Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

Corner Cottage

Sedgehill near Shaftesbury, Dorset (Ref. 906533)

4.2

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

12 Customer Reviews

  • "The only drawback to the cottage was that there was nowhere pleasant to sit outside."

    The bench could do with smartening up and weeding around the area would make a difference

    Reviewed by GeoffSep 2021

  • "Corner Cottage is very comfortable and has eveything you need."

    LOOKING AT NEXT YEARS PRICES THE WINDOW COME DOOR NEEDS REPLACING DUE TO THE DOUBLE GLAZING BEING BLOWN MAKING THE WINDOW LOOK DIRTY. THE OUTSIDE LOOKED VERY SCRUFFY AND DRIVEWAY NEEDED WEEDING. (THE GOOD THING THAT HAS BEEN DONE IS THE FIELD TO WALK YOUR DOG HAD BEEN CUT AND MADE IT A LOT EASIER TO WALK)

    We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Corner Cottage. We have booked a glazier to re-set the double glazing to the door but unfortunately but tradesmen are so difficult to attend in the current climate so we hope to get it replaced soon. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the many chives growing outside your cottage. We do not use pesticides or weed killers on the gravelled areas at Whitebridge farm as they are detrimental to our thriving bee and butterfly colonies that exist here. That said, we hand remove all weeds at least once a week so apologies if there were a few stray ones we did not get. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JanetSep 2021

  • "Corner Cottage on the whole was fine, generally clean and tidy,and the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms are basic, but functional."

    The main living/kitchen/dining area is compact and the one window, which the owner pointed out as being difficult to open on arrival, would not open at all. It was an extemely hot week (30 degrees most days) so the door to the courtyard was our only option to bring some cool air into the propery's living area. This was manageable, but meant we had to keep our dog on a lead all the time indoors. By the end of the week, the door wouldn't open either, despite our joint efforts and the help of another guest....thankfully a back door enabled us to enter and leave the property. I appreciate the extreme heat must have impacted on this, both by causing the window and door getting stuck and also from the resulting temperature inside. We informed the caretaker and hopefully it will be resolved for future guests. The meadow at the end of the farm is a lovely place to walk dogs and the outside areas are pleasant, but would benefit from being tidied up and weeded.

    Reviewed by FionaJul 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely itself but I think out in the court yard round the cottage area it needs so tlc with the flower pots and weeds."

    Also we couldn't leave our dog in the cottage if we wanted to go somewhere we're couldnt take him that was not in the description when we booked this is important to us to know so maybe say we'll behaved dog but not allowed to be left in cottage on his own.

    Unfortunately, we have had so many instances where guests leave their dogs all day long. They have clearly been distressed and have barked continually. As we have many cottages here, we cannot allow this to happen. We have checked and The RSPCA suggest that is negligent for any dog to be left unattended for more than 4 hours. We will now update our welcome pack to inform guests that 4 hours is the absolute maximum that they can leave their dog/s. However, any damage caused by a distressed dog left alone, will be charged to the guest on departure. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnneJul 2021

  • "I could not find one single fault in the cottage."

    It was such a ‘Home from home’ and we was at comfort straight away. The kitchen had everything you would need. The bathrooms had deep bath’s and powerful showers. The bedrooms cane equipped with comfortable beds, bed linen, storage, towels and extra blankets. The living room was very comfortable, homely and warming. The location of the cottage was great, with lots to see and do within short reach. Overall, we cannot wait to stay again.

    Reviewed by Effie-maeSep 2020

  • "We had a wonderful short break at Corner Cottage."

    Lovely area and great property. Lots of really useful information was left for us and the owners fixed any issues we had promptly. We will definitely be back

    Reviewed by MattAug 2020

  • "Vriendelijke eigenaren, behulpzaam met verse eitjes in huis, de huisjes zaten allemaal vol maar geen overlast, een erg prettig huisje, modern en netjes, heerlijke landelijke omgeving en met een stukje rijden genoeg in de omgeving te doen te zien."

    Heb alleen een paar pannenlappen of ovenwanten gemist, als je iets uit de oven wou halen is dat niet handig met een katoenen theedoek (die verbrandt)

    Reviewed by PetraApr 2019

  • "Temperature of water very hit and miss."

    Several bulbs had fused.Rather a lot of do's and donts . Kitchen lacked basic cleaning products. Would have been nice if the owners had introduced themselves.

    Reviewed by JayneOct 2018

  • "The hot water was not working on our arrival, however the owner came later the same day to fix it."

    (previous people had turned it all off) The toilet seat in the main bedroom would not stay upright. Again the owner arrived on the day we left to change this. The lighting was not very bright, my wife is sight impaired and does need good lighting. I purchased a extra portable light to help. The bedroom with variable table lights where very good. The owner seem very willing to help if you have any problems. Would have liked to see some of the other cottages, however they where all occupied during our stay

    Reviewed by GeoffreySep 2018

  • "I have passed on my comments directly to Whitebridge Farm."

    We were concerned about the extremely hot water and problems we had. We think that the bathroom facilities need upgrading - in the larger bathroom the shower hose has no wall holder and a new toilet lid is needed as it slams down. The bedside lamps in the larger bedroom are too bright (they are as bright as the main light). The extractor fan in the bathroom stays on for a long time after the light is switched off so using the bathroom is difficult at night. When using the mixer tap in the bathroom you can still feel some of the too hot water on part of your hand. A general upgrade of the water and bathroom facilities needed having the boiler in the kitchen causes some heat problems and the kitchen area is cramped. The cottage is well located and easy to find and we enjoyed our stay in the main but have stayed in other accommodation on farms of a higher quality.

    Reviewed by SandraSep 2018

  • "Corner Cottage was very clean and well equiped and for us two couples the two bedroom and two bathroom set up was ideal."

    Car parking was secure and the general layout of the site was very good. We used the cottage as a touring base for the Dorset area. Minor drawback in the unusual summer heat (25+ )was the location of the hot water boiler in the kitchen area which made the cupboards above very hot.

    Reviewed by MichaelJul 2018

  • "The barn conversions were well done and not on top of each other."

    It was a very quiet location. Good area for travelling around. The kitchen could do with more utensils.

    Reviewed by DeniseJun 2018

Show more

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with en-suite bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Washer/dryer
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Shared front lawned area with furniture, charcoal BBQ and children’s play area
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile
  • Note: Interconnecting door between this property and Ref
  • 26856
  • The door will be locked if the properties are not booked together
  • Note: Pets must be kept on a lead at all times when in shared grounds
  • Note: we do not accept the following breeds of dogs: Rottweilers, German Shepherds, Huskies, Staffordshire bull terriers, Dobermans, Boxers, Bullmastiff or Akita.

The property

Shaftesbury 2.5 miles.

A well-presented, single-storey barn conversion, one of nine holiday cottages on site, set in a peaceful, rural location on the borders of Dorset and Wiltshire, one mile from the village of Sedgehill and less than three miles from the hilltop town of Shaftesbury.

Comfortably furnished and well-appointed throughout, this Shaftesbury cottage offers an ideal touring base for small family groups or those wishing to explore this lovely area.

The spacious open plan living area of this Shaftesbury holiday cottage boasts attractive, high-vaulted beamed ceilings, with both bedrooms conveniently offering access to their own bathroom facilities.

This cottage near Shaftesbury overlooks an attractive shared lawned area with seating and gas barbecue, whilst younger members of your group will delight in the children's play area just around the corner.

The area surrounding this Dorset cottage abounds in numerous footpaths and cycleways, whilst a short drive takes in the charming ancient town of Shaftesbury, well known for its association with the memorable Hovis advert, which featured Gold Hill, the steep, cottage-lined cobbled street.

Within an easy drive of this Shaftesbury cottage, the picturesque house and gardens of Stourhead can be found.

Why not visit Longleat Safari Park, or alternatively, take a trip to Stonehenge, majestic Salisbury or regal Bath?

A wonderful Dorset holiday cottage near Shaftesbury, to be enjoyed at any time of the year.

Note: This property is next to Ref. 26856, together they sleep 10.

View on map

About the location

SHAFTESBURY

Salisbury 21 miles; Bath 30 miles.

One of Dorset’s prettiest and most historic towns, Shaftesbury is perched on a spur of rolling green hills, and the views in all directions are without comparison. Lush green meadows, woodland glades and outstanding architecture are all within a short walk. One of the best vantage points is from Gold Hill (Ridley Scott's famous Hovis advert was filmed here) with its quaint, cobbled and very steep street. Visit the ruins of Shaftesbury Abbey (a place of great pilgrimage from the 11th century) or navigate the intricate and ancient lanes. Bath, Salisbury and Sherborne are all under an hour away, or drive through the stunning countryside of Blackmoor Vale down to the coast at Poole, Bournemouth and Weymouth. A beautiful area, that still carries the flavour of the very best of the English countryside.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it