Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 40 View Image Gallery
  • Middlehope Cottage - Yorkshire Dales - 1120717 - photo 1
close

Middlehope Cottage

(Ref. 1120717)

Westgate near St John's Chapel, Yorkshire Dales - North Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (16)
  • stay (10)
  • lovely (9)
  • our (6)
  • location (6)
  • beautiful (5)

18 Customer Reviews

  • "Good cottage."

    Ideal for a dog.

    So glad you enjoyed your stay at Middlehope and made good use of the two dog friendly gardens. We always appreciate having a dog safe space as part of a holiday let on our breaks, where we can let our dog off the lead to run around while we enjoy alfresco dinning, glass of wine and enjoy the views. Welcome back any time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ken5.0May 2024

  • "This is the second time that we have stayed in this lovely cottage."

    Lovely secluded spot but close to walks and only 2 mile walk to St John’s chapel- cafe, shop, pub there. Also good location for visiting nearby locations- Barnard castle, Middleton -in -teeside, Durham, Hexham etc. would recommend visiting this beautiful village . Dog friendly enclosed garden . The only. Recommendation I would have would be to have additional towels for duration of stay .

    Hi Alison, glad you enjoyed your stay and benefitted from the two dog friendly enclosed gardens. We always look for this facility being provided when we go away with our dog too. We provide two bath towels, two hand towels, T towels and a dog towel but happy to provide additional towels for you if you do stay again, for which you are most welcome to do. Just pop a message in the "guests request" box when booking stating the additional towels you would like and we can do this. Hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison4.7May 2024

  • "Had a wonderful time Harry (my furry friend) was in 7th heaven with space in the garden to play with his ball on the lawn, wonderful cottage great views so easy for walking from and the neighbours were lovely and very helpful with information on places to go."

    We hope to be back.it was magical.

    Pam it was a joy to have you stay and you left the cottage so beautifully tidy, thank you. Glad you and Harry had a great time, it's lovely to spend time in the garden and taking in the views. Hope you manged to go on the waterfall walk at Slit wood. Please do come back any time you will be most welcome. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pam5.0May 2024

  • "A cosy cottage in the heart of weardale surrounded by country walks and middlehope burn."

    We would recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a relaxing break and stunning views.

    Hi Matt and Sue, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Middlehope. You were fabulous guests and many thanks for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. You are most welcome to stay at anytime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matt5.0Apr 2024

  • "The cottage was lovely, it had everything we needed."

    There was a welcoming ‘welcome pack’ and the location was fantastic - right amongst some good walks. Would stay again. PS our dog loved it, he settled in really quickly and his tail hardly stopped wagging.

    Hi Sharon, so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for leaving the cottage in such good order, it is very much appreciated. Yes the walks are great aren't they. I particularly love taking our dog on the one that goes up through Slit Woods by the waterfalls. You were really lovely guests and are more than welcome back any time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7Apr 2024

  • "Downstairs radiator did not work despite being turned on."

    This meant it was very cold in the main room of the house. Not enough fire wood supplied for more than 2-3 hours of fire. A cold stay.

    Hi Aiden, I am so sorry to hear the sitting room heater was not working. I really wish you had let us know while you were staying, instead of now, and I could have done something about it. Thankfully the electric radiators are only for background warmth and the main source of heat is the multi-fuel stove which was in full working order, as were all the other radiators. As explained in the listing we always leave the fire made up ready to light, with a good supply of paper and sticks to hand as well as logs for our guest's first night. Thereafter guests are able to purchase fuel at various local outlets for further fires. It is regrettable that having read the listing you simply didn't use the stove as intended. If you had you would have been more than warm enough, as testified by a review by a previous guest who stayed in January this year. Also if you had let us know we could have brought you an extra sack of logs, but as I have only found out through your review you sadly did not give me the opportunity to help. It was also regrettable that you ruined the duvet set, bottom sheet, mattress protector and bed fleece in such a way that they could not be restored to use and all the items had to be purchased anew. You did not make us aware of the damage at any time. Having sent proof of this damage to Sykes they sent the photos of this on to you, which required you to pay the replacement costs. In conclusion; I feel your review of our cottage, having come immediately after this, may have coloured your views Property Owner

    Reviewed by Aidan3.1Apr 2024

  • "Middlehope Cottage was the perfect base for walking in Weardale."

    It had everything we needed and was homely and comfortable. The stove was a welcome addition to boost the heating each evening - it was a chilly week in January. The walk up the valley straight from the door was beautiful and we would love to see it again in the Spring. It's a fascinating area, well worth exploring and this was a lovely cosy cottage full of character, perfect for a couple. We had a great time.

    So glad you both enjoyed your break in Middlehope Cottage and kept nice and snug with the multi fuel stove on which boosts the back ground heating so well. Its great to cosy up in front of after a day exploring the area. Thank you for leaving the property so clean and tidy, it really is very much appreciated, and you are more than welcome back any time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Jan 2024

  • "Just beautiful in every way"

    Hi Gillian. Thank you for your lovely feedback. The cottage was left in immaculate order and you are more than welcome back anytime Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Dec 2023

  • "What a delightful little cottage in a quiet village with some beautiful walks nearby - exactly what we were looking for."

    The cottage was very well equipped, clean and comfortable with many extra things and a very nice welcome pack, thank you. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

    Really glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and the beautiful walks so close at hand. You are more than welcome back anytime. Our cleaner has just said you were "marvellous" guests .... which translates as leaving the place in apple pie order ... many many thanks, we hugely appreciate it Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2023

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cosy little cottage."

    The location was absolutely perfect for walking and exploring Weardale. Would happily go back again.

    Glad you enjoyed your stay and walking and exploring the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda4.1Sep 2023

  • "Unfortunately we were unable to complete our week in Middlehope cottage due to illness, however we really enjoyed our limited stay."

    The only point I would make is the lack of cleaning materials and the vacuum cleaner refused to work for me. Leaving quickly , I was unable to clean as I would like especially as we have a dog. I must add that the bed was one of the comfiest that we have had in a rental cottage. We hope to return at some point.

    Hi Marianne, hope your husband is feeling much better now and so sorry when we heard you needed to cut your break short, you are welcome back any time. Thank you for the heads up about the vacuum. We thought it was not working last time because the charger was inadvertently locked away in the cleaning cupboard but it must be because it is not now holding it's charge. Have hopped straight onto eBay and purchased a new one. We have always left bathroom cleaning gel, cloths, sponge, washing up liquid and liquid detergent available in the cottage. In the past we did not want to make people feel they had to do a full top to bottom clean but just to leave it reasonably clean and tidy. But we have taken on board the desire for more cleaning materials and will be suppling these both in the bathroom and kitchen. Its lovely to think people actively want to leave the cottage really clean, much appreciated. Glad you found the mattress really comfortable. This is an item we decided was well worth investing in to ensure our guests had very good restful sleep. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marianne4.7Sep 2023

  • "Lovely cottage and very comfortable, cosy and homely."

    Lovely views from the bedroom windows of the fells. Garden ideal for Al fresco living. I would seriously consider coming again.

    Really pleased you both, including furry friend, had a comfortable and happy stay in our cottage. The bigger garden is great, isn't it, for al fresco dinning and just sitting to take in the fell views and the sun setting over the trees. Come back any time, you are welcome. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely cottage, enjoyed our stay."

    Every thing you needed in the cottage. Pretty village everyone friendly. Would stay there again.

    So glad both of you, and furry friend, enjoyed your stay in our Cottage. You are most welcome back any time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Aug 2023

  • "Nice little cottage, great walks nearby."

    Personally felt a little too close to adjoining neighbours property and garden area overlooked. No cleaning equipment. Long handled brush, spare bin liners, perhaps a cleaning spray & useable hoover would have made the week long stay more comfortable (small soft dust pan & brush provided was inadequate & would perhaps be unsuitable for some guests to use) Comfy bed, good sized bedroom, TV, books, games & small welcome basket provided, also lots of guides to surrounding area, walks & places to visit. All in all a pleasant stay.

    Hi, thank you for your positive comments about the cottage, always good to hear when guests have enjoyed their break. A bathroom cleaning gel is provided in the bathroom & jay cloths are to be found in a draw in the kitchen plus a sponge. Also washing up liquid & liquid detergent for the washing machine, both in the kitchen. We did not want to make people feel they have to do a full top to bottom clean but just to leave it reasonably clean and tidy. We will provide more cleaning materials and it's lovely to think people actively want to leave the cottage really clean, much appreciated. When you messaged me during your holiday about the hoover I was able to deduce the cleaner had inadvertently left the charger in the locked cleaners cupboard, for which I apologised & said I would let her know. Again sorry for the oversight. As to outside space; there are two gardens belonging to the Cottage. We agree, the small garden at the front is adjoining the neighbours. Middlehope adjoins a small group of houses by its gable end. Because it’s not sandwiched in a row, you get stunning views out of three aspects sunrise, sunset as well as a south facing aspect over the fells. Most of the old, characterful, village properties in the Wear Valley tend to cluster around each other so are considered quaint, attractive & of another era. Middlehope, built in 1640, does not disappoint in these respects but also has a card up its sleeve in the fact that it has a second garden. It is larger than the front one & enjoys privacy with a sturdy bench & garden table to sit & enjoy the views, undisturbed, over the North Pennine fells. It directly joins the cottage's private parking area, then straight through to the cottage. Again sorry you only wanted to use the smaller front garden and not the attached larger more private one, but glad this didn't stop you from having a pleasant stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melanie3.4Aug 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage in the Wear Valley with excellent facilities for 1 or 2 people."

