Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 8 minutes ago

1 of 15 View Larger Image
  • Littlebeck - Lake District - 948906 - photo 1
close

1 customer booked Littlebeck in the last 24 hours

Littlebeck

Seatoller near Rosthwaite and Keswick, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 948906)

4.5

(31 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

31 Customer Reviews

  • "We enjoyed our week again, likely to book again, may be in a cheaper period."

    One 'complaint/disappointment' - there was NOT a 'starter kit' for the log burner as indicated in the blurb, just two small logs left. Luckily I had packed a handful of sticks & matches; purchased logs & kindling. 2) Oven gloves would be a useful addition; my son had to run his thumb under the cold tap for ages. Otherwise brilliant, so handy for the bus service and so close to the many mountains; we did 11 Wainwrights in 5 days !

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2022

  • "Beautiful miners cottage in a perfect location."

    Great access by foot to many trails so no need to use the car much. No parking outside as other residents do not like it (understandable) so park in the NT car park 50 yards away. We saw red squirrels in the garden one evening too.

    Reviewed by DavidApr 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, clean and well equipped."

    Beds very comfortable! Instructions on using the TV and WiFi would be helpful. We had no problems with lighting the fire, Some guidance on this for other guests might be useful as I saw a review saying they couldn’t light it. We found the property warm enough for chilly nights with the heating and the fire as an option. Also the parking issue needs to be spelled out. We are NT members (so free) but it’s expensive for those who are not. A lovely bolt hole in a lovely spot, we would go again

    Reviewed by RobertMar 2022

  • "Heating inadequate in living room."

    Woodstove impossible to light even with purchased hardwood. Flue may be blocked? Electric/paraffin heater not working. Parking outside cottage, as instructed by you, resulted in notice from community asking us to move the car. First time we have arrived at a holiday let to find absolutely no written instructions or information. Presume there must have been some lapse in arrangements. We would be grateful for a payment to be made through our bank card in recognition of the difficulties we experienced.

    Reviewed by Margaret RuthFeb 2022

  • "Another lovely trip to Littlebeck."

    The location of the cottage is perfect for walkers with many peaks able to be done from the door. The views are stunning and it is located in a small quiet hamlet….. yet Keswick is easily accessible. The cottage is warm and cosy and has everything we need. We have stayed here many times and will no doubt be back again!

    Reviewed by TinaOct 2021

  • "Superb little cottage, perfectly located in the heart of Borrowdale with so many walks literally from the doorstep."

    Just 2 of us (although sleeps 4) so we had ample room. Everything you need for a great break.

    Reviewed by RichardSep 2021

  • "The property was over-priced."

    Not sure if you would normally charge almost £1000 a week for a 2 bedroom cottage in the middle of September, or were just taking advantage of the COVID situation. The cottage was functional but charmless and not at all homely. No soft furnishings in the sitting room. Decor more like a Council house circa 1980 than a 17th century cottage. The amount of fuel provided for the wood-burner was mean. My biggest gripe however is the complete absence of any information on how to work things in the property or any information on the local area. We spent a long time figuring out how to watch the tv, my parents or people less comfortable with technology would have given up. You couldn’t actually watch live TV because the WiFi was too weak, so if the description says there is tv, it is not accurate, we were only able to access on demand tv. For some reason, the radiators are controlled remotely, but, given the absence of any information, we had no idea that was the case and had to message the caretaker having spent ages searching for instructions. It would be better for us to be able to decide for ourselves when we did and did not want the heating on.

    Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry the cottage didn't meet your expectations. Demand is particularly high for the Lake District at the moment and that is reflected in the pricing. Some of our usual soft furnishings like cushions and blankets were removed in line with initial guidance at the start of the pandemic due to concerns about difficulties ensuring these were sanitized between guests. We are looking to reinstate these soon, as things begin to settle down. Unfortunately it looks like there was an issue with the satellite tv during your stay, which our caretaker has highlighted to us. The tv has now been repaired. We always welcome guests reporting issues to us during their stay so that we can fix the problem as quickly as possible. The heating is set to pre-set programme, but we are always willing to adjust this if guests let us know. There is plenty of additional heating in the cottage, which guests can control themselves, including a fan heater in the kitchen, an oil radiator downstairs and the log burner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnitaSep 2021

  • "Very cosy cottage."

