Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 12 View Image Gallery
  • Riverside Cottages No 2 - Lake District - 1040957 - photo 1

Riverside Cottages No 2

(Ref. 1040957)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (21)
  • location (17)
  • garden (16)
  • our (15)
  • no (15)
  • great (11)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "Great location with off road parking."

    I would advise visitors coming in the winter months to bring a small torch. I've stayed in smaller properties with pull out sofa beds that advertise themselves as four person accommodation. Lovely and warm and plenty of hot water. Initially had issue with the oven. My fault because I didn't read the notice on wall but owner answered the telephone to me immediately and talked me through what to do. I would like a few more baking trays but this is a minor issue for me personally. Great secure garden which would be amazing to use in the summer months. I'd definitely book again.

    Thankyou so much for your comments they are really appreciated, also very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Tony and Amanda Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leona5.0Oct 2023

  • "We booked no2 riverside cottage, mainly because the previous reviews used words to describe the garden as "enclosed" and "secure" as we have 2 small puppies, this would be absolutely perfect for them."

    However this was totally not the case. When we arrived and checked the garden out for safety, we found the fences to be close to useless for any kind of dog, let alone puppies. This made us very angry, as we could never let the puppies in the garden untethered.... The shower had no water pressure, so only dripped when turned on. We had to wait till Monday to report it, thankfully lakelovers promptly rectified the problem (thank you lakelovers). The cottage on the whole, was comfy, if not a little tired in places (the bathroom especially). Parking is easy, and location is good, so a big plus. All this said, if the garden were to be made totally secure, we would recommend it for dogs safety. And would probably book again in the future.

    Reviewed by Glenn2.5Sep 2023

  • "The cottage provided everything we had a lovely holiday the only thing that let ..."

    The cottage provided everything we had a lovely holiday the only thing that let it down was the cleanliness there was cobwebs on the bedroom wall next to the radiator also went to use the grill which needed a good clean which I didn't use cottage needs a bit upgraded especially the bathroom but we still had a lovely holiday

    Glad you enjoyed your stay however sometimes acobweb maybe missed somewhere, the cottage meets all the criteria for a 3 star let. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine2.8Aug 2023

  • "Fantastic well equipped property, everything you could ask for."

    Brilliant location and very quiet.Lovely big enclosed garden and great kitchen set out.Items to improve on would be dripping tap in kitchen, old grout round bath and old shower seal, leaking gutter at back and overflow when bath and shower used outside? This is just niggling and think great property overall and hot water really hot, great. Would certainly go back to same property if in area again.

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board. Thank you- The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Norman4.1Aug 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in an excellent location."

    Facilities great and pleasantly surprised to find a washing machine as well. Secure garden for pets and children. Will definitely book another stay.

    Delighted you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your kind words. Tony and Amanda (Owners) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Jul 2023

  • "Nice little cottage, good location near plenty of amenities."

    Bathroom could do with an update, rust on the shower rail & shower head needs a washer replacement (drip drip all the time) We enjoyed our stay though & would happily return.

    Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take your comments on board. We hope to welcome you again. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary3.8Jul 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our break and will certainly book again as it had everything we expected/needed."

    Excellent position, great garden and a spacious cottage will all home comforts. The only negative was the cleanliness of the cottage which I believe is the responsibility of LakeLovers. Usually rental properties are very clean on arrival, but it was obvious that the kitchen tops has only had a quick clean, without cleaning behind the things on the units. The cupboard door handles also needed a clean too. Furniture had not been moved and mopped under for some time and the windows were extremely dirty inside. This won’t stop us booking again but it could prevent others from booking in the future. I noticed a number of reviews prior to our visit that mentioned cleanliness, therefore wanted to mention this to ensure LakeLovers pick this up eventually. Thanks ever so much.

    Reviewed by Sue3.4Jul 2023

  • "We had a Problem with a Water Tank in our flat."

    Water flow in the flat. With The help of our neighbours we called the maintenance. It took a very Long time to get a connection and then we get no answer. That there is a local office, this information we get from other people. The office helped us and after hours the problem was served. We lost one day of our holydays!!

    So sorry to hear about the leak, however I reported a leak 6 weeks ago to Lake lovers maintenance and as far as I was concerned it was fixed as the guests just before you had no experience of a leak , so not sure what went on. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dirk3.1Jun 2023

  • "Quiet location on the outskirts of Ambleside, the cottage was perfect for our requirements."

    The major plus point was the large enclosed garden which our dogs really enjoyed! We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon

    Thankyou very muchfor your review of our cottage, please come again you are more than welcome. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage with a great garden."

    It was even better than I’d expected. Good location for the town and surrounding hills. Would stay there again.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma3.8Apr 2023

  • "Cottage in an excellent location and the large garden was great for our dogs."

    The cottage had everything we needed but I do feel it needs a little updating especially the living room furniture and the heating system.

    Hi thankyou for your feedback the living room furniture is in good condition , the lounge suite is only 4 yrs old, one of the storage heaters had a fault which Lakelovers maintenance was seeing to, however whilst it was incapacitated an oil heater was left for use, the cottage is 3 star and meets all requirements for that listing, hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stacy3.1Jan 2023

  • "Riverside Cottage was very comfortable and cosy."

    We were able to relax after a day outdoors, really enjoyed our time in Ambleside

    Glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we may see you in the near future, thankyou for your choice and thankyou for your kind comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Nov 2022

  • "We had a lovely week at No 2 Riverside Cottages."

    The property was warm and comfortable and was well equipped for a self catering break. The cottage is in a quiet position on the edge of Ambleside within an easy 10 min walk to the shops and restaurants. The property has a lovely large garden which was great for our dogs. Great cottage for 2 in a great location.

    Thankyou so much for your comments so glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will see you in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Nov 2022

  • "Lovely little cottage."

    Great there is both a shower and a bath, but unfortunately the bed is so uncomfortable we had to come home a day early as it made our backs so bad.

    High glad you enjoyed the stay, the mattress suits around 90% of the holidaymakers but its like anything else some like a hard one, some like medium one, some like soft ones, unfortunately it would be impossible to change it as per guests prior requirements as their are numerous types of mattresses, too many to mention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer3.1Aug 2022

  • "The large back garden, not completely secure but near enough, was the highlight of this property and was enjoyed immensley by our pup."

    The location was great within easy walking distance of the town centre with the added bonus of public access fields to walk through which lead to the lake and again was enjoyed for a run around by the dog. The property was comfortable. Wifi would have been a big plus (but we knew there was no wifi when we booked) and small touches such as hand soap and a token amount of washing powder would have made this property a five star.

    Thankyou so much for your comments it is much appreciated, we will be coming up when the cottage is quiet to put some new 2ft high fence mesh where the escape routes are. I will address your last point regarding hand soap/ washing machine powder. We did have a tub of those all in one washing detergents but they seemed to go down very quickly. I do hope you return and enjoy another stay so thanykyou once again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne3.4Aug 2022

  • "A lovely property in a perfect location, we stayed mon-fri with our dog and it was excellent!"

    The cottage is just as described, not very big but we weren't there to stay indoors and our dog is only medium sized, so perfect for a couple to stay, and the garden is big, the dog loved it, we loved it, and I would love to go back again one day. Everything we needed was available and it was very nice and clean, loads of good walks in the area and of course the stunning views always help. The only creature comforts would be no WiFi, not a lot of TV channels and the mattress of the bed meant we kept rolling inwards to the middle of the bed all night, but honestly those were minor things and again we didn't come to stay inside and the bed was still great after a long day out and about in the gorgeous sunshine so I can't really complain, more of an FYI to anyone else considering booking if those things matter to you. We did also notice a slight issue with the hoover when cleaning on the last day, whoever used it before us had vacuumed up something wet so the smell was awful, but it still worked and I reported it to lakelovers right away via phone and they were very happy to get it reported and sorted for the next tenant so no issues there at all! Thank you for letting us stay! I hope to come back again one day!

    Reviewed by Lisa4.7Aug 2022

  • "Amazing little cottage with everything you need."

    The owners even provided little extras like dvds, book and board games. Perfect location for awesome walks and close to local amenities. Would definitely recommend and we will be returning very soon.

    Thankyou Amaya so glad you had good weather and you enjoyed your stay, looking forward to seeing you in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amaya5.0Jul 2022

  • "Absolutely amazing cottage in the perfect location, easy to find."

    10 minute walk into Ambleside. huge well maintained secure garden for dogs, and bright decor throughout. bed linen and towels extremely clean and comfortable. however slightly let down by overall cleanliness - dark hairs on the floor and even in the shower. also the cushions on the chairs covered in black dog hair. hate having to write anything negative about this property as it was generally amazing!

    Hi Abi thankyou for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay, however you should have reported cleanliness concerns to Lakelovers immediately on arrival inspection. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Abigail3.8Jul 2022

  • "We have loved our holiday in this cottage, the garden is perfect for our dogs, and you couldn't get a better location, easy parking."

    All nice and clean when we arrived, and all very comfortable. Will definitely be coming back again. Love it, perfect .

    Thankyou so much for your review it is refreshing to hear excellent comments, hope we will see you again, many thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jun 2022

  • "The property is lovely and in a perfect location but is sadly let down by the standard of the housekeeping service provided by Lakelovers."

    Reviewed by Valerie3.1Apr 2022

  • "The property isn't cheap considering it only has one bedroom."

    It could do with updating and refreshing to justify the price. Overall a pleasant stay though.

    Hi glad you enjoyed your stay, the property was painted throughout 12 months ago and on the description of the property states one bedroom. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Dec 2021

  • "A very upsetting experience dealing through Sykes Cottages."

    Upon arrival (in the dark) we found that there was no power (Storm Arwen). No power means no nothing (there was no gas services or open fire). A tree had fallen in front of the property prior to our arrival (row of properties) and smashed a car. There was no phone signal or internet available as the power cut affected phone transmitters. We stayed the first night in the property (was freezing). I won't go into details any further here. Long story short, the owner knew there was no power(power was actually off for days). Sykes knew there was a storm but no form of contact. We had to find alternative accommodation ourselves (where we got internet and commenced the notification process). Sykes will not refund the costs (failure to provide goods / services). Currently logging with the small claims court. During our stay in the area we passed the property on numerous occasions and have photos of the clear up effort / people (owners) attending the property. I also have photos of when the power came on (cottage was lit up at night as we didn't have any idea what was on and off when we left). I have photos of the lights being off again (to show the attendance of others. Note that Sykes contact info in not good. Response to emails takes days. We did also contact the web site that we had actually booked through (a referral site in the Sykes web of affiliates) but they could not help as our details were held by Syke (Data protection laws). Conclusion, have been given advice and are now seeking consequential losses as well as the failure to provide goods / services.

    Reviewed by Melanie1.3Nov 2021

  • "Hot water tap in bathroom found to be defective, why this was not picked up before we got there is questionable, Lakelovers engineer came out within the hour but couldn't repair so had to wait untill Monday."

    Was told would be back around 10am, no sign at 11 rang Lakelovers office who after keeping be waiting on the line, couldn't get hold of their engineer and promised me that they would call me back with an update. Nor prepared to wait in all day we went out and left the key. No call back from the lakeland office was forthcoming, but on returning later that day their engineer had replaced both taps. Communication could and should be improved! Rubber on bottom of shower door screen was thick with green algae growth also apparent on shower flex Cushions in lounge covered in short black. dog hairs! Again could do better!

    Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately people let dogs on beds and furniture which is not permitted whatsoever. Perhaps if dogs were kept under owners' control, this may not happen. As for cleaning issues, you are told in your contract to report this immediately so it can be rectified. Lakelovers have hundreds of cottages on their books so maintenance issues may take a bit longer sometimes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith3.8Oct 2021

  • "The cottage was in the most amazing location, only a 10 minute walk into town down a quiet scenic lane with a large garden and a river flowing past."

    The scenery was idyllic and at the end of the lane was a large park and we had such easy access to a range of walks and more challenging hikes. We had all the facilities we required and once you got used to the quirks of the cottage e.g which way to turn the bath taps on, knowing that the hot water tap runs slow at night, where to switch on the towel rail etc it was easy to live with for a week. There were plenty of plug sockets all conveniently placed, the water was piping hot, loads of kitchen equipment although we had to wash a few items on arrival, a private, a dishwasher and washing machine, large sized car park space outside, dog friendly and boot friendly flooring, ultra warm bedding and it was comfortable to stay in for a week for two adults and a dog. There were also a range of games, books and DVDs that we were welcome to use. A couple of things that could be improved - the chicken wire fencing in the garden was not secure and our beagle investigated next doors garden which was a shame as we then couldn't let him out for an early morning sniff around and this was a main reason for booking the cottage. The steps down into the garden are wobbly and the garden chairs have definitely seen better days so we didn't even sit on them. The bed was super squeaky when you lay down or turned over however we got used to this. The Dyson hoover didn't have a brush attachment and the hose was cracked making it hard to clean with which is probably why the cottage wasn't as clean as it could have been on arrival. The final thing was that it was quite a corporate "welcome" and lacked the personal touch that you receive in other places - we had a cleaning kit left for us whereas our family members received milk, bread, balloons (!), chocolates etc in other cottages which was more memorable and well received. So an overall score of 8/10 from us. The cottage had almost everything we asked for and we were very sad to leave.

    Reviewed by Paul3.1Aug 2021

  • "Very expensive for what it is."

    Basic, reasonably comfortable accommodation but needs upgrading (WiFi and smart TV would be a good start) if you continue to charge such high prices. Good location for town, great garden for the dog but garden chairs are failng and need replacing.

    Reviewed by Mike2.8Aug 2021

  • "Nothing really major for us."

    The cottage provides a very good base to explore the Lake District and it is pleasantly located. The decor is fine, the bed is very comfortable and the kitchen area adequate.The bath/shower room works well enough.However on the less positive side the lounge area seating was not very comfortable, the outside chairs were in a bad condition with tears in the fabric and there was a problem with the sound buttons on the TV remote - the sound reduction button worked ok but the increase button appeared to be stuck resulting in a couple of nights of virtually soundless TV. The availability of TV channels was also poor. Now none of this spoilt our holiday as we are hikers and were out for much of the time.However maybe others would be less satisfied given the cost??

    The remote probably needed batteries which there are in the cottage, however an additional Samsung remote was sent up for delivery by Lakelovers along with other items, with regard to the poor TV Channels this is Cumbria broadcasting sattelite and is the same all over Cumbria unless you have Sky TV. The lounge seating is only 4 yrs old and cost £2500 and we have had no bad feedback about it, it is very difficult to please everyone as people have differing opinions, but we do our best for a 3 star cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William3.8Jul 2021

  • "On entering the cottage there was a very bad smell of wet dog."

    Hair on the chairs and the bed The mats at the side of the bed looked very very dirty and really need replacing Outside the back door it stank as the previous people had left empty bean tins and all of their rubbish which had never been taken away We contacted the owner as he had sent us an email regarding rubbish He asked us to kindly get rid of it for him Come on Lakelovers not what we wanted to find when on holiday. Would not recommend this cottage for the price being charged

    Reviewed by Helen2.5Jun 2021

  • "Just small issues, fence in between properties inadequate for stopping dogs escaping, no hot water on first day , either used by cleaners or economy 7 not turned on previous night, we know how it works because had it a few years back."

    Reviewed by Anita3.8Jun 2021

  • "Wasn’t very clean, but no cleaning aids available (cif or bleach) blind in the bathroom was broken had to ring twice finally it was fixed."

    Reported to yourselves also Tony the owner. The kitchen extractor fan is thick with grease and the filter hasn’t been changed in months, I had Covid in January and would have expected the cottage to have had a thorough deep clean before anyone used it. I have taken photos of the fan. Apart from that central to visit all lakes. Bed comfy. Alas no WiFi which was a problem.

    Reviewed by Linda3.1May 2021

  • "The cottage provides easy access to numerous walks and town centre."

    Lovely garden for dogs. Cottage had everything we could possibly need for our weeks stay.

    B WildingNov -0001

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • One bedroom: 1 x double
  • Bathroom with bath with shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room.
  • Storage heating with feature electric stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher, TV, DVD player, CD player/Hi-fi, Radio
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Garden with furniture
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub 11 min walk
  • Shop 12 min walk
  • Note: Property only accepts 7 night bookings.

The property

This modern cottage retreat enjoys a tranquil riverside setting with patio and large private garden a gentle stroll from Ambleside.

Private parking for 2 cars, right outside the cottage.

Enter to an open plan living area with deep-cushioned furnishings, sumptuous leather sofas, TV & DVD.

There’s a neat kitchen and dining area with table for 4.

Pretty double bedroom with dressing table and ample storage.

Modern bathroom with shower over bath.

Simple, elegant decor in muted shades adds to the relaxing atmosphere.

Outside you'll find a large garden and small patio with seating.

Walks begin in almost every direction, as Ambleside is a popular base for walking in the Lake District.

The village is packed with tasty eateries and a wide range of contemporary shops - from useful supermarkets to quirky gift stores and expert outdoor clothing stores.

By night, there’s plenty to do – cosy traditional pubs, special award-winning restaurants, a jazz club and 2 independent cinemas. Just a stroll away from the village centre is Waterhead Pier, on the northern shores of Lake Windermere where you can hire a rowing boat, enjoy a drink or a meal overlooking the lake at the Wateredge Inn, or take an elegant lake cruise to Bowness or Lakeside - a great way to explore car-free.

Windermere Lake Cruises depart regularly, and also offer evening cruises. Ambleside is full of history.

The tiny 'Bridge House' is one of the most photographed buildings in the area; teetering on a bridge in the middle of the village.

There’s also the remains of a Roman fort, Galava.

One of William Wordsworth's former family homes can be visited nearby at Rydal Mount & Gardens.

His Grasmere home, Dove Cottage, is also open to the public and only a short drive away on the A591.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

Note: Property only accepts 7 night bookings.