Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Dorset 9 minutes ago

1 customer booked Old Malthouse Apartment in the last 24 hours

Old Malthouse Apartment

Weymouth, Dorset (Ref. 994486)

4.5

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

12 Customer Reviews

  • "We stayed here the week before Easter."

    It was out of season so it was really quiet. We loved being in the centre of Weymouth, with the beach and harbour just minutes away on foot. This cottage had everything we needed and was really comfortable. We did lovely day trips to Portland and Durdle Door by bus.

    Reviewed by MadeleineApr 2022

  • "Description suggested beach and closest pub were 5 minutes away."

    The property is in a narrow Lane and on the other side of the road from the apartment were the rear of at least 3 pubs or restaurants. The refuse was taken away each morning between 6 & 7 am. On Friday morning the refuse from the compound for the apartment was also emptied, closer to 5am. There had been a very large bin with bottles in when we arrived and it was incredibly noisy at such an early hour. The refuse compound was disgusting, overflowing when we arrived and the smell from rotting debris made me heave each time I place our items there. Don’t think the area has ever been cleaned. Wall from bathroom backing onto living room had blown plaster. Maybe the exorbitant price that we had been charged was so that the many repairs, including damp in the property could hopefully be repaired. The shower screen was not wide enough which meant that the bathroom floor was wet. Kick boards in kitchen kept falling down. Cupboard where iron etc were kept was very untidy and items just “thrown” in there, also grubby- but it was requested that we clean the apartment before we left. Why, in that case is there a 7 hour gap between guests leaving and new ones arriving? Would have thought welcome items would have been left. Not a result of COVID as a friend rented a Sykes cottage ear.over this year a d doggy treats were left as well as items for the adults. Very disappointed in quality and did not match the price we paid.

    Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The Old Malthouse, it is essential that we are aware of our guests’ experiences so we can not only discover the positive aspects of their stay but also any negative elements that we would seek to remedy where possible. With regards to the rear of the Quayside Restaurant which faces the apartment (the only other business is a small cafe further to the left), we have noticed the waste area for this business seems to have encroached further into Helen Lane than earlier in the year and have reported the matter to the local Environmental Health Agency and we await their response but we are considering setting up a live webcam feed so we can monitor the situation remotely to ensure they do not stray outside their designated waste area. The small area of blown plaster you refer to on the lounge wall was caused by a recent leak behind the bath which has subsequently been fixed and the plaster repaired and redecorated. We always deal with any maintenance issue promptly once we are aware of their existence. The shower screen you mentioned was actually replaced earlier this year and is a standard size but if it is pushed out beyond the edge of the bath water will run down onto the floor. We do not know why the kick boards in the kitchen kept falling down but if there is a problem with the clips holding them onto the legs of the cupboards, these will be replaced. The cupboard where the iron etc is kept also contains the vacuum cleaner, the boiler, bathroom floor under tile heating controls, crabbing nets and other equipment but it is a relatively small space with limited shelving but we apologise if this was left untidy. There are a lot of items in there for the guests’ convenience. With regards to cleaning the apartment before you leave, we simply request you strip the beds and place any rubbish in the bin, you do not need to clean the apartment, that is carried out by the dedicated cleaning team that come in after your stay. The Covid procedures recommend we do not leave a traditional welcome pack that we have traditionally provided including tea, coffee, milk, sugar, biscuits etc that we hope to return to in 2022. We were disappointed that you had no positive feedback which the vast majority of our former guests have enthusiastically expressed and feel disappointed that your main complaint concerned a third party business over which we have no control although we have reported this matter to the authorities to investigate and rectify. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoanAug 2021

  • "Apartment was lovely and spacious, great facilities and fantastic location."

    Reviewed by SarahAug 2021

  • "Lovely position close to beach, shops and Restaurants."

    It’s a shame about the all day noise from the back of the restaurant on the opposite side of the road, facing the lounge area.

    Reviewed by LesleyAug 2020

  • "Great flat, well stocked with everything needed for a holiday."

    All nice and tidy, no complaints at all. Just one street off the harbour where there are plenty of great restaurants and pubs for eating and drinking. Parking is a bit of a pain even with the permit but this has never put us off coming to Weymouth and we hope to book with you again soon.

    Reviewed by PaulAug 2020

  • "Great location - but tricky parking although parking permit provided was a great help"

    Reviewed by NeilAug 2019

  • "Very convenient location for harbour/shops beach etc – easy walking distance."

    Lovely artworks on the walls. No views from windows (which we knew and not a problem for us). Mostly very clean and acceptable. The main drawback is the parking issue. A few times I drove round and round the adjoining streets looking for a Residents parking bay, but all full. Eventually used a pay car park for the week near the Pavilion. Kitchen well equipped – apart only two dishwasher tablets. Had to buy these and washing pods in supermarket (no doubt this will be addressed). Welcome tray with tea/coffee/biscuits etc. Beds soft but comfortable, Good hot water and shower/bath. Internet speeds – download ok but upload only 0.2mbps…..impossible to add anything of substance to a server. Huge TV. Also a plus is the large Leggo set for children. When it comes to good value I’m not sure. I think it’s probably on a par with other properties, but I just think they are all a bit pricey for what they are. For slightly less money per week, last year we had two different apartments in the Swiss Alps. Much better quality and surroundings– although Weymouth is better than I expected – and busier.

    Reviewed by GrahamAug 2019

  • "Spacious & well laid out."

    Comfortable throughout with lovely little extras like crabbing nets, dvds and duplo in the cupboards. We had a query & Dream were quick to respond & owners were fantastically helpful. We were there during the seafood festival & were impressed that noise intrusion was non-existent. Parking was tricky but not unachievable.

    Reviewed by NicolaJul 2019

  • "We had an absolutely brilliant time."

    The apartment was beautifully clean and really lovely. The beds were super comfy and it was finished to a high standard. It was a great location, giving easy access to the entire Weymouth harbour, town and beach. We had a problem with parking though as we couldn’t find anywhere to park in Zone F for the entire period we were away until the last evening! So it was expensive as we had to pay for parking for the entire stay (which sadly resulted in a fine as we couldn’t extend on JustPark on the first day as we didn’t know the code and didn’t get back to the car in time). The only thing we’d like to add about the apartment is there were no oven gloves and only one tea towel. We didn’t think this was acceptable to be honest. It would have been good to have had a couple of washing tablets left as well (like you did with the dishwasher) so we bought our own and have left them in the apartment for the next occupants. All that said we would definitely return to this apartment but probably not during peak periods due to the parking issue (we have a Range Rover so wouldn’t have been able to safely park in Helen Lane as it’s so narrow even if there’d been a space!).

    Reviewed by SusanMay 2019

  • "Lovely place everything a family could wish for on a holiday."

    Location wise is probably unbeatable 30 seconds to the harbour front 5 minute walk (if that) to the beach. My wife and I loved it and our children even more so. Stayed August 2018

    Mr Andrew BriggsOct 2018

  • "Apartment had everything we needed, very clean and in an excellent location."

    Stayed August 2018

    Mrs Diane LomasAug 2018

  • "The apartment was in tip top condition and had been fitted out with everything you could need."

    We were in a prime location just behind the harbour, so everything was on our doorstep.. We would book with you again and also recommend you to anyone else. We needed this break and were not disappointed. Stayed March 2018

    Mr Ian WrightMar 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x King Size, 1 x twin single
  • Bathroom with shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Gas central heating, underfloor heating in bathroom and kitchen, electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV, DVD, DAB radio, Bluetooth speaker, Wifi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair available
  • Fixed stairgate
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome, charge of £21 per pet per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 min
  • Beach 5 min. Parking permit available for Zone F on street parking from 15th May 2022

The property

The Old Malthouse is located near the heart of Weymouth's town centre, situated in a quiet lane, moments away from the Old Harbour and close to the award-winning blue flag beach.

Taking its name from the original use of the building, as part of a malt warehouse, it still retains many of the original characteristics of the building such as solid stone walls which give the building a feeling of sturdiness. Accommodating up to four guests in two bedrooms the property is accessed via a side turning close to the town centre.

It is perfect for a small family or couples. The...

Festivals will cause some inconvenience due to some road closures and parking restrictions. Should you require any further assistance or clarification on this please do not hesitate to contact us.

View on map

About the location

WEYMOUTH

Dorchester 7 miles; Bridport 17 miles.

The popular resort of Weymouth makes an outstanding year-round holiday destination, with a wide variety of attractions on offer, appealing to all tastes and ages. The glorious golden sandy beaches have excellent facilities for all kinds of watersports, whilst from the picturesque, bustling harbour you can take regular fishing trips. A short drive takes you to Portland Harbour, and the rugged “Isle” of Portland, linked to Weymouth by the dramatic Chesil Beach. Visit Dorchester, Thomas Hardy’s “Casterbridge”, only 7 miles away, or take a journey along the scenic coastal road and call in at Abbotsbury Swannery and Subtropical Gardens. Alternatively, just head down to West Bay - the views of the stunning Dorset Heritage Coastline are not to be missed!

View more holiday cottages in Weymouth

Region Information

Note: max 4 people.
Note: Nearest pay and display parking is at Weymouth Pavilion DT4 8DZ a few minutes walk.
Parking permit available at property for zone F on street parking from 15th MAY 2022.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Christmas