Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • Honister Cottage - Lake District - 1041101 - photo 1
close

Honister Cottage

(Ref. 1041101)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.5

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 3 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (15)
  • no (10)
  • lovely (10)
  • great (9)
  • location (9)
  • honister (9)

22 Customer Reviews

  • "A wonderful stay yet again at Honister cottage."

    Warm and welcoming. Two en suite bedrooms, a comfortable lounge with great views, a well equipped kitchen and spacious dining area. Sadly local pub closed but hopefully will re- open. Buses at the bottom of the road run to Kendal, Windermere, Ambleside and Coniston so very convenient. Have already booked for next year. Thank you. Rev Idris Vaughan

    Reviewed by Idris5.0Nov 2023

  • "Yet again e we had a great stay in honister cottage it has to be our favourite one setting location and cottage it self fantastic we are going back ."

    Also just a quick note to the cleaner who cleaned cottage on are arrival was excellent

    Reviewed by John5.0Oct 2023

  • "I WAS DISAPOINTED TO HAVE TRAVELLED 6 HOURS AND NOT EVEN A PINT OF MILK IN THE FRIDGE!"

    WHEN WE ENTERED THE PROPERTY WE WERE MET WITH A REALLY FUSTY SMELL WHICH WE NOTICED STAINED CEILINGS IN BOTH DINING ROOM AND KITCHEN WHICH WAS VERY OFF PUTTING AND NOT WELCOMING. WE JUST DIDNT GET THE FEEL FOR THE PROPERTY WHICH WAS A SHAME - JUST TO REMOTE FOR US AND THE PUB BEING CLOSED DIDNT HELP EITHER. WE CAME HOME EARLY ON TUESDAY.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you experience at Honister Cottage was not what you expected. We will make our Maintenance Team aware of your comments. Welcome packs are not always provided as the property is self catering. Thank you- The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen3.1Sep 2023

  • "Overall a lovely property in a great location."

    However, there are some areas that need some maintenance. The kitchen ceiling has clearly suffered water damage and the artex is actually looking as though it is likely to come away in the area as you enter the kitchen. It looks as though there is possibly some water seeping through. The ceiling halfway down the stairs is showing signs of damp. although this was there last year. Some paint would improve it. Finally, why has the ability to use the catch up feature on the Sky box been disabled, It worked fine in October. We were most disappointed about that (even worse it took several chats with your help desk to find out that that was the problem)

    Thank you for your feedback. We will ask our Maintenance team to look into the issue with the kitchen and stairs ceiling. We take your comments on board. Thank you- The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike3.8Jul 2023

  • "Our fourth visit to Honister Cottage."

    We have booked again for next year. Perfect property for us and the added bonus of lovely views and privacy. Nice pub nearby does good food and walks on the doorstep. Near a bus stop so can get about without the need to always take the car.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jun 2023

  • "A fantastic holiday in a lovely cottage(couldn't fault it , in anyway)with marvelous views including Latterbarrow."

    I was born near here many years ago and it was a pleasure to go back.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by J5.0May 2023

  • "Cottage is comfortable but needs updating."

    WiFi is very patchy!! And also needs updating. Otherwise we love the cottage and it's location. We probably will not go again until the above has been rectified.

    Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn3.1Apr 2023

  • "Honister is a lovely cottage far better then the very good you list its more like excellent."

    Had a lovely say with fabulous views only one downside weather was awful.

    Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and that you were able to enjoy the views (even in the rain!) We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Mar 2023

  • "When we arrived at "Honister "."

    .what a welcoming sight....The views were amazing and everyday we opened the curtains in the lounge it was still gorgeous to look at ...the cottage was perfect in everyway possible... Everything we wanted was there...we could not fault it in anyway at all...we will be definitely booking again here ..A beautiful place to stay...and as always the Lake District did not disappear....so many places to visit and hawkhead is only 2 and Half miles away ..

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Feb 2023

  • "Well appointed property."

    Very comfy bed, we both slept well. We liked the property and location so much we have just booked it again!

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Oct 2022

  • "We just love honister cottage it is are 3rd time there everything you need ..."

    We just love honister cottage it is are 3rd time there everything you need there out look view is heaven we will be back

    Reviewed by John5.0Oct 2022

  • "The property was beautifully located for a peaceful stay."

    It had everything we could wish for in terms of facilities.The welcome packs for cleaning and tea and coffee were useful. Lovely to have a bath and a shower available for use. Unfortunate that you were not able to recycle.I took my bottles and cardboard down to the pub car park rather than put them in with the general rubbish.

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Aug 2022

  • "Think it should be mentioned that downstairs bedroom is very small."

    Reviewed by Carol3.4May 2022

  • "Wonderful cottage and location."

    Great place to base yourself out of in the southern lakes region

    Reviewed by Nancy4.7Apr 2022

  • "Lovely property with nice layout, furnishings and decor."

    Ideal location for walks into Hawkshead and beyond. Bus stop and great pub nearby ticks all our boxes and secure parking. Enjoyed it so much we have rebooked another week in October.

    Reviewed by Susan4.1Feb 2022

  • "We love Honister cottage just had a great week it is the third time there love it we will be back 2022"

    Reviewed by John4.7Oct 2021

  • "This is our second visit to Honister cottage and we can’t wait to visit again."

    The location is so lovely and peaceful yet only a very short walk from the Outgate Inn (which serves food) and a short drive from Ambleside.The village of Hawkshead.is a delightful 35/40 min walk from the cottage. The cottage itself is well furnished ,well equipped,comfortable and clean. We have no hesitation in recommending this property.

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Sep 2021

  • "We had a great stay- the cottage is very well placed for several walks from the doorstep."

    We especially loved Tarn Hows, a stunning 3 mile walk away. There is a bus stop with a hourly service at the end of the road and we enjoyed the Outgate Inn and a drink at the Drunken Duck. The accommodation itself is spacious and light and we appreciated the washing machine! Comfortable beds and excellent showers. All in all thoroughly recommended as a base to explore this fabulous part of the world.

    Reviewed by Mandy4.7Jul 2021

  • "The description of the cottage was optimistic in some respects."

    However in all important respects it was excellent.

    Reviewed by Peter4.4May 2021

  • "We love this cottage and have stayed here 3 times now."

    I would like to tell you that the guttering outside the kitchen window is leaking very badly from a joint and is likely to cause rising damp. The freezer door is very difficult to open and the kitchen ceiling is badly cracked and likely to start coming off soon. Please accept this as helpful information as we love this cottage and want to see it maintained to its previous high standard. We had a lovely week and walked miles. The pub is just at the end of the road and good for pub grub and they are very friendly. All in all a great week.

    Reviewed by Carole4.7May 2021

  • "We have stayed in this lovely cottage three times now & will stay there again, we love the location great for walkers, very quite, lovely views, we like the layout & decor, just wish it was ours."

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0May 2021

  • "Honister Cottage is compact, but beautifully furnished and appointed."

    It is warm and cosy and equipped with everything you could possibly want. The wood burning stove in the sitting room is run on gas, which we hadn’t realised, so we didn’t need the logs we had brought from home, but it was a lovely feature to enjoy and provided instant heat on top of the very efficient central heating. Both the bathrooms were lovely with excellent showers. The location of the cottage is very good, and the pub, just a hundred yards down the road would be another asset, had it not had to close its doors due to the pandemic. The views from the front windows were lovely and we did not feel overlooked at all by the neighbouring properties. The two bedrooms are quite small, but the beds were very comfortable. It was a bonus that the second bedroom, whilst specified for only one person, actually had a double bed. Unfortunately we can to cut our holiday short, due to the region going from tier 2 to tier 4 midway through our stay, but the owner gave us a refund for the unused nights. Honister cottage has lots to commend it, and is ideal for a couple who like a beautiful quiet environment with lots of walks out from the front door, and many places to visit by car, when the pandemic restrictions are lifted.

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Dec 2020

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • Two Bedrooms: 1 x first floor king-size double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x double (single occupancy only) with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar
  • Sitting room with gas fire and TV
  • Dining room
  • Gas central heating, with gas 'logburner' style stove, electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Sky TV with Sky Sports, WiFi
  • Two private parking spaces
  • Shared enclosed garden with private patio / terrace
  • Sorry, no pets
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub short stroll
  • Note: No babies or children under the age of 12
  • Please do not charge electric vehicles from the mains in the property as this is a fire risk

The property

Honister Cottage is located in Outgate, a tranquil village within easy reach of Ambleside and Hawkshead.

Combining a traditional stone exterior with a modern and stylish interior, Honister Cottage is a charming Lakeland residence with breathtaking views across the fells. Step through a Lakeland stone porch with space for walking gear and you’ll find yourself in a bright dining area with stylish feature wall.

The sumptuous living room provides the perfect space to relax with Sky Sports in front of a cosy fire after a day walking on the fells.

The self-catering property also contains a well-equipped kitchen with social breakfast bar.

The ground floor also features the first of the properties two bedrooms, an en-suite double (let as a single only).

On the first floor you’ll find a contemporary king-size double with fresh en-suite. Honister Cottage has an enviable furnished patio with views so spectacular you won’t want to leave. Forming part of the select Bracken Fell development, this beautiful cottage is in a peaceful location.

The traditional Outgate Inn is within walking distance whilst an array of eateries and shops can be quickly reached by car in Ambleside and Hawkshead.

Scenic walks are a plenty in this part of the Lake District with Tarn Hows, Easdale Tarn and the Langdale Pikes a short drive away. Book today and enjoy a relaxing stay in a contemporary country cottage within easy reach of two of the regions most loved villages.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

AMBLESIDE

Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

No babies or children under 12 years of age.