    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    So pleased our cottage provided you with a place you were happy in and could enjoy the local area from. Welcome any time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoff5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage, ideal location, very comfy bed"

    Reviewed by Sharon3.8Jun 2023

  • "A comfortable cottage in a lovely location."

    We made good use of the additional front garden space and the private parking area was very convenient. Also, it was nice to find the food gifts, welcome card and flowers, all of which were appreciated. The neighbours were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, as were other people we met during our holiday. Overall, a very pleasurable stay.

    Glad you both enjoyed your stay in our cottage. The neighbours are great and glad you found them to be so welcoming and helpful. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann4.4Jun 2023

  • "The cottage was exactly as described."

    It was perfect for us in location size and quality. If you don’t mind size but just comfort and quaint with all you need with beautiful facilities then this was ideal.

    Reviewed by Ken5.0May 2023

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • One double bedroom with en-suite corner shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine
  • TV and WiFi
  • Power and starter pack of fuel for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • 1 designated off-road parking space
  • Front and side gardens, lawn and gravel areas with furniture
  • This property has a strict one dog only policy
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.6 miles, pub 0.2 miles
  • Please note: From 26th- 31st May 2023 there will be no wifi available.

The property

Middlehope Cottage is a characterful historic 16th century dwelling situated in the North Pennines which is designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, second largest in England and Wales and is a truly wild and un-spoilt place.

This pretty white washed cottage provides the ideal place to take a break, slow down and relax for couples or the single traveller.

Setback from a quiet lane in a small enclave of similar picturesque properties in Westgate, at the heart of the Wear Valley, it is still within 2/3 minutes walking distance of the local pub with it’s own real ale brewery.

You will quickly feel the peace enfold you as you park in the private off road parking space attached to the cottage garden.

Pass through the garden and you will enter the welcoming and comfortable accommodation.

Ample space to store boots and outdoor coats before finding a wealth of tasteful contemporary appliances in the kitchen leading straight through to the dining area and living room. The focal point to this room is a warming multi fuel stove under exposed original beams.

Sit and enjoy a glass of wine with a meal next to the stove and snuggle up on the soft furnishings to enjoy a good book or film.

When it’s time to turn in head up the stairs to the beautiful spacious double bedroom that easily accommodates a king size bed with adjoining en-suit shower room.

In the morning you will find yourself in a light and airy room which enjoys views from three different aspects, one of which looks out over the far reaching hills of the North Pennines.

The cottage is heated by modern, electric, wall mounted ceramic radiators as well as the log burning stove in the sitting room for those cosy evenings in and a starter pack of fuel is provided.

There is a garden to the front with a bench to enjoy that early morning cuppa and through a separate gate there is a larger garden with room to spread out and eat alfresco and enjoy the sunsets with a glass of something chilled.

The surrounding area provides plenty of opportunity to explore either on foot or bike.

The long distance paths of the Weardale Way and the Pennine Journey both passing just 50 metres from the front door.

The cottage is also situated next to the Middlehope Burn and amazing water-falls and incorporates a truly magical 3 mile walk taking in Slitt Wood and the West Rigg Geotrail.

This has been designated as a site of Special Scientific Interest.

Just a two minute drive away heading west the neighbouring village of St John’s Chapel has a café, co-op and a pub, heading east the larger villages of Stanhope and Wolsingham are a short drive.

Heading further out just up over the moors the views are spectacular and one route will take you to the unspoilt and picturesque village of Blanchland which has provided the period backdrop for many film and TV dramas.

The pub and restaurant, The Lord Crewe, is recommended in many food and drink guides having won numerous awards.

Built in 1165 it was originally the Abbot’s guest house for Blanchland Abbey until the dissolution of the monasteries.

It boasts impressive historic features and a stunning large walled garden, formerly the abbeys cloisters, where alfresco drinking and dinning can be enjoyed.

Middlehope really is the romantic ‘roses round the door’ country cottage, literally and figuratively, and provides all you could need for a special break or longer holiday.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

ST JOHN'S CHAPEL

Stanhope 7 miles; Middleton-in-Tees 12 miles; Alston 12.5 miles

This quaint County Durham village sits in Weardale in the heart of the North Pennines AONB, an area known for its excellent bird watching, cycling and walking. As well as two friendly village pubs, one serving food, St John's Chapel offers a Post Office, a shop and a couple of cafés. The nearby market town of Stanhope sits on the fringes of the AONB and offers a wider choice of amenities and an outdoor pool. The magnificent city of Durham is slightly further afield but well worth a visit, laced with tremendous architecture and much to see and do.

Please note: One Well-behaved dog welcome

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas