Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 41 View Image Gallery
  • The Maltings - Isle of Wight & Hampshire - 14477 - photo 1

The Maltings

(Ref. 14477)

Freshwater, Isle of Wight Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (13)
  • our (13)
  • lovely (13)
  • stay (11)
  • clean (10)
  • well (10)

37 Customer Reviews

  • "Half glazed door to the en suite which meant that we could not use that bedroom as the light in the night would be too disturbing."

    The kitchen sink tap was a "shower head" type which did not adjust to a narrow flow so it was hard to fill the kettle, glasses and water bottles. The kitchen was cluttered with jars of old tea bags, sugar etc, there were too many bowls and no small plates. The shower tray seemed grubby and there were cobwebs.

    Reviewed by Kevin2.5Sep 2023

  • "Property is beautifully furnished and decorated with a good sized kitchen with plenty of equipment and utensils."

    The owner is friendly and the small issue we had with the lock was sorted straight away. It was clean and welcoming and the location is quiet and peaceful. I would recommend this property for a family holiday

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely house in a great location"

    Reviewed by Helen4.1Jul 2023

  • "The cottage was very clean and tidy comfortable well equipped had everything we needed."

    It was in a nice quiet location not far from amenities. We did have a bit of a problem with the back door lock but otherwise we'll maintained.had off street parking for 2 cars which was very handy

    Reviewed by Gary4.7Jul 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay, the description was quite accurate as it was comfortable but not luxury hence the rental rate."

    However luxury or not a functional dishwasher is essential or just don't have one.

    Reviewed by Ivor4.1Mar 2023

  • "A very comfortable property and well equipped."

    Perfectly located for visiting Freshwater. The kitchen curtains were non-functional and need to be sorted out.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Mar 2023

  • "We had a warm welcome from the owner and thoroughly enjoyed our stay (our second at this cottage)."

    The Maltings is a comfortable, clean, warm and spacious cottage which has good quality comfortable beds, a particularly well equipped kitchen and easy private parking. Its proximity to local bus routes, established walking routes, two good cafes and a well stocked village shop serves our needs well and the beautiful bay is within a five minute walk. We would be very happy to stay here again.

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Mar 2023

  • "A lovely location and a comfortable holiday let and was well equipped for self catering."

    Lots of information left by the owner. Was in need of some tlc but that was reflected fairly in the price. The oven was a bit confusing as it was missing temperature and the grill button didn't work the grill, the oven button did. I would recommend and I would stay again.

    Reviewed by Zenda4.1Sep 2022

  • "We found the cleanliness of the property poor , did not want to use the kitchen old baking tins in draws filthy ."

    Other cooking until found amongst old clutter which needed thoroughly cleaning before use . Dishwasher not working properly ,had to wash everything by hand . Broken sun umbrella standing in a rotten base . Most importantly no smoke alarm downstairs or carbon monoxide alarm . This property was not up to Sykes normal standard as we have used Sykes on several occasions .

    Reviewed by Sandra1.6Sep 2022

  • "This year was the fourth time we have been to the Maltings and we will definitely visit again."

    The facilities are always clean and well presented. The improvements to the kitchen and bedroom were nice too. The parking space at the front for our second car makes it easier to park a single car at the back. The distance to cafes and the beach make it a great place to stay with little ones and old ones alike.

    Reviewed by Naomi5.0Aug 2022

  • "Great location within easy walking distance to the beach and local shops."

    We did not have a car and was easy to link in with the excellent local bus services (though beware buses bit on the pricey side). We enjoyed watching the birds nesting when sitting outside in the evening.

    Reviewed by R4.7Jul 2022

  • "Comfortable, quiet, well equipped, quick to get to from the ferry, great patio Easy to load & unload car if you park at the back."

    Fierce taps rather annoying and cooker a little old. Overall enjoyed our stay

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a lovely location."

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Apr 2022

  • "My previous experience of Sykes Cottages has been of well maintained homes where visitors have been made to feel welcome."

    They met high standards which meant I would happily recommend friends to use Sykes. However at the Maltings, finding incontinence pads in drawer of bedside table in main bedroom was more than shocking. The kitchen blind cannot be closed despite message in visitors' book five months ago asking this to be fixed. The large cobwebs in the hall ceiling made us wonder when Sykes last inspected this property and when it was last cleaned! Beautiful feature wallpapers and comfortable beds merely paper over the cracks. A holiday to remember for the wrong reasons, Phillipa

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you had housekeeping issues. Please be assured all the issues have been addressed and a new housekeeping team has been employed. We do take on board all feedback If you had contacted myself or Sykes I would have been more than happy to get a full re clean for you. The property has been refurbished and I am in the process of organising new photographs to be taken. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Phillipa1.6Feb 2022

  • "We have stayed their same time last year, so we knew what to expect."

    The only problem is the red sofa in the lounge, very much past its sell by date, gives you back ache and very uncomfortable. Great location, ample room to park outside.

    Reviewed by Steve3.4Sep 2021

  • "Really enjoyed our stay at this lovely roomy house in a great location and would recommend it."

    Only points to note are that the kitchen table and floor needed a bit of a clean when we arrived. I am not over fussy where cleanliness is concerned, but not sure how this had been missed as the rest of the house was clean. I made sure I cleaned round before I left. Also I couldn't work the grill despite looking up cooker instructions online, but didn't contact the owner as not that inconvenient. Finally, as others have pointed out, the sofas in the lounge were not very comfy, but the bed we slept in was really comfy. These slight niggles did not spoil our enjoyment of the property.

    Reviewed by Sally4.7Sep 2021

  • "Lovely spacious house, only 8 mins to the beach which was certainly a bonus for us with children."

    Freshwater is a lovely area, a nice beach for swimming and safe for kids of all ages. A fantastic base for visiting the IOW, we visited many seaside towns and areas of interest such as The Needles which is nearby and also visited Osborne House, the home of Queen Victoria and Albert. The outside area of the house is a nice touch with table a comfy chairs, many mornings we sat outside with a hot drink or a book and felt the warmth of the sun. You can park the car at the front of the house which is easy to get in an out of, the bedrooms are good sizes and the en suite a bonus. a lovely kitchen and living room too, and we were a party of 6 and we fitted there comfortably. Tennyson Down is a nearby walk, with fantastic views at the top and when you get to the bottom you can can go to the piano cafe and have a deserved drink! The owner Sue is friendly and I expect if you have any problems she would sort them out, no problem. We recommend the cottage, accommodation and the area.

    Reviewed by Ruth4.7Aug 2021

  • "We are returning customers and were very happy with our holiday."

    The house is ideally situated and Mrs White was very helpful when we first arrived. We have stayed here three times now and have already booked a fourth visit. It is an ideal family house not far from the beach and local amenities. The parking is vastly improved with the new drive space at the front of the house. We can’t wait to come again.

    Reviewed by Naomi5.0Aug 2021

  • "The location was good and the house lovely."

    However it could have done with a good spring clean.....layers of dust visible on skirting boards, cobwebs hanging from ceilings etc. Also, the cooker didn’t have anything on its dials, so choosing the correct temperature for the oven was booklet about the cooker so that didn’t help. There was no information folder about the property to explain the Wi-fi code, how the heating worked etc, which is unusual. Overall, this didn’t ruin our stay we just feel these few negative points could be fed back and addressed. Kind Regards Kay

    Reviewed by Kay3.4Jun 2021

  • "The cottage was in an excellent position and can be thoroughly recommended especially for walkers."

    The information provided by Sykes was not entirely accurate regarding the Covid precautions taken e.g. books, DVDs and games were still available. We were due a refund as the original dates had to be cancelled because of the Covid pandemic, and the dates we changed to were cheaper. However, a credit note rather than a refund was given, and it has not been possible to get a reply from Sykes Cottages to get the refund in cash. I have spent ages on hold and also written to Head Office to no avail.

    Reviewed by Lynne4.4Sep 2020

  • "Really nice, spacious cottage, generally clean and everything in good working order"

    Reviewed by Kevin4.7Aug 2020

  • "I paid in full for this holiday and due to covid 19 we could not go."

    After 3 emails countless unanswered phone calls a letter to the CEO at head office unanswered they would not give me a refund. I am now trying to get it back from insurance. I would never book with this company again. I will never recommend them. I am sure due to greed and self interest they will not publish this feedback.

    Reviewed by Eileen1.3Aug 2020

  • "Very spacious and lovely garden excellent"

    Reviewed by Sarita4.7Jul 2020

  • "Property was a nice size however the cleanliness left a lot to be desired."

    Dirty spoons in drawers, cups, glasses, pots and pans. cobwebs everywhere and considering it was supposed to have a deeper clean due to COVID-19 it was basically disgusting to the point we spent the first 2 hours of our holiday cleaning. The dishwasher does not work and needs replacing. BBQ was buried in the cupboard and not really available to use. overall very disappointed which is a shame as we had looked forward to the holiday due to lock down.

    Reviewed by Diane2.5Jul 2020

  • "We had a very comfortable stay during a week that was very wet and windy."

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Oct 2019

  • "We have rented two houses from sykes cottages and both have exceeded or expectations."

    The house we rented on the Isle of Man was beautiful great location and every facility we needed in a lovely location. There were 6 of us 4 adults and two children for a wedding we were going to. The week we had was home from home. We can without doubt book the maltings again. Thank you so much for a wonderful place to stay and made our visit brilliant.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Sep 2019

  • "On arrival we found the place clean."

    Unfortunately, watching, many things were dirty. The house must be cleaned completely. The photos are old and therefore misleading. The dishwasher is very small (1/2). The washing machine is very big (9kg). The parking space is very convenient.

    Reviewed by Gerald3.1Jul 2019

  • "Excellent serice via the web booking with Sykes."

    Easy parking at the property and a good location to travel from for the rest of the island.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2019

  • "The house is a fantastic base for exploring the IoW."

    It was clean, tidy and has everything you could need for a home away from home. The pictures don't do it justice as it was a lot larger than we expected. There is also a driveway out front for 2 cars which has been recently built. There were some nice touches too, like fresh bread, butter, milk, marmalade and ham. The location was great too especially if you like walking. Freshwater Bay and the Coastal path are less than 10 minutes down the road and a short walk brings you to Tennyson Down. Keeping walking west along the coastal path for about an hour and you'll get to the Needles. East takes you to the fabulous sandy beach of Compton beach. Colwell Bay (also sandy) is also a short 5 drive away or a 45 min walk. Add to this, local convenience stores and a great little coffee shop less than 2 minutes walk you have all you need for a great holiday. Highly recommended!

    Reviewed by Munaf5.0Apr 2019

  • "We had a brilliant week in Freshwater, and absolutely loved the Maltings."

    It is a lovely, spacious house, and good parking. We only had one minor problem regarding the heating, which the lovely owner, Sue, sorted out for us immediately. We will certainly put the Maltings at the top of our list when we return to IOW.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Apr 2019

  • "A lovely cottage."

    I would happily go back.

    Reviewed by Kim5.0Feb 2019

  • "A lovely position and a spacious property with comfortable beds and two bathrooms."

    Being really close to the sea and with easy parking was useful. In the kitchen were only 5 mugs (no cups and saucers) so we had to wash up often and just as well there were only 4 of us. There is no dish drainer or small,sharp knife for peeling and only one tea towel (for a week!). The bacon and eggs, milk, bread and marmalade plus lots of extras like dishwasher tablets and toilet rolls were excellent. Overall, we had a lovely week and found both the house and the area quiet and welcoming. Appreciated the toaster and wi-fi. Used Google earth to help find - look out for the telegraph pole right on the track!

    Reviewed by Winifride4.4Jun 2018

  • "The cottage was very spacious and within easy walking distance of the bay."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We also appreciated the welcome pack.

    Reviewed by Colin4.7Jun 2018

  • "From the moment we stepped into our holiday cottage we werehaving a wonderful, relaxing, and warm time!"

    The Maltings has very recently been remodeled and updated and everything in it exceeded our expectations for a holiday cottage. The owner popped in one point to make sure all was well and we had a lovely chat. Would totally recommend The Maltings!

    Reviewed by Frances5.0Apr 2018

  • "As usual so lovely and particularly enjoyable."

    Only this time the WiFi does not work all week at all, and there was no toaster for us. Little things matter.

    Reviewed by Thophu4.4Mar 2018

  • "Just simply perfect for our needs."


    Reviewed by Thophu5.0Sep 2017

  • "A well equipped cottage and wonderful for a family to stay."

    As houses are not numbered in these parts, it helps to take a look at the Google streetview beforehand to get a feel of the road, the location of the property and the side road on the left of the property that leads to the car park in the rear.

    Reviewed by Loganathan5.0Oct 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with TV and en-suite bath, shower over, basin, WC and heated towel rail, 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Ground floor large walk in shower, basin and WC
  • Fitted kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room with gas coal-effect fire and French doors to front decked area
  • Note: There are steps leading to the en-suite.
  • Gas central heating with coal-effect gas fire
  • Gas oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, video, CD/radio, selection of books and games
  • Wifi
  • 1 cot
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Beach towels provided
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 1 car, 2nd space available for 1 additional small car
  • Enclosed front decked area with furniture and charcoal BBQ
  • Please note: This property has a minimum night stay of x7 nights
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shops 3 mins walk, pub 1.4 miles
  • Beach 5 mins walk.

The property

This attractive 19th century mock Tudor cottage is conveniently located within a six minute walk of the stunning cove at Freshwater Bay on the wonderful Isle of Wight.

This Freshwater cottage has been traditionally furnished throughout to provide comfortable and spacious accommodation for families and friends who wish to enjoy a relaxing holiday together by the sea.

This welcoming Freshwater cottage is set over two floors and offers a large kitchen, a warm and sunny sitting room with French doors, two bathrooms and three comfortable bedrooms.

Outside there is off road parking at the rear of this Freshwater cottage, whilst at the front there is a good-sized, enclosed decked area with table, chairs and a barbecue, making this an ideal place for dining alfresco.

The charming village of Freshwater offers many attractions, including dinosaur footprint hunting at Compton Bay, the Afton Marsh Local Nature Reserve, walks along Tennyson Down, hang gliding, fishing and golf.

The beautiful streets of Yarmouth, with their many boutique shops, art galleries, superb pubs and restaurants, are close by, plus further afield is the wild and rocky coastline at St Catherine's Down.

This delightful Freshwater cottage is bound to please at any time of the year.

View on map

About the location


Yarmouth 3 miles; Cowes 16 miles; Fishbourne 16 miles; Ryde 18 miles.

Freshwater is situated at the western tip of the Isle of Wight and consists of Freshwater Village and Freshwater Bay. Freshwater village offers a good selection of small independent shops, cafes and the West Wight Sports Centre and Indoor Swimming Pool. The magnificent high chalk cliffs, rolling downs and delightful beaches at Freshwater Bay and nearby Compton Bay attract many visitors and surfers all year round. The renowned Freshwater Bay Golf Club, which overlooks the English Channel has stunning coastal sea views from most tees and offers a superb day out for golfers of all abilities, whilst the area is a haven for birdwatchers, cyclists and walkers with many wonderful walks to be enjoyed not only on West Wight but across the entire Isle of Wight criss-crossing over a much varied island landscape. Locally, Afton Down (the location of the famous 1970 Isle of Wight Music Festival), and Tennyson Down are the most popular walks. At the foot of Tennyson Down is the Dimbola Museum and Photographic Galleries. The Needles Pleasure Park at Alum Bay with its coloured sand cliffs and chairlift to the beach is just south west of Freshwater, plus a little further afield on the north coast of the Isle of Wight is the premier yachting centre of Cowes. Osborne House (the former home of Queen Victoria) is located at East Cowes. The nearby Farringford Hotel on the edge of Freshwater Bay was once the home of the British Poet Laureate, Alfred Lord Tennyson, and many notable poets, authors and painters have been attracted to the area of West Wight over the years. With the seaside town of Yarmouth close by with its busy harbour and pier, shops, inns, eateries and impressive Tudor castle, this is an ideal base for an enjoyable holiday.

Please note: This property has a minimum night stay of x7 nights.