Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • Puddle Duck Cottage - Lake District - 972436 - photo 1
close
  • Puddle Duck Cottage - (Ref. 972436)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Puddle Duck Cottage

(Ref. 972436)

Spark Bridge, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

3.4

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (4)
  • clean (4)
  • place (3)
  • good (3)
  • stay (3)
  • due (3)

8 Customer Reviews

  • "I have complained direct to the owner regarding the following: Rusty microwave Mouldy teabags left in teapot Dirty oven Fridge light & drawer broken Dirty paw prints in bath!"

    Grey marked towels Sticky worktops I have had a reply from the owner stating they will report to cleaner & sent us Christmas wishes. The location was excellent but the above spoiled the stay due to us having to clean on arrival. This was a Christmas treat for my family.

    We thank you for your honest feedback and we apologise the cottage wasn’t as we would have wished. We have taken your comments on board. - We now have a new cleaning service for our cottage. - We have bought new bed linen & towels. - A new microwave has been installed. - The fridge draw has been replaced. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colleen2.2Dec 2023

  • "Property has poor decoration and is not very clean."

    had to empty the cleaner to use it.The stair door is very hard to open especially for arthritic elderly people, microwave needs replacing door does not shut properly. NO USB socket in the property, shower feeble power, no handles on bath, Coffee pod machine a good extra but had to use a plastic beaker to place underneath to use it!

    We thank you for your honest feedback and we apologise the cottage wasn’t as we would have wished. We have taken your comments on board. We now have a new cleaning service for our cottage. A new microwave has been installed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pamela1.9Jun 2023

  • "Good location for Lake Coniston."

    Enjoyed that a BBQ was provided. Disappointed that the listing does not mention the garden is separated from the house by a frequently used shared path. Felt like a deliberate omission to mislead. The garden is small and not enclosed. On arrival neighbour waiting for us to explain he did not want us to park outside the cottage. Said neighbour then came outside whenever we sat in the garden, stared in the window when we were sat inside, and leaned over the front wall to rearrange our recycling at least daily. This last point possibly due to out of date recycling instructions in the visitors book. Stains on towels, and dust and cobwebs in corners. Mattresses cheap and not comfortable. This is the only Sykes cottage we have visited which we felt we would not return to.

    We thank you for your honest feedback and we apologise the cottage wasn’t as we would have wished. We have taken your comments on board. We now have a new cleaning service for our cottage. We have bought new bed linen & towels. - A new microwave has been installed. - The fridge draw has been replaced. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eleanor2.2May 2023

  • "I had a lovely stay, I like the main living area arrangement, that was very comfortable."

    Good power in shower and everything was good. The views were fantastic. Lovely helpful neighbours too. The gardens were so pretty. Only thing would be to explain the garden is not privately enclosed or attached directly to the property so I had to keep a close eye on the dog that she didn’t go wondering. Luckily there are gates at the end of the passage but it would have been good to be alerted.

    Reviewed by Sophie4.1May 2023

  • "Lovely holiday lovely place thank you"

    Reviewed by Garry4.7Sep 2020

  • "Cottage was tired and could do with a refurb."

    Fire alarm in living area had some cardboard and tape over it ? Kitchen cupboards and crockery dirty. Kids found the locked doors within the property a little creepy! Wasn’t expecting luxury for the price but this property is below standard ********** Owner response ********** Thank you for your feedback, we have recently had the property refurbished in the living areas and we will follow up with our cleaning team in relation to the issues you have highlighted. We are sorry to hear that your children found the locked doors a little creepy, these are our private areas for our use only.

    Reviewed by Angela2.5Sep 2018

  • "We had a lovely stay at Puddle Duck cottage."

    It was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. A lot of the basic essential items were already there too, such as toilet paper, washing up liquid etc, which was a great help. It’s a great place for an action packed holiday. Would definitely recommend it!

    Reviewed by Kari4.7Aug 2018

  • "Gorgeous cottage very clean welcoming had a very happy holiday due to all the ..."

    Gorgeous cottage very clean welcoming had a very happy holiday due to all the home comforts and all attractions being a short drive away

    Reviewed by Christine5.0May 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 2 x second floor twins
  • First floor bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with basin and WC
  • Sitting room with dining area
  • Kitchen
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher, Nespresso machine and washing machine
  • Oil central heating and log burner
  • WiFi, Freeview TV
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off-road parking near to cottage
  • Garden with lawned area and furniture
  • Note: steps to garden furniture and lawn area
  • One well-behaved dog permitted
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • The Royal Oak pub is 5-minute walk
  • Note: Max 6 adults
  • This property doesnt accept Sunday changeovers

The property

This contemporary property is situated in a row of stone built cottages in the Cumbrian mill village of Spark Bridge. Set over three floors, Puddle Duck Cottage has been lovingly furnished to a very high standard, making it an ideal base for a family looking to explore the South Lake area of the Lake District. On the ground floor, an open plan sitting and dining area.

Warm yourself by the wood burner in front of the Freeview TV or alternatively enjoy a meal at the grand dining table while looking out to the garden beyond.

The stunning kitchen is a particular joy and you will find a full range of equipment to satisfy your culinary skills and can reward yourself afterwards with a Nespresso.

Head up to the first floor for the master bedroom, a double with delightful fell views, while an additional climb to the second floor finds another two twin rooms with equally appealing views. To the rear of the cottage, a lawned garden and a decking area with further fell views to admire from the garden furniture after an exciting day’s exploring. There is a pub within easy walk of the property if you don’t fancy cooking for yourself, and there are further amenities in other local villages such as Colton or Lowick Green. The delights of the South Lakes are easily accessible from Spark Bridge, with gentle cruises on Lakes Windermere or Coniston available, or more energetic activities can be found including cycling and hiking.

A journey south will take you to Ulverston, birthplace of Stan Laurel, and a drive further south finds the charms of Barrow-in-Furness. In a peaceful village of similar cottages, Puddle Duck Cottage is in an ideal spot to base a family holiday in the southern reaches of Cumbria and the Lake District.

View on map

About the location

SPARK BRIDGE

Ulverston 5 miles; Coniston 10 miles.

The small village of Spark Bridge is a couple of miles away from the village of Greenodd, which has a selection of shops next to th River Crake, whilst just five miles away is the ancient market town of Ulverston. Ulverston is famous for its street markets and festivals, and boasts a wide range of shops and various leisure facilities. It is also home to the only Laurel and Hardy museum in the world. This is a great location for a walking holiday, and within driving distance are a number of attractions including, Grizedale, Coniston, Windermere, Hawkshead and Beatrix Potter's Hill Top, as well as the beautiful Furness Coast, with its golden beaches and good birdwatching opportunities. An ideal location for enjoying fantastic coastal and countryside pursuits.

This property doesnt accept Sunday changeovers

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas