Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 28th July. Available on breaks arriving 23rd September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 18 minutes ago

1 of 26 View Larger Image
  • Church View - Lake District - 906111 - photo 1
close

Church View

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 906111)

4.7

Excellent

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Off road parking
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

44 Customer Reviews

  • "Very well equipped, conveniently situated for shops, cafes, buses, etc."

    A little bit small for spending too much time there, very limited outside space. Certainly nothing to complain about generally and good to have parking.

    Reviewed by BarbaraJun 2022

  • "Great stay."

    Very happy. Minor point is the TV reception, often the TV gives a loud pop (like a gunshot). Poss could be remedied by fitting Internet TV as the Broadband wS super. Would recommend to others.

    Thank you for your feedback and comments...........Cumbria is noted for poor connections this has never happened before but thanks for bringing it to our attention, we have tried everything but we will try to solve the problem. Very happy you had an enjoyable stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KennethJun 2022

  • "Out of all the accommodation we have had over the years in Amblesidethis has to be one of the best."

    The location with parking right next to the cottage is a massive bonus. Often you look at the pictures of the accommodation and it all looks perfect, until you arrive and sit on the furniture, only to find they are uncomfortable, or the seating has sagged. Not at Church View, the seating was very comfortable as was the bed. Everywhere was spotlessly clean with plenty of plates mugs etc. It was a nice touch when we received a text to say the cottage was ready for occupancy well before 3 p.m., which meant we could go straight to the cottage without having to park up somewhere to wait until 3 p.m. A great cottage with a great location, highly recommended.

    We renew and update our cottage regularly just installed new kitchen and all appliances.Thank you for your kind comments it is nice to be appreciated our guests are our main concern and we are glad when you enjoy your stay in The Lakes and Church View Cottage. We try our best................ Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilMar 2022

  • "Lovely little cottage in excellent location providing all facilities needed for a comfortable holiday"

    Reviewed by JulieNov 2021

  • "Good position easy walk into Ambleside well equipped."

    Only downside was easy chair which was uncomfortable

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2021

  • "Unfortunately after 5 days we had to leave due to illness."

    Still trying, at the owner's suggestion, to achieve a refund for the last two days with Sykes - they have as yet not reponded to this request.

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, exactly as described."

    Booking was easy and Sykes contacted us with all relevant details.

    Reviewed by MollyJul 2021

  • "A great place to say in the lakes, Ambleside is a great location"

    Reviewed by MichaelJul 2021

  • "The cottage was unfortunately filthy when we arrived."

    We spent almost 3 hours cleaning before we could even bring ourselves to unpack. We in fact left one day before we were due to as we just couldn't settle/feel comfortable in the cottage. Not only were there still crumbs on the worktops, jam stuck to the toaster, tea stains and human hair stuck on the front of the washing machine, a dirty sink/draining board and grime in the cupboard under the sink in the kitchen, the floor and the rug were full of dust and human hairs in the living room. In the bathroom, the shower head/fixtures had not been cleaned properly in a long time and nor had the tiled floor. The bedroom wardrobe had not been wiped out inside and the skirting boards throughout revealed that the cottage had not had a spring clean in a very long time. Thankfully, the bathroom towels and bedding seemed clean otherwise we would have had to abandon our trip completely. The fact we are still living with COVID makes these conditions even more unacceptable than under normal circumstances. Also, there were far too many unnecessary soft furnishings - throws, rugs and cushions throughout that we had to hide away while we were there given the germs they would be harbouring. They look fairly old and tired at any rate. A previous guest had even written in the little information pack in the cottage that they had found nail clippings in the large red rug in the living room!! So clearly we are not the only guests to have had a disappointing stay. It is a shame as the location of the cottage is great in Ambleside and the fact it has its own parking space is a real bonus in such a busy town. The owner also refused to accept my feedback which I delivered respectfully on the day we left (one day early). This has put us off booking a cottage through Sykes again in the future, sadly.

    In response to your feedback and regarding your comments on the cleanliness of the cottage I as manager cleaned the cottage myself on day of your arrival . We adhere to Sykes rules and regulation to the letter and always have done so. Our record is continually in the high nineties and one hundred percent with cleaning and have many guests who return regularly. We are always on hand for any problems and we would have gone to the cottage to sort out any problems immediately if we had been informed. Over the past 18 months, due to COVID we are very meticulous with our cleaning and are very proud of our cottage and record with Sykes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KellyJul 2021

  • "In an ideal spot in Ambleside, Church View was comfortable and had everything I needed."

    Having its own parking space was a benefit!

    Reviewed by SelenaMay 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely and cosy just right for two people for a weeks holiday."

    The off road parking was a very good. We did not use our car all week. The bus stops to different parts of the Lake District is a small walk away from the cottage. If you need to eat out there are a lot of very nice restaurant close by. I book the restaurants we used before we arrived to be on the safe side with all the restitutions there are now. Everything we needed to cook with was supplied in the cottage. The weather was not very kind to us but this did not stop us from going out every day visiting different places and enjoying walking in the rain too. Will be back. Mrs Smith

    Reviewed by CarolSep 2020

  • "A lovely bijou property for two."

    Tastefully decorated in a good location to explore the area.

    Reviewed by JanetAug 2020

  • "Perfect location."

    Lovely accommodation, clean and well presented. Looking to come back when coronavirus over.

    Reviewed by ShirleyMar 2020

  • "Lovely cottage in great location."

    Church View has all the equipment and home comforts you need for a great stay in the Lakes. Highly recommend.

    Reviewed by WendyFeb 2020

  • "Beautifully presented cottage in superb location."

    A short level 5 min walk into town. All facilities you could want are provided and the car parking spot invaluable. Particularly impressed with the central heating and hot water system. V easy to regulate and the cottage warmed v quickly after a day out. Comfy bed, well equipped kitchen and comfortable lounge area. Bathroom has superb shower over the bath and the welcome treats in the bathroom and kitchen were a lovely touch. We shall definitely return.

    Reviewed by MargaretJan 2020

  • "Cottage really lived up to our expectations , even had a few christmas treats left for us by the owners , nice thought"

    Reviewed by StephenDec 2019

  • "Another lovely week in Ambleside made special by staying at this lovely terraced cottage."

    It was so convenient to either take a 6 or 7 minute walk into the town or walk the other way to the lake in a similar time. Well furnished with dishwasher and washing machine and beautifully decorated and sparkling clean. We will return. Thank you.

    Reviewed by MDec 2019

  • "Good central location and spotlessly clean, near a busy road but road noise ..."

    Good central location and spotlessly clean, near a busy road but road noise minimal due to building design, altogether a nice place (needs a new sofa though)

    Reviewed by PhillipNov 2019

  • "No."

    Reviewed by TrevorSep 2019

  • "A clever photographer has made the property look bigger than it actually is."

    Entrance to the property is from the pavement adjacent to the busy A591, quiet inside though. Bed very comfy, best sleep we’ve had for years

    Reviewed by DavidSep 2019

  • "Ease of access to shops lake & gardens centre"

    Reviewed by PaulJul 2019

  • "Spotless. Modern."

    Car park space really handy.. location fabulous

    Reviewed by JulieJun 2019

  • "Great cottage, great week ."

    .... even the weather was on our side. Liked it so much were thinking of staying again next year.

    Reviewed by IanJun 2019

  • "A beautiful, clean and cosy cottage."

    A nice size for 2 people, and you have a parking space next to the cottage. There's a nice little area to sit out on an evening, with all glass of wine, looking up at the need gorgeous greenery around you. Only 15 minute walk from Waters Edge at Windermere where you can go on cruises around the lake. A 2 minute stroll and you're at all the fine eateries and pubs. Have a wonder around all the side streets to find all Ambleside has to offer, quite a few hidden gems. A great place to stay.

    Reviewed by SharonJun 2019

  • "The cottage is exactly as described in the advert."

    What more could a visitor want. One big plus point. It is only two minutes walk from Church View to bus stop, with regular services to most parts of the Lakes. So we did not use the car all week. A result.

    Reviewed by LeslieMay 2019

  • "Lovely cottage in a prime location with the added bonus of a parking space."

    Very clean and everything you need in the kitchen. Great comfy bed, nice bathroom with a very good shower and a super funky tap !! We really enjoyed our week.

    Reviewed by DorothyApr 2019

  • "Two points we would make to make useful improvements: 1."

    We found it hard to read in bed as the bedside lamps were so dim; 2. The instruction book could helpfully explain that if there is no sound on Sky or DVD player it is because the scart plugs are not sufficiently firmly pushed home. We appreciated the welcoming gifts. See also our appreciative comments in visitors' book. Many thanks. CPN

    Reviewed by CharlesMar 2019

  • "Excellent location."

    Very cosy and comfortable cottage, with great facilities. Did not need to move the car all week, so much to do within walking distance if you like the outdoors.

    Reviewed by WendyFeb 2019

  • "Perfect location for town, pubs, restaurants, the lake and many walks."

    Cottage was clean and warm with a lovely welcome pack. We will book again

    Reviewed by NeilJan 2019

  • "Great location and as always a lovely cottage to stay in."

    Reviewed by MartinDec 2018

  • "We really enjoyed our week at this lovely cottage."

    Its location is perfect with just a five or six minute walk into the town. It can't be under-estimated how important the car parking space is in this bustling town where car parking charges are high. The cottage itself was really clean and beautifully decorated. We were impressed with the layout and and how everything seemed to have been thought of. We would recommend this cottage to anyone and are really looking forward to returning when time permits. There was nothing that could have been improved. Many thanks to all concerned.

    Reviewed by MDec 2018

  • "The Cottage was clean and well equipped."

    A Welcome Basket left for us was a nice touch. Although located close to road it was a quiet environment. Also a bonus to have own parking space next to Cottage. We were made aware we could contact Manager if we had any problems which we did not require. We had a lovely stay with walks from the door in all directions and a warm comfy Cottage to return to. We look forward to a return visit.

    Reviewed by JenniferNov 2018

  • "We've been with Sykes a number of times & most of the time the properties have been fine."

    Church View cottage was certainly not 4 ticks, parts of it didn't look as though it had been cleaned fully, it had a musty smell when we went in which we couldn't completely get rid of by opening doors & windows wide. The upstairs was ok, the bed was comfy, but downstairs the settee was very uncomfortable & the chairs to the breakfast bar were difficult to sit on. Found the living room extremely small & dull, no warmth in it at all. Compared to other cottages we have stayed in with Sykes, we found this one to be of poor standard & not meeting our expectations of a 4 tick property. Proximity to Ambleside town was good for walking, evening meals & entertainment.

    Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We take great pride in our property and feel that this has always been reflected in our very good feedback. We have not had any reports of the sofa or chairs being uncomfortable before but appreciate that this is subjective. We do believe that the pictures and description are a true reflection of the property and have always had very high cleanliness standards. We will ensure that this is checked and maintained to ensure that our guests continue to enjoy Church View. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GOct 2018

  • "Good cottage, well situated for all amenities and the town center , also nearer to the lake about a 10-15 minute walk, we really enjoyed this cottage holiday and the owner texted messaged to say we could arrive early which was a big bonus."

    Parking for one small car off road is also a big bonus. we would definitely recommend to friends and family.

    Reviewed by M CSep 2018

  • "We loved our stay in Church View cottage, it was clean, comfortable and had everything you could possibly need for your stay."

    Just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside to shops, cafes pubs etc. A walk up to the waterfall is a must. Would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by PaulineAug 2018

  • "Clean,cosy cottage in ideal location with good parking,one of our best holidays yet"

    Reviewed by AJul 2018

  • "The cottage is on a busy one way street so care must be taken when parking and reversing from the space provided."

    The parking space is small and parking a large car would be very difficult. The bedroom is at the rear of the cottage so traffic noise is not a problem at night. The cottage is close to Ambleside shops so it is best to leave the car at the cottage and walk in to the town.

    Reviewed by NormanJun 2018

  • "Church View is a lovely cottage well situated in Ambleside with all amenities in easy walking distance."

    The cottage is compact and well equipped with everything we needed. The small patio is great for al fresco dining and drinks with a great view over the hillside. Lots of restaurants to choose from as well as a local supermarket for supplies. Well situated for walking and there is a small porch for muddy boots and wet coats. Just a short walk from Lake Windermere and boat trips with take you around the lake. Great cottage.

    Reviewed by DavidJun 2018

  • "Fantastic cottage, extremely well presented in every detail."

    Great location Amazing staff attention

    Reviewed by SusanFeb 2018

  • "Fabulous ccottage, ideal location in ambleside, 5 minute walk into ambleside and only 15 minute walk to the lake to get on one of the boats to cruise windermere."

    Reviewed by HelenSep 2017

  • "We loved staying in this cosy cottage."

    It had everything we needed and was close to the village while at the same time being quiet and away from the fray. We enjoyed having space and a feeling of coming home after our fellwalking.

    Reviewed by GavinJun 2017

  • "Very comfortable and well equipped cottage."

    Loved the view of the mountains from the bedroom window. Great to be able to walk into Ambleside and over Loughrigg. Look forward to re-booking.

    Reviewed by HeatherApr 2017

  • "Good location, well equipped and a welcome pack to start you off."

    Very pleased with our week away.

    Reviewed by MalcolmMar 2017

  • "It was a beautiful holiday, great location and felt at home in Church View."

    The only thing we would change would be the position and size of the sofa. Looking forward to our next holiday with Sykes.

    Reviewed by HelenNov 2016

Show more

Summary

  • One double bedroom
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Patio area with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking/vaping
  • Shops and pubs 3 mins walk
  • Note: No children or infants

The property

A stylish and superb semi-detached cottage, with views towards the Fairfield Horseshoe.

This cottage in Ambleside is perfect for couples who wish to enjoy this ideal location, with extensive walks and excellent village amenities available from the door.

This Ambleside cottage has one comfortable double bedroom with views across to the Lakeland fells, making it a wonderful, romantic hideaway.

The open plan living area has patio doors leading out to a small patio area, a perfect spot to enjoy a refreshing drink and to discuss what adventures are still to come on your wonderful break away.

Borrans Park is just a five minute walk away and sits on the northerly tip of Lake Windermere; from here you can embark on a cruise down the lake to Bowness-on-Windermere or simply enjoy a picnic.

You can walk alongside the River Rothay and up on to Loughrigg, a rewarding climb to discover the fantastic views across Lake Windermere, Rydal Water and Grasmere.

A warm, welcoming and well-equipped Ambleside cottage, perfect for returning to after a day of walking or touring the beautiful Lake District.

View on map

About the location

AMBLESIDE

Windermere 4 miles; Grasmere 4 mile; Keswick 15 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

Region Information

Note: No children or infants.
Note: No smoking/vaping