Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

Baytree Cottage

Totland, Isle of Wight (Ref. 990566)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

16 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely spacious property, in excellent location."

    Very well equipped and owners dealt promptly with a faulty tap. We enjoyed our holiday there very much. It was a shame that several doors did not shut properly and the cleaning could be better. But the comfortable house, lovely garden, proximity to the beach and beautiful walks meant that this did not matter too much. We would go there again!

    Reviewed by JillApr 2022

  • "Great stay."

    Considering this is a pet-friendly house, it was very clean and comfortable. Lovely garden, lots of communal space for the kids and large rooms. We'll positioned for Totland bay. Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Mandy-leeApr 2022

  • "2nd year at cottage."

    Items we reported last year (i.e. broken window catch) not fixed. Dripping tap reported by phone - message left but no reply therefore tap dripped all week. Cleaning not up to standard - dirt and sweet wrappers under settee and bed. Cobwebs on inside of bathroom and kitchen windows (look like they have been there for some time).

    Thank you so much for coming back to us and we're so sorry to hear that things weren't up to your expectations this year. You mention that you reported things previously; we've looked in all our guest books but can't find your suggestions so apologies if you thought we were ignoring them. As we speak we are having all the windows upgraded with double-glazing, so hopefully this will mend the catch problem! We are also moving back to the cleaners we have used in previous years who have always been given full marks from all our guests. We're so sorry that the team we used this summer let you down. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlexSep 2021

  • "Impossible to contact propert manager for keycode for cottage."

    I left several messages on the phone number given, nobody replied. Had to contact Sykes in the end. It was a very stressful week leading up to the holiday. This issue should really be addressed, never happened to me before.

    We're so sorry you had trouble contacting our housekeeper on the Tuesday before you arrived, and pleased to hear she called you back within an hour of you leaving a message with Sykes. As we explained, we don't typically give out the key code this far in advance for the security of guests already in the house. The housekeeper normally gives guests a call a couple days before to welcome them and ensure they have all the info they need. Thank you for the lovely comments you left about the house in the guest book. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JulieSep 2021

  • "The oven grill haven’t been cleaned!"

    You couldn’t use the upstairs shower, sink or flush the toilet at the same time as using the downstairs water! The downstairs bedroom mattress’ spring in one of the beds made a noise! The kitchen sink tap didn’t turn properly! It needed an extra shower for 6 adults to stay comfortably there! We didn’t think it deserved a 4 star rating. The holiday was enjoyable but house let it down.

    We're so sorry to hear that the house wasn't up to your expectations but pleased you had a good holiday. As for most properties built in the 1930s running the water in one part of the house will impact other rooms. The bath has a shower attachment as well but perhaps this wasn't adequate for your needs. We have passed on your comments to our cleaning team who were very apologetic. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LindaSep 2021

  • "A lovely property with lots of home from home comforts needs updating abit and ..."

    A lovely property with lots of home from home comforts needs updating abit and drive was difficult to negotiate with a people carrier and cars parked opposite drive But would recommend this property as spacious for a family of 5

    Thank you so much for your feedback; we're glad you had a great time! We do agree that the driveway might be a bit tight for larger cars (and are looking into how we can widen it). Hopefully you found plenty of space on the road opposite. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JuliaAug 2021

  • "Had a wonderful family holiday at Baytree Cottage."

    Found it to be very comfortable and extremely well equipped. The sun room off the kitchen was great to sit in and have breakfast then the dining room lovely for when we all wanted to eat together. There is a nice garden which luckily we managed to make use of during the last part of our stay. Loved the fact that the sea is only about 10 minutes walk away - perfect for an evening stroll. We didn't find a problem with parking two cars on the driveway then one on the quiet road. Would definitely love to visit again!

    Reviewed by AnneMay 2021

  • "It was a lovely cottage, close to the sea and great for a bigger family like ours."

    We would definitely visit again.

    Reviewed by TimJul 2020

  • "Baytree Cottage is a lovely holiday home."

    Very welcoming and provides everything you could possibly need. Unfortunately our stay in late December early January we did find the cottage rather cold and had to make use of an electric heater we located in one of the wardrobes. We would also like to recommended that something be done about the parking. The cottage does sleep up to 8 people but there is hardly room for one car in the narrow drive way. Even worse for larger vehicles.

    Reviewed by LindaDec 2019

  • "The owners have thought of everything to make your holiday memorable."

    From the scrabble board through to the cherry cake with comfortable beds on the way a week away in Bay Tree cottage is one not to forget. The location of the cottage is perfect with walks along the coastal path and up to Tennyson Down. Perfect!

    Reviewed by Lisa-maiOct 2019

  • "Security lights back and front of the house would be helpful, other than that it was perfect!"

    Reviewed by GSep 2019

  • "There were some problems that we have already made you aware of and we are currently on negotiation about a refund."

    However, the cottage is very well located on IOW and we enjoyed being able to walk to the beach, cafes etc. The weather was fantastic the week we stayed and this obviously made a huge contribution to our enjoyment. The cottage has sufficient equipment for cooking, bedding etc, there was nothing we wanted that was not there. There was enough space in the house and garden for us and our two dogs and the access to walks was good.

    Reviewed by DavidAug 2019

  • "Was an amazing cottage with awesome facilities and brilliant treats left ."

    Reviewed by TammieMay 2019

  • "10mins walk to the beach, great family home, excellent facilities, complete with Owners cakes etc."

    delicious, thanks. Activities for children in the house and plenty of books and videos. Lovely patio. Dog friendly, electric car charger very convenient. Good for walks. Would certainly recommend and visit again when in the area.. Luckily we had four days of perfect weather. Fantastic break..

    Reviewed by SusanApr 2019

  • "As my 5yo said “the cottage is perfect”."

    Everything from the spacious garden to how well equipped it is, from the cleanliness to the welcome gifts. What a find. We will certainly be going back again.

    Reviewed by EleanorApr 2019

  • "A very clean, comfortable cottage and good service from Sykes."

    The only improvement I could recommend would be to modernise the decor of the cottage more as it was quite old fashioned but nevertheless it was very cosy and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay there.

    Reviewed by EllaMar 2019

Show more

Summary

  • Four bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 2 x ground floor twins
  • Upstairs shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast room
  • Living/dining room with open fire
  • Snug with double sofa bed
  • Central heating with open fire
  • Gas oven and hob, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, electric vehicle charging point, TV, Xbox, Wii console
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car and roadside parking
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Large enclosed garden with lawned area, BBQ, patio and furniture
  • Bike storage
  • Two well behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk
  • Local bus service available offering transport to tourist attractions all over the island

The property

Nestled in the charm-filled village of Totland, on the beautiful Isle of Wight and with access to the sandy beach at Colwell Bay, is Baytree Cottage.

This large, whitewashed cottage boasts an attractive exterior, with a garden wrapping itself around the perimeter and an arts and crafts feel inside.

Well-presented throughout, it is ideal for families and friends looking to share a coastal break together.

A mix of wood and carpeted floors combine with bright, uplifting décor to elevate your mood each day that passes.

Rustle up a tasty meal in the spacious kitchen, fitted with sleek units and worktops, sip your coffee in the breakfast room and catch up on the morning newspaper.

The living/dining room offers an L-shape sofa for relaxing in front of the fire and just off from here is a snug for the kids to watch TV in.

You can keep a close eye on them as you tuck into a delicious meal at the dining table.

The ground floor is complete with two twin bedrooms, a bathroom and a second sun room soaking up the garden.

Climb the stairs to the double room, which boasts coastal views or choose to stay in the third twin bedroom.

Lastly, the shower room offers a light, contemporary feel.

You are in a fabulous position here in Totland village, with the 'The Hut' seafood restaurant easily reached on a balmy afternoon, popular among yatching visitors.

Just a leisurely stroll to the glimmering shores when all you crave is delicious food and a romantic, coastal ambience; The Hut is open throughout the day in summer.

There are many amenities available at nearby Freshwater and Yarmouth offers a lovely market square and car ferry links to Lymington.

Both The Needles & Alum Bay Landmark attraction and the beautiful Tennyson Down which is great for dog walkers are only 2 miles away.

A splendid retreat to choose for your next holiday.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

TOTLAND

Freshwater 1 mile; Yarmouth 3 miles.

The village of Totland rests in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the west side of the Isle of Wight's beautiful coast, offering visitors local shops and pubs and spectacular unspoilt coastal scenery. The award-winning beaches of both Totland and Colwell Bay offer a range of activities, whilst a pretty footpath will take you to Freshwater in ten minutes where you will find its golf course and public swimming pool. It is also an excellent starting point for walks along the Tennyson Trail. Take a chair lift from Alum Bay and enjoy some of the wonderful views across the sand cliffs to the famous 'Needles' chalk stacks and lighthouse beyond, or explore the quaint narrow streets, ancient castle and busy harbour at Yarmouth. A great destination with plenty to see and do!

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it