Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • Olympic Cottage - Dorset - 994497 - photo 1

Olympic Cottage

(Ref. 994497)

Portland, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (19)
  • stay (18)
  • cottage (17)
  • house (14)
  • everything (13)
  • location (12)

40 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely week in this superb house ."

    Every thing we needed . Everything was of a high quality . The garden was perfect for our cocker spaniel and the garden furniture was very nice . Not far from the marina and a beautiful restaurant called salt , dog friendly. Also a few minutes walk to a supermarket in the garage. Would recommend this property ....

    Thanks so much and glad you had a great holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2023

  • "Although we enjoyed our stay at Olympic cottage The position of it wasn’t for us the very busy road woke us every morning and it was to noisy to sit in the garden which was a shame because the weather was perfect."

    Everything we needed and good quality.but The bathroom cleaning wasn’t the best the limescale was terrible nothing a little more effort could have helped reduced the problem .

    Thank you for your feedback. The road is 100 yards away but is the main road onto Portland and is outwith our control. . The bathroom cleaning has been addressed! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet3.4Sep 2023

  • "Lovely house to stay at whilst visiting Portland and the surrounding areas."

    Everything was there that you could possibly want in a home from home stay, including a useful folder from the owners about facilities in the house, local walks, and restaurants/ takeaways they would recommend. The only thing missing in the hot weather was a fan - not always easy to take yourself if limited on car space. The house is close to a main road which gets very noisy at night when in bed, so if a fan was provided the noise wouldn’t be such a problem because the windows could be shut! This was the only downside for us, in an otherwise lovely holiday home. We will definitely book another stay here when visiting Portland again

    Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachael4.1Aug 2023

  • "Another lovely stay at Olympic cottage."

    We really enjoyed the re-worked garden and garden furniture which is a excellent sun trap.

    Thank you, so pleased you had a good stay and glad you like the new look garden! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil4.7Jul 2023

  • "The house was very clean and comfortable and we were able to make good use of the garden due to the lovely weather."

    It is unfortunate that it is so noisy due to traffic As there was only two of us staying we had no problem with cooking equipment but I could see that catering for four might be difficult. Victoria Park nearby is ideal for walking a dog. Would recommend a visit to the Beehive Coffee shop just a short walk away and is dog friendly.

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Jun 2023

  • "Thanks so much for the lovely stay at Olympic Cottage."

    I have stayed in many places in Portland for sailing and this is by far the best. Coming back in July/August for 2 weeks!

    So pleased you had a great stay and hope you enjoyed the sailing as well! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Phil5.0Apr 2023

  • "A wonderful house & location!"

    We enjoyed out weeks stay at Olympic cottage. Comfortable beds and everything you need in a well catered holiday home. We would definitely book again, Thank you.

    Reviewed by Darren5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, just the right size for four adults."

    Very comfortable with plenty of equipment. Missing a small sharp knife in the kitchen otherwise really well equipped. Dirty linen and bin full of rubbish when we arrived but soon sorted out. Excellent position with designated parking for one

    Reviewed by Heather4.1Oct 2022

  • "Everything you need in a holiday home"

    Thanks very much, we are so pleased that you had a good stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hilary5.0Jun 2022

  • "The cottage is a decent size but I found it to be quite poorly equipped in the kitchen."

    Please get a cork screw that isn't just a pull out one (I actually was unable to use this) and invest in a cheese grater that is bigger than 2" x 4". More bowls are also needed as 5 for people when there's a dishwasher isn't acceptable (e.g. there are 12 dinner plates). No tubs to put any excess food in so, if you don't bring any with you, I recommend using the excellent Chinese take away early in your stay so you can use their containers. The sofas could also do with replacing now. When you sit on them, in the optimal tv watching seats, you tend to sink right into the corners which isn't pleasant. And as others have said, no recycling facilities! The amount of rubbish 3 adults and a teenager produce when nothing can be recycled is crazy! We were only left with one spare bin bag. Also the cleaner must have had an off day - the back of the tv cabinet was thick with dust as were the shelves underneath. And the duvet cover on the king size bed hadn't been put on properly so I spent the week with about 6" of empty material and no actual duvet down my side of the bed whereas the other side had the duvet folded double. The bathroom has no mirror over the sink yet there's a pull cord LED light above it. Instead, you're forced to lean over to look in the mirrored cabinet over the toilet... Unlike the twin bedroom, the main one has absolutely no furniture on which to put your toiletries. It only has 2 small bedside cabinets. I was forced to carry one of the trio of small lamp tables upstairs to use but this wasn't big enough for me to keep everything out so I lived out of my washbag for the week. Not ideal. Also, be aware that the cottage is only 3 houses away from the main access road to the island. The noise from the volume of traffic in the evening and early morning is something I wasn't expecting. Re the parking space - great that one is provided (it's about 100 yards or so away) but other people parked immediately outside the living room window on the pavement for most of the week we were there! Is this actually allowed as it would be a lot more convenient if it were! Be careful of the blinds at the windows - there's a warning in the welcome folder about lifting the bottom with your hand when using the pull cord as the cords are liable to fray! I was too scared to attempt this so spent the week poking my hand through the slats to open the windows. My son pulled the ones in his bedroom up on day 2 and they jammed so we were forced to call the office to come and fix them. Oh, the welcome folder - it says if there is anything you think could be added to the property to improve it, add it to the back of the folder. But there's nowhere to do that! For dog owners there is a field at the bottom of the road when you turn right out of the cottage with an enclosed area which is great for letting your dog off. Overall, just disappointing. All domestic properties have massively ramped up their prices due to additional demand following Covid but you can't just charge £1,200 for a week without increasing your standards. And cleanliness should be a given! In case anyone is wondering I did call the booking office during our stay and told them all this but I've heard nothing since. I won't be back. Which is the first time I've ever said this about a domestic holiday.

    Thank you for your feedback and as the owners we are sorry that you were unhappy with Olympic Cottage. Previous guests this year have commented on how well equipped the cottage is. We will check and replace any missing bowls and tupperware when we stay there ourselves very shortly and indeed we check the property regularly. The two sofas are only 18 months old and again previous guests have felt that the property is well provided with high quality furniture. They also have agreed that the enclosed garden and two local parks are useful for dogs. The lack of recycling is down to current council regulations and sadly there is little we can do about it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda1.9May 2022

  • "This is my 3rd visit to this property and on the whole is a very nice property, great location and comfortable stay."

    However a negative point is that there is no recycling bin at the property which is disappointing and also means the main bin fills up very quickly. This visit the garden furniture and the washing line was not there for use which was sad as the weather was very nice during our stay. This time the towels were not as soft as previous visits. Otherwise a lovely house to stay.

    Thank you for your feedback and as the owners we are really glad that you had a good stay. The garden furniture and washing line had been put back in the shed but are now out again for guests to use. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.7Apr 2022

  • "Lovely holiday home: modern, clean and well equipped."

    Good location and accurate photos and description. Great parking. Only downside was the lack of recycling and the bins. We were a family of 4 and had only a couple of bin bags left for us. There was no recycling which in todays world is awful. Everybody is used to recycling: we did use the recycling plant in one occasion though this is obviously designed for large volumes of recycling not just a couple of cans/papers so wasn’t appropriate to ask people to do. If this would be rectified it would have been prefect. Thank you! Fran

    Thank you for your feedback. As the owners we have checked and we are unable to access kerb side recycling at the property due to local council regulations. We apologise for this Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ryan3.8Apr 2022

  • "We loved our week in this property!"

    We have a 10 month old daughter and the downstairs was perfect for us to be able to cook, eat, relax and let her play. We have stayed in a lot of holiday cottages and always found things missing…this house has everything! It was lovely and clean, warm and all the fixtures and fittings are perfect.

    Thank you , we are so pleased you had a good time. You may be interested that we have now installed a retractable stairgate which will help keep our own mini daschund and guests dogs and small children from attempting the stairs on their own. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Feb 2022

  • "This house was perfect for my family, had everything we needed."

    Location was perfect for exploring. And we will definitely be returning. Thank you .

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Oct 2021

  • "Lovely house, very well equipped, spotlessly clean and in an ideal location for exploring the nearby coast, watching the boats at Portland Marina or walking around Portland itself."

    The small enclosed garden was nice to sit in and the nearby enclosed exercise field was handy for our dog. The only suggestion we would have would be a fan in the bedroom, as others have mentioned, unless you are a very heavy sleeper you would hear traffic noise with the window open at night and the nights were very warm. I did have a good look for a fan as the rest of the house was so well equipped I expected to find one hiding in a cupboard.

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Sep 2021

  • "The house could have been cleaned a lot better lots of dirty under sofas."

    Also house is nearer a very noisy main house and very hard to sleep with windows open.

    Reviewed by Caroline4.7Jun 2021

  • "Olympic Cottage was bright, airy and spacious."

    Kitchen was very well equipped. The information pack left by the owners was very useful. Portland was a great base for exploring all of the Jurassic Coast which was just stunning. We had a small issue, and raised a query with the owner and they were in contact with us in less than 5 minutes, was really impressed and goes to show that they want you to enjoy your stay and checked back in with us to make sure everything was ok, what more could you ask for. We had to wait along time for the holiday as it was originally scheduled during the 2020 lockdown, but it was well worth the wait. Fantastic holiday in a lovely cottage. Would recommend staying at Olympic Cottage wholeheartedly.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Jun 2021

  • "The House we stayed in was amazing, home from home, so close to Chesil Beach and short drive to Weymouth."

    We loved our stay and will definitely book again.

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2021

  • "Fabulous cottage, perfect home away from home."

    Dog loved the field at the end of the road and ideal enclosed garden. Close to the beach and marina for lovely walks. Will definitely be back with friends and family again. Neighbours and locals were super friendly and helpful too.

    Reviewed by Lisa4.7May 2021

  • "I already sent an email on this property has really really bad road noise from ..."

    I already sent an email on this property has really really bad road noise from the main hill going up Portland you Gotta say that in the advert I couldn’t relax there for a second and was woken up repeatedly at night there are no effective blinds in the bedrooms so you woken up at 5 am by the light shower control didn’t work properly so my girlfriend got scolded it’s not an expensive property so the house itself met expectations but you’ve got to tell people about the road noise I would never book a place like that if I knew about it

    Reviewed by Neil2.5Apr 2021

  • "The cottage was modern, spacious and clean."

    It was perfectly located in order to explore Portland, Weymouth and the Jurassic Coast. Everything met our expectations although I would like to suggest that the bathroom may be updated to include either a walk-in shower and/or a bigger, more powerful, shower head. There is an enclosed grass area at the back of the complex where we were able to let our dog off the lead for a run - very useful! Although, he was tired from all the walking anyway! We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to our friends.

    Reviewed by Adam5.0Oct 2020

  • "Second time at this house to stay for a holiday near family."

    Great facilities & location to tour the Dorset coast. Very near sea front and great for walking on Portland and Chesil beach.

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Sep 2020

  • "Very enjoyable and good location"

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Sep 2020

  • "Very disappointed in the cleanliness of the house considering we were not allowed in until 5 to give extra time to clean because of Covid I presume."

    It smelt very strongly of disinfectant but looking closer it was dirty. I had to clean the whole house before we unpacked. The floor in the lounge was disgraceful. There was cobwebs in all corners, I had to contact the owner as no bins had been emptied and they were overflowing and all over the garden who arranged for this to be collected straight away. And may I add he was a really nice gentleman who was very concerned about this issue and wished us a happy stay.

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.1Aug 2020

  • "Great accommodation with brilliant facilities."

    A good base to explore Dorset.

    Reviewed by Rob5.0Jul 2020

  • "The accommodation needs to be cleaned a lot better, especially as there was extra time given to do this under the Covid guidelines."

    For example, lots of dog hairs on the sofa and rug.

    Reviewed by Stephen3.4Jul 2020

  • "We loved our cottage and the wonderful location."

    We were very impressed with Dream Cottages, as you exceeded all of our expectations. We didn't need anything as it was all provided for us. We will definitely be recommending to our friends and family and will definitely be returning. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Sep 2019

  • "The accommodation was excellent and very well equipped."

    The visitor book gave us ideas of where to go e.g. Beach, Quiddles, The Cove, The pizza company and Portland Bill to name just a few and was not disappointed. We had such a lovely time and would certainly book again.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Jul 2019

  • "Perfect cottage to stay to see Dorset coast , it is comfortable, clean and has everything you need for a lovely holiday on Portland very near to chesil beach and sailing academy."

    Reviewed by Helen5.0May 2019

  • "Olympic Cottage is a comfortable place to stay."

    It is warm and has everything you need. It is close to everything Portland has to offer, the marina, Portland Castle , Chesil Beach to name but a few.

    Reviewed by Bettina5.0Apr 2019

  • "We had a lovely time at Olympic Cottage over the bank holidays."

    Thank you for the smooth process of booking to the team at Dream Cottages and thanks to the owners for having us in their beautifully decorated and super functional cottage! This was truly a home away from home and it won't be the last time we've stayed here if you will have us again! Thank you. Anette and Family. Stayed May 2018

    Mrs Anette SoyerMay 2018

  • "We had a lovely week A very warm ,comfortable and well equipped cottage Ideal position to explore Portland and the surrounding area."

    Stayed April 2018

    Mrs Bettina KingApr 2018

  • "Always enjoy staying at this property when sailing at WPNSA."

    Great location and lovely house - stayed August 2017

    Mr Gary WaltonSep 2017

  • "A lovely place to stay."

    Couldn't be happier! Stayed June 2017

    Mrs Kathleen TorrieJul 2017

  • "Great location, very comfortable and well fitted out."

    Many thanks Stayed August 2016

    Mrs GreerSep 2016

  • "Very clean on arrival."

    Usually I spend an hour making sure all is clean and fresh, but it was a very high standard. The cottage is very well equipped with quality products. Was our second stay here. Cottage is well placed in Portland. Great to take dogs, as plenty of easy walks nearby, and a useful garden. Lovely place to stay. Stayed June 2016

    Mrs NicholsonJul 2016

  • "Excellent facilities in a first class property, where every need was catered for."

    Stayed August 2015

    Mrs Julia MorseAug 2015

  • "Wonderful cottage in an ideal location."

    The cottage was light and airy, very clean and extremely well equipped. Off road parking space was a bonus. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again and highly recommend this little slice of modern Olympic history. Stayed July 2015

    Mr HewittJul 2015

  • "The property was in a great location, near Chesil Beach."

    It was beautifully clean and airy, and well equipped with everything you could need. The information pack was also very thorough and helpful. It was a really nice and dog friendly, with the garden, and a park just across the road. I am very happy with our cottage, and would happily stay again.

    Ms LeeJun 2015

  • "Easy booking Nice and coran property Nothing to say just perfect!"

    Thanks for all

    Ms Gilda PhilippeJun 2015

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1 x twin single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor combined cloakroom with basin and WC with utility area
  • Open plan kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Sustainable eco-friendly central heating with hot water system, electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV, CD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and high chair available
  • Allocated off road parking space for one car only
  • Fully enclosed back garden with patio, furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome,
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 min
  • Beach 5 min.

The property

Located on a stunning residential development in the Isle of Portland Olympic cottage was originally built to house athletes for the 2012 Olympic Games, sailing events.

Only a short walk away from the iconic National Sailing Academy this property is perfect for the water sports enthusiast. Olympic Cottage sleeps up to 4 in two bedrooms, one double and one twin on the first floor.

The generous living area and fully-equipped kitchen and dining area are perfect for couples or small family.

You can enjoy preparing meals, unwinding and dining together inside the property or enjoy meals alfresco in the garden space with enclosed patio with furniture.

Take the South West Coast path to explore the Isle of Portland and visit the famous Portland Bill lighthouse with Pulpit Rock, Church Ope Cove with Rufus castle and XIII century church ruins.

The area is very popular with birders and twitchers alike, in addition to Portland Bill lighthouse, there are two more lighthouses, one of them being a birdwatcher’s members club which you are more than welcome to join.

The number of walks you will find on the Isle of Portland is surprising considering the isle is only 4 miles long by 1.7 miles wide.

Portland still has 2 working quarries, and two old ones which are now butterfly reserves.

Created with the quarry's limestone Tout Quarry sculpture park has been used to create sculptures within the quarry where you can have a go at making a sculpture yourself.

Follow the map and you will find some interesting artwork! The Isle of Portland also provides some challenging rock-climbing, with a range of climbing courses, from first climbing principles to advanced sport climbing coaching, from indoor to outdoor climbing sessions or refresher courses as an alternative day out to water sports. Take a trip to the beautiful seaside town of Weymouth buzzing from events throughout the year.

There’s a wide selection of the usual high street shops, quirky local shops, restaurants and cafes for you to enjoy while exploring the town.

The award-winning sandy beach might tempt you for the day, just swimming and building sand castles. Travel further East and you will find glorious Jurassic coast rocks in Durdle Door, Lulworth Cove, Kimmeridge Bay, Chapman’s Pool and West Bay sand cliffs while to the East you will discover Lyme Regis and Charmouth. Stay at Olympic Cottage with friends or family and enjoy water sports, rock-climbing or just have an enjoyable day on a beach – it’s all right at your doorstep.

View on map

About the location


Weymouth 5 miles.

Situated on Dorset's spectacular Jurassic Coast, now a World Heritage Site, the village of Fortuneswell can be found on the rugged Isle of Portland peninsula, joined to the mainland via Chesil Beach, a pebble spit, which stretches 18 miles towards West Bay. Formerly a quarrying area, Fortuneswell boasts a good variety of shops, pubs and restaurants, along with an intriguing maze of streets that wind their way up a steep hill to offer stunning views of the Jurassic Coast and the rolling hills of Dorset beyond. The surrounding countryside is well known as a birdwatcher’s paradise, plus with great walking and climbing opportunities, an array of watersport activities, wonderful sandy beaches, and Weymouth just 5 miles away, this super holiday destination is not to be missed!

Note: max 4 people. Note: guests need to bring their own cot linen. Note: parking space for the car is accessed under an archway 2.2m high.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas