Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 39 View Image Gallery
  • Baytree Cottage - Isle of Wight & Hampshire - 990566 - photo 1
close

Baytree Cottage

(Ref. 990566)

Totland, Isle of Wight Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (15)
  • lovely (14)
  • well (10)
  • garden (10)
  • great (9)
  • comfortable (9)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "Older property but comfortable."

    Needed to be cleaned on arrival and sofas very dirty, good location and everything worked , just needs a deep thorough clean.

    Many thanks for the feedback and sorry the cleaning wasn't up to your and our standards. We were happy to rectify immediately following your arrival. We've shared this feedback with our house keepers who are also completing our annual deep clean and maintenace during the winter.Pleased you had a good holiday and enjoyed Bay Tree. We want all our guests to have a great holiday and will continue to take feedback seriously. Wishing you all the best. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma3.1Sep 2023

  • "Our arrival tour of Baytree Cottage."

    On arrival to Baytree Cottage could not get the housekeeper to return my calls, only to be told after waiting 20mins the contact details were invalid. Sykes finally managed to get through to property owner. The property presented dark and very tired, even with the sun shining!. The first ground floor bedroom was ok, although dusty on window ledge and wall sockets. The second ground floor bedroom, smelt stale and worn with an over powering smell of carpet freshener, with an awful dark wardrobe in the corner. (wardrobe does not show in property photos). The toilet downstairs had a dripping tap and a loo seat that did not fit the toilet, dim lighting, with no additional lighting around sink area, that was positioned at end of bath, behind the door. No anti slip mat for bath, or bath mat. The original heavy panel doors need maintenance, as difficult to close. The hallway was ok. The lounge looked very tired, carpet dirty, food behind the cushions on the chair and sofa. Could not pull out the draw for the dvds as it was jammed. Extremely large dining table with addition chairs at side. Small dark kids game room off dining area. Conservatory had an awful smell, the table was not fitted together properly, the throw over rug covered an extremely dirty sofa with stains, which needed deep cleaning, not hiding over with a throw! Complete in the corner was a huge garden parasol box and cover that should have been stored in the shed. The garden looked so much better on Skye’s property photos, garden grass had not been cut, the willow tree in the corner had a wasp problem. Back inside continuing the tour, the kitchen area looked ok, cupboard storage was an issue, crumbs in the bread bin, the small dining area was ok, although storage space filled with far too much surplus items, in my opinion. Upstairs shower room had loose toilet set, mould on ceiling,broken door knob and door lock. Double bedroom was ok, did not use other room. All the wood work needed a clean and repainting, maybe the excuse could be the words ‘cottage charm’. Baytree did not feel homely, but unloved, tired and worn, with a ‘that will do attitude’. Extremely disappointed. My recommendation would be get a professional cleaning company in, carry on with the decorating that has obviously started, put additional lighting in to give a warmer feel. Hire a gardener to sort out the shrubs in front of property, and trees and shrubs in back garden, cut the grass.An update on an annual basis by Sykes to ensure properties match photos description regarding, furniture changes, general condition of property

    Many thanks for your detailed feedback and please accept our apologies. Thank you also for making time to chat through subsequently and pleased that overall you had a good stay in the Isle of Wight. Regarding getting into the property, sorry that you were delayed on entering but pleased that Sykes were able to help within a few minutes. There appeared to have been a problem with the automatic emails from Sykes. We have reviewed processes for communications between our house keepers, Sykes and guests; so these difficulties will not occur in the future. Regarding the cleanliness of the property, sorry that the cleaning wasn’t up to your and our standards – this shouldn’t have happened. We have provided detailed feedback to our cleaning staff and also ensured that they’ll be checks by the housekeeping team before properties are confirmed as being ready for guests. Pleased that you noticed the decoration plans – for which we completed decoration of the upstairs bedrooms earlier this year – we’ll continue this winter to with the downstairs rooms. Finally we’ve asked our gardener to look at the shrubs and trees – which we complete every year in the late autumn and spring. The lawn was mowed on the day you arrived though, so we're surprised that this was an issue. We love BayTree and it is very much our home from home and your comments are taken very personally - we (the owners) are a normal family, not a big holiday chain! We want all our guests to have a great holiday and will continue to take feedback seriously. Wishing you all the best. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen1.9Sep 2023

  • "We first stayed at Baytree Cottage in June 2022, it is spacious and ideally located so we returned again for 3 weeks this June/July."

    We enjoyed our stay but there are a few comments we would make as we feel the cottage is now in need of some maintenance and TLC, it is looking a little "tired". Things we highlighted last year as needing doing haven't been done, so hence our comments below. When we arrived the dishwasher wasn't working and the bolt on the upstairs bathroom door was faulty. We tried ringing the number Sykes had given for the local contact but voicemails and texts were not answered. After a few days we found the number for Chloe who used to look after the cottage and she kindly contacted the owners for us. A new updated contact number needs to be given, as Chloe's number is still in in the guest info book in the cottage. The owners asked the new cleaners/maintenance people to contact us, arrangements were made for the dishwasher to be repaired and the bolt mended, but each time they said they would come on a certain day but then didn't. When the bolt was finally looked at on a Friday, it was promised to be mended on Monday, I am glad I asked the guy to put the faulty bolt back on as that was better than nothing, as no one came back to replace the bolt despite promises that they would. Communication would have sorted this - a note left to say the dishwasher wasn't working, and a quick call if they found they couldn't have come to sort things out after all that day would have been appreciated. Cleanliness wasn't up to last year's standard, lots of dust and cobwebs, grimy shower tray and the bottom of the shower screen was full of "crud" washes out when you are using the shower. The gap in the hedge in the back garden is still there despite being mentioned by several previous guests. One of our dogs got through, into next doors garden and then out onto the road, luckily we quickly spotted she had gone. Such a shame as we highlighted this last year. We ended up moving garden chairs to try and barricade the gap. The garden is rather overgrown, some pruning in the front would make the narrow drive easier to navigate. The conservatory door lock still isn't mended which means you can't use the conservatory as it gets incredibly hot on a slightly sunny day - a great place to dry clothes off, but would be nice to be able to open that door into the garden. Sofa is looking a bit tired and has had it's day, and the mattress on the main bed could do with replacing as you find you roll into the middle! May seem like nit picking but when you are paying around £1200-£1500 per week you expect it to be a bit better, well we certainly do :) Last year when we arrived there was a lovely cake, jar of doggy biscuits and tea and coffee makings, sadly not this year, so all in all, we felt that corners and costs were being cut. It is a shame because the cottage is in the perfect spot, it is spacious and comfortable, just needs a bit of smartening up and perhaps more attention to detail paid with the cleaning and little maintenance jobs.

    Reviewed by David3.8Jun 2023

  • "A lovely cottage, very spacious with lovely big bedrooms."

    Felt really homely with everything you will need on a family holiday. Fantastic for the children, very well equiped with toys, books and plates etc The only niggles we has was the lighting could be a little brighter or more lighting in the double bedroom as it was quite dim. Also the drive is very narrow if you have a large family car (smax), we struggled to park and access all doors so either parked on the road or all got out before going on the drive. Great location to access all of the island. The open top bus to the Needles and Yarmouth stops at the end of the road and is a lovely day out. Overall a lovely holiday and would love to go back.

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Mar 2023

  • "Had a wonderful stay wish we could have stayed longer"

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely property, very well equipped including excellent variety of games for children of all ages, including an X-box."

    Great situation for a good beach, ten minutes walk and shop five minutes.

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0Aug 2022

  • "Perfect for all generations."

    Extremely well equipped. Comfortable, clean, very close to lovely Totland Bay. Good fish and chips nearby. We had a lovely stay. The plumbing is an entertainment.

    Reviewed by Bridget5.0Aug 2022

  • "Lovely house and garden ideally situated."

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with plenty of room. Really felt at home. Thank you

    Reviewed by Sara4.7Aug 2022

  • "Cottage: Lock to conservatory not working so did not use Equally did not use the game room Enjoyed the garden- a lovely space and dog safe Very clean and tidy Although only told when there that dogs not allowed upstairs Location: great for the coast and beach, perfect As regards pubs not one in walking distance and Totland does not offer somewhere different to eat each night If that’s not important to you then you will, like use, enjoy paddle boarding, swimming and relaxing A very quiet side to the island but then 25 Mins to Osborne and East Cowes We enjoyed Osborne and Carisbrooke as well as driving the coastal road and finding lovely pubs The Aquapark is also a must!"

    Thank you for your feedback and we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the house. We're sorry that we can't allow dogs into the bedrooms, but we believe this is quite standard practice. The conservatory is available to use; the door to outside is currently unreliable and we don't want to compromise guests' safety if they are unable to lock it. In terms of eating out it's a shame you didn't discover The Waterfront, The Hut, Totties, Sunbo Chinese and Beach cafes in Totland. There's also Rainbow Fish (our favourite fish and chips), The Vine, Fuoco's wood-fired pizza, another Chinese, Freshwater Coffee House, Jaffran Indian and The Burger & Grill - all a short 5 minute walk into Freshwater. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vicki3.4Jul 2022

  • "We have had many self catering cottage holidays over the years, but Bay Tree cottage has been far and away the best for us."

    It is spacious, clean and comfortable and very well equipped. We really didn't want to leave! For those bringing their dogs, as we did, lots of great walks from the house but if you have a nosey dog just watch out, there are a few gaps in the hedge and one of our labradors made her way into the neighbour's garden! We would return in a heartbeat, it was absolutely lovely and we really appreciated the milk, tea and coffee makings, doggy biscuits and cake on arrival, a lovely touch!

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely spacious property, in excellent location."

    Very well equipped and owners dealt promptly with a faulty tap. We enjoyed our holiday there very much. It was a shame that several doors did not shut properly and the cleaning could be better. But the comfortable house, lovely garden, proximity to the beach and beautiful walks meant that this did not matter too much. We would go there again!

    Reviewed by Jill4.1Apr 2022

  • "Great stay."

    Considering this is a pet-friendly house, it was very clean and comfortable. Lovely garden, lots of communal space for the kids and large rooms. We'll positioned for Totland bay. Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Mandy-lee5.0Apr 2022

  • "2nd year at cottage."

    Items we reported last year (i.e. broken window catch) not fixed. Dripping tap reported by phone - message left but no reply therefore tap dripped all week. Cleaning not up to standard - dirt and sweet wrappers under settee and bed. Cobwebs on inside of bathroom and kitchen windows (look like they have been there for some time).

    Thank you so much for coming back to us and we're so sorry to hear that things weren't up to your expectations this year. You mention that you reported things previously; we've looked in all our guest books but can't find your suggestions so apologies if you thought we were ignoring them. As we speak we are having all the windows upgraded with double-glazing, so hopefully this will mend the catch problem! We are also moving back to the cleaners we have used in previous years who have always been given full marks from all our guests. We're so sorry that the team we used this summer let you down. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alex2.5Sep 2021

  • "Impossible to contact propert manager for keycode for cottage."

    I left several messages on the phone number given, nobody replied. Had to contact Sykes in the end. It was a very stressful week leading up to the holiday. This issue should really be addressed, never happened to me before.

    We're so sorry you had trouble contacting our housekeeper on the Tuesday before you arrived, and pleased to hear she called you back within an hour of you leaving a message with Sykes. As we explained, we don't typically give out the key code this far in advance for the security of guests already in the house. The housekeeper normally gives guests a call a couple days before to welcome them and ensure they have all the info they need. Thank you for the lovely comments you left about the house in the guest book. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Sep 2021

  • "The oven grill haven’t been cleaned!"

    You couldn’t use the upstairs shower, sink or flush the toilet at the same time as using the downstairs water! The downstairs bedroom mattress’ spring in one of the beds made a noise! The kitchen sink tap didn’t turn properly! It needed an extra shower for 6 adults to stay comfortably there! We didn’t think it deserved a 4 star rating. The holiday was enjoyable but house let it down.

    We're so sorry to hear that the house wasn't up to your expectations but pleased you had a good holiday. As for most properties built in the 1930s running the water in one part of the house will impact other rooms. The bath has a shower attachment as well but perhaps this wasn't adequate for your needs. We have passed on your comments to our cleaning team who were very apologetic. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda2.5Sep 2021

  • "A lovely property with lots of home from home comforts needs updating abit and ..."

    A lovely property with lots of home from home comforts needs updating abit and drive was difficult to negotiate with a people carrier and cars parked opposite drive But would recommend this property as spacious for a family of 5

    Thank you so much for your feedback; we're glad you had a great time! We do agree that the driveway might be a bit tight for larger cars (and are looking into how we can widen it). Hopefully you found plenty of space on the road opposite. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia3.8Aug 2021

  • "Had a wonderful family holiday at Baytree Cottage."

    Found it to be very comfortable and extremely well equipped. The sun room off the kitchen was great to sit in and have breakfast then the dining room lovely for when we all wanted to eat together. There is a nice garden which luckily we managed to make use of during the last part of our stay. Loved the fact that the sea is only about 10 minutes walk away - perfect for an evening stroll. We didn't find a problem with parking two cars on the driveway then one on the quiet road. Would definitely love to visit again!

    Reviewed by Anne5.0May 2021

  • "It was a lovely cottage, close to the sea and great for a bigger family like ours."

    We would definitely visit again.

    Reviewed by Tim5.0Jul 2020

  • "Baytree Cottage is a lovely holiday home."

    Very welcoming and provides everything you could possibly need. Unfortunately our stay in late December early January we did find the cottage rather cold and had to make use of an electric heater we located in one of the wardrobes. We would also like to recommended that something be done about the parking. The cottage does sleep up to 8 people but there is hardly room for one car in the narrow drive way. Even worse for larger vehicles.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Dec 2019

  • "The owners have thought of everything to make your holiday memorable."

    From the scrabble board through to the cherry cake with comfortable beds on the way a week away in Bay Tree cottage is one not to forget. The location of the cottage is perfect with walks along the coastal path and up to Tennyson Down. Perfect!

    Reviewed by Lisa-mai5.0Oct 2019

  • "Security lights back and front of the house would be helpful, other than that it was perfect!"

    Reviewed by G5.0Sep 2019

  • "There were some problems that we have already made you aware of and we are currently on negotiation about a refund."

    However, the cottage is very well located on IOW and we enjoyed being able to walk to the beach, cafes etc. The weather was fantastic the week we stayed and this obviously made a huge contribution to our enjoyment. The cottage has sufficient equipment for cooking, bedding etc, there was nothing we wanted that was not there. There was enough space in the house and garden for us and our two dogs and the access to walks was good.

    Reviewed by David3.8Aug 2019

  • "Was an amazing cottage with awesome facilities and brilliant treats left ."

    Reviewed by Tammie5.0May 2019

  • "10mins walk to the beach, great family home, excellent facilities, complete with Owners cakes etc."

    delicious, thanks. Activities for children in the house and plenty of books and videos. Lovely patio. Dog friendly, electric car charger very convenient. Good for walks. Would certainly recommend and visit again when in the area.. Luckily we had four days of perfect weather. Fantastic break..

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Apr 2019

  • "As my 5yo said “the cottage is perfect”."

    Everything from the spacious garden to how well equipped it is, from the cleanliness to the welcome gifts. What a find. We will certainly be going back again.

    Reviewed by Eleanor5.0Apr 2019

  • "A very clean, comfortable cottage and good service from Sykes."

    The only improvement I could recommend would be to modernise the decor of the cottage more as it was quite old fashioned but nevertheless it was very cosy and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay there.

    Reviewed by Ella3.8Mar 2019

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Please note: generous discount is available for the ferry, further information will be supplied upon booking
  • Four bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 2 x ground floor twins
  • Upstairs shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast room
  • Living/dining room with open fire
  • Snug with double sofa bed
  • Central heating with open fire
  • Gas oven and hob, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, electric vehicle charging point, TV, Xbox, Wii console
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car and roadside parking
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Large enclosed garden with lawned area, BBQ, patio and furniture
  • Bike storage
  • Two well behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk
  • Local bus service available offering transport to tourist attractions all over the island

The property

Nestled in the charm-filled village of Totland, on the beautiful Isle of Wight and with access to the sandy beach at Colwell Bay, is Baytree Cottage.

This large, whitewashed cottage boasts an attractive exterior, with a garden wrapping itself around the perimeter and an arts and crafts feel inside.

Well-presented throughout, it is ideal for families and friends looking to share a coastal break together.

A mix of wood and carpeted floors combine with bright, uplifting décor to elevate your mood each day that passes.

Rustle up a tasty meal in the spacious kitchen, fitted with sleek units and worktops, sip your coffee in the breakfast room and catch up on the morning newspaper.

The living/dining room offers an L-shape sofa for relaxing in front of the fire and just off from here is a snug for the kids to watch TV in.

You can keep a close eye on them as you tuck into a delicious meal at the dining table.

The ground floor is complete with two twin bedrooms, a bathroom and a second sun room soaking up the garden.

Climb the stairs to the double room, which boasts coastal views or choose to stay in the third twin bedroom.

Lastly, the shower room offers a light, contemporary feel.

You are in a fabulous position here in Totland village, with the 'The Hut' seafood restaurant easily reached on a balmy afternoon, popular among yatching visitors.

Just a leisurely stroll to the glimmering shores when all you crave is delicious food and a romantic, coastal ambience; The Hut is open throughout the day in summer.

There are many amenities available at nearby Freshwater and Yarmouth offers a lovely market square and car ferry links to Lymington.

Both The Needles & Alum Bay Landmark attraction and the beautiful Tennyson Down which is great for dog walkers are only 2 miles away.

A splendid retreat to choose for your next holiday.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

TOTLAND

Freshwater 1 mile; Yarmouth 3 miles.

The village of Totland rests in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the west side of the Isle of Wight's beautiful coast, offering visitors local shops and pubs and spectacular unspoilt coastal scenery. The award-winning beaches of both Totland and Colwell Bay offer a range of activities, whilst a pretty footpath will take you to Freshwater in ten minutes where you will find its golf course and public swimming pool. It is also an excellent starting point for walks along the Tennyson Trail. Take a chair lift from Alum Bay and enjoy some of the wonderful views across the sand cliffs to the famous 'Needles' chalk stacks and lighthouse beyond, or explore the quaint narrow streets, ancient castle and busy harbour at Yarmouth. A great destination with plenty to see and do!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas