Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • Cherry Tree Cottage - Lake District - 2253 - photo 1
close

Cherry Tree Cottage

(Ref. 2253)

Soulby near Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.9

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (52)
  • lovely (31)
  • location (22)
  • great (21)
  • owners (21)
  • hosts (18)

68 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely cottage, well equipped and presented."

    Beautiful area, very peaceful. Chris and Tricia are extremely welcoming and helpful. Would definitely return and happy to recommend.

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0May 2024

  • "Lovely cosy property, Encounted no problems."

    One suggestion, if the owners are not about it would be handy to have a folder of information regarding walks etc in local area. Also their system of recycling. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Apr 2024

  • "This was our second visit to this beautiful cottage."

    The owners Chris and Trish are delightful people. The cottage fells like home from home. Undoubtedly we will visit again sometime in the future..

    Reviewed by Joyce5.0Apr 2024

  • "Wonderful place, clean and tidy."

    Chris and Trish, could not do any more with the information on the area. Will definitely be returning.

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Mar 2024

  • "We had a lovely time, peaceful and relaxing."

    Perfect location for exploring the surrounding areas. Lots of dog walks in nearby Stenkrith park and other trust walks, taking in the viaducts. Well equipped cottage and lovely hosts. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Feb 2024

  • "The cottage is ideally located with the Pennines, Howgills and Lake District nearby but away from the busier areas."

    The hosts were very welcoming and the cottage was full of character. A lovely location and we would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Guy5.0Feb 2024

  • "My partner and I had a lovely short stay at this cottage."

    It was warm, clean, comfortable and we saw many beautiful birds in the back garden. The location was lovely - we visited Rutter Falls Waterfall nearby, explored Kirby Stephen, walked to Nine Standards and had a great daytrip to Keswick where we climbed Skiddaw. We felt very welcomed by our hosts who encouraged us to arrive and leave any time we wanted on our check in and check out days. We highly recommend this accommodation :)

    Reviewed by Madeleine5.0Feb 2024

  • "Lovely little place to stay, the area is lovely and quiet and the wildlife around is amazing."

    The cottage itself is gorgeous and so comfortable with everything you could need. The underfloor heating keeps everyone toasty while you relax. The owners are fantastic and assisted us with navigating the local area and made sure we were happy and didn't need anything with a warm welcome. We would love to return in the summer and see the area in bloom. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Dec 2023

  • "Cherry Tree cottage was amazing."

    Lovely setting just outside Soulby but only 5 minutes to walk into village. The cottage was warm and inviting when we entered and had everything we needed. Chris and Trish were lovely hosts and welcomed us on arrival. They made us feel "at home" Would highly recommned this property.

    Reviewed by Gladys5.0Dec 2023

  • "Chris met us on a dark rainy evening and welcomed us to the cottage."

    The welcome pack was much appreciated, thank you. The cottage is so homely, after each day out it felt like coming home. Only one downside, wifi was not good unless we stood in the kitchen, but that was a minor issue. We have already booked to come again next spring.

    Reviewed by Joyce5.0Nov 2023

  • "2nd visit this year."

    In May in the feedback I mentioned that a towel rail would be helpful in the bathroom, this time it was there! hosts who listen to suggestions just brilliant. Another fantastic stay. Every bit as good as last time, warm, clean and comfortable. Have stayed in a few cottages in the area and this is our favourite. Trish and Chris there if you need them, very helpful but not intrusive. Loved watching the birds in comfortable surroundings. Top marks guys - well done

    Reviewed by Dorothy5.0Oct 2023

  • "Very cosy with a farm house feel."

    The property was comfortable with tasteful decor. Very well resourced. There was everything I needed such as tea, coffee, milk, soap, washing up liquid etc. No need to bring those kind of things. I was made to feel very welcome by the hosts. The welcome pack was very thoughtful and a nice touch. The location was scenic and peaceful. I loved being nestled in the mountains. Views were amazing. The garden area was beautiful. I enjoyed a glass of wine on an afternoon whilst watching the busy birds and red squirrel. Great for dogs, there was plenty of space for her to roam around indoors. Lots to do within the area of Kirkby Stephen. The Podgill viaduct walk was easy to follow and no stiles, so great for dogs. Very scenic walk with easy access. Smardale viaduct is also very pretty. No difficult Stiles to navigate with a dog. The roads are very tiny around Smardale so I wouldn't recommend going with a campervan!

    Reviewed by Heidi5.0Aug 2023

  • "Last-minute booking due to kitchen refurbishment."

    Lovely Cottage...Thank you...

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely, homely Cottage with everything you could need."

    Based in gorgeous surroundings. Owners are lovely and keep the place well maintained. Will be staying again

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely cottage with all the facilities we needed."

    Nice a to see a variety of birds using the bird feeders including a woodpecker but alas, no red squirrel

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Jul 2023

  • "Really nice property,quiet and peaceful we always have good holiday when we come here."

    Great for taking my dog for long walks. Very friendly and helpful owners. No complaints all what we need for a good break. Bottle of wine on the table as you walk in, a lovely welcome. Many thanks

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Jun 2023

  • "If you want to be in the countryside like us then you will not be disappointed."

    The location and the cottage were excellent and the owners could not have been more helpful. We will be going there again.

    Reviewed by Kenneth5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location for exploring the Eden Valley."

    Lots of wildlife all around and very peaceful.

    Reviewed by A5.0May 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage, quiet and peaceful but close to the town."

    Lovely vintage touches to the cottage, clean & comfotable. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by Jacqui5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely property well kept very homely and clean."

    The situation was stunning even though it was next to a road it was very quiet. One thing that would have been helpful, a towel rail in the bathroom! Lovely very helpful hosts. Watching the variety of birds visiting the feeders (which were replenished each day) was just great. The woodpecker was a delight. Hope to visit again in the Autumn and will certainly recommend to friends and family.

    Reviewed by Dorothy4.4May 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a lovely location."

    Clean and tidy with everything we needed for our mini break. Owners very helpful on suggesting walks and making sure our stay was perfect. Would definitely recommend. Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Reviewed by Dean5.0Apr 2023

  • "This is a great cottage in a great location."

    It is warm, comfortable and well equipped. Chris and Trish are fantastic hosts. There is lots to do locally and we did see the Red Squirrel from our cottage and Macaws in Kirkby. Amazing walks in Swaledale, Wensleydale and the Eden Valley.

    Reviewed by Ian4.4Mar 2023

  • "Perfect, would highly recommend would definitely go back."

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Mar 2023

  • "An absolutely fabulous stay in this gorgeous cottage."

    Everything on hand so it’s home from home. A perfect location: very quiet at night, and a short drive to Kirkby Stephen. Wonderful hosts who ensured I had everything I needed. All in all, just perfect!

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Feb 2023

  • "Simply put, a little taste of heaven."

    We loved this charming and comfy cottage and didn’t want our stay to end. Regular visits by birds to the feeders in the garden were an added bonus (including the Great Spotted Woodpeckers - a first for us). The hosts (Chris and Trish) are a truly lovely couple living next door, there if we needed anything and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you both so much. When we visit the area again, this will be our first choice.

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Dec 2022

  • "Lovely warm, cosy and well appointed cottage in a very picturesque part of the country."

    Also convenient for the east of the Lake District. Saw red squirrel nearly every day, also woodpecker and kingfisher. Nearby Soulby village is very pretty and Kirkby Stephen is convenient for supplies and eateries. Thanks to hosts Trish and Chris for their hospitality including wine and milk and also cookies. Will return.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2022

  • "A fantastic cottage - quiet, tranquil and extremely relaxing."

    The cottage was clean and well-equipped with everything we needed. The owners were also fantastic! We especially appreciated the paddock that was available for our dog to explore and roam off lead. Absolutely loved our stay and will definitely return / recommend to others.

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Aug 2022

  • "The owners were lovely, very warm and welcoming."

    They very kindly left a welcoming bottle of wine for us and we were very grateful for local knowledge and advice. We felt very at home and comfortable there and were sorry to leave.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0May 2022

  • "We enjoyed our week very much."

    The cottage is extremely comfortable and in a peaceful location with lots of walks and nature in the surrounding countryside. If you are looking for a relaxing break, this is an excellent place to refresh your energies. We will hopefully return in future years. Once again, Sykes made finding and booking a suitable holiday very easy.

    Reviewed by Alan4.7May 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful cottage."

    The owners were lovely. It was just amazing seeing the red squirrels in the garden. We would definitely stay here again!

    Reviewed by Shaun5.0Apr 2022

  • "Lovely cottage with good facilities, heated floor amazing, wish I had one at home."

    Had everything we needed from loo rolls to a lovely complimentary bottle of wine. Trish and Chris were super hosts and couldn’t do enough for us. Saw my first ever red squirrel in the cottage garden, well worth the trip in itself. Lots of info in the cottage on walks, books, dvd ‘s and jigsaws to keep you entertained if weather poor. Sat nav got a little confused took us down a single track road for miles, so I recommend to head for Kirby Stephen town center then turn at the roundabout. (Much easier)

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Feb 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Cherry Tree Cottage, everything we needed was available and Chris and Trish were kind hosts."

    Plenty of room, fabulously comfy bed and the added bonus of the red squirrels!

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Nov 2021

  • "Great location."

    The property retains a rustic feel but has modern facilities and everything you could need. Our stay was so relaxing.

    Reviewed by Morag5.0Nov 2021

  • "Great location very friendly owners enjoyed complimentary wine and flowers, ..."

    Great location very friendly owners enjoyed complimentary wine and flowers, cottage was very cosy and well equipped had a great week

    Reviewed by Hugh4.7Oct 2021

  • "The owners were so friendly and welcoming."

    Special care was taken to go the extra mile and we really appreciated this. They spoiled us!

    Reviewed by Rhonda5.0Oct 2021

  • "We loved the way we were able to relax on the holiday and looking out to see all of the birds feeding in the back garden, we were very happy to see red squirrels in real life!"

    The cottage is in a perfect place to be able to get to different areas of the lake district and Yorkshire dales.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Aug 2021

  • "This had to be the best cottage we have stayed in."

    The owners were great! The cottage was everything you could hope for and more. I would definitely recommend this to everyone x

    Reviewed by Marie5.0Jul 2021

  • "Fantastic holiday!"

    Thanks

    Reviewed by Zhanet5.0Jun 2021

  • "Good location."

    Great for walkers. Very comfortable. Only criticism is it was not signed. We drove up and down looking for "Cherry tree cottage" went to two other properties. Did tell owners.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0May 2021

  • "The cottage was very clean and comfortable in a brilliant location."

    Very quiet with scenic views. Owners were friendly and helpful and gave us some good information about local walks. We had everything we needed for a great, relaxing holiday.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2021

  • "Very good"

    Reviewed by Ramune5.0Apr 2021

  • "Great cottage for a couple."

    Easy access to Kirby Stephens and M6. Beautiful scenery - lots of walks from books available in cottage.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Apr 2021

  • "Omg we loved this cottage absolutely amazing we will definitely be returning for sure xx"

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Oct 2020

  • "A superb place to chill out for a few days with very friendly and helpful owners."

    Just the tonic we needed in this most challenging year. Would definitely book it again, and will do when we can.

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Oct 2020

  • "Chris was really friendly and non-intrusive, very kind to talk to."

    The cottage was perfect for what we wanted. Away from everyone but perfect for a base if we wanted to go somewhere. It had everything we needed. I wouldn't hesitate to come back here if I needed a break again.

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Jul 2020

  • "Lovely, tidy, little cottage in the peaceful countryside"

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Feb 2020

  • "Lovely cottage, very quite and the owners were very nice"

    Reviewed by Philip4.1Dec 2019

  • "The cottage was warm, clean and comfortable situated in a peaceful location, with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside."

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Dec 2019

  • "A beautiful cottage set in some of the most beautiful surroundings in the country."

    If you want to get away from the world, this is the place. Lots of places to visit around the area, plenty of castles and ancients ruins with the lake District less than an hour away. Chris and Trisha were great hosts, with a lovely surprise waiting for us when we arrived. Will definitely be going back.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Nov 2019

  • "The cottage was warm clean and inviting."

    Providing you need only one double bedroom what more could you want! The owner was kind, helpful but never intrusive. FIVE STARS!

    Reviewed by Alexander5.0Oct 2019

  • "A lovely setting, warm and cosy with everything supplied for a great stay."

    Pretty sun trap patio with an abundance of wildlife! Chris was friendly and full of local info re walks etc and a welcoming touch of wine, tea, coffee and milk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Jan4.7Sep 2019

  • "The owners were extreamly nice and very helpful."

    Cottage was in an amazing location and within easy access to both Yorkshire and Cumbria making perfect for trips to both areas. The cottage was very clean and comfortable with lovely views, we wouldn't hesitate to go again, hopefully next year.

    Reviewed by Allison5.0Aug 2019

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Everything that you needed in a lovely setting. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jun 2019

  • "What a great cottage and beautiful location."

    Cottage was thoughtfully decorated and extremely cosy also very much appreciated the complementary vine such a thoughtful behavior. Chris is very friendly and unbelievably helpful, thank you very much. highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Ertugrul5.0May 2019

  • "Beautiful little cottage to stay in everything you could possibly need in the kitchen."

    Very clean and comfortable through out. Would highly recommend Nice little yard at the back is enclosed but very little wall and hens next door so was unable to let me dog off just as he would of easily jumped that wall to see the hens.

    Reviewed by Simone4.7Nov 2018

  • "What a fabulous weekend we had seeing all the wildlife and footpaths on the doorstep."

    Short or long. The cottage was delightful as was the underfloor heating. Would recommend to anyone who loves the countryside and peace and quiet. The owners were great as was the welcome pack as we had forgot to pack any coffee.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Nov 2018

  • "The cottage was beautiful and had everything you could possibly need."

    Surrounded by stunning views and a garden full of birds and wildlife. A perfect, relaxing getaway!

    Reviewed by Kelli-ann5.0Oct 2018

  • "Cherry tree is in a beautiful location."

    The underfloor heating in delicious. Kirkby Stephen is only a short drive away. The people in The Pendine Hotel and bistro are very welcoming. All in all the holiday was fabulous.

    Reviewed by Shawn5.0Sep 2018

  • "The cottage was really very good it is a bit in the sticks but it suited me the wild life in the garden was excellent if you like a peaceful holiday this is the place for you."

    The owners were great when we arrived there was tea, coffee, milk waiting for us and a bottle of wine what more can you ask and then eggs followed later would I recommend most certainly probably go back myself. Did find it hard to find sat nav finished 1/2 a mile from cottage no name on cottage either so passed several times before I found it

    Reviewed by Joseph5.0Jun 2018

  • "Had a lovely 4 day break at cherry tree cottage, the owners were really nice and helpful, the cottage was lovely and the views are amazing, will be going again soon."

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2018

  • "Cherry Tree Cottage was amazing."

    Lovely cottage, with great walks close by. Ideal for our dog. Cosy, clean and very welcoming.

    Reviewed by Stewart5.0Apr 2018

  • "This was our 1st Xmas holiday away we didn't expect to have such a good holiday the cottage was clean and beyond our expectations it is a short drive to Kirkby Stephen /the lakes and the Yorkshire dales we didn't think we would spend so much time looking at the birds on the feeders /woodpeckers."

    Song thrushes. All sorts of tips and even a dormouse. the hosts Trish and Chris were unobtrusive but made us welcome with the wine and chocolates we are already looking to book another stay at this lovely cottage

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Dec 2017

  • "Lovely couple beautiful cottage in an idyllic setting - highly recommended"

    Reviewed by Carol4.6Aug 2017

  • "Great location for birds and wildlife."

    Perfectly placed for exploring the Dales with excellent walks within easy reach. Trish and Chris were great hosts, ready with good advice and information about the local area.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jun 2017

  • "Location was perfect,the cottage could not be any better,the hosts were lovely people and could not be more helpful."

    The whole area was perfect for relaxing and tranquil holiday. We cannot wait to go again.

    Reviewed by Donald5.0May 2017

  • "This is a fabulous cottage in an idyllic setting."

    All the basic necessities were provided as well as milk and a bottle of wine. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, walking our dog and appreciating the scenery. We look forward to returning

    Reviewed by Duncan5.0May 2017

  • "The hosts were amazing."

    The cottage was perfect. Location couldn't be better I struggle with your app constantly boots me off on the iPhone or iPad

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Apr 2017

  • "The cottage is in a great location, with quick access to local walks, the Dales and the Lakes district."

    Kirkby-Stephen is close, with good shopping, dining, and support for outdoor adventurers. The owner is polite, helpful and unobtrusive. The cottage is reasonably well equipped, roomy, and very well heated throughout with in-floor heating. The King-size bed is very comfortable. The WiFi is terrible - it only works 50% of the time and tends to be intermittent, making it often impossible to check emails or use Google maps/Earth. We found internet connectivity improved if used in the kitchen, suggesting that the router is located too far from the cottage. Otherwise, we had a great week there and would certainly return.

    Reviewed by Robert4.8Nov 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • One double bedroom
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Modern fitted kitchen
  • Open plan sitting room with dining area.
  • LPG central heating
  • Electric oven, microwave, fridge, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV with DVD, CD/radio, small library of books/DVDs
  • All fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample off road parking
  • Enclosed courtyard with furniture
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 3 miles.

The property

Soulby 1 mile.

An outstanding semi-detached, stone-built cottage, located a mile from the village of Soulby, and just three miles from the market town of Kirkby Stephen.

Surrounded by farm meadows and rolling pastures, Cherry Tree Cottage has been converted from a wing of the original farmhouse.

The cottage features a cosy main bedroom, spacious sitting room, delightful kitchen, modern bathroom, and an enclosed courtyard, which is ideal for dining alfresco.

Nearby Kirkby Stephen offers a wide array of shops, restaurants, and pubs, while the Settle-Carlisle Railway, the Howgill Fells, and the majestic Pendragon Castle - of Arthurian Legend - are all close by.

A wonderful location, ideal for a romantic break, or a fabulous touring base, with both the Lake District and Dales National Parks within easy reach.

View on map

About the location

SOULBY

Kirkby Stephen 3 miles.

The pretty, rural village of Soulby quietly rests near the confluence of the River Eden and Smardale Beck, just over 2 miles from Kirkby Stephen. Something of a sleepy backwater, it is surrounded by traditional farm meadows and picturesque pastures and fells. The traditional market town of Kirkby Stephen, once home to cotton mills and a large manufacturer of shoes and woollen hats today hosts a variety of shops, cafés, restaurants and pubs for every taste and budget. Enjoy many excellent walks and cycle routes nearby, explore the magnificent Howgill Fells or visit the Settle to Carlisle railway line. A superb location with the whole of the mystical Lake District National Park and the stunning Yorkshire Dales at your fingertips.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas