottage

Scorriton, near Ashburton, Devon (Ref. 975826)

4.4

Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 4

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

17 Customer Reviews

  • "Cullaford Cottage is an idyllic Cottage set in beautiful countryside with a lovely safe garden which our dog adored."

    Sadly we were let down by the house keeping which was of an extremely low standard. It was as though someone had rushed in changed the sheets and towels and that was it! There was no welcome pack providing us with a few essentials such as tea, bread and milk which we would have appreciated as we’d had a lengthy journey and arrived late in the evening. The Cottage was basically dirty. The floors didn’t look as they had been cleaned, there was dust and cobwebs everywhere. I had to don my rubber gloves and start cleaning the kitchen sink, kitchen units and cooker before we were comfortable using them and the tea towels were clean but stained with what looked like curry! The soft furnishings on the furniture hadn’t been plumped up from being used prior to our arrival. Outside was no better, the front door was covered in dirt and cobwebs and obviously hadn’t been cleaned for a very long time and the garden furniture needed power washing so we couldn’t sit outside and enjoy the garden. The poor presentation of the cottage really ruined our holiday which was such a shame as the cottage and setting was beautiful.

    Reviewed by LynneJul 2022

  • "Amazing place!"

    Everything you could possible need in a holiday home. The house just rambles on with so many quirky areas and the garden is huge with plenty of seating areas. The immediate area is secluded with loads of lovely walks out the front door. Photos don't do it justice.

    Reviewed by KerryJul 2022

  • "Cullaford Cottage is the beautiful, quite and comfortable property."

    The extension is stunning. As soon as we arrived we felt relaxed, the gardens are well kept and peaceful. Lovely to sit out and have a drink and watch the sheep and listen to the birds. We came armed with cleaning products and extra toilet rolls, there was no need for them. The kitchen was very well equipped, a spice drawer, radio and docking, dish washer to mention a few. There was nothing we needed as everything was provided. Even an iron and ironing board. The garden was safe and secure, our little dog could roam without us worrying. We would definitely recommend and would love to re visit sometime in the future.

    Reviewed by SharonMay 2022

  • "Fabulous cottage in a beautiful tranquil location."

    The cottage was very well equipped and we will definitely stay again. Our only criticism would be the hot water pressure. Although hot water was always available it was very slow to fill the bath, so slow in fact we gave up. If you took a shower and a toilet was flushed or the washing machine was turned on, the shower turned into a dribble.

    I am glad you enjoyed the cottage and would like to come again. We are investigating the hot water pressure you have mentioned here. Many thanks, Heather Graham Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlecanderApr 2022

  • "A beautiful property in a stunning location."

    So much to do and so many facilities and things to do provided. I would live to stay here again.

    Reviewed by EwenJun 2021

  • "Most idyllic location."

    Beautiful magical thatched cottage.safe garden for pets. Local pub a must so friendly and walkable..

    Reviewed by AndreaJun 2021

  • "Fantastic cottage with plenty of equipment for self catering."

    Great garden with lots of feathered friends visiting. Ideal for pet dogs with a lovely meadow for them to explore. The cottage is situated in a tranquil location and is ideal for restful stay. The local area has plenty of interesting places to visit, If you are adventurous but we just chilled out in and around the cottage. Look forward to returning in the future

    Reviewed by AlanApr 2021

  • "The hot water system ran cold very quickly with no means of a quick boost."

    The cottage could do with a good spring clean. Other than these two comments the cottage provided a perfect base to see the area It has all the equipment you could require for a home from home holiday.

    Reviewed by DavidSep 2020

  • "Cullaford Cottage was a perfect getaway."

    We spent a week surrounded by peace and quiet that we didn’t think existed. It was an idyllic setting for escaping from the stresses of 2020. We also had the bonus of beautiful weather. The property was immaculately clean and spacious but at the same time cozy. It was a very well equipped Cottage with comfortable beds and great showers which you don’t always get when you are away from home . Home from Home comfort throughout.

    Reviewed by ClaireSep 2020

  • "A wonderful cottage in an idyllic location."

    Reviewed by NicholasSep 2020

  • "The most beautifully presented cottage in stunning surroundings."

    The kitchen was better stocked than any other cottage we've stayed in. We were blessed with good weather so enjoyed the garden and paddled in the stream. It was the ultimate country getaway.

    Reviewed by AxelJul 2020

  • "We arrived after a long 9 hour drive and we were thankful for the very accurate directions to this beautiful cottage set next to a lovely stream."

    Everything was in order when we arrived, very clean and tidy and everything that you could possibly need for a week away. The kitchen was amazing with its fitted units and the glass walls looking out onto the spacious garden (we were meant to have a dog with us but due to ill heath we had to leaver her at home but I just know she would have loved it). The snug was well appointed and great for a cozy night in front of the TV and the log burner was a welcome addition when the temperature dropped at night. The bedrooms were also lovely and the beds were very comfortable (which doesn't happen very often). Bathrooms were spotless and the towels did the job they were supposed to do!! This is a beautiful property and we are very pleased we chose Cullerford Cottage. We did have one very small problem with a shower but a quick phone call to the housekeeper and it was sorted in no time. Thank you for allowing us to share your home for our holiday.

    Reviewed by SimonSep 2019

  • "Please note the 5 ticks do not accord to a 5 star property."

    The fixtures, fittings and soft furnishings at this property make it 2/3 stars at best. We arrived on a wet & windy Friday evening, so had decided to stay in & cook on our arrival night - what a mistake. The oven & grill pan were so filthy with layers of dirt we didn't use them at all during our stay. The two saucepans we took out to use were dirty, as were the first four plates, cups & bowls we took out of the cupboard. The fridge in the kitchen was dirty, liquids lying on the shelves such that we couldn't bring ourselves to clean that appliance so used the fridge in the utility room. The bathrooms were surface clean, but there was black mould in the corner of the shower tray. The soft furnishings were of poor quality and uncomfortable, not what you would expect in a 5 star holiday property. The bed linen was extremely rumpled (although I think clean) and some of the pillowcases had red ink stains on them. The tea towels in the kitchen were very thin cotton, one of them a free advertising gift. The dish cloths were well used as was the dishwashing sponge (in my experience most 5 star holiday retreats supply new J cloths & sponges for every rental, see Boutique Retreats, Coastal Hideaways etc). The bathroom towels were thin and off white they were so tired. I tried ringing Helpful Holidays but it was out of office hours by this time. If there had been anyone available I would have insisted on being moved to another property/hotel. We debated leaving in any event but decided the downsides of trying to move my 80 year old mother & her dog on a wet & windy Friday night in August outweighed staying in a property we were very unhappy with. I spent the first hours of my holiday washing in very hot water all the kitchen implements and table ware we were going to use to cook dinner. After dinner when we decided to use the dishwasher there was only one very cheap tablet supplied sat on it's own under the sink. Is that why the previous recipients had not cleaned the kitchen implements? The next day we bought cleaning supplies, dishwasher tablets & rinse aid, towels & then cleaned the kitchen & bathrooms. We couldn't do much to freshen the TV room unfortunately. As the trip was to celebrate my Mother's birthday the family made the most of the situation but we were extremely disappointed. The cottage is in a lovely location, but at the moment both the soft furnishings and the standard of cleanliness & linen supplied fall well below an average holiday rental, let alone a 5 star/tick one. Before it was sold Helpful Holidays was always a very reliable company, it appears standards have badly deteriorated.

    We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your stay at Cullaford Cottage. We pride ourselves on offering guests and well-behaved dogs a beautiful place to stay in Devon when we are not there ourselves, so we have taken your comments very seriously. While it is unfortunate that there was evidently a problem with the changeover cleaning, it is also very unfortunate that you did not see the card left by the Housekeeper or the front page of the House Book that provides a number to call if there are any problems of the kind you mention. Had the Housekeeping company been told, they would have come to the cottage and dealt with the problem immediately. Our Housekeeping is handled by a reliable, efficient and responsive company with whom we have dealt for 5 years without an issue of this kind. I am meeting the owner of the Housekeeping company this week to discuss your experience. Property Owner

    Reviewed by WendyAug 2019

  • "The cottage is beautiful sits on its own."

    The bed etc was very comfortable, there was everything in the kitchen you needed and the spice draw was a thoughtful touch the shower room was wonderful but the shower rail needs looking at as it falls definitely. could do with a deep clean throughout the property we opened the window and the frames were full of flys. The fridge in kitchen needs to be changed as the bottom milk shelf keep falling so fridge wouldn’t shut probably. We would definitely stay here again

    Reviewed by DeniseJun 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage lovely garden very cosy"

    Reviewed by JillMay 2019

  • "The accommodation was perfect for us."

    Idyllic, peaceful, spacious, top quality and in the best location imaginable. Our little Schnauzer loved it too. Thank you very much to the owners for letting us share their beautiful cottage.

    Reviewed by KevinMay 2018

  • "Superb cottage in peaceful location."

    Our second stay at Cullaford Cottage and definately not our last

    Reviewed by PaulApr 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x super king double with en suite shower room with shower, WC, basin, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower, WC, basin
  • Downstairs kitchen with dining area
  • Two sitting rooms with wood burning stoves
  • Utility room
  • Downstairs bathroom with hip bath, hand shower, WC, basin.
  • Underfloor heating with wood burning stove
  • fridge, fridge-freezer, tumble dryer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Blu-ray, DVD, WiFi, Phone, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for two cars
  • Enclosed garden
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Pub less than 1 mile from property
  • Note: Check-in time 5pm
  • This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly.

The property

This beautiful Devon cottage is situated in the tiny hamlet of Combe near the Dartmoor village of Scorriton.

The decor is deceptively simple, with pale wood and stone floors giving a sophisticated style for couples or families.

The magnificent oak framed kitchen with dining area will take your breath away as you step inside, with light from big windows and a sleek kitchen.

Step down from here to the cosy sitting room with its wood burning stove and TV for entertainment, or you are spoiled for choice with a second living room, also with wood burning stove, for quiet contemplation or reading, perhaps with a Mary Wesley novel since this lovely cottage was once home to the author.

An old fashioned hip bath in the downstairs bathroom adds to the sense of romance.

Upstairs, through low doorways, you will find the two simple bedrooms under the eaves, as well as a smart bathroom.

Across the little lane, a small orchard with picnic bench and bluebell woods beyond are a peaceful haven frequented by deer and kingfishers, and you also have an enclosed lawn garden behind the cottage for alfresco meals.

This is a place to dream and walk, being in the Dartmoor National Park, or take a ride from the nearby stables, visit beaches at Bigbury-on-Sea or Bantham, 16 miles away, or wander the streets of fascinating little towns like Ashburton and Totnes.

Cullaford Cottage is a magical place to relax in Devon.

Floorplans

Ground FloorGround Floor

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

SCORRITON

A small village (good food pub) on the beautiful, sheltered and wooded slopes of Dartmoor National Park. Buckfastleigh, under 3 miles away is the home of Buckfast Abbey, the South Devon Railway, the Buckfastleigh Butterfly Farm and the Otter Sanctuary.

Region Information

Note: Arrival after 4pm. Spring water. Sorry, no short breaks
Note: Due to owners insurance no fires or barbecues are permitted at this property due to the thatched roof