Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Scottish Highlands 36 minutes ago

1 of 26 View Larger Image
  • 6 Aonachan Gardens - Scottish Highlands - 996697 - photo 1
close

9 people have recently viewed this property

6 Aonachan Gardens

Spean Bridge near Fort William, Fort William, Isle of Skye & The Western Isles (Ref. 996697)

4.9

(32 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

32 Customer Reviews

  • "Clean modernised property in a good location for the central Highlands."

    Everything as per information on the web site plus a welcome bottle of wine and shortbread plus milk.

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2022

  • "Our 2nd stay at 6 Aonachon Gardens."

    Lovely house in a nice village. Great base for daily trips into the mountains and lochs. Very clean and well equipped. Excellent communication with owner. No issues at all. We would definitely recommend.

    Thanks very much for your great feedback and lovely meeting you., hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AdamMay 2022

  • "Lovely warm, comfortable and well-equipped house."

    Spotlessly clean. A really great base for the hills. Easy parking for 2 cards and outside space with modern table and chairs which unfortunately we couldn't use because the weather was so awful but it didn't matter too much because house was nice to stay in.

    Thanks very much for your feedback, glad you had a great time despite the weather. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ValerieMay 2022

  • "Excellent property"

    Thanks very much for your feedback and glad you had a great holiday Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlanApr 2022

  • "The house was so cosy and warm."

    The gifts of biscuits, wine and milk was very much appreciated. The king size bed was so cosy and comfortable, the best we have ever slept in on holiday.

    Thanks very much for your feedback and glad you had a great holiday. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlisonFeb 2022

  • "Really lovely place to arrive."

    We’ll compare all future rentals to this one with regards to cleanliness and convenience! The garden and back yard were well taken care of and perfect for the dog and our little one. Loved the master bedroom, a relaxing space and the towels and the products such as dishsoap and handwash made life easier. Very good location for visiting Nevis Range. Thank you

    Thanks very much for your lovely feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by BethanFeb 2022

  • "Pretty much as expected."

    Clear instructions on how to get there and check in. Property as described and had everything needed. Clean. The only exception if there is anything to mention, is perhaps some animal hair on one of the bed sheets. Washed but likely before might have stayed there someone with a pet. Will book again if next year, hopefully more snow :)

    Reviewed by AlexandruJan 2022

  • "An extremely clean ,warm and comfy cottage with everything you needed."

    Very helpful owners too.

    Thanks for your feedback and glad you enjoyed the cottage and your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichaelNov 2021

  • "The cottage was excellent."

    Maintained to a high standard in both decoration and furnishing with everything one needs. Like a home from home.

    Reviewed by RossSep 2021

  • "We had a very nice time at the cottage (spean bridge)."

    The cottage out down our expectations, really well equipped and cosy. The owner of the cottage was very thoughtful, hoping everything was ok. Will hopefully return. Many thanks for our wonderful holiday. Mike and Sheila Strange

    Reviewed by MichaelSep 2021

  • "The cottage was exceptionally high standard very clean and very well appointed and a perfect base for Ben Nevis being only 7 miles away."

    . Due to the pandemic nothing really around cottage open for drinks or dinner, but we had a nice afternoon tea in the Wollen mill. Susan the owner checked in a few times to ensure everything was ok and if we needed any information or recommendations for anything. Would highly recommend this cottage and would visit again in the future.

    Reviewed by JacquelineSep 2021

  • "The house was perfect in every way we had nothing to provide even down to washing up liquid and bin liners perfectly clean in every way even was given a bottle of wine the owner was so helpful would defo recommend this house to everyone great location to everywhere we wanted to go good amenities in village ."

    .......... one bad thing about spean bridge no petrol station other than that perfect house and good weather perfect location just one tiny thing those that have motorbikes need a flat stone to stop bikes falling over on gravel drive way,

    Reviewed by IanJun 2021

  • "Lovely seating area in the rear garden."

    Owner kept us up to date with places and times of places to eat. Even offering to send someone round to work the heating system as it was colder than expected that week. Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. The holiday accommodation was comfortable and clean. Would stay there again if we are going to be in Scotland again in that area.

    Reviewed by WilliamJun 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in the village of Spean Bridge."

    A great base for exploring the Highlands and Nevis range. The cottage was immaculate and modern. Well equipped kitchen and use of the locked shed and dry room for bikes and wet stuff was great for us. Good space for bbqing out the back and nice garden at the front. Had such a good week.

    Reviewed by AdamJun 2021

  • "I recommend Aonachan gardens because it is placed in a nice quiet place outside Fort William and very close to a lot of places that are worth seeing like Ben Nevis."

    The cottage is spacious and comfortable and the owners have thought of everything that you need. Not like home but outside the cottage window as the views of the mountains in the distance. we definitely would stay in this cottage again in the future.

    Reviewed by AndrewMay 2021

  • "Property really good on the whole."

    Bedroom sizeable and bed comfortable, bathroom great (nice to have choice of bath or shower). Kitchen a good size and well supplied. Spean Bridge was a great location with both easy and more demanding walks nearby. Property was spotlessly clean and everything had been thought of and provided. For the future, maybe a small DVD player for wet days (we knew there wouldn’t be one so plugged our own in which was fine.) Our only slightly negative thought was that lounge/ diner would be cramped and impractical if there were 6 people using it. Upstairs space would be fine for 6. Owners were helpful, friendly and accommodating. Lovely welcome gift, thank you.

    I would just like to say that when I have more than four guests I move out the dining table so guests can sit comfortably at the table, when there are only up to four guests I push the table backwards but it can easily be moved. The property does not have a DVD player. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our property and hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JonathanMay 2021

  • "Peaceful location looking out towards the Mountains."

    cottage was really well equipped. and very comfortable, spacious, clean, and homely space to park car off the road . Nice enclosed garden for the dog

    Reviewed by ElaineOct 2020

  • "We booked a week before we were due to go on holiday so didn’t Know what to expect of the accommodation, we absolutely loved it."

    The house is finished to a high standard, the beds were incredibly comfortable and it was just so cosy. Just what we needed in a damp October. Would definitely recommend and hope to stay again. The kitchen is very well stocked with all kinds of crockery and utensils. 10 minute drive from Fort William and some absolutely stunning scenery which ever way you drove.

    Reviewed by KellyOct 2020

  • "We thought the house was well equipped and comfortable and was convenientlylocatedfordays out."

    The Old Station pub and restaurant were very friendly and the meals good, well recommended and dog friendly. Our only suggestion would be to provide some wet gear coat hooks and drip tray to avoid drips onto the laminate floors . The alcove in the kitchen could easily be amended to do this.

    Reviewed by AndyOct 2020

  • "Lovely clean well equipped cottage in excellent location."

    Superb setting to use as base for exploring the Highlands. We had a fantastic week of walking and swimming. We highly recommend this cottage, the owners have provided a perfect holiday home. WiFi was an additional bonus. There is nothing I could suggest as improvement as it was just perfect. Thank you.

    Reviewed by VickiSep 2020

  • "Clean comfortable house, lovely bottle of wine and tin of shortbread on arrival."

    Reviewed by SarahSep 2020

  • "Great house one of the best we have stayed in only thing missing was dvd player"

    Reviewed by StephenSep 2020

  • "Very clean and comfortable accommodation."

    Well equipped kitchen with virtually everything needed to cater for large hungry family. Washing machine was a bonus as meant outdoor activity clothes were washed. We were lucky as weather was fantastic so could dry washing on the clothes line. Although airer provided drying would have been difficult. Dish washer would have been nice but not essential. Nice extra touches including foil, cling film, Tupperware boxes, salt, pepper and cooking oil provided by owners helped make things easier as these are the things you only need a little of but either need to take it with you or buy and waste. We travelled by train to our holiday and used public transport as well as car while there. The cottage off road parking for 2 cars to rear which is helpful as front of property is on busy main road. Despite this traffic noise was not an issue. Local Bridge cafe does take out pizzas and fish suppers. Until 7pm. Local Spar was well stocked and not too expensive. The local restaurants were booked up so would recommend booking well in advance if you want to eat out in the village. Property is well placed for exploring area and I would consider booking again if planning trip to Spean bridge area again.

    Reviewed by HeatherAug 2020

  • "The house was immaculate in all aspects of cleanliness, the comfort and equipment levels were fantastic and very thoughtful touches provides by the owners made this stay the best Sykes accommodation that I have booked ( and I have booked a few now)."

    others considering this house will not be disappointed. The location of this property is very convenient for Ben Nevis , Fort William, Inverness and Isle of Skye. Spean Bridge is very nice village to stop in too.

    Reviewed by RosemaryOct 2019

  • "We planned to be without a car for 3 days and chose this cottage because of the excellent rail and bus provision, which worked perfectly."

    Reviewed by IanSep 2019

  • "The house was really nice - very newly refurbished and comfortable."

    Very convenient being so close to the shops.

    Reviewed by TaviSep 2019

  • "Everything at this property was excellent."

    Spotlessly clean and wonderfully comfortable. Fantastic location central to all outdoor activities in the area. Superb bathroom. Luxurious beds. Easy parking and pretty garden. A lovely home from home to come back to after a day in the mountains. Nice welcome treats on arrival. A credit to the owners who take pride and care in making this holiday home a real gem. Can’t recommend highly enough. We will certainly choose this place again for our next visit.

    Reviewed by StevenJul 2019

  • "We had a fantastic holiday, very welcoming and comfortable home in a very beautiful part of the world."

    Very friendly and helpful host/ owner. Lovely stay. Thank you.

    Reviewed by FelicityJun 2019

  • "WOW. Our holiday home was fantastic."

    The home was lovely. A wee gem in the Highlands. There was so many little additions that made things complete. The kitchen has everything including salt pepper. Cling film tinfoil. All cleaning products provided, washing powder for the washing machine. Along with all the usual plates cutlery glasses. Toilet paper provided. A torch in all the bedside cabinets. Maps of the area's you might want to visit. Loads of books and games. The home itself is very comfortable and finished to a high standard. Both my wife and myself were very impressed. So impressed we are going to book a week next year. The location is ideally situated if you want a spring board to visit the Highlands or just explore the local area. We had a great holiday which the home helped to complete. We will be back. I could rabbit on about the place needless to say I was totally impressed.

    Reviewed by JohnJun 2019

  • "The cottage had everything you wanted and needed and more."

    For instance if you wanted to make a picnic there were plastic boxes, cling film and tin foil already to be used. I normally pack a box with all the bits that normally are not there in a holiday home otherwise I’m in a supermarket for bits a couple of times during a week. This time everything was there, so thanks that made life much easier. The cottage was cosy and warm to return on an evening in a week with not a lot of good weather. There is plenty of room for an adult group or a family and enough places to sit. That’s a bug bear of mine you can have a house that sleeps six but only four or five at dining table or in lounge sometimes which is no good when we have adult children and grandkids in tow. This house is great, very clean and modern. The location in Spean bridge means you can bob around a good bit touring different places but have a good base to return to each night. All in excellent, thank you.

    Reviewed by JanetJun 2019

  • "We have had a great weeks holiday at this lovely house, very well equipped with everything we needed and spotlessly clean throughout."

    Special thanks for the little touches left for us on arrival which made us feel very welcome indeed. Recommended 100%

    Reviewed by TimMay 2019

  • "Excellent renovated house and nice to have decent new furniture to sit on and sleep!"

    Deserves full stars even without a dish washer!

    Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RaymondMay 2019

Show more

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground floor double, 1 x first floor double and 1 x first floor twin
  • Bathroom with bath and walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/diner.
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge, freezer, washing machine
  • TV with freeview and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Enclosed lawned garden and gravel area with furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets are welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop, pub and restaurant 0.1 miles
  • Note: Though mostly enclosed, the garden has steps leading out to the main road and therefore we advise children and pets to be supervised at all times
  • Note: The upstairs bathroom is not suitable for the disabled
  • Please note: electric car charging is not permitted at this property

The property

Fort William 9.2 miles.

6 Aonachan Gardens is a lovely 1950s semi-detached cottage based in Spean Bridge, in the Scottish Highlands, a short drive away from the thriving town of Fort William.

Internally, the property has been modernised to a...

View on map

About the location

SPEAN BRIDGE

Fort William 9.5 miles; Inverness 56 miles.

The village of Spean Bridge is set in the parish of Kilmonivaig in the beautiful Scottish Highlands. Spean Bridge earned its name from the Highbridge over the River Spean and the village today is a lovely holiday base, with transport links heading north to Inverness and south towards Fort William. The main town in the Western Highlands, Fort William lies on the banks of Loch Linnhe, and offers a wide variety of shops and pubs which serve a fine selection of meals.

Please note: electric car charging is not permitted at this property.