Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 3 minutes ago

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 29 View Image Gallery
  • 8 Thurlestone Beach - Devon - 995181 - photo 1

8 Thurlestone Beach

(Ref. 995181)

Thurlestone, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • apartment (13)
  • lovely (11)
  • well (10)
  • clean (8)
  • good (7)
  • property (7)

24 Customer Reviews

  • "We have had a lovely week here."

    The apartment has everything you need for your stay. The weather has been great too. Thank you!

    Dec 2023

  • "Upon arrival the property was extremely dirty."

    Clumps of hair (human / dog) were on the floor in the lounge, hallway and master bedroom. A hair band, with lumps of hair attached, was discarded in the lounge. There were sweet wrappers on the floor in the lounge. Receipts from the previous let left on the dinning table. The work surfaces in the kitchen were dirt and sticky to touch. The floors in the two bathrooms were dirty. The freezer contained other peoples food. The lounge / sofa area absolutely stank of dog I spent the first 2 hours of my holiday cleaning. The sofa in the lounge is extremely worn, broken in places and needs to be replaced. The freezer is in desperate need of a defrost and clean. So bad that to close it properly I had to take out the top draw. Generally the apartment needs some maintenance and repair. The floor in the hallway is awful. The property is saved by the location. But you can’t continue to charge premium prices without investing some money in cleaning and replacement furniture. I won’t be staying there again.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave you feedback. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies that the property was not presented to its usual high standard for your arrival. Your comfort and satisfaction are of the upmost importance to us, and we deeply regret that the cleanliness of the property fell short of your expectation. Unfortunately our usual cleaner was on holiday that week and the relief cleaner was obviously not up to our usual high standard. We did try and contact you several times after your initial complaint to offer a cleaner to re attend, to rectify any issues you have mentioned but unfortunately we did not have a response from yourself. We understand your disappointment and can only apologise again for any inconvenience caused. We take your feedback very seriously and have already taken immediate steps to address the situation and ensure such an occurrence does not happen again Regarding the floor, we have inspected this and cannot find any damage. All the wooden floors have recently been sanded and revarnished to a very high standard. In addition we have completed a full inspection of the property and are also unclear as to why you provided comments that the sofa was broken as we could not find any damage. Planning permission is currently being sort to replace windows and exterior doors of all apartments in the complex in the near future We do hope you still had a lovely holiday and enjoyed all the area has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Thomas1.9Aug 2023

  • "A very pleasant apartment ,in a nice position and well equipped."

    Overall we enjoyed our stay but a few niggles held back a top review. The welcome pack was rather pathetic , particularly given the 'luxury' status of the flat and you needed to be a seasoned weightlifter to open the sash windows ! Although not specific to the flat it may be worth Sykes advising future guests that the narrow lanes (especially from Thurlestone to Bantham bay) can be extremely irksome ,especially when you meet the school bus. Otherwise a great area - especially for walkers and cyclists.

    Reviewed by Anthony3.4Jun 2023

  • "This was our second stay this year."

    Lovely property, everything you could want for a comfortable stay. We even managed early evening drinks on the balcony in October.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Oct 2022

  • "An immaculate holiday cottage with high standards of fixtures and fittings with a lovely sea view from the lounge , main bedroom and balcony ."

    Good location with the nearest beach and SW costal path less than 5 minutes walk away and lots of interesting places to visit with a half hour drive ( beware the narrow lanes).Would recommend and will certainly return.

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Sep 2022

  • "Amazing weather and the apartment is very close to the beach which was very handy!"

    The apartment was clean and had a nice garden which was good for the dogs to play in.

    Sep 2022

  • "We had some mixed weather, but the week was very enjoyable."

    The apartment was lovely and had quality furnishings and appliances. We have stayed in quite a few of these apartments and this is by far the nicest. Thank you.

    Sep 2022

  • "Very impressed with this property."

    Clean and comfortable, well equipped. The one downside was the parking facilities. If you have more than one car parking can be a problem.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline4.7Jul 2022

  • "Lovely property."

    Very clean and well equipped. Fab views from balcony. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0May 2022

  • "Beautiful apartment with everything you need for a great holiday."

    The south facing balcony was a delight which we and our dog enjoyed on many an occasion. Lovely location, really quiet but near to amenities with super walks straight out of the door. We will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0May 2022

  • "Fabulous apartment, spacious, stunning views well equipped."

    Reviewed by Pat4.7Sep 2021

  • "This was our 5th year at 8 Thurlestone Beach."

    We were disappointed that we were not offered a bedding change at the end of week one. We are also horrified that the rental cost for the same 2 weeks next year has increased by 60%, which means we will not be able to afford to stay there again. Someone is being very greedy, owner or Sykes I do not know. Very disappointing when we have been going there for so many years and always leave the apartment clean and tidy.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you were disappointed not to have had a bedding change at the end of the first week, unfortunately due to COVID we are unable to carry out any mid stay cleans, however if you had requested a mid stay linen change we would have dropped it to you on the change over day and taken the used away. The prices have been reviewed by the owner and have increased to come in line with current demand at a competitive rate. We can only apologise if this means you cannot come to this property next year. Please do let us know If you would like some help finding an alternative property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.8Jun 2021

  • "Fabulous well appointed apartment with super sea views."

    Definitely will be back!

    Reviewed by I5.0Jun 2021

  • "The apartment was as expected."

    Comfortable, clean and with delightful views. We very much enjoyed out stay there. Just a couple of minor complaints. When we arrived it was not clear which key safe was ours. Just writing 8 on the outside would have been very helpful. The fitted sheet on the bed in the master bedroom was cheap and worn. It was so ill fitting that it didn’t stay tucked in and was quite uncomfortable. To make matters worse, there was no mattress protector. When everything else seemed to be such good quality this seemed like mean cost cutting. There were only a couple of loo rolls provided and we had to buy more. We’ve stayed in many self catering holiday homes and never had that problem before. Again, it wouldn’t have cost much to provide adequate supply a week. Just one other point. It is unfortunate that there isn’t space for a second car. In a 3 bedroom apartment it would be quite likely for 2 couples to stay but the lack of adequate parking would prevent us booking with another couple. Apart from these points it was a lovely, well appointed apartment.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we really appreciate all your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay at the apartment and we are pleased to advise that a number 8 will be added to the keysafe to make it easier to locate. We are sorry that the mattress protector was missing for your stay, a replacement has been purchased, as well as larger flat sheets for the bed which fit much better. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you, but hope to welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Sep 2020

  • "We've Had a great time in this apartment."

    Have been coming to this area for many years, but this spot has been especially perfect! Close to the golf course and access to 3 beaches! If you ever want to sell please get in touch! Thank you.

    Sep 2020

  • "Lovely apartment,well equipped."

    Views from balcony fabulous. Only negative, cleaning ie vacuuming could have been better, dust and dog hair ++ under dining table and by settee, had to vac ourselves on arrival.

    Reviewed by Nigel4.7Jun 2019

  • "Lovely location."

    Beautiful views. very clean and well appointed property

    Reviewed by Diana4.1May 2019

  • "Good value at this time of the year."

    Mr C ZacaroliApr 2017

  • "An excellent base for the area."

    Accommodation is very good and comfortable. Generally very well equipped, though a few more mugs would have been welcome ( I don't like running the dishwasher part full to get clean mugs and am not on holiday to handwash them!!!).

    ALANSep 2016

  • "This property was excellent, everything was there that we could possibly need."

    A delightful property, shame the weather was so disappointing, but that's England for you!

    Oct 2014

  • "A lovely apartment, our 4th visit in 5 years."

    Could be even better if the floors in the kitchen and bathrooms were given a thorough vac and a good wash/scrub: they were very dusty and ingrained with dirt. Some minor maintenance ie wardrobe handle and dimmer switch need repairing.

    Sep 2014

  • "Wonderful flat and fabulous holiday."

    many thanks! We intend to re-book the same flat next August!

    Aug 2014

  • "FABULOUS - NO!"


    Jul 2014

  • "A lovely property with good accommodation, well equipped and with lovely views, especially the sunsets!"

    Apr 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • First floor apartment
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King-size with en-suite with large shower, wc, wash-hand basin, illuminated mirror and shaver point, 1 x Twin bedroom, 1 x Full size bunk room suitable for adults
  • Open plan kitchen/living/dining room
  • Utility room
  • Additional family bathroom with bath, overhead shower, wc, wash-hand basin, illuminated mirror and shaver point
  • South West facing decked balcony.
  • LPG heating Fridge/freezer, washing machine, oven, hob, dishwasher, tumble dryer microwave, toaster, kettle, Tassimo coffee machine
  • Superfast Highspeed Broadband available
  • 40" Smart 4K Ultra HD flat screen television with Sound Bar, Free-view HD and a DVD player with many DVDs to choose from also
  • Smart TV in master bedroom
  • Google Nest Mini
  • Master bedroom with Smart TV
  • Children and Adult books and games available
  • Beach toys available
  • Parking for 1 car (no trailers) Free parking is usually available within the village (approx.1/2 a mile away)
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Bed linen and towels supplied
  • You will need to bring tea towels and beach towels. South West facing decked balcony with patio table and chairs
  • Communal gardens, including a sheltered sunken garden and barbeque area
  • One well behaved dog permitted on request
  • Golf course1/2 a mile away
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

‘Thurlestone Beach’ is a development of luxury apartments set within landscaped gardens, with stunning views.

Situated just half a mile from the village of Thurlestone, and within close proximity to the beach, coast path and nearby golf course, it’s the perfect location for a coastal retreat. 8 Thurlestone Beach is a luxurious, first floor apartment, boasting spectacular sea and coastal views from the living area, private balcony and master bedroom.

The open living area is spacious, stylish and well equipped.

The fitted kitchen includes granite worktops, and quality appliances including a large fridge and freezer, dishwasher, microwave, Tassimo tea/coffee machine and gas oven and hob.

The separate utility room compromises a washing machine, tumble dryer and drying rack.

The main living area enjoys a spacious dining table, large corner sofa, coffee table, 40" Smart TV (including Freeview/DVD unit) and double doors that open to a large private balcony with table, chairs and fabulous views of the coastline.

Outside there is a South West-facing balcony, perfect for al fresco dining, and watching stunning sunsets as well as sun from 9am throughout the day.

Furthermore, there are 1.5 acres of communal gardens to enjoy, with sheltered sunken garden and barbecue area.

The master bedroom enjoys sea views and has a King-size bed and en suite bathroom with shower, plus a Smart TV.

The second bedroom is a twin room with single beds, whilst the third room has adult sized bunk beds.

There is an additional family bathroom with bath, and overhead shower.

Baby friendly, the property includes a travel cot and highchair.

Free wireless broadband internet is provided, as is one allocated parking space.

One well behaved dog is permitted.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Salcombe 7 miles; Bigbury-on-Sea 9 miles

The picturesque village of Thurlestone is popular with both beach-goers and watersports enthusiasts, with the beautiful sandy beaches of Thurlestone and South Milton Sands within walking distance. Thurlestone boasts an 18-hole links golf course, a 13th century church, a traditional pub, a post office and the ‘Voyage Spa’, where visitors can enjoy spa treatments or afternoon tea. The sailing town of Salcombe is just a 10-15 minute drive away, and the fishing village of Hope Cove is a short drive away, or can be reached on foot via the South West Coast Path.

View more holiday cottages in Thurlestone

Gardens are communal.

One well behaved dog permitted on request.

No trailers/boats permitted in car park.

Parking is strictly for one car only. The visitor car park spaces are not available for your use.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas