Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • Hydeaway, 7 Grafton Towers - Devon - 995163 - photo 1
close

Hydeaway, 7 Grafton Towers

(Ref. 995163)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map

4.0

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (12)
  • no (7)
  • apartment (7)
  • location (6)
  • great (6)
  • stay (4)

19 Customer Reviews

  • "Absolutely loved it!"

    Fabulous views, great apartment. Thank you!

    Jan 2024

  • "The listing does NOT state that there are 34 outside steps and 3 floors upto the flat."

    This is dishonest and should be stated on the listing as its exhausting esp with suitcases. The listing does NOT state that the outside decking is beyond the need of TLC. Overgrown, weed filled pots with grubby furniture isnt a place to want to sit out. This should be taken off the listing completely. The sofa bed, obviously unchanged since the flat was opened in 2005, is uncomfortable with the metal of the sofa bed felt when sitting on it. The DVD player has no way of being connected to the TV. The 4 internal steps are dangerous & as others have stated previously, a wall rail needs to be fitted. There is no where to hang anything in the ensuite, inc no where to put shampoo etc in the cramped shower. The listing does NOT state that you have to drive into Salcombe to pick up the key, try to find somewhere to park & do the same at the end of the stay. This needs to be stated before booking. These comments were also left with Coast & Country cottages when we handed the key in.All in all, very disappointing accommodation

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We do state on the red notes when booking the amount of steps from the car park to the building, also that there are 2 flights of internal stairs, it is also mentioned in the property listing that it is a second floor apartment, we can only apologise that you felt you were misled, however we feel the property description, coupled with the pictures, is accurate. Please know that if you had made us aware of any issues you felt needed rectifying during your stay, we would have done our best to do so immediately. The owners have reacted to your comments, we can now confirm that the DVD player is now in fully working order. We do hope you still managed to have a lovely holiday and enjoyed all Salcombe has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline1.9Sep 2023

  • "This property is NOT suitable for anyone with any kind of mobility problems."

    Despite repeated assurances that parking was "at the front door" it was NOT! 24 steps to the front door then a FURTHER 39 steps to the flat front door. With luggage. Not impressed. Fungus and black mould growing in the separate bathroom and regrowing even after cleaning by Coast & Country. Complete lack of instructions on anything, from rubbish collection day to the missile launcher that is the microwave! However, the views are spectacular, even if invisible from the shaded, slightly damp decking. Beds comfy, plenty of towels and hot water, shower very adequate. But shan't be back until there's a lift or escalator installed!

    Reviewed by Susan1.9Sep 2023

  • "We find it difficult to find fault so we won't."

    The listing was highly accurate with no surprises. It's not for infirm or elderly, but we are not in that category..yet..! Excellent, we will be back one day.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Jun 2023

  • "Amazing apartment, fabulous views, very clean, everything you could need."

    Decking needs a little sprucing up.

    Reviewed by David4.7May 2023

  • "Apartment is let down by little details, like only 2 toilet rolls, no kitchen roll."

    Sofa in living room is saggy, needs replacing. TV is 12 years old and NOT smart. I had to bring my own Fire TV stick. DVD player is not even connected with a suitable cable. Ensuite bathroom fan does not work properly, hence it is switched off. Cooker hood light is dead. Beware the man in flat no.2, he gets annoyed at the laundry room door slamming. (Lord knows how he copes in high summer season.) Plus points are really great sea views, fast broadband, good beds, good laundry facility. Access to the garage for bikes and EV charging would be good. The fridge died mid-holiday, but this was dealt with swiftly by the agents - thanks.

    Thank you for your feedback, it is always helpful to receive as we can then do our best to rectify any issues. The owners have taken on board your comments hand have been proactive in resolving them. We were pleased to hear that the fridge situation was delt with quickly, the fridge has now been fixed and continues to be in good working order, as does the DVD Player. The cooker hood has now been replaced and the fan in the bathroom have been serviced. We are trilled you loved the views from the property, they really are something special. We do hope you had a lovely holiday and that we can welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jack3.8Mar 2023

  • "The apartment was exactly what we expected with amazing views and a well equipped kitchen."

    Reviewed by Sally4.1Aug 2022

  • "Cleanliness on arrival was poor (table and kitchen cupboards were tacky to touch and had to be wiped down, a lot of the crockery and cutlery were dirty and had to be put through the dishwasher before use, dirty cutlery drawers we had to wipe out, grubby/sandy cushions on chair in the bedroom and the DVD player had no cable to connect it to the TV)."

    I called to let you know about these issues on arrival day but my call was not answered and so I sent you two emails instead which you didn't respond to. On a positive note the beds were comfortable, the location was excellent, the views were lovely and we all really enjoyed our stay despite having to clean the kitchen ourselves on arrival. Our children loved being so near to the beaches, it made the holiday. The apartment itself is nice - light and airy, if a little tired. There was building work going on nearby with noise from chainsaws from 9am, so not much chance of a lie in.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so please you enjoyed the apartment and loved its location. We were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. We work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is very disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeper/cleaner concerned and we will request that the cupboards and equipment, in particular, are given a thorough clean. We can only apologise that you could not get through on the phone and that your emails were not received. We have investigated and cannot find your emails on our system, we leave our direct line for the Salcombe office in the property and is with the keys when they are given out, we are also on call 24hrs a day. We would have of course visited immediately to rectify any issues had we received them. We are glad you had a good holiday and do hope to welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura3.4Aug 2021

  • "Great views (hopefully, the trees in between property and see will be pruned a little in the next couple of years) from a comfortable apartment."

    The walk to either South Sands or North Sands (similar distance) is steep. The area is great for walking and the ferry across the estuary from Salcombe is a short boat trip and opens up a lot more walking.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing the outside area to our attention, we will arrange for this to be tidied up. We do hope you enjoyed South Devon and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jun 2021

  • "First visit to salcombe, we will definitely return to area and accommodation as location was perfect."

    Overall brilliant

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Jun 2021

  • "Great location - property a bit tired."

    Sep 2018

  • "Our 4th stay here!"

    Each time creating wonderful memories. we never tire of the spectacular views and location. Visited Burgh Island for the first time-stunning!

    Mrs SpeedJun 2018

  • "This is our third stay at 7 Grafton Towers, and it hopefully won't be the last."

    .It suits us perfectly for location, accomodation and price.

    Sep 2016

  • "Excellent. Perfect summer break in the south coast."

    KARENJul 2016

  • "The photos do not show the apartment as bright and airy, in fact we both thought it was going to be really dark inside, however when we got there we were really surprised on how good it was, excellent views, nice quiet area of Salcome."

    Not a place to stop if you don't like steps, or having to walk 20 mins into the centre. This was not a problem for us, and it does say in the details that its an apartment high up.

    GEOFFJul 2016

  • "Great views."

    You either need to be very fit or rely on your car, but we loved and wouldn't hesitate to book again.

    Sue WitchellMay 2016

  • "Wonderful location and brilliant sea views"

    May 2016

  • "Well presented, Clean."

    Great views.

    Sep 2015

  • "Have started here a number of times before and each time enjoyable"

    May 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x King-size with en-suite, 1 x twin
  • Additional family bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, hand basin, w.c and shaver point
  • Kitchen/siting/dining room
  • Gas central heating
  • Fridge/freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer in the communal area on the ground level, oven hob, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle
  • Wifi available Flatscreen TV and DVD player
  • Parking for one car in front of garage
  • Private decked balcony with table and chairs
  • Gas Barbeque available
  • Bed linen and towels supplied
  • No pets
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

Hydeaway 7 Grafton Towers is a spacious second floor apartment with sea views over the estuary to Prawle Point.

Ideally situated between North Sands and South Sands beaches only half a mile away, it is perfect for a family with young children.

Each one of the Grafton Towers apartments has been individually designed to the highest standards, occupying an enviable position within Salcombe.

Why not spend the day on the beach, or catch the foot passenger ferry from South Sands to the centre of Salcombe, to enjoying perusing the shops, or crabbing on the quayside.

The property has a bespoke kitchen, featuring polished granite worktops, Kuppersbusch appliances including a ceramic hob and oven, fridge-freezer, dishwasher and microwave.

A door leads out to a side balcony.

The dining area has a table and chairs for six people whilst the sitting area has two double sofas, a flat screen TV and a DVD player. The master bedroom has a 5’ wooden bed and superb estuary views, its en-suite shower room features a wash basin, w.c and shaver points.

The second bedroom, at the rear of the apartment, is a twin.

In addition to the en-suite is a small bathroom with a bath, hand-held shower, hand basin, w.c, and shaver point.

To the side of the apartment is a private decked balcony with a table and four chairs whilst a gas barbeque is available.

There is also a large communal landscaped garden and sun terrace to enjoy the summer sunshine.

Wi-Fi available.

One car parking space is allocated for this property.

Please note: all duvets, pillows, towels (excluding beach towels) and bed linen are provided.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Communal laundry facilities.

No pets permitted.

There are approximately 25 steps to the building from the parking area, and then a further two flights of stairs (36 steps) to reach the apartment.

Please be aware, due to the nature of the town, several of our properties are situated up hills. Please contact our reservations team if you would like more information about the location of this property.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas