Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 14 View Image Gallery
  • Burrow Cottage - Lake District - 1041872 - photo 1

Burrow Cottage

(Ref. 1041872)

Bowness, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (20)
  • stay (14)
  • well (12)
  • everything (10)
  • our (9)
  • no (9)

22 Customer Reviews

  • "This holiday cottage is perfect, well presented with everything necessary for a comfortable stay."

    The only problem is road noise as the cottage is situated so close to a busy road. The tall trees and bushes screen the cottage and garden from the road but also make it feel a little 'hemmed in'. The property next door is in poor condition and is side on to the garden. It also spoils the overall feel of the garden.

    Reviewed by Lawrence5.0Jun 2024

  • "Disappointed with the stay overall."

    While the cottage is very good looking, and it was clean and well stocked, it could be frustrating to stay in. The only methods of heating were the storage heaters which despite the instructions given were not easy to use and only seemed to come on when we didnt particularly need it, especially the evening. When they were on, they took a long time to heat. And the wood burning fireplace, which went out very quickly and we ran out of wood. Due to this a lot of evenings were quite cold. The bed was lovely, but the couches were not particularly comfortable. The parking instructions were not entirely clear, and we parked in a small parking spot beside the garage after misunderstanding the instructions which said "in front of the garage". The owner confronted us on this and we were more than happy to move but before we could finish explaining the misunderstanding, he cut us off very rudely. I understand we made a slight error, but it was no way to approach it with guests. Every appliance from the heaters, to the towel warmer, to all of the kitchen appliances were not switched on, so our night was spent trying to find how to actually get all of our facilities on, some of the sockets more hidden than others. Unfortunately I would not stay here again, as I have had better experiences in other cottages in the area, for similar prices.

    Hi Connor, Sorry you were a little disappointed with the cottage , the storage heaters should be set to come on in the morning and evening, but there is an override button. It is clear however, I need to do some clearer instructions, which I will take on board . The log burner is new and is a very efficient way of heating the cottage, but I will check it this weekend. As far as the parking, for the record it was not myself who you spoke to, it must have been my neighbour, who owns that bit next to my garage. Paul owner of Burrow Cottage Property Owner

    Reviewed by Connor3.8Jun 2024

  • "Very disappointed with our stay overall."

    It could have been amazing as the cottage is in a great location and ideal for what we needed. Looks very nice from first appearances etc. The owners have thought about all the items that will be needed so the kitchen etc was well stocked. The bed was very comfy but one of the sofas in the living room was not so made it difficult to relax on an evening. Unfortunately, when we arrived we got an overwhelming smell of paint in the entrance porch. We later discovered this was probably to hide all the mould that was appearing on the walls. We had to move the shoe racks and coats inside as the coats got wet paint on them from touching the damp walls. At the start of our stay (Saturday) we didn’t notice any mould but this began to grow and we could see it appearing on the walls by Monday, by the Saturday we left it was everywhere, so had obviously been wiped down before we got there. The owners clearly knew about it as there were 5 dehumidifiers in the bedroom, 2 behind the bed under a massive damp patch and dehumidifiers elsewhere all over the property. The black mould was mostly in the bedroom but some in the bathroom and living room too. I understand old cottages/houses etc can get mould and it can be difficult to clear, we left the bedroom window open to allow for condensation to escape but this made no difference. The main thing that annoyed us was that the owners clearly knew about it and had just thought dehumidifiers would fix it, rather than assessing the full extent of how bad it was and closing the property to fix it. The heating system using storage heaters is very confusing too and seems to come on in the middle of the night and the day when you’re out, but not on an evening when it might actually be needed, and if you try and switch it on it takes forever to warm up. We only used to log fire once as it kept constantly going out so we gave up and used blankets. The only solace is we were able to get a partial refund, although it wasn’t even 50% of what we paid which is what we asked for back. We contacted Sykes on the Monday in the hopes that they’d be able to move us somewhere else, but didn’t get it resolved until we were home so stayed in the property so we didn’t completely ruin our holiday by cutting it short, but they were very helpful.

    Thank you for the review the points you raise are important to us. Unfortunately the dampness in the guest bedroom was caused by a leak in the roof that only manifested itself during your stay. We contacted the owner on the Thursday, while you were still there , he was alarmed about this, having just redecorated the bedroom and added new soft furnishings. He immediately instructed us to cancel all the other bookings for the next month at considerable cost to himself in order that the issue could be rectified.This is a 400 year old cottage , there is a need for dehumidifiers during the winter months’ As far as the other issues that were raised, the downstairs storage heater are modern state of the art heaters they are pre-set to heat in the morning and evening with simple instructions to advance these settings . The log burner is 12 months old, and again there is a set comprehensive instructions printed on a laminated sheet in the cottage explaining how to use it . Many thanks The owner relations team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate2.2Mar 2024

  • "Loved every minute of my stay at Burrow Cottage, location was key for me."

    ..easy to reach other landmarks such as Windermere ,Ambleside and Rydal water. The cottage was really well equipt fir everything you would need i especially found usefull as the USB port in kitchen to re- charge mobile phine. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a cozy beautiful cottage to visit Barrow Cottage Thank you. Anthony L"pool

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Sep 2023

  • "Great location a short drive from some classic and beautiful Lakes locations such as Windamere, Grasmere and Ambleside."

    Very cosy little cottage and we had a great stay. The log burner in the lounge was a wonderful addition to our time there too.

    Reviewed by Paul4.4Jul 2023

  • "Our second stay at Burrow Cottage, we were there last year."

    Well equipped and comfortable. Ideal location for for visiting all the lakes, wildlife and shopping which is available close by. Already looking at booking next year. Thoroughly recommend!

    Thank you for your lovely comments, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you for a third visit. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Les5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had an amazing time at Burrow Cottage."

    We had booked it for our honeymoon. It is a very cosy and romantic cottage with all the amenities and facilities. We are definitely going there again. The only drawback is that there isn’t a direct walking access to Lake Windermere from the cottage.

    Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon! We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ijlal5.0Apr 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in Burrow Cottage."

    Everything was of a very high standard. Really well equipped kitchen. Lovely sitting area with stove. The house was well heated with modern storage heaters. The bedroom was lovely and a really comfortable bed and bed linen. The bathroom and shower were also of a high standard.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William5.0Apr 2023

  • "It's the 2nd time we stayed at Burrow Cottage and we'll definitely stay a 3rd (if we're able too)."

    .. a home from home ♡

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Sep 2022

  • "Exactly the place for myself and my wife we were looking for a quiet but near ..."

    Exactly the place for myself and my wife we were looking for a quiet but near town cottage couldn’t have asked for better

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2022

  • "The cottage was perfect and very relaxing exactly as it showed on the website."

    There was only one thing lampshades in bedroom were dusty but that was the only thing i saw everything else was spot on would definitely recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Jun 2022

  • "Great, little place to stay, nice and cosy."

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Dec 2021

  • "A great place to stay."

    A cosy cottage with everything you need. Convenient for travelling around the area.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Nov 2021

  • "The owners have certainly maximised the space in this small cosy cottage."

    It has been beautifully decorated and everything you need is in the accommodation, the kitchen is brilliantly stocked and all space utilised really well. The garden is not as big as it appears in the photo on the website, the trees could do with trimming back. My husband thought the sofas were OK, I just couldn’t get comfortable (being short and the sofas having a long cushion base) What would have made it better would have been a footstool. Also the back of the sofa is low so it was a strain on the neck. It’s a minor thing but when you are cosied up at night with a fabulous fire roaring, it was a shame! There was a DVD at the cottage which isn’t mentioned anywhere and while there is a great stock of DVDs at the cottage, we had some we would have brought with us. My final point is really for all owners on this site, if there is a fireplace it would be lovely to arrive at the accommodation and have a fire ready laid! Especially in the Autumn/Winter months. Just imagine arriving for a cosy weekend and just striking a match! We particularly LOVED the wooden owl statue on the window sill, any chance the owners could let us know where they bought it from? Thanks

    Reviewed by Helen4.4Oct 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely, modern interior, clean and well presented ,how ever it is situated on the main road so if you wished to either sit out the front not only could you hear the traffic but could wave at the drivers as they went past."

    As for sitting in the back garden it was very shaded by conifers so no sun,and still the road noise. All that being said you could not hear much of the road noise inside. The parking was not very clear and could not see how you would get 2 cars parked, especially when the builders turned up for next door. We had a lovely time and saw all we could, just take plenty of money for car parking as it was at least £4/5 a time . The attractions are really only half a day each so expect to do 2 a day . We were informed about the building a few day before arriving and it did not really impact on our stay. It is worth the trip maybe not a week, and maybe not for the price, but a lovely cottage well presented.

    Reviewed by Irene3.8Sep 2021

  • "Lovely cottage very quaint and the owners have made great use of the space available , the back garden though is not a area to sit due to traffic noise which was not what we expected for a romantic retreat ."

    Also there is a room that is locked upstairs ? Could have been used for xtra storage with this being a walking holiday we had xtra baggage , and maybe a foot stall to put your feet up in the front room .

    Reviewed by Andy4.1Jul 2021

  • "If you’re looking for a cosy cottage for two, look no further!"

    What a lovely property, so well equipped and tastefully furnished… it literally does have everything. The property was extremely clean, we felt safe especially during these uncertain times, plenty of hand soap and sanitizers. Oh my word the bed! I wanted to take it home it was so comfortable, and the open fire was a real treat after a day’s walking. What are you waiting for ? Get it booked!

    Mrs SedgewickOct 2020

  • "Had a wonderful few days at Burrow Cottage."

    What a beautiful property and maintained to a very high standard. Everything and more you need, and lovely soft towels for the bathroom. Burrow Cottage is ideally situated for trips out to Bowness and surrounding areas. The Cottage is tastefully decorated to a very high standard yet retaining it's natural charm. Would have no hesitation in recommending anyone and we are hoping to rebook next year.

    Mrs LeylandAug 2020

  • "We stayed at Burrow Cottage in August 2020."

    The cottage is beautifully decorated and equipped with everything we needed for our stay as well being immaculately clean. Parking was also available. The cottage is in a great location to enable us to visit the many beautiful places you can visit us in The Lake District. It was also lovely to hear the near by brook when going to sleep at night. Useful information was provided about the surrounding area and activities which helped us make the most of our stay.

    Mrs MartinAug 2020

  • "We stayed on a weekend at the end of March and had the most perfect time."

    Everything has been so carefully thought out and there was absolutely nothing that was missing. This is a definite must stay place and I wouldn't hesitate in coming back again but next time for longer. It's so well equipped with absolutely everything you could possibly need. A very well equipped kitchen, cosy lounge and in a very quiet and private area. It's in a beautiful spot and definitely rates 10 out of 10.

    JoMar 2019

  • "The cottage is in a great location for getting into Windermere and the surrounding area and is easy to find."

    Lots of information was left about the local area and activities. If going in the winter the cottage can be cold, however amble firewood and coal was left for our stay. Overall we had a great time staying here and would love to return.

    ThomasDec 2018

  • "Lovely, cosy, well equipped cottage to come back to after busy days out."

    Mr AbbottNov -0001

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Sleeps 2: 1 king size bed
  • Marbled tiled Bathroom with shower over bath, small pleasant patio to the front and there is an enclosed seating area to the rear
  • 2 parking spaces
  • Open plan living/dining area with woodburning stove
  • Bed linen and towels provided.
  • Night storage heating, fully fitted solid oak kitchen with stable door leading to rear dining area
  • Halogen hob, dishwasher, washer etc
  • Freeview & Wifi

The property

This cosy Lake District cottage was originally a Lakeland forester’s home, and dates back to 1640.

It has a picture postcard white exterior, deep-silled cottage windows, log burner and oak beams.

You’ll also enjoy the outdoor spaces – 2 pleasant patio areas to the front and rear.

Bowness village is only a few miles away (just follow the lakeside road north past ""Millionaires' Row"") and for a special treat visit one of our favourite Lake District country pubs, the Mason's Arms.

It's only a short drive away at Bowland Bridge.Only a few miles from Bowness Bay on the eastern shores of Lake Windermere, Burrow Cottage is close by the main lake shore road A592, which runs the full length of Lake Windermere from Newby Bridge and Lakeside, to Bowness and north to Ambleside - a journey you can also take on a Lake Windermere Cruise.

For shopping, dining and evenings out, Bowness is your first call.

You'll find plenty of fantastic Lakeland pubs (where yacht owners and boat-enthusiasts recap their days!) a range of excellent restaurants and several lively bars.

The Royalty Cinema provides for those quieter evenings, and the Old Laundry Theatre is well worth a check.

The National Trust's Fell Foot Park sits right on the lakeshore, and head over Cartmel Fell for an easy walk up Gummers How for spectacular views of Lake Windermere.

Within ten minutes drive you can find Windermere golf club and the fabulous arts and crafts house, Blackwell.

Alternatively leave the car and take a walk up Moor How, the perfect short walk to watch the sunset over Langdale Pikes.

Note: Although set back from the main road and fully screened, some traffic noise may be heard in the garden area or inside the property at certain times.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, cinema, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction and the Old Laundry Theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is three miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There is also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and 'Go-Ape' adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere