Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 28 View Image Gallery
  • Palace Apartment Main Street - Lake District - 1050461 - photo 1
close

Palace Apartment Main Street

(Ref. 1050461)

Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.2

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (14)
  • location (13)
  • apartment (12)
  • great (11)
  • good (10)
  • parking (10)

25 Customer Reviews

  • "The place was a comfortable stay, apart from the dog hairs on the rugs everything was clean."

    Loved that we could control the heating to keep the place warmer when we were in. Local shops are a short walk away. The rugs were quite an inconvenience as they kept tripping up the toddler due to them not being so flat. Netflix was a good touch loved that. Was not particularly happy with the smell of the cot bed that was left it had a funny smell and the constant wet bathroom floor. Was also not happy about not being provided a permit for our whole trip only 3 days were paid for, we ended up paying for our own parking for remaining 4 days but has now been refunded.

    We are happy you found the apartment comfortable. Unusual that you found hairs and smells. The travel cot had never been used before and all dog owning guests have been extremely clean. There were five of you using the shower, we will change the floor mat to improve the bathroom. We provide a free permit as standard but do not advertise duration. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clara3.8Mar 2024

  • "We enjoyed are stay here ,it was perfect location to explore grange over sands, everything right on the door step ,shops, pubs,food the beach is only 5 minutes away from the property."

    The weather was very warm when we stayed ,but the apartment was very cool which was great. The bed was very comfortable,the apartment was well equipped to keep you entertained,the owners left milk and other goodies ,and also refunded us for parking, I definitely would recommend staying here and will be back myself in the near future

    We are happy you enjoyed the apartment and location. We look forward to your next stay. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2023

  • "A great place in perfect location We took two children 2 and 6, they had Lego and train set at the apartment which was perfect!"

    The apartment is in good condition, kitchen was a bit short of space not work top space as we cooked every day. I think for us the only issues were no washing machine. And the heating.. the thermostat is up very high within a sealed box so I don't think it gets a true reading, so it was cold throughout, heating only came on within the first night we were there, the rest of our week stay we were chillie. I turned every radiator on using the valve but the room temperature according to the thermostat was 21.5 but since it's high up it, Heat rises, so if your thermostat is very high up the wall it will give you an inflated reading and tell your boiler to cool the house down. About 5ft above the floor is the most common place to install your thermostat for an accurate average reading. Because it was a bit cold the towels wouldn't dry and we had to hand wash children clothes which took 3-4 days to dry. Thanks for allowing us to rent the apartment. God bless for all the future.

    We are happy you enjoyed the apartment and location. We do not advertise a washing machine. The heating was set to the summer time setting. This is perfect for most guests. There was a heatwave starting during the week of your stay. However, we would have visited and checked the boiler if requested, but you did not contact us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James4.4Aug 2023

  • "Great location in the town centre and the parking permit was welcomed."

    Would recommend using the car park on Kent’s Bank Road (opposite Tesco) for overnight parking.

    Thank you for your comments. Most guests park directly opposite the apartment, which is free and less than ten meters away, over night Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony3.8Jul 2023

  • "Great location."

    Lots of cafes and small shops nearby. Easy to get to the Lakes and the weekly parking ticket was very useful as it is accepted on the central car park in Windermere. The apartment was comfortable and nicely furnished. Good sized fridge/freezer. The table top cooker was fine for two people but a bit limiting in terms of what you could cook as there is only one shelf and one tray. It would be helpful to add a basket or soap tray in the shower for shampoo and shower gel. Some toiletries were provided as well as tea, coffee, milk and a bottle of wine. Overall very good value for money.

    We are happy you enjoyed the apartment. We have installed a new large family size convection oven. There is also a microwave and a gas hob in our kitchen, which is ideal for those who wish to cook and eat in. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Jun 2023

  • "Good location Excellent value We have booked through sykes a few times but never had a place of this size for the money paid."

    The car park ticket for 7 days covering lots of destinations was a lovely unexpected touch and very welcome. Also fans provided was great as was like spain all week.

    We are very happy you had a great summer's holiday at Palace Apartment. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jun 2023

  • "It was a lovely place to stay the downstairs was excellent unfortunately the ..."

    It was a lovely place to stay the downstairs was excellent unfortunately the kitchen and bathroom let it down in needed a fresh paint the kitchen layout was poor an oven would be better then the combi and general cleanliness ie the toaster and other appliances the carpet strip is a trip hazard as I nearly tripped but area and location was fantastic lovely walks around the sea & parks

    Thank you for the helpful comments. The kitchen and bathroom has been painted and we have replaced the oven and other appliances. We are happy you really appreciated the location. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.1Jun 2023

  • "Lovely property."

    Sorry for breaking a glass!

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0May 2023

  • "Thanks again for another nice stay."

    Did find the living room a little cold in the evenings and despite what it says in the information brochure it didn’t seem possible to regulate the heating, it just didn’t come on at all. Wine and parking voucher appreciated

    We are happy you enjoyed your second stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline4.7May 2023

  • "Lovely stay here right in the centre of town pub next door chippie round the corner shops 2 minutes walk, promenade 5 mins great for walking the dog."

    Fantastic base for exploring the south lakes can't really fault it apart from Netflix being the only TV service that was only issue which I sorted out as I had my fire stick that I could watch my news on. Great stay will probably go back.

    We are happy you had a great stay. We have two fully configured, easy to use, Smart TVs. A ITVx, Channel 4 and 5 are also available in addition to Netflix. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Mar 2023

  • "Amazing property The owner was amazing in response to a problem lovely place great location"

    Reviewed by Joshua3.4Feb 2023

  • "Comfortable stay."

    Appreciate the heating being fixed when failed to come on and the welcome wine and chocolate. Would book again if parking permit still available

    The parking permit is permanently available for all guests. It is for all car parks in Grange Over Sands and many in the lake district. Thank you for booking again for May next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline3.8Sep 2022

  • "A nice comfortable apartment , with all the shops and places to eat or take aways as you need right on your doorstep."

    The owners were very helpful. I would certainly go back.

    We are happy you really enjoyed the apartment. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Sep 2022

  • "The property was spacious, clean and right in the centre of the village."

    It is an excellent place to stay and very close to walks and places to visit. The only thing we had trouble with was cooking with the table top oven, it was a slow clunky thing to work with.

    We are happy you really enjoyed the apartment. We have installed a new express oven, 2.5 x faster, to improve the kitchen facilities. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Aug 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay here clean and spacious apartment with pubs and takeaways close to hand"

    We are happy you really enjoyed the apartment. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Jul 2022

  • "Great location, accom itself however disappointing."

    It's listed as an ex commercial premises and it still looks like an office that's had the minimum conversion. Suspended ceiling awful, interior office doors, bunk bed room no wardrobe or table etc just a stool. One thin bath towel each for the whole stay, not even a hand towel. No extra bedding for when it was chilly. Shower tray plug hole blocks, water doesnt drain. Terrible noise from tenants in flat above, there is zero sound proofing. Blurb says local interior designer did it, more like its thrown together from a charity shop. There are apologetic notices up about storm damage to interior walks - just get it fixed! Parking voucher appreciated but overall not worth what we paid for it.

    Thank you for commenting the great location. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our apartment. You never contacted us at all during your stay. Contact details were provided. We always offer to visit and make good most problems the same day. We would have been more than happy to have provided you with additional bedding or blankets if you had contacted us, as the weather was nice during your stay, we wouldn't have thought extra bedding was needed. Palace Apartment is an ex commercial property which is what makes it a quirky alternative to other properties in the area. We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay, most guests love our apartment as they enjoy being right in the middle of the town. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adele1.9Jun 2022

  • "Huge apartment with lots of facilities."

    Parking outside was easy and free. Would recommend.

    We are happy you really enjoyed the apartment. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Duncan5.0Jun 2022

  • "We had a great stay- property was clean, spacious, as described and shown in the listing."

    It’s in a great central location in Grange near the shops and cafes (a lovely new coffee shop opened a couple of doors down while we were staying) and easy to get to other parts of the South Lakes. Although there is no long stay parking outside the property we were given a parking permit which could be used in other car parks, which was very handy. Good value for money.

    We are happy you really enjoyed the apartment. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura4.7Feb 2022

  • "The apartment was comfortable and clean."

    Also close to shops and tourists attractions so a great location. Only downside is parking can be a bit hit and miss.... but other than that a great place to stay.

    We are happy you really enjoyed the apartment. We have guaranteed parking available now for guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa3.8Oct 2021

  • "Unfortunately our holiday was cut short incredibly early so only had 1day here."

    I have been in touch with you with regards to some compensation either money back or as a good Will gesture a return visit perhaps but not heard anything since from you. Apartment was great but found an empty whisky bottle down side of sofa and no iron or board

    We are so sorry that you had to leave early due to personal reasons. Thank you for commenting how great the apartment is. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally3.8Aug 2021

  • "Very good just the work men drilling 7 30 was to early."

    We will book again thank you

    Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear about the issues experienced. The building the property is in required emergency repairs to be completed due to a recent flood. The work has now finished and all scaffolding removed on 12th August 2021. Further to this I have carried out renovations throughout the property and trust this upgrade is welcomed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen4.1Aug 2021

  • "Directions were good and we found the apartment easily."

    Clean and tidy on arrival, and well furnished. Very Covid secure. Apartment had everything we needed with well stocked crockery etc and a lovely fridge freezer. Bed was comfy and good shower. Central location with all we needed within a few minutes walk. Lovely relaxing week.

    We are happy you really enjoyed the apartment. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rona5.0Jul 2021

  • "We booked the apartment as we had a family wedding to attend in Grange in the evening of 26/06/21."

    Cleaner let us drop luggage off at 15.00 as travelled by train. When we entered at 16.45 we found the apartment was still not very clean. Mould in bathroom cabinet, black grime around shower cubicle and sink and dust and cobwebs throughout apartment. Bedding was not up to standard very crumpled and creased. The bunk bedroom had water coming through the ceiling and down the walls due to next door and there was scaffolding up and workmen constantly banging and making a noise. This was reported to Sykes as emergency call on 26/6/21 and case reference is COR-218057-CF. Owner did come and look at the leaking ceiling and walls as we put pans and bin to catch the water which carried on over 2 days. Owner did attempt to do a bit of a clean in bathroom and changed duvet. Owner left bottle of wine and biscuits as a gesture which was appreciated. The apartment could do with decorating and suspended ceiling removed .A new cleaner is also required. Once the problems had been tried to be dealt with we managed to remain in apartment for the full week but spent a very unrelaxed holiday. We also missed the wedding party due to the water coming through the ceiling as could not leave the apartment due to nobody coming to deal with the water until the following afternoon. Spent most of the night emptying pans and bin .

    Reviewed by Yvonne2.2Jun 2021

  • "The location in Grange is brilliant for all the restaurants, cafes, takeaways, shops and a short walk to the promenade with very many places to visit nearby."

    The apartment is nicely decorated with quality fittings and really spacious. The lounge area is very comfortable and there is plenty of room round the large table in the dining area. The bedrooms are a good size and we slept well in the very comfortable king size bed. The kitchen was very easy to use with plenty of crockery etc. The shower is very efficient with plenty of hot water. We really enjoyed our stay and felt the whole apartment had a lovely atmosphere and look forward to return.

    Reviewed by Sheila5.0Apr 2021

  • "This apartment is truly one of the dirtiest places we have ever stayed in."

    There were used tissues left (ironically next to a covid avoidance sign,) huge damp patches, dust so thick you could write your name in it, dead wood lice in the cutlery drawer, a tv which was not connected to an aerial, a bathroom where the paintwork had not yet been finished. The location is good but if you stay here you will have to pray for good weather as you won't want to stay in the property for any length of time.

    Thank you for your feedback. The property had been checked prior to your arrival with a video being taken once the changeover had been completed, as per our cleaning companies pre arrival procedures. We are sorry that you felt the property did not meet your expectations; however, on this occasion we are happy that the property was checked and cleaned to the advertised standards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma1.3Apr 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Split-level modern and contemporary apartment inside a previous commercial building
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size with Smart TV, 1 x bunk room
  • First floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • First-floor kitchen
  • Living/dining room with sofa bed
  • Gas central heating
  • electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, fridge/freezer with built in water dispenser
  • Smart TV with Netflix, DVD player with DVD's, books, board games, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen, additional bedding and towels inc in rent
  • Please bring own linen for travel cot
  • Two well-behaved quiet dogs allowed
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops, restaurants and pubs on your doorstep
  • Note: This apartment is split-level with the bunk room reached via three steps from the ground-floor and the kitchen reached by a further small set of steps, please consider this when booking
  • Note: Friday changeover
  • Note: No stag/hen or similar
  • Note: Highchair and cot available
  • Note: there is no garden but there are walks for dogs nearby
  • Dogs must not be left alone in the property at any time and are not allowed on furniture; Please bring own dog bedding and bowls
  • Linen and towels provided
  • Parking is available, a free permit is provided for all car parks in Grange Over Sands and can be used in south Lakeland

The property

Resting in the town centre of the charming Edwardian resort of Grange-over-Sands.

Inside this former commercial building on the heart of the main street, is this split-level modern and contemporary apartment, with furniture sourced form a local interior designer which adds to the properties existing character.

perfect for a group of five on a refreshing break to the Lake District.

Palace Apartment enjoys a spacious layout and is just a short stroll from the shoreline, within easy reach of shops and pubs too.

There is a vast selection of coffee shops and eateries on your doorstep.

When you're not out exploring, relax in the living/dining room, where a sofa and two armchairs provide the perfect spots to settle in as you enjoy watching the Smart TV, later on gathering around the dining table to tuck into a tasty takeaway, DVD's and board games to keep you entertained.

A spacious king-size bedroom with smart TV rests on this lower level, while three steps up takes you to the bunk room, perfect for children.

A further small set of steps will bring you to the compact but well-equipped kitchen which provides all the essentials for a self-catered stay including an electric oven, microwave, gas hob and fridge.

Next to this room is the neat shower room where you can freshen up in the walk in shower.

Enjoy being just a short stroll from everything you need on your holiday, with Grange-over-Sands' shops and pubs all within walking distance, as well as the scenic seafront.

Delight in exploring the Park Road Gardens, the Ornamental Gardens and the Grange-over-Sands Promenade.

Two golf courses are nearby including Grange-over-Sands Golf Club and Grange Fell Golf Club, great for those who want to practice their swing, while a day at the races can be had over at Cartmel Racecourse with nine race days taking place throughout the year.

Visit the beautiful Holker Hall & Gardens set amongst 200-acres of gardens and woodland with tours available around the large Cumbrian hall and a deer park too.

Delight in a scenic trip on the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway taking you on a three-mile journey through scenic Lake District countryside in a vintage carriage and train, or head to the Lakeland Motor Museum for any car enthusiasts with an enormous 30,000 exhibits on display!

For a unique holiday experience book with Predator Experience to walk with wolves, meet a golden eagle and make friends with a fox, all against the idyllic backdrop of the Lakeland countryside.

Venture up to the popular Lakeland towns and embark on hikes with something for all abilities sure to be found.

Enjoy a wonderful Lake District trip with countryside excursions from the Palace Apartment.


Note: there is no garden but there are walks for dogs nearby. Dogs must not be left alone in the property at any time and are not allowed on furniture. Please bring own dog bedding and bowls.

Please Note: Bookings MUST start/ arrive on a Friday.

Please note: This property accept 5 guests, however 1 guest must be under 16, due to the bunk bed.

Please note - The check in time for 2024 will be 5pm.



View on map

About the location

GRANGE-OVER-SANDS

Cartmel 2 miles; Lake Windermere 8 miles; Kendal 10 miles.

The charming Edwardian resort of Grange-over-Sands is set between the Lake District fells and Morecambe Bay and offers one of the mildest climates in the north of England. Formerly a small fishing village, the introduction of the Furness Railway transformed Grange-over-Sands into a fashionable Edwardian resort. Today, the town has much to offer the visitor including a traffic-free promenade, delightful ornamental gardens, golf courses, brass band concerts and excellent bird watching. Just a short drive away are Lake Windermere (8 miles), the villages of Bowness-on-Windermere and Hawkshead, which still retain the charm and character that has endeared them to so many, and the home of sticky toffee pudding, Cartmel, with its famous racecourse and the L’Enclume restaurant, which has been voted the 4th best restaurant in the UK. Other attractions in the area include Levens Hall, with its Elizabethan Hall and world famous topiary gardens, Holker Hall, Furness Abbey, Sizergh Castle, a National Trust medieval house and gardens, and Conishead Priory, a Gothic revival country house. There is also the 25 mile Cistercian Way which starts at Grange over Sands. Set amidst the southern lakes, the attractive town of Grange-over-Sands makes a superb base from which to enjoy the whole of this magical area.

View more holiday cottages in Grange-over-sands


Note: there is no garden but there are walks for dogs nearby. Dogs must not be left alone in the property at any time and are not allowed on furniture. Please bring own dog bedding and bowls.

Please Note: Bookings MUST start/ arrive on a Friday.

Please note: This property accept 5 guests, however 1 guest must be under 16, due to the bunk bed.



This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter