Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

14 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • Tarn Hows - Lake District - 1021703 - photo 1

Tarn Hows

(Ref. 1021703)

Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • clean (9)
  • all (9)
  • stay (8)
  • house (8)
  • kitchen (8)
  • our (7)

20 Customer Reviews

  • "Bed in twin room broken"

    Thank you for your feedback. I have had a look at the notes and can see that we were not contacted about this problem until mid-way through your stay and then asked not to attend until after you had left. Had we known about the problem when it was first noticed we would have provided support to rectify this. The owner has been informed and the bed will be fixed/replaced for future guests. Lakelover Owners Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leah1.3Dec 2023

  • "The property listed was pretty much everything we expected, but with one very significant exception."

    Considering our allocated time at Tarn Hows was 42 hours - 16:00 Friday 17 November to 10:00 Sunday 19th - it was a little disappointing to say the least to be without a functioning boiler system for at least half of this time. To arrive at a property with all the windows opened in November seemed strange; to then discover the house completely cold was understandably concerning. The general theme of our short break was walking activities, so as you can imagine being without hot water for nearly 24 hours wasn't ideal. The communication throughout from Sykes was satisfactory but not exceptional, particularly under the circumstances. The customer service staff overall were, however, polite and courteous. The excuses, though, from one assistant with regards potential difficulties sourcing a tradesperson on a Saturday seemed a bit odd considering this is the hospitality industry and the weekend being the lake district's busiest time of the week. Taking everything into account, especially given the time of year, we would expect some form of compensation for the fact we were left without heating and hot water for the majority of our stay. Your feedback to this would be greatly appreciated. Kind regards Peter

    Reviewed by Peter2.8Nov 2023

  • "Thanks We loved our stay."

    Well appointed cottage with beautiful bedroom linens/duvets. However, a couple of radiators didn't seem to work? Perhaps it was us? The mattresses were clean, but perhaps need to be renewed as with some of the beds. There was no hair dryer or kitchen scissors. but otherwise the cottage had everything you needed. The wi-fi and TV were both excellent, and other than the quips listed, we would highly recommend. Kind regards

    Reviewed by Simon4.7Oct 2023

  • "Lets start with the positives - nice house, very clean and had little things like kitchen roll, dish cloth, washing tablets on arrival."

    Pretty much exactly as advertised. There is off street parking which is fine for a smaller car - real struggle with ours (X3) but plenty parking nearby. Decent location close enough to Windermere, play park and also School Knot / Grandsire area of you are a walker/dog owner. The bad bits - Heating was very poor downstairs with no working radiator in the kitchen or the downstairs toilet. So much so, we had to go out and buy an electric heater just to heat the living room. Upstairs was ok. We did contact Sykes the day after we arrived, but they did nothing in the 7days we were there - very poor!!! (we were booked mid October and would hate to think how cold the place would be in the depths of winter). As mentioned by other reviewers, still no working washing machine and i fixed the handles on both the living room door and the patio. The patio step does seem to be fixed though. Didnt really cook in the kitchen, but seemed enough items. We put the bins out - it is Friday (changeover day!). Overall, a decent place. Praise to the cleaner. BUT really disappointed with Sykes as agent.....borderline usless.

    Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Tarn Hows. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the house and found it to be clean and well-equipped, and that you found the location to be convenient. We are sorry to hear about the problems you experienced with the heating and washing machine. We have investigated the lack of response to your concerns and found no record of you contacting us about these issues during your stay. If you can provide the date and time of your call, we can investigate further, as all calls are recorded. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and we apologise that your concerns were not addressed. We will investigate this matter further and take steps to ensure that this does not happen again. Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate your help in making our properties better for all of our guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin4.1Oct 2023

  • "Lovely place and has everything you’ll need!"

    Only a 5 min walk from Windermere and the bus from Bowness after a day out & too tired to walk back up the hill! However there are a couple of maintenance issues.. back step out of patio door has all laminate hanging off, lounge door handle loose and the single beds aren’t very comfy in the front bedroom, in fact one looks like it’s about to collapse! The outside bins hadn’t been collected by the council, so we had nowhere to empty our kitchen bin or recycling which wasn’t great! Plenty of roadside parking and felt safe enough!! Theres a lovely park nearby for the kids to play and a great walk down the back streets with some lovely hillside views. Place could probably do with a bit of a spruce up in places but all in all, it’s a great place to stay, convenient and clean- we will definitely be rebooking!

    Reviewed by Michelle3.1Sep 2023

  • "The property needs some maintenance, the internal doors don’t close securely, bathroom lock downstairs doesn’t secure ."

    The baby gate is broke , the step into the house from the yard is very dangerous ( my neice bashed her toes when the carpet slipped under her ) and needs immediate attention . The washing machine didn’t work , we had to spend a morning ( and money ) at the laundrette . The instructions in the house manual need updating as we were trying to figure out what day to put the bins out . The previous guests filled the bin and we had to squash more stuff in . There are hardly any drinking glasses in the cupboard but we did find the kitchen well equipped .

    Reviewed by Lisa3.8Aug 2023

  • "A lovely clean holiday home perfect for families in a great location."

    We had a great time staying in Windermere.

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely property and in a great location."

    Lovely comfy beds and nice and clean. Thanks for the lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Kerry4.1Feb 2023

  • "The accommodation is as listed, sufficient space for the families."

    However, upon arrival there are scaffolding all over the property (front and back), with a big group families of all ages together with a dog it isn’t the best safety first impression. We wish this was listed as known item before booking. We also has no heating or hot water on the last 24hrs of our stay when the outside temperature was 6 degree in December and wet this isn’t the best experience. There is no one to contact either due to out of hours and we believe the boiler is locked to owner only so we can’t even try to reset it if it’s simply fixable. Overall, these items let our experience down and therefore we won’t be coming back to this property.

    Reviewed by Claire2.8Dec 2022

  • "On the Friday without warning, a team of scaffolders turned up."

    We felt obliged to leave for a while as the noise was upsetting one of our dogs. What was more concerning was that this “dog friendly” cottage had more dogs rules on notices and in the house notes. The owner’s expectation appears to be that the dogs would really be restricted to the kitchen/dining room limiting our use of the house. Our expectation is that such additional restrictive rules should be clearly stated at the time of selecting/booking a house. We have no problem with keeping the dogs of furniture/beds and the need to keep them under control but this didn’t feel like a “dog friendly” house.I

    Reviewed by Donna3.1Dec 2022

  • "My family and I thoroughly enjoyed are stay at Tarn Hows, just a pity we weren't staying for longer."

    Reviewed by Darren4.7Apr 2022

  • "On arrival we found this property very dusty, dinning room table and worktop in kitchen crumbs everywhere, floor in the kitchen/dining room, towel rail in bathroom, windows all dirty, Cobwebs around the windows, we had to wash some of the towels that had been left as they smelt damp, our daughter slept in the front bedroom, we had to swap the quit with one on the bunks beds as this also smelt damp and not freshly washed."

    The evenings we still warm and pleasant we could not use the outside seating as the cushions had been locked in the shed. No storage in the bedroom with the double be so we had to use the wardrobe in the middle room, which would have been inconvenient if it was been used. Blind broke in the middle bedroom. We noticed on the 2nd day that the lounge window was not securely closed which meant it could have been open from the outside. Sofas in the lounge very uncomfortable, door does not open fully at there is a glass coffee table behind it. Sofa in the dinning room much for comfortable. There is no shower mat in the bath, which is an accident waiting to happen as the bath gets very slippery when having a shower. Coffee/Sugar left in the jars had all dried up, would have been nice to have had a pint of milk left so we could have made a drink on arrival. Saucepans and cheese grate showing signs of rust. Overall we feel that this was very much over priced as there is a cottage across the road at half the price and a lot nicer. We never had any problems parking and the town centre was a 10 min walk.

    Reviewed by Juliette2.8Sep 2021

  • "The property was clean and had all you need."

    We wouldn’t go back to this particular property, parking was nightmare and we had to park a couple of streets away. Not good as my husband has mobility issues. The settee needs be taken out of the dinning room to give more space, and the table behind the lounge door needs moving so the door opens properly.

    Reviewed by Margaret3.8Aug 2021

  • "The house was spotless the interior was beautifully decorated and modern which was admired by us all."

    The beds were comfy a great night's sleep accomplished. We took our dog and there was an enclosed back yard for him to potter around. Near to bowness village/town also near to Ambleside. We took a boat trip from Bowness to Ambleside dogs can go for free. Would definitely book again the house sleeps 8 we had a great time.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Apr 2021

  • "All good."

    Reviewed by Shaun4.7Apr 2021

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay at tarn hows."

    It was very clean and comfortable and we would recommend it

    Reviewed by Wendy4.7Sep 2020

  • "This house was fantastic."

    It was in a great location, super clean, well decorated, spacious and had everything needed for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by Harri5.0Aug 2020

  • "We had an amazing holiday from the cottage to the scenery."

    So much to do and see for the adults and children alike. We took advantage of the 50% of meals. We were out all day, every day taking advantage of the amazing weather we had. The park and children's playground was only 2 minutes away. We also pre booked a Tesco grocery order which arrived an hour after we did. Fab service all round.

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Aug 2020

  • "The cottage was clean and plenty of utensils."

    No broom or dustpan and brush available (which waa rectified after a phone call) . Only 5 dishwasher tablets and small amount of washing up liquid left. No bin liners. We would usually expect a pint of milk to be left for arrival. The house seemed to be completed in a hurry-taps on bath wrong way round. Bathroom door kept getting stuck and difficult to open/close. Kitchen windows painted shut. Good location.

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Jul 2020

  • "The house was brilliant and exceeded expectations."

    Loved the kitchen and dining area, great to have everyone around chatting and still be able to cook whilst being sociable. Shop at end of the road and Windermere only 5-10 minute walk. All seven guest went home raving about the property.

    Reviewed by Phil5.0Jan 2020

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin with an additional cot, 1 x twin and 1 x bunk beds
  • Ground-floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, fridge/freezer, Dishwasher, washing machine, dining area and sitting area
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating
  • Smart TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Private parking to the rear for 1 car and free roadside parking to the front
  • Private patio with furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 miles, pub 0.4 miles
  • Note: There are small internal steps throughout the property

The property

Ideally positioned in the village of Windermere, is this family-friendly cottage, Tarn Hows.

This Victorian town-house offers spacious accommodation with all of the contemporary fixtures and features you could need for a self-catered stay, there’s no better place from which to explore the Lake District with your loved ones.

To the front of the property is a snug sitting room with pretty floral wallpapers and décor to match; here you can spend some relaxing time in front of the television on the plush sofas before heading into the open-plan living space of the property to enjoy a hearty home-cooked meal.

Within the open-plan space you will find a kitchen to the rear, boasting sleek white and grey units holding a wide selection of appliances to assist you in concocting your delicious dishes.

Attached to the kitchen is the dining area, holding a sofa too so you can relax with a glass of wine in hand as your dinner simmers on the hob before gathering around the table together for a tasty treat or an evening of board games.

Discover four bright and airy bedrooms on the first floor, offering ample space for all of the family to wind down in the evenings, with storage space available for all of your personal belongings; choose from a double room, a twin holding an additional cot, a further twin and a bunk room, there’s plenty of space to relax into your evening.

Spend some time in the rear patio area for a breath of fresh air with your morning coffee before heading out to explore your local surroundings.

Set within the centre of Windermere, you’ll find a wide range of attractions with easy reach of the cottage; from simplicities such as delicious eateries and quaint shops to waterfront adventures on the renowned Lake Windermere where you can try your hand at sailing, kayaking, canoeing and more!

Take a trip into Kendal and explore its cultural delights including a museum, art gallery and historical landmarks just to name a few, or choose to spend your time around the lake at Bowness-on-Windermere where you can find the Beatrix Potter attraction, dramatic landscapes and plenty of excitement.

In reach of a wide range of attractions to suit all tastes, Tarn Hows makes a wondrous base for exploring the Lake District.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Windermere

Please Note: Parking two cars in the courtyard will restrict patio usage.
Please Note : Good House Keeping Bond of £100 applies

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas