Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 29 View Image Gallery
  • Winster Fields - Lake District - 26823 - photo 1

Winster Fields

(Ref. 26823)

Cartmel Fell near Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (20)
  • lovely (17)
  • our (16)
  • views (16)
  • stay (15)
  • location (15)

51 Customer Reviews

  • "Everything was great."

    From beginning until the end. :) Our workers who have stayed here were really happy and enjoyed their stay. We will certainly come back!

    Thank you. I am delighted to see you have just booked for another 2 weeks in April. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Feb 2024

  • "We found the property spacious and bright, and set in a lovely spot."

    Had pretty much everything we needed in the kitchen and it was a comfortable stay. Kitchen appliances feel a little aged, but everything working as should be. House was extremely warm throughout, and we had no issues staying cosy in the autumn/ winter. Thanks for a nice stay in this beautiful part of the world!

    Reviewed by Chris3.4Nov 2023

  • "The problem we had was the furnace was malfunctioning."

    Although a couple of repair people came by and one got the system working the day after we arrived, by the morning it was not working again. The first maintenance person left us with three portable heaters, which helped a lot. I had no shower for four days. The owners offered us a refund of 100 UK, but we have not received this yet. We found the directions for the appliances difficult to follow and really did not want to read a manual to use the microwave or washer/dryer. Index card instructions would have been great. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay in this wonderful spot. Sally

    I am very sorry you experienced this issue, it turns out that water had got into the oil tank, which has now been replaced in its entirety. This will solve the issue permanently. Am sorry too you found using the appliances difficult, your comment is noted. Sykes will be arranging the refund, I will press them to ensure it is dealt with. Again, please accept my apologies for the heating issue, of course I am pleased you enjoyed your stay despite the issues you encountered. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally3.8Oct 2023

  • "This was our second visit to Winster Fields and it was probably even better this time."

    The view is lovely, the local setting spectacular and the property itself is excellent: it is bright and welcoming with everything we needed for a relaxing and re-energising time. The slight remoteness of the property was, for us, an added bonus. And the Wi-Fi is still very good. The weather was mixed but that's the Lake District. It was no problem spending time inside at Winster Fields on the two wet days: we did the OS map jigsaw puzzle provided, although having no picture, we did end up buying the actual map. The map served us well on some of the wonderful hikes we were able to do in the area and within a 30 minute drive.

    I am delighted you enjoyed the house even more the second time, and of course excellent you found the real map useful. Jigsaw not really practical when out on a hike. There is a new internet provider but the service is more resilient than BT and very effective. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nikki4.7Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic property, lovely and clean, great views, excellent parking perfect for ..."

    Fantastic property, lovely and clean, great views, excellent parking perfect for relaxing, walking, off the main road up very thin winding road take it slow but adds to the experience

    Wonderful comments, thank you, they sum up Winster Fields and the surrounding area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at Winster Fields."

    The cottage was clean, comfortable and well equipped. A very peaceful location but within reach of all places of interest. Yes there are small lanes to manoeuvre to reach the cottage but we really had no problems. The weather was amazing. Thank you...we had a great time

    I am of course delighted you enjoyed your stay, and the weather was kind. The small lanes are part of the charm the area around Winster Fields! main roads on the Lakes are pretty small. All part of the experience. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin4.4Jun 2023

  • "Couldn’t fault the cottage it was idyllic, the views were stunning and the ..."

    Couldn’t fault the cottage it was idyllic, the views were stunning and the cottage was the perfect get away for our girls weekend break away from all the hassle

    Thank you for your lovely comment. Winster fields is there to be enjoyed at all times of year, including mid winter, as your family discovered. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Jan 2023

  • "The property location is wonderful and the layout is also perfect for us."

    The downside is the cleanliness. This is the second time we’ve been and unfortunately the second time that we had to hoover the lounge area because it wasn’t very clean and there were also a huge amount of cobwebs-on the ceilings in most rooms and a lot over the dragon statue on the stairs. We thought it was perhaps a one off the first time we went but unfortunately that doesn’t seem to be the case. We decided not to report it because we didn’t want someone coming out during our stay to clean.

    I am very sorry the guest was not satisfied with the level of cleaning. I shall be discussing this immediately with the cleaning contractor. I would urge that if guests are not satisfied, they should contact the cleaners because it is much easier then for them to take remedial action both immediately and to pinpoint issues going forward. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jemma3.1Oct 2022

  • "Lovely location and nice furnishing, beds comfy."

    Would stay again. Dishwasher doesn’t work properly, lots of stuff still dirty every run. Blinds in attic room don’t keep light out-not suitable for babies and small children.

    Thank you for your comments and you clearly have enjoyed staying at Winster Fields. I am sorry you consider the DW did not work well enough, the default setting (P4) is a relatively cool 50c economy setting which may well not be up to dealing with a full machine and potentially greasy items. I would recommend using P5 which is 70c - and much quicker. I have however asked the maintenance team to check out the machine for any fault. This is the first time the darkness levels in the top bedroom have been mentioned in 15 years! the Venetian blinds are as supplied by Velux for the windows and can be turned to adjust the amount of light admitted to the room. Sometimes, the individual slats can come out of their tracks. I have asked the maintenance team during a visit on 26 August 2022 to check the blinds to ensure they are properly in place. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline4.7Aug 2022

  • "A very stunning and relaxing property which is beautifully furnished."

    WiFi was excellent and I enjoyed the outside seating area. Despite being a bit isolated, this was a perfect location for us away from the crowds and traffic. Plus it's relatively easy to reach most places within the Lakes by car. I would definitely stay here again. The dryer of the washer dryer wasn't working, which we only discovered once we had a full load of wet washing. The maintenance team were very quick to respond but couldn't fix it and thereafter we heard no more. Luckily the weather was good so we were able to dry outside using a clotheshorse. A few plates and glasses in the cupboard weren't clean but the rest of the house was spotless. In the warm weather, fans would be a useful addition.

    I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in this very tranquil location, the combination of relative isolation - but near pubs and restaurants - but with the ability to access so many places easily is a key attribute of Winster Fields. I am sorry the dryer on the washing machine failed during your stay, a new appliance has now been installed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nikki4.4Jun 2022

  • "Thanks for a lovely stay, me and my parents really enjoyed the tranquility."

    Dear Mr Barton, I am very pleased you and your parents enjoyed your stay. The tranquility of Winster Fields is rather special! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan4.4Jun 2022

  • "Great place with amazing views."

    Peaceful with nice walking trails. One problem was the late check in and early check out. If we stayed for one night then we wouldn’t have had much time.

    Thank you for you feedback. We have since spoke to the cleaning company and Sykes have extended the check-in and departure times. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Darren4.4Feb 2022

  • "The cottage hadn't been hovered properly, and there was food left in the cupboards and freezer."

    We couldn't arrive until 5pm it was pitch black, no welcome pack just a few teabags, biscuits and some out of date milk! The WiFi didn't work for all of the 7 days holiday. Other than that we did enjoy our stay.

    I have drawn your concerns about the cleaning to the attention of the cleaning company, whose standards are very high, I'm sorry they have fallen short. I will check the date of the long life milk and replace as required. The internet was taken out by Storm Arwen, re connected the day you left, after intervention by the local MP and Ofcom. I had understood Sykes had advised you of this issue - beyond my control. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Darren3.8Dec 2021

  • "We had a fab time and enjoyed every minute."

    The cottage was in a lovely spot with great views and was just what we were looking for. As a family of 4 and a couple I would probably feedback that there wasn't enough recycling/bin space. Luckily we were able to take a lot of rubbish home so it didn't affect us however spending Xmas with 2 children and 4 adults, you can imagine there was a lot to take home. Other than the above the cottage was great and we would highly recommend.

    I am sorry you felt there was insufficient bin space, the biggest bin possible is at the property, much bigger than usual wheelie bins. The contractor will only empty the bin every 2 weeks, this is usually sufficient. Thank you for taking rubbish home, there is a recycling facility at the Broad St car park in Windermere, post code LA23 2AB. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah4.7Dec 2021

  • "The holiday cottage was beautiful we couldn’t have asked for anything nicer."

    I am delighted you enjoyed Winster Fields. Now you have enjoyed Winster Fields directly, I hope you will be able to re book for a future visit online. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Nov 2021

  • "Beautiful holiday cottage in stunning location with magnificent views and ample parking."

    Cleanliness and attention to detail in the cottage was fantastic. We will definitely book again!! We had a wonderful stay.

    Good evening, thank you for such positive comments, I hope you can return as so many guests do. The house is being redecorated throughout in January 2022. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Oct 2021

  • "Beautiful location and views, away from the crowded tourist areas."

    Kids loved it. The place was spotless and the kitchen very well equipped. Couldn’t fault it. We would like to come back one day!

    Good evening, I am delighted you had such a good time, the property is so near to the centre of tourist activity geographically but is massively detached. An ideal combination. I hope you can come back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Aug 2021

  • "We had a super time in this well presented roomy cottage with stunning views and spacious grounds."

    I am delighted to hear you had a good time and hope the weather was kind to you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Aug 2021

  • "Blackout blinds in the loft bedroom would be nice, fantastic peaceful spot"

    In midsummer with long days and short nights, I can understand that the Velux fitted Venetian blinds may let some limited light through. One of the great virtues of Winster Fields is its tranquility and great views. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2021

  • "Negative stuff: Some issues with the ground floor shower - lack of pressure/cold water - which we think might have been to both showers being in use at the same time."

    Fridge could have been bigger. Noisy cooker fan and first floor bathroom extraction fan. Place didn’t have any signs of damp but there was a slight humidity/dampness that made it impossible to dry any washing and we couldn’t get the drier to work (might have been user error didn’t check instructions and managed to dry most stuff outside). Outdoor furniture was old greyed teak passed its best but useable. 6 chairs - one broken chair (unuseable) and one broken, but repaired. We did sit out a lot as there was a great view. BBQ looked new, but wasn’t clean so didn’t use it. Positive stuff: Lovely quiet location and possible to walk along footpath (1 mile) to Mason’s Arms pub for a pint. Everything work (except for intermittent water issues in shower). Lots of kitchen equipment, pans, crockery etc. Place was clean and all beds made with fresh linen and towels available. Good location for south Lakes - off the beaten track but all the better for it if you want to avoid the crowds at Bowness etc. and have walks that aren’t full of other people.

    I have little doubt the apparent lack of water pressure was because both showers were in use at the same time. Our excellent water comes from a borehole and the pressure is very good for each shower individually. The heated towel rails are excellent for drying clothes and there is a drying rack too which can be taken outside. The garden has plenty of sunshine as it faces east and south. I am not aware of any issue with the tumble drier and in my experience extraction fans of any kind are not silent. Teak when left outside naturally goes silver grey, the damaged chair has been removed and the repaired one is perfectly serviceable. The garden furniture will probably be replaced for 2022, the problems of sourcing such items are pretty well known. Sadly, not all guests clean out the BBQ after they use it, it's not a very onerous task. I am pleased you enjoyed the view, it is lovely at all times of day. The proximity but yet huge distance from the crowds in Bowness and Windermere are part of what makes Winster Fields rather special - for those who are looking for somewhere just a bit special. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vera4.1Jun 2021

  • "Had a great time at Winster Fields although the downstairs floor was not cleaned at all for when we arrived and there were bits all over the floor in the kitchen and living room area so i had to hoover up and mop the floor on arrival and the next day."

    Not so great really. Upstairs was ok but we weren’t using upstairs! Although the bedrooms and bathrooms were ok. The bed was really comfortable and the views from the property were amazing. We loved the seating area outside and we were lucky we had some great weather to enjoy it fully. The boiler has had it’s day and smelt ‘oily’ when we tried to put the heating on so we gave up as we were concerned we would lose the hot water as had happened to another guest i read in a review. We would love to return although we wouldn’t unless the boiler was fixed or changed (it is too old and on it’s way out for the size of property especially) and the cleanliness issue is sorted. Apart from that it was great!

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Winster Fields, which we believe to be an exceptional property. We take the cleaning and upkeep of Winster Fields very seriously, and if guests encounter any issues during their stay there are contact numbers for our cleaning and maintenance team to ensure problems will be dealt with promptly. If you had made us aware of any issues during your stay the team could have dealt with any cleaning and maintenance matters that you were not happy with, you could have also contacted Sykes Cottages and they could have contacted the team on your behalf. The general manager of the cleaning company I retain and their cleaning quality coordinator visited Winster Fields on 14 May, this was the day of your arrival, the report from the team is as follows- ' We found the property clean and with no obvious issues. All the areas under the cushions were hoovered and the sofas reset. The small coffee table was moved and the centre rug carpet area hoovered. All hard floors in the lounge/kitchen, hall and the lower bedroom floor were hoovered again. The stairs were hoovered by hand. The hall floor was cleaned with Trichem 100 spray and wiped by hand (on hands and knees) with a cloth for its entire length. The vacuum used was a new (this month) Dart 1 with variable height adjustment and set at its lowest setting. The kitchen was actually cleaned twice yesterday. Once by the cleaning team and once by us at the second visit. The worktops were cleaned with Trichem 100.' I am confident this is an accurate report of the way they property was cleaned before your arrival. My wife and I stayed at the property last week and there are no oily smells when the boiler fires up. Putting the heating on is as simple as turning up the wall mounted thermostat and hot water is supplied on demand. Guests do not need to do anything more. The boiler itself is serviced regularly and the issue of the heating cutting out as reported by a previous guest has of course been fixed, the boiler is the correct size for the property and is not too old to function correctly. Once again thank you for leaving a review following your stay, we hope we have answered some of your concerns. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lucy2.8May 2021

  • "Perfect location, beautiful views, unclean property (which is mentioned a lot in the visitor book)"

    Thank you for your feedback. The owner was disappointed to read your comments regarding cleanliness issues at the property. Once they were made aware of your comments they did make contact to offer a re clean that I understand you declined. The general manager of the cleaning company personally inspected the property just before your arrival and reported he found no evidence of poor cleaning practices. Your comments have been fed back to the cleaning company the owner uses and they will continue to monitor this going forward. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jemma2.8Apr 2021

  • "Had to get beyond fact that the boiler stopped working for over 24 hours, with no hot water or heating over that time."

    Provided with room heaters (which was appreciated) but still no hot water. Feedback in the visitors book commented on boiler problems months ago (before Lockdown), and plumber shocked at condition of the boiler - why then wasn’t it replaced beforehand, especially as property empty for months, so ample opportunity. Does not sit well with me. All in context of a week paying way over the odds (which we chose to do, but wouldn’t have if known boiler couldn’t even be sorted out). Not impressed.

    Reviewed by Susan2.8Apr 2021

  • "If only you had responded to customers’ feedback from a year ago I’d have been happy but to arrive at a property in the dark at 5pm to find the beds not made and no linen anywhere to make them myself is not acceptable."

    Add to that a disabled husband and a young son, along with a global pandemic that meant this was a rare and greatly prized opportunity, then you’ve got one very annoyed customer. The kitchen should have been spotless and I wasn’t. The dishwasher was half full of dishes. 3 of the 4 TVs didn’t work . . . . . This could be a beautiful let. I am still waiting for some recompense from you. I had to delay my evening with family to wait for linen matter to be resolved and then had to have two people come into the house to make the beds. Not very covid safe.

    I note the comments made by Ms Shaw on 30 October 2020 concerning her stay. An offer of compensation has been made and accepted gratefully by her and I now wish as the owner of the property to respond fully to her comments because they include some very important inaccuracies. It is acknowledged that the cleaning and maintenance service provider had not provided the complete set of new linen for the property and for this reason, compensation was offered promptly. The service provider has apologised for this failure. However, I have been advised by the general manager of the service provider, who attended the premises with a colleague promptly after being notified of the issue, that the missing linen was provided during his visit, it amounted to missing duvet covers, rather than a complete remaking of beds as alleged. He has also advised me that he and his colleague were in the premises for as little as 10 minutes and they were fully equipped with Covid appropriate protective equipment. The manager has also told me that Ms Shaw made no reference to the dishwasher containing dishes, Ms Shaw does not say whether they were clean or not. If the manager had been told of this matter, he would have dealt with it in an appropriate manner. Furthermore, Ms Shaw has not given any clarity to support her assertion that the kitchen was not clean, again, if she had, it would have been dealt with there and then. Finally, the statement that 3 out of 4 televisions did not work is wholly inaccurate, I suspect that Ms Shaw did not notice that the TVs had been switched off at the mains rather than on the remotes. It is an important safety matter to switch off TVs in an appropriate manner. The general manager attended the house on 9 November and called me by telephone, he demonstrated to my complete satisfaction that all televisions were fully operational. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katie3.4Oct 2020

  • "We absolutely loved staying at Winster Fields."

    The photos don’t do the cottage any justice as to the size and layout. Everything was provided and could not have asked for any more. Be warned the road to get to the cottage is a single lane but don’t let that put you off as the views are amazing and there is very little traffic by the cottage. Will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Oct 2020

  • "Beautiful quiet location with easy access to the Lakes area."

    Very comfortable house in secluded setting. Very few cars around in immediate area which was helpful as roads very narrow and a few potholes around. We were fortunate in having wonderful weather.

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Oct 2020

  • "A beautiful barn conversion , very spacious with all necessities needed."

    Loved the lay out & views all around the barn were so peaceful. It was a good 20 min drive to cartmel , I assumed it was closer as never researched this properly before we left. We would have liked to have been a bit closer to cartmel but there was 2 lovely pubs Just a 5 min drive that serve great food & very cosy . We had a 1 & a 3 year old with us & travel cot and high chair were ready as we walked in . Overall very happy with our stay & would recommend.

    Reviewed by Katrina4.7Jan 2020

  • "Beautiful cottage in a amazing location (although VERY rural and not really walking access to any amenities)"

    Reviewed by Lucie4.7Dec 2019

  • "Lovely cottage (although hard to find in the dark!"

    !) - loads of equipment for the kitchen which was good as we went over Christmas. Really comfy beds, warm and loads of space. Beautiful, quiet location but only 20 mins from Windermere. You can walk, run and cycle from the cottage which is brilliant. Maps and guides in the cottage as well as games and DVDs etc. We would return again if we were going to the area. Highly recommended

    Reviewed by P5.0Dec 2019

  • "A really beautiful barn conversion and very spacious, the pictures don't do it justice."

    It was very clean and warm, just what we needed on a very cold week end. The location allowed some to head off into the hills and others to walk from the door, into some really lovely countryside, and such quiet roads! There is an amazing pub, The Mason's Arms that does great food just 5 mins away, very cozy and rustic with 2 wood burning fires, truly magical, a lovely evening out for everyone. The only thing I would add is the lack of information, for example, house stuff like where to leave rubbish, re-cycling, how to use the cooker etc and also, information about local walks would have been great, especially as a BT internet issue (which was happily resolved) prevented us from doing our own research. To sum up, we were all delighted with the accommodation and its location and would highly recommend to family and friends.

    Reviewed by Catrin4.4Nov 2019

  • "Tranquil location in excellent surroundings however the following defects were noted: -radiator in dining area not working; -DVD player in living room didn’t work; -various lightbulbs not working (lamps in bedrooms & lounge and ceiling lights); -a dust pan & brush would have been useful too; -recycling should have had clearer information."

    Reviewed by Christopher4.1Oct 2019

  • "Lovely setting and views."

    Cottage is very spacious and comfy. Downstairs bedroom smelt a bit musty and the kitchen sink was a bit whiffy, but these are minor details. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Susan4.1Sep 2019

  • "Fantastic apartment."

    It was a little piece of heaven. We will most definitely book this place again for our next visit to the Lake Lands. Although it was only me and my wife the place is fully suited for a family. If there was anything negative I would say the water pressure on the 1st floor bathroom is poor and would suggest that a booster pump be installed to resolve the issue - however there's a downstairs shower as well so it didn't bother us. The house itself is lovely really spacious and clean with everything you would need to be comfortable. The surrounding landscape is breath taking and it is well located with quick access to all the famous Lakeland landmarks you might wish to see or climb!

    Reviewed by Altaf5.0Aug 2019

  • "The holiday cottage was comfortable, well equipped and located and as described online, but we thought the ‘welcome’ tray wasn’t very welcoming - no biscuits, no fresh milk - in all 6 cottages I’ve stayed at over the last 6 years we’ve had fresh milk and cake or special biscuits on arrival."

    The downstairs bedroom smelt damp and musty and the upstairs shower had very poor water pressure and fluctuating temperatures: we stopped using it in favour of the downstairs shower, which was better, though not great. The visitors’ book showed both these issues had been commented upon by other guests. The soap had run out in the downstairs bathroom and water came through the hall roof. So there were several issues, though we did enjoy our holiday in the Lake District.

    Reviewed by Molly4.1Aug 2019

  • "The pictures do not do this place justice- views are fantastic and the cottage much bigger than it appears."

    Reviewed by Liz5.0May 2019

  • "Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much -everything was as described and contributed to a very pleasant holiday at the cottage."

    Unfortunately, the washing machine was broken and couldn't be fixed in time.

    Reviewed by Andra4.7Apr 2019

  • "Wonderful location and beautiful views."

    We had the most amazing time in this gorgeous cottage. Thank you to the owners for a superb break.

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Feb 2019

  • "After an unforseen event meant we needed to change bookings at the last minute, Sykes were extremely efficient and helpful."

    Our new booking at Winster Fields turned out to be a wonderful location, warm, comfortable, clean and well equipped. We had a superb stay. We couldn't be happier with the service provided or with the accommodation or location we visited.

    Reviewed by Charlie5.0Oct 2018

  • "Lovely cottage, for 2 it feels luxurious!"

    ! Views spectacular.

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Sep 2018

  • "Cottage had very poor water pressure which whilst you rang me on the day of our intended stay to inform us as a one of - seemed to be a regular occurrence from the visitors book i feel that whilst you stated that this would be fixed prior to our arrival it wasn't."

    Only one water based device functioned properly at any one point in time - eg flushed the toilet - shower wouldn't work - so we had to plan around this when taking showers etc. Cottage smelled of damp if you closed up the rooms and there was evidence of water seepage into some of the rooms creating a hidden problem.. Cottage was tired and needed refreshing. ***OWNER RESPONSE*** I am sorry you experienced water pressure issues, the water comes from a private borehole which has been adversely affected by the recent extreme weather. The water quality is exceptionally high and the changed weather conditions have lead to full restoration of the supply. I shall visit the property to investigate the comments about damp smells and water leakage and take any action required to deal with any issues.

    Reviewed by Matthew2.5Aug 2018

  • "This was a fantastic experience booked last minute for a group of friends wanting o explore the Lake District."

    Couldn't have asked for anything more. All in all a wonderful experience.

    Thank you for your comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your short visit so much, 3 days is not enough! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charles4.7Aug 2018

  • "Deep clean especially cooker and grill,"

    Reviewed by Pericles4.1Jul 2018

  • "The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable A great base from which to ..."

    The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable A great base from which to explore the southern lakes Roads to and from the cottage are very narrow and steep in places Would have liked a small welcome pack on arrival - milk and tea bags You never did get back to me about the mattress size for the travel cot

    Reviewed by Margaret4.1Apr 2018

  • "Bigger than looked on photos, lovely and tranquil, only few miles from activities."


    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Feb 2018

  • "A chair or something to hang clothes in the further up bedroom would have been nice + something to put our belongings in the upstairs bathroom would have been better than the floor."

    Apart from that, everything was truly perfect !

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Jul 2017

  • "Some soap in the bathrooms would have been nice."

    Otherwise, a really great cottage and holiday.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Jun 2017

  • "Excellent service from the initial booking to our departure on the last day."

    Information provided by email in a timely fashion (billing, directions etc). Would certainly use Sykes Cottages again.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0May 2017

  • "The Property at Winster fields was easy to live in with the thoughtful layout."

    Lovely views and spacious feel. Would book here again.

    Reviewed by David3.8Mar 2017

  • "Would definitely re-book"

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Mar 2017

  • "Absolutely beautiful cottage set in stunning surroundings we couldn't have asked for better, we will definitely be booking Winster Fields again."

    Reviewed by Nicola4.8Dec 2016

  • "Really lovely place defineltly go back will be booking for next year !"


    Reviewed by Stefanie4.4Nov 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms with TV: 1 x ground floor king-size double, 1 x twin, 1 x second floor twin
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer (50/50 split), washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • 4 x TVs with FreeSat, DVD, iPod dock, BT ultra-fast WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair (please bring own cot mattress and bedding)
  • Off road parking for up to 4 cars
  • Private patio with furniture and charcoal BBQ, shared use of lawned gardens
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and nearest pub 1.5 miles
  • The local region also has eateries such as The Masons Arms, and Hare and Hounds
  • Please be aware of narrow roads near to property: may not be suitable for nervous drivers and Sat Nav may not work here.Property location is super for walking and is also an the sustrans national cycle route
  • Tesco deliveries available in area
  • Please note: If you wish to charge your car there are charging points near by at Booths supermarket car park in Windermere, around 6 miles away
  • Windermere also has a rail station, for guests that want day trips without driving all day
  • Windermere and the wider area of course also offer watersports, castles, Roman forts
  • Please note: The water supply to Winster Fields is from a private borehole which is tested regularly by the local authority in accordance with current regulations
  • The advice from South Lakeland District Council is that the slightly elevated sulphate level (282mg/l in comparison with a standard of 250mg/l) is naturally occurring and the water is safe for consumption, however guests may wish to use bottled water if they will be mixing baby formula.

The property

Windermere 5 miles.

A superb, semi-detached barn conversion set in a quiet, rural location, close to Windermere in the heart of the Lake District National Park.

Luxuriously appointed throughout, this immaculate cottage near Windermere provides excellent accommodation, and with three bedrooms set over three floors, it's ideal for families looking for a quiet retreat from which to discover the beauty of the Lake District.

This charming Windermere cottage benefits from a spacious open plan living area, fitted with a superb kitchen and opening out to a private patio and shared lawns, where the views of the surrounding countryside are a delight.

Greeted by a welcome back equipped with tea, coffee and biscuits.

Settle here with friends for a summer's alfresco meal and discuss your holiday plans, and with the area being home to an abundance of wildlife, you will be sure to spot some of the native deer and red squirrel here or whilst on one of the many walks from the doorstep of this Lakes cottage.

Stroll past the giant redwood tree, which sits proudly in the shared grounds, or head to one of the local pubs, which also serve excellent food.

This lovely Windermere cottage has the advantage of all the peace, quiet and beauty of being nestled away in glorious countryside, whilst the bustling village of Bowness is just ten minutes' drive away.

From Bowness, the Lakeland Steamers cruise up and down Lake Windermere to Ambleside and connect with the Haverthwaite Steam Railway at Lakeside.

There is also a car ferry crossing the lake, meaning you can easily explore the quaint Lakeland villages of Hawkshead, Far Sawrey and Satterthwaite, and find easy access to the stunning Grizedale Forest, where magical scenery for walks and cycling trips will be found.

A magnificent cottage in the enchanting Lake District, to be enjoyed at any time of the year.

View on map

About the location


Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, cinema, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction and the Old Laundry Theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is three miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There is also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and 'Go-Ape' adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere

Please note: If you wish to charge your car there are charging points near by at Booths supermarket car park in Windermere, around 6 miles away.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute