Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

24 people have recently viewed this property

2 Dart

Stoke Gabriel, Devon (Ref. 959536)

4.7

Excellent

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

24 Customer Reviews

  • "Excellent property in a beautiful village , enjoyed the week in this wonderful property and we will be back again soon."

    The only negative small points were the damaged tiles over the bath/shower in the family bathroom which caused slight cut to the hand and the previous occupants leaving excessive amount of beer and wine bottles next to the bins.

    Reviewed by MarkApr 2022

  • "Need the welcome letter placed in a more open space ie table top or work top, we did not find this until the next morning under a butchers block ,as their is no signal we had trouble trying to contact our other two guests the problem being the wi-if code and not being able to find it ,could be better displayed ie on the blackboard or laminated and on display more noticeable."

    They do not have a bottle collection in south hams , so people need to be aware of this as like myself bottles are left by the dustbin/ parking area , also the rubbish dustbin was full on arrival . The cottage was lovely and warm ,situated in a peaceful village and we did have a lovely stay . Thank you

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We have asked our housekeeper to leave the welcome folder on the dining table, so that it is more visible for guests on arrival at the property. The bin collection in the whole of the South Hams has been a bit hit and miss for a while, this is due to driver issues and so affects everyone. In our information folder we do ask guests to take any bottles to a recycling point, as there is no bottle collection. We have arranged for the bottles which were left by the bin to be removed. Aside from these points we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the property and hope that we may be able to welcome you back to the property again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JaneApr 2022

  • "Very pleasant cottage situated in beautiful countryside with some amazing views."

    Everything you needed to make it home form home for a few relaxing days away.

    Reviewed by KevinOct 2021

  • "THE ONLY MAJOR PROBLEM WAS THAT THERE IS NO BT SIGNAL This needs to be stated in the details Most people need to keep in contact with others."

    But the main concern is if there was an emergency Cottage was spotless and as described. It would have been helpful to have had the hot water switched on and the same for the heating

    Reviewed by MargaretOct 2021

  • "The location was perfect short walk to the river."

    The cottage was perfect, well appointed, warm, clean, modern, 2 cottage gardens. We’ll be back thank you

    Reviewed by GuyMay 2021

  • "We had a lovely few days at this property."

    It was very comfortable and had everything catered for. Only a couple of points that concerned us.... very steep steps in back garden from patio to grassed area and also from this area to parking area. Also, perhaps more attention needed to cleaning. The bathrooms were obviosly not cleaned around edges of floor areas. The water in the shower was slow to go down the plug hole. I took this up....it was black and filthy. I cleaned this as well as I could and replaced it. Otherwise no other issues and we enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by ChrisApr 2021

  • "REAR GARDEN STEPS 45 DEG ANGLE ."

    SPACED MUCH TO FAR APART LAST STEP VERY HIGH .HAND RAIL4 INCHES WIDE 100 MM, WHO HAS HANDS WIDE ENOUGH TO HOLD IT IF YOU SLIPPED ON THE WOODEN STEPS .RECOMEND 50MM DIA MAX .OUR DOG FERGUS COULD NOT GO UP THE STEPS ,WE HAD TO USE HIS DOUBLE BED SIZE TARTAN FLEECE COVER FOR HIM TO CLIMB THE STEPS ,GREYHOUND, COLLIE, STAFFIE. A LURCHER 30 KGS. WE TOOK OUR OWN ZERO RECLINER CHAIRS WITH US .WHO WANTS TO SIT ON WOODEN CHAIRS FOR SEVERAL HOURS .ONE OF THE HALEGEON SPOT LIGHT BULBS DIED ,TRIPPED THE MCB IN THE HALL ABOVE THE FRONT DOOR ALL KITCHEN LIGHTS OUT .HAD TO CLIMB BALANCE ON A BEDROOM CHAIR TO REACH THE RCCB MCB BREAKER BOX . 79 YEARS OLD SEPT 7 TH .SMALL STEPS WOULD OF BEEN SUPER ALDI ,ARGOS ,APPROX 10 /12 £ BLACK BIN WAS NOT EMPTIED PHONED TOTNES COUNCIL TWICE LOCAL COUNCILOR TOLD ME PEOPLE FORGET TO PUT THE BINS OUT .I HAVE PICTURES OR FLIES AND MAGGOTS IN THE BIN .THE SMELL WAS LOVELY.LOCAL VILLAGE PEOPLE VERY FRIENDLY , ITS AMMAZING WHAT YOU LEARN WALKING YOUR DOG IN FOR THREE WEEK IN THE VILLAGE.RIVER SHACK 8/10 , EMMAS 9/10 ,THE CHURCH7/10 ,THE CASTLE COVID NIGHTMARE.TAKEAWAY 7/10. WE TAKE 4/5 WKS MAY JUNE . 3/4 WKS SEPT.ENJOY LIFE WHILE YOU CAN .KEEP SAFE, KEEP SPACE,WASYOU HANDS .BOB.K.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at 2 Dart. The Property Manager can be contacted by guests and we understand you were swiftly assisted with any queries raised during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BobSep 2020

  • "Great cottage and in a fantastic location."

    Clean and tidy, well equipped and very comfortable.

    Reviewed by BrianJul 2020

  • "The location was fantastic."

    A two minute walk to a friendly post office stores and three eateries. Beautiful relaxing setting. Property was extremely well appointed and clean.

    Reviewed by JulieMar 2020

  • "Very disappointing visit."

    This was our third visit to the property and we assumed that there would be some level of consistency, we were therefore very disappointed to find that on this occasion there was: no toilet roll, no bags on any pedal bins (and none in stock), no starter dishwasher tablets, no soap in the en suite, only two hand towels in a property for four, a bedside table lamp with dud bulb and again no spares, a dirty fish smelling tea towel (only one), a tumble drier that didn't work, a toilet brush in the en suite that was broken and this was in addition to the place looking rather tired (bedroom carpet would benefit from a clean). All of these comments are rather unfortunate since that actual property has been well thought out and they would not have applied to previous visits. The missing and dirty items were particularly galling since we have a journey of over 400 miles and do not feel inclined to go shopping immediately after arrival.

    Thank you for taking the time to respond to our feedback request. 2 Dart maintains very good reviews, as do all of the properties we manage; we cannot verify if we simply forgot to leave toilet rolls or not, but this is entirely possible and we apologise if this was the case. All of the bins at 2 Dart have removeable inner parts that are emptied easily and washed out afterwards. We do leave dishwasher tabs and we don’t feel that we would have missed leaving these. Despite the points raised we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at 2 Dart. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ElizabethOct 2019

  • "Excellent accommodation in a lovely setting."

    Great garden which was very safe for our dog. The steps leading up to the front of the cottage and the steps leading down to the back of the cottage are very steep and warrant handrails . The village is beautiful and the people very friendly. The walk through the orchard down to the river dart was a favourite, especially for Our Labrador ,all in all a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by LynOct 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage at a very high specification"

    Reviewed by DavidAug 2019

  • "2 Dart is the most wonderful place to relax or walk, whichever suits you."

    I have been coming for the last 4 years and I would recommend it highly. All the popular seaside towns are close by and if you journey a little further you can visit beautiful Salcombe. There are also quite a few National Trust properties nearby. The bungalow is lovely. Room to relax both I side and out. The bedrooms are spacious. Cannot recommend 2 Dart highly enough.

    Reviewed by LyndaMay 2019

  • "We had a wonderful week."

    The cottage was a dream everything we wanted was there. Stoke Gabriel is the most lovely village, people helpful and friendly, two great pubs, and great walks around the village and along the river. I know Sykes did not arrange it but we had a week of terrific weather could not have wished for better. I arranged a tour of Dartmouth Royal Naval Collage which was a really an experience i would not want to have missed.

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2019

  • "The bungalow was very well appointed and the village was so pretty and friendly with eateries and a shop within minutes"

    Reviewed by JaneApr 2019

  • "Check mobile phone network coverage in area - fairly essential if need to contact caretaker."

    Well planned bungalow in great location.

    Reviewed by ElizabethMar 2019

  • "Lovely, well equipped bungalow in an idyllic village."

    Reviewed by LynneMar 2019

  • "Property is as described and very comfortable with a well designed extension."

    Generally we have no complaints; however, we were met by a FULL dishwasher upon arrival. After a long journey (we live in Northumberland) we were not best pleased. Apart from the issue above, the location of the property and the friendliness of the neighbours and locals was very welcome.

    Reviewed by ElizabethOct 2018

  • "Fantastic holiday cottage in a great location."

    Loved the kitchen/diner/lounge, it was really bright and open, and a good way to keep an eye on the kids. The bedrooms and bathrooms were all nicely presented and a good size. The village of Stoke Gabriel is very nice and the pub, shop and restaurant were all 1 minute walk away. Our only suggestion is the possible addition of a gate to the top of the steps leading from the patio to the garden. Only a minor detail, but means that you can leave children safely in the garden as ours had a tendency to want to play on the steps.

    Reviewed by DavidSep 2018

  • "We found it comfortable, relaxing, quiet and apart from the difficulties with parking and carrying our luggage up and down the steps, it was very enjoyable."

    We found opening and locking the front door difficult. We also found the fixed part of the back patio doors impossible to work reliably.

    Reviewed by RobertAug 2018

  • "It was ok , property needs a good deep clean , felt dusty on arrival , little things not great , could be much better."

    small things , no hand towels with main bedroom , no spare loo roll , cobwebs and windows needed cleaning, no shower mat in en-suite , tear in sheet on bed , broken loo brush holder , marks on paintwork, just poor care taking, we holiday in cottages a lot , just a little disappointing.

    Reviewed by Jo-anneJun 2018

  • "Access is quite difficult with luggage and maybe a blind on lounge window to shade television from evening Sun otherwise were very pleased with the accommodation."

    Reviewed by BarbaraMay 2018

  • "This is a very nice villa in a superb location with easy access to fabulous coastal scenery and long walks on Dartmoor."

    Stoke Gabriel is a very pleasant village with a couple of great local pubs a few minutes away (and friendly people - we dropped a hat leaving the car one evening and someone kindly found it and popped it over the wing mirror the next day). The villa itself is large, comfortable and had everything we needed for a relaxing week away. Unfortunately the floor in the living/dining/kitchen area had not been cleaned properly and was rather grubby. Apart from that a great stay.

    Reviewed by TimApr 2018

  • "Had difficulty booking through your website."

    Had to phone to book.

    Reviewed by NNov 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with en-suite shower room, shower, basin and WC
  • 1 x twin with TV
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining and seating area and woodburning stove
  • Utility room.
  • Gas underfloor and central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with recordable Sky entertainment and Sports, DVD, Bluetooth speaker, WiFi, Selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and high chair available
  • Off road parking for 2 medium sized cars
  • Enclosed lawn garden and patio with furniture and BBQ
  • One well behaved dog at £25 per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop/pub 2 min walk
  • River 5 mins walk
  • Beach 4 miles
  • Note: Access to front of the property 10 shallow steps and from rear 9 steps
  • Note: Parking 4.2m wide (total) and 4m long max.

The property

Positioned in the peaceful and highly desirable picturesque village of Stoke Gabriel in South Devon, 2 Dart is a beautiful villa style bungalow that you will long to return to.

Ideally placed for strolling along the estuary, exploring the beauty of the South Hams and family days out on the beach.

With the village pub on the doorstep you have all the ingredients for a perfect holiday at any time of year.

The relaxed, New England inspired interior gives this property a breezy beach house quality, with both bedrooms boasting French doors onto a Colonial style veranda to the front that overlook a pretty cottage garden.

The master bedroom has an en-suite modern shower room and there is a separate family bathroom.

The hallway leads through to a bright and airy open plan living room, a partially glazed lantern roof and French doors flooding the room with daylight.

A comfortable seating area at one end allows you to enjoy your favourite TV show or catch up on a sports event, or during cooler months cosy up and enjoy the real flames of the central wood burning stove.

A sleek modern kitchen is equipped with all you could wish for and has a useful utility area.

The French doors open onto paved patio area equipped with garden furniture and BBQ, perfect for summer meals and evening barbecues.

Stairs lead up to a raised lawn garden, where parking can be found to the rear.

The garden is fully enclosed.

A two minute stroll will bring you to the village pub where on summer’s evening parents can sit and enjoy a tipple whilst children play in the village play park opposite.

Situated on a creek of the River Dart, a short walk through the apple orchard will take you down to the riverbank and quay, a hot spot for crabbing where you can relax at the café whilst children play.

The interesting town of Totnes is just 4 miles, known for its alternative vibe, independent shops and monthly Good Food Market.

The fishing port and popular resort of Brixham is just 7 miles, where you will pick up an outstanding fish supper freshly caught as the trawlers bring in the daily catch.

Family days out are plentiful with the long sandy beaches of the English Riviera on your doorstep along with Paignton Zoo and Splashdown waterpark.

Hop on the steam railway that will take you along the coast, a journey not to be missed.

They say Stoke Gabriel is the best kept secret in Devon, and a stay at 2 Dart is sure to convince you.

View on map

About the location

STOKE GABRIEL

Paignton 4.0 miles; Brixham 6.5 miles; Kingswear 8.9 miles

Positioned alongside a picturesque creek of the River Dart in South Devon, Stoke Gabriel is a delightful unspoiled village, a firm favourite for many visitors who come for its beautiful tranquil riverside setting. You need not venture far from the village, with a village pub, children’s play park, an apple orchard, restaurants, tea rooms and local stores. The River Shack beach café provides refreshments on the quay, a popular spot for the local pastime ‘crabbing’. Ideally placed for exploring South Devon and the South Hams, with Kingswear, Dartmouth and Brixham all within easy reach and the magnificent Torbay beaches on the doorstep.

Region Information

Note: Access to front of the property 10 shallow steps and from rear 9 steps. Note: Parking 4.2m wide (total) and 4m long max.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it