Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outSave up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

23 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 43 View Larger Image
  • Eden House - Lake District - 13570 - photo 1

Eden House

Bardsea near Ulverston, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 13570)


Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 14

  • Bedrooms 6

  • Bathrooms 4

  • Pets No

  • Show on map


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Sauna
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

56 Customer Reviews

  • "We’ve just returned from a fantastic stay at Eden House, late July/early August, eight adults, two teens, four little ones aged eight to three."

    The house was absolutely perfect for all the family, the hot tub, sauna and the barbecue grill gave us all a lot of opportunities for outdoor leisure time, sitting in the hot tub watching the little farm animals grazing yards away, what’s not to enjoy! The lounge sofas are lovely and squishy, one in the games room too, it’s totally different and a much more pleasing layout than the photos show. Others have commented on the kitchen facilities, it really is simply brilliant, from layout to utensils, there’s everything - two tips, the right hand side of the oven gave us more flexibility for cooking and there’s a top pull out drawer for cutlery in the dishwasher. The washer and dryer are in the downstairs bathroom in the white cupboards, we found it best to use them separately rather than both at once. The owner (Ernst) and his maintenance man were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. It was a perfect holiday home for all of us, we left it as we found it, hopefully minimal cleaning was required, easily ready for others to enjoy much as we did. Thank you Eden House x

    Reviewed by EileenJul 2022

  • "Lovely house and grounds, the little farm was very sweet and staff friendly and helpful."

    The additional cabins in the grounds are very close to the house, wasn't an issue but we weren't sure who's area was whose and we couldn't 'book' the pizza oven so missed out which was a shame.

    thank you for your feedback. The little log cabins in the grounds is actually where we - the owners - stay when we are at the premises. And on occasions we have some friends there with us. And of course we respect the privacy of our guests. I am not quite sure around the point of the pizza oven as we actually do not have a pizza oven but a pre-fabricated stone barbecue as shown on the website and which of course is fully available to our guests at Eden House. Anyway, overall we are happy that these guests had a good time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichelleJul 2022

  • "The outside pictures are out of date and it is far more overgrown than shown, so there are no views and no pleasant outside seating areas."

    There was quite a lot of dust under the beds including an empty fruit shoot drinks bottle under one of the double beds. Mentioned to owner said they would have a word with the cleaners. We had to seek assistance as the upstairs shower overflowed and poured through the ceiling in downstairs bathroom. I was told that they have quite a lot of young ladies with long hair! They appear not to check them regularly. The toilet in the blue shower room leaked on the floor every time it was flushed. Despite the owner putting Mr Muscle in both upstairs showers the shower in the blue room leaked through the ceiling the following morning no idea where from. There were no instructions in the welcome pack as to where the washing machine and tumble dryer were, nor were there any instructions for the sauna. The Wi-Fi is virtually non existent and as a result we called the caretaker he advised we log in to Eden House and he sent the password this was not much better only able to be online for a few minutes at a time. I asked him where the washing machine and tumble dryer were located. He advised us to use the machines at Eden Lodge. On the day before we left we discovered what looks like two doors in the downstairs bathroom and there was the washing machine and tumble dryer! There are no cleaning products to encourage guests to clean. So overall we were disappointed.

    As the owner I am of course disappointed by this feedback. And sometimes it is not easy to distinguish where we are responsible and where communication went wrong and emotion come into play. The cleaning issue has already been highlighted to our cleaning provider, who also communicated to this guest on the cleaning equipment (available in the laundry room and underneath the staircase) and the location of the tumble dryer and washing machine. We recently put in a seperate and dedicated phone line for Eden House and it has ZEN broadband on it. Unfortunately we are in a rural location and the top speeds we get are between 18-24 MBps, obviously not much if you are used to full fibre. The drainage issue is of course never an easy one as some of our guests unfortunately have been flushing items down the drainage pipe where a jet is required. Our plumber has been informed but it usually takes a day or two to get this on site. The guest comment about lack of seating and lack of views is a very strange one, as the pictures on the website do it justice, and if anything we have improved things. So overall we hold up our hands for the things that go wrong, and address them as quickly and thoroughly we can. Other comments we feel are more related to the guest's own opinion . Fortunately, most of our guests have been very happy at Eden Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnneMay 2022

  • "Wood flooring very dirty , had to wash it over throught the whole house !"

    Thank you for your feedback. It is a real shame that you did not mention this when you called about the wifi , as we are always on hand to assist guests . We do pride ourselves on giving all our guests a great holiday experience. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PatriciaMay 2022

  • "Just spent 7 days at this lovely property."

    Our stay, outstanding, animals a great treat, owners made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. After a full day out we all enjoyed the hot tub and the fantastic sauna. Everything you need for a perfect holiday. Definitely book again. Area outstanding with plenty to do

    Well, it was a pleasure having you at Eden House. Things by their nature are never perfect but we try our best to give our guests the best possible experience by reacting quickly to issues and actually preempt them whenever we can. Our animals are all pets and we are happy that you enjoyed our little lambs as much as we do ourselves... Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilipApr 2022

  • "We had a brilliant time."

    The house was lovely . The hot tub was fab. Brilluant location Lovely setting Met the owners a couple of times tending the grounds A lovely couple

    Many thanks for this very nice review. We enjoyed chatting with these guests too. We do of course appreciate the lower score for cleanliness and have already raised this with our cleaning provider so that standards are really at the level where they should be. Anyway, we hope that all our future guests will have a similarly positive experience... Property Owner

    Reviewed by SharonApr 2022

  • "Lovely stay- nice house and location."

    Couple of issues- check in 4pm which is late- we arrived and the cleaners were still in and told us they would be 20 mins? At 4.40pm I went in and stated I was not willing to sit in the car any longer- so we started to unload while the cleaners finished. The standards were not great? Left over rubbish from previous guests and quite a lot of dust under beds on lights etc. microwave needs a good clean too.

    Thank you for this feedback even if it highlights cleaning related issues. Overall our experience with our new cleaning provider has been very positive but it is a people's business and sometimes things go wrong with individuals. This said I have highlighted these problems to the owner of the cleaning company and he will get to the bottom of what has happened and why so that we avoid any such feedback in the future, especially as feedback on Eden House in general has been very positive. Anyway, my apologies to this guest. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LynnFeb 2022

  • "Super property had everything that a family of 14 needed ..."

    Super property had everything that a family of 14 needed Great location made some lovely family memories Hope to go back soon

    Thank you for this very positive feedback. As a matter of fact in recent times we have made a number of improvements which are not yet reflected on the sykes website for Eden House. So, for example, the lounge has been completely restyled, new floors have been laid, and some decoration changed. But as always we will keep improving and react as quickly as possible if anything goes wrong... Property Owner

    Reviewed by MargaretJan 2022

  • "We have had this property booked for a family gathering for 18 months."

    It did not disappoint, the facilities were amazing, everyone had an amazing time. Comfy, clean and everything we needed.

    Reviewed by KaraJan 2022

  • "Had a lovely time, plenty of space, the twin rooms could do with a mirror in & more plug sockets or extension leads"

    Reviewed by HelenJan 2022

  • "The house is really lovely."

    Kitchen has everything you could possibly need. Can't find any faults and would love to stay there again. Thank you

    We are very happy to receive this feedback as it has been a challenging year for us with some severe challenges around our previous maintenance and cleaning providers...but we feel that with the improvements to the property we have made in recent times and our new cleaning contractors we are now on a positive trajectory and we will of course keep improving. And hopefully have many happy guests staying at Eden House in 2022. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JanetDec 2021

  • "We lost all internet on the Saturday which effected activities we wished to do for my 40th birthday and inside cupboards was dirty toothpaste rims in the bathroom cabinets etc."

    The house space and facilities was very good.

    We are sorry to hear about some of these cleaning issues but we have recently changed our cleaning and maintenance provider and hopefully we are now on top of these cleaning shortcomings. We have also made some other changes such as new furniture in the lounge, which we think looks and feels very good. The internet is of course always a challenge in a rural area, and we do the best we can. We are already with Zen which is one of the best providers. So hopefully Openreach will make progress with the telecom infrastructure... Property Owner

    Reviewed by FionaNov 2021

  • "The house is situated in a very nice location, size is very good allowing plenty of room for 9 adults and a baby, the farm animals are very cute and waking up to the sound of Cockerells reminds you your in the countryside, Private hot tub and sauna were great."

    A few minor points late check in, wifi is very hit and miss, mould and damp smell in the house and prominent in the downstairs rooms with mouldy blinds and cushions. The beds were quite hard also and not to everyone's taste. Have made the owner aware upon leaving so hopefully these are all rectified.

    Owner comment: We of course aplogise for the issues around mould and damp smell, and we have since then departed company from our previous cleaning provider and things have been rectified. Unfortunately we live in an area where the wifi signal is not the strongest, but generally it meets the needs of our guests and our internet provider, ZEN, is one of the best and most reliable providers in the market place. We haven’t had many complaints about our beds, so this of course depends on personal taste, but we can provide foam toppers if needed. I am the owner of the property and Daniel did not actually talk to me upon leaving, but be that as it may. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DanielOct 2021

  • "The house wasn't as secluded as the description made it appear."

    It was in very close proximity to other chalets. Two of the bedrooms smelled of damp and the blinds and walls were mouldy. The WiFi was almost non existent. The floors didn't appear to have been thoroughly cleaned before our arrival. There wasn't much insulation between the floors as people walking around upstairs could be heard downstairs.

    Thank you for your feedback. Since your stay we have changed our cleaning provider, so any issue around cleanliness, damp and mould have been rectified. We live in an area where the BT Openreach infrastructure is probably not at its best, so our internet speed is around 15-25 MBps which of course is not suitable for too many movie downloads and gaming but usually meets the needs of our guests. It is true that in the living room you can hear people walking in the kitchen, although this has never been a major issue with any of our guests and this is indeed probably the first review where this has come up. Thank you again for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JaneSep 2021

  • "This place is very nice it has everything you need."

    Best cottage I have ever stayed at. The BBQ was amazing hot tub and Sauna was a highlight. We would stay here again most definitely and also I will recamond my friends and family to stay at EDEN HOUSE LA 12 Lake District.

    Reviewed by RasikSep 2021

  • "This place is amazing it has everything you need."

    The kitchen is well stocked with every utensil you can think of. Lounge area was a great size and had a large smart tv. The bedrooms were a great size too. There was 10 adults and one child under sixteen so there was enough rooms for every one. But the piece de resistance was the Hot tub, it was the best hot tub I’ve ever been in. The only negatives was the WiFi wasn’t good. And the cockerels waking you up very early in the morning but if you are a morning person you will not need to set your alarm clock. But loved all the Animals within the grounds. If you asked me would we stay here again most definitely. Although we have stayed in different parts of the Lake District we have never stayed in Ulverston it was a pleasant surprise. Love every minute of our stay at Eden house and we’ll definitely be returning.

    Reviewed by CarolineSep 2021

  • "Eden house was very comfortable & had everything you could need the staff we met were excellent & proprietor Ernst was very friendly & accommodating, the only issue we had was the down stairs bedrooms were very damp & the dehumidifiers had to be emptied every night as they were full of water."

    Reviewed by AndrewSep 2021

  • "Honestly one of the best cottages I have ever stayed at."

    Had pretty much everything a hotel would plus more. The BBQ was amazing, hot tub was a highlight. The games room perfect for wet days.

    Reviewed by AniesJul 2021

  • "The listing could have been more detailed and should have included a floor plan as we had no idea how many bathrooms the property had before we got there, other than that the house suited our needs perfectly and we had a lovely holiday."

    Reviewed by NeilJun 2021

  • "The cottage is very beautiful and makes you feel at home."

    The kitchen was amazing had everything we needed. The cottage was clean and met all expectations made us feel very relaxed. Lovely decor and facilities. The hot tub was great to use. Met the owner who is a great person, very understanding and can tell he takes pride and care of the place.

    Reviewed by MJun 2021

  • "House was in a great location and we had a pleasant stay, but it was dirty, found things under the beds from past guests, food down the sofas, dirt and cobwebs behind things."

    Rug was filthy and underneath it too! Hotub didn’t seem to have any cleaning stuff in and wasn’t really useable after a couple of days. Needs to be explained more clearly that it’s literally a couple of metres from log cabins in the garden, and people walking through/past your outdoor space. Animals are a nice touch, and the garden is lovely. The owner and people who run the house were nice. The house was well equipped, and we had a nice holiday, just a shame about the cleanliness especially with Covid!

    “Throughout the stay of Mrs Wandsworth’s party at Eden House we have had extensive exchange with this guest and her party, which Mrs Wandsworth expressed by her statement that “the owner and the people who run the house were nice”. In fact, we went out of our way to accommodate special requests made by this client. So it is very disappointing that Mrs Waterworth did not mention any of her observations to us or showed us where exactly we were falling short of her expectations. As the owner I actually went through the house and inspected it before Mrs Waterworth and her party arrived, and it was anything but dirty. But be that as it may, we will make sure that none of our future guests will have complaints over cleanliness.” Property Owner

    Reviewed by SarahMay 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed a 3 night stay at Eden House."

    Very clean, cosy and comfortable. Loved the kitchen, it had everything you could possibly need! The table tennis gave us hours of fun and hot tub was great! Will definitely return :)

    Reviewed by RuhenaMay 2021

  • "Beautiful location as we wanted to walk up scafel pike and it was a lovely house to accommodate 13 of us."

    It would have been nice to be supplied with more than one toilet roll per bathroom and also with enough wood for the sauna for our 3 nights there, or at least the option to purchase more on site instead of having to try to find some at shops (which we failed to do!) When we first arrived I spent 30 minuets trying to get in touch with Skyes as I has wanted the twin beds made in to doubles (I had requested this a week prior to arrival and was advised that this would be fine) but this hadn't been done. I was passed on to 3 different departments but after being on hold for half an hour I gave up as the couple's could see how stressed I was getting and said they didn't mind sleeping in separate beds.

    Reviewed by CarlaSep 2020

  • "I love this place so so much."

    Its my third time staying at this beautiful, tranquil house. I will always try to stay here as much as possible in the future. Clean, spacious, beautifully presented and decorated and a hot tub, sauna and ping long table! It was hard to leave the house and see the sights! Not forgetting the hens, goats ans pigs in the garden to meet and help feed on a morning. Adults love it, kids love it. Perfect place to stay

    Reviewed by HannahAug 2020

  • "Lovely house with facilities to match but missing some small items."

    - with kids we really needed pizza stones but to be fair there were pans of all sizes available - items such as a rolling pin would also be of use - like I said only minor items Previous stay at another house included a small welcome pack that covered the time until our shopping arrived - nice touch !! - fortunately we didn't have to wait long What wasn't apparent is how close to the other property you are - no issues as we didn't have any problems (hopefully we were not to them) but we were close to the 'retreats' that are in use - again not a serious issue There is indeed a pond which is clearly mentioned - small and not deep but our 5 year old found it within the first hour !!! overall facilities were very good - everybody loved the hot tub and sauna and the people looking after the property (Nicola and Keith?) couldn't have been more helpful - plenty of reading material available Plenty of parking even if there are quite a number of guests on site - close to the beach and the walks are excellent We mark down slightly on cleanliness as on our 'sweep' of the property before leaving we found socks under one of the beds and they were not ours Definitely recommend this property though

    Reviewed by ChristineAug 2020

  • "Just got back from our stay here had a lovely time with family and friends, ..."

    Just got back from our stay here had a lovely time with family and friends, everything here on hand for all ,hot tub was a fab bonus

    Reviewed by SusanJul 2020

  • "On entering the property it was very cold."

    the heating was not working anywhere in the property therefore i called the maintenance team who came to the property and after looking at the boiler he assured us that it would work. after an hour the radiators were not as hot as they should be so we contacted them again. we were given an small electric heater for 1 bedroom as the radiator was cold and 1 for the lounge. there were 3 children staying here and it is not acceptable. the blind at the window in a ground floor bedroom had slats missing and no curtain so to try and maintain privacy a towel was put up at the window. all of the sofas in the lounge were disgusting , there was food and debris between every one of the seat cushions. we have taken photographs and we had to hoover it up ourselves due to the smell. the blind at the window on the stairs was broken. there was a lot of mould on the walls in the downstairs bathroom. i would like some feedback from yourselves regarding our complaint. we are very disappointed with the issues that we have stated.

    Many thanks for your feedback of which the owner was very sorry to hear and his response and apologies have been sent to you directly. I understand that the property will have a new cleaning company in place moving forward and if you had contacted the owner/Sykes during your stay the owner would have arranged for a cleaner to re-attend. Thank you again for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SharonMar 2020

  • "Great property, spotlessly clean, well equipped."

    Just perfect as great weekend enjoyed by all of us.

    Reviewed by NicolaMar 2020

  • "What a fantastic place for the 13 of us to stay for my sisters 50th birthday celebration."

    The house was fabulous and I have to be picky to find fault so here goes. The downstairs bedroom window blinds had 3 slats missing and although the window didnt face anywhere public, we were aware of it given that there were 5 children were around the place. We took our own sharp knives to prep food and we were glad we did! Beware the sloping window sill in the games room...glasses slip off! But really, if you want a fantastic venue for a big group that is extremely clean and comfortable, this is it.

    Reviewed by MichaelFeb 2020

  • "Lovely location and lovely property."

    One cleanliness comment - we found broken glass on the floor in the table tennis room. This could have been a disaster as there was small children with us, luckily one of the adults spotted it before anything happened.

    As the owner of Eden House I take this incident extremely seriously as the safety of my guests is our top priority. The maintenance company has been alerted to this negligence, and I have been assured that this will not happen again and extra care will be taken from now on. I will of course monitor this very closely. I am of course very happy that apart from this incidence you enjoyed their stay at Eden House. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ErinFeb 2020

  • "Everything about the house was perfect"

    Reviewed by DavidJan 2020

  • "Difficult to find in the dark, I think there are some spot lights at the end of the drive that don't work."

    Really well equipped kitchen, the only thing I brought from home that I ended up using were my roasting tins and sharp knives. Having the kitchen above the living room worked well as the bedrooms were then quite quiet for people going to bed at different times. Beds were super comfy. The hot tub and sauna were a big hit. Be aware there are no shops within walking distance but Ulverston is only a very short drive.

    Reviewed by DebbieDec 2019

  • "The location the accommodation excellent ..."

    The location the accommodation excellent Some bullet points 1- room 1 the radiator did not work 2- some bedrooms had no mirror 3- one plate was broken at the bottom of pile(I left note for cleaner} Above all the house was of excellent standards and will defiantly book again

    Reviewed by GeraldineNov 2019

  • "Beautiful house in a stunning setting!"

    Very well equipped kitchen and comfortable beds. I would definitely return and recommend! The only area of improvement is with regards to the decorative ridges on the kitchen table. Can they please be sanded down a little. A number of us caught our elbows on the ridges and cut the skin. Easily resolved !

    Reviewed by LindaSep 2019

  • "Having sufficient space for everyone."

    Our party included young and old, 13 in total, and it was great that we could all seat down around the one table at mealtimes. There was a safe space for the children to play in the grounds. All the cupboards were labelled as to what was in them this made it so easy to find stuff. Loved the keycode door lock. Not having to remember keys was great and it meant we could all come and go as we pleased. Fantastic time was had by all.

    Reviewed by JoanMay 2019

  • "The sauna and hot tub are a great feature of this property."

    The surrounding area is quiet with low level walks from the door. A couple of minor housekeeping issues e.g no cafetiere, 2 missing light bulbs which brought to the the attention of the maintenance team who are friendly & responsive when around.

    Reviewed by SueMay 2019

  • "We have visited Eden house twice now so obviously we love it."

    Extremely comfortable. Lots of room for an extended family of 15. The only thing missing were egg cups. Ground staff very friendly and helpful. Hopefully we will be back next year.

    Reviewed by SueApr 2019

  • "Eden House was perfect for our family holiday."

    There was plenty to keep us occupied in the area, and the property had everything we needed. There was plenty of space, and things like the table tennis and hot-tub were particularly welcome. We would definitely recommend the property to anyone looking for a large property in an excellent location.

    Reviewed by KathrynApr 2019

  • "We had a fabulous weekend, we have done many of these types of breaks and felt the quality and range of items provided especially in the kitchen where great, Including the very clean cooker and fridge and the provision of dishwasher tablets and cleaning items."

    The beds where comfy and high quality duvets provided. However a few minor improvements would make it fantastic. Prosseco flutes Better/brighter light bulbs in bedrooms Larger mirrors near plugs in bedrooms especially for a large group of girls like us! We couldn't use the sauna as only one firelighter block was available and the logs where damp so couldnt get the fire started, so if this could be lit just before arrival would make all the difference The house heating being turned up on morning of arrival as we arrived and was only 14 degrees and due to size of the house it was quite cold especially with storm eric blowing, i must note we did find a couple of additional heaters and they did help warm the main rooms but not enough for all the bedrooms. I would however highly recommend and re visit eden house x

    Reviewed by DawnFeb 2019

  • "We all had a fabulous time celebrating my wife's surprise 60th birthday weekend."

    We would love to return in the future and allow ourselves more time to explore further. To concur with other comments about Eden house there really needs to be lighting along the pathway to the hot tub. It is very dark and difficult to see in the winter months when night sets in early. This would be such a simple job of having a single spotlight from above with a motion sensor that only comes on when people are near or simple pathway lighting. The house was very cold when we arrived and as temperatures had been hovering just above freezing it wasn't as inviting as it could have been. Some of the radiators weren't working properly and therefore some of the rooms were proving difficult to heat. We phoned the Sykes office and maintenance arrived fairly quickly. The issue couldn't be resolved and so he returned with three electric heaters which fixed the problem in the colder rooms. From then on we all had a comfortable and fulfilling long weekend. We would definitely recommend Eden House.

    Reviewed by MarkFeb 2019

  • "Amazing! The house was beautiful."

    Can’t wait to book with yourselves for our next adventure!

    Reviewed by RachaelJan 2019

  • "The house was beautiful and there was everything you needed to enjoy your stay, the location was perfect."

    The only thing that let it down was that some of the heating downstairs did not work, making it colder and giving it a damp smell as you walk in, however this did not take any enjoyment out of our stay and we would definitely go back.

    Reviewed by MairiDec 2018

  • "Eden House was better than we could have imagined."

    The grounds were beautiful which was a lovely surprise as we had not expected this. We would definitely recommend Eden House to others. We had a great weekend.

    Reviewed by VictoriaSep 2018

  • "The cottage was lovely, the facilities were brilliant, just one problem the dishwasher was not working and when there’s a bunch of ladies the last thing we want to do is wash up."

    We would definitely recommend the cottage for large families who like to walk. Ulverston town couple of miles away, very pretty good pubs..

    Reviewed by DianeSep 2018

  • "The property is very good and we are happy with it very much."

    There are two things that would be make it even better - if the doors didn't slam and if the kitchen floorboards were made to be quieter. I'm sorry to say that my experience with Sykes was not a good experience for the following reasons. I emailed you because I was not clear how to get into the property and was sent the same original email which has unclear instructions for how to get into the property. When i contacted you again with the same request, you replied in the same manner. When I tried phoning the number on this email, they told me they didn't deal with the property and told me to call you. When I called you the lady at your office said since it was after 6pm she would get back to me the next day. She never did I phoned the next day and someone else said they would get back to me. They never did. I phoned again later on in the day and the lady at your office called the number that you hand out and they said that someone would be there to meet me at the property. When I asked the lady at your office if someone would definitely be there to meet me to let me in, she said she couldn't be absolutely sure that would happen. I phoned this number again to make sure someone would be there to meet me, they then said there is a code and gave it to me. Then I got a message later on again with the code. There were 13 other people on their way to the property by this time and in amongst the busy day, at the very last minute because of the errors from your office, I had to try to get in touch with everyone to let them know how to enter the property. This was time consuming and utterly unprofessional for a company that looks so professional on your website. The second issue was, I emailed you twice about someone camping on th property grounds. I wouldn't have exceeded the maximum number of people staying at the property but I just wanted to check this would be acceptable to have someone camping. In response to both emails I had sent, you clearly hadn't read my email and gave an answer that failed to answer my question which again wasted mine and your time.

    Reviewed by TessaJul 2018

  • "The lodge was lovely and comfortable."

    Reviewed by VijyaJun 2018

  • "We had a lovely weekend , everything better than we expected , only complaint is that there were no fire lighters for the sauna , apart from that everything was perfect and we will be returning !"

    Reviewed by NicolaMay 2018

  • "Great house with beautiful grounds and a nice wee pub up the road ."

    The place was spotless and Jacuzzi was perfect.

    Reviewed by BeckyMay 2018

  • "House was really comfortable and well equipped for our party of 11."

    Excellent location and facilities.

    Reviewed by MichaelApr 2018

  • "Was absolutely fabulous loved it"

    Reviewed by BeverleyMar 2018

  • "I think it would be more helpful to have more lighting around the hot tub, it is rather difficult to see where you are walking in the dark."

    Reviewed by LisaMar 2018

  • "The property was a good size and had everyting we needed for our short stay."

    However one of the main draws of the property was the sauna which we were very disappointed to see we couldn't get to work. The instructions left by the property mentioned complementary wood for the burner which we could not locate. I then had to call the company who manage the booking who stated it was no longer available. We went to buy more wood but again the instructions were lacking and we couldn't get it to light properly despite many attempts. I think as this is such a key feature of the property that is very unique I would say more could be done to make sure visitors know how to use this easily. The kitchen was a great space to all hang out, cook and talk, definitely the best room of the house. The hot tub was great!

    Reviewed by NicolaJan 2018

  • "We stayed at Eden House for a long weekend as a birthday treat."

    The house itself was lovely with plenty of space throughout the house and the grounds. There is plenty of parking too. The hot tub in the garden was pefect. There was enough things to do within the house for everyone to do their own thing. A couple of my party complained their beds weren't very comfy, however I think the majority were satisfied. I would also maybe suggest having some spare toilet rolls and kitchen rolls as we ran out. Overall it was a fab weekend and I would definitely consider booking again.

    Reviewed by LaurenJan 2018

  • "The gardens are beautiful and the pictures and description on the website really didn't do it justice!"

    We were blown away with how lovely the grounds are

    Reviewed by StacySep 2017

  • "We booked house for my wife's 40 th birthday ."

    Everyone enjoyed the house and location . The only downside was the hot tub was not working but a smaller tub was provided . Fantastic will book again

    Reviewed by MartinJan 2017

  • "Had an excellent holiday everything was at the cottage to keep all ages entertained thank you"

    Reviewed by JamesAug 2016

Show more


  • Six bedrooms: GROUND FLOOR has 3 bedrooms , 3x single beds, 2x single beds, 1x super king bed that can be made up as 2 x single beds on request, FIRST FLOOR has 3 bedrooms, 1x king bed, 2x single beds, 1 x Family room 1 x king and 1 x single, with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC, Ground floor basin and WC
  • First floor basin and WC, First floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • First floor kitchen with dining area (also accessed by external wooden staircase)
  • Sitting room with gas fire leading to conservatory/summer room with table tennis
  • Roofed hot tub
  • Wood-fired sauna in external hut.
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Gas range cooker with 6-ring hob, electric double oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, radio/CD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack of firewood for sauna inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Small landscaped garden area with furniture and BBQ
  • Access to grounds and woodland
  • Private, luxury roof-covered hot tub
  • Large wood-fired sauna in external hut
  • Ample off road parking
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shops and pubs 1 mile
  • Note: Please confirm with the owner if you would like the zip/link beds made up as doubles at least 14 days prior to your arrival
  • Note: Hot tub unavailable from 4pm on Thursdays for weekly cleaning/maintenance
  • Note: Unfenced ponds in grounds, children to be supervised
  • Note: No stag or hen parties at this property
  • From 27/1/2022 some of the utility needs of the property are met by a provider who sources their energies from renewable sources and is carbon neutral., this process will be completed by around the middle of 2022
  • All waste is already collected, then checked and separated by our waste disposal provider and the highest degree of recycling is thus assured

The property

A spacious detached cottage in the landscaped grounds of Eden Lodge, a country house on the outskirts of Bardsea, one mile from the traditional Lakeland market town of Ulverston and a short walk from Ulverston Golf Course.

Set in beautiful, mature parkland overlooking Morecambe Bay, this Bardsea cottage provides an ideal base for families and groups of friends to get together and enjoy the beautiful Furness Peninsula and its attractions.

There is a spacious sitting room in this Bardsea cottage, with an adjoining conservatory/summer room and doors to a private garden.

There is also a spacious master bedroom with en-suite shower room; a further five well laid-out bedrooms and an unusual first floor farmhouse-style kitchen with large table and a small wooden balcony area.

Offering country living at its best, this Bardsea cottage provides that little bit of extra luxury with its own private, roofed outdoor six-seater hot tub and a large wood-fired hexagonal sauna.

The beach is a leisurely ten minute walk away from this Bardsea cottage, and the Manjushri Buddhist Temple and its beautiful wooded grounds are close by, whilst Ulverston Golf Club is also just a few minutes' walk away.

The festival town of Ulverston is just one mile away from this cottage in Bardsea, with its many pubs, restaurants and bi-weekly market, while the sandy beaches of the Furness coast, and Coniston, with its mountain biking, climbing and watersports are just a short drive away.

An excellent holiday base with a touch of luxury.

Note: This property is in the grounds of Ref. 918339, together they sleep 39.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location


Ulverston 2 miles.

Set on a hill looking across to Morecambe Bay is the small village of Bardsea. This remote area grew from a small fishing village and farming area into a major transportation link for coal, iron ore and corn. No longer a vital port, Bardsea still retains its fishing heritage, and features a pub serving fine ales and good food. The village is close to spectacular Furness Abbey, while the ancient market town of Ulverston is just 2 miles away, and still has a street market every Thursday and Saturday, plus many festivals throughout the year, including an amazing lantern procession in September and a superb Dickensian weekend in early December. With all the attractions of the Lake District National Park, beaches and good birdwatching of the Furness coast close by, this peaceful and quiet area has plenty to offer.

Region Information

Note: Strictly no stag or hen parties

Note: Unfenced ponds in grounds, children to be supervised.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas