Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Dorset 21 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 30 View Image Gallery
  • Anchor Cottage - Dorset - 993928 - photo 1

Anchor Cottage

(Ref. 993928)

Brewers Quay Harbour, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (23)
  • location (18)
  • lovely (17)
  • our (13)
  • clean (12)
  • bed (12)

39 Customer Reviews

  • "The property was fine."

    However when we arrived the fridge/freezer was not switched on and we had to search around to find the socket. The attitude of Sykes staff to a request to rectify an error re the making up of the beds is the subject of a complaint I have emailed to Customer Support. This was a bad experience for us.

    Reviewed by Hilary4.7Feb 2024

  • "TV was impossible to watch as connections were on off."

    Shower in top bathroom was dangerous as it was boiling then cold so you had to keep jumping in and out to make sure you didn’t get burned.

    Reviewed by Jane4.4Sep 2023

  • "On the whole we had a great time: cottage had a great location and was very quiet."

    Loved the living area, sofas very comfy, and kitchen great and very well equipped. We didn't use the patio much to sit out but it was great area for storing bikes and for hanging up towels and swimmers. Just a few issues (below) but we would definitely come back. TV was a little weird - we couldn't find a way to get BBC channels on it! However, we didn't watch much TV anyway so weren't that bothered. Had some problems with the 2nd floor shower on Sunday morning: combination of very shallow shower basin and slow draining meant that the whole bathroom floor flooded after one shower. Someone from Dream Cottages came round on Monday to put drain blocker down and provided new towels, but we didn't want to risk it again so all used the 1st floor shower after that. Mattress in the 1st floor bedroom wasn't very comfy - quite a big dip in the middle. Would have been nice to have a chest of drawers in the 2nd floor bedroom (as there was in the 1st floor one): not much space to store clothes. There were no instructions about where to put recycling (only rubbish) so hope it was OK to leave in the kitchen bins provided.

    Dear Guests We glad you found the kitchen well equipped and lounge comfortable. I will look into why the TV channels were not coming up as they were all pre-set .I will also investigate the dip you found in the mattress on the 1st floor . The cleaner will be advised about the shower on the 2nd floor . The 2nd floor bedroom does not have space for an additional chest of draws but there is a drawer on the lower part of the wardrobe and a drawer on the bed base . Thank you for your feedback and I hope you will visit us again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia4.1Aug 2023

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Disappointed with the back yard...also you could leave a few cleaning stuff to clean with....the biggest gripe is no rubber mat in the top bathroom. Extremely dangerous for us as we are in our 70's. I reported it to dream cottages and they said they would let you know and someone will bring one. They didn't. The location was excellent.

    We hope to deal with the yard when the cottage is not booked. There should have been a rubber mat in the bathroom cupboard. I will notify the cleaner to check both bathrooms have a rubber mat. Thankyou for your feed back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Frances3.8Jul 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage, everything provided that you would need."

    Excellent position, very central for restaurants etc. Just a couple of cons. The description said the stairs were steep but we weren't prepared for how steep and narrow they actually are, hard to get suitcases up and down and being in our 70s it felt a little nerve wracking. Also the TV needs some attention, works ok but is pixelating a lot and making loud crackling sound.

    Reviewed by David4.4Jun 2023

  • "Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful home."

    Everything was perfect as it was in the middle of everything anyone could possibly want. The beds are so comfy, it’s kept spotlessly clean. It’s our second time we’ve stayed and we’ll be booking again very soon. We loved it so thank you.

    We are so pleased you found Anchor cottage very comfortable and relaxing Thankyou for your kind comments. We look forward to your next visit with us again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne Marie5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage and had a wonderful time."

    Thank you.

    Reviewed by Graham5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely house in a perfect location."

    The owner was friendly, helpful and responsive.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage ,very clean ,everything you need is there, beds are extremely comfortable ,bathroom , kitchen in excellent condition , plenty of car parking with the permit , nice central position ,few minutes to centre and beach , one downside ,the c/h is set ,on timer, although the instruction book says you can over ride this function it doesnt happen ,or ,if it does the heating is on for a very short time ,a minor adjustment is required as the temperature on the coast can become cooler quite quickly ,other than this the property is excellent ,so many thanks."

    Dear Guest, We are pleased that you have enjoyed the facilities at Anchor cottage and its lovely location in Weymouth. We use a NEST control system and thermostat which is programmable. Guests can switch the heating on and off and the system responds quickly. However following your feedback we have adjusted the program to increase the timer settings as we come into Autumn, Winter. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen3.8Oct 2022

  • "A lovely clean cottage very comfortable beds"

    Dear Guest , We are so happy that you have enjoyed the facilities at Anchor cottage. We hope to see you again in Weymouth in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0Aug 2022

  • "Overall the cottage was very good."

    The only criticism was the television needs looking at. Sound quality is very poor and it constantly glitches leaving us unable to hear it. The cleaning materials *for our use* were empty and i wasn't prepared to buy dishwasher tablets as they're expensive. The bath in the one bathroom was unusable as no taps, both bathrooms have drainage issues and need cleaning out. All in all location and facilities were very good. I was generally pleased.

    Dear Mrs Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We will investigate the issue you reported regarding the TV signal. Cleaning materials, dishwasher tablets - 2 tablets are left for each guest and we apologise if these had been missed. The main bathroom does not have separate taps but does have a bath filler which is operated by the controls on the wall. We have investigated the drainage issue and this has been resolved by an external company. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet4.7Aug 2022

  • "Lovely location, lovely cottage, clean, comfy and perfect for us."

    Dear Guest , we are so happy that you have enjoyed the facilities at Anchor cottage and its lovely location in Weymouth. We hope to see you again in the near future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Penny4.7Jul 2022

  • "Updated with a personal touch to a very high standard, a kitchen to lost in, a walk in shower you can only dream of."

    Smack bang on the harbour and easy reach the town center and seafront. A lovely seating patio area for morning breakfast to discuss to day ahead, then sit out in the evening with the lovely patio lights and a glass of wine before you retire. Park right outside the from down with a pass for your stay. Everything you could ask for and more during your stay. Just one more thing, loved the bed so much, I went online and got one.... fantastic. Thanks to the owner for contacting us to pop in the and sort a little maintenance, very nice people should you need to contact them. Enjoy Weymouth from a great place and location.

    Reviewed by Mervyn5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a marvellous stay at Anchor Cottage."

    It's tucked out of the way of hub-bub & noise. Yet, just a short walk away from everything. Dream Cottages were very close too & at hand if we needed them. They were very helpful with our questions about the area. There is a small enclosed white washed area with a bistro table & chairs outside the back to sit. We didn't use it except to hang out a little washing. Being a short walk away from the pretty harbour & the beach we didn't need it.

    Dear Guest , we are so happy that you have enjoyed the facilities at Anchor cottage and its lovely location in Weymouth. We hope to see you again in weymouth in the near future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zena5.0May 2022

  • "Hi, the property was very comfortable and well-appointed."

    On the final evening the water heating stopped, but was resolved quickly by a maintenance engineer through Dream Cottages. These things happen. The harbour area is lovely, but at the start of the Easter weekend the nightlife from the many harbourside bars spilled over into our street with one man falling against the front door, another falling between the parked cars outside setting off their alarms, and a lot of shouting throughout the night until gone 4am. We did ask the owner why the front door is only secured with a latch lock, and no deadlock. I personally feel that is insufficient, considering the proximity to the harbour nightlife. We did wonder why there was an IP video camera in the porch - (perhaps the harbour nightlife is the reason?) It is disconcerting to rent a property but have an interior camera watching one's movements. I'd understand if it was a shared lobby with other properties, but this is the front porch solely for the house. Is it legal for an interior camera to be installed without residents receiving an explanation on how the footage is used?

    Dear Guest. We very much appreciate your considered feedback which is valuable to us. We will look into either fitting a deadlock on the front door or providing guests keys to lock the internal door. Generally the local area is safe and we are disappointed to hear of your experience and disturbed sleep one night. With regard to the security camera, the footage is for security reasons only, is not shared in any way and the property is registered with the Information Commissioner. The footage is deleted after one month provided there are no security issues. We hope this addresses your concern and thank you for your feedback and stay at Anchor Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by George4.7Apr 2022

  • "The layout is perfect being open planned, much prefer this than smaller enclosed rooms."

    Beds are comfy and kitchen has plenty of utensils and crockery. The only negative thing is the nest heating had a schedule set for early hours at quite a high temperature which is not needed, I would recommend leaving a scheduled set at 16 degrees then tenants can adjust when needed.

