Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • Riverside - Lake District - 922436 - photo 1


(Ref. 922436)

Torver near Coniston, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (20)
  • lake (19)
  • property (19)
  • lovely (18)
  • our (17)
  • well (17)

56 Customer Reviews

  • "There was no welcome pack on offer, random bits of paper stuck to a cork board behind a door did not live up to requirements."

    Accuracy of the listing, it mentioned a 'rear lawned area' it was all paved, 'including a charming covered seating area adorned with fairy lights.' this was not the case, very poor lighting. There were no outside lights at the back door or courtyard area to the right of the rear, very frustrating at this time of year when letting the dogs out. Only one toilet roll supplied per toilet, not sufficient for four adults staying 7 nights. For 4* luxury as advertised the towels were rough to touch and extremely small, we had to go and buy bigger ones. No spare bin bags for the kitchen bin. Only one large wooden chopping board, not great for cutting raw meat as its hard to clean thoroughly or safely. The mattresses were rather uncomfortable, being zip and link the central link really stuck out. A mattress topper would make it much more comfortable and give the mattress a bit more softness rather than being so hard. No shower matts available, getting out of the shower onto tiled floor was lethal! No keys were provided for the summer house. the few keys we found were not labelled or not relevant, links back to the lack of welcome pack. A gate going into the paddock opposite would be much safer for the dogs who had a fantastic time running around over there! I know this sounds a lot, but i think for the price point and advertised 4* Gold standard then some of these are very easy to fix and improve. It didn't feel luxurious or like we were made to feel very welcome and has left me overall disappointed.

    Thank you for your feedback. The cork board with random bits of paper pinned to it has sufficient information for the bungalow, and my number is there for any of our guests to ring with any problems or issues, which a lot do. If you had rung me I would have been able to solve your problems whilst you were staying at Riverside. * With regards to the lawned area at the back, I have asked Sykes to change the wording as it has never been a lawned area, I again will contact them with this. * The towels come from the hire company so the softness or stiffness isn’t something that we have control over. I will ask for larger ones in future, but again if you had rung me I would have sorted this for you. * Toilet rolls are supplied, one in each bathroom. Guests have always then bought more if needed. * With in the towels, there is usually a large towel, a hand towel and in the bathroom a slightly smaller, slightly thicker towel which is the bath mat. I will check with my house keeper these are being left out. * The summer house doesn’t have a key and isn’t locked, if you had rung me I would have been able to let you know to pull the door hard as the wood has swollen slightly with the weather. * I will take on board about the gate into the paddock but we’ve never had an issue before with guests and their dogs. * I will certainly invest in mattress toppers for the beds. * we used to leave welcome packs but found a lot of guests left items which ended up out of date, consequently we now leave bread, milk and butter, as well as tea, coffee and sugar I appreciate feedback from guests, I can put right any problems, sadly though I can’t meet every guests likes and dislikes. Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah2.8Feb 2024

  • "A lovely property set in idilic surroundings."

    A bed configuration was not as advertised but the owner rectified without fuss. My only other comment is that the bed mattresses take a little getting use to. I am sure we will return. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Ian4.4Feb 2024

  • "We had a lovely time at Riverside on a wet November weekend."

    The house is spacious inside and out. The lounge is fab with lots of seating to sit around the fire, no one gets to sit on the floor. The kitchen is really well equipped with plenty of pans ect , could just with some chopping boards.Outside is a secure garden to keep children and dogs safe. Over the bridge is a huge lawn leading down to the Lake which would be lovely in summer, during our stay the jetty was covered in water , tip take your Wellys in winter. We walked along the lakeside into Coniston which is a beautiful easy walk. We had a lovely meal at The Crown Inn, the food and service was fantastic. One small point the front bedroom left hand mattress has a few worn springs which are a little uncomfortable.However a great stay and would like to come back some time.

    Reviewed by Hayley4.4Nov 2023

  • "Lovely bungalow in a gorgeous setting"

    Reviewed by Jayne5.0Nov 2023

  • "This was our third stay at this lovely cottage so we knew what we were expecting."

    Previous years there has been a well stocked log pile but this year there wasn’t. We had to go out and buy our own. We also brought supplies to do a BBQ but the actual BBQ wasn’t there either

    Reviewed by Nicola3.8Jul 2023

  • "Absolutely brilliant bungalow in a wonderful location."

    Our first time in the Lakes and Sykes Cottages, first class. Will hopefully be back. It would benefit from a new frying pan…… a very minor thing but if we don’t tell you , you won’t know.

    So glad you had a wonderful time, a new frying pan has been bought. Thank you for letting me know. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Apr 2023

  • "Loved this cottage and the area hopefully we will return and have better weather"

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2023

  • "This property is absolutely beautiful, me and my girlfriend stayed for a week and were absolutely gutted we had to leave."

    The property was clean throughout and the kitchen very well stocked. The location of the property is amazing the river running right outside is so tranquil and the field with private jetty just the cherry on top. The property is within easy reach of local villages and towns for exploring but still far enough away that you still feel secluded, with the added bonus of also having some fantastic walks right on the door step. The local pub the Wilson Arms is just 5 minutes drive away and serves fantastic food and drinks. Overall we had a fabulous time and we will definitely be looking at booking up in the future to return to this amazing property.

    Reviewed by Gareth5.0Feb 2023

  • "Property was amazing and grounds were great for the dog."

    Everything you could possibly need with easy access to the sites

    Reviewed by Lauren5.0Feb 2023

  • "Was an amazing break to catch up with friends and enjoy the lakes we will definitely return"

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Jan 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage!"

    We did not want to leave, lake was absolutely stunning, dogs loved jumping in and out and off the jetty. We will definitely be returning and do not usually return to cottages we have been once already!

    Reviewed by Megan5.0Jan 2023

  • "Amazing place, will book again for sure."

    Facilities were great and had everything we needed. Maybe trays and stuff in the kitchen could do with replacing and there were a few broken/cracked glasses but there was an abundance of items that I guess it would be hard to keep track. Will be looking to book in the summer as the weather wasn't great but the outdoor facilities looked great.

    Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated. Baking trays have now been renewed as have the glasse, again thank you, glad you enjoyed joyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Dec 2022

  • "Lovely property Great."

    peaceful location with easy access to everything we want to do Love the fact you take the time to decorate it for Christmas that makes it more special Very homely

    Reviewed by D5.0Dec 2022

  • "I had a wonderful time at this house!"

    5 stars definitely! The pictures don’t do it justice, it’s nicer than the photos show. Very impressed with how clean it was to say it was such a big house. The garden is amazing and the house definitely has a WOW factor, very clean and comfortable. We had such a great time here! I would definitely recommend it to anyone. The only slight improvements I would recommend; the beds were very firm so a mattress topper would be good, more trays near the door to put shoes on in winter, newer baking trays needed, some were peeling. Thank you, we will definitely come back at some point!

    Reviewed by Stewart4.7Dec 2022

  • "Perfect location for a family holiday!"

    Reviewed by Yvonne5.0Oct 2022

  • "This was our 2nd time at this cottage as everything about it is absolutely beautiful."

    The private field that leads to the lake is just breath taking. There’s a canoe at the bottom of the lake that was chained up. It would be good if people could use this as part of the package OR maybe for a small fee im sure people wouldn’t mind paying to use it? The cottages next door do this and i think its a fantastic idea. Just a few things to consider, the WiFi was a bit iffy at times, the carpet in the middle bedroom could do with changing as its fraying at the door. A brush to use in the garden would be ideal to clean up after the dogs BUT I still think a hot tub would be the icing on the cake

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your return stay. You’ll be pleased to know first week in October we are putting a wooden floor down in the middle bedroom. Unfortunately the WI-FI is very intermittent, I’ve tried various providers who all say they are the best but sadly not. We have discussed at length about installing a hot tub and although it would be lovely we still feel it’s not something we want to do. It needs cleaning after every guest and it’s yet another thing to break or go wrong. Hope you can come for a third time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola4.7Aug 2022

  • "I am slightly reluctant to tell others how wonderful this property."

    Is, as I may struggle to book it again in the future. The cottage is really well laid out for a family with plenty of space and everything you need. The garden with the access to the lake though, is simply out of this world. A true joy !

    Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Aug 2022

  • "The cottage was spacious and superbly equipped in a magnificent location"

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2022

  • "The bungalow was lovely and we enjoyed our stay very much - we have been before so we knew it was a great place and we will probably visit again."

    We left a note about a couple of minor maintenance details - not a complaint but if no-one tells you then you don't know to address them. The property and the amazingly good weather meant we saw the Lake district at its very best.

    Thank you for your feed back and yes you are exactly right, I prefer to know if somethings not working or broken, like you said if no one says then we don’t know. So glad you had lovely weather it makes all the difference. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Allan4.4Jun 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    The location and setting is wonderful. Sadly, there was one big disappointment. There is no summer house. The listing is inaccurate and I do feel we should have been informed and the listing should be updated urgently. It was one of the reasons we booked this property as the intention was to spend a lot of time at the lake, both day and night (as we are amateur astronomers) so the use of summer house was very appealing and influenced our decision to book. Other than that, we were very happy with the property and would consider re-booking.

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm really sorry the summer house got destroyed when the bad winds blew done over a dozen trees from the adjacent paddock. We are looking to replace it and I'm sure you'll understand its not a quick process. Again sorry about this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret4.1Mar 2022

  • "Our second visit to this lovely property which is very comfortable, well presented and equipped."

    We were once again blessed with amazing weather allowing us to make the most of the jetty for early morning kayaking and swimming in the lake. This area with the meadow was perfect for us and our 2 dogs to enjoy. Were sad to see the damage the storms had done in bringing down trees and the summerhouse and hopefully they will build another one to replace it in the future. Sure we will be back again soon.

    Reviewed by Donna4.7Mar 2022

  • "Fabulous cottage."

    Amazingly well stocked, Kitchen fabulous. Brilliant log burner. Brought our boat and played on Lake, What a little gem. Thank you

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jan 2022

  • "Amazing cottage Only thing I would say is towels need updating !"

    Bath towels need to be bigger! Stay not as peaceful due to work on nearby cottage meant tractor going up and down lane all day . However will hopefully return

    Reviewed by Ann4.4Jan 2022

  • "A loverly position, well equipped really enjoyed our stay."

    One or two things to point out, two light switches one in the main room was tripping out the electric and a switch in the hallway. Front bedroom shower is leaking in corner near the toilet. We move some furniture in tv room and found thick dust under the chairs. This not a complaint but feel the owner should know if they are using an company to clean the property.

    Thank you for your feed back. My husband sorted the tripping lights when you left, there was a problem with the outside light above the front door, tripping inside. I will pass on to my cleaners about the dust and definitely get the shower leak fixed. Thank you again, I really appreciate constructive feedback, then I can sort things. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.1Dec 2021

  • "We all loved the property and location."

    It had a lovely, comfortable family feel and ideal for the 2 dogs with the garden being enclosed. We will highly recommend to others and would definitely return .

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Dec 2021

  • "Really lovely cottage and very clean, warm and comfortable."

    Thank you.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Nov 2021

  • "Riverside is a luxurious bungalow, with all the facilities needed to make a stress-free holiday."

    Having access to a private beach on Lake Coniston was brilliant, and anyone who is in to kayacking, paddle boarding, canoeing or most water sports would find this facility to be an added bonus. The Wi-Fi provided needs upgrading, as it drops out when being used, particularly watching Netflix. The lighting in some of the rooms is insufficient at night, and could be improved. Overall, we had a great stay at this unique property. Colin

    Thank you for your feedback. I have tried a few different WiFi providers and unfortunately the signal still isn’t great. It may be the area the bungalow is in, they all promise super duper signal and connection, however it never is. Sorry about this. Really glad you had a great time at Riverside. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin4.7Sep 2021

  • "Couldn’t of asked for anything better, Riverside Cottage was perfect in every ..."

    Couldn’t of asked for anything better, Riverside Cottage was perfect in every way, Jackie was so helpful & made us feel so welcome, 5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Reviewed by Lee5.0Aug 2021

  • "The cottage was absolutely outstanding and more than we expected."

    We had fantastic weather which was a bonus but a hot tub would be ideal to have in the garden as well. One thing, the rugs in the hallway. One in particular wasn’t very nice to look at. Looked dirty and a mess. I suggest either buy a new one or just get rid of it and put nothing down. The flooring is good underneath and if you were to get a new one, dogs will only mess on it. Also, the water pressure to the red bathroom was a bit hit and miss. Apart from this it was brilliant. Definitely would book again. Oh, the gardener was very helpful as well.

    Thank you for your feedback. I have replaced the rugs in the hallway and front room and the do look much nicer. Unfortunately I haven’t got any control over the water pressure, it all depends on the beck out front of the bungalow. Really glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we’ll see you again at Riverside. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola4.4Jul 2021

  • "We were very satisfied with our Holiday , as far as we are concerned it was Perfection ."

    very well equipped short of nothing , Location perfect for us as we love Peace and Quiet , Beautiful Lake and gardens helped us to recover from all our Problems , Great for children lakeside very safe , we are in our 80s it was perfect for us and for my family who enjoyed thlake for swimming and Kyaking thankyou for allowing us to stay ,

    Reviewed by Irene5.0Jun 2021

  • "The cottage was absolutely amazing and much better than the pictures could begin to show."

    Very relaxing and and well equipped kitchen too. Plenty of space for us as a group of 5 adults, 2 children and a dog. Great location and very peaceful.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0May 2021

  • "The cottage is lovely and we had a great holiday - lakeside jetty fantastic for early morning canoeing & the meadow was great for the dogs to run and play (although be aware this is across a quiet road from the cottage)."

    Plenty of good walks on the doorstep by the lakeside and on Torver common. Pleasant outdoor dining space helped us make the most of the amazing weather we got. Cottage was well equipped and rooms especially bathrooms were very luxurious. Only negative for us was that this was advertised as a pet friendly property, however on arrival the rear lawn is no longer there - all stone now and there was a notice saying dogs not allowed in lounge - bedrooms I expect to be a no-go, but the lounge is the only place to relax in the evening and no one wants to be separated from their pets so only alternative is to stay in the kitchen or be outside. Do think this should have appeared on the property description. Also an outside hose pipe for washing down dogs, muddy boots and canoes would have been useful - there were some outside taps but limited to what you can reach from them. This didn’t spoil our holiday but think worth pointing out for other potential dog owners.

    Thank you for your feed back. And I’m glad the negatives didn’t spoil your stay at Riverside. I’m not sure why it says there was a lawned garden at the rear of the property as there has never been any grass/ garden there ever. I will definitely take notice of the outside wash off point though. Please note dogs are allowed in the property. We do ask that dogs do not go on the furniture as your dog has chewed the door you can appreciate we would not like this happening to our furnishings Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Donna4.4Apr 2021

  • "I called a couple of times with questions about the property and each time was told you would get back to me."

    This did not happen.

    Reviewed by Yvonne4.1Sep 2020

  • "Cottage was amazing, great location, clean and well laid out."

    We're already looking to book again at the same place, beautiful setting. Local pub good food and happy to accommodate the pooch. Location on the lake was fantastic, very relaxing. Spoke with the Sykes guys once before heading across, no issues just we were late arriving and they were very professional and polite on the phone.

    Reviewed by Darren5.0Dec 2019

  • "We had a lovely week in this property situated in such a beautiful area."

    There is the added bonus of a private field leading down to Coniston Water. Decor in house was tasteful and the house is well-equipped. Ideal for dogs with useful back porch to dry them out after walks. Area is peaceful and scenic. Coniston Village, although small, had everything we needed. A slight disappointment was the comfort of the couches in the lounge which, although they look nice on the photographs, were not the most comfortable. One of our party, who is disabled, could not access the main part of the lounge due to two small steps from the tv area into the main lounge which meant he was rather isolated from the rest of us when we were in that area and, in addition, he is not able to get off couches so an armchair would have been useful. Also there is a step in the hall into the main part of the house - the only area which has level access from the front door is the kitchen which does have a second tv but only kitchen chairs to sit on. We had been expecting a completely level property from the description given. That apart, we really enjoyed our time there and would consider revisiting in the future

    Reviewed by Carolyn4.1Oct 2019

  • "Cottage was very well equipped, beautifully clean & comfortable."

    Ample room for 6. A little expensive but would go again without hesitation & try a warmer season to take advantage of the lakeside position.

    Reviewed by Hillary4.7Oct 2019

  • "Loved the lakefront and garden with sun and lake views."

    Summerhouse useful and enjoyable.

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Jul 2019

  • "The location of this cottages is perfect."

    We spent the first week in May and it was fantastic. Accommodation suited our group of 3 couples really well.

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0May 2019

  • "Riverside cottage was by far the best cottage we have stayed in."

    We have staying in the Lake District at Easter for the past fifteen years, and this cottage far exceeds anywhere we have been before. We arrived on Friday 12th April and by Sunday 14th April we had booked two weeks next Easter. What can I say the bungalow, the quality of the furniture and bathrooms, not to mention the kitchen, The garden (grass manicured) and to top it all a summerhouse right beside the lake. I would highly recommend this cottage, and of course the pub is a short drive away.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Apr 2019

  • "The bungalow is everything you'll read in the reviews."

    The pictures don't do it justice. There is so much room, much bigger than the pictures would have you believe. The kitchen is a real family area with an aga masses of pots, pans, plates and kitchen equipment. There's an 8 seat wooden table in the middle and a seperate large utility room. The living room is huge with a large set of French patio doors which step out onto a large well appointed outdoor space with numerous tables and chairs and a covered, lit area. Back inside, the lounge is on 2 levels. The top area has a large freesat tv with seating whilst the lower sports 3 large sofas a single chair and a corner bench seat with a large fireplace made of local stone and a log burner. The fire was set up ready for us and there were plenty of logs. Kindling, paper and firelighters available. The bedrooms are lovely with comfy beds. They are well decorated and you won't run short of wardrobe or drawer space. Contrary to other reviews there are about 5 hairdryers available. The 2 en suites are luxurious and the family bathroom is equally well appointed (but the effect made by 3 walls of mirrors can be a bit much). The hallway has a coat rack and closet. The whole house is well appointed, decorated and feels like home from home. The outside space is immense. The garden backing into Coniston is so long the dog is still sleeping off his daily runs. All in all, we cannot recommend this place highly enough, in fact we've already dished out a few cards and flyers to friends. There is so much positive to say about this place but it would take an age to do it justice. Suffice it to say we're coming back next year. Perfect...

    Reviewed by Matthew4.7Apr 2019

  • "The cottage is lovely with long green garden to walk down to lake, perfect for my little Westies."

    The cottage had a nice feel and very clean comfortable beds. Very spacious for cottage for 6 adults. Only complains we would have is the towels in bathrooms were a bit worn out (one had holes in it) and no toilet roll holders. There were not enough plug sockets in twin middle bedroom and it would have been nice to have hand soap in all bathrooms not just at kitchen sink. Our 70 & 80 year old parents said that hand rails in shower en-suite would have been good when coming out of shower. Water was lovely and hot and whole house set at perfect temperature.Outside space around property is good and nice seating areas with comfortable garden chairs, draw back is the road behind can be a bit noisy especially from motorbikes. I would still highly recommend the cottage.

    Reviewed by Victoria4.7Apr 2019

  • "Such a lovely holiday home we enjoyed every minute of are stay in feb, we didnt want to leave when are stay was over,so much so we have rebooked for may/june for a week , can not wait to go back ."

    Reviewed by Kimberley5.0Feb 2019

  • "The house was absolutely beautiful."

    Perfect for my family to relax and celebrate New Year. The area is lovely and we enjoyed a number of walks around Coniston. The house was well equipped with amenities that made staying there feel more like home than a getaway. With villages and towns just a short drive away we enjoyed exploring the Lake District. Would definitely recommend and will be looking to book another stay soon.

    Reviewed by Hannah5.0Dec 2018

  • "Riverside is an absolutely stunning property."

    .. Has everything you could need... So comfortable and warm inside and the grounds are fantastic with the private bridge over the river to the garden and the long garden down to the private jetty. Magnificent property and we will definitely be booking again.

    Reviewed by Gill5.0Nov 2018

  • "The bungalow is very spacious and was spotlessly clean."

    A loaf of delicious fresh bread, butter, a pint of milk and a dish amply stocked with tea, coffee and sugar sachets awaited our arrival. The kitchen was well stocked and the electric oven and the two rings on the electric hob of the AGA worked well. We did not use the rest of the AGA, as the weather was lovely. We made good use of the two fridge freezers. The showers are excellent, spacious and easy to access. The bedroom without the en-suite is immediately opposite the bathroom. We all slept well in very comfortable beds. It would be helpful if the leads to the lamps in the main bedroom could be lengthened to make the lamp switches more accessible from the bed. A shower stool in one of the showers was very useful for one of our party. For those of limited mobility, or likely to overlook a step when walking in the house, it is unfortunate that there is a step in the hall leading from the kitchen level to the bedroom and dining room level and two steps down from the dining room to the lounge. The garden down to the lake is lovely and there is seating outside or in the small summerhouse at the lake side. Immediately outside Riverside, on the banks of Torver Beck, is a bench where we relaxed on some evenings, enjoying the water and wildlife, including sighting a kingfisher.

    Reviewed by Christine4.4Jul 2018

  • "I think the best cottage we’ve stayed at really really lovely"

    Reviewed by Fiona4.7May 2018

  • "Fence between us and the field could have been a little better as there was new ..."

    Fence between us and the field could have been a little better as there was new lambs in the field and we have a dog Otherwise for us everything was really good

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Apr 2018

  • "Riverside is a beautiful property in a great location with ample space for a couple or group."

    The property is comfortable with excellent facilities. We have been lucky to have stayed here 3 times and look forward to returning again. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Rachel4.7Mar 2018

  • "Riverside is above and beyond our expectations."

    There was nothing we didn’t like about the property. The location is excellent with Coniston only a short drive away. There are beautiful walks from the doorstep and views from the private jetty that I will never tire of looking at. For us the garden leading down to Lake Coniston was an absolute treat for the dog and our little girl to run around in. I cannot recommend Riverside enough if you are looking for a quite location in the lakes without being miles away from civilisation and will deffinatly be returning.

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Jan 2018

  • "Amazing and magical place and location"

    Reviewed by Joy4.8Dec 2017

  • "Could do with some soap holders in toilets and handrail to help elderly people into and out of shower."

    .. apart from that the cottage and location is fantastic... will stop again

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Nov 2017

  • "Riverside is the most amazing place we have ever stayed in."

    The bungalow was extremely comfortable. The location was stunning. Everything you could wish for .

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Oct 2017

  • "Beautiful bungalow in a perfect setting."

    Great for kayaking and relaxing by the lake. Enjoyed by all the family - we have recommended it to friends.

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Sep 2017

  • "A very comfortable large cottage, with excellent outdoor space and access to Coniston lake."

    A very safe place for our dogs, in such a quiet area.

    Reviewed by Paula5.0May 2017

  • "A really beautiful place to stay, luxurious, spacious and with all modern facilities."

    I would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Dave5.0Apr 2017

  • "Most fantastic standard of accommodation and encourages me to use Sykes more."

    Owners friendly and welcoming at their beautiful property and would look at going there again .

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Sep 2016

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • Three super king-size double bedrooms (all zip/link, can be twin on request) and two with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with AGA and dining area
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with dining area and log burner.
  • Oil central heating with log burner
  • Electric oven and hob, AGA, 2 x fridge/freezers, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Front patio with furniture, rear area and patio with furniture
  • Private pedestrian bridge over the river, jetty, launch and summer house
  • Use of paddock over foot bridge
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 mile, pub 1.3 miles
  • Note: Unfenced river adjacent to cottage, care should be taken. Please be advised that although all ground floor there is one step into the hallway and two steps down into the lounge
  • Note:The charging of electric cars is not permissible at the property nearest charge point is 1 mile away at the Wilson Arms pub

The property

Beautifully appointed, Riverside Cottage is a rare gem set in breathtaking surroundings overlooking Torver Beck, with its own pedestrian bridge leading to a private jetty and beach.

The detached house, gardens and surroundings are an absolute delight and provide a heady mix of luxury and beauty.

All three bedrooms have super king-size beds, two of which can be cleverly converted into two single beds on request, and with two en-suites and a house bathroom, queues are a thing of the past!

Outside there is a choice of peaceful patios, including a charming covered seating area adorned with fairy lights.

What is really magical about Riverside Cottage is it has its very own pedestrian bridge which crosses Torver Beck to an enormous expanse of green leading to Coniston Water.

You can while away the hours in the summer house, or dangle your feet over the water on the private jetty.

In such stunning surroundings, it is very easy to see how our Lakeland poets were so inspired!

Just over a mile away is a footpath leading to The Old Man of Coniston which at 2635 feet is not quite a Munro, but deserves its place in the great Cumbrian fells.

On a fine day the views from the top are so intoxicating they should be experienced by everyone.

Arthur Ransome based his book ‘Swallows and Amazons’ on Coniston Water, and it is fun trying to discover the locations featured in the book.

There is boat hire available, as well as sailing courses and the steam yacht Gondola, which offers an opulent sail with a difference.

Riverside Cottage is addictive and one visit will not be enough.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location


Coniston 2 miles.

The small hamlet of Torver peacefully rests amidst some of the Lake District's most beautiful scenery and provides a welcoming 14th century inn and a 19th century church, built on the site of an ancient chapel. Torver has 2 fantastic pubs on offer, so you will be spoilt for choice for great food. Renowned as one of Wordsworth's favourite haunts, today it’s known locally as a starting point for exploring the local fells and the Duddon Valley and offers a superb base for exploring nearby Hawkshead, Ambleside and Windermere. Excellent walking, mountain biking, climbing and watersports opportunities are available locally on Coniston Old Man and Wetherlam and the lovely woodland trails at Grizedale Forest. Enjoy a leisurely cruise on the beautiful Gondola steam yacht, visit the award-winning village of Hawkshead with its fantastic Beatrix Potter Gallery, discover Tarn Hows, one of the most visited beauty spots in the country or indulge in a spot of serene fishing on Esthwaite Water. A first class holiday location at any time of the year.

Please be advised that although all ground floor there is one step into the hallway and two steps down into the lounge

Note:The charging of electric cars is not permissible at the property nearest charge point is 1 mile away at the Wilson Arms pub

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas