Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 6 minutes ago

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • Oak Cottage - Devon - 1068224 - photo 1
close

Oak Cottage

(Ref. 1068224)

Hooe, Devon Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (27)
  • lovely (18)
  • no (15)
  • great (15)
  • comfortable (13)
  • well (12)

33 Customer Reviews

  • "A fantastic property, well kept and in a great location."

    It has everything you could ever need. The house is spacious for us both and our three dogs. The caretakers Julie and Bryan were really lovely; messaging us to let us know that the property would be available sooner, and checking with us before coming to put the bins out and in without disturbing us. The homeowners were fabulous, firstly to allow us to bring our three dogs and secondly to keep us well informed of any high water level alerts and made sure we were safe at all times. The water level was no issues at all but it is nice to know that the owners are hands on and the guests safety are their priority.

    Reviewed by Nina5.0Feb 2024

  • "Damp mouldy third bedroom is the main issue ."

    . Great location and quirky nice cottage just needs a bit of TLC and a better clean and the damp sorting out .

    Reviewed by David3.4Dec 2023

  • "Beautiful, cosy cottage set right on the water."

    Equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Decorated for Christmas, and a log-burner, made it a magical holiday. Bottle of bubbles on arrival was a lovely gesture. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday.

    Reviewed by Amie5.0Dec 2023

  • "Firstly, we would return, which is the best feedback you can get."

    However, a few observations which are intended to be helpful, not criticism. The place was freezing when we arrived at 3.30pm and there was no 'welcome' leaflet explaining how to operate the heating. Perhaps it was an oversight? Some pillows and some cushions could do with replacing and the mattress in the second double was uncomfortable. We loved the rather 'lived-in' feel of the place ( old LP's and eclectic taste in decor). The location was ideal for visiting relatives in Hooe. Oh, and finally ----- I thought I read that the Royal Oak gave a 20 per cent discount if you stayed in Oak Cottage, but they seemed to know nothing about it :) No big deal, but you might like to know.

    Reviewed by Paul3.4Nov 2023

  • "The cottage had everything you would need to make it a home from home."

    So often, owners don't provide enough glasses, cutlery etc., but the owners here had provided plenty and thought of everything including things like salt and pepper, cooking oil etc.

    Reviewed by Jeff5.0Sep 2023

  • "Oak Cottage was lovely, very clean and nicely decorated and furnished."

    Shower was very good and beds comfortable. Parking was a problem some days but nothing to put you off, the cottage's situation made up for this. However, the pub was noisy during our stay, Sunday Karaoke was loud but as it was summer the doors may have been kept open.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Aug 2023

  • "Oak cottage was a comfortable place to stay, close to a play park and with easy access to the lake in front of the cottage, it sits within very close proximity to the pub and beer garden, luckily there it was shut during our stay."

    The house was nicely decorated, and comfortable. A decent cork screw us needed in the kitchen, is really all that was lacking.

    Reviewed by Carrie4.7Jul 2023

  • "A nice little cosy house."

    Quiet surroundings, only friday-evening a little bit of rumours of the nearby pub, but no problem at all. Parking was mostly no problem in the neighbourhood. The matresses in the two smaller rooms are not comfortable for adults, the pocket springs in the matresses can be felt by each movement and turn. The master bedroom has got a better matress. An extra toilet would have been a bonus, but is not possible I'm afraid

    Reviewed by Patrick4.4Apr 2023

  • "The cottage was lovely… warm and cosy, comfy beds and instant hot water."

    Lovely big dining table. Wi-Fi was difficult…intermittent and not consistent. We used data all the time we were there. It wasn’t a big problem but because the weather was pretty atrocious we spent a bit more time in the house. We loved it there and would use it again.

    Reviewed by Susan3.8Mar 2023

  • "We had a lovely long weekend at Oak Cottage, we had a very restful stay the cottage was very cosy and comfortable."

    Plenty of places to visit and we found some great places to eat, everywhere was very dog friendly.

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Mar 2023

  • "Great cottage, well equipped and comfy beds."

    Fantastic that its dog friendly to. Lovely and clean on arrival. Great location base to explore South Devon.

    Reviewed by Olivia5.0Feb 2023

  • "A lovely cottage in a great location."

    The cottage is immaculately clean with such a comfortable bed in the main room. I didn't try the others as it was only me! Julie the housekeeper looked after me extremely well. The garden is dog friendly and a lovely space to watch the ebb and flow of the tide. A family of swans would visit regularly. My only very small issue would be the quality of the Internet in the evenings. It would stop, but always came back on eventually. Thank you xx

    Reviewed by Suzie5.0Jan 2023

  • "Great property with all needed facilities"

    Reviewed by Kay4.7Nov 2022

  • "We have stayed 3 times this year , the cottage is perfect, rooms are lovely and the view is amazing ."

    No doubt we'll be booking again for next year ..

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Nov 2022

  • "This was our second stay, Plymouth is our home town and it’s like our second home"

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Nov 2022

  • "Oak cottage was beautifully done."

    Clean and comfy with lovely outlook. Had everything we needed. We would definitely stay again when visiting family in Hooe.

    Reviewed by Annie5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely cottage with everything we needed."

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Sep 2022

  • "Very lovely cottage."

    . View is just perfect. Wendy is an amazing lady. Cottage needs just a little more attention to the bathroom cleaning and cobwebs and also garden needs some tidying up..

    Reviewed by Martha4.4Aug 2022

  • "A really nice cottage on the waterfront - a great base for exploring near and far ( our best days were Salcombe beach, Becky Falls and walking on Dartmoor but resorts like Torquay, Brigham and Looe also interesting) The cottage is spacious and had everything needed for occasional dining in."

    Good food available nearby - particularly liked the Clovelly Bay Inn which is dog friendly. There is a small park next to the property and just 100 yards away access to scenic walks round the lake and to a nature reserve. The owner, Wendy, was welcoming and helpful but never intrusive. Five stars!

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely clean cottage."

    Wendy who contacted us was at the end of the phone if we needed anything but all was good. The extra fridge in the outhouse was v useful. The pub next door was welcoming for those nights when you just wanted a drink and a meal made for you, menu limited but food good. The landlady was v friendly and welcoming. Noise levels weren't an issue but there again the cottage is next to the pub so you would expect noise at some times. The Clovelly Arms is a must for food, walkable to but do book. They open at 6pm we arrived at 6 for our booking and it filled up v quickly. Staff and food great. Plymbridge Woods a great walk for the pooches. Burrator reservoir also great for dogs. Royal William Yard in Plymouth was a nice place for brunch. In fact lots to do. The cottage is in a good location for walking, woods on your doorstep turn left at the pub up the short hill and you're there. Jennycliffe was close as well. The garden had a lovely view of the lake, as others have mentioned perhaps a couple of chairs would be nice outside rather than the benches, makes for more comfort for an evening in the sun. We've had a super break and the weather being mixed didn't affect our enjoyment at all. l

    Reviewed by Michele4.4May 2022

  • "Lovely cosy clean cottage well equipped."

    Beautiful view from Garden,however the surface was very uneven and not very child friendly. We had a few trips on the uneven slabs. A very large table takes up most of the garden therefore getting around it was quite tricky.A comfortable chair would have been a lovely touch to the garden. A blind in the second bedroom would be great as it was very light in there early in the morning. The park on the doorstep is a bonus for families and the beautiful walks through the nearby costal path were lovely.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0May 2022

  • "Oak cottage is a great place to stay, it’s really beautifully furnished and a pleasure to stay in."

    The location allows you to easily join the South West Coast path for walks and is close to The Yealm for exploring there. We loved our stay here.

    Reviewed by Paula5.0Apr 2022

  • "What a find!"

    Oak Cottage is a superb cottage perfectly located right next to the harbour and a pub, and was located on the SW coast path. The cottage was well equipped with home from home comforts, and the log burner was a cosy focal point. Wendy was a lovely host and provided a warm welcome and a wealth of local information. Thank you! Lucy, Tim & the boys

    Reviewed by Tim5.0Apr 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely and clean when we arrived and the prosecco was a lovely touch."

    We used the cottage as a base to explore the beaches and attractions around the area and it was always lovely and warm when we got back. The kitchen was well equipped as was the bathroom, unfortunately there was mostly feathered duvets and pillows on the beds which really aren't suitable for allergy sufferers and made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. There's a pub right next door which has now reopened.... this is lovely if you enjoy getting to know the locals but I'd advise taking earplugs if you're a light sleeper as they seemed to enjoy lock-ins till gone 1am.

    Reviewed by Helen4.1Apr 2022

  • "A lovely, comfortable, well equipped and cosy cottage, well furnished with attractive artefacts and decor."

    The woodburner was really useful for the chilly Spring evenings. We were very pleased to be allowed to bring our two small dogs and we all enjoyed the courtyard garden and attractive views over the creek. We hope to stay there again.

    Reviewed by Hazel4.7Mar 2022

  • "An outstanding Cottage What we loved : The level of cleanliness and quality of bedding and towels brilliant Attention to interior design delightful The Selection of books on the bookcase The Cast iron fire The big Bath and bathroom window with a view The phone call Prior to our arrival from Wendy the house keeper Things we felt that could be improved: The sofa - not very comfortable as the Cushions would benefit from being firmer / plumper A bolt to join the two halves of the kitchen stable door together as it’s a bit awkward when trying to bring the two half’s together when entering and leaving the cottage The cottage desperately needs better Outside lights On entering the heavy metal gate to the cottage and around the cottage the existing sensor light only came on occasionally ( There is a light above the kitchen door but you have to get down the path and around the corner of the Cottage before you can benefit from that light leave this light on as you go out ) We had to use our phone to light the rest of way after dark A trolley of some kind would of been appreciated to enable us to cart our luggage / shopping / Dog Bed to and from the Cottage as the parking space is hit and miss depending on the time off day and the car can be some distance from the Cottage Kitchen tongs?"

    Out and about: We didn’t experience the Royal Oak Pub next door to the cottage as it seemed to be closed 90% of the time So we walked to Covelly ( about 20 minutes walk) to find the Covelly Inn and the staff and food was of a very high standard and the Inn is very dog friendly too The walk too Jenny Cliffs and the Cafe - Great fish and chips ( Dog friendly establishment) Despite the above niggles we would definitely book again and we had a throughly relaxing week the lake is beautiful with the light on it at different times of the day The above is my own personal opinion Thank you

    Reviewed by Teresa5.0Mar 2022

  • "Ideal location,well presented."

    I would think if you had children being so close to the Public House in the summer would create a noise problem at night. The garden area needs some tlc. Overall we had an excellent time.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7Feb 2022

  • "Photo is a bit misleading Property needs another toilet, especially if the property continues to be for 5 people."

    Very comfortable, great living and dining area

    Reviewed by Dee4.1Jan 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage."

    Well appointed with all the facilities needed. Warm and cozy, great quality bedding and towels and comfortable beds. Really enjoyed our stay. Easy walking distance to good pubs serving great food. Photograph of property on site is misleading. It’s not the property in the centre of the photograph but the one to the right. A little disappointed that we didn’t have the views from the property which we thought but the weather was dreadful in December so didn’t matter so much. .

    Reviewed by Amanda4.4Dec 2021

  • "Beautifully presented cottage in a great location for Coastal Path ,Plymouth City and surrounding areas."

    A hidden gem with a record player and fab albums !!

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Dec 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay at this delightful cottage for week."

    It is in a great location and within walking distance of good pubs, restaurants and places to see. The cottage was very well equipped with good quality appliances. Bigger mugs would have made my morning cuppa last longer but that's only a very minor whinge, and perhaps a downstairs toilet. The landlady of the Royal Oak made us feel very welcome which was really lovely. Would highly recommend this as a fantastic place to stay.

    Reviewed by Nicola4.7Nov 2021

  • "Thank you. We had a truly lovely stay."

    The cottage was very comfortable and well stocked. The linen, blankets and Prosecco on arrival were the perfect luxuries for a wet and windy week in Devon. We loved having the wood burner to get cosy in the evenings and the kids enjoyed being out on the pontoon.

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Oct 2021

  • "It’s the second time at oak cottage, we both feel so comfortable here, it’s like home."

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Oct 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x single with Velux window
  • Bathroom with shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating
  • Gas range oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV, WiFi, selection of books
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available on request
  • On-street parking available
  • Garden with patio and furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Guests receive a 20% discount at The Royal Oak pub

The property

Situated in the lakeside village of Hooe, Devon lies Oak Cottage, a traditional detached cottage perfect for friends and families alike to discover the local area.

This property benefits from a lakeside position, boasting exposed beams, fantastic views, and can sleep up to five people.

Upon arrival at the property, the entrance leads you directly into the farmhouse-style kitchen which features a gas range cooker, sure to excite the budding chefs of the group, as well as all the necessary appliances you could need throughout your stay.

The dining room welcomes you with classic décor for the group to enjoy their meals.

On an evening, kick off your shoes and relax in front of another woodburning stove in the sitting room, where a plush armchair and sofa await you, ready to settle in and watch TV with your loved ones.

The first floor is home to three bedrooms, comprising of two doubles and a single, which features a Velux skylight making for exceptional views.

The high beamed ceiling and sloping eaves of the master bedroom ooze traditional stylings while boasting even more stunning views over the village, complete with hanging space and a dresser.

Guests will also benefit from a family bathroom where you can unwind in the bath after a busy day of exploring.

Enjoy the last of the sun in the courtyard garden, with bench seating looking out over the Hooe Lake, it is the perfect outdoor space to have a glass of wine or a cup of tea and catch up on the day’s events.

The cottage even has its own pontoon so you can access all of Plymouth Sound by water, and is perfectly located to launch kayaks and paddleboards.

The In Deep Diving Centre is also nearby, where you can take a day course in scuba diving.

If you can tear yourself away from this delightful cottage, why not treat yourself to a meal and a drink at The Royal Oak pub located almost on the doorstep, or choose from the Victoria Inn, a traditional British public house, and The Clovelly Bay Inn, a family-run waterfront pub serving home-cooked food and a selection of craft ales and ciders.

For the outdoorsy members of the group, Radford Park and Radford Woods Local Nature Reserve are just a scenic stroll away, home to an abundance of wildlife and a range of walking and cycling routes for you to enjoy any time of year.

Within walking distance is Jennycliff beach, which has a café, a playground and a soft sandy beach, perfect for a day out or a romantic evening stroll.

For the avid golfer, Staddon Heights Golf Club is another short drive away, hosting 18 holes, the club welcomes visitors to their course and you can also relish the views of Plymouth Sound and surrounding countryside from their Clubhouse bar and restaurant.

Choose Oak Cottage for a fun-filled holiday to Devon for all the family.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location

HOOE

Plymouth 4 miles; Ivybridge 10.7 miles; Looe 25.8 miles

A small suburb of Plymstock and part of the City of Plymouth in the English county of Devon, Hooe is in a fantastic position from which to explore South West Devon. The area benefits from a wealth of amenities, including a local store to pick up any treats for a picnic along the river, a pub serving tasty, traditional food, a children's play area and a scatter of quaint shops, it hosts all you could need for a self-catered stay. There are also a wider range of amenities within the local area, with Elburton hosting a wider selection of eateries, as well as a nearby commercial driving range for the avid golfer. A further major golf club can be found at Staddon Heights, while a walk along the River Plym makes a wonderful afternoon, you can even take to the waters in a rowing boat if you're seeking a day out with a difference. The port city of Plymouth is just a short and scenic drive away, famed for its rich maritime heritage and historic Barbican district, there's plenty of beauty to explore here. Whether you take a stroll along the vibrant cobbled streets or indulge in a delicious meal with a wide variety of cuisines available ranging from Italian to Thai, you're sure to find something for everyone in Plymouth, with some of its best attractions including the National Maritime Museum, the Plymouth Gin Distillery, Hoe Park and Mount Edgcumbe House and Country Park, there's something here for every taste. National Trust wonders such as the Buckland Abbey and Cotehele are within easy reach too, while the South Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is well-worth exploring for stunning seascapes and a plethora of breathtaking natural wonders.