    Everything that we needed was there. Located at at the bottom of Honister Pass going to Buttermere, which was very convenient. We struggled to work out the heating, but we didn’t really need it at last. The cottage owners were happy to help. Beds were very comfortable, which was great after a long day walking. We would definitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by MalgorzataJul 2021

  • "Cleanliness was very average for the price paid."

    18.00hrs key collection was very late, even in these covid times.

    Reviewed by MartinJun 2021

  • "Lovely location with red squirrels in the garden and, one day, a sparrow hawk on the gate."

    Good walking from Seatoller and nearby. Helpful, friendly support from the cottage owner.

    Reviewed by GwenMay 2021

  • "Littlebeck was a great place to stay."

    Location is excellent, as there are walks you can do from the front door and many other walks just a 5-10 minute drive away. The cottage is clean, comfortable and well equipped.

    Reviewed by StuartDec 2020

  • "We have stayed at Littlebeck a number of times and have booked for next year already."

    The location of this cottage is stunning. It is in the Borrowdale valley, at the bottom of Honister Pass and the scenery is beyond beautiful. If you are a walker then locations don't get better than this! You could stay for months and still not do all the peaks, or low level walks, or tire of the area...it is our favourite place in the Uk. There are so many walks without even needing to use the car. The cottage is peaceful, warm and comfortable with everything we need. A washer/dryer would be a good addition given the wet week we just had! There was previously one and it was very useful in wet weather! We love it here and look forward to our next trip!

    Reviewed by TinaOct 2020

  • "Littlebeck was a completely perfect home for us for a week."

    The cottage is clean, comfortable, cosy and had everything we needed. Great location in Seatoller for lots of fantastic walking. Would highly recommend it.

    Reviewed by JaneSep 2020

  • "We had a great holiday at Littlebeck."

    It is in a perfect location for walks in Borrowdale and also close to the Buttermere fells. The cottage was clean and well equipped and we enjoyed sitting outside in the garden when the weather permitted. We went out walking every day, mostly straight from the front door. One evening we sampled the pizza from the farm opposite which was very tasty.

    Reviewed by ClareAug 2020

  • "Beautiful cottage at the foot of Honnister."

    We took a weekend here to get away - somewhere peaceful and quiet. We walked Fleetwith to Haystacks as well as Scafel. A perfect place to get away

    Reviewed by SimonJul 2020

  • "This is a lovely little cottage and the location was even better than we expected."

    The cottage itself was cosy and comfortable and a good size for the two of us and our little dog. Seatoller is a beautiful place where you feel right out in the wilderness but with Keswick not too far away. We did plenty of walks from the house (weather permitting!) including Glaramara which was beautiful. We also did an excellent mine tour at Honister slate mine which is just up the road and you get excellent views of Honister Pass which is probably one of the most breathtaking landscapes I’ve seen on our trips around the UK. Would definitely like to come back again!

    Reviewed by LauraFeb 2020

  • "We really enjoyed our stay although we were there during there during the pouring rain and 80mph winds of Storm Dennis."

    We all got horribly wet but thanks to the many and very efficient radiators we were able to dry out, and were able to warm up with hot baths and cosy beds. We were there also with a toddler who loved the staircase, his cot, and the view out of the window onto the animals in the farmyard and fields opposite. Having an attractive short cut through to Rosthwaite, and having the hourly bus turn-around only yards from the front door were also a great convenience

    Reviewed by JulianFeb 2020

  • "This was our second visit to Littlebeck and we have already booked a third."

    The location of this cottage is unbelievable....so many walks right from the door, close to a huge number of mountains. It is a perfect base for walkers. Seatoller is remote which is why we love it... but Keswick is easily accessible. One small suggestion would be for one or two larger saucepans although we managed easily enough. The cottage was warm and cosy after a day of walking and climbing, and parking was easy in the NT car park. We love it here. The location is really special. Thank you for another great holiday.

    Reviewed by TinaNov 2019

  • "Nice cottage and good location."

    However not warm enough downstairs as electric radiator not sufficient to heat it really. Log burner good but need more logs to be provided. Upstairs warm enough. However a very pleasant cottage and presents well in decor.

    Reviewed by AlisonOct 2019

  • "The cottage is in the most perfect location for a walking holiday, right at the bottom of Honister Pass with access to so many stunning walks and moutains."

    Too many for us to do in a week and so we will be coming back. The weather was very wet at times but with the dryer and kitchen heater we were able to get things dry for the next day! It would be useful to have the ability to move the heating from 'summer settings' for those bad weather days but it was still warm enough, and so cosy with the log burner. (Logs can be bought from Seatoller Farm and the farmer very kindly bought them up to the cottage himself in the pouring rain!). This is a remote cottage, but a beautiful drive to Keswick if you need anything so the best of both worlds. Tesco do deliver to the door to make life easy! You can unload the car right at the front door and then park in the NT car park very close by....free for members. This worked well for us. We found the cottage comfortable, and contained everything we needed.....yes the main bed squeaks a lot as someone else noted but it was very comfortable. It is a small cottage for 4 adults and all their walking gear but the location is what sets this cottage apart......Seatoller and the Borrowdale Valley are simply stunning and the walking opportunities are endless. If you love the mountains and just getting out there this is an amazing location.

    Reviewed by TinaAug 2019

  • "A couple of disappointing issues."

    I was unaware of the parking costs having to use the national trust car park at the cost of £7.50 per day. also the tiles behind kitchen sink all bulging off and only third of a toilet roll left for use. No dishcloth for use. Instructions to put out wheelie bin for collection it was more than half full clearly not put out for weeks surely that is the owner or cleaners responsibility. We have booked another cottage in October I hope that will not be so disappointing.

    Reviewed by MargaretMay 2019

  • "Littlebeck is perfectly located at the bottom of Honister Pass!"

    We enjoyed many walks from the door, as well as walks where we caught the regular bus (77/77A) to our starting point (eg Buttermere). We could easily have filled another week and so are already planning to come back next year! We walked to the pub a Stonethwaite (30 mins) as well as driving over Honister Pass to Buttermere (Fish Inn) and Loweswater (Kirkstile Inn). The cottage was beautiful and as we had a sunny week we spent a relaxing hour after each walk enjoying the garden. The only small improvement would be a new set of saucepans and frying pans - otherwise perfect.

    Reviewed by JayneMay 2019

  • "Lovely cottage in the most perfect location."

    Well looked after and had everything we needed. Will definitely come back again.

    Reviewed by BethNov 2018

  • "Littlebeck provides a fantastic base to explore the area and is a joy to come back to at the end of the day."

    Our second visit and it wont be our last.

    Reviewed by IreneJul 2018

  • "Fantastic cottage in a fantastic location."

    It was perfect. Everything we needed was there and more. The garden bbq with the view of the mountain in the evening was fab.

    Reviewed by RichardMay 2018

  • "Brilliant location for walking directly from the cottage."

    Nice and clean on arrival, but a couple of issues that could be rectified. Dishwasher not working, and sign on it looks quite old so may have been broken for a while. Extractor above cooker not working that caused fire alarms to go off when cooking fried breakfast. The bathroom door lock and catch was broken so door did not shut or lock. We did light the log burner 1 evening as it was a bit chilly, but it failed to heat the bedroom radiator like it says it should do. Also I feel the patio and back garden could do with some TLC as they both look neglected and overgrown. Don't get me wrong, we really enjoyed our stay, but we just felt these issues could be easily rectified with a bit of time and effort. Regards Neil Baker ****Owner Response**** Thank you for your feedback and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Littlebeck. The cleaners informed us on the morning of your arrival that the dishwasher wasn’t functioning. The repair company said this was due to a previous guest mistakenly using a laundry tablet - the machine is now working fine. We have replaced the fuse in the extractor fan above the oven and spent this week working to improve the garden now that winter is over. We have checked the bathroom lock and the radiator in the bedroom. Both of which are working. It is worth noting that to heat the radiator in the bedroom from the fire will need to be going for some time, as it needs to warm the water in the system. However, there is an electric radiator in the bedroom if you require additional warmth.

    Reviewed by NeilApr 2018

  • "Absolutely beautiful location, weather was kind to us too and we were able to walk every day."

    It was just lovely looking out of the window at the view. We would definitely go again.

    Reviewed by JeremyMar 2018

  • "Only minor issue was the single mattresses in twin room were very bouncy, not firm at all."

    Above all it was a fantastic cottage and would definitely return!

    Reviewed by AmandaFeb 2018

  • "Good communication up to the day of travel."

    Cottage in a great location, very cosy and nicely decorated. Definitely would use and recommend the cottage again.

    Reviewed by KimNov 2017

  • "The holiday cottage was in a brilliant location."

    It was warm and cosy with the wood burner. the cottage was clean and tidy and had stunning views with a stream at the end of the garden. Only bad points I would say was the bed wasn't very comfy just being a memory foam mattress and it's very squeaky. Could do with a stair gate at the bottom of the stairs if you have a dog as I would of brought one with me if I had known. Other than that was really please with this comfy little cottage in an ideal location. Let me know if the bed gets changed and I will book again

    Reviewed by DanielNov 2017

  • "Lovely quiet location great views."

    Cottage vet comfortable.

    Reviewed by IreneJul 2017

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with dining area and woodburning stove
  • Electric central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Smart television with freesat, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Restricted roadside parking for 1 car (available all day from Nov-Good Friday, otherwise 7pm-9am only)
  • Loading/unloading outside property available at all times
  • Additional parking in pay and display car park 130 yards away, subject to availability and free to National Trust members
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Rear patio with furniture and lawn across pathway alongside river
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1.3 miles
  • Note: Riverside location, children must be supervised.

The property

Rosthwaite 1.3 miles.

This gorgeous, terraced cottage is located in the pretty hamlet of Seatoller in the beautiful Borrowdale area, one of the most beautiful parts of the Lake District, literally at the start of the Honister Pass and in the shadows of Scafell Pike, England’s highest peak.

This special location is surrounded by stunning scenery which will enchant every guest, whatever their age!

On the ground floor of this lovely cottage are a fitted kitchen and a cosy sitting room with a dining area and woodburning stove, where you can put up your feet after a day exploring the fells.

There are two comfortable bedrooms, and a family bathroom.

At the rear of the cottage is an enclosed patio area and across a path is a further lawned area that extends to the beck which flows constantly – what a spot to enjoy this breathtakingly beautiful location!

Anyone wishing to get out and about on the fells, there is an outdoor activity centre just down the lane which offers a wide selection of adventures!

Don’t forget the Honister Pass, the slate mines and the Via Ferrata – there’s so much to see here!

Literally, just a minute’s walk away, during the summer months, you can take an evening meal at a local guest house or pop down the valley to Stonethwaite, and enjoy a real traditional English inn.

Family holidays or weekend escapes, whatever your reason to visit, you can be sure the memories of this magical corner of Cumbria will stay with you forever!

View on map

About the location

ROSTHWAITE

Keswick 6.5 miles.

The pretty village of Rosthwaite is situated in the Borrowdale area of the stunning Lake District National Park. The village, surrounded by fells and meadows offers a pub, shop and tea room. You’ll be delighted with the location - just driving up the Borrowdale Valley past Lake Derwentwater is sure to please, and once you arrive in Rosthwaite you will be charmed by the traditional Lakeland cottages. Within driving distance is the town of Keswick, which boasts a number of shops and restaurants, along with miniature golf, parks, the Pencil Museum and the famous Theatre by the Lake. With Derwent Water and Honister Pass close by, the village is an ideal base for walkers and cyclists, and is in a superb location to discover all of the Lake District.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it