Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Lodge on the Lake - Lake District - 31127 - photo 1

Lodge on the Lake

(Ref. 31127)

Fallbarrow Holiday Park near Bowness Bridge, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (22)
  • location (12)
  • views (12)
  • lake (12)
  • well (9)
  • lovely (8)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "Ran out of hot water and heating towards the end of our week stay."

    I called the out of hours number at 6.45am, and the maintenance man who came turned up in about 5 minutes and could not have been more lovely. A welcome pack would have been nice. Quite a few cobwebs, and bedrooms a little tight, but apart from that fabulous. Everything you needed and that view ………….

    Reviewed by Ruth4.4Mar 2024

  • "The area before the decking steps was muddy and would benefit from a better surface so you are not taking mud into the lodge."

    The bed in the master bedroom could do with replacing. Other than that a fantastice holiday home.

    Hello Thanks for your feedback and pleased that you enjoyed the lodge. Please note that the bed in the master bedroom was newly replaced 3 months ago. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil3.8Mar 2024

  • "A beautiful lodge with amazing stunning views loved it did not want to leave"

    Thanks Tracy, really pleased you enjoyed the lodge. Hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0Dec 2023

  • "Great Lodge, this is the third time that we’ve stayed and we had a lovely time."

    I would definitely recommend it.

    Hello Yvonne Many thanks for your feedback. Really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see your return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvonne5.0Aug 2023

  • "Just what we expected"

    Reviewed by Robert4.7May 2023

  • "The property was lovely, location perfect and clean!"

    We were however super frustrated with the lack of wifi, we made contact with all number provided in the book to only have one respond with a limited answer. We were at the lodge for seven days, stating the issue on day one and still no resolution by day seven which is really disappointing. The description for the lake showed WIFI, something we did not experience the whole trip. The bushes at the rear of the property are over grown which takes away from the beautiful view, which again is a little frustrating! All in all the property itself was lovely and the only faults being the WIFI, communication & slightly over grown bushes!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at the Lodge. As we mentioned during your stay, the Fallbarrow Wifi system was being upgraded at the time however access could be made via 4/5G. The new Wi-Fi network is now live at the Lodge and provides very good download speed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lara3.8Sep 2022

  • "Absolutely gorgeous cant fault anything had a brilliant time The scenery ..."

    Absolutely gorgeous cant fault anything had a brilliant time The scenery is stunning wished we had booked to stop longer We got it a a reasonable price with it being out of season but Wish we could afford it every year

    Hello Tracy Thank you for your feedback. Really pleased that you enjoyed the lodge and views. We hope to see you return. Regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0Mar 2022

  • "Helpful owners Lovely lodge"

    Many thanks for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacqueline4.4Dec 2021

  • "What a super Lodge."

    The views were stunning. Super location and the lodge was well equipped and clean. We now need to return when the sun is shining as the weather was awful but nothing even Sykes Cottages can do about that!! Haha

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Oct 2021

  • "The lodge was ideal for the person it was chosen for ,the view could not have been better."

    People I showed photos back home were amazed at the view and how close it was to the lake.

    Hello Mr Watson Really pleased that you enjoyed the Lodge and the views. Kind Regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith R4.7Jul 2021

  • "We have stayed here before, the accomodation needs some small upgrades to justify the price."

    Hello Mr Newman Thanks for your feedback. We would appreciate your further suggestions. Kind Regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul3.8Jul 2021

  • "The location of this lodge is idyllic."

    It’s well fitted out and perfect for a calm relaxing holiday

    Hello Vicki Many thanks for your kind feedback. Kind Regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vicki5.0Dec 2020

  • "The main reason we were disappointed is that the photos of the lodge on your site were nothing like the reality."

    The decor on your photos was stunning, with beautiful blue and white striped sofas. We got two cheap looking grey leather look sofas with cheap red fleeces thrown on the back. The lodge next door had the lovely sofas so I can’t see it was a Covid issue. Also we had cheap looking white duvet covers instead of the more pleasing colour ones shown in your photos. I have photos if you want to compare and contrast, The set up of the lodge was more pleasing on the photos with the sofas facing the beautiful view. You had changed it so that the kitchen table was in front of the window, or maybe the photos related to the next door lodge as they clearly show a hot tub on the decking. Not that we were expecting a hot tub but the photos shouldn’t really show one in that case. With a minimum amount of effort the lodge could be made to look like the photos.

    The Lodge is continuously improved. The fabric sofas in the photos have since been upgraded with Italian fine leather sofas and woolen throws which were certainly not cheap. Likewise, the bedlinen now provided is the highest quality Egyptian cotton and is a significant upgrade from that shown in the photographs The seating in the Lodge is arranged in order to optimise the best views for guests across Lake Windermere towards the fells. The photographs are clearly not of the property next door and what you describe as a shot of a hot tub on the decking is in fact garden furniture in a cube design. We thought you would have recognised this during your stay. We are always receptive to suggestions as to how the Lodge can be improved however we are sorry that you did not recognise the high standards of quality furniture and fittings much enjoyed by other guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean3.8Oct 2020

  • "Fantastic location with wonderful views over the lake."

    Only down side was the wi fi was a bit intermittent but I could live with that. Would I book this lodge again.....yes.

    Thanks very much, really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the lodge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7Aug 2020

  • "The first thing I have to mention is the stunning views from the lodge overlooking the lake, it was breathe taking."

    The lodge itself catered very well for our party of six adults, it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, plenty of room in the living area and the fixtures and fittings were of a high standard. There was enough room for our two big cars. Reception gave us a map of the park but did take us a few attempts to work out how to get to the lodge from their one way system and it being the other side of the park. But overall a great place to base yourself while exploring the lake district. Would recommend the lodge on the lake.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Feb 2020

  • "Absolutely brilliant long weekend away - the lodge on the lake was better than expected, roomly comfortable and prime location!"

    Only negatives would be the pillows were not the comfiest and the frying pan was difficult to use due to the style. However other than that could not fault it and we will definitely return in the future and recommend to others! Thank you for a great stay!

    Reviewed by Kate4.7Jan 2020

  • "We went here as a group of friends looking for somewhere to chill and catch up, and it was perfect."

    Everything you could want under one roof, clean and nice and warm when it was cold and raining outside. Only downside was you gave to take the bins out and take them to a bin point, which was miles from the cottage. A small point in what was a lovely trip. We are talking about booking it again next year so you"ll be hearing from us soon!!

    Hello and many thanks for your feedback. Please note that there is a refuse recyling point approx 100 metres to the left of the Lodge alongside the lake, a lot closer than the main reception point. We are pleased that you enjoyed your break and look forward to your return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Nov 2019

  • "Stunning location."

    Peaceful and secluded lodge with fantastic panorama views. The lodge was very well equipped and perfect for lounging about.

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0Nov 2019

  • "Beautiful lodge with magnificent views."

    This is our third visit and it never fails to please however on this occasion I was disappointed that the cleanliness of the lodge did not seem to extend to the decking area. It was obvious that the patio furniture had not been cleaned for some time and necessitated me having to spend an hour or so with the hoover and copious amounts of hot soapy water to make it usable. The barbecue has quite obviously been replaced recently however it was caked in grease and had not been cleaned between guests. The lodge is incredibly well equipped (however there is no frying pan) and i would highly recommend it but there is a need for the cleaning staff to consider that guests hiring the lodge do actually pay to use the outside facilities too and therefore these should be fit for purpose on arrival

    Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you again enjoyed your time at the Lodge. We appreciate your comments regarding the decking area and have passed these to the cleaning company. Please note that a large, deep frying pan is provided. It was present at the inventory following your departure yesterday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.4Jun 2019

  • "This lodge is absolutely fantastic."

    The views are outstanding - the wrap around decking captures the lake all day long. Inside the lodge the fixtures & fittings are of top quality with a large fridge (many lodges only have uncounter) On arrival our lodge was ready and was clean throughout. We had one power cut on our last day - easily solved. Plenty of cups & glasses (maybe a few more larger plates needed) but we had picnic hampers so used them as well. A frying pan is needed though. Parking - we had one car and a 9 seater van & we managed to park. Overall this lodge is idyllic and we will most certainly be going back we had a wonderful stay.

    Reviewed by Carol5.0May 2019

  • "We had a fantastic family holiday in this most wonderful location."

    The lodge had everything we needed for a relaxing week. Close enough to walk into Bowness and a great base for exploring the Lakes but to be honest we didn't want to spend too much time away from the decking and fabulous views. Dream holiday and hope to return.

    Reviewed by Debbie4.7Apr 2019

  • "The lodge was amazing."

    Beautiful location and lovely views of lake Windermere. Definitely come back and booking again.

    Reviewed by Arin5.0Mar 2019

  • "The lodge is situated in a perfect spot, the only thing I would change is an 11."

    00am departure.

    Reviewed by Neil4.7Feb 2019

  • "3pm book in,lodge still had cleaners in and was told to return in 30mins,no ..."

    3pm book in,lodge still had cleaners in and was told to return in 30mins,no apology and was rude,stains on fleeces in living room,cobwebs on most ceilings,we had to pull a big black lump of black hair out of the shower plug for it to drain properly,electric kept on tripping,settee's in living area were uncomfortable,main bin wasn't emptied and still had previous guests rubbish in,check out was 10 am which I think is a little early,and to top it off we was accused of stealing towels and threatened with court,I've stayed in hotels all over the world and everyone who stayed are very successful professional people and we all felt that we were more of an inconvenience than paying customers,we will not be visiting again

    "We are sorry to receive your comments regarding your recent stay. We carry out a full inventory both before arrival and when guests depart and am afraid that on this occasion the items were missing. With regard to your comments regarding cleaning standards, as you will note from previous feedback, we have received very high ratings. We employ the best cleaners available in the area who do a consistently excellent job. We do not understand why, if the standard of cleanliness was at such an unsatisfactory level on your arrival, you did not immediately contact Sykes or ourselves. Had there been such a problem it would have been immediately rectified. We understand that you arrived prior to 3pm which is the earliest arrival time possible. The Lodge was available for you at 3pm. Checkout time of 10 am is the standard for Sykes bookings as described when making a booking and is necessary for the property to be fully prepared for the next guests. We work very hard to ensure that the Lodge is maintained to the highest of standards and this is reflected in the feedback grading. We also see the many satisfied guest who return regularly." Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew1.9Nov 2018

  • "Fabulous location and fabulous view."

    Everything went very smoothly.

    Reviewed by Zoe4.1Sep 2018

  • "Fabulous location on the Lake and you could spend all day just enjoying the changing scene."

    Just the briefest of walks into Bowness and we took a boat trip around the islands which was lovely. The accommodation is excellent and very comfortable. We loved it and would definitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by Judith4.4Sep 2018

  • "Holidays are very personal things so what matters to one person, may not be important to anyone else."

    As far as the Lodge on the Lake goes, once you have found it in its tucked away location, I think this Lodge has the best position in all of the Park. The views from the lounge and deck are quite breathtaking, unsurpassed and uninterrupted across Lake Windermere. There is no pedestrian or vehicular access in front of the Lodge and very little traffic passes behind it. There is a neighbouring lodge on one side only with trees on the other, leading to a private little beach. There is a large and very well appointed decking area in front of the lounge. So, it is very quiet indeed unless you count the calls of the geese! I note earlier guests saying that parking for two cars was an issue. We actually managed to park three cars in the area provided, albeit only two could get out at a time - you just have to be creative! We had 6 adults and one toddler staying in the lodge and we didn't feel particularly cramped for space. As ever there are things that could have been better for us. I found the single beds to be very soft and uncomfortable to sleep in. The travel cot was broken along one of the long edges so we had to line that edge of the cot up against the wall. There was no travel cot mattress provided - again we had to be creative with duvets. The owners may not have realised that this was necessary though. Not a serious issue for our toddler but I feel this would have been a show-stopper for a younger baby. There was a high-chair but no table attached to it - again, not a problem for us, but wouldn't have been great for a smaller child. There were only six hangers in each of the wardrobes- somewhat unrealistic for a three bedroom house designed to accommodate 6 adults so we had to go and buy some more in town. There are only six sets of cutlery, crockery so with seven of us staying, we couldn't really use the dishwasher!! The rest of the cooking utensils, equipment, pots, pans, bowls etc were all fine. The Park's own internet didn't really extend down to the Lodge so we had to rely on the internet signal provided in the Lodge itself. This was described by my android phone as "unstable". It worked most of the time but it was very slow. Again, this may be irrelevant to others but I had to rely on turning the 4G Vodafone mobile signal into a personal hotspot to be able to work. It is a great place to base yourself to tour the Lakes. Bowness was extremely busy and seems to have dedicated itself to relieving tourists of their money at the fastest possible rate. There are lots of eating places to suit most wallets and the Park access means it was easy to get out towards the northern Lakes. Overall, then a very positive experience because of the privacy and location, and which with a little attention to detail, could have been flawless!!

    Reviewed by David3.8Aug 2018

  • "The view of the lake from the lodge is just fabulous with very private and peaceful surroundings."

    There is lots to watch while relaxing on the deck and there are not many places in the Lake District where you can walk or sit right on the shores of Windermere. The lodge itself is comfortable and reasonably well equipped. The bathrooms were very clean. The kitchen area, sitting area and bedrooms were reasonably clean. The site bar/restaurant had a good choice of menu at reasonable prices, good portions and good quality. The staff in the bar were very attentive. There were some down sides to the lodge: On arrival there was a very strong smell of floor cleaner, perfume difusers in the lounge area and a strong perfume on the bedding all which affected my wife's lung condition. In spite of opening windows, these did not dissipate until 5 days after arrival. The lodge would benefit from a 'spring clean' to clear cobwebs and dust under furniture and in drawers. Opening all the windows allowed in lots of flies. There was no welcome pack provided, if you want to put the kettle on when you arrive have tea/coffee/milk with you as there were only sachets of sugar in the kitchen. A high chair is provided but none of the crockery, glassware, cutlery is suitable for small children. All the outdoor furniture was dirty with little provided to clean it, the barbeque was rusted and not very clean. The description states that there is parking for 2 cars but this is very tight and would not accommodate 2 average sized family saloons. The instruction folder states that power cuts can occur but no torch is provided in case this happens during dark hours. Fortunately when the power went during our stay it was during day light hours. We would visit again because of the superb location but we have stayed in similar properties with a front line sea view where more has been provided for less cost.

    Reviewed by Geoff3.8May 2018

  • "If you book this lodge you will not be disappointed."

    It really has the wow factor. The view is breathtaking, the lodge is immaculate and you are literally a five minute walk from Bouness Windemere.

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0Nov 2017

  • "Well equipped property with fabulous lake and mountain views."

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Dec 2016

  • "A most beautiful, comfortable sitting area with the most spectacular views you will ever see."

    Easy access to Lake Windermere. You cannot fail to be impressed when you arrive.

    Reviewed by Arthur4.8Oct 2016

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with bath and shower (over bath), basin and WC, 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire.
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, Freeview with Smart TV
  • DVD, radio, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Decking to the front and side with furniture and BBQ
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 mins walk
  • Note: Approx
  • 3 steps to access lodge
  • Note: Due to waterfront location, children to be supervised
  • Note: Internet speeds vary across site, on-site computers available FOC
  • Note: Property is 1.8 Miles from Windermere Train station.

The property

An immaculately-presented lodge situated on the popular Fallbarrow Holiday Park on the fringe of Bowness-on-Windermere.

This modern, New England-style lodge rests directly on the lake shore and provides guests with sublime views across Lake Windermere, making it the perfect choice for those seeking a touch of luxury or a romantic retreat.

Tucked away in a quiet area of the park, this beautiful Windermere lodge has a king-size double bedroom with an en-suite, along with a double and a twin, a contemporary shower room and a bright open plan living area.

Outside, the large decking to the front and side provides direct access to a private beach area, perfect for swimming, canoeing and fishing, and is also a splendid sun trap for much of the day; a tranquil space offering the chance to watch boats bob by under the shadow of the surrounding mountains, a perfect addition for an alfresco feast with friends and family.

Facilities on this fantastic site include a restaurant, pub with beer garden, shop and deli, and a children's play area.

Bowness offers something for everyone, from enticing tourist attractions to shops and boutiques, restaurant and bars.

Guests seeking to explore the water may wish to sail some of the lake’s 10 miles, or try water skiing, canoeing or kayaking.

Those lacking sturdy sea legs can enjoy Windermere’s 18-hole golf course, the perfect destination to while away a few hours, plus there are many walking paths, including the Dales Way, and cycling routes available to explore locally.

A short drive will take you to the traditional towns of Windermere and Ambleside, offering a selection of shops and eateries, or visit The Armitt, a small museum, library and gallery with interesting collections, which offers the story of the area through the ages.

This very special Windermere lodge, with its spectacular views, won't fail to impress you at any time of the year.

View on map

About the location


Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter attraction and the Old Laundry theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is less than two miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There are also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and “Go-Ape” adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute