Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 10 View Image Gallery
  • Fellside Cottage - Lake District - 1042622 - photo 1

Fellside Cottage

(Ref. 1042622)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (22)
  • lovely (18)
  • stay (17)
  • our (13)
  • kitchen (13)
  • bed (13)

29 Customer Reviews

  • "We had such an amazing time in this lovely cottage which was so warm and comfortable."

    Yes, the walk to the cottage from the town could be quite steep, but only for a tiny bit and then it was perfectly manageable. The facilities were fab, great kitchen, lots of space and lovely warm rooms and comfy cosy beds! Great smart tv for those nights in. We would recommend and also stay here again

    Reviewed by Faye5.0Dec 2023

  • "Fellside was a lovely old cottage with plenty of room for two adults and a dog with a pleasant little garden."

    Facilities were fine with internet, well equipped kitchen and log fire. Being the end of season the bathroom could do with a deep clean getting rid of mould around tiles. The only downside was how steep the walk back from the village was. Maybe I didn't read the earlier reviews properly but be aware that you need to either be a mountain goat or extremely fit to attempt the return journey! Unfortunately I am neither which rather spoiled our stay as we had to take the car down to the village each evening for a meal when I specifically booked the cottage because it was so close to the centre of Ambleside.

    Reviewed by Elaine3.8Sep 2023

  • "Lovely place to stay just the location really big hill to walk up"

    Reviewed by John5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely, homely cottage."

    Idyllic location. The best holiday ever. Didn’t want to leave

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Jun 2023

  • "Cottage was nice beds comfortable facilities ok TV a joke it was like going back 25 years internet not very good watching tv was like looking at a laptop monitor it was that small I noticed other people had commented on the tv never been rectified so hopefully they might take this on board ."

    Thanks for your feedback. We have installed a new Smart TV in the lounge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Walter4.1May 2023

  • "We had the perfect week at Fellside cottage."

    Accommodation was exactly as described and it was great to have the small garden to enjoy the sunshine. Brilliant location as walking distance to Ambleside shops and restaurants but quiet of an evening. Would certainly recommend a stay here if you want to explore the lakes.

    Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria5.0Apr 2023

  • "Would itbe possible to add some smaller glasses in the kitchen for spirits?"

    This is honestly the only thing I felt could be added. Thank you for a wonderful stay, will be back soon.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board. We hope to welcome you back again Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely cosy cottage."

    Perfect for what we needed! Kitchen tap loose which needs looking at but still functioning. Would have been nice to have had some general bits in the cupboards I.e salt, pepper, larger washing up liquid etc that we usually get in other cottages we have stayed in but this did not impact our stay. Would definitely stay again.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steph3.8Jan 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay."

    It was nice to have a carpeted lounge floor as our dog finds wooden flooring uncomfortable and we normally have to take a pile of our own rugs. The kitchen was well fitted out though could do with a small non-stick frying pan and a sieve to drain rice (the holes in the collander were too big). The bed was quite narrow with soft edges, though otherwise quite comfortable. It was nice to have two settees in the lounge. Good to have a bath.

    Reviewed by Ranald5.0Dec 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fellside."

    The property suited us and we particularly enjoyed the small lawn to sit and enjoy the views on an evening. Positioned perfectly for walks and easy to get into Ambleside and very well equipped. We found the bed too hard which is personal preference. We wanted to hoover some cobwebs but found the hoover smelt very strongly of wet dog and there were no additional bags. Overall a very comfortable cottage in a perfect location.

    Reviewed by Aran4.4Jul 2022

  • "We booked this cottage one week before our departure date and i was surprised when it was available."

    On the positive side, we loved the location. 10 mins walk from the centre of Ambleside but tucked away in a quiet spot up on the hill. As other guests have stated, the TV was far too small for the living room so i couldn't watch it. On the plus side, the sofas were comfy, clean and the living room was a good size. The kitchen was fine apart from a few dead flies around the window. Remember to bring your own oven gloves too! Upstairs, the twin bedroom needs decorating and bits of paint were chipping off the walls in places which was unsightly. The biggest negative we had was the bathroom. It looks very new and could be lovely despite being small. However, there was lots of mould on the grout around the toilet and around the shower. It was very offputting. To make matters worse, the owner or cleaner had left a squiddgy to clean the shower and that was thick with mould too! In summary, if they removed all the mould, bought a bigger TV and gave the bedroom a lick of paint, it could be lovely. If those things were done, I'd definitely go back.

    Reviewed by Shania2.5May 2022

  • "The cottage is a lovely little place but is need of a deep clean and some redecoration."

    There are obvious damp issues in both the bathroom and double bedroom which need addressing. The tiles were turning black in various places and the ceiling had mould marks. There was a showers screen wiper which needed throwing as it too was black. I lost a tissue down the back of the bedside drawers and left it as it was so dirty I didn’t want to go there. We felt the whole cottage had a musty smell to it so regularly opened windows to give it a good airing. The lounge is comfortable and the kitchen is of excellent quality and had all the utensils needed to self cater. Our only gripe re the kitchen is there isn’t enough storage for any food products you might bring as most of the accessible cupboards are full. The double bed was very comfy, we didn’t use the twin room apart from to dress in and dry our hair etc. Our honest opinion is that we were glad there were only the two of us because to have 4 adults in the cottage would have been just far too cramped. Storage would have become a big issue. Location and the garden of the property was lovely. We didn’t mind the walk up from Ambleside as we’d done our research and are walkers. We didn’t let it spoil our holiday, we had a fab time we just probably won’t go back to the same property. I hope you find our constructive honest review of help. As some others have said it would also have been nice to have been left some sort, however small, of Welcome Pack.

    Reviewed by Debbie3.1May 2022

  • "Cosy cottage but somewhat tight for 4 particularly when eating and also for clothes storage and as others have said cupboard space in the kitchen for a weeks stay."

    Also agree with other comments about the TV size - far too small to watch comfortably. A few of these upgrades would make it a 4 star property as the location, gardens and views are all lovely and great to have parking

    Reviewed by Vicki3.1Apr 2022

  • "A lovely cottage and location."

    My only concern is that there was no coal or logs or kindling when we arrived. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Feb 2022

  • "The bedrooms would be better the other way round."

    Reviewed by Trevor4.4Dec 2021

  • "The cottage has brilliant heating and hot water for the cold month of December."

    The washing machine and heated clothes horse was a great bonus. The sofas were very comfortable and the shower and bath are fantastic. The sofas and beds were comfortable and the bedroom furniture had plenty of space for clothes for 2 people for a 2 week stay, but 4 people even for 1 week I think it would be a struggle. We have two small gripes, one is was the extremely small television. It took a couple of days for our eyes to adjust as it was so small (we are in our 30's and do not have bad eyes). Second hand larger TVs are easily/cheaply obtained and I would suggest to the owners to perhaps consider it. The TV also does not have any smart function but we remembered to bring a firestick so was able to access Netflix etc. The second gripe is that there was no essentials whatsoever provided in the kitchen in terms of even salt and pepper! No oil, tin foil/cling film, bin bigs, etc, you have to buy everything or remember to bring it all. A good selection of utensils are in the kitchen, Again, we read this in reviews so came prepared but such a lovely well equipped kitchen like this cottage has - great oven, great dishwasher etc is definitely let down by this. After reading previous reviews we already knew the garden was not fenced off, but our dog does not wander so it was fine for us. We didn't notice any carpet damage or decorating that needed to be done so I assume the owners have rectified this. The cottage is decorated to a good standard and is very cosy. The location is fabulous, a lovely quiet area in easy reach of the village centre. We will be returning!

    Reviewed by Will4.1Dec 2021

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Perfect for our purposes. Easy to heat. Comfortable beds. Great position. A decent welcome pack for basics and log burner would have been nice. Recommended.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Nov 2021

  • "Lovely property in a brilliant location."

    The house itself had everything we needed and it was great to have a good selection of kitchen utensils, books and dvds. The car parking is great which is rare in Ambleside. Only downsides were the welcome pack which contained minimal cleaning materials, lack of firewood (not even enough for 1 night) and owners stuff in wardrobes (it would be better in a locked cupboard). Pros definitely outweighed cons and we will be back.

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Oct 2021

  • "This is a comfortable cottage in a good location for walking into Ambleside, or on to surrounding fells."

    The cottage is small and cosy and was good for a family of four. There is a small garden outside, but not the weather for sitting out when we were there. Unfortunately when we arrived it was 8pm and the cottage was very cold and it took a while for the central heating to warm it up. Although there was a log burner and a couple of big logs, there was no kindling or firelighters to get a fire started, which was disappointing. I think the owners should leave a small starter kit for new guests. Also there was on 1 toilet roll in the house which I think is rather mean. It ran out by 12 noon the next day so our first trip was to the shops to buy loo roll. This is the first time I've ever stayed anywhere where they've only left a single loo roll and considering we paid almost £800 to stay in the cottage I think this is mean. Also a strange plaque in the kitchen which may be hard to explain to young teenagers. Think the owners need to be a bit more thoughtful.

    Reviewed by Karen3.8Oct 2021

  • "We had a lovely 2 week stay in this cottage."

    It was very well equipped although a dryer might be handy and somewhere to hang wet coats! We had an opportunity to view the adjoining holiday cottage which is also listed as 4 star and (in our opinion) was far superior in terms of space, facilities, decor and price. Perhaps a fairer rating of Fellside would be 3/4 star, although we wouldn't hesitate to stay again in the future or recommend! The added bonus for us was the large, well maintained garden with lovely views, parking and countless walks straight from the front door without the need to use your car for the full week if you prefer, and the neighbours were really friendly! Take note though, the steep bank from the town back to the cottage isn't for the feint hearted or infirm, aptly named 'the struggle'!

    Thanks for your feedback and we’re really glad you enjoyed your stay. There is a heated plug in dryer with cover in the spare bedroom that is brilliant for drying wet coats and clothes. So sorry you didn’t find it. We find it really useful when we have been on wet walks! The Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barry4.1Sep 2021

  • "We enjoyed our stay in fellside cottage."

    We had an issue with the kitchen tap leaking but was resolved very quickly after we reported it. A shelf or cabinet would of been useful in the bathroom to store toiletries. Other than that everything was good.

    Reviewed by Teresa4.1Sep 2021

  • "Really nice cottage in a lovely and really convenient location."

    Cottage is well equipped throughout with quick wifi, a well stocked kitchen (need to review how many items are there though, there isn't much free cupboard space) and freesat tv. Garden is a lovely space (not dog proof but not a major issue for us!) and perfect for sitting out in the sun. Bathroom is nice but just need to be careful with condensation. The property was let down by the beds. The pillows are awful and essentially not existent! Cleanliness also needs to be reviewed. There was an awful smell in the property when we first went in, there was dust on surfaces and we found an old receipt and ice cream tub under the sofa!! There is also an odd hole in the living room carpet! These points really let it down as everything else was great.

    Reviewed by Ben2.8Sep 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely, really cosy."

    Everything we needed was to hand. The garden was perfect, very dog friendly. The gates at the front of the property were easily closed to make garden secure for our dog. Would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Leanne5.0Aug 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely, absolutely perfect for us and very close to town and to the fells."

    Cottage was very well appointed with very useful touches like a heated drying rail which as you can imagine came in very handy!

    Reviewed by Thomas5.0Jul 2021

  • "Having read through some of the previous feedback on this cottage I can quite agree with some of them."

    I also felt short changed and some what disappointed with my stay at this cottage as it was lacking that feeling of luxury. This cottage looks tired already and needs some work and thought putting into it. The crack in the wall spoils an otherwise lovely modern bathroom. The double bed so uncomfortable we had to sleep in the two single beds all week. A total lack of basic information on the running and facilities of the cottage for example we had no idea what day the bins were to be emptied, where to put them and what was allowed in them. The garden is not dog proof or child proof if your car is parked outside the cottage as you can't close the gates and the small road outside is quite busy. This caused us to have a run in with one of the unfriendly neighbors. Use of the second parking space instead therefore might have been handy had we known where it was. I was also very disappointed with the response from Heart of the Lakes when I approached them regarding this issue. No information on the stove and no fuel for it. No room for your food in the cupboards as so much "stuff" in them. However, the cottage is in a lovely quiet spot about ten minutes walk from the town centre. It has a beautiful well tended garden with garden furniture where possibly a BBQ may be a welcome addition.

    Thank you for your feedback. The crack on the bathroom wall has been noted and will be rectified when we stay this summer. There is an A4 folder on the shelf in the lounge with all the information you mentioned - bins, operating instructions for all electrical items and the wood burner. The second parking space is clearly labelled 'Fellside' and is at the top of the drive. Sorry you found the bed uncomfortable but I'm afraid this is a personal choice. We do not state the garden is dog proof - we say we accept dogs. We take our dog and tie him to a long line. Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay The owners Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lindsay3.4Jun 2021

  • "A lovely quiet setting with easy reach to Ambleside."

    We enjoyed a pleasant stay and the cottage was clean and had all we needed. Very relaxing holiday in the Lakes. The cottage does need decorating and it would be wonderful if the front boundary was fenced to make the garden dog proof.

    Reviewed by Candyce3.8Jun 2021

  • "I don’t feel this was a 4star holiday and on arrival I felt short changed."

    I understand the owners of the cottage are new and they have a lot to learn within hospitality. After many years holiday in the uk this is the first cottage I have stayed in that is not welcoming. No bread, milk, bottle of wine or wood for the fire. The house is shabby and needs decorating, mould on the bathroom door and ceiling. Bathroom has a large crack on the wall. Walls need painting. In the lounge a square peice of carpet cut out in front of the sofa??? Decorations look like purchased with no consideration to furnish the house with style looks like hand me downs. Cobwebs and dead spiders hanging around everywhere. Main bedroom had no mattress protector. The mattress is dirty choose to sleep in the kids bedroom. Far to much cutlery, cups, plates etc so no cupboard space for food. So I wouldn’t recommend at all.

    We are so sorry you feel short changed. Heart of the Lakes manage our holiday cottage and their policy has never been to offer Welcome Baskets. The bathroom does not have a window, so we ask guests to use the extractor fan. If condensation builds up, it can cause one small area of paintwork to crack. We aim to respond to this during our next visit. We were not aware of any damage to the carpet and again we will inspect this. The Heart of the Lakes team have assured us that the apparent blemish to the carpet is fortunately small and no longer visible. Their cleaning supervisor has also inspected the property and found no cobwebs or spiders, and has ensured the main bedroom does have a mattress protector. We have just bought brand new cutlery and crockery in order to ensure guests have enough and don’t run out. We have also retained items that our many repeat customers value. As we aim to provide a kitchen containing what a holidaymaker would desire, we will continue to reflect upon what is best, striking a balance between crockery/utensils and available space. Thank you very much for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria3.4May 2021

  • "Limited parking."

    Garden could easily be made dog prove making it more relaxed for visitors who bring a dog.

    Response from owner - "We apologise that our second parking space was being used without our permission by a neighbour and we can assure you this will not happen again” Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roger4.1Apr 2021

  • "The property was so good we have booked it three times in a row!"

    Mr JohnstonDec 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin with tv (fire stick compatible only)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen Living/dining room with multi-fuel stove
  • Gas central heating, multi-fuel burning stove
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Nespresso machine
  • Smart TV, mini stereo system and DVD Player
  • DVDs, books and games
  • The Twin bedroom offers a TV compatible with a Fire Stick ( please note it is not compatible with live channels)
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot available
  • Private parking for two car
  • Secure bike storange for two bikes
  • One well behaved pet accepted
  • Sorry, no smoking

The property

This Grade II listed cottage dating from 1548, is one of the oldest recorded buildings in Ambleside, offering a truly unique setting for any escape to the Lake District.

Resting within a pretty hillside location just a stone’s throw away from the centre of the town, Felside Cottage is perfectly positioned with easy access to all local amenities throughout your stay and some good walking right from your doorstep.

Spend cold winter’s evenings in front of the charming gas fire and enjoy an abundance of entertaining movies on the sleek Smart TV.

Cook up a storm in the well-equipped kitchen and discover a wide range of handy appliances and utensils needed for a delicious feast.

Take the striking curved staircase up to the first floor and be welcomed by a large king-size bedroom boasting its very own en-suite, where you can indulge in a long afternoon soak in the roomy tub or a rejuvenating rinse under the shower.

Spend your days exploring the area with trips to the centre of Ambleside, home to a good selection of pubs, bars and restaurants, as well as a number of exciting attractions such as Stock Ghyll Force, Ambleside Roman Fort and the independent cinema of Zeffirellis.

Continue up to Rydal and Grasmere to see the former homes of English Poet William Wordsworth at Rydal Mount and Gardens and Wordsworth Grasmere, or why not take a trip to the vibrant town of Bowness-on-Windermere and discover the ever-popular world of Beatrix Potter and Blue Island Cruises.

Cross the waters to the west shore, where you can learn to paddleboard out on the lake or enjoy a scenic stroll to the 19th century fortress of Wray Castle.

With so much to keep you entertained, Felside Cottage is a spectacular choice for your next getaway to the Lake District.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

Travel cot available but no high chair.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute