Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Dorset 19 minutes ago

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • Driftwood - Dorset - 994168 - photo 1
close

Driftwood

(Ref. 994168)

Weymouth, Dorset Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (46)
  • lovely (28)
  • weymouth (25)
  • location (23)
  • beach (22)
  • our (21)

74 Customer Reviews

  • "Everything was wonderful only thing we felt could have made it a bit better was a more comfortable sofa ."

    Other than that Everything else was perfect

    Thank you for your review, Natalie. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay at Driftwood. We haven’t had any previous comments on the sofa but will bear yours in mind for future furniture updates. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Natalie4.7Feb 2024

  • "What a gorgeous cottage, full of charm and quirks!"

    Just got back from our first Driftwood stay - we will be booking up again!

    Dear Josie, thank you for the lovely feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay at Driftwood! (Also look forward to you joining our band of returning visitors!) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Josie4.7Oct 2023

  • "This was our 4th stay in Driftwood (which probably says it all)."

    It is a beautiful little cottage ideally situated in the heart of Weymouth a short walk from the beach, the harbour and amenities. The only minor drawback is that by it's nature it has low ceilings so if you are over 6 ft mind your head as you go in! but this said we would highly recommend it and not hesitate to rebook.

    Dear Dawn, thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you had a good holiday, and hope you can visit Driftwood again soon. You are right about the ceilings, and our 6’ 7”son does avoid the top floor! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely quirky cottage really clean and cosy thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    Neighbours very friendly so near to all facilities. Loved it. Will definitely look to book next year

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, Lynda! So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Driftwood and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynda5.0Sep 2023

  • "We loved staying here as it was spotlessly clean when we arrived and so near the beach and shops."

    The only criticism we had was we found both sets of stairs quite challenging as we are both over 70. However we were warned the spiral staircase wasn't suitable for anybody with mobility problems.

    Thank you, Susan, for your lovely review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday, and time at Driftwood! Hopefully, you may come back for another holiday in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely place to stay, comfy and clean, right in the middle of everything."

    2 moans though, no loo roll provided for when we first arrive. I have left ours ready for the next person. Plus not enough purple sacks. When putting our rubbish in the black sack there was an old full milk bottle, melted butter, heaps of maggots from previous guests. Obviously the dustman don’t take rubbish unless in the purple bags. Other than that we have had a great stay, and we will be visiting Weymouth again.

    Hi Diane, thank you for your positive review of Driftwood, and its location. So pleased you had a good stay! I'm so sorry there was no loo roll on your arrival. Our cleaner always leaves one but I think a replacement cleaner had to cover the day you arrived. We always leave 2 purple sacks, and you are right, all rubbish has to be put out in the purple sack. As you will have seen, we ask all guests to do so, in our welcome letter. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane3.8Jul 2023

  • "Lovely little place to stay."

    Beds really comfy. Close to all amenities and beach. Could do with a better chair. Had small problem with ants in the house. Did report it to Dream Cottages. By the time they got back we'd left. Would love to stay again, but not able to book through Dream Cottages.

    Hi Angela, thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry you found ants in the cottage, I think that must have been a 'first', can only assume down to the very hot weather? Glad you found the beds comfy, a very important part of all visitors stays! We hope to see you in another year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela4.1May 2023

  • "Lovely cottage,however very small."

    Close to all amenities and everything you would need is in walking distance.The downside to that is it can be a little noisy,traffic,cars and deliveries etc but also revellers returning from pubs and clubs etc.If youve got a mid sized family car then no problems parking,a large 4x4 might be a struggle

    Hi Richard. Thank you for your feedback, glad you liked Driftwood! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Apr 2023

  • "A comfortable cottage for the three of us."

    Very close to the beach and shops. Great to have a car park space. The cottage was spotless and very cozy. Our son really enjoyed the loft bedroom.

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay, at Driftwood, Cecilia! Glad your son enjoyed the loft bedroom, it does seem to be very popular with children! Guess it's the twisty staircase and the low ceilings that make it feel fun! Thank you for your lovely review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cecilia4.7Apr 2023

  • "We had a wonderful time staying at Driftwood."

    Despite being small, the cottage exuded a warm and cosy atmosphere with its intriguing details and decorations. Its central location was a major plus, as it was in close proximity to everything: the train station, the local high street, the stunning beach, and the old harbour. This made it an ideal location for short walking tours. It was our first time bringing our 8-month-old Maltese with us on a family trip, and to our delight, she thoroughly enjoyed her stay at the cottage. In fact, she was so content that she refused to join us for a trip to the beach! We were extremely pleased with our stay and would highly recommend it to couples and small families.

    Dear Yufei Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay at Driftwood. As you say, it is very well placed for all the best of Weymouth amenities, and, from the nearby station, only a 10 minute train journey to Dorchester with all it has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yufei5.0Mar 2023

  • "The cottage was really cute and had everything we needed."

    It was right in the centre of Weymouth so we found we didn’t use the car once we were there. I’m so glad there was a drive as there wasn’t any free parking around. The owners communication was much appreciated and we were left a wonderful care pack. We had a fabulous time while staying at Driftwood and I would totally recommend this beautiful and convenient little cottage.

    Dear Nadia. Thank you for your lovely review. We’re very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Driftwood and liked your Christmas goodies! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher4.1Dec 2022

  • "The name of this cottage is out of sight, on the side of the porch, which was not at all helpful when I arrived after dark in the pouring rain The front door lock is faulty, sometimes it unlocks , another time I was struggling with it for ages, again in in the dark and pouring rain!"

    It was lovely and warm though, which I was grateful for, and everything else was fine. That door lock needs to be changed though! And why can't the name be over the door? Then you would easily see it even in the dark.

    Reply: Dear Sandra, we're so sorry to hear that you had problems with the front door. This is the first time we have had an issue reported to us, but, fortunately, we are about to get a new lock fitted for new 'compliance' so the problem will not occur again. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and were 'lovely and warm' as your visit coincided with some of the coldest weather Weymouth has seen for many a year! We will certainly review the signage and, if there is space above the front door, add one there too. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra4.1Dec 2022

  • "Cottage was all we required, dog friendly, clean, comfortable and in a superb position for all Weymouth attractions and with off road parking a great bonus so did not need car all week."

    All ready booked for same time next year. Bob, Anita and Barney.

    Hi Bob, Anita (and Barney), so pleased you had a good holiday in Weymouth and enjoyed your stay at Driftwood. Thank you for joining our group of repeat visitors! Alison and Roy Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely old property, however, a few little niggles."

    Disappointed on arrival that the duvet cover and pillow cases weren't ironed, and that 1 had been put on inside out. Bath towels rather tatty, with quite a few long snags hanging off. The pole for the ceiling window in the kitchen could do with a hook to move it to 1 side, so you don't keep banging your head on it when washing up, as it's directly above the sink. It may need to be mentioned to future bookers, that parking is tight, unless you have a small/medium-sized car. Other than that, very centrally located for everything despite being in a residential area.

    Dear Karen, we will certainly look at replacing towels as soon as possible, and definitely for next season, thank you for your reporting. We’re surprised that the ceiling window pole wasn’t hanging on its hook behind the kitchen door, as usual? Our housekeeper always airs the cottage and must have forgotten to hang it back in its hook. Our apologies! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen3.4Sep 2022

  • "The overall ambience of this property is tired and musty."

    Grotty bed linen complete with hairs on sheet and a delightful long strand on the pillow really set the tone! Stairs are precipitous - second floor access would challenge Sir Edmund Hilary! The property is located within a stone's throw of a rowdy pub replete with a charming assortment of patrons bellowing at each other post midnight who then spilled out on to the road with subsequent menacing threats of violence. Neither I or my elderly mother felt safe walking home after dusk: Weymouth as a whole has a distinct seedy under belly. Overall, this accommodation represents poor value. There is little to recommend it!

    Dear Paul, we are so sorry to read your review. Indeed, the stairs ARE steep to the top bedroom but we hope that the online description The second bedroom on the second floor is accessed by a steep spiral staircase, is a warning that it may be unsuitable for some visitors. We are also sorry that you found Weymouth disappointing, but we note that you stayed the week following the Queen's death, and the impact of that undoubtedly affected the whole country and may also have coloured an overall perception of Weymouth, a town which most visitors love. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul1.6Sep 2022

  • "A lovely little place and an ideal base for exploring Weymouth and other parts of Dorset."

    Hi Cairon, thank you for the lovely feedback, so glad you had a good holiday and enjoyed your stay at Driftwood! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cairon5.0Jul 2022

  • "Lovely cottage ideal location had a fab time"

    Thanks, Allan, so pleased you had a good holiday, and liked Driftwood. Hope to see you again, maybe?! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Allan4.4Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage near centre & beach 10 mins walk, twin room steep and narrow stairs, low doorways so watch your heads, but very comfy, well pleased."

    Dear Raymond, thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Driftwood! We do warn visitors about the low ceilings, and steep staircase, all part of the cottage's character, as they say!! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Raymond4.1Jun 2022

  • "I'd suggest that there should be a second set of keys and the small seat by the door is rather uncomfortable after a while as the padding is now rather thin."

    BUT, apart from that, it was a lovely little cottage to stay in with a great location.

    Dear Nigel, thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Driftwood, and it's location (less than 10 minutes from the beach and Town Centre!) is a huge bonus! Thank you also for the feedback: the chair you mention is due for replacement this year, and we do recommend that visitors use the key safe if they are going out separately. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel4.1Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cosy cottage in a great position."

    The shower was particularly good and easy to use. Bed was very comfortable. Couple of very small things. Need a new key safe as we had trouble closing it and had to phone the office. It was ok when we left but will seize up again. Couldn't work out how to turn on heating. I know it seems simple but followed instructions and nothing happened. Probably just us being stupid but maybe a small adjustment on instructions? Only needed it on one night so not a problem for us. But this cottage is highly recommended especially for one or two people, or a couple with one or two small children.

    Dear David, thank you for your lovely review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Driftwood! We're sorry you had an issue with the key safe, I know from experience at other holiday homes we have visited that they can be fiddly to operate! We asked Dream Cottages to investigate and they said some WD40 did the trick (wonderful stuff!) and it is working fine now. The central heating problem is a surprise, I don’t believe we have had any issues before, but, of course we will check our instructions are appropriate. Thank you again for your recommendation. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7Jun 2022

  • "Great cottage in a great location."

    I’m sure we’ll be back!

    Hi Rhian, thank you for your review and feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Driftwood and to hear that you may return. We always welcome repeat visitors! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rhian5.0May 2022

  • "The property was in a good location convenient for everything in Weymouth."

    The parking was brilliant as I have only a small car. The cottage was interesting and though small was idea for my needs.The doorways may well be challenging for tall people. The biscuits, tea,coffee and sugar were most welcome on arrival but perhaps you could consider a few pods of milk . I had a great visit and was very fortunate with the weather.

    Thank you for your lovely review, Mary. We are pleased that you had a good holiday and enjoyed your stay at Driftwood. We make sure that the information on the website truly reflects our cottage. I'm sorry about the lack of milk, it should have been left for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary3.8Mar 2022

  • "It’s a tiny cottage, but that’s what we were expecting from reading about it on the Sykes listing."

    Some of the reviews in the visitors’ book about it being very small are just daft! It was quirky, which we love, clean, comfy, and close to everything Weymouth has to offer. Thank you Alison and Roy for being so communicative and for a lovely stay. Simon, Victoria & George.

    Thank you, Simon and Victoria (and George, your dog, of course!), so pleased you had a good time! It was a pleasure liaising with you from start to finish, we are always happy to make recommendations as we love Weymouth! Hope you come back to Driftwood in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Feb 2022

  • "What a lovely cottage!"

    We had a very comfortable stay here. All facilities were as described.The cottage was very clean.The double bed in the first bedroom was so comfortable.Ideally located in Weymouth with it's very own parking space.I would definitely recommend Driftwood and will be booking up again- Thank you!

    Thank you, Lisa. So glad you had a good stay. We look forward to your return! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Nov 2021

  • "Very cosy little cottage, fantastic location close to the seafront, town centre and harbour."

    Dog friendly beach nearby. Big plus was parking. Only negative was the key safe which was very difficult to open.

    Thank you, Jim. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the Key Safe, I know they can be awkward! We have checked, and it is working properly, but fiddly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jim3.8Nov 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    The property was clean and comfortable.Good location. We saw the lady who looks after the property and she was helpful and welcoming.

    We’re very glad you enjoyed your stay, Tracey! Thank you for your lovely comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Oct 2021

  • "Driftwood is a cosy little cottage in a great location near to shops, pubs, restaurants etc."

    To be able to load / unload and park on the front of the property is a real bonus... and the parking space was more generous than I had anticipated. Nice welcome pack on arrival was much appreciated... and it even included a pack of Treats for the dog.

    Parking in Weymouth can be tricky, so glad you found ours useful! Thanks for the lovely feedback, Alan. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan4.4Oct 2021

  • "Broken plugs in bath and bathroom sinks, poor hygiene, cottage below standard ..."

    Broken plugs in bath and bathroom sinks, poor hygiene, cottage below standard for cleanliness Stained sheets on bed, hairs on quilt cover andin the bath, stained and grey tea towel, stains on carpet, lacking a good clean throughout, very tired and everything worn out owners informed and acted on once we had left, spoilt our fond memories of this cottage,

    We were very concerned when you first contacted us, Kristina, and we wanted our cleaner to return and to get a plumber in for the broken plug. However, we understood when you replied that you didn't want the plumber, or the cleaner, to bother you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kristina2.2Oct 2021

  • "Lovely cottage that was comfortable and well equipped."

    Only a 5-10 minute walk to the beach, shops and harbour. Wish we'd come here when our kids were young as they'd have loved the upstairs bedroom. Weymouth itself is a lovely town and we will almost certainly visit again. If we do, we will definitely book this cottage.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Sep 2021

  • "Good value cottage in the centre of Weymouth."

    Small but comfortable and only a couple of minutes onto the beach or shops. Some noise from the pubs, but a great base to explore from.

    Reviewed by Roger4.1Aug 2021

  • "This holiday cottage is beautiful and very close to the beach ."

    We loved our week's stay and would loved to of stayed longer .Close by are two locals too one called the dolphin very friendly. The beds were so comfortable in the cottage too. Also parking outside the property which is such amazing. We would definitely stop again.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Aug 2021

  • "This was our second time at Driftwood which speaks for itself."

    It is a beautiful little cottage perfectly situated in the heart of Weymouth and so gives easy access to the sea front and harbour areas with all it's restaurants, bars and other entertainments. It is easy to find by car (the directions provided were clear and easy to follow) or just a few minutes walk from the railway station. We would certainly consider re-booking if we holiday in Weymouth again.

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Jul 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, everything you needed and a great central location"

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jul 2021

  • "Very well placed to walk to the beach, to the town or to Radipole nature reserve."

    Reviewed by Megan3.8May 2021

  • "Great communication with the owners prior to the visit, the place was spotless on arrival and all information was fantastic, everything you needed in the property was bob on, if the weather would have been as good as the cottage it would have been perfect."

    Thanks again to the owners and the cleaning team for everything they did.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0May 2021

  • "Nice little cottage very conveniently located: very close to the beach, the railway station (3 minutes walk each) and town centre shops etc."

    Also only a short pleasant walk from the harbour and Town Bridge and on to the Nothe Fort and Gardens.

    Reviewed by Alan4.4May 2021

  • "Convenient location."

    A bit small for me as I am tall but soon got used to stooping. Comfortable and well appointed.

    Reviewed by Helen4.7May 2021

  • "Lovely house, clean and well kept."

    Very comfortable. Perfect for our week away.

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Apr 2021

  • "We had a really lovely week in Driftwood."

    Great location, very quiet despite its proximity to the sea front, well-equipped and a wonderful, characterful building. The mattresses all felt new and were really, really comfortable. Highly recommended!

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Apr 2021

  • "Very good central location and also quiet"

    Reviewed by Megan4.1Oct 2020

  • "Lovely cottage, close to all amenities."

    Parking would be difficult if you have a large car .

    Reviewed by Kay4.4Oct 2020

  • "We had a lovely time the accommodation was clean and had everything you needed a little small but there was only two of us so fine ."

    The tv could do with up dating we only had around 5 channels no very good on a evening

    Reviewed by Paul4.1Sep 2020

  • "Lovely little cottage in a brilliant location, only 2 streets from the beach but ..."

    Lovely little cottage in a brilliant location, only 2 streets from the beach but it was a quiet location, comfortable bed and the kitchen was well equipped

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Sep 2020

  • "Good location, good directions to find it, homely cottage, well equipped and beautifully presented."

    We have just booked again for next year.

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Sep 2020

  • "A quaint home from home."

    Everything you need. Spotlessly clean on arrival. After working in icu for the last few months it was exactly what I needed to re charge my batteries. Location is fantastic walking distance to everything in weymouth. And a drive out to explore this beautiful county. Lovely to come back at the end of they day and chill out in the cottage. Kitchen was modern and more than adequate for our needs Beds were comfortable My daughter loved her room at the top. I can only say thank you so much for an amazing week I was genuinely sad to leave. If I have enough pennies I will be back in a heartbeat.

    Reviewed by Nia5.0Aug 2020

  • "With all the issues surrounding Covid 19, the owners of Driftwood had followed government guidelines and the property was clean and safe for our visit."

    We felt very comfortable with all the safety procedures that were in place. It was as always a perfect place to stay! We were able to enjoy going out, as most places had adapted to Covid, using track and trace. In particular the Kiki Beach (formerly The Lazy Lizard) was a great place to go, they are a “taps and tapas” bar offering really tasty tapas, seafood, meat, vegetarian and assorted (a full menu is to follow soon) an of course great cocktails. Worth a visit. Weymouth has adapted very well to the Covid pandemic.

    Reviewed by Louisa5.0Aug 2020

  • "Driftwood is a comfortable well equipped cottage within a very short walk of the beach at Weymouth."

    It has off street parking for one car and is a ideal base for exploring Dorset and the New Forest. Highly recommended!

    Reviewed by David5.0Jul 2020

  • "Driftwood is a beautiful quaint cottage, it is perfectly situated."

    We have been to driftwood 5 times now and seen the improvements, new kitchen and new bathroom. It has always been clean and tidy, towels, bedding replenished (if staying longer than a week), milk and tea are a nice extra touch especially when gasping for a cuppa on arrival. My husband and I now call Driftwood “Our home from home” as it suits us perfectly, In fact we will be returning in August !

    Reviewed by Louisa5.0Feb 2020

  • "Cottage was in great location & bonus being carparking space."

    Bed was really comfy & very good kitchen facilities....but thats where the good points stop. First impression of cottage was very disappointing. Holes in net curtains dosent give a good impression. On entry the smell of damp really hits you. Compact lounge which is no problem at all but the cleanliness was really disappointing. Tables really tacky to touch bannister was tacky and filthy. Lightswitches were filthy too. Behind tv was so dusty as were windowledges. Our dogs toy went under the couch & what was under there when we pulled it out was disgusting. Kitchen was really good & well equipped but really disappointed to find no milk in fridge or anything else apart from a few coffee pouches & a packet of shortbread that looked like they had been pulled out of the bin & virtually out of date!! The last person to review Driftwood thanked the owners for welcome pack including wine!! Dosent make sense to us! Bedroom was fine with very comfy bed. Bathroom was a nightmare. Tpilet too close to sink & to have a wash was very difficult. The bath was really dirty so that put us off immediately. Its a shame this cottage didnt come up to scratch for us as we were so looking forward to a relaxing week in a comfy place. Weymouth itself was great & the king balti Indian takeaway on corner is superb. We had a fab time in Weymouth but will not be returning to Driftwood.

    Dear Mrs Redman, We appreciate your feedback, warts and all, as autumn/winter are the months we give Driftwood it's big facelift for the following year. As you will see from our previous visitor's review (she is a very regular guest whom we welcome back with a bottle of wine, as with all our repeat visitors), following this year's new kitchen, a new bathroom is already planned for Spring (we are fully aware that the bath looks worn, rather than dirty). The cottage will be redecorated as required throughout and new nets of course. In an ideal world we would be improving the cottage constantly but, we're pleased to say, we have had a very busy year and it would not have been possible. We can't understand the 'damp smell' but will check further, of course. Regarding your comments on cleanliness, our housekeeper will be disappointed to hear them as she has very high standards and we get many compliments on her work. I have checked with her and she assures me that there were some milk 'pots' left with the welcome refreshments and dog treats. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jayne2.2Oct 2019

  • "Driftwood is a perfect home from home."

    Love the new kitchen and looking forward to seeing the new bathroom next visit. Driftwood is ideally situated, close to beach and town.The owners Alison and Roy are extremely thoughtful providing the little extras such as milk, tea coffee etc is great. The little extra gifts, wine, biscuits and even dog treats is very nice. They provide a cleaning service if you require and clean bedding and towels which is also great. I feel it is better suited for couples and a dog, or just couples alone due to the steep stairs. Nothing could put us off as it really suited my husband and I although we were a little sad not to be able to bring our dog Trigger as he passed away a week before our holiday. Overall Driftwood gets a 10 out of 10.

    Reviewed by Louisa5.0Sep 2019

  • "We had fabulous time away in drift wood"

    Reviewed by Elaine4.7Aug 2019

  • "We had a lovely week at Driftwood."

    The cottage is on the small side as described in listing but has all the facilities that you need. Our family consisted of 2 adults & 2 teenagers, the cottage was big enough for us all. The owners were very helpful & great with communication regarding our stay. The location was great with easy access to all areas of Weymouth, in particular the beach which is literally a 2 minute walk away.

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Aug 2019

  • "Only thing we didn't like was the outlay of the bathroom."

    Sink far to close to the toilet. Kitchen had everything needed, extra plus was the washing machine. Beach 3min away so was the shops. Will be going back to Weymouth ❤

    Reviewed by Adrian4.1Jul 2019

  • "Car parking very difficult to manoeuvre in and out."

    No proper garden at the property,..centrally located but not a particularly good area.

    Reviewed by S3.4Jun 2019

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Driftwood."

    The cottage is really cosy with lots of charm and it is a huge advantage in central Weymouth having an allocated car parking space. The location is ideal - not too noisy but just a couple of minutes stroll to the seafront. We would definitely visit again.

    Reviewed by Erin4.4May 2019

  • "Brilliant will definitely be coming back was really good loved it"

    Reviewed by Martyn5.0Apr 2019

  • "Lovely accommodation, quant old stone terraced cottage with all modern facilities."

    Warm and cosy and made you feel relaxed. Parking to front of house, 5 minutes walk to beach sea front. Shops, take aways and pubs within metres of house but quite enough down side street. Very enjoyable stay. Would certainly recommend. Only one down side is there isn't a back garden or secure area to frontage to let your dog out to do their business, 5 minutes walk around the block resolved that!

    Reviewed by Phil4.7Mar 2019

  • "This cottage was on the small side, but for two adults was ok."

    Thought this cottage in rather a rough area, a lot of noise at night from neighbours, an Indian restaurant on corner, smells not very good. A lot of dog mess around the area. Would not use this cottage again. Everything looked perfect on photographs, but quit a shock when we saw the cottage, definitely not suitable for four adults.

    We were disappointed to read your review of your Driftwood stay as our visitors' enjoyment of their holiday is very important to us. We hope that you had still a good time out and about in Weymouth and that the weather was kind to you. We are sorry that some areas of the property and area did not meet your expectations, many guests enjoy the fact that there are pubs etc nearby, and that the sea front is also only a few minutes away. We endeavour to ensure that we market the property as accurately as possible and we do highlight that it is a small property. We hope that you will return to Dorset to enjoy the many delights that it has to offer and I am sure that Dream Cottages would help you find a property that would suit your requirements. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan3.4Mar 2019

  • "Difficult to park very small parking area no good if you have a big car."

    Although the property was very clean there was a strong unpleasant smell, not a dog smell, possibly damp. On the plus side it is in a very good location to explore Weymouth town and harbour etc. and the bed was very comfortable.

    Reviewed by Melanie3.8Mar 2019

  • "It was our first time being away for Christmas and the simple touches such as tinsel and baubles and the gifts (even one for our dog) that were left there for us was a very nice surprise."

    We have been to Driftwood 3 times now and feel that it is our home from home. Look forward to coming again in 2019.

    Reviewed by Louisa5.0Dec 2018

  • "Like home from home."

    Lots of added extras. Quality and comfortable bedding. Perfect location. Lot of thought has gone into the holiday home - stayed June 2018

    Mr Phillip OsborneJun 2018

  • "Great location and lovely cottage."

    We felt welcome and relaxed from the moment we walked in. Thanks for the Easter egg. Strongly recommend the Galleon for a carvery. Stayed April 2018

    Ms Sue PennyApr 2018

  • "Ideal cottage at the heart of Weymouth."

    It's small, but is packed with all the essentials that you need for a holiday. I would book this property again if going to this area. Stayed March 2018

    Mr Brian MillingtonMar 2018

  • "Great location, parking was a bonus."

    Mrs LesterNov 2017

  • "Very convenient to the town centre and sea front, so ideal location - stayed August 2017"

    Mrs Jean SmithAug 2017

  • "Had lovely week, weather fab - stayed August 2016"

    Miss WhitehouseSep 2016

  • "Very nice house, clean and tidy and close to the beach."

    Could not believe how dog friendly Weymouth is.The locals are also very friendly as well. We will be booking again for next year soon.Thank you for a holiday to remember. Stayed July 2016

    Mr David BealeAug 2016

  • "We have been really happy in this proper cottage!"

    It adequately met our needs and was extremely handy for all the shops and takeaways. Some of the town was in January hibernation but we found plenty to occupy us. Unfortunatley our stay coincided with with the only cold week of the winter thus far, so necessitating inour having to use the central heating a lot more! Thank you to the owners & Agents. Stayed January 2016

    Mr Paul DanielsJan 2016

  • "I (Panda) the dog enjoyed the coastal walks and chasing the squirells around Nothe Fort."

    The cottage was fantastic, will definately come back to Weymouth. Mrs Roberts Stayed November 2014

    Mrs RobertsNov 2015

  • "Yet another lovely holiday at Driftwood."

    weather could have been better, but plenty of things to do when weather is not so good. Driftwood as always, lovely. The Prices, Stayed October 2015

    Mrs PriceNov 2015

  • "Have had another great stay in Driftwood, a truly dream holiday cottage."

    God bless this house and may all who stay within its walls have an enjoyable holiday. It really does provide everything you need for a happy holiday. Medland family stayed June 2014.

    Mr MedlandNov 2015

  • "This is our second stay in the this delightful cottage, small but perfectly formed , every need catered for."

    Thank you once again, we will be back, Katrina & Derek Fisher. Stayed September 2015

    Mrs FisherNov 2015

  • "'Driftwood' is extremely well located and equipped with everything one might need."

    We were very lucky with the weather so could enjoy Weymouth's splendid beaches etc. Nothe Fort was worth the visit and very interesting with amazing views. We would recommend the Bluefish Café in Portland but may need to book. The mussels were amazing! The best fish and chips in Weymouth was “Seagulls”!!! The cottage is in walking distance to everywhere like the 3 minute walk to the beach. The Galiver family stayed June 2014.

    Mrs GaliverNov 2015

  • "We had an amazing holiday in Weymouth, Driftwood is a lovely cottage with everything you need."

    Ideally located, close to beach and all amenities. Had a lovely holiday there. Thankyou

    Mrs EllisAug 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • On the ground floor is kitchen, sitting room with dining area
  • First floor 1 x double
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Steep stairs lead to second floor and 1 x twin bedroom.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, microwave, fridge, washing machine, Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for one car at front of house
  • One small well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 mins walk
  • Note: One well-behaved dog welcome at a charge of £21/week
  • Note: This property has a good housekeeping bond of £100

The property

A Grade II listed cosy cottage tucked away in a small terrace, traditionally built in 1835, and full of character and charm.

It is ideally situated, just a few moments' walk from Weymouth's golden sandy beach. Featuring a compact kitchen which has all the items you need for preparing meals, you are then able to relax in the sitting room.

The bathroom and master bedroom are situated on the first floor with the second twin bedroom on the second floor, accessed via a steep spiral staircase, this staircase may make the twin bedroom less suitable for children under the age of 3 or visitors with limited mobility. A short walk to the lively level esplanade where you can enjoy sitting in the seafront cafes and bars.

Guests with dogs, will find plenty of areas of Weymouth beach that welcome dogs all year round and there are many other dog friendly beaches locally.

Or why not stroll by the Marina to Weymouth harbour and take a boat trip exploring the Jurassic coast.

In the opposite direction you are moments away from the RSPB Radipole lake nature reserve and Swannery.

Further afield why not take a drive or the train and explore the historic market town of Dorchester.

Driftwood is great for a small family and makes an ideal base to explore Weymouth and beyond.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

WEYMOUTH

Dorchester 7 miles; Bridport 17 miles.

The popular resort of Weymouth makes an outstanding year-round holiday destination, with a wide variety of attractions on offer, appealing to all tastes and ages. The glorious golden sandy beaches have excellent facilities for all kinds of watersports, whilst from the picturesque, bustling harbour you can take regular fishing trips. A short drive takes you to Portland Harbour, and the rugged “Isle” of Portland, linked to Weymouth by the dramatic Chesil Beach. Visit Dorchester, Thomas Hardy’s “Casterbridge”, only 7 miles away, or take a journey along the scenic coastal road and call in at Abbotsbury Swannery and Subtropical Gardens. Alternatively, just head down to West Bay - the views of the stunning Dorset Heritage Coastline are not to be missed!

View more holiday cottages in Weymouth

Note: Non-smokers only.
Note: Four adults may find this cottage too small, top bedroom has low ceilings.
Note: Bedroom 2 may not be suitable for someone with limited mobility or children under 3 due to steep stairs.
Note: Property only suitable for 1 small dog.
Note: There is no rear garden at this property however there is a picnic table and bench at the front which takes full advantage of the sun.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas