Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 4 minutes ago

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • Yew Tree Cottage - Devon - 1034228 - photo 1

Yew Tree Cottage

(Ref. 1034228)

Stoke Fleming, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (20)
  • lovely (15)
  • stay (8)
  • our (8)
  • cosy (8)
  • comfortable (7)

22 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely few days at yew cottage."

    Lovely location, short walk to the beach. The cottage was cosy and comfortable and kept really clean. Our daughter loved the snug and dining room. Just beware that the courtyard is small and not enclosed so if you have a dog you need to pop out with them - not a problem for us. We had a really enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by LucyOct 2023

  • "Yew Tree cottage is a cosy and quirky holiday home with everything we needed for our staycation."

    The bed was very comfortable and we particularly liked the snug on the first floor of the property where we could sit and read, It looked out to a field with a lovely herd of cattle. The owner of the cottage very kindly left treats for our dog and ourselves which was a nice touch. would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by PhilipOct 2023

  • "A lovely characterful cottage- loved seeing the sheep in the field through the sitting room window and the sea from the upstairs snug."

    Great position opposite the Green Dragon pub - friendly and good pizzas, 1 minute from the village shop with fresh croissants and coffee and 10 minutes walk from the lovely beach at Blackpool Sands and excellent cafe. The cottage was warm and cozy and exactly as described by Helpful Holidays. A very good base for walks along the coastal path. Thoroughly recommend.

    Thank you very much for your review of Yew Tree Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BelindaSep 2023

  • "Great place and location we thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    The cottage was lovely and cosy. Unfortunately it was a bit dusty and the bathroom was dirty when we arrived, and there was nothing left for us to clean it with which was a little disappointing. The social distancing notices are no longer required and should be removed. Other than that though it was great and would deffo recommend others to stay.

    Thank you very much for your review with helpful comments. We're delighted that you had a great time at Yew Tree Cottage and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BillySep 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay in Stoke Fleming."

    The only downside to the cottage was the heating at night time. The central heating came on at 5.30pm and went off at 7pm which was not long enough to heat the cottage. This was a problem for us as we had my 80 year old mum with us and we were conscious of her getting cold. Other than that everything else was great.

    We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay at Yew Tree Cottage. The heating in the property is set on a timer to go off at 11pm. There is also the option to light the log burner in the sitting room which will soon increase the temperate throughout the property. The thermostat and the boiler will switch itself off until the temperature drops below 21 C when it will fire up automatically and heat the radiators. If in doubt, Helpful Holidays are always at the end of the phone to answer any questions. We hope to see you again at the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JulieMar 2023

  • "Lovely clean cozy cottage with view out to sea from upstairs snug, and wonderful log burner in the sitting room."

    We enjoyed exploring the local beaches and coastal paths with our dog. In the mornings we popped down to village shop for croissants, and in the evenings walked across the road to the Green Dragon Pub, and also went to Radius 7 restaurant, both very good! Great value for money – we look forward to a return visit, hopefully very soon!

    Reviewed by NicolaOct 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a good location ."

    Comfort bed, plenty of hot water and fluffy towels . Only negative the cold tap in the kitchen broke which didn’t get repaired during our stay .

    Reviewed by ClsireSep 2022

  • "Stoke Fleming is a great base and we had a wonderful time in Devon."

    Some amazing beaches all within 20-30 drive and loved having the coastal path to Blackpool Sands literally at the front door, and a brilliant walk to Dartmouth the opposite way. The cottage is very cosy and had everything we needed. Reading in the snug area was lovely. The reason for only 3 stars - and is an important one, is the church is next door, which chimes every 15 minutes 24 hours per day. So for the first 2 days none of our family slept and was very tired. By day 3 we'd had some ear plugs delivered from Amazon and slept much better!

    Reviewed by AndrewMay 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely and cosy and the welcoming gifts were such a lovely touch."

    I’m not really sure I’d say it’s pet friendly as there is no outdoor space, and when you need to pop out with the pooch through the shared courtyard where the neighbour is most unfriendly to the point of aggressive, it’s not very relaxing sadly.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the courtyard at the property, we do advise in the description 'Dogs must be supervised in the courtyard at all times. Courtyard is for access only.' We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NicolaOct 2021

  • "A beautiful, comfortable cottage absolutely ideally situated in a stunning, friendly village which is perfectly placed to visit surrounding areas."

    Reviewed by SuzySep 2021

  • "It was a beautiful property in a lovely village."

    After a long drive we arrived to a cream tea and dog treats for the dog. The children were also very excited about the sweets that had been left for them. We had a lovely time and will definitely be returning!

    Reviewed by NicolaAug 2021

  • "Cottage was damp on arrival so heating needs to be on when nobody is there."

    The damp aggravated my son's asthma and also my mother's chest. Also it should be mentioned that the church clock opposite chimes every quarter hour kind of annoying if you aren't used to it when trying to sleep.

    Thank you for your feedback. The cottage has been fully occupied from the beginning of the season. The heating is set at 21 degrees and programmed to come on at 3.00 pm before guests arrive. The cottage should never be cold or damp and as mentioned in an earlier reply to a review, additional heating and hot water is available at the flick of a switch if necessary. The cottage is close to St Peters church and, as with most churches, the clock strikes on a regular basis. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NatalieAug 2021

  • "The cottage is a delightful, quirky building and perfectly in keeping with the Devon countryside; however, it would be good if the description mentioned the low ceilings and doorways."

    My 6 foot 6 husband had a permanent lump on his head and, had we known in advance, we may have looked elsewhere. It didn't ruin the holiday, but would have been good to know in advance.

    Thank you for your invaluable feedback. We have checked with the owner who confirms that the ceilings and doorways (apart from one) are of standard size and not low to the point where this needs to be flagged in the listing. We have adjusted the description slightly to flag the 1 door leading from the lounge to the dining area as this could potentially be lower and narrower than a standard doorway. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ElaineJul 2021

  • "Stayed here for a lovely get away with my teenage son and dog!"

    Beautiful location! Stones throw away from the local very friendly pub! And a short walk to a beautiful beach- that we couldn’t access due to having our dog and was during the peak time of no dogs allowed which was unfortunate. Leads to a Costal path is on the front door step! Only downside was one day the master bedroom became ultra infested with flying ants!! Think this could of been an issue before as found a lot of fly and ant spray in the cupboards- maybe this needs to be looked into for future bookers! Another minor downside was there was no cupboard space for storing food, there is a huge selection of plates and glasses- maybe way too much? Having to store our food heaped onto the kitchen sides made it feel incredibly cluttered which was a shame, maybe a cupboard or 2 being empty would of been nice just to have things put away. But these to me were minor- I would stay again as the property was just wonderful overall.

    Reviewed by GeorgiaJul 2021

  • "This is a comfy cottage and the cream tea that greeted us was a lovely thought and a great way to kick off the holiday ."

    The location was good and we found parking close by. Although we didn't use the fire I can imagine it's amazing when light and would make the room lovely and cosy on a chilly evening. We did however use the little snug room upstairs every day . It has pleasant views and is light and airy. The only downside we found was having absolutely no where to sit outside and in warm weather it really is needed. Even just a good up chair would be good . This would not impact on the elderly gentleman given the distance between the properties. Overall an enjoyable stay and would be happy to recommend.

    Reviewed by ChristineJun 2021

  • "We had a wonderful week in this gorgeous little cottage."

    Well appointed & comfortable. Lovely touch of cream tea & prosecco waiting for us. Beautiful big log burner to curl up in front of. Blissfully comfortable bed & bedding. A*

    Reviewed by SarahApr 2021

  • "Lovely, well-maintained, warm and cosy cottage in a delightful part of the country."

    Just 10 minutes from the beach & 50 yards from a great pub.The village shop served coffee and croissants and everything you need. We had such a wonderful time, thank you so much.

    Reviewed by GeorgieDec 2020

  • "The cottage was smaller than expected but comfortable & clean."

    Quirky rooms at added to its character. Everything was available as needed dishwasher, washing machine etc. It felt slightly damp but managed to get the central heating to work, just once which made it cosy. We would have used the log burner but there were no logs available. Ideally situated for walking, sight seeing & touring the area.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The thermostat is set at 21 degrees and the cottage should never feel cold or damp. If required, additional heating and hot water is available at the flick of a switch. Logs can be purchased from either from the village shop 100 meters from the cottage or from the garage at the top of Dartmouth, by Lidl. We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoSep 2020

  • "Whilst the cottage was very comfortable and we found the rooms very clean there were a couple of points that we would like to make you aware of: 1 You stated there was a courtyard, but we were not aware how small and unusable it was, also on arrival, there was a note asking us not to use it, but to enter and leave through the front of the cottage."

    So this mean't that we had nowhere to sit outside at any time. 2. We were eating in, due to present restrictions; both floors of the ovens were greasy and it was obvious they had not been cleaned for sometime. 3. We had a problem initially with making the TV work. On reading the Guests manual were followed the instructions and contacted named caretaker and left a few messages for a call back. This never happened, I did eventually get through, and was told that they had not managed Yew Tree Cottage for 2 years? I then tried to contact Sykes, was holding on for 2 periods of 10 minutes, so decided to give up. There were no indoor bin liners and no green bag which was to be provided to facilitate collection of waste. We did enjoy our stay, just felt that these were important points that need some attention.

    We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Yew Tree Cottage. We have discussed the points raised with the property owner. As stated on the website, the courtyard is for access only and due to the current situation with COVID they are encouraging all guests to use the front entrance to avoid unnecessary contact with neighbours, one of whom is ‘shielding’. They have spoken with their housekeeper in relation to your comments regarding the oven and lack of bin bags, which they are confident was an over sight on this occasion. It is their intention to replace the TV with a smart TV and were sorry to hear you had problems operating the current tele. Old literature has now been removed from the welcome folder. We apologise you were unable to get through to our customer support line, we are currently experiencing very high volumes of calls. Despite the points raised we hope to welcome you back to The West Country in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LynSep 2020

  • "Whilst the cottage was extremely well located and well equipped the overall cleanliness and decoration was disappointing."

    The cottage is need of redecoration and attention paid to cleanliness in areas such as skirting boards, side of cooker and other areas not regularly cleaned. The windows were extremely dirty especially from the outside and do not appear to have been cleaned in an age. There was also a strong odour of not sure what on entering the property but opening the windows helped a little. The rental charge does not certainly reflect the condition of the cottage and until the above has been addressed I would not rent this property again or recommend it to anyone.

    Thank you for your comments. Following a very busy season at Yew Tree Cottage with back to back bookings since reopening in July some wear and tear in relation to the decoration within the property is naturally expected. Due to the close proximity to the sea and the high level of salt in the air the windows do suffer, however they are cleaned regularly inside and out. Due to the current cleaning regime put in place to ensure the safety of our guests this property is thoroughly cleaned and disinfected after each guest's departure; therefore, some products do have a strong odour which dissipates very quickly after use. We are sorry to hear you would not recommend Yew Tree Cottage, however the volume of bookings shows how popular this quaint little cottage is. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RichardAug 2020

  • "Really lovely location, lovely comfortable cottage."

    Reviewed by VictoriaAug 2020

  • "We arrived to a foisty smelling cottage."

    The previous occupants must have spilt red wine on a rug made of matting. Someone had tried to clean it and there was a big wet patch which really smelt foisty. There was no note of apology from the caretaker. The house is quirky but needs some TLC. and a good deep clean including windows. We didn't think that the property was worth the amount which we paid. Don't think we will use Syke cottages again.

    Thank you for your taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Yew Tree Cottage. We have spoken with the owner of the property who has informed us that the red wine stain on the carpet was indeed caused by the previous guests. The owners were completely unaware of the fact until their cleaner/caretaker arrived on the Friday morning to clean and prepare the cottage. Given the short turnaround time between guests, the only option was to try to remove the stain using a variety of cleaning products which possibly left the unusual smell and the carpet a little damp. Despite the lockdown period the cottage received a thorough professional deep clean before the start of the season including carpets upholstery and windows (inside and out). In addition to this the necessary COVID disinfection was also carried out. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion our service did not meet your expectations, had you notified us during your stay we would have done our upmost to try and rectify the issues you mentioned. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PatJul 2020

Show more

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double and 1 x bunk beds
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room
  • First-floor snug
  • Oil fired central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking available 50m up School Road behind Yew Tree Cottage
  • One small well behaved dog welcome at the discretion of the owner at an additional £30 per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Dogs must be supervised in the courtyard at all times
  • Note: Courtyard is for access only.

The property

A pretty, period property sitting within the village of Stoke Fleming, this coastal cottage can be found settled amongst the beauty of the South Hams district of Devon.

Providing families and couples with a warm, homely feel, this stone-front cottage is in the ideal spot for an adventure in both the countryside and along the coast.

Spend your evenings relaxing on one of the plush, pink sofas in the sitting room when you're not out adventuring, or head through into the dining room (low door) to spread out and play board games brought from home when you're not using this space to enjoy a delicious home-cooked meal.

The kitchen is host to all of the essential amenities, with its glistening white units, this room is a true delight for the chef of the group.

Moving onto the first floor you will find the two bedrooms, made up of a double bedroom perfect for a couple and a bunk bed room ideally suited to the little ones, these simple and stylish rooms are perfect for resting your head at the end of a fun-filled day.

Also on the first floor is the bathroom where you can refresh with either a bath or shower before heading out onto the landing to find the snug, providing the perfect place to settle down with a good book in hand as an abundance of natural light fills the room in the summer months.

Head into the local village to collect all the essentials needed for a home-cooked treat, or visit one of the two pubs for a traditional pub lunch or a rewarding drink after a ramble along the coast.

Nearby Dartmouth is a wonderful place to visit for history lovers with its castle and cove fort, or venture further afield into Paignton or Torquay to find zoos, beaches, various eateries, rich history and more to entertain all ages.

While Salcombe offers a traditional day out in Devon, Yew Tree Cottage provides a delightful base from which to explore the many attractions of the South of England, no matter what time of year you're visiting.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Dartmouth 2.9 miles, Paignton 10.2 miles, Kingsbridge 10.8 miles, Salcombe 17.8 miles; Torquay 21.5 miles

A village and civil parish sitting within the South Hams district of Devon, Stoke Fleming is a wonderful base for those seeking to explore both the coast and countryside of the South of England. Lying on the shores of Start Bay, this picturesque village offers a wonderful array of amenities, as well as being within easy reach of the many wonders of Devon. The village itself benefits from a Post Office with a village shop where you can gather all of your self-catered necessities, as well as two pubs to choose from whether you're seeking a rewarding beverage after a day of rambling or a tasty treat in the form of a traditional pub lunch. Positioned within the South Hams district, you can expect to find unspoilt coastline, rolling hills and plenty of adventure no matter where you're positioned. Spend a day on the award-winning sands of Blackpool Sands, or simply soak in your surroundings of the Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with its abundance of river valleys, moorland and coast to explore by foot, bike or even boat. Close by is Dartmouth with its enticing history in the form of a 14th century castle and fortress offering views over the estuary and Bayard's Cove Fort, as well as an art gallery and museum providing culture and excitement for all ages. Further along the coast you can find both Paignton and Torquay, providing plenty of attractions all-year-round including zoos, even more history and culture and plenty of delicious eateries to choose from, or spend a day in Salcombe for a truly traditional day out in Devon with its maritime museum and quaint aura. Stoke Fleming is perfectly positioned for exploring all of the delights that Devon has to offer.

Note: Church clock chimes beautifully on the quarter.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Last minute