Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

11 people have recently viewed this property

The Bothy

Southerness, Ayrshire and Dumfries & Galloway (Ref. 22382)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

20 Customer Reviews

  • "Spacious, comfortable and well equipped bright house close to beach."

    All mod cons and nice outdoor seating area. Owner very helpful.

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2022

  • "Had a great week at the bothy, to say we decided to holiday when three named storms battered the country you would never have known once inside the cottage, lovely snug and cosy."

    It's a fantastic cottage to visit this lovely part of Scotland situated in a very peaceful part of Southeness with the beach two minutes one way and the paul Jones pub the other, had a couple of nice meals here. Didn't get chance to use the garden but it looks nice, enclosed and peaceful. The cottage had just about everything we needed, the ladies in the party commented that mirrors near to plug sockets and bathroom bins would improve the cottage, all in all a great week at the bothy. Would I stay here again? Definitely yes and I hope to later this year.

    Reviewed by JohnFeb 2022

  • "Superb holiday home for a family of 4!"

    It had everything we needed, really spacious and clean house with 3 large bedrooms and big living room. The wrap around garden was a big hit with the kids and the location couldn't have been better - a stone's throw from the beach and village centre with its pubs, chippy, amusements and shop. I would recommend this holiday house to anyone, it is perfect for families with young and older children.

    Reviewed by JaneOct 2021

  • "A great place to stay, an easy drive to local attractions and beech."

    The property is clean, tidy and has everything you could need for a good holiday. Its easy to find and is perfect for a quiet peaceful time. Just Brilliant.

    Reviewed by PaulOct 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely the only negative about it was the beds, both double beds where extremely uncomfortable so much so I slept on the couch."

    The beach was lovely, food and service at Paul Jones was excellent.

    Reviewed by TracieSep 2021

  • "Owner was very helpful but the bike store was not really available."

    He keeps his own bikes in there. He did recommend a place for storage although it was not that secure. There was a chiminea in the pictures that wasn't there on site- a minor issue. Unlike other reviews we did find the cottage clean enough. Bizarrely there were no bins in any of the rooms which was awkward. On the whole nice, would recommend.

    Reviewed by NickAug 2021

  • "Ideal location, so near the beach, bar restaurant and a wee arcade for kids."

    Reviewed by GeorgaJul 2021

  • "The 4 of us have stayed in 2/3 cottages almost every year for the last 10 years and never complained about a cottage before but this one was disgusting."

    We arrived late in the afternoon with shopping we collected on the way so we could relax for the evening only to find there was nothing to wash pots up with only a teatowel no kitchen towels and only 1 toliet roll in each of the bathrooms to last for a week? I turned down the duvet on the bed on our 1st night only to find 2/3 absolutely disgusting stains on the sheets, god know what they were. I have taken photos but the beds had never even been checked on change over let alone changed. We couldn't sleep in the that bed or the other after this as we were put off so much by the lack of cleanliness. We then couldn't wash the duvets because there was no wash up items or detergents for the washing washing and being late at night there was nothing left to do but sleep in the lounge on the sofas where we then found the backs of the cushions caked in somebody else's long hair!! Only thing left was to put our coats across the cushions and then sleep on them. All the towels and the rest of the bedding didn't smell clean and certainly they wasn't freshly washed. The next morning the 1st thing we had to then do was go back 12 miles to a supermarket to buy cleaning materials so we could clean up. What a fantastic holiday this was turning out to be..NOT After taking photos of the disgusting stains on the bed sheets the rest of the week was ruined by not being able to get those thoughts out of our minds and also what else hasn't been checked or cleaned properly throughout the property. I couldn't sleep in the any of those beds and even though my wife eventually slept in a bed I spend the WHOLE week sleeping on my coat on the sofa. There were lots of other things which I can go on and on and on about but quite frankly we just disgusted and disappointed with the whole week there and this was supposed to be our 1st week away together since the Pandemic started to get some relaxation in. Surely with the current situation going on at the moment the basic cleanliness should be absolute priority, well it would be I had a cottage to rent out. Even if you paid us we would NEVER GO BACK THERE.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry your experience did not match your expectations. This is a completely uncommon instance as you can see from all the positive feedback and high star rating the property has been given by previous guests. If you had contacted Skyes or us direct when you had an issue with the bedding, the matter would have been addressed immediately but unfortunately you did not provide us the opportunity to do so. The property is fully cleaned with bedding and towels freshly laundered following each booking, never has this been raised as a concern so we are really surprised but disappointed to hear this. In relation to the cleaning materials, although this is something that is not stated as provided or is a requirement of the rental, this is something we will consider for our future guests. Within the Southerness village, there are two shops which are well stocked and provide said items and much more. We appreciate all feedback as we want to maintain a high standard and make any improvements so to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay so it is very disheartening to read such a negative review which you felt necessary to post rather than dealing with us directly as the property does deserve the compliments noted. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RogerJun 2021

  • "The Bothy was comfortable and spacious for myself, husband and teenage daughter."

    It was spotlessly clean and everything we needed was there! Comfy beds, lovely relaxing sofas, massive telly, sunny patio and garden. It has been decorated since the photos on the Sykes website and is lovely. It also has Wifi which on the advert it says it doesn't. 2 minutes walk from the beach and a beautiful bit of coast. Good base for exploring this part of Dumfries and Galloway.

    Reviewed by BlytheSep 2020

  • "We had a good stay, cottage is lovely, refurbished to very good standard."

    There are two thing missing for us- a dishwasher(this adds a chore to holiday stay), and comfy bed in master(the one there has squeaky frame and sagged mattress). If those two things could be sorted we'd be coming back for sure. Owner- Mr Ryan was very helpful. Location is absolutely perfect, 2 mins walk from the Lighthouse/beach. Plenty to do in 30min drive from the cottage. If you get good weather, your holidays become great adventure for all the family.

    Reviewed by AndrzejAug 2020

  • "Fantastic little place, immaculate throughout."

    Will definitely be visiting again.

    Reviewed by PeterSep 2019

  • "A lovely house in a lovely location, with lots to do nearby."

    Only downside was the WiFi speed in the property, but sometimes a digital detox is ideal, when there are beautiful walks along the beach and nearby towns and countryside.

    Reviewed by AllisonApr 2019

  • "Just very quiet and relaxing, exactly what I was looking for."

    Reviewed by BarbaraNov 2018

  • "A superb cottage, well eqipped and very comfortable."

    One of the best we have stayed in. The location for visiting Galway was excellent. Local shop and fish and chip shop closed for the season the first days we were there as the two main caravan sites were closing so if visiting early or late be aware. As a result the area was very quiet which suited us.

    Reviewed by ChrisOct 2018

  • "Excellent cottage, in quiet location just a short walk to the beach."

    Spacious kitchen, lounge and downstairs bathroom. Been recently decorated throughout. Good base to tour Dumfries and Galloway.

    Reviewed by ChristineSep 2018

  • "The Bothy is a lovely seaside cottage - huge living room with comfortable leather settees and a large TV with Sky."

    A couple of tiny points - there didn’t seem to be a guest book which is sometimes helpful when others leave feedback about the area and places to go; the only other thing was that there was no ‘information’ folder that lists things like when to put the bins out/recycling etc. These things really don’t matter but just an idea for the future. Loved our break, it was peaceful, warm and cosy. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by MichelleAug 2018

  • "The cottage was excellent, newly decorated and new carpets absolutely beautiful."

    The only down side was that there was no internet access and a very poor mobile phone reception

    Reviewed by EileenJun 2018

  • "The Bothy is comfortable and spacious."

    Plenty of parking for 2 large cars. Huge kitchen / Dinning room perfect for a family holiday. We will be back

    Reviewed by BrianOct 2017

  • "The cottage was excellent except for the low ceilings upstairs, for tall people I returned with a few bumps to the head."

    This would not stop us returning as the cottage was excellent.

    Reviewed by SusanAug 2017

  • "Property was spacious, comfortable and handy for beach and local facilities while being in a quiet side road."

    Reviewed by BrianOct 2016

Show more


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV with basic Sky and BT TV package inc Sports, DVD, CD, iPod dock, USB ports in sockets, selection of books, games and DVDs and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot, highchair and stairgate on request
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Enclosed lawned garden with furniture and BBQ
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop, pub and beach 2 mins walk
  • Note: Due to this property being a storey and a half cottage, there are low ceilings on the first floor and care should be taken at all times
  • Note: The decorative woodburner is a cosmetic feature and does not emit any heat
  • Note: Max 4 adults
  • Note: Check-in 4pm.

The property

A charming detached cottage, superbly situated close to the coast in the village of Southerness, on Scotland's Solway Firth.

Well-appointed throughout to provide comfortable and stylish accommodation, this Southerness cottage is the perfect choice for family or friends looking to spend some time exploring or relaxing beside Galloway's beautiful coastline.

This comfortable Solway cottage provides three bedrooms, with one suitable for children and one boasting an en-suite shower room.

The ground floor offers a family bathroom, a kitchen with a sociable dining area and a sitting room with a decorative woodburner and French doors that open out to the rear patio area.

A garden encloses this Southerness cottage, with a gravelled parking area to the front and a lawned area to the side and rear with furniture and a barbecue, offering the ideal place to relax or enjoy some alfresco dining.

Southerness, with its harbour and beach, is only one of the attractions in this beautiful part of Scotland.

Walkers can enjoy the nearby peak of Criffel, which offers superb views, as well as the surrounding, scenic Galloway Hills plus the many pretty coastal paths.

Cyclists can explore the numerous routes including the renowned 7stanes trails.

With several opportunities for golf and fishing enthusiasts, as well as pretty villages, castles and abbeys to discover, this Southerness cottage offers something to delight everyone.

View on map

About the location


Castle Douglas 19 miles; Dalbeattie 13 miles; Dumfries 16 miles.

Southerness is a small coastal village established in the late 18th century, which looks out over the Solway Firth, and forms part of the Colvend coast, one of the finest stretches of coastline on the 'Scottish Riviera'. Home to two pubs, a village store, a leisure centre with a pool and two miles of sandy beaches with sand dunes, rock pools and Gulf Stream warmed waters, and one of the oldest lighthouses in Scotland, built in 1748, it has everything you will need for a relaxing holiday. The nearby Criffel Hill rises to 569m, offers wonderful views of the farmland and the sands of the Nith Estuary below, and provides great walking opportunities. The Southerness Championship Golf Course adjoins the village and offers panoramic views of the Solway Firth, the Cumbrian Lake District to the south and the Galloway Hills to the west. A great location, with something to keep everybody occupied.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it