    Thank you for your feedback . I will make the changes to the nest heating temperature for future guests. Have a wonderful new year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Dec 2021

  • "The cottage was filthy and we spent the first two hours of our arrival trying to make the property habitable for the week."

    I took photo's when we arrived as I was gobsmacked that this is actually acceptable to hire out in the current climate with the risk of Covid (you allow 7 hours at change over to make sure the property is Covid safe - there is no way on earth this property is Covid safe). When we finished cleaning we went to make a cup of tea and the kettle was full of limescale and poured out into the mug, so then we had to go back to the shop to buy de-scaler to get rid of all the build up. The dining chair was broken, the toilet seat on the top floor was broken and there was ice the size of an iceberg in the fridge. There was mould in the bedroom (I know it is an old cottage but that mould has been there for a while), dirt and stains to all worksurfaces and cupboard doors, stained coffee table, crisps underneath the coffee table. I have a health condition which requires me to keep my environment clean otherwise it can put me in hospital with life threatening Sepsis, I spent most of the week fretting in case I picked anything up from the uncleanliness. We didn't think there was any point in reporting the issues we had, as we could see from looking at previous reviews left for the property, nothing has been done to rectify those issues. The grey tiled floor was extremely dirty and had crumbs and dirt all over and in all the corners (when using kitchen roll to wipe up some water spilt it became evident just how dirty the floor was). On Thursday evening a local living opposite decided to have a street party until 5am the following morning, my husband came back from the take away to find people leant up against his car so he politely asked them to move. The next day, as well as having no sleep, when we took a look at the car it was left with drinks spillage all the way across the car and a scratch along the wheel arch. I would appreciate some contact so I can provide you with the photos that I have to show how very poor the cleanliness is to the property. For the extortionate price we paid to hire the property this was not at all what we expected and are extremely disappointed and will think twice before we use Sykes/Dream Cottages again.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry that the property was not cleaned to its normal very high standards. we wished these issues were raised during your visit so they could have been rectified by the Housekeeper. We have since spoken to the Housekeeper and all cleaning issues are now addressed. The other points you raised have also been rectified. We apologise in the delay in responding to your feedback. Kind regards The Owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony2.2Sep 2021

  • "There was mould in the bedroom and couldn’t get hot water to do any proper cleaning ."

    Also one of the dining chairs was broken .

    I apologize for the mould in the bedroom and the lack of hot water. We have looked into this and have found where the water problem is coming from and it is now resolved. The plumber has made sure there is plenty of hot water now. The dining chair has been repaired. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dannie3.8Aug 2021

  • "Anchor Cottage is in a great location, very comfortable holiday cottage to stay in for our family of four."

    Would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a property close to the harbour with its restaurants and pubs and within easy walking distance of the beach.

    Reviewed by Stacy5.0Jul 2021

  • "Stunning Cottage & top location for the Harbour & near by pubs."

    Kitchen has mod cons ,lovely large house. The bathrooms & bedrooms were Wonderful.Massive TV in the lounge with 2 very comfortable sofas. Highly recommended !We got to park outside the property so that was a huge bonous for unpacking and packing. It was clean & we felt Covid Safe inside. Amazing weather too.Wonderful Weymouth & Dream-cottages never let us down. Thank you Kind regards as always Mr & Mrs Brindley- Yes please post our review of Anchor cottage the owners deserve it. ------------- Now we require feed back from yourselves Wanted to book Anchor cottage for same week next July its price for 2022 has gone up £300? we paid around £800 well worth it next year £1,170 how is the increase justified? We have Nuke Cottage booked in September with Dream-Cottages not yourselves but same up £300. Paying over £550 this year next year £800. £100 increase may be exceptable! but not £300. We have been holidaying with Dream cottage/ now part of yourselves for over 25 years, 2 holidays every July & Sept. These are uk staycation holidays not abroad !over £300 increase seems very harsh what about fair reductions for long standing customers such as ourselves.? Kind regards Mr & Mrs Brindley.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Jul 2021

  • "Anchor cottage was just perfect, in a lovely location & would highly recommend ..."

    Anchor cottage was just perfect, in a lovely location & would highly recommend the courtyard was a little tired but when you have the harbour just round the corner it was no problem

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Jul 2021

  • "Lovely accommodation, excellent location"

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Jun 2021

  • "Gorgeous cottage really well furnished and very comfortable."

    The parking permit actually allows you to park outside for as long as you want (if you can get a space) the other longer term car park is out the end of the street, turn sharp right then left at the top and the car park is on the right (about 5 mins walk) there is an area reserved for “L” car park permit cars and we always found a space, Recommend booking restaurants for first few nights (note Mon and Tuesday many restaurants close - lack of staff?) Londis store in the street itself is really handy and v friendly people and the art shop (Cove) is enticingly good and we spent a LOT there. Overall a wonderful holiday and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend both Weymouth and this lovely holiday home

    Reviewed by Cathy5.0Jun 2021

  • "We would definitely stay here again and would also recommend it to anyone."

    Just a few minor things I would like to list that would improve the stay. We couldn’t find where we were supposed to recycle plastic, glass etc, so some information on this would be good. There were a couple of areas that the cleaners missed, the blinds in the living room, behind the T.V. and the lampshade in the dining area need a good dusting. This didn’t detract from our stay though and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the facilities, especially in the kitchen which were first rate.

    Reviewed by Nicholas4.1May 2021

  • "An excellent little cottage in a quiet charming narrow street with a little shop just at the end and the harbour within a moments walk with all the life and restaurants."

    Parking could be a problem. The tiny outdoor area could be improved.

    Reviewed by Helen4.1May 2021

  • "Although we booked at short notice we could not have wished for a better place to spend a much-needed week’s holiday by the seaside!"

    The house was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Although the weather was beautiful it was cold and the central heating proved very effective. The location was perfect - a few yards from the bustling harbour yet quiet and peaceful. The residents’ parking permit meant that we always found a parking space and the very well-equipped Londis convenience store was just opposite, with a Tesco Metro nearby if we needed more choice. When a minor repair was needed in the bathroom it was dealt with quickly and efficiently. In summary, if you book this house for your precious time away we believe you won’t be disappointed.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Apr 2021

  • "Cottage was furnished to a high standard and everything that was required was available."

    The inside is significantly better than the exterior outlook. Great location for the town and everything within a few minutes walk Parking was not a problem for this time of year Outdoor area could do with a bit of a lift to make it more appealing to use especially out of season

    Reviewed by Tim5.0Oct 2020

  • "Fantastic accommodation , great location and very clean ."

    Reviewed by Ryan5.0Oct 2020

  • "Anchor Cottage is in a fantastic location."

    The cottage was beautifully presented throughout. All detail to the Covid 19 situation was put into place for guests safety whilst maintaining every comfort. I would chose Sykes and this cottage again. THANKYOU FOR A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY. Heather Frearson and family.

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Aug 2020

  • "Lovely cottage , so clean , excellent location , wonderful overall experience x"

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Aug 2020

  • "As usual parking is a challenge especially when the builders next door take up several spaces but it only became an issue when unloading/packing the car and did not spoil my stay."

    Excellent house and spotlessly clean.

    Reviewed by George4.7Sep 2019

  • "Building work next door 7."

    30 till 5. Was told it was just decorating but definitely not. Only monday. Wednesday. Friday. Great place. Awaken at 7.30am with power tools not good

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Jul 2019

  • "Great place to rest after a hectic days at the Jurassic coastline; local to amenities /shops/beach etc very comfortable cannot wait to stay in one of your rentals again."

    Anchor cottage was very clean it has everything you need for a lovely relaxing week in Weymouth, We spent more time than usual indoors due to the weather but because it was very comfortable our holiday was not spoilt.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jun 2019

  • "Booked this as a last minute deal and when we arrived we were delighted with what we found."

    The house was fabulous and convenient for everything. It is furnished to a high standard and had everything you would need. Beds comfy and the bathrooms were lovely. The house was perfect for our family of 4. Had amazing weather so walked to the beach everyday and stayed for the duration so no hassle with finding a parking space or paying for meters!. There is a little supermarket up the road and some fab restaurants all within a short walk but if you wanted to stay home and cook the property has a lovely kitchen. We parked the car up on the first day and didn't use it again until we were going home 4 days later! Would definately recommend this house.

    Reviewed by Marian5.0Apr 2019

  • "Such a great location and set up."

    The cottage is modern, comfortable with everything needed. With all the bars and restaurants on the doorstep but still very quiet and comfortable when you just want to relax.

    Reviewed by Matthew4.7Apr 2019

  • "Lovely cottage, would recommend it."

    Staff at Dream Cottages were very helpful. Stayed May 2018

    Mrs Hilary HodgsonJun 2018

  • "Fantastic location!"

    Cottage is beautifully presented, warm and comfortable. Close to beach and harbour. I will definitely be staying there again. Dream cottages made the whole experience completely hassle free. Stayed January 2018

    Mrs Joanne BainesFeb 2018

  • "An immaculately presented cottage in the perfect location."

    Cosy & comfortable providing perfect holiday accommodation. The attention to detail was indeed 1st Class.

    Mr Bob RobinsonNov 2017

  • "House very tidy & well equipped."

    Whole house ie bathrooms,kitchen bedrooms& lounge all renovated to a very high standard. Very happy with our stay. Thanks.

    Mr Neil FearensideNov 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Sitting/Dining room with doorway to kitchen
  • Cloakroom with WC and basin
  • Door to small courtyard area with bistro set
  • Short, steep cottage stairs to first floor
  • Bedroom 1, king-size double bed with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Narrow cottage stairs up to second floor, Bedroom 2, twin single beds or can be made up as super king-size bed on request,
  • Bathroom, bath with shower over, basin and WC
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric fire in lounge
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Fridge, freezer
  • Cot and highchair
  • TV and WIFI
  • Fuel and Power inc. in rent
  • One parking permit available for Zone L road side parking (subject to availability) until 1st March 2024 (subject to Council Renewal).Bedlinen and Towels inc. in rent

The property

Anchor Cottage was lovingly restored and updated, and the interior now boasts a contemporary feel, with the modern open plan sitting/ dining room leading to the kitchen; a perfect social area.

Completed to a high standard throughout, the cottage with stylish bathroom / shower rooms and completed with a long sleek kitchen.

Located on a paved street and nestled among old fisherman's cottages, close to the harbour edge Anchor makes a perfect home for families, or two couples wanting to holiday together.

A must visit is the Tudor House opposite Anchor, one of a few remaining original Tudor buildings dating from 17th Century.

Just a minute away is Hope Square, a pretty area bordered with restaurants, bistros and a pub, a great place to relax and watch the world go by.

This holiday cottage is located just seconds away from the old harbour in Weymouth where you can view yachts and working fishing boats busy in the harbour.

Walking along the harbour and cross the town bridge which rises throughout the day to let boats in and out of the harbour.

Adjacent to the town and a lovely five-minute walk from Anchor is the main Weymouth beach, stretching over three miles – it is the perfect location for a shoreline walk, sand castle building or just sitting and enjoying the gentle lapping of the shallow waters.

Anchor is the perfect location for a harbourside holiday in Weymouth.

Everything you need to have a seaside holiday is stay just a few minutes away.

Fayre In The Square end May
Wessex Folk Festival start Jun
Festivals will cause some inconvenience due to some road closures and parking restrictions. Should you require any further assistance or clarification on this please do not hesitate to contact us.

View on map

About the location


Dorchester 8.7 miles; West Lulworth 15.8 miles

Brewers Quay is the old Victorian brewery situated at the heart of the harbour, in Weymouth, Dorset. Much of the grade II listed complex and surrounding brewery buildings date from the late 1800 early 1900’s and many have stones inlaid commemorating their construction year. This area is now a popular destination with many restaurants, café and bars, creating a vibrant culture, where you can relax with a drink and watch the world go by. Tucked away down the harbourside streets, you will find original Tudor harbour buildings, estimated to have been built in 1600 and well worth a visit, with a very interesting history to share. You will also find the Weymouth Museum, with some incredible exhibitions, and the harbour is also home to the lifting bridge, where you can watch the luxury yachts head out to sea, and then walk over the bridge to the town's winding streets of boutique shops and the seafront esplanade and beach. There is more to this seaside town than meets the eye; Brewers Quay is a much-loved holiday destination in Weymouth!

Note: CCTV recording for the prevention of crime is in operation in the entrance vestibule of this property. Further information is available on request from the owner.

One parking permit available for Zone L road side parking (subject to availability) until 1st March 2024 (subject to Council Renewal).

Note: Nearest pay and display parking is at Nothe Car Park DT4 8UD a 5 minute walk.

Note: If you would like Bedroom 2 made up as a king size bed, please let us know in advance so this can be arranged